Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Penmere Manor Hotel 3 stars

Mongleath Road, Falmouth, TR11 4PN, United Kingdom

#39 of 45 hotels in Falmouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 629 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no negatives at all

    Receptionist was charming and very helpful. Room was amazing and the bed exceptionally comfy The bathroom was something else......outstanding The food was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beautiful location with good facilities. Good breakfast choices, great little bar with a different (lighter) menu to the restaurant. Swimming pool, sauna, and jacuzzi. We stayed for a week and had a lovely time. We had a garden room, which are large and furnished to a high standard, and our room even had a fridge. Staff super friendly, helpful and polite. Hotel is just over a mile walk into Falmouth and its many shops, pubs and restaurants and a good location for visiting pretty much everywhere in Cornwall (most places are within an hour's drive).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening bar food could be a lot better- very disappointing for price. Range ofavailable drinks also poor.

    Staff very friendly, rooms large, spacious, comfortable and clean, powerful shower and very useful washing/drying line.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is good but the hotel could offer a bit more choice (eg no fruit)

    Nice staff (reception, breakfast) and facilities are clean / well maintained. Our family room was really big and the big bed was very comfy. Pool is of a nice size (great for kids) and the gym has nice equipment (a bit compact but more than enough)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very dated, in particularly the bathroom. There was mould in the shower, a pool of rust in the bath, suit was old and dated and it had a very scuffed door.

    The staff were friendly. The rooms were large. The grounds and outside of the building were beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower is more of a trickle than a good flowing stream.

    Set in lovely grounds, peaceful and quiet. Liked the use of the pool, sauna and jacuzzi too. Bed was really comfortable. Good choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All was rather tired looking. We found the breakfast very mundane and with coach parties staying there when food and juice was gone it was not replaced. They still have outdoor pool advertised but in reality it is all boarded up and the water is green. Most of the land has been sold off and the views are poor.

    The bedroom and bathrooms were very spacious. Lovely and peaceful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ground floor room with no blinds or nets near the entrance leaving no privacy.. This would be my only complaint if any, otherwise a very pleasant stay..

    Nice location and surroundings. Very peaceful after a long day.. Have stayed a couple of times now and have found the staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast is always nice and fresh and not been sitting around for hours under heat lamps..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool changing rooms, they could do with another shower and be warmer

    The lady on reception was brilliant lovely and friendly and very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some repairs needed in room 42. Especially shower whinh in some hands might be dangerous. Attention to lighting would be appreciated bas several lights failed during our stay.

    Excellent Food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service was very slow when the restaurant was busy - but we weren't charged in the end for the breakfast due to the delay. Musty/carpet smell in reception. Room had worn out/soft mattress.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Lovely property and grounds. Very spacious rooms and high ceilings.Good location and parking facilities. Decent bar and indoor pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is a half hour walk into town up and down hills which we didnt mind too much but would make it very difficult for those less mobile.

    The whole hotel is so grand and beautifully appointed but it is such a shame to see it so under occupied. We were the only diners at the restaurant and the lovely lounge, bar and library were empty yet were such comfortable, attractive areas. The bonus of this under occupancy was having the pool, sauna and jacuzzi to ourselves every day which was the best part of our stay. We chose this hotel because they do not admit members of the public to use these facilities and so they do not get overcrowded like the more popular hotels with these facilities in town. The staff were all really friendly and helpful. The room was clean and attractive with a lovely view of the front gardens. Lots of tea, coffee provisions as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a great stay ! When away with my friends for a husband and kids free night away ! Definitely be back again. It was great that 3 adults could stay in one room, the room was a great size and had plenty of room for us to relax in and very comfy arm chairs! And the bed where really comfy too !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only slight negative is the location, it was a bit of an up-hill trek into town.

    The highlight of our stay was the bedroom, probably the largest we’ve had in a UK hotel. Breakfast was amazing, plenty of choice and so much of it!. The swimming pool each morning was a bonus. The staff were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble. All in all, a great base from which to explore west Cornwall.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed in lots of hotels in Falmouth and this one is very good, we enjoy the leisure swim and it’s very clean. The rooms are nice and the bed is very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was so noisy (Room 30); the walls must be paper thin and we had an awful view of a flat roof. We could actually hear what people were saying in the adjacent rooms (and more personal sounds too from the bathrooms) so when they were noisy it was appalling. Waiting for 20mins to be seated for breakfast Easter Sunday was dull and a waste of guest's time if they had planned trips etc...

    It was all OK, nice staircase and feature window. Limited parking (3 cars) by the hotel entrance, otherwise a bit of a schlep from the car park in the rain. No brollies, no staff assistance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit hard but you can’t please everybody ,and found it a bit cold at night

    Hotel has good layout,the food was excellent with the choice of eating in the bar area or restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have been good to have towels provided (as advertised) for the pool.

    Pool was nice and warm with good views of the gardens from the windows. Good range and quality of breakfast offerings. Useful CO-OP shop just down the road.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very dated. I doubt it has been decorated since it was opened 40 years ago. This was particularly apparent in the rooms where the once white but now yellowing alarm clock and shower (that sounded like a tractor starting up) were definetly both older than me and I’m 30. The hotel was quite quiet and had a creepy ‘the shining’ feel to it. The service at breakfast was terrible, one older lady server was particularly rude. The bar and lounge were empty all weekend and the pool facilities dated, the jacuzzi smelled really bad.

    The croissants at breakfast were nice and the pool empty

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame there was no bar or snack provision at lunchtime.

    Nice quiet property, 10 mins easy walk from station. Room very clean and spacious. Enjoyable cooked breakfast. Friendly staff. Recommended if you like a traditional family-run feel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was very slow, I think this was possibly down to not enough staff. We were seated in an extended area for breakfast it was cold and dark. Breakfast took a long time to arrive after ordering the toast even longer. Cutlery, cups salt pepper missing from the table. I do not think this was down to staff not doing there job correctly. It was down to lack of staff. The staff were all very friendly and helpful I felt sorry for them, not enough pairs of hands.

    Friendly staff clean room, fluffy towels

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the heating didn't work, it was very cold, the radiator never came up to full heat possibly because the thermostat needed adjusting, the only heat one morning was the from the sun coming in the window

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lose the tablecloths and get some mugs; it feels a bit stuck in the past.

    Swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna were great. Staff were friendly and helpful. We liked the location: only 20min walk down to the sea.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom and breakfast. Being someone who has serve multiple allergies I was more on garud with my stay than feeling time to relax. There mold all in the bathroom, on the tiles and in the top corner, something asthmatics should not be near or around. Breakfast, breakfast is a big let down, there’s no cater at all to people who have allergies or even people who are vegan or vegaterian. I came with my mother who is allergic to egg and does not eat pork and was only able to eat such little each morning the days we were there. The full English breakfast is excellent I enjoyed it but I didn’t like to eat all of it in front of my mother as I got my full and she didn’t. There’s not that much option with the meal. The menu hasn’t been that well thought about when coming to people with allergies or someone’s religion (if musilum) The whole let down of the stay was the breakfast and the cleaness of the bathroom from getting a 10/10 on my radar to a solid 7.5/10. Having to carry up the luggage there’s no lift.

    Liked the mattress, soft but firm, believe it’s a memory form mattress excellent with people who have asthma like myself. Staff are very friendly and do cater to your needs. The pool, used it as I am an asthmatic. Swimming helps with asthma.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A pleasant hotel. Staff are very helpful and courteous. The rooms probably could do with a makeover but are very comfortable. The breakfast is excellent. There is also the added bonus of the indoor swimming pool, gym and sauna.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool changing rooms could maybe do with a little bit of updating but they were still lovely and clean!

    Had a very relaxed atmoshere despite the hotel feeling quite fancy. Was a perfect combination! Food was lovely we didn't eat in the restaurant just stuck to the bar and the food was still excellent and good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Full English breakfast a little disappointing but staff happy to add and take away items if asked.

    Enjoyed the pool and the sauna. Nice grounds. Quiet. Very good bar meals reasonably priced. There were only a few other guests when we visited so can't say what it would be like if full.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit noisy as the room was next to the disabled car park and close to the main entrance...so all conversations outside easily heard and any guest leaving early.

    Lovely gardens. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It felt a little cold in the communal areas in the evenings.

    We stayed in a triple superior room as one adult and two children. The room was a lovely size with a seating area, plenty of storage, large bathroom. Staff were friendly and food very good, especially the cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Jacuzzi out of use.

    Had a lovely meal in restaurant in the evening. Breakfast was good too. We enjoyed using the swimming pool. Nice lounge area to spend a relaxed evening.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived we were upgraded to a superior room that had great views and so much space, so it was a brilliant start! Also, the staff were very lovely, the food was very good and leisure facilities were exactly what we needed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was cold, as the one of the radiators was not working, whilst the other was very noisy. staff provided an electric heater. Television remote volume button not working. I have stayed here before and this room was not as good as the others.

    Breakfast was excellent. Room was clean. Made use of the pool, Jacuzzi and sauna, all excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The staff were excellent and helpful. The room was a budget double but it seemed perfectly ok to us. We were even able to use the pool even though we had just checked out.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was totally different the second day and staff not so helpful at breakfast.

    Bed comfortable and large. Reception, housekeeping, Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked 4 rooms and thought the hotel was lovely , clean , and the staff very friendly . The food and drinks were very reasonably priced for this grand hotel . Would definitely stay again .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only slight quibble, they don’t provide lunch or afternoon tea, which would have been nice on arrival.

    Wonderful location, feels like being in the country as the grounds are extensive yet you are pretty central to main shops etc. The staff were exceptionally friendly and professional.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel seems to be running down. Staffing seemed to be at a minimum. We were the only ones in the dining room, which was quite cold.

    The grounds are very attractive. The bedroom was warm and it was good to have 2 armchairs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk into town on the first day it was harder than we thought but the scenery was nice.

    The food and customer service were all outstanding. The parking easy and the location and views were excellent. Our 40th anniversary mini break was all what we expected. Thank you.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cant think of anything!

    The staff are always so friendly, having stayed here on so many occasions they always remember you. Home from home. Recommend to anyone 100%.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big chunk of cast iron gutter fell in front of my disabled wife during a very stormy evening as we returned to our room, not close but still concerning. 😕

    Room was very cold and when we enquired about heating we got upgraded to a bigger room with better heating straight away. 🙂

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality of the bread. As with most hotels they serve cheap , Chorleywood style bread. It would be so much nicer for them to spend a little more on quality bread which is better for you and filling so you don't need as many slices.

    Staff were very helpful and qick to respond to any request. Hotel is comfortable and peaceful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was terrible. Couldn't turn the shower off after using it which was a right pain. Eventually managed to do it.

    Lovely old building. Nice staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, a little hidden...Signpost could've also been bigger and clcearer

    It was clean and staff approachable. Breakfast was good too. Would stay longer next visit to Cornwall

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lighting in our room was quite limited and we did find that to be an issue. There were also 2 plugs in our room that did not give out any power. We also had to ask for extra toilet roll as there was not enough for the 3 of us sharing the room.

    The staff were really accommodating, helped us book taxi's etc and breakfast was really nice. The location was really good too. The shower in our room was amazing! And the room generally was very nice & spacious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was quite stiff when trying to turn off, although very clean mostly, needs to hoovered a little better under the beds.

    Breakfast was excellent, staff were extremely helpful & accomodating & the location was good. With breakfast baked beans are given if requested. More vegetarian options like replacement for bacon I.e quorn rashers would be good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi problems but BT were on site when I left to resolve. As a previous guest has said the sound insulation is poor. I was disturbed in the morning by a guest next door.

    An historic property with character. Well furnished. Lovely grounds. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we only stayed 2 nights would have made an excellent base for a longer stay Only down side was poor ventilation in our room (which apart from this was excellent value for money) causing lots of condensation on all windows after showering

    Staff, service and facilities all excellent Would highly recommend

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we love this hotel, very quiet with good rooms and facilities, very friendly staff and the best scrambled eggs in town. There was a problem with Wi-Fi and they did everything they could to solve it, never had problems before, we will be booking again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately their Wifi was down which meant I could not catch up with work. It has never been great in fairness, but I was assured that it was being sorted

    It is always a comfortable stay. The Staff are always really good as is the food

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor soundproofing in the bedroom. It was possible to hear guests above going to bathroom and vacating their room at 6.30am! Also unsympathetic receptionist.

    The grounds around the hotel and the staff in the bar and restaurant,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The emptiness of the dining room and the bars and the noise from the sanyflow at 12 o’clock at night and the price for the dining was way to much

    The breakfasts

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My friend is partially disabled, so a lift would be a boon.

    Hotel has a lovely atmosphere, period furnishings in the lounge areas, interesting period features.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Towels did not smell very nice Walls of the property are very thin, I could hear my neighbour snoring.

    Nice fitness facilities. Comfortable bed. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like residential home. Lounge was like gods waiting room! Mouldy blind in bathroom, mould on bathroom ceiling, cracked tiles, drilled holes in tiles not filled. Wall lights at dressing table didnt work. Curtains didn't meet, hooks missing on curtains, hinge missing on wardrobe door, toilet roll holder not reachable! Got breakfast order wrong and didn't correct it. Having drink in bar and Barman told us he had to be up early for breakfast and also play rugby the next day and then told us the bar closed at 11pm. We went into town the next evening.

    Good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no telephone in our room, so we had to call on our mobiles to speak to reception. The food was well below Par, A chicken Ceaser Salad came with small fish in it !! and the Burgers where very greasy. An awful smell of damp around the hotel. The plugs in the hotel did not work so was unable to plug hair dryer in. Television on the wall was very small, and no radiators just hot air blowing into the room that dried your throat

    The rooms where clean and the swimming area was clean grounds around the hotel are stunning, would be lovely in the summer

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is a little off the beaten track and a car is really essential to stay here. A little fresh fruit at breakfast would be welcome.

    We were upgraded to a very spacious room. The staff were without exception very friendly and helpful; they have obviously been well trained in customer service, and the chef stopped to chat when we asked him a question in passing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    At breakfast we were shown to our seats. No one came to ask us if we would like tea or coffee or something along the lines of 'Please help your self to cereals etc'. We had to ask for spoons and when the coffee was brought had to ask the waiter again for a milk jug and toast. I noticed other tables were the same. Also no muesli on the Tuesday morning(it had to be ordered from supplies. Eventually-we had some on Friday) No fresh fruit with the breakfast. Disappointing given that the hotel prices were substantial .

    The cooked breakfast was lovely. Excellent chef. The leisure pool was well presented and not too busy. We enjoyed our time there. We were upgraded to a larger room which was also a bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Minor issue but the wifi was a bit hit and miss.

    I have stayed here many times and it has always been excellent value. Breakfast very good, staff really helpful and polite and hotel very clean. Ate in the restaurant most nights and the food was good. Room was huge and really comfortable and it was a joy to have space to lay out your belongings. Although some reviews of this hotel state it is a bit tired looking, I would suggest this is part of its charm and the overall advantages far outweigh that. It's also lovely to stay at a hotel that hasn't decided to redesign itself as an overpriced Spa.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I came on Bank Holiday with my family, i have a 4 month daughter. The hotel KNEW about this before our visit, and put a cot in our room. The HUGE problem is our daughter has a disability and needs special equipment. We had to walk up two flights of stairs, no lifts and we werent given a room on the ground floor. Terrible. We met a couple staying at the hotel who said had the staff offered a swap they would have been delighted to exchange. This dampened our stay ten fold.

    The staff were truly fantastic, the bar staff in particular were more then friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pluming in bedroom poor, lighting in bedroom poor, waiter in bar/rest. poorly trained, flowers on rest. tables all dead, service in rest. a bit chaotic.

    general ambiance of hotel and grounds. most of the staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surly bar staff, tidied up around us and turning off lights in the bar. Obviously didn't want us to be there at 10:30 so we only had 1 small drink

    very clean room, very comfy bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Plumbing - very noisy and water flow into sink poor. Shower door a problem (mentioned at check out) . Breakfast, burnt toast one morning (not the second morning). Sugar bowl glued up. Check out, had to ask for price of dinner to be taken off bill, ( we had not eaten dinner in hotel). No wifi, as promised.

    Location, bus service into Falmouth and train service to Falmouth or Truro nearby. Friendly check in and welcome. Good parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room: bed mattress uncomfy,couldn't use shower as shower hose squashed,mold on the silling and bathroom door.Training machines on the gym all rusted.Breakfast not tasty.Salmon not fresh.

    Very friendly recepsionist.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast staff on day 1 were terrible. Buffet not replenished until guests asked. Tables left with dirty dishes piled up & not cleared. The bedroom had broken wardrobe doors, iron & WiFi did not work.

    Reception staff were very helpful. Different breakfast staff on day 2 were very good unlike day 1.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When you book the room you cant say that you need a ground floor room. So many stairs to our room. Plus the Wifi was not great at all

    The Breakfast was cooked better on the Sunday.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The restaurant is rather expensive and you need to pay for some courses. Location is fine if you are by car, but by foot everything is too far.

    Garden room is very comfortable, we had our own enter, the indoor swimming pool is excellent, good food for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelt of damp, lots of repair work needed around hotel ( pool missing tiles, broken things, even floats looked like mice had been eating them!)

    Friendly staff, nice and quiet location, big room, breakfast ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When walking into the Jacuzzi a pointed stud was sticking up which my husband caught his foot on; rather dangerous, could have ripped his foot open and also in the sauna the bench on the right as you enter the sauna collapsed when sat on; these need attention. Sadly there was an outside area which was walled off but when spying through a gap you could see what could have been a lovely outside pool area; would be an asset if this was revamped and re-opened.

    Friendly staff, comfy bed, spacious room as advised to change by reception; room booked online would have been too small for comfort. Good breakfast, lots of choice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Leaving! Also couple of minor things quickly attended to by staff. Some people may prefer to be closer to town (not me!).

    Lovely quiet manor house with garden setting. Big room. Comfortable bed. Fridge. Good hot water pressure. Nice Town. A highlight of UK trip.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No phone in room on arrival.no menu for room service. Bathroom equipment poor -shower no handset. Sink plug not working. Iron so black couldn't use it.

    Food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely but bathroom needed updating to reflect the room as very dated . Found it strange that at 11 pm no room service not even packet of crisps in bar to be had .

    Good breakfast and nice large triple room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The single beds were uncomfortable, quite hard, could do with a revamp of the mattresses to bring them up to date with new memory foam ones.

    The hotel receptionist was particularly helpful, with recommending an indian takeaway one evening. The bar staff were lovely and helpful and very friendly. A lovely calm location, just what you need after a long days work. We enjoyed the heated pool, jacuzzi and spa with free to use bathing towels. Clean towels each day. Light and airy reception rooms and bar area. We enjoyed a game of Draughts in the bar whilst waiting for our evening meal, which was Beer battered Hake , chips and mushy peas, which was amazing. Daughter had chicken nuggets, which were full breast chicken, lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms dated decor of public areas dated. Not enough staff at dinner took ages to take order. Didnt come back with drinks ordered leisure facilities small and need updating

    Ample parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Internet. Almost impossible to connect from the bedrooms.

    The size of the rooms and the view. It is a very quiet location and in general all the hotel facilities are good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room and bed as they were a bit small but it was a nice place there.

    Bed was comfortable but a bit small for us two oldies. Daughter and grandchildren had a lovely room and beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: