Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. West Midlands hotel reviews
  4. Birmingham hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of pentahotel Birmingham

Reviews of pentahotel Birmingham This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Ernest Street/ Holloway Head, Birmingham, B1 1NS, United Kingdom

#22 of 77 hotels in Birmingham

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 3706 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    3.8
    Majorly disappointing and overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor stay. Room far too hot and thermostat kept turning the heating up automatically. Having the window open meant all the noise from the road/car wash. Cushion dirty with hard crumbly substance, not a full toilet roll left in our room... we asked for more pillows from reception and took 2 hours to be sourced. We both did not sleep at all and are both aching today. TV complicated and remote had no battery cover so was very temperamental. Gone very much downhill over the last 2 years.

    We have stayed here before 2 years ago and had an amazing stay which is why we decided to return. We loved the pool table and bar in reception.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    8.3
    Big comfy bed, black out curtains, close to centre (12 min...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower didn’t drain properly so flooded the bathroom. Another drain in the corner would have helped. Breakfast was good but a little overpriced

    Big comfy bed, black out curtains, close to centre (12 min walk), powerful showers

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    4.6
    Meh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unclean room, obvious stains on the bed, things left from previous guests around the floor. TV didnt work Hairdryer didn't work Was given the wrong room, booked a double but got 2 single beds. Lobby looked like a bar, made it confusing booking in. Wifi was very slow

    Powerful shower, view from room

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    4.2
    I have been staying with this hotel for a few years now and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have been staying with this hotel for a few years now and every time I visit the city I always choose penta but unfortunately this time the staff was very rude on check in . The room that we had was very damaged lights broken and damp around the top of the room .

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    8.3
    Pleasant visit would use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillows on bed were too hard and small, no heated towel rail in bathroom. only 1 plug next to 1 side of bed. Bed side tables was small stool not suitable.

    Friendly staff, comfortable lounge areas, great breakfast

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    10
    Well designed, great value for money. Expensive/limited parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom sink was tiny and water spilt onto the side a lot because of this. The parking was difficult to use as it appeared closed and very small, also parking was expensive. Cost £16 for 1 night

    The style of the hotel was very unique! Particularly liked the bar/restaurant area! The hotel was very clean and well designed. Great shower facility.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    6.5
    Some good design points.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit scruffy, even though a modern, well designed building. Strange signs saying this surface may be wet in corridors (on carpets). Outside areas of hotel very dirty and uncared for. Noisy room (we had an interconnecting door with next room and could hear every word of conversations going on there). Por wifi (very slow, and weak signal).

    Some good design points. Room spacious and well equipped. Handy for city centre. Good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2019

    8.8
    The bed was immensely comfortable and the pillows made for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No real wardrobe, just metal pole for hanging items and no drawers for belongings. Tv did not work but possibly due to bad weather. Really struggled to get a comfortable temperature. Had thermostat set to 8 degrees and had the window open and was still a bit uncomfortable.

    The bed was immensely comfortable and the pillows made for a great night sleep. The shower was lovely and warm and powerful. Great set of toiletries too

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2019

    10
    Fantastic location near to the mail box with fabulous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic location near to the mail box with fabulous restaurants & bars. Easy check & and fantastically friendly staff. Perfect for couples/friends looking for a night out with no fuss.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2019

    9.2
    Room was very clean (cleaners would come every day), nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had a booking for 2 nights and then I called to extend my stay for one night extra. They told me they will send a confirmation email, that never arrived. When we arrived at the hotel the told me that the rate for the extra night was almost the double as the night before. Didn't have a problem because I know the hotel staff doesn't have anything to do with the room rates but if I had known beforehand maybe I would have found another option for that extra night

    Room was very clean (cleaners would come every day), nice. The bathroom was very stylish and also clean. The staff was really helpful and kind. There was complimentary tea, coffee and a bottled water. On the ground floor there was a bar with fair prices and pool tables. Great way to relax after a day walking around the city. Would recommend!!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2019

    6.3
    Enjoyable, comfy stay but odd pillows
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The duvet was a bit thin, and the pillows were a bit odd. I had two square pillows and 2 hairy bolster pillows that were uncomfortable to sleep on. Unfortunately, my sleep was also disturbed by music late at night.

    The room was comfortable, with a lovely powerful shower. The shower accessories were nice also. The bar was interesting and well stocked with a good atmosphere

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2019

    8.8
    Concert stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Disappointed with the lack of seating in the first floor lounge during late evening. We bought drinks and there were no seats, although it wasn’t over busy. We were not allowed to use empty dining tables for drinks, even after service had finished. Shame really, would have stopped for a couple more drinks.

    Interior design was great created a warm modern ambiance. Staff at reception and the bar were very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2019

    10
    An excellent choice of hotel. Facilities are extremely good and very good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As mentioned before, time to update the free pay for view movies as these have not changed in years.

    The facilities are excellent, rooms comfortable, good standards of hygiene and cleanliness and very good breakfast choice.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2019

    7.1
    Really nice staff, and just genuinely liked the style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The view was abit rubbish looking out onto rough buildings, also there was abit of black stuff on the ceiling where it’s been damp

    Really nice staff, and just genuinely liked the style

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    7.1
    Property was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have been here previously and the experience was good however this time the staff was very rude and made my friends and I uncomfortable! There customer service skill was appalling and disrespectful to the customer.

    Property was great! You have a lot to do such a bar, food, Starbucks, Pole, tv and PlayStation

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    7.9
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I found the prices at the bar for alcohol was rediclous the food also was expensive the money that I paid for the hotel room was to my expectations I thought I'd have a bath and they said the room is ment yo be sound proof in don't advertise on line when that's not the case

    I liked the shower in the room the bar was nice also the gym nice people who work there very friendly

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2019

    10
    It was a great location, a really quirky hotel with all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a great location, a really quirky hotel with all the amenities you would need for a great stay. The restaurant was really nice. The staff from check in to check out were first class. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant last night and the staff were superb. Will definitely stay here again and recommend it.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2019

    9.2
    Good central location, comfy bed, spacious room free wifi...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower didn't drain properly so water spilled out of the bathroom onto the carpet

    Good central location, comfy bed, spacious room free wifi also a perk. The staff were also really friendly.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2019

    10
    Every thing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They have took some stuff of menu. Like curry . Which was great last time visited .

    Every thing. Staff always polite. Hotel clean . Food is fantastic. And love the restaurant with all the candles.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    7.5
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The car park only has about 20 spaces and costs £16 per day. There's an NCP car park just round the corner that costs £6 per day. Free WiFi is limited to 10mb

    Location is good. The restaurant and bar are great, nice decor and good times in the background.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    7.1
    The quirkiness, the restaurant was very nice and relaxed the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room wasn't to expectation and the tea/coffee facilities were tucked away you had to move the kettle etc to the other side of the room to access a power socket. There was a large damp stain and broken off telephone socket right next to the bed head which was ok but not what I would expect from a place that has 4 stars on the website.

    The quirkiness, the restaurant was very nice and relaxed the staff were amazing. Location was ok but still needed cabs to get around which was alright

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    10
    The best hotel in birmingham
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That I couldn't stay longer

    Penta has always been welcoming every weekend when we stay. It's soon becoming our second home. Everything is perfect

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    10
    Second time and still as good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Plus Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/a

    Second time staying at Pentahotel, this time for leisure. Just as good as last time I stayed. The staff are all very friendly and accommodating. Still recommend this hotel and will definitely go back again

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2019

    6.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mould in the bathroom and smelt like sewers. Woken up every hour by other noisy guests. Checking in at the bar makes it feel like staying at a hostel.

    Good location

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2019

    6.3
    Ok could do better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Whilst the hotel is ideally suited for the shops and various venues it’s in need of some fresh paint and carpets we noticed stains on the floor and walls and generally the walls needed attention. The shower does leek onto the bathroom floor but this it likely due to the build. The surrounding area has a number of homeless people so for some travelling this might cause concern. Obviously they are trying to regenerate the area so lots of disused buildings and building work . We used the NCP car park behind which was cheaper than the hotel. Only 15 min walk to the Arena so good for gigs and 5 min to the main shopping. Nice feel to hotel but needs a good refurb.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2019

    4.2
    Shower good, bed comfortable, breakfast good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was basic. Tv was old and few HD channels, remote control system awful. Free Wi-fi was ridiculously slow. To get a decent performance you had to pay extra- poor in this day and age

    Shower good, bed comfortable, breakfast good

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor worn decor in corridors Loud young customers Smoking of tobacco and cannabis in rooms, extremely strong in corridor and wafting into our room

    Location

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    8.3
    Ideal location and comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Forgot to ask what time breakfast was and wasn’t informers at check in so ended up missing it as we were late down stairs. Lift was a pain using your key card but I guess it’s for security.

    Fantastic late check out 3pm. Mattress was really comfortable and the room decor was a nice touch.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    7.5
    Perfect for what I needed, was attending a training course there and it was very convenient
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Wasn't initially sure where to check in, felt a bit like a spare part whilst waiting for customers in front to get their drinks, they were crowded by the bar and I didn't realise that checking in was the same place. 2. Dinner menu - struggled to choose a meal, only options were burgers, steak or pizza, the in room menu had options that weren't actually available in the restaurant.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    8.8
    The staff were so helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV - none of the functions worked except the basic free to air. We werent there to watch TV but being able to see the hotel facilities and information would have been good.

    The staff were so helpful and friendly. you really couldnt ask for better. Also - cleanliness, the place was spotless. The icing on the cake was the Lounge area - I havent seen a better designed place for relaxing and having a chilled evening. We didnt stay out late but Im sure the party would have started afterwards :-)

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    10
    Staff were very welcoming and attentive nothing was too much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing perfect weekend.

    Staff were very welcoming and attentive nothing was too much effort. The style of the hotel was very modern. Absolutely loved the lounge area adjoining to the restaurant relaxing vibe.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2019

    7.5
    Theatre trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    High cost of parking at £16 is excessive and so is the price of breakfast. We went to Wetherspoons down the road and had breakfast for a third of the Pentahotel price. TV impossible to navigate and we were unable to watch the free movies. Drinks were expensive and not much choice of draught beers or lagers.

    Rooms are nice and clean and the beds comfortable. The location is good for theatres and shopping.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2019

    10
    See you soon
    • Group
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wow staff couldn’t have done more, I was travelling with my terminally ill friend who had appointment at the hospital they were understanding and very compassionate

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    9.6
    Perfect location stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Carpark is very small & more expensive than the ncp carpark round the corner.

    The location was brilliant for the o2 academy. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    6.3
    Falsely advertised, such poor value for money. Hugely disappointing apart from the friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta PlayerPad Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I paid £190, which was an extra £50 or £60 compared to a standard room. I literally have no idea what I got for the extra money. The room was standard size, bordering on small. There were no hidden extras that could have justified the price. A 'city view' was advertised but my room directly faced onto a rundown building and a building site so there was no view whatsoever.

    The staff were friendly. The late checkout was of use to me. It was fairly quiet.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    6.7
    Best walk in shower I have had & a comfortable welcoming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The TV didn’t work, husband wanted to watch match of the day & couldn’t, he had to resort to watching it on his mobile using his 4G also very poor internet. Overpriced bar!!

    Best walk in shower I have had & a comfortable welcoming bar area.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    8.8
    Lovely relaxed night away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Plus Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was rubbish! But staff were excellent trying to help. Drinks were a little pricey.

    Clean and comfortable. Excellent location, within walking distance of the mail box and broad street. Bar was stunning.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    10
    Would definitely return and recommend to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    TV signal was poor but our trip wasn’t to stay in the hotel and watch TV. 2 pillows would of been better than one.

    Fantastic hotel and location. Room to a very good standard with comfy beds. The shower was amazing! Good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    5.8
    Cheap and local but wouldn't stay again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was an awful smell In the bathroom as if it had been cleaned with dirty cloths . The tv in the room is pointless there is never any signal? We tried to watch a film but gave up as the signal went 4 times and we were only on the 3rd floor. The bed isn't the most comfortable bed and the pillows or pillow should I say is useless.

    The location is good and the facilities in the hotel are nice as in the lounge area and pool tables etc, it's very chilled and a good vibe.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was such a nice place to stay really felt like home. Temperature was really nice, bed was very comfortable and was so nice knowing there was a bar downstairs which was 24/7 incase we needed anything. Defiantly going to come here more

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    10
    Easy to get too, great secure parking, perfect location ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was comfortable, clean, spacious. Great view of Birmingham. Modern twist.. loved it. What a great price .

    Easy to get too, great secure parking, perfect location , something a bit different. Very friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    6.7
    Is ok if you just need a place to stay after a night in Birmingham. Don’t expect anything amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room wasn’t as nice as I expected from the pictures, was quite small and plain/budgeted. 2 of the lamps didn’t work and just could have looked a bit more welcoming. Bathroom wasn’t the cleanest either there was hairs in the sink.

    The bar area was lovely and the hotel was easy enough to find.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    10
    Loved staying here !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved staying here ! The staff were so amazing when I needed an ambulance and so lovely after too . Made our first visit to Birmingham amazing ! Thankyou to all the staff who helped out and called the ambulance and checked our room after to make sure we didn’t forget anything ! Would highly recommend

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    8.3
    The hotel is clean, and very stylish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower does not have a door therefore after showering the entire bathroom floor is wet.

    The hotel is clean, and very stylish. The staff was very welcoming, the check-in was quick and efficient. They even gave me my room before checking free or charge. The room was spacious, clean, the bed was comfortable. The shower was particularly nice.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    7.1
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    let me stay bit longer!

    when i coming i am bit confussed about car parking. they telling me behind hotel so i went but its aside of the hotel there suttle gate in in it. i had to call again but staff i getting angry!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    6.7
    Very modern the facilities was lovely and very close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s missing the little things in the rooms such as sugar for tea and coffee and the bathroom wasn’t the cleanest mould on the floor we also found a couple of hairs in the bed which at the price you pay to stay you don’t really expect to find these things

    Very modern the facilities was lovely and very close to the city center and the cube which is why we stayed there as was going the cube for a meal it was a 5 min walk away The lounge areas are amazing with the pool tables and bar just a shame the outdoor area with the the outdoor heating was in use when we was here it would of been nice

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    10
    Chilled out and Comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I found the bar a little bit pricey from what im used to but i still wouldnt complain!

    Absolutely love it, just like the photos! The bar and lounge is really beautiful and chilled out. The bed was soo comfortable. Would definitely recommend. Especially for the price, cant complain about anything.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    9.6
    Very good. Would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First time stay, it was brilliant, no issies. On the 2nd time, the only issue which wasn't a massive issue was a stain on the floor window side of the bed and what looked like damp on the other side of the bed which was on the floor and staining going up display behind the bed headboard

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    7.1
    The hotel was nice for the one night but if we were staying...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was nice for the one night but if we were staying more then one night we would of chose a different hotel due to the room being smaller then we thought it would be. We found it too hot to sleep with the quilt on but too cold to sleep without it, so we had a very restless nights sleep. We were also woken by noisy guest early hours of the morning, talking loud, slamming doors and playing music. The walk in shower looked amazing but after the both of us had shower we found that the whole of the bathroom floor was wet which could of been a slip hazard.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    5.8
    Ok but wouldn’t stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - 1 normal cotton pillow and 1 very odd material pillow (not comfy at all), we requested 1 more normal one but they didn’t have any apparently... - Although we stayed in December the room was way too hot so decided to turn the aircon on, it didn’t cool the room down at all but the most annoying thing was how unrealistically loud the aircon was, it was SO loud - Every time we closed the window, it made a huge cracking, banging sound, I did tell someone but they didn’t know why - The TV remote kept falling to pieces, the TV (although seeing the red LED light up) took ages to react to being turned on or changing channels - The hanging rail near the main door was trendy but only enough height for a shirt, my partners dresses had to fall oddly over the sides It is a cheapish hotel and I didn’t expect a lot but it has a lot of potential. It could have been a lot better for the money, I wouldn’t stay there again, rather just go to Premier Inn or try somewhere different.

    Very trendy hotel with lots of potential, fairly good location and staff tried to be helpful

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    8.8
    Great and funky and staff are very kind and responsive to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Forgot our tooth brushed and they ran out of them at reception. Not hotels fault but just a tad annoying. Had to walk to garage next door. They could also do with new TVs as remote was missing a battery and once got that sorted it would not respond to TV very well and allt of channels not working

    Great and funky and staff are very kind and responsive to customers needs

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    8.8
    Funky reception/ bar area with relaxed lounge area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Plus Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant times more readily available.

    Funky reception/ bar area with relaxed lounge area.... lovely variety for breakfast. Shower was fantastic. Thanks for a lovely stat so close to the bullring!!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    7.5
    Would definitely recommend and stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom door didn’t shut without locking it other than that the room was very satisfactory.

    The first room we were given wasn’t set up properly as per my booking, room was changed very quickly and with no fuss, very good customer service

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, I loved everything.

    It was so modern and colourful and the rooms were so nice. Upstairs in the lounge area was so cosy. Only a short walk to the bullring, it was our second stay here.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    9.6
    Great stay in Birmingham City Centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The views from the hotel aren't great - but that's not the hotel's fault, Birmingham doesn't have the most scenic views for a city particularly with all the work going on

    Staff throughout were fab, loved the free pool table! The young lady that checked us in on reception also made excellent cocktails!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    6.3
    It was practical, but not sure I’ll stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed for two nights. The rooms weren’t cleaned after our first night. No fresh towels, a bathroom full of water, which was still waiting for us when we came back that night. The bathroom smelled of smoke as well on our arrival.

    It was clean and practice. The staff was nice.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    4.6
    A Casual Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I could hear people (drunk) talking loudly in the corridor at midnight. I couldn't sleep. The room I had smells like a guy including the pillows. The design of the sink, room's view, and TV channels (cannot get all such as Radio) are not good. Too dark as well as one of my light isn't working.

    Not that far from the city centre.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    8.5
    The hotel is great for a weekend stay in Birmingham.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too hot

    The hotel is great for a weekend stay in Birmingham. Close to everything... room adequate and quiet 7th floor. Good security and staff. Walking home from city at night was scary.. suggest a taxi. Hotel did seem to hot for me , which affected sleep. But defo a 9/10 hotel :-)

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    9.5
    Cool, vibrant with friendly staff, once inside relaxing and a quality second to none.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The surrounding area especially at night with the subway and litter. Coo

    Great views of the city and loved the ambiance of the interior with all the candles, mood lighting and comfy sofas. The

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    8.8
    Cosy and inviting tooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The view outside was drab .next door was a rubbish skip. From our room all we could see was a grey ground witb rubbish strewn all over it but some views cant be helped.we were on the 3rd floor.The lighting in the room could of been better.wifi was not good.No microwave in room or hotel..

    The beds were very comfortable .the cleanliness was very nice the carpets were nice.They werent noisy rooms .the bathroom had nice showers . The lounge was lovely it had a nice atmosphere very cosy with lighted fireplace and sofa.the air conditiong in rooms was nice and you could controll temp in room to suit taste.it was nice and warm in room. The bar staff girl was nice and friendly.I would be happy to stay again.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    9.2
    Love the style and location of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our tv seemed to have a mind of its own. The remote wasn’t working and could barely turn it on

    Love the style and location of the hotel. Very gorgeous inside

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    7.5
    It was a lovely stay, I would stay here again thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Took three a temps to get into my room up and down to the 7th floor before I could get into the room because of the key card.

    Loved this quirky hotel, very friendly and comfy. Fabulous breckfast spoilt for choice, would reconmend this hotel to friends.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    7.9
    Overall, an enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    TV didn't work for the duration of our stay. We were warned at reception that there had been problems and it didn't stop us from enjoying our stay but it was a shame and a bit inconvenient.

    Room was quiet and comfortable; great breakfast; good price

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    7.1
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillows and lighting in bedroom plus lighting in the corridor was very poor

    The bed was large but the pillows were rubbish, if you had 3 it would of been to low. Car park for the hotel was already full and we had to park in a NCP carpark down the road. Good location Close to the city centre.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    10
    Spot on
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Car park fee

    Called to confirm check in and ask about parking only to be told to contact booking. Com for the answers in a very rude manor . It’s a shame I got this treatment over the phone because at the hotel the staff were fantastic, very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    7.1
    The stay was okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Found dirty underwear on the floor in the room, took them down to reception as couldnt find a cleaner and all they could say was 'oh okay'

    The rooms are set out very nice and the shower is lovely

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2018

    9.2
    A very good hotel for less than the travel lodge was charging, a short walk from loads of bars
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A cheaper breakfast as it was 15.00 on top of the room. If it had been a tenner we probably wouldn't have walked to Wetherspoons for breakfast.

    Really nice lounge with sofas and fires. All night bar. Great staff even at 0300. Nice shabby chic feel.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2018

    5.4
    We were given the wrong room first then Our toilet was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were given the wrong room first then Our toilet was blocked constantly as was the sink, the tv did not work even though they said we get free channels and free movies Also during the last night of our stay we were disturbed twice in the night with someone opening our door and then realising we were inside. Probably wouldn’t come back again, thought I’d have a better stay considering it seemed like a good standard hotel

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2018

    6.3
    Bed was quite comfy and I was able to charge my phone...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When having a shower the bathroom would get wet more easily on the floor as the glass barrier was too slim. Also, are no sockets next to the mirror in the bedroom - I couldn’t curl my hair in front of the mirror and had to uncomfortably use my phone camera and couldn’t do it properly. I had a dinner to go to and didn’t feel I looked good enough to go which dampened my whole mood. There should either be sockets next to the mirror and/or a moveable mirror elsewhere. There was a mark on the headboard also and couple of the towels were torn or looked very old.

    Bed was quite comfy and I was able to charge my phone overnight as the sockets were right next to the bed.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2018

    8.3
    relaxed , practical and convenient .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was a shame that we were not told on arrival where the dining room and lounge was . We assumed that the ground floor bar and sofas was all there was ( it looked cosy ) we discovered the next day when we went to reception to ask where breakfast was . Could do with a restaurant menu in the room and information about dining in. we would have gone down for dinner if we had known

    I had forgotten to book in my son as extra bed needed , staff spotted him and rang up to have bed made up for him in the room immediately ...very embarrassing but staff made me feel ok about it and so polite and quick to asses the problem and to get it sorted Very impressed

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2018

    5.0
    Thought that the Bedrooms were very small and need updating...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As above

    Thought that the Bedrooms were very small and need updating, only positive about it , was close to city centre our friends and us would not stop in another Penta hotel.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    6.3
    The room wasn’t very welcoming/ Homely, very run down...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room wasn’t very welcoming/ Homely, very run down almost looked like a motel room maybe even a hostel. I have sayed in other hotels in the same chain which were much better

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    10
    Penta Birmingham
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not very quiet could hear people in the corridor outside our room. The pipes were also noisy heard every shower from 5.30am. TV had a mind of its own and randomly changed channels. No soap in the room just the empty box instead so used the body wash instead.

    Lovely staff polite and helpful. Room good size clean and tidy. Key cards were playing up changed both straight away. Great breakfast in a relaxing environment. Close to bullring and concert venues. They are also willing to book you a taxi if required

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    9.6
    Discreet location, near city centre and very well priced!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I didn’t like was the entrance, it can get a little crowdy as the reception isn’t really a reception

    Discreet location, near city centre and very well priced!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    5.4
    Didn’t bother to avail of paid breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • penta Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room we were given was already occupied. Bar was in same area as reception and there were 3 guys well on drinking and swearing at bar. Burger wrapper beside lift to room

    Staff friendly, accommodating with early book in

    Stayed in December 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse pentahotel Birmingham Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: