Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Penny Farthing Hotel & Cottages

Romsey Road, Lyndhurst, SO43 7AA, United Kingdom

#20 of 26 hotels in Lyndhurst

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 523 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.1
    a nice venue for exploring the new forest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    facilities in the bathroom could be a little better [complimentary shampoo] tea coffee and biscuits in room could have been a little more plentiful

    good breakfast but slightly rushed between courses staff where very pleasant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were really friendly and welcoming. Information given on hotel and local area very good. Hotel easy to access, park and room comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    8.8
    We only stayed for one night but would definitely stay again as the hotel was clean and the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found the shower very small and the sink in the bathroom seemed to take a long time to empty. There was a glugging noise for a long time after you took the plug out.

    The staff were very helpful and it was very kind of them to ask me in the morning had I left a jacket in the waiting area. I had and would not have realised unless the staff asked me.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Excellent Hotel and great value too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were professional and friendly, especially Lizzie. The accommodation was very clean and the breakfast was excellent. Would recommend this hotel and was great value. Good location close to Lyndhurst centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    Made most welcome by Lizzie. great location for short stop or a few days. Would recommend hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the bed a little soft but my wife thought it was absolutely fine.

    Very friendly welcome from Lizzie, a font of information. Great location for short stay or to make a base for a few days exploring the forest. Didn't have breakfast but it looked good. Hotel was clean, staff friendly. What's not to like? Would certainly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.2
    A very friendly hotel, you are made to feel so welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was over crowded with furniture and it was very difficult to watch TV in bed. The bed mattress was too soft but I understand that some people like it like that.

    A very friendly hotel, you are made to feel so welcome. Breakfast was lovely and the location of the hotel is fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.3
    Good location, frendly staff :) Clean and tidy and hot well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small double was really small! Its a bit dated, not in an English quirky way but old fashioned.

    Good location, frendly staff :) Clean and tidy and hot well presented breakfast. Nice white bedding and towels.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    A real hotel the way they should be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What’s not to like?

    Clean and tidy rooms lots of hot water. A shower so strong it nearly blew my skin off 👍..staff really nice and accommodating. Breakfast great no waiting great coffee by the way.. easy to park around the back(I had a small trailer with me and didn’t have to take it off. Great location a real hotel not premier inn or travel lodge sterility 10 out of 10.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    6.3
    Great staff let down by facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was awful. Door hard to open and close and the temperature was all over the place. We stayed in the sunbeam room. The room was very small too.

    The location was great and the staff were absolutely lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    lovely perfect x
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    reception lady was fantastic ..So helpful ...made us a lovely pack up breakfast before doing the marathon ....Loved the quirky names on the room doors x

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Excellent hotel.Nice welcome from lizzie on reception. Room clean and comfortable.Decor throughout hotel was lovely. Plenty to choose from at breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel, excellent staff, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room above ours had VERY squeaky floorboards. Wouldn't have been that much of a problem except the occupant of the room got up several times each night and the noise woke us up.

    Lovely little hotel. Had the Ariel room, back of hotel so no road noise. Great location, two minutes walk from the pubs, shops & restaurants on Lyndhurst high street. Excellent base for exploring the New Forest or visiting Beaulieu. Friendly, helpful staff, especially the lovely Lizzie and the breakfast team

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location for New Forrest,lovely town very nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe draught beer or lager rather than can or bottle.but infinitesimal,overall great.

    Location,staff,cleanliness,comfort and breakfast excellent.Will definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    A pleasant and relaxing stay in a very comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room and facilities were a little dated. The hotel was on a busy main road and the traffic was a little disturbing at night

    The hotel is very conveniently situated to shops, pubs, restaurants and local attractions Staff are friendly and happy to help

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    hotel was lovely and in a fantastic location. the drive through the new forest was exceptional and .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A busy road but when in heart of a village only to be expected but didn't stop the enjoyment of this break.

    We stayed in the mad hatter apartment which was massive. The beds were very comfortable the apartment clean. Breakfast was lovely. The village was busy with an assortment of shops and the short time to get into the new forest to see not only the horses roaming but cows and donkeys was amazing and unforgettable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    A relaxing and enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike

    The receptionist, Lizzie was most helpful and enthusiastic in her role which made my wife and I feel welcome. We were happy staying at the Penny Farthing Hotel and will stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location for the town and New Forest.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Housekeeping was poor. Old towels left in the bath, which hadn't been cleaned. Bin was not emptied. Tea & coffee bits (sugar. biscuits etc. were not replenished). Cups had not been washed and both spoons disappeared and were replaced by a long desert spoon!

    Great location for the town and New Forest. Lots of parking. Really nice staff. Lizzie on reception and the girls at breakfast service were very friendly. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.1
    the staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    hotel is on a main road and the noise from constant traffic made it very difficult to sleep. Definately ask for a room out to the back of the hotel

    the staff were very friendly and helpful. the room and hotel in general clean and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    Bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom was rather small considering I had ensured I paid a bit more for an "average" double bedroom.

    Bed was comfortable. Staff attentive and polite. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.7
    Convenient stop over
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception area ,where you book in a bit basic. Windows very streaky, making it look dirty especially when sun shines on them in the breakfast area ,lots of traffic noise,which is hardly surprising as it’s on the main road...double glazing helped a little but you need a window opened it negates the D G .....

    A good stop over place ,good choice of pubs and restaurants within walking distance of the Penny farthing.... good breakfast choice too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.7
    Staff trying hard but owners need to help by modernising the whole building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out dated and tired property . Needs a major design and offer a cleaner and modern facility to welcome the customer and inaccurate repeat customers.

    Helpful and pleasantly mannered staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    4.2
    Faulty towers re-made.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were given was tiny and ridiculously hot with no air conditioner and only one window!! The so called double was tiny and we had no room to move in it and was so uncomfortable that both of us left feeling very unrested and like we'd been hit by a bus. The bathroom only had a tiny shower cubicle in it and was claustrophobic. It also had carpet in it, which I think is very unhygienic. The girl on reception took forever to see to any of our needs. She was on the phone for more than 10 mins when we arrived to check in and we just stood around with our bags waiting for her to finish. We had the electrics turned off on the second afternoon we were there. Apparently they were doing some maintenance work, which was fine, but they didn't notify us that this was going to happen. My husband and I were going out that afternoon for a very important afternoon out and thank god I had decided to get ready early, otherwise it would have ruined everything as I wouldn't have had any lighting or hairdryer etc!! Breakfast was also very mediocre. All in all, worst weekend we've ever stayed away, worst value for money and very disappointed overall.

    It was in a very central location which made it great for sightseeing and eating out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    We had a really warm welcome and the service was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very clean but thought it was slightly overpriced. The room was up in the rafters, the hand basin wasn't in the bathroom it was located in the bedroom and the pipes groaned whenever the water was used in other rooms. The lovely service made up for the short falls though.

    We had a really warm welcome and the service was very friendly throughout

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff. Beautiful location. Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was very nice. The staff especially Elizabeth (Lizzy) were great they are friendly eager to go out of their way to help out. Amazing holiday. Thanks guys.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Perfect little B&B right in the heart of the New Forest!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite small but it wasnt a problem as we didnt spend too much time inside anyway!

    Great staff so welcoming and helpful on reception. Room was perfect and very comfy beds and linen. Everything was compact but perfect for a weekend away. Great little place right in the heart of the village with parking facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Very warm welcome from a young lady called Lizzie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being at the top of the building the slopping roof was restricting when trying to sit up and read in bed

    Very warm welcome from a young lady called Lizzie

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vertical stairs to enter 3rd floor Toilet didn't flush and was not repaired after reporting it No towel rails or anywhere to hang them No small table or ledge to put coffee on, had to leave it on floor Very low sloping ceiling where I kept banging my head on Paper thin walls easy to hear neighbours talking Very average bed

    The English breakfast was excellent The staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.1
    The rooms were nice and spacious but sparse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed tipped to the sides. No water to drink in rooms. Breakfast was ok but had to order tea with waitress who then disappeared.

    The rooms were nice and spacious but sparse. Very well situated for the centre of lyndhurst.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice place well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, it suited us just fine for our 2 night stay

    Room was compact but comfortable and clean, breakfasts were good,more than we could eat, and the location to the town centre for restaurants and entertainment is great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    Reassonable hotel and very freindly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was hot, and traffic noise if widow left open. Over bed light and mirror light not working, which to be fair I didn't report

    Nicely cooked breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Great stay and location perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet in the bathroom kept making a terrible noise when flushed, we were in the small double room. But we bought it to the staffs attn and they were very apologetic and were getting it sorted.

    All staff were lovely and breakfasts great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Location, friendly helpful staff, cleanliness, parking,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not particularly comfortable. Unfortunately due to the heat which was beyond control of the hotel, we were in the attic room which was extremely hot. A very large room which did have a fan but really was very hot.

    Location, friendly helpful staff, cleanliness, parking, breakfast was fantastic. 2 minutes walk into Lyndhurst.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    1st anniversary treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little noisy walking up and down the stairs where it is an old building

    Everything almost. It was a place we had looked at every time we had past and we are glad we stopped this time and we certainly will again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    Staff really helpful and cheerful particularly Heidi who...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed too soft. Room on side of street.Sun heat build up in room with closed windows.

    Staff really helpful and cheerful particularly Heidi who brought our luggage up and down a steep stairs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful staff, hotel and area - a real thumbs up!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Upon arrival we couldn't have been looked after better! We were shown to our rooms (they allocated adjoining rooms having noted from the booking we had a toddler which was very thoughtful) and from there the service continued to be excellent. Little touches in the room excelled - the room was then cleaned and reset after our first night with milk, tea, coffee etc topped up and the breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The staff were bright and efficient and nothing was too much. This hotel is a real find and one I'll look to repeat and then I'll find somewhere to visit - its that good!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.0
    The room was very clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THe hotel was on a main road but I did not realise just how noisy and polluted the traffic would be. It was non stop 24/7. Did not get a good nights sleep. Breakfast was between 7 and 8.45am and we were not told that Saturday the hours were extended to 9.30. The first morning we had a full english,breakfast, but it was not good, no flavour and looked as though it had been ready since 7am, dried up.

    The room was very clean and spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Previous resident's towel was left on back of bathroom door. Room was very small but adequate but I knew it was at booking so was not a surprise

    Very clean. Friendly .flexible staff. Position

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely weekend at a smart friendly small hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it is situated on a main road it was a little noisy quite early in the morning.

    Efficient, friendly staff. Hotel very clean and bright throughout. Good breakfast. Short walk from Lyndhurst high Street and very close to the forest.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.6
    A little disappointing, we wanted a hotel, and this was not one, not even close.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    this is not a hotel but a bed and breakfast guest house. there is no comfy lounge, no bar, no evening meals, nothing a hotel would provide. Breakfast was full English or nothing. There was only cereal and toast. Would not go here again.

    Very little. but the rooms were clean and the en-suite bathroom was also clean, full English breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.4
    Okay for one night,but would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was totally over cooked.Could not eat bacon or sausage. Front bedroom was too noisy to sleep,due to traffic. Used ear plugs but that did not help. The room requires triple glazing.

    Nice lady at reception from Latvia,sorry can’t remember her name.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay .. lovely location lovely staff thank you for a lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside when originally booking it stated you could upgrade to have a evening meal but it appeared that only breakfasts was available didn't worry us but maybe affect others

    Room was lovely breakfast was lovely too . Very friendly and helpful staff .. would definitely recommend the hotel and hopefully will return ..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    Good accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with an extra toilet as we stayed in the 3 bed apartment as couples sharing and there is only one bathroom with no separate toilet so we had to kind of book a slot and take turns. Shower head doesn’t fit in holder and is very aggressive and you have to hold it above yourself to wash. Curtain in master bedroom literally hanging on. I drew the curtains and the fell down. Hair dryer in each room would be good so you don’t have to wait for it. It’s basic and dated accommodation so I wouldn’t stay longer than a night myself. If you don’t drive you will spend a fortune on taxis if you manage to book one.

    The accommodation was clean and it was easy to check in, we received a warm welcome from the lady on reception. She also helped us to book a taxi, which was by no means an easy feat during the day on a Saturday- took a long time! Breakfast was included and yummy. Hair dryer was good. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location, cheerful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small for two people - only room for one one bedside table. The steep and narrow stairs might have been difficult for some people.

    Bathroom was very clean and it was good to have a bath as well as a shower. Lots of windows to open on three very hot days. Our room was at the rear, away from the traffic, so quieter than some.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Last minute Business trip to Fawley
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very warm so the window had to be open. Very busy road outside so noise was a problem. Shower cubicle was quite small

    Very friendly staff and comfy bed. Breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel and location. Lovely stay andwould return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit soft for my liking and I like a top sheet in the bed. (I think there was one but it then untucked the fitted sheet which ducked up during the night). It was warm overnight so a fan would have been fantastic.

    Was a lovely stay. The room was large and spacious and clean. Staff were very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was nice although in the roof which got very hot in warm weather even with all of the windows open.

    The breakfast was amazing and we love the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    Small double bedroom not ideal for a longer stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a small double but it was a little too small. Two windows looked onto a busy road, windows would benefit from net curtains or blinds as the room is over looked by houses across the road. Mould around the tiles bottom of shower would be easily fixed.

    Friendly staff and nice location. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant stay and good value. Perfect for a few nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress on our bed was a bit soft for us. We were in an attic room which was lovely, bright and airy during the day as it had lots of velux windows. However, they did not have blackout blinds (only ordinary blinds) therefore we were woken earlier than we would have liked by the sunshine streaming into our room. We would recommend blackout blinds as an essential for the room. Also would recommend a phone linked to reception in these top floor rooms as no elevators and any wants or needs involve walking up and down two flights of stairs which is inconvenient.

    The room was large, pleasant, bright and very clean and certainly good value for money. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was good quality.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location to explore the New Forest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had road facing room which was constantly noisy but we were luck enough to sleep in the back of the apartment

    Great location to explore the New Forest

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.7
    OK for just a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was advertised and after a long journey we did not want to go out for dinner, but they had no chef and so no dinner. A winter weight duvet was on the bed on the hottest day of the year. The room was small which we had expected but the stairs to it were steep and the treads narrow so difficult to climb.

    Breakfast was OK

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.4
    Suited our needs and friendly staff but felt it was overpriced - could be a location thing?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Over priced should have been £90 per night for what was comfortable but pretty basic/old fashioned accommodation. A little noisy in our room next to the road.

    Nice friendly staff, great village and good to have parking. Didn't get a chance to sample breakfast as was visiting for a triathlon but that may have made the whole experience score higher as it has good reviews.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    Grand location, tiniest ever double room, way overpriced for what we got.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room. I have stayed twice before here but beware of the room facing the top of the stairs - think it was called 'Boneshaker' (all rooms named after bicycles. Never ever stayed in a double room so small - you could not even place a week-end bag down by the side of the bed!

    The location is perfect if you're staying in Lyndhurst, and fairly central for travelling around the New Forest. Staff were really welcoming & all smiley/ cheery, friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    Very good location .Potential for hotel wasted because of bar no evening meal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No evening meal which is advertised. Very limited bar very small selection of drink.Lounge area wasted because of what awaste ?

    Breakfast excellent rooms very clean and tidy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast was really nice, room was nice too- steep stairs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was probably the only downside, wasn’t the most comfortable bed, but it was ok for one night.

    Breakfast was really nice, room was nice too- steep stairs going up to the room though. Location is also super convenient and staff really helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Great weather great location good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasnt told our room would be cleaned & someone went in & all our personal stuff was out, they only emptied bins didnt change towells & left cleaning stuff in our room.

    Breakfast was hot & good room was clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic, beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had a flight of stairs to climb and I am disabled so had a struggle. However, they do have cottages so we will stay in one next time.

    Staff were very helpful, breakfast excellent, we did not have to ask for honey for our coffee, it was already there along with everything else you needed. The small double room was a surprise, it was plenty big enough with a large bathroom. Would book in there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    as i say could not fault staff or breakfast
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    stayed in first floor bedroom very noisy on a saturday evening walls very thin could hear television clearly from next door above could hear footsteps, creaking floorboards, every cough and even a guitar playimg next door television came on at 6 am and stayed on heard the news

    staff were lovely and breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    Brilliant, no complaints personally, for others stairs may be a little issue?? Still great for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairs, but really, OK for us - for others.....

    Stayed before, several times. Location is excellent for getting around. Breakfast is really good, ask for what you want and you get it. Lovely staff, interesting but not in your face. Stairs a little worrying if not good on your feet, having to carry to small suitcase up very steep staircase - we were OK but for some may prove difficult. Would defo go back again as perfect for what we want. Thumbs up to Penny!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    The cottage is really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cottage is really nice. Nothing compared with big hotels. Its just not too big, cosy and family friendly place. I loved English breakfast. The atmosphere of dining room remainded me of my childhood I spent in my grandparent's village. Hotel located near to center of Lyndhurst. Fully recommending!plus very good Wi Fi if u need to use.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    4.2
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness and finish of the rooms decor were awful.. Thick dust on lampshade, cobwebs on curtail rail, dust on skirting, peeling wallpaper and no valence on the divan bed.. We brought these issues up with the very lovely staff and were told we would receive a full refund, but we are still waiting .. Good breakfast and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything. This was our second visit.

    Central location, lots of restaurants to choose from. Large car park. Quiet room. Very helpful staff. Lounge area for guests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We put the shower on and the bracket n shower head fell off the wall, making the room and floor soaking wet. It was obvious this was broken before we arrived and we were disappointed not to of had a nice shower to set us up for the day.

    Room was large and airy and breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    A delightful experience. Kind & wonderful staff team at the Penny Farthing. Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent Location. Very friendly & welcoming Staff team. The lovely Sue manages a super fantastic team & charming characterful hotel. The room was spacious & very clean. Spotless bathroom. Wonderful facilities. The breakfast was superb & also for Vegetarians; lots of choice. The local town is beautiful & a stones throw away from the Penny Farthing. Lots of quirky & beautiful tea rooms, independent shops & restaurants & pubs. The New Forest is also within walking & cycling distance. Wonderful to explore & to see Wildlife. We will be returning in the Summer! Look forward to it greatly :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Good location for a stay in the New Forest, lovely hotel with good quality rooms and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No need to leave the TV on in the lounge all the time ! Coffee could be better quality. No phone in room and perhaps a snack menu could be provided in the evening. Internet speed in the room was slow but acceptable.

    Excellent location, can walk into the town. Breakfast was excellent, well cooked and plentiful. Lovely area to sit in the evening and a small bar. Staff exceptional, very helpful ,friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Good enough to stay again, which we are doing this week for a funeral nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunate sloping roof in top room made it difficult to plug and unplug items on the walls without banging heads. The kettle plug particularly.

    Breakfast was good, lots of choice and pleasant dining area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent value for money. Decor a little dated but comfortable and facilities very clean. Location is very central with a few minutes walk to good range of shops, bars and restaurants. Staff were very pleasant and polite particularly the waiter serving breakfast which was also very good. Plenty of free parking a bonus

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Property was in a nice location within walking distance to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very narrow stairs and narrow hallway to get to room which was tucked in the corner. Once in the room small double bed even though we upgraded our room on booking.com before we went to get a bigger bed. Overall I wasn’t very happy with location and size of room. Be careful on the stairs steep and narrow. Also when you leave you have to walk though breakfast room with all your luggage, which was a squeeze.

    Property was in a nice location within walking distance to the local amenities, and had ample parking to rear.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lounge and Bar in Hallway. Could get busy. Fairly late booking, room was very small.

    Rooms clean & comfortable. Breakfast excellent Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.3
    The room was tiny, Not up to expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room it was tiny, lamp did not work, shower needed deep clean, no tops on taps to specify hot or cold, no warning of hot water, had to climb on the bed to get in one side, faeces covering the toilet brush, room needed updating and painting,

    Apart from the room it was a nice hotel all clean and updated but the room was dated and not very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Lovely breakfast, close to town but lots of traffic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a bit saggy. The hotel is very close to the road which obviously can't be helped but the traffic noise was incessant in spite of double glazing. Lyndhurst unfortunately has a big traffic problem. Go for a rear facing room if you can.

    The triple room was large with plenty of storage space. Staff very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent and included in the price. Short walk to town centre with good restaurants and shops. Private car park.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.3
    Great breakfast & location but zero sound proofing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls / floors / ceilings were paper thin. You could hear every word being said by others, banging doors, & the noise from the water pipes was SO loud (not very welcome at 3am above us with the stomping round of other guests). So this lets the hotel down big time.

    Super breakfast & great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Good place to visit the New Forest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dinner was disappointing, although the breakfasts were very good.

    Advertised as a small double. It was bigger than we expected. People in the adjoining room who had a double said they could have saved the extra money they had paid.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.4
    Uncomfortable but lovely staff and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodation. Don’t book a small double as a couple. It is so tiny and uncomfortable.

    Nothing unfortunately. Rooms were not very nice too small. However the breakfast was lovely and the staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Perfect in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negatives

    Perfect in every way. Lovely clean, good sized rooms, friendly and very helpful staff and great value for money. Breakfast was excellent, wide choice, cooked to perfection and well presented.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Great location providing good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big gap under bedroom door let a lot of light in and breakfast was ok but had better.

    Great location, good parking and close to High St, restaurants and bars

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: