Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pier Hotel 3 stars

Harbourmouth, Great Yarmouth, NR31 6PL, United Kingdom

#37 of 74 hotels in Great Yarmouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 525 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasantly surprised...would definitely book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets on the stairs and landings look very tired and grubby.....would imagine the hotel is a 'work in progress'. Hope they are up graded to be as lovely as the rooms and other public areas.

    The space and decor of our room was a complete surprise from looking at the exterior of the hotel. The room was spacious, light and airy and the en suite bathroom was fabulous. Bonus points for the number of sockets in the room and their accessibility. Well done!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.8
    Pleased to revisit Gorleston and the Pier Hotel is a significant landmark.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Locked window that was open in fierce gales, so extremely noisy throughout the night (room 304).

    Excellent views across the beach and harbour, mostly comfortable and well equipped room, reasonable breakfast, very good value overall.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Exclusive situated historic nice hotel with the spitit of the good old days!Friendly staff,good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The tables inside the Pub were very sticky, the house-keeping in our room missed to take the litter-bag out of the bathroom forgetting it knotted on the ceiling at the wash basin and a used towel was left on the well-made beds, BUT all in all they have done their job as good as possible in such a room, definitely! The towel-heater was too near the entrance of the shower and too hot so that we burnt our skin ( either arms or thighs or shoulder ) several times. Unfortunately we there was no gadget to cool it down a little bit.

    The view out of our booked room was terrific: sea view, beach and brilliant windy weather :-)! The bathroom was quite new and offered much space!! Lovely! And all was in which one might need. The staff was very friendly and breakfast was very good both the variety and the offering. The breakfast-room was absolutely gorgeous, lovely pictures/ photos at the walls, huge windows to look outside, nice coloured interior!! The Pub had very good food, good portions and staff was very friendly and helpful explaining and offering unknown meals or beers and the seating was lovely, snug, like in the good old times :-) !! I really loved it!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.2
    Small Room No Lift
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room was small for cost, noisy when pub closed, as it overlooked car park , equipment below ran most of night sounded like car engine running. Breakfast nothing special bacon was overcooked most days. Mattress was well past use by date. No lift Hotel has three floors?

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff all very friendly and helpful - good breakfast and excellent bar and restaurant meals. Nice to be able to walk out straight onto a really lovely beach and prom.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic Room Amazing View Loved the Jacuzzi Bath and TV in Bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an event being held next to the Hotel loud music until 1.30am, apparently every other Friday so noise sensitive take ear plugs or check with hotel before booking. Totally understand this is not the fault of Hotel and probably little they can do about the noise - It really is a lovely place to stay and We will stay again.

    The view from our room was totally amazing it over looked the beach and sea.Good Free easy parking. Reception staff were friendly and chatty. The restaurant food was very good. Our room was lovely there was a Jacuzzi bath with a television to watch in the bathroom! lovely decor throughout, and yet again that view! Breakfast was good made to order.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    A special mention for Debbie, a truly professional & friendly receptionist along with all the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather but we cannot exactly blame the hotel for that now can we. That would be stretching it.

    Our room 203 had the WOW factor big time. We were transported back to 1920 Hollywood glamour with the exceptional art deco themed design. It was a real surprise when we entered the room. It far exceeded our expectations. The care taken to re-create the 1920s was incredible in both the bedroom & the bathroom. To cap it off, the view from the window was perfect. If you book ask for room 203. You will definitely not be disappointed. Superb. If you want to feel like a 1920s film star then BOOK this room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    A great place to stay. We have stayed twice now and would happily go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They are installing a lift very soon which is good news as the stairs won't suit everyone, especially when you have heavy luggage. Parking can be a bit of a problem. It would be good if they could prevent beach and bar visitors from using the guests spaces. Having said that, we only had to wait on one occasion for a space.

    The views of the beach from the sea view rooms and the dining room is our main reason for staying here. I doubt if you could find such a lovely, unspoilt view of a beach anywhere else in England. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is good, although some may find the portions too large but they are happy to let you share a meal or ask for less. It is peaceful at night with the soothing sound of the sea. The bar is popular with locals which is always a good sign. We had the room with the balcony and it was wonderful being able to sit outside with a cup of tea first thing in the morning, enjoying the beautiful view. Easy to get to other places in Norfolk. We visited Cromer, Norwich, Great Yarmouth, RSPB Strumpshaw and many other places. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.1
    Decent hotel more suited to holiday makers than business travellers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service in the restaurant was very slow for both dinner and breakfast. The dinner server did not bring me exactly what I had ordered. The breakfast server could not be found for ages so I just sat down and waited for someone to appear. At the time, I was the only guest in the restaurant. I ordered boiled eggs with wholemeal bread soldiers, but was brought white soldiers. I did not have time to complain as I had to leave for work.

    I was working at the James Paget Hospital and stayed here for one night. The room was very comfortable and the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. This hotel is more suited to holiday makers than business travellers as I seemed to be the only business traveller about!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.3
    We had a good time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mirror in the room only in the bathroom Difficult if you use hair straighteners

    The food was good but we did find we had to keep asking for things like milk plates please

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing stay in comfortable surroundings and a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit creaky but otherwise the room was excellent.

    Really comfortable hotel with a fantastic beach side location. Very nice friendly staff and good food. Our room was on the first floor with sea view and huge shower room. All very swish and well equipped. Nice to have a little walk along the prom before dinner, always lots to see.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    It was a very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't get our first choice of fillet steak which we ordered for our evening meal as it was unavailable but had still been put in the specials menu.

    We were upgraded at no extra cost which was unexpected, but a nice surprise. The lady on reception was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.2
    Near the beach, supplied dressing gowns, slippers etc, quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couple z beds broken. Painter was decorating balcony above us. Drapped his dustsheet on our balcony, but we received discount and receptionist was very understanding.

    Near the beach, supplied dressing gowns, slippers etc, quiet, couldn’t hear the bar downstairs. Friendly staff. Great food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.1
    The Hotel location is ideal and we will be planning a future visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were in room 202. There was quite a 'Draft' coming into the room, NOT through the window, but from around the actual 'Window Frame'. So much so that the actual wallpaper was coming away from the wall. When we stayed at the hotel, the weather was beautiful and warm, especially in the evenings, so the draft didn't really bother us, but I could imagine it would be unpleasant in cooler weather. I didn't mention it at the time because we were happy with everything else.

    We liked the Position of the hotel, The food was very good and a nice selection was offered.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the property was spotlessly clean the interior of the rooms and stairway could do with a lock of paint and modernisation. Also, most importantly there is no lift.. I was on the 3rd floor! Something to bear in mind if there are any disabilities?

    The hotel couldn’t be in a better location, the view first thing when the beach was empty was stunning. Food good and staff,service excellent!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    The staff are so friendly & helpful after asking if we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small compared to the hotel we had stayed in the night before & the room could have been a bit cleaner but they did have it ready early for us so that was ok really.

    The staff are so friendly & helpful after asking if we could check in a bit early as we were leaving another hotel that morning. We got a call to say our room was ready at 11am. The View from our room was lovely. We would definitely stay there again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    The only thing that is lacking in this hotel is a lift for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No lift. Douuble bed a tad small.

    The only thing that is lacking in this hotel is a lift for the elderly/less mobile, however I understand that this problem is being addressed this winter, Everything else is pretty much perfect. Great views up the river from the front room we were in 201.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    A relaxed enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable, clean rooms with all mod cons and fully air conditioned. Good choice of home cooked meals on the menu in the bar and restaurant. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    good hotel, well placed, comfy bed, good food & staff. Not my first visit & won’t be my last.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom. The shower design isn’t good for elderly or arthritic hands. Pushing a button and turning the controls is not easy especially with wet hands & there is no indicator to gauge hot water temperature. The water became hotter while showering which could scald. Running water for ages to gauge temperature first is wasteful. There should be a temperature indicator, ideally a lever instead of button & knob, also an emergency cord in the bathroom.

    A good menu, quality food & good service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.9
    Great week weather fantastic, hotel very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Snacks could have been slightly cheaper, especially if you are eating there every day. Portions very large maybe smaller portions to make it cheaper. Both my husband and I had the ploughman's lunch and although it was excellent it was too much to finish. As we are pensioner's we felt the prices was too high to eat there everyday.

    Bed was comfy, very near the beach. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food good but rather pricey and too large a portion.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Generally good but disappointed that restaurant full on Sunday with non residents
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No available tables in restaurant area on Sunday evening due to large rowdy party. Also noises in corridor late at night as said party returned to rooms and kids running amock at 7am next morning

    Bed was comfortable and decor excellent in bathroom and bedroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.7
    A nice little hotel on the beach, with friendly staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very small and dated (wooden dressing table and bed in below picture) the whole room could do with being refurbished and brightened up!

    A nice little hotel on the beach, with friendly staff and good breakfast and facilities

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Ok for one night, with having to climb the stairs. Won't go back until there is a lift installed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs so steep, and no lift or chairlift. My Husband found them really difficult.

    Room very clean, and staff very helpful, carrying bags up stairs on arrival, then down on departure..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent service and a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant and bedroom had all the requirements we needed. The table presentation and meals in the restaurant were well prepared and with a good choice. Staff were efficient and pleasant. This was our third visit to The Pier Hotel and we enjoyed our stay. We will book again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    A lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only 2 down-sides to this lovely hotel was the lack of a lift & and the price of the food.

    An exceptionally clean, friendly and comfy hotel that provides a perfect place to stay. Highly recommended. Everything you need for a relaxing stay is provided

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location, friendly staff and good rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was the lack of a lift, so if you are on the 2nd or 3rd floor then it’s hard work.

    The hotel and staff are great, good onsite facilities close to the beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel would recommend for a quiet, tranquil holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning did not work, was reported but no one came to mend it. Shower very high on wall and pressure was quite low. No lift or disabled access to rooms.

    Comfy bed, spotlessly clean, tea/coffee toiletries replenished daily. Lovely sea view. Good breakfast cooked to order. Pub food excellent. Nice seating area outside. On the beach, was lovely to hear the sea from the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Very good and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dog walkers and people fishing taking up hotel parking spaces.

    A very nice hotel breakfast was good. Staff very friendly nothing to much trouble. Brilliant location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Once again The Pier was outstanding fast becoming our favourite place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have been to the Pier before and had such a good time that we decided to go racing at Great Yarmouth and booked into the Pier for just one night. We parked the car at 12 and asked if it was ok to leave as racing started at 2pm, staff where lovely we booked in and then went racing. Got back at 8:45 just in time for dinner at the restaurant everything was perfect the meal was delicious as was breakfast the following day. We had a lovely break a big thank you to everybody at The Pier.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    A friendly, comfortable hotel, pretty much on the beach. Helpful interested staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, the bed was very uncomfortable. You could feel every spring as you moved. Time for a new one I think. However, it wouldn't stop me from staying again! No lift, room top floor!

    The room was a family suite which was an upgrade on my booking of a standard double. Well appointed, good size with a lovely bathroom. The rooms were clean and the decoration was in good order.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant for a couple of days.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room with no air conditioning, small fan in the room. If you have a top floor room be aware of the low water pressure when having a shower.

    Nice location right on the beach, staff were pleasant and seemed to care about their guests.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely overnight stay better value than the local Premier Inn, lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy when people leaving local nightclub did keep us awake which was frustrating but it is holiday season & a Friday evening

    Friendly staff, comfy beds, lovely breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    A lovely hotel, great room and we will be going back in September.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    One of the members of staff could have been more helpful when I asked for room service as I wanted tea in the evening with fresh milk and water that wasn't from the bathroom tap but I guess it was a busy evening.

    The view of the beach from our room was wonderful and, with the windows open, we went to sleep to the sound of the sea which was very relaxing. There was also a lovely view from the breakfast room. We could get to all the places we wanted to visit in Norfolk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Old time atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were too hot (opening windows didn't much help) and the beds quite small. Noise from the nearby port kept us awake. View to the public toilets was not the most delightful.

    The hotel is on the side of a nice beach. I booked two double rooms for a family of four persons. The rooms were clean and conveniently located next to each other. Breakfast was good. Ok for a one night stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.4
    It was ok for one night but the overall grubbiness of the public areas was very disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the overall cleanliness of the place wasn't very good, even the staircase looked as if it needed a good hoover. Although the room was adequate it was very dated and the carpet was particularly dirty and was highlighted by the difference in colour under the bed!

    The bed was really comfortable and the linen very clean, could have done with more fresh fruit options for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Nice play to stay, very tasty breakfast and nice location if...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice play to stay, very tasty breakfast and nice location if you don’t want to have a meal at restaurant downstairs there is some nice restaurant around a hotel. Room was clean and we enjoyed the stay. Staff was welcoming and in the room there was everything you needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    The perfect hotel! Out of 100's of hotel stays, one of the best places I have ever been in my life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    The Pier Hotel is now the standard against which all future hotel stays will be measured! We were upgraded for free from a double to the family room. This room is utterly fabulous. Beautiful beach views-a/c-a gorgeous bathroom-very comfortable beds with soft pillows-I only wish we had stayed here for our entire trip! The staff also let us check in 3 hours early as we were coming from another place which had an early checkout and we had nowhere to go with all our bags. They also let us have a late check-out. The staff was exceptional. They went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect, and it was! We are already planning our next stay at the Pier hotel. My 22 yr old son who traveled with me has stated he will not stay anywhere else--a sentiment I agree with. In addition, we had a lovely meal at the restaurant. The Pier hotel is the perfect place to stay when visiting the Great Yarmouth, Gorleson area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely break and ideal for my purposes. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately my room was overlooking a flat roof and the public toilets. Also, the Ocean Rooms was next to my room and it was very noisy until 3am.

    Plenty of coffee provided in the room. Lovely bathroom. Bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location to beach and near by attractions and very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I must have had the worst room : worn out mattress broken TV broken mirror light shower very stiff to use and leaked toilet seat broken

    Excellent location to beach and near by attractions and very nice hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    A beautiful hotel. Would highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the double bed could have been bigger, as the room could fit it. But it was comfortable and warm.

    Absolutely fantastic room, hotel and restaurant. The food was delicious and the hotel was extremely clean and tidy! Would love to stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    Really enjoyed it., First time away on holiday in over 20+ years and it was worth the drive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel could do with a lick of paint outside (and in) but I expect that will be addressed when the weather improves

    Staff were fantastic. Very attentive but not intrusive, just the right balance. They are so efficient there. Loved that there were never dirty plates left on any tables, the staff were always scanning to make sure they cleared the tables and cleaned up. Very impressed. And it was packed out. Food is fantastic. Overall had a great time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Dont judge a book by its cover!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave.

    The receptionist (very pretty) The bathroom was really nice with the walk in shower.the room was very clean with lots of complimentary bits and bobs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    It was a pleasant stay just as a short break from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole place was extremely warm but turning off the radiator and leaving the window wide open solved that in the room. A lighter quilt would have been more comfortable but then again the weather had been changeable.

    The breakfasts were plentiful and very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel in lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very friendly and efficient staff. Clean comfortable room with everything we could need and more. Excellent service and food in the restaurant both at dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Cheap food for a reason?
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the morning we both had stomach problems, we had dinner at the restaurant the night before and breakfast, but when we told the woman at the reception she wasn't helpful at all.

    Nice room, clean and comfortable. The bathroom, toiletries and shower are very good. We stayed on the third floor, just overlooking the night club on a Friday night, but the room was very quiet. The restaurant is quite cheap, but not impressive and actually we both felt sick, so there you go...!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, I believe the bed was soft. However, I slept in better. Its personal taste so I would not raise it to high profile. Also, more wall plug-ins or extension should be provided.

    Place and parking are simple. THere is a sandy beach on the back of the hotel. The staff is flexible about the breakfast.The bar and pricing are excellent. Breakfast was also really nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.8
    It was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had not been to the hotel before so went into the hotel bar to be told if we wanted to be served quicker go to the other bar

    The breakfast and staff in there were very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, good staff. Shame about the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking was taken up by visiting guests to the bar and restaurant so we were having to park outside. Friday night was very noisy with people using the bar and then off to the Ocean Room opposite. Later there was the cavalcade of taxis collecting people from the Ocean Room and ferrying them home. The Thursday our room was filled with the smell of sewage caused by some blockage elsewhere in the Hotel. We slept with the window open that night and made a complaint in the morning.

    staff were always friendly and helpful. Hotel was always clean and tidy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Room was extremely well appointed and bed comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was initially too hot but that was sorted by switching off radiator

    Room was extremely well appointed and bed comfy. The breakfast included was cooked to order and there was a delicious selection of food on offer. Staff were attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.0
    Won't return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minute bedroom made worse by too much big heavy furniture. Food very expensive for location. Trying to charge London prices in run down superb if Great Yarmouth

    Breakfast was superb

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only gripe was a male bar staff very rude When asking hi a question.

    View was lovely, The room was so lovely and warm when we walked in. Especially as it's been extra cold over the weekend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    lovely and comfortable, like being at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was to our liking, except we couldn't turn the radiator on. However, weather was warm enough without it.

    Bed comfortable and bathroom very clean. Staff discreet when tidying our room in the morning. Everything we needed was in the room, and gorgeous view of the beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.6
    somewhere that we have wanted to stay as we have dined here many times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn’t anything that could be better.

    The room was very warm with a great view of the beach. An extremely comfortable bed. Staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Great hotel excellent location welcoming staff enjoyed my weekend making me feel relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault anything .

    The hotel is of a very high standard with a great location of sitting on the beach front . The staff were all pleasure and nothing was to much trouble.The food was excellent . Our room we stayed in The sunrise suite with our balcony over looking the beach with was beautiful. Perfect for those lovely walks on the beach. everything in the room was perfect I normally have trouble sleeping but the bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept in . The cleanliness was excellent too . Would reccomend this hotel to anyone . Def would return for another stay .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Service and facilities excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was our second visit and we also enjoyed a meal with our family at lunch time in the restaurant. Even though the staff were very busy everything arrived on time and was cooked and presented well to each person's taste. Our ensuite room was compact, but it was well designed with space for essentials, clean ,comfortable and with an excellent harbour view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant stay. Would love to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited milk for tea and coffee in the room... Bathroom was lovely but shower water took ages to run away and the bi fold door would not close..... Evening meal in Restaurant was well cooked any very tasty but not enough potatoes or vegetables served.

    Lovely location Breakfast freshly cooked and staff very pleasant.... Bed comfortable and good size double room Restaurant had a great vibe and food very well cooked.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.8
    Lovely room and restaurant, would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold on arrival, even though we had stated time of arrival heating was off. It took a couple of hours to warm up.

    Fuss was made at dinner time as we were celebrating an anniversary. The view from the room and comfy chairs in room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    We had an excellent stay, would definitely recommend The Pier to any one else and definitely stay ag
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was a little small, but OK for one night

    The staff from the moment we checked in to our checking out were very polite and friendly. The location was superb looking directly onto the beach We had both dinner and breakfast which were also extremely good tasting and value for money. Staff serving at breakfast were very polite and cheery

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    The room was lovely and the restaurant staff were so happy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had an issue with the WiFi not working and reception lady didn’t seem to want to resolve this for us.

    The room was lovely and the restaurant staff were so happy and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.6
    Memorable, for the right reasons. We will stay again next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift but we were aware of that before we booked.

    Excellent location. Our room did not have a sea view but did have a view straight up the River Yare which, for us, was just as interesting. Our room was slightly old fashioned but still comfortable. The friendly staff showed us some of the 'art deco' rooms which were beautiful. The restaurant served very good food, nicely presented.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.2
    Overall, excellent !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    NO LIFT! Lots of stairs for our age of 80 and 82. We had been booked into the third floor, but receptionist managed to get us a room on the second floor. Even that was a struggle. We understand, however, that plans have been submitted for a lift to be installed. Asked for a bath, but didn't get one. We would stay here again.

    Room was clean, comfy, large double bed and excellent staff. Excellent breakfast. Varied dinner menu. Very convenient to be able to obtain food all day in bar. Terrific view of beach from our bedroom window (205).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were terrible and we both had a stiff neck! The room information said there were more pillows in the wardrobe but there was only a blanket!! This was the only negative.

    The food and staff service in the bar and restaurant were excellent. The staff were very polite and returned frequently to check if everything was ok. All the food was piping hot and very tasty.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Very good value hotel, clean, comfortable and with excellent food in comfortable surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was rather lopsided which meant I did not sleep well The shower took some getting used to and the washbasin held little water, once you’d figured out how to get hot water out!!

    Excellent food and very comfortable surroundings, modern decor and very clean, not just in public areas, all over.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lift

    Everything was perfect staff couldn’t be more helpful food was great we ate there every day always someone to help great will be going back for sure

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Relaxing, enjoyable and other hotels could do with trying to be as good as the Pier Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next time I visit, I will try to find something that I didn't like!

    Everything, staff efficient and helpful, without actually having to keep asking. Food was outstanding with a really good choice. The overall warmth (heating as well) and lively bar with all age groups using the Pier Hotel. Also the location next to the sea with a fantastic sandy beach that stretches for at least a mile.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    5.8
    The room was very disappointing for the price paid for a sea view room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    3rd floor room, no lift, no porter, very poor shower flow, no ventilation, couldn't open the window, sweaty overnight.

    Breakfast very good. Excellent service in the bar and at breakfast. Good sea view despite the poor January weather.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Excellent faciltiies and food, Good location and great to have quality hospitality on our doorstep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No sunrise, but you can't control the weather!

    We liked the spacious room and en suite, the cleanliness and quality extras i.e. toiletries, coffee and tea making extras- nothing was overlooked. The staff were pleasant and efficient. The restaurant food was of excellent value and choice and table presentation was good e.g. fresh linen and flowers. Thank you

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.9
    Loved our Art Deco room, beach view stunning esp in the morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. Poor view at back of hotel. Would not have been happy if had to stay in original room. Overlooking the car park.

    Waitresses/ waiters, cleaning staff excellent. Receptionists fair.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.8
    Had a great stay, all the staff were excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom window hinge was broken so we had difficulty closing it. We had that room last year and it was broken then. We were a bit disappointed they had not fixed it. The wind came through that window so much it moved the blind. But the heating was excellent so not cold, luckily. The pillows were like rock. Very uncomfortable.

    Stayed four nights over Christmas 2017. Very comfy bed. Window which opened in bathroom was a real bonus. Two windows in the room. One with a lovely sea view which overlooked the coast right up to Lowestoft peninsula. The other window you could see the sea if you stood up and looked over the flat roof and fire escape ladder. Bright sunny room. Very effective radiator in room. Belted out the heat. Plenty of tea and coffee in room. Bottles of water every day. Two boxes of tissues, one in room and one in bathroom. Which was very handy. Pump dispensers of hand wash, body wash and shampoo in bathroom. On Christmas morning we received a lovely Christmas card signed by all the staff. And a little present of a small box of chocolate truffles and a miniature brandy. Thought it was a bit strange they didn't put two minutures in though as there were two of us? But a lovely kind thought. All these little touches made for a good stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Great hotel, would definitely go back again next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift and we were on the third floor, but staff offered to help with our bags.

    The staff were excellent and very helpful, breakfast was very good. Room was clean and we had a really lovely view over the beach. Even received a Christmas card from the staff. Nice thought

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    A lovely welcoming place to stay with fabulous views of the sea right on the doorstep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great

    We have stayed here for the third year in a row and just love the place, it is always welcoming and the breakfast is fabulous. It feels like home when we stay there and I can't wait to stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    Can't wait to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable,but it was nice and warm under the duvet.

    The breakfast was beautiful,the room was lovely and toasty and the staff were great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.5
    Relaxing break
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a standard room which was quite basic, but as we were only there 1 night & not in it much we didn't bother upgrading

    The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We had lunch in the wine bar.There were 11 of us a family gathering, the food was excellent and we were very well looked after. The hotel position is very good right by the beach.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.5
    The Pier hotel is a comfortable, friendly and good value option for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom and bathroom felt cramped; no curtains or blinds on the bathroom window - although the (large) window had frosted glass I still had a feeling of not having total privacy. The cold breakfast buffet was rather limited in scope.

    All the staff I met, without exception, were delightful. The bedroom was clean and smartly decorated and the bathroom had a good sized walk in shower. The hot breakfast was tasty and served freshly cooked. Free car parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Our stay was "Perfect"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't fault anything on our break.

    Always enjoy our stay when we come to the Pier Hotel. Was a lovely surprise that our room was upgraded which set the break off to a great start. Its just perfect and will come back in the summer with the kids.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: