Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pennycroft Guest House 4 stars

Far Lane Kettlewell, Kettlewell, BD23 5QY , United Kingdom

#4 of 8 hotels in Kettlewell

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 36 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Pennycroft Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have nothing negative to say. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay!

    The hosts were warm and welcoming, and breakfast was delicious, with a view out to their lovely garden. The bed was really comfortable, and i had a view of the garden. I had a really nice chat with Lizzie, one of the hosts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pennycroft Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it was perfect! Nothing we didn't like. We do love cats, but if you have a cat allergy this is not the place to go. There is one lovely cat hanging around in the house.

    bed was really big and very comfy. hosts made you feel as if you were visiting old friends without being intrusive. They are very knowledgeable about the area and can give loads of tips on hikes and sight seeing. Maps are also available. Breakfast is really good and they you fresh fruit and berries. The fries are cooked to perfection.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pennycroft Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    Our room was very comfortable and over looked the rear garden which was a haven for wild birds. There is an excellent pub across the road.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pennycroft Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator too many stairs bed uncomfortable pillows worse old and need of some attention laundry everwhere on stairs vacuum on the stairs good location but thats about all

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pennycroft Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For us, everything was perfect.

    Everything about our stay at Pennycroft was excellent. Laurence & Lizzie always make us feel very welcome & provide a haven of tranquillity. Breakfast is one of the best we have had & having breakfast whilst watching the busy birdlife in the garden is a bonus. We just love the comfort & friendliness here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pennycroft Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't actually think of anything.

    Lawrence and Lizzie were warm and welcoming and made us feel completely at home. They couldn't do enough for us, and offered us homemade cake and fresh milk on arriving. There was lovely biscuits and fruit in the room and everything we could possibly need in the room and bathroom. The breakfast was wonderful and the best we had on our trip.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pennycroft Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That we couldn't stay longer

    It was like home from home, we were made very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was the best we had tasted.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pennycroft Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom next door to hosts bedroom felt a little strange.

    The views were gorgeous and the location is fantastic. Lizzie & Lawrence were amazing hosts, making sure we had everything we needed and making us comfortable. Delicious breakfasts looking out onto the beautiful garden.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pennycroft Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we had the room overlooking the garden and mountain views. Lovely room, ensuite and a full English breakfast that filled us up for the day. Friendly and welcoming host.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pennycroft Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was perfect .

    Lizzy and Laurence are so friendly and welcoming .The room was so comfortable, warm and gorgeous view out of the window , idilic , The breakfast was the best we have ever had at a bed and breakfast . A fantastic place to stay , will definitely go back .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pennycroft Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room, with great views of the garden and lovely details. Friendly and helpful owners, delightful experience. As five star as a b&b gets.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pennycroft Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were a little concerned when we arrived that the property is right on the through road, however it is extremely quiet with very little traffic, and we noticed no noise at night. Also we thought that the "Garden Room" meant actually on the ground floor with garden access. It's on the first floor, with stairs off the owners sitting room. However, this is probably our mistake misreading the descriptions.

    Breakfasts were fabulous. Owners told us to use any facilities they had e.g. their fridge, cooker, microwave. Very friendly atmosphere. Would have been able to use the garden if the weather had been warmer! Even kept the cat outside which was helpful as my husband has a cat allergy! Three pubs in the pretty village, so spoilt for choice for food. Shop selling everything nearby. Wonderful views all around.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pennycroft Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything. Warm welcome, homemade cake and tea in the flower garden, comfortable bed, good size room, an excellent pub just up the road for dinner and finally a superb breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pennycroft Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lizzie and Lawrence were great company, loads of advice about walking in the area. Fab breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pennycroft Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lizzie and Lawrence lovely people and made us very welcome. Lit a nice open fire for us in Lounge and breakfast was excellent.👍

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pennycroft Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Lovely couple and an excellent location. Would highly recommend

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pennycroft Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Spacious bedroom, lovely comfortable big bed. Excellent breakfast. And wonderful hosts, great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Pennycroft Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the perfect B and B. Lovely room comfy bed wonderful host and amazing breakfasts . The attention to detail made it special

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pennycroft Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owners were very welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble and the breakfasts were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pennycroft Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hosts were lovely people. Couldn't do enough for us

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pennycroft Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners extremely helpful and went out of their way with little extras. Try the sloe gin excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Pennycroft Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing Magic

    The owners! Better than the pubs!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pennycroft Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful view of the garden from bedroom and Breakfast table

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pennycroft Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were looked after very well by our host

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pennycroft Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a very good location, yummy breakfast, comfy bed, very friendly hosts, really clean and a lovely homely feel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Pennycroft Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were both so warm and welcoming, while respecting privacy. Very relaxing as a result

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pennycroft Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very clean hosts could not do enough for us very friendly breakfast was ace

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pennycroft Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent breakfast, lounge with open fire. Booking.com said no Wi-Fi but a code was offered.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pennycroft Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic breakfasts,great hosts,lovely room and superb location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pennycroft Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cat in living room a bit of a problem because of cat allergy.

    Fruit, access to fresh milk

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pennycroft Garden Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hospitality from Laurence and Lizzie. Home made cakes and biscuits, a friendly nightcap, good advice on pubs, walks, etc.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were very well looked after, yummy homemade cake & cookies greeted us on our arrival, adviced us on our lovely walks. Definitely fell in love with the place. Perfect for couples in a scenic location. Laurence & Liz were very accommodating. Can't recommend it enough.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location, lovely garden, relaxed easy going approach by the owners who were only present when essential and who stayed elsewhere overnight. Nothing too much trouble -"if you're happy, we're happy" is their motto.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely people who were very welcoming and helpful with local information and got our walking holiday off to a glorious start. Wonderful food and location. We will definitely go again when we can as there are many more excellent walks in the area. The pub across the road also does excellent food and a nice pint.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly owners ensured a comfortable stay. The bed guaranteed a good night's rest and breakfast was excellent. Good central location in village with parking.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very friendly couple with all your home comforts. Delicious home cooked sponge, biscuits and slo gin! Breakfast was also delicious. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A great base to explore the Yorshire Dales. The accomodation is just right and the proprietors will ensure your stay is comfortable and they know the area if you want some tips of where to go. There is a good choice of Pubs for your evening meal - no hesitation in recommending Pennycroft.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed at Pennycroft for 3 nights in the garden room which was lovely with views over the garden and the surrounding hills. Lizzie & Laurence made us feel very welcome & nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were excellent. The afternoon homemade cake & biscuits were delicious and the sloe gin went down a treat after getting back from the pub & sitting in front of the open fire in the lounge.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Strange electrical wiring arrangement in bedroom and found bedroom rather cold.

    The attention from the owners is second to none. The warm lounge and fabulous breakfast are also real pluses

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The traditional stone cottage lies in the heart of the very pretty village of Kettlewell - a great spot to explore the Dales. Elizabeth and Lawrence were very warm and welcoming hosts. The garden views with its visiting ducks and pheasants were a delightful backdrop whilst enjoying the very high quality, substantial and well presented breakfast. A delightful place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a little small - we both felt like we were falling out of the bed - and there was no phone or internet reception and no ATM in the village, which is either a pro or a con depending on your reasons for visiting. The bathroom, being separate from our bedroom, meant we always needed our key but as it had two handles and latches it was tough to open the door at times: not enough to bug you on a weekend break, but you couldn't live there without going nuts, so I'd rectify that. There were no proper fire exits or fire extinguishers that we could see. Our towels weren't replaced and we did struggle to dry them all.

    It was exactly what we were looking for for our three nights away - a home from home. We were made to feel very welcome by laid-back, friendly owners in an old-fashioned cottage, where we had a big bathroom and enjoyed generous breakfasts each morning while looking out at the wildlife in the garden. The village was quiet with a couple of nice pubs and there were many options if we wanted to go for a walk, some of which were detailed in the excellent welcome folder. Homemade cakes and biscuits were on offer at all times, there was a real fireplace downstairs and we spent a couple of hours blissfully watching TV in bed and drinking Earl Grey one night. It felt like staying at your favourite auntie's, if your auntie has gone to a bit of an effort.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lizzie and Lawrence were very helpful and friendly; they gave us lots of information about the local area and it was lovely to be offered tea and cake on arrival! We stayed for three nights. My only gripe was that the house was cold when we arrived and the first night, however, after that everything was perfect! Kettlewell is superb for walking. We had a Spa morning at Long Ashes nearby with a fantastic massage. We ate at two of the pubs and the food was excellent as was the breakfast cooked by Lizzie. When I had to leave separately unexpectedly, Lawrence gave my companion a lift into Skipton. We stayed in the king-size room and had excellent WiFi, though limited phone signal ( nothing for 02 but Vodaphone did work right in one corner of the room). Overall we would definitely come again!

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lizzy and Laurence are great hosts, very tentative. Breakfasts were great with wide choice of options. Coal fire in the lounge was lovely to sit by to warm up after cold walks in the dales. Local pubs all within 5minutes walk were lovely although on the pricier side. There are plenty of options for walks from Kettlewell or driving to somewhere nearby.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great stay, excellant view of wildlife from window, very welcoming host.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food, hospitality and location were all amazing. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The personal touch

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hosts very friendly, welcoming and helpful without being intrusive. Very comfortable and the food second to none. Very happy memories.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly hosts. Wonderful breakfast. Great location. Tea and homemade cake offered on arrival which was a lovely touch.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Kettlewell

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Treated just like one of the family. Excellent hosts. Fantastic breakfast and amazing cakes

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Owners were incredibly accommodating - breakfast was great.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hosts Lizzie and Laurence are very helpful with walking guidance and can cook a brilliant breakfast x

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    What terrific hosts .They couldn't have been any friendlier.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The host and hostess Lawrence and Lizzie are the best. Nothing was a trouble. Home from home

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely garden and very friendly owners

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Weather could have been better

    Location

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything ,place people ,views,

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just did not stay long enough

    Longe ,coal fire,homemade cakes ,breakfast and lovely owners

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely room, cracking breaky and wonderful hosts. Thanks Lizzy and Lawrence, we will be back.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lawrence & Lizzy made us feel totally at home. Friendly comfortable place with an excellent breakfast and oat biscuits to die for.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All good

    It felt so cosy & homely. Lovely people very helpful. Great location

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would recommend bedrooms away from owners cottage for more privacy.

    Pretty village and very clean and pretty cottage. Terrific hosts and breakfasts.

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Guests also reviewed these properties: