Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Toll House Inn - a Thwaites Inn of Character 4 stars

Penny Street, Lancaster, LA1 1XT, United Kingdom

#8 of 22 hotels in Lancaster

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 483 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom curtains didn't close properly due to positioning of the air con unit. Lovely shower in great bathroom needed a non slip shower mat. Limited car parking

    almost everything. Lovely room and great food particularly. Loved the efforts to be more eco friendly - flask of milk etc

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking :( there is only a few car park spaces at the back of the hotel you have to park over the road at the long stay car park and if you get there before 6.00 pm you have to pay for 24 hrs at around £9.00 so it can bump up your bill!? :( I think you can reserve a space if you ring up the hotel?

    The beds were so comfy we didn't want to get up for breakfas! :) and the breakfast was fresh to order and piping hot with a good choice off the menu defiantly worth every penny

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very clean and well stocked with the tea and coffee . Rooms were cleaned daily and stocked up fresh milk in a flask for the customer's.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Newly decorated rooms and public areas were of a very high standard. Lots of hot water + an excellent shower made washing/bathing a pleasure. Beds were extremely comfortable. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Third time staying here,wouldnt stay anywhere else in Lancaster. Minor issue and it is a personal preference, twice before we had rooms with large double beds,this time only a standard double.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms very clean with comfy bed,fabulous powerful shower and first class linen. Breakfast delicious. Courtyard great to sit in and enjoy sunshine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    all staff were friendly and very helpful. Hotel is near a hospital and a multiple road junction so road noise is fairly heavy. That obviously is not the hotels fault. Parking is a problem doesn't really exist. Hotel is okay though.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wouldn't recommend using the sofa bed, its not the comfiest.

    Great location, friendly staff and nice decor. Really reasonable price for the room and the breakfast was good lots of options. All four of us that stayed enjoyed the stay overall. Would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I made a cup of coffe in the morning and realised there was no milk in the room and no shampoo & Conditioner in the bathroom.

    We booked in on the Saturday 2nd June 2018 to attend a parachute jump my friend was doing but unfortunatly it was cancelled due to weather but we attended the next day. We had to be up early and there for 7.15 which meant we would miss breakfast but the hotel ensured we had a continental breakfast ready before we left which was great. The beds were so comfey I really didnt want to get out of it and the room was lovely. the only thing was

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was perfect

    Quirky, original, fittings in the room done to a very high standard and well thought out Evening meal and breakfast were both exceptional with very accomodating professional personable staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent value for money, staff are very friendly and helpful, excellent breakfast. The room was very clean with modern facilities, it was on the small side but ideal for 1 night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not any aspect that I did not like.

    For someone travelling alone I was made to feel extremely welcome and comfortable. The room was beautiful, food lovely and staff very helpful. The location, by the canal was perfect for an early morning late evening stroll.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice old time hotel in the historic town of Lancaster... just a short walk from Lancaster Castle. Room was nice, the restaurant and bar was top notch. Plenty of gluten free options available for all meals

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    didn't get any shampoo or conditioner just shower gel. Room was small but as I was only staying for one night it didn't matter too much

    good location - clean and modern - our room was small but comfortable - fine for a one night stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that could be improved everything was amazing.

    The whole experience of staying here was perfect.everything was just amazing and would definetly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were clean and very modern and the bar area was also lovely. We had been out late the night before and missed breakfast, however when we checked out at 11am, we were offered a cooked breakfast! Amazing customer service!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is literally nothing negative that I can say about this venue.

    Perfect central location. Beautifully decorated, clean rooms, comfy beds. Modern bathrooms. Beautiful food. Pretty beer garden. The staff were friendly and helpful, I cannot thank them enough. Absolutely wonderful place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to get milk from reception for a hot drink. Shower awkward. Either massive overhead shower (no shower cap provided) or a poor hand held shower which was awkward.

    Staff brilliant! Room comfortable and recently refurbished

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't much choice with the continental breakfast. Good quality though.

    Nice decor and well looked after both in rooms and public areas and very close to city centre so ideally located.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately we left behind phone charger cables in both rooms and the hotel did not seem able to trace them or return them. There was also a mix-up with our restaurant bill being added to someone else's account.

    The Toll House Inn is in an excellent location 10 minutes walk from the railway station in Lancaster with a large car park just across the road from it. The rooms and bar area were recently refurbished and the staff were welcoming and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dull sliced bread for breakfast toast, limited parking

    Really comfortable bed, attractively decorated, great power shower, easy stroll into town, great choice at breakfast served swiftly, a thermos of fresh milk for making tea and coffee in room offered at the bar

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having some people giving us a lot of hassle over parking, which we knew nothing about their reservations. And when I told them to take it up with your manager they told me you weren’t interested. This is why I won’t be staying here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was good and the room was clean and really nice. I was really impressed with the breakfast which was including the booking charges. We had oak salmon with scrambled eggs, croissants with Nutella. The staff made sure that we have everything we want and offered coffee refills too which was brilliant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No milk in the room. Nice to have fresh milk from the kitchen but would have been nice not to have to go back down to reception to retrieve it. Bathroom facilities a little dated with peeling paint on the ceiling, but nice complimentary bath products Quite cold in my room (it is March!), but the in-room AC/heater struggled to improve the situation.

    Beds comfy Delicious breakfast with plenty of choice, staff very friendly too Nice biscuits for the tea and coffee facilities in the rooms Quiet and well located to Lancaster centre Opposite a canal so quite picturesque and lovely walk along the waterfront

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When someone in the room next door had a shower at 6am it woke us both up, we could hear it as loud as if it was a shower in our bedroom it was very loud, so maybe this is a design fault, as we were both so tired and this interrupted our sleep I don’t know if I would stay there again.

    Location was good, the rooms were modern.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Amazing shower, outstanding bed, really good quality tv, well thought out room and nice quality pieces. Breakfast came out really quickly, the coffee was really good and so was the Lancashire grill.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could of been a little better, poached eggs wasn't brilliant, but I'm being picky.

    Excellent. Brilliant room, clean, great location. Food in the restaurant in the evening was excellent. Would certainly come back here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Has a room facing the A6 which is very busy so you do get a bit of road noise. The room was double glazed so later on when going to bed it was ok. Hotel has only got 4 car parking spaces which is chargeable at £5 per night so you have to book a space.

    Nice room comfortable bed great shower and food was good. Location was ok to see sites

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was next to a main door every time visitors went though it banged bit annoying at times.

    The rooms have been upgraded since our last visit. Really cozy and great bed.food in the restaurant was amazing and breakfast was 10/10 Thankyou

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We used the sofa bed as well which was quite uncomfortable as you could feel the springs through the mattress but that was just a small flaw in an otherwise gorgeous room and great staff as well.

    Beautiful building, restaurant and room. Modern and stylish but with classic character. The room was gorgeous and the bed so big and comfy. The staff were lovely and helpful, especially the night porter letting us in so late/early in the morning! Delicious breakfast in the morning and we even asked last minute for a late check out and that was absolutely fine. Would 100% recommend and stay again any time!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lights in bedroom, mind you I'm as blind as a bat.

    The overall vibe of the place, staff very welcoming & bedrooms nicely furnished loved the bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked breakfast was abit cool, and sausage was cheep tasting.

    The staff were so helpful and friendly, the location was amazing right in the city centre, the bed was so comfy, the shower was impressive. Everything you would need for your stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only small complaint is that I prefer radiators rather than air conditioning.

    I loved the character of the inn. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    If in Lancaster stay here! Spotless,comfortable hotel which has been refurbished to a very high standard. Bed very comfortable,shower great,breakfast delicious and staff efficient and very welcoming. Very close to town centre.Cant fault it. We will be back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic Welcome from the minute you arrive to the minute you leave! Great guy who was managerial / owner made you feel very welcome and nothing was to much trouble! Bedrooms beautiful, very comfy and immaculately clean, and a fab breakfast to finish off!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit stingey on the tea and coffee in the room, but as i tend to drink loads in a morning they can be excused, and to be fair i didnt ask for more.

    Centrally located, lovely room and very friendly and helpful staff.Beautiful food and great atmosphere. Room was for three and was perfect for our needs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The big road outside so nothing the venue can do about that and it was extremely central .

    The decor and character of the building was lovely. Staff really friendly. Food and wine and beer were excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No toilet brush. A.C. a bit difficult to control for heating

    Everything and everyone . Lovely decor, good food, friendly staff, willing to help, good price

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking isnt the best

    Room was super cosy and bed was comfortable x loved the style of the room x breakfast was lovely as were all the staff..... Definitely deserves 10 out of 10 x

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the staff were welcoming friendly and efficient. the hotel is attractive and inviting, our room was warm and cozy well equipped and furnished, The food is of good quality and wholesome. the toll house has a clean and fresh feel having been refurbished.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to wait 5 minutes to be let in by the night porter on Christmas Day and it was pouring It down outside and freezing. The staff weren’t that friendly.

    Nice room and good central location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been a little more choice on the dinner menu. Nothing was really to my liking.

    The room was extra cosy! So nice for a couple and the breakfast was really good too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI intermittent worked for about an hour, heated towel rail not working (only heat in bathroom). Service in restaurant could be improved (forgot my drink order, forgot my bill). Heating noisy so you could have warm or quiet.

    Room very nicely done with nice touches (proper Teapot with cosy) Food OK and good value. Breakfast very good. Lovely building. Great value for money. Quiet despite being on major road. Great shower. Bed comfy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    limited parking you are best reserving when you book your room

    right in the centre of Lancaster and next to the canal. Good restaurant nearby and shops

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was fabulous f

    the Rooms are absolutely wonderful the pub and staff are excellent. A night away with the girls and all of us couldn’t believe how nice it was.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking facilities could be better but it’s a minor point and there was pay & display 2 minutes away

    Staff, style and comfort of rooms, food was exceptional and staff were accommodating

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was quite poor on day one, not much better on the second day and better on the third. I spoke with the duty manager on the first day because most of my cooked breakfast was warmed up and not fresh and I was more or less told that the breakfast had been freshly cooked. This is despite that fact that the server arrived with the food about 90 seconds after we had completed our order. Clearly, I don't know anything about food. On day two I took a more strategic approach and ordered poached eggs, naively thinking that these would be freshly cooked. Alas, they were so much like rubber that they could have been worn as earrings! On day three I tried again and stressed that I would appreciate freshly fried, soft eggs. The food arrived after about six or seven minutes which I took to be a good sign, and indeed it was. A freshly cooked breakfast, third time lucky. I also wrote to the manager when I returned home and I received a rather long response in which he explained how breakfasts were prepared and confirming that some of the food was prepared in advance and kept warm. I was asked if I would return if I was offered a discount but my reply has been ignored. So, there is some pretence at getting things right for customers but actually doing this might involve too much hard work and commitment.

    The room was lovely and the bed was extremely comfortable. Most of the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is limited parking on the premises but there is a public car park across the road

    The room was very comfortable. The whole hotel has been recently been refurbished to a high standard. We had breakfast and one dinner during our stay and both were excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little hit and miss

    The location is brilliant, the staff are friendly and welcoming, the rooms are spotless and the beds are really comfy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like more vegan options on the menu, but everything I ate here was yummy.

    Staff were friendly and helpful, food was delicious, rooms were clean, comfy and well soundproofed, lift was great for my mum, location was excellent for walking into town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Scaffolding across the whole building so would have been good to let residents know prior to arrival - not that it impact the stay

    Bed extra comfy, Location great and close to city centre

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints!

    The pillows were excellent. The renovations are absolutely outstanding. The Sunday Roast was very good. All the food was served at the perfect temperature. The staff was courteous and ready to answer questions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little cool so dint feel like the bath I hoped to have

    I loved the pillows they were the best I've ever slept on Very convenient too town

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One wee niggle though.. It would be lovely to have 2 chairs in a double room..not everyone likes to use the bed as a chair.

    We like everything about the Toll House. The rooms are clean, and the bedding very comfortable. The breakfast is fab value with the best croissants I've had in an hotel! Proper starched linen napkins are a lovely change.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Normally very few parking spaces (3) At the moment the hotel is being re roofed so no parking available Nearest car park 75 yards across a busy road ( council pay and display- £8 for 24 hours!)

    Clean newly furnished modern rooms. Excellent choices for breakfast and dinner, great value for money. Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a small issue that there was quite a bit of dust on some of the furniture in the room (mirrors, lamps) but not sure if this was due to the works that were happening whilst staying there.

    Hotel central to all our requirements. Rooms lovely and bright with excellent facilities including fresh milk if required for the coffee in your room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is having a new roof fitted so there is a scaffold right around the building, which you can also see from your room window. A bit of an eyesore at the moment, but when the work is completed it'll be absolutely fine.

    Staff and food excellent. Newly decorated rooms made them very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think they should be aware of changes in the seasons and be prepared, because the breakfast room was quite cold in the early morning, it being the 1st day of autumn when we stayed. The room was not provided with any information as to room service or other ancilliary information, and maybe a more comfortable chair could have been provided, but these were small issues and in time will probably be attended to.

    Everything in our room seemed brand new which was a pleasant surprise. Personally I found the new mattress vertiginous which concerned me and created a difficult 1st night. The exterior scaffolding spoiled our view somewhat but when continuously improving your lot these things must be allowed for. Overall one could sense that the hotel was aiming high whilst keeping costs at a reasonable level which was appreciated by ourselves and other residents. We would stay at Tollhouse again when in the area, and when maybe the mattress has flattened out somewhat. All in all a more than satisfactory hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was really uncomfortable. Far too high! We kept slipping down it when we turned over. Maybe the lighting in the eating area could be a little bit "warmer",but apart from that everything was fine.

    The staff were very helpful and pleasant and the decor was lovely . Overall it is a very lovely inn and great value for money. We did have a great time and it is in a good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is not much to not like about this lovely hotel!!

    Room had very tall ceilings which made up for the lack of floor space. Bed very comfortable. Bathroom clean and well appointed - shower over bath in our room. Restaurant downstairs with comprehensive menu - didnt need to leave the hotel to eat. Food excellent. Property was characterful. Great location. Fantastic breakfast and service - (breakfast was included in the deal!) Quiet location. limited car spaces, however, access was very good. Lift for a heavy suitcase up to accommodation floors. We enjoyed our stay immensely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No milk in room with tea and coffee. Breakfast was cold. Had to ask for butter as none on table. Although the rooms have been refurbished they are still quite tatty as if the finishing touches have not been completed. Were not advised that there was no parking on site due to scaffolding around the building. Inconvenient as we chose the hotel because it had parking.

    Good location for walking into town and for visiting cathedral. Evening meal was good. Waiting staff polite and very helpful. Beer and wine reasonably priced.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were given smelled strongly of smoke. The staff were great however and changed our room immediately.

    Rooms clean, breakfast amazing- the best black pudding I've ever tasted! Parking very limited however. Scaffolding was up when we were there and we had to park in the Long Stay over the road at £8 for 24 hours. Great location after a night out though!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't say enough good things. The hotel is well located, our room although small was spotlessly clean and comfortable. As it was raining we elected to have dinner downstairs and were very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food. Surprised again the next morning where we had a very good breakfast. The staff were helpful, professional and friendly. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only problem I can think of is that I couldn't use the hairdryer, for the same reason that another reviewer mentioned.

    The staff were outstanding. Nothing was too much trouble and they often went the extra mile to offer great service, from the waiter who found a city map for me to the reception staff who offered me a complimentary glass of wine while I was waiting to resolve a problem with my room key. The room was huge and very comfortable. The location was brilliant, and the whole inn was very atmospheric. I wholeheartedly recommend it and should I be lucky enough to return to Lancaster one day I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    too much noise in room from the traffic as we had a room over the corner which is a busy junction x roads (room 6) poached eggs for breakfast were hard through, not good , didn't have breakfast on the 2nd day, and didn't get a reduction in price for not having it.

    friendly and helpful staff. good central location, nice pub and evening meal

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast basic and cooked breakfast not well made and mot warm

    Interior desigb beautiful, good beds, traffic noise was well reduced by double windows, courtyard a great addition, lovely staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No traffic lights near hotel. We need walk back a long time again or cross the road. It's really danger for customers if we want go to hotel.

    Good hotel and good service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking was very limited to four spaces which needed to be booked in advance. It would have been nice to know this and where the nearest public parking spaces were to be found. My son and I parked at the nearby shopping centre which does an overnight rate of £10.

    Lovely local produce for breakfast with great black pudding and links sausages. There was plenty of toast and coffee and the young waiter could not have been more helpful. The evening meal menu was excellent with some brilliant vegetarian options for my son and some traditional dishes like hotpot for me. The wine of the week was good value and there was some good local cider. My son and I really enjoyed the atmosphere and friendliness on this last night of our little golf trip to Birmingham. We made the right decision to split our journey in this delightful hotel in the lovely and interesting town of Lancaster. This hotel is a real find and I will be returning with my wife for a weekend away to celebrate her birthday in October.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit cramped, but okay for a one night stay. The sink in the bathroom was awful. Not very user friendly.

    The staff were very pleasant. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little expensive. Think prices had been raised for graduation week. The same nights the week after were £18 cheaper.

    Room was a good size. Varied choice of breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room - which is about to be improved.

    It had character. Food good and excellent craft beer. Lewis and Honey were very good - friendly and professional and not thrown by vegan, gluten free requests. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The stuff was really kind and helpful. The rooms were clean and spacious. The breakfast was very good as well. Next to city center and walking distance from the train station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, well apart from a large wine being nearly £8!

    Lovely hotel In a great location with really helpful staff. I was on my own and it was a Saturday night but I felt really happy to sit and eat in the bar on my own

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was the best I've ever had! The breakfast was delicious and had lots of lovely touches to make it special. Great night sleep and lovely staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room a little cramped when suitcases and bags in room. A little box of tissues would be a nice touch in the room.

    Great breakfast with plenty of choice. Friendly staff. Great location and room really quite.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Friendly,busy hotel but not crowded in bar garden or eating area and no problems being served. Rooms are spacious and air conditioning is really nice in the hot weather. Quick walk into town and plenty of night life to share in. Nice area to have a walk around local to the town. The breakfasts are very tasty, rooms value for money, there is a lift if required, all in all a great weekend.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: