Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pedn-Olva 3 stars

Porthminster Beach, St Ives, TR26 2EA, United Kingdom

#4 of 11 hotels in St Ives

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 647 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was stuffy pity the big window didn’t open. A small fridge would have been nice to cool water! Tv had no remote! Room 10e

    Dining facilities are excellent and staff very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really hot in the room, we opened the windows but still not enough ventilation, maybe a fan in the room 🤔

    Very clean and tidy, breakfast was great, service excellent 👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no shower gel or shampoo provided - difficult vehicle access

    location was fantastic - stunning vista - comfortable lounge furniture - good breakfast - our room although down two sets of stairs was tastefully decorated and was situated above some rocks basically on the beach with wonderful views of the sea and harbour

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room clean on arrival, but room service not up to standard, not vacced and forgot to replace toilet roll and tea tray items

    The staff were brilliant couldn’t do enough, handled luggage in and out even fetched car and drove up narrow lane to take stress off. We liked it so much we have booked again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had building work going on right near the pool area. Obviously there was some noise, just seemed like poor planning when the pool is closed in October. Would of been much better to do the work then. The outside facilities ie toilets and showers were filthy. My girlfriend couldn’t actually use the toilet it was that bad.

    Absolutely stunning location. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’ve been coming to St Ives for over 40 years, it’s become increasingly busy which detracts from the stunning “small town” attractiveness that it used to have.

    The staff were very friendly. The views from the room are exceptional and the sound of the lapping waves help to create a very relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The location is fantastic with views to die for, we didn't want to leave. The staff were all very friendly and did an excellent job. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a relaxing break. You are right on top of one of the best beaches and not far from all the shops and restuarants. We will definitely be go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    only issue was the parking - even with a permit you are not guaranteed a space as these are parked in by non-hotel drivers! one of our mugs in our room had purple lipstick on it (definitely not mine!) otherwise very clean

    fantastic views from bedroom, bathroom and restaurant. enjoyed our beers on the terrace, lovely stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was dreadful.... parking was in the railway station car park, no chance to drop luggage off at the door. Lots of steps to be expected as it is an old fishing village and extremely delightful. However for international travellers with luggage it isn’t the best and is accessed by steep flight of stone steps.

    The view was brilliant, the staff were extremely helpful especially with all of our luggage.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    accessing with luggage difficult from car park; lots of stairs to negotiate. Our bedroom was small and shower room challenging space wise.

    sea/harbour views;closeness to St Ives town centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pay 8 pound for parking fee of 24 hours.

    Room is new, modern style, good smelling, clean, big room. Fantastic that room open to ocean for all three windows.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Disappointed with Booking.com over the price I paid for the room. Have booked with you loyally for a number of years . But at this hotel found that the room could have been £50 per night less than the price I paid

    Check the booking .com price!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Our hotel room over looker the sea which was beautiful. Having breakfast in the restaurant overlooking the harbour the next morning was lovely too. The breakfast continental and cooked eggs and salmon was 5 star. Would definatley stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quite small - shower door would not shut properly. Breakfast finish time 9:30 - thinknthats too early ( if staying for leisure )

    Location, view, friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We felt that the overall hotel was a little let down by the standard of housekeeping. Our room was very nice, cosy and comfortable but I expected higher standards ie., curtains not fitting the rails properly and a little bit more detail to cleaning ie., skirting boards and dresser. In the bar and restaurant, again more detail needed to cleaning of tables and floors at certain times, especially after busy periods.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts were good but could have been better. The cooked stuff was fine, but the cold counter was not very inspiring and the coffee wasn’t great.

    Fantastic location. Excellent facilities for a relatively small hotel. Lovely staff. Parking (by permit) very close by.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food- unfortunately I threw up my dinner rather quickly- something was wrong with the crab. Breakfast poor, we even skipped it on the second day. Staff is only as friendly as needed- they weren’t even interested how we liked our stay We had to change rooms inbetween the stay and the second one was a lot less attractive though slightly spacier and with bathtube/ you‘d hear and smell kitchen ventilation

    Superb views if you are lucky with room allocation Comfy beds if you like them soft - just for this we‘d go again but book without food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent views from the room. The room was comfortable with lots of storage. The room was very clean. The tea and coffee facilities were very plentiful, and included tasty biscuits and glass bottles of water. There was a great choice at breakfast, with delicious pastries and great sausages. The staff were excellent, friendly and sorted out any queries very quickly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Scaffolding: I know work has to be done but why not shut the whole hotel for a short period and 'blitz' it? Rooms were clean and comfortable but communal areas were a little 'tired'. Breakfast offering was limited.

    Location. Sue, at reception, was very helpful. Car parking permit. Great views.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Don't bring the cooked breakfast to the table until the diner is ready!

    The Pedn Olva is quirky and non-standard and brilliant in an age when things are often too 'same-y'. The views must be a candidate for the best from a hotel in England. I love the breakfasts.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, comfort and staff

    tThe location is fantastic and the facilities make the most of the views. The rooms are not large due to location b ut the views more than make up for this, food very good, included breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I was really being picky I’d say the bathroom lacked the wow factor, but that’s really looking for something to moan about!

    Amazing location, stunning view, excellent breakfast, staff very friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    did not like the zip link beds as there was a sagging down between the 2 single beds as a result which we were disappointed about as this was a romantic valentine break for us both which we paid £195 for one night with breakfast we did not sleep very well as a result and also noise above people walking above us very late and early the next day

    location lovely room 16 paid extra for superior room with sea we were not disappointed slippers and dressing gowns provided lovely toiletries in the bathroom nice selection of drinks on the hospitality tray good size kettle and nice touch of 2 takeaway cups provided in case we wanted to take out our own hot drinks good quality biscuits large soft and fluffy towels

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing- to have more space and an adjoining car park would mean sacrificing Pedn Olva's unique position in St Ives.

    Helpful staff, relaxed atmosphere. Eggs florentine for breakfast were excellent. Stunning view from my room-loved the sound of the waves!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather!!! But infant really blame that on the hotel!!

    I've stayed here many times the first was 1943 scenery is still spectacular the standard of the food has increased since my last visit used to be boring now excellent chef went out of his way when I didn't like whole place and cooked me a superb Dover sole

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and the ensuite was tiny (a shower cubicle and a toilet the sink is in the main room) It wouldn’t be suitable for anyone with claustrophobia. It was ok for a two night stay but we wouldn’t want to stay in such a small room for a week.

    The bed was very comfortable and the view from the room and balcony was wonderful. The breakfast was nice. The hotel is in an ideal position only a few minutes walk from the shops, harbour and all that St Ives has to offer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing, the hotel is beautiful with breathtaking views, great service.

    The manager and staff were very friendly and helpfull, they went above and beyond to make sure my mum and dad had a lovely stay with them for their 50th anniversary.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening meal menu didn't do the location, views, and restaurant justice, so we went out for our evening meal

    Our room, (No 16) was right on the sea, felt like being on board a ship when the tide was in and waves were crashing outside - fantastic room, had everything we wanted. Staff were really good, and breakfast was excellent. Will go back again without doubt.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too spongy without support on the edges .. I rolled out of it twice!

    Amazing location Couldn’t Better the views and watching seals from bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a fabulous time at the hotel. It’s in an amazing location. Our room looked right out onto the beach. Room was lovely as was the breakfast. Staff are very friendly sbd helpful. Would defiantly stay here again. 😊🌊

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The steps up to the car park were quite steep and not that well illuminated.The rooms were fairly compact - ideal forecourt stay but a little cramped for a longer vacation.

    Excellent location. Our room had a wonderful sea view. The room were well appointed as were the public rooms. The breakfast was delicious and filling. The range of breakfast dishes was comprehensive, and included vegetarian options.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked parking cost £8 and is 250m away.

    Lovely hotel in best location in St Ives! Right on the rocks at the beach. Excellent restaurant and breakfast cooked to order.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem is the parking. It is really close but we had to pay 9£ for day of parking. Park and ride is a better solution.

    Really nice room and the view was to die for.. I booked that as a gift for my fiance's birthday and he absolutely loved it. The rooms are a bit on the tight side but everything was spotless and we were really satisfied. Staff on the reception very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to say, anything quirky/unusual was because of it's positing in the centre of the town and it's proximity to the sea

    This hotel was fabulous, I'd booked a room with a sea view but I couldn't have anticipated how the view, so low down near the sea, would blow us away. We were on the next to lowest level, going to sleep with the waves rolling in just below the window was brilliant :) We only had the breakfast but that was lovely, lots of choice and another super view.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom towel rail was either on or off. When on it was extremely hot and would burn the skin if you touched it. As the bathroom was very small it was hard not to accidentally touch it when getting dried.

    The breakfasts were really good and plentiful. we had one meal in the restaurant and that was very good too. Staff were helpful and polite. The room was clean and decoration good. A lovely place to stay in St Ives.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress was a little tired and could do with updating but otherwise a perfect stay.

    Food was fantastic. Sea view was breathtaking. Room was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Views and location stunning. Totally breathtaking. Older property so rooms not that roomy or ours wasn't but it didn't really matter as we didn't spend much time in it. Superb location literally on the water's edge, overlooking the sea and St Ives. Great for wandering in to St Ives.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is situated near the harbour in St.Ives in a very picturesque setting. Our bedroom had one window looking towards the harbour and a second window looking onto Porthminster beach - lovely. We have stayed at this hotel before. The food is excellent and the breakfasts keep you going throughout the day. Especially notable is the helpfulness of the staff - even providing an umbrella when there was a sharp shower. Highly recommended for all.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View from the very comfortable bedroom window was wonderful. the breakfasts couldn't be better and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Second visit and hope to return again soon. Thank you!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a lot

    With my wife {there was no option for 'wife' above} this was our third visit to the hotel, which has one of the best outlooks in the World {no exaggeration} - whether you are in the lounge, dining room or bedroom. The adjacent harbour, landscape and the incredible light and colours that surround you are why this part of Britain has consistently attracted successful artists for many generations. Provided that prices are controlled for as much of the year as possible, we will return again and again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved my room. The bed was really comfortable. One window had a beach view and the bathroom had a view of the town and harbour. Perfect. The sea was just below, so it felt like being on a ship. The breakfast was excellent- a good choice of cooked to order items and also a substantial buffet. The restaurant has a fantastic view of Porthminster beach. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and made me feel very welcome.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We liked everything. We may look into a room upgrade to se if there is a larger room but we would stay there regardless as it was so good.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly and the hotel was in a prime location with stunning views. The room was very clean and well furnished. Perhaps a little on the small side but not a problem to us. The food was very good. We will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    car Parking not available during my visit-the hotel has some slots in the nearby station car park but non available for me which I was not aware of until I had booked. I had to pay extra (£7.50 a day) for this.

    Very comfy bed, great breakfasts. helpful receptionists and the bar staff are friendly. Expensive, but maybe that is the location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very small but well designed given limited space. Hot breakfast choices were good but starter choices - fruit, yoghurts etc - a little limited.

    The staff were wonderfully helpful and friendly. The views from the bar, restaurant and our room were excellent - room looked directly over the beach and sea dependant on tides. Very convenient for St Ives town centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to go outside the hotel to get to our room which was awkward as we arrived during a storm. However the outside rooms would be perfect in the summer for people who wanted to use the pool which was close by.

    Beautiful position overlooking the sea and very close to the town centre. Our room overlooked Porthminster beach and the sea. The room was extremely comfortable, fresh and clean. The dinner menu in the restaurant was very good and food beautifully presented. The Eton Mess was wonderful but enough for 2. Also really good choices at breakfast and we were able to sit and eat it by the window which again overlooked the sea and beach. The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to change rooms due to availability and booking last minute. The beds were small considering we booked for 2 adults and 1 child we were only provided with one small double bed for the three of us.

    Amazing views and location is perfect. Ideal for a short break. Staff were excellent, really friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room 29....washbasin in room, prefer bathroom facilities to be altogether in the bathroom. Most mornings there was no fruit salad left at 9.30 and not refilled. 2 mornings the breakfast was served in an ornate way that you expect to see more at lunch or dinner!!!

    staff very friendly excellent food views from rooms 31 and 29

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly disappointed with the room. Expensive, paid extra for a balcony so was not aware that it was a shared balcony which limited the time we spent on it. Need a mirror in the toilet too.

    The view was fabulous as was the breakfast. It was very hot and staff were excellent at all times.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The views from the hotel lounge and rooms are the best in St Ives. We has a room with a balcony and hopefully we will be back next summer to use the facility when the weather is hot. Food was excellent and value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Decor needs refreshing, in particular the chairs in the dining room were grubby to say the least. Dining room service was very willing but somewhat haphazard.. Bedrooms although comfortable and clean were small and cramped. The Hotel was expensive for what it offered.

    Reception staff very welcoming and exceptionally helpful. The view from the bedroom was splendid. We enjoyed the terrace overlooking Porthminster Beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bed-side lamp for reading in bed and a slightly bigger bed-side table to go with it.

    The sea coming in just below my window and the view from my room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a touch overlooked and shared terrace directly outside the window made the room feel a little less secure. Hollandaise sauce with my breakfast was very vinegary.

    Reception giving me a parking permit for the car park. Great views from the bar.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps the shower doors could open a little wider for the larger figured person as it was a bit of a struggle to get through the doors.

    The view also private balcony,very friendly and helpful staff, breakfast was great, swimming pool nice and warm

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The service from most of the staff left a lot to be desired. The chambermaids failed to remove dirty dishes and top up the tea/coffee facilities. The dining room staff were more concerned about setting up the room for lunch than serving breakfast. I admit that on the first morning I was 10 minutes late, but I was told that that they were not serving breakfast as they had to get the room ready for lunch. When I said I needed to eat I was told to "help myself to what was left of the buffet table" I had toast and had to ask for marmalade..

    The hotel and location are both excellent. The views are stunning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location with seaview from our room, from dining aerea, lounge and the roofterrasse. Very nice! Breakfast was basic.Staff was very helpfull,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs and narrow hallways to the room. Difficult to negotiate with luggage. Room a tad small if one is staying more than a few nights.

    The view of the town and harbor from our room and restaurant. Rooms are very clean and cozy. Food is excellent with lots of local fresh seafood. Easy walking distance to the village. Quiet hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was underneath bar and reception which was not carpeted so didn't get much sleep.One of the reasons I booked this hotel was the pictures showing rooms with lovely sea views We had a small window in the corner

    Friendly staff. Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car parking almost impossible if you don't book well in advance. I could only book our second night so it was a nightmare finding somewhere to offload luggage. But the receptionist was incredibly helpful and came with us to the car and helped carry the heavy luggage. I would book a different room as the patio in room 34, though pleasant in many ways, was in a dark corner and completely overlooked by an adjacent window at right-angles to it..

    Just a lovely hotel in a great location. It is situated on the rocks between two beaches; sufficiently away from the busy town centre, although within easy walking distance. Food was good too. Also handy for a trip to the Scilly Isles (which was also great) if you fly from Lands end or by boat from Penzance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The level of service dipped a little on the second evening as they were very busy but that was hardly a problem.

    We received the warmest of welcomes and the receptionist was very efficient. We decided to eat in on the spur of the moment on the second night and although they were very busy they found us a table. The proximity to the beach and the views were fabulous.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was comfy but the room was very warm, didn't sleep to well. Also weird that the bed is directly opposite the bathroom, you wouldn't want this room if you was on a romantic weekend with someone you hadn't been with for very long

    Great location . Lovely Reception staff ! Orla Kiely toiletries ! Good hairdryer ! Clean White Tranquil room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small single beds and small rooms with good overall comfort. Unfortunately we had to change the room once during a 3-day stay which wasn't so nice. Even though the online booking offered one room for the requested duration.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool is only large enough for one group to use at a time.

    Staff were very accommodating and helpful. The breakfasts included in the price of the room were very good. The location is spectacular.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very noisy up to about 11:30 pm due to the room being directly under the bar, also the shower had low water pressure

    The staff were very helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am reluctant to offer any negative comments as its a stunning location with lovely staff however We were really concerned about parking so emailed a few times. whilst checking in, as we were waiting, the receptionist was taking a phone booking and offered parking, we were surprised as this hadn't been offered to us. Breakfast was interesting. We were told we shouldn't have sat on the part of the balcony we chose as staff may have missed us. I think part of the wonder of the hotel is sitting enjoying the view eating breakfast outside. I think that should be made welcoming. Also the croissants had run out so we were told to perhaps come for breakfast earlier the next morning! I also asked for a latte and was told I'd have to be charged extra for that as its not available where breakfast is provided so a member of staff would need to go and get it from the other bar. It's just one of things which is tricky to plan for but I would politely suggest that breakfast be an amazing experience to match the comfort and location of the hotel. I must add that the staff were friendly and apologetic about the croissants.

    The location is amazing. The room was perfect for our needs, comfortable, lovely presentation with a sea view and balcony....that was so exciting to see upon arrival! The staff were friendly and allowed us to leave our luggage until check in and also allowed a slightly early check in as we had arrived that morning. We were grateful for that.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The public rooms (bar and lounge) are open to non-residents and on a wet August day were so crowded and hot that we couldn't use them. At £205 a night for a small room this hotel is expensive (but the location is so good we were prepared to pay). We had no problem parking because we had reserved a parking space, through the hotel, in the nearby station carpark. If we hadn't done that it would have been a nightmare!

    The location is fantastic, perched on rocks overlooking the harbour one way and Porthminster beech the other. Our room, though small, was comfortable, stylish, with large windows for the view. Food was good and the half board deal was good value. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms quite small but comfortable and adequate

    Best location room we have ever stayed in anywhere in the world (room 32) ..on the lower ground floor the balcony literally was right on the beach/cove rocks .. the most amazing views and sunrise and sound of the waves... just stunning ..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of steps in and outdoors 😟 But this can't be helped. Breakfast could have had more variety eg types of fruit omelettes and pancakes. When food was running low eg yogurts croissants they weren't replaced sometimes one or two were left. Same with bowls and plates on the buffet table I had to ask most mornings for the items mentioned.

    Location and amazing sea views especially from our room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service at breakfast was poor. The buffet was not kept stocked so guests had to continually ask for items. The tables were not relaid during breakfast so had to ask for cutlery etc. Dirty dishes were not collected from the tables. Our room was below the restaurant which only disturbed us when the vacuum cleaner started at 6.45am every morning!

    The view from the room was fantastic. The bed was very comfortable and the decor of the room was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room noisy as near kitchen fan & no access to exterior balcony - & as a single guest not given as good a table as couples & groups in restaurant which was disappointing.

    Great hotel, great staff , great location - recommend very highly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good.

    Location, location location. Fantastic view across Porthminster beach and towards the harbour. Choose a room with sae views and balcony. Breakfast was good with great views from the restaurant. Parking in the train station car park just 20m from the hotel. Good idea to book in advance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The robe in my room had not been washed as there was a dirty tissue in the pocket, the glasses in the room were also dirty. The room was tiny and the bathroom was practically in the room - no full door. For the price of £220 per night you would expect more but I expect you are paying for the view and location. The parking is a problem and it would have been good to get a call in advance to highlight this. The food at breakfast was poor. I asked for my bacon crispy and it arrived burnt. The next day my husband and I had an alternative to the full breakfast with poached eggs - all our eggs were solid not runny. I have stayed previously and the price has increased by a huge amount but the quality has decreased.

    The views and location are fantastic. The room is nicely decorated and the waiting staff are friendly. The view from the pool is incredible and it is lovely using the loungers by it. The crab sandwich I had at lunchtime was v nice but expensive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was vastly overpriced for a tiny matchbox sized bedroom.Room was not serviced or cleaned properly.Poor customer service,nothing explained on check in and staff not interested, .Extremely disappointed as hotel did not meet any of our expectations.

    Nothing, overpriced tiny bedroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was definitely worth it, but it's not cheap! Couldn't afford more than a couple of days.

    Amazing sea view. Great restaurant with perfect staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little drink later on the evening would have been nice

    The views were to die for! The staff super friendly Bed was comfy Shower a little tiny but I knew that before we went Orla kiely toiletries!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I cannot add anymore - no adverse comments.

    I have replied to your 'how are we doing ' but not sure if you have received. My comments in that survey were very complimentory.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: