Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Penventon Park Hotel 4 stars

Redruth, Redruth, TR15 3AD, United Kingdom

#3 of 7 hotels in Redruth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 567 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was a lot of noise from a nightclub in adjoining premises on Thursday and Friday night as people stood around outside shouting bad language. We reported this to reception but they didn't have any suggestions about dealing with it.

    The hotel's garden setting was really attractive, although Redruth is not the most lively town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    For room costs they were not very soundproof. Each time the next door room flushed toilet or opened bathroom door the extractor fan was audible in our room which was quite annoying when trying to sleep Décor of rooms were very good both in room and public areas; a very eclectic mix which was very interesting.

    Friendliness of all encountered staff Lucy at bar was a really happy and informative young lady, credit to your company. The bed was extremely comfortable in the suite the bath was a lovely decorative feature but not as big as was suggested.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor throughout and in the junior suite in the garden wing was a little old and tired but the balcony and privacy of the room location was fab,

    Food was great quality and waitresses were very customer focused and friendly Spa was also good although a little crowded when we tried to go

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Menu was slightly limited in the evening. Not a lot going on in the town of Redruth so really had no choice but to stay at the hotel in the evening if you wished to have a drink. We requested a downstairs room with a patio & shower which was confirmed when we booked it. When we arrived we were told there was no down stairs room with shower only a bath. This was not suitable so it was disappointing not to have a patio area to sit & enjoy. No lift to the upper floor which was not very convenient.

    A very clean, friendly hotel. We had a superior room which was lovely & spacious. Sunday dinner was delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't sleep well..as it was very hot in the room during the night..no windows just sliding doors in the garden family double room.. Be aware if you are booking through booking.com as holet has extra bed and children policy. Make sure you have a confirmation letter/email in place with all you booking information.

    Big and comfortable room. Sliding doors leading to a private patio with small table and chairs. Good breakfast..an amazing gin collection and we all enjoyed our dinner at the restaurant. The leisure and gym facilities were great too. Nice surrounding. Perfect place to stay with the dog!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were desapointed to have been allocated a room in a part of the hotel that was under refurbishment. We were not told at check in and it was not in anyway mentioned on their website or any mentions at the time of booking. I would have mentioned this at check out should the Lady have asked me "how was your stay"...

    Restaurant and bar food was great, so was the service. Great choice of cooked breakfast served to your table. The refurbished part of the hotel is grand, in keeping with the style and comfort of a Georgian house.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room and bed very comfy. Staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast very good though dinner menu a bit limited. A good location in the centre of cornwall but Redruth not the nicest town on the planet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact I had to leave.

    Very friendly staff, facilities were brilliant and the food was amazing. They allowed us to bring our dog too..... can’t fault them.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was comfy and room standard not what I was expecting, unfortunately the staff wern’t very friendly or helpful aside from one or two the rest just made everything seems too much hard work for them and I don’t think I seen anyone smile once not even on arrival, restaurant ran out of most of the menu on the second night, pool and spa facilities were standard but I pool area was not very clean and very dated, staff however in that area were very friendly. Standard rooms but nothing to rave about I have stayed in nicer premier inns for a third of the cost, also way out of no where with nothing apart from a co op in town and some local shops however they never appeared to be open.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly tatty carpet and chairs in the room (I believe renovations are in progress) and exposed wires in a lot of the corridors were a bit unsightly

    Excellent staff and great food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ladies changing area in health club needs up datingredients but I'm sure thato on the list to be done.

    Hotel beautifully decorated very 1920s. Breakfast relaxing not rushed or self service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The décor in the corridors in the area we stayed in (garden suites) looks a bit dated, but this did not affect our enjoyment at all.

    Very nice hotel; friendly staff - lovely food and drink.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Needs refurbishing upstairs - corridors rather shabby. Reception staff did not say 'hello' at any stage of the stay apart from the initial check-in.

    Food good, Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a grand old building but in dire need of a restoration.

    The restaurant food is top notch. Service was great. We swam in the indoor pool and it was fab.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is tired, run down, very dark, we didn’t like it

    The staff were friendly, apart from Jonathon who insisted in taking your bags to your room (tip)! Then ignored you the reminder of the time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My single room was very very small and I thought was rather expensive in relation to the price of a double room.

    I had one of the best vegetarian meals of my life in their restaurant - a twice baked leek soufflé, which was absolutely delicious and very imaginative. It is rare to have a really good meal like that.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This was a very comfortable hotel with a spacious room and bathroom facilities. Staff were very friendly, the restaurant was good with a very good range of options for breakfast. The location is excellent for reaching all parts of Cornwall.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated decor in rooms and upper hallways - areas of cracking in walls and damp ceilings coming down. Functions meant that hotel was loud in evening/night. Our window overlooked the entrance and could not open due to noise from function guests outside it.

    Lovely friendly staff and warm welcome. Good pool. Great food and wine. Good bar area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar meal burger wasn't cooked but the meal was replaced on request with no fuss.

    Room was very comfortable and clean. The decked area outside the room was a pleasant surprise. Breakfast was great, with a wide selection on offer. Staff were really attentive and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom. Good news - spacious with a large comfortable bed. Bad news - miles from common areas. Needed to drop breadcrumbs to find your way back to the breakfast room and reception. The decor had seen better days and was soulless in comparison to the entrance and common parts. We stayed in a garden room. The garden just looked sad. With dirty furniture and long grass. I know we are coming out of Winter but there was no excuse not to up keep the grass at the end April or clean / repair the furniture. The whole place seemed unloved. The fan broke in the bathroom and we were kept awake all night by the low drone of what sounded like a B52 bomber. We reported in the morning.

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The bar lounge and restaurants were decorated in an attractive period style and were comfortable & cosy. They were well maintained by staff despite being busy areas. Breakfast was very well cooked and staff attentive. Continental breakfast fresh and tasty. Choice was a little limited but cooked menu made up for this.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit busy and confused in terms of decor, and a proper maze of a place. Signage could be better also.

    Comfy bed, nice sized room, everything clean, staff very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food and hospitality were very good together with the location of the hotel. We would book again when visiting the area. The bathroom was exceptionally good and well laid out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the staff in the hotel breakfast, the waitresses were so ignorant, they new I was trying to get there attention and ignored me , they didn’t explain the breakfast menu at all , them 2 waitresses were the only thing that let this hotel down !! The other staff were fantastic x

    I loved the friendly warm welcome from the girls on reception

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area is a little dated now and needs a refresh all round however it is still functional. My only ther issue was our bathroom sink was blocked and the water took over 40mins to drain away after use making it not pleasant for others who used the bathroom after you. We did report it but they did not manage to unblock it during our 2 night stay.

    I booked a pet friendly room with an additional bed for my daughter. The room was excellent. It did not smell of old pets the bed was huge and comfy and we actually had a second small room for the additional bed rather than the expected sofa bed. The room opened directly onto the garden for the dog which was great. The food and in particular the breakfasts were excellent using good quality sausage and bacon which you can tell instantly. The hotel location is great as you are only half an hour from both st ives and padstow as well as the beaches of porthcurno.would definitely stay again. This is a family owned hotel and you can tell as the atmosphere is personal and they still take an ownership of ensuring the guests have a good experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Hotel seems to rely a lot to the local population. Especially the swimming pool was overcrowded by locals who seem to have some membership. We struggled to get slots for massage which were also fully booked. It would be advisable to book your slots well before to avoid surprises. Kids were allowed in the pool 7-10am and 4-6pm. I wouldn’t call that family friendly.... Breakfast runs up to 9:30 which I think is too early. I like dogs but it was an unpleasant surprise to smell a dog in my corridor. Probably an allocation of animal friendly rooms in a separate section of the hotel would be better.

    Very generous sized room. Food in the restaurant was great. We had all of our dinners there. Massive parking. We had an afternoon tea and the treat was impressive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi/internet speed is very poor in our room.

    Very spacious room. Excellent staff only too willing to help. We thoroughly the pianist accompanying dinner. We are pleased to report that prompted by our recommendation friends have already booked to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and the common parts a bit tired.

    It was nice to have a pool, sauna and gym to use. The bathroom was well decorated and a nice size. The linens were clean and fresh. The staff were helpful. The piano player at dinner was a nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not as advertised and very poorly equipped, no draws for clothes one very small and inadequate hanging space, the bed was advertised as king-size, it was not. it was queen or less and way too small for a good nights sleep. The bed was dirty down the right-hand side and the fabric was torn. The carpet near the edge of the bed looked like it had never been cleaned. In truth and in my opinion the room was too small for a king-size bed. For the cost and the star rating it was wholly inadequate, pokey, and poor.

    The food in the restaurant was excellent but the breakfast was not good. The Pool and sauna were good and staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no lift so carrying bags upstairs might be difficult for some, however, they do have a valet to help.

    The room was very comfortable, food excellent with 5 Vegetarian options. The hotel was quiet despite being busy. Loved the decor in Georgian style. Staff were all extremely friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic relaxed amd inviting atmosphere, friendly staff who made me feel at home but in an unobtrusive way. Great food. Nothing about this place I'd want to change.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was great

    It was a fantastic hotel booked very late at night. Very warm welcome and a lovely night sleep breakfast was fantastic staff was really nice an helpful but the best bit was meeting Lilly the staffy dog . Who jumped in the van and wanted to come with us dean an evita Hartley . Napper installations x

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not against the bedhead and too heavy for me to move, so had to improvise to be able to sit up and read

    I enjoyed the atmosphere and the friendliness of the staff; also the evening pianist - such a pleasant change from piped music. Being able to swim was a bonus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy rooms with what sounded like very loud stairs above my room and no acknowledgment from the front desk when I told them. Very poor value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny washbasin in toilet/shower room. In the bar, the draught beer (Tribute) wasn't as nice as it usually is.

    Convenient location ten minutes' walk from the station and Redruth town centre. Large but cozy feeling public area downstairs with plenty of lounge space, large restaurant etc. Room was fine. WiFi excellent and required no sign in if any kind.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No black pudding in English breakfast!!! Could swap one of the rashers for this. Black pudding used to be a "Northern thing" but think it's appreciated everywhere now- get it on the breakfast!! Took about 10 minutes to bring me glass of wine at dinner- might have been a queue at the bar that held this up.

    Lovely spacious room; beautiful hotel - real attention to detail' excellent breakfast (the kedgeree is superb) and good evening meal too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    my freind stayed in a single and it was so small that her tea and coffee making facilities had to be stored in the wardrobe. the price for the room needed to be a lot cheaper perhaps 59 it was quite a dissapointment as my room was lovely

    the relaxing atmosphere, freindly staff, nice breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room light cover had flies in it. Shower leaked onto bathroom floor. Spa facilities looked tired and in need of refurbishing. Previous customers comment card left in room on arrival with all of their personal details on.

    Good breakfast, great selection, friendly and helpful waiting staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My biggest disappointment was the changing rooms for the swimming pool/fitness room. Everywhere the floor was soaking wet so it was impossible to change without getting wet feet and socks.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the restaurant, gin bar and lounge had a lovely traditional English feel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I can say went wrong was an oversight where no butter was provided with the bread for breakfast.

    Bed was super comfy, pillows just right and duvet was quality.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Treatment room could do with a bit more done to it just to bring it up to the same standard asthe rest of the hotel.

    We liked the lovely decor. We felt very comfortable here. All the staff were very helpful and polite. The evening meal deal of two dine for £29 was amazing value and the exensive breakfast menu made it hard to choose!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, such a nice building but too close to The town centre

    Nice building, lovely rooms. The staff were really friendly and in the evening there is a pianist playing the piano in the dinning room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot think of a thing it was great thankyou

    I was Fairly full after my previos evening meal i asked the staff for a portion of scambled eggs on its own for breakfast they were very obliging and cooked to perfection. The facilities were great and i slept really well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything

    The staff! Every one was fantastic so helpful and all do everything they can to make your stay perfect Everyone is so friendly and helpful The evening meal is brilliantly served and tastes fantastic whilst still be very good value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An exceptional hotel with staff who are friendly, helpful and efficient. Set in its own grounds the Georgian manor is sumptuous. Excellent food with a first class breakfast. Unfortunately I didn't have time to try the swimming pool, sauna or spa. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The tree lights not working outside as i proposed under them

    loved our room 146,all the staff from reception throughout were excellent, great place to relax 10 out of 10

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toast maker did not grill wholemeal bread properly- it was slightly dried rather than coloured. Put it through again it burned. Would have preferred kitchen to provide toast.

    Relaxing spa area, comfortable lounge good for meeting friends or quieter areas for business, couples etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hot breakfast was disappointing. It was obvious that it wasn't freshly made. And one of the young bar tenders made some of the worst cocktails we've ever tasted - he openly said he wasn't sure how to make them but carried on anyway and they were awful. It would have been much more appropriate if he had just said he was unable to make them and asked someone who could.

    The bar decor and atmosphere were lovely. And the staff were very welcoming, helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hallways and in particular the doors to rooms looked worn and tired, letting down the wow factor at front of hotel, bar, restaurant and the rooms.

    Cooked breakfast options and quality were excellent, ambience throughout day and night in the hotel was very nice and helped the special feeling of being away from home.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant and bar staff somehow on automatic pilot rather than listening and noticing. Room service order was forgotten and information folder had misleading information about times of food availability. Hot water in shower hot (just) on hottest setting.

    Comfy bed, spacious room with sitting area, but then it was a suite. Spacious bathroom with a big shelf for toiletries.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not one thing

    The bed was very comfy which I am always on the look out for as work for bensons Food was lovely - especially the treacle tart The gentleman on the reception was so helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NOTHING REALLY DISAPPOINTED

    The friendliness and wilco attitude of the staff, the food was excellent and VFM and the appearance / cleanliness of the Hotel was impeccable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we enjoyed everything about our 2 night stay, great breakfast, smart friendly staff, good facilities, we didn't have dinner as we were meeting family elsewhere. Certainly would return and recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was very disappointing, great menu but both our steaks were over cooked beyond eating to enjoy. Sons burger & bun we're both also burnt. Pancakes were too stodgy & not served with streaky bacon. Cream tea was ok but I've had better scones. Cheddar & onion chutney sandwich was very sweet. A vintage cheese would have accompanied the chutney better. The honesty fridge (huge trunk) in the bedroom is a novel idea but it hadn't been checked prior to our arrival so wasn't fully stocked which was disappointing when I was looking for a snack and a bottle of still water. The bath plug didn't stay down so the children were quickly sitting in suds with no water. The shower head needed replacing as it just squirted water in various directions. The plug in the sink didn't raise more than 1cm, frustrating. The spa was cold & rather poor lighting. We weren't welcomed by the ladies, not offered a robe and it was hard to see what loungers were free as nobody had tidied away towels, slippers and China wear etc. We were told that children weren't allowed in the pool until 4pm (we arrived at 3.40pm) however, the guest info in the room said children can use the pool until 6pm.

    The decor is fabulous following a huge upgrade. The Gin bar is amazing and the staff very knowledgable offering advice and suggestions on what you should try from the vast menu. The room was great nice and big even with sofa bed out especially as we took our dog. Doors opened on to the garden, perfect for letting her out for a wee. Lots of hanging space and storage. Would be lovely in warm weather to sit outside.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything that could be improved. Chatting to the staff however, I was told that all areas are being updated ( hope that this doesn't spoil the ambience of the hotel)

    Lovely hotel In a beautiful historic building. The room was large and beautifully furnished, with a fabulous bathroom with a wonderful and unusual shower. Lovely downstairs reception rooms, very cosy, slightly quirky ( in a nice way) and family friendly with a range of newspapers and board games on display. Cosy bar with a good range of drinks. All staff very friendly and helpful. I travelled to Redruth for a family funeral and ate dinner with the family so didn't eat in the restaurant, but it looked really good. Although I didn't have time to swim, I did look at the swimming pool and it looked amazing and much larger and better equipped than expected. I will definitely return in happier times. It's one of the friendliest, homely and nicest hotels that I have stayed in.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I would suggest looking at is the TV in the room. It kept turning itself off and on again.

    The room was very quiet and had a lovely view from the window. Bed was very comfortable and we were provided with adequate facilities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bar for a function closing at midnight (we were all having so much fun)

    We came for my Husbands Christmas work do and stay for the night. We all had an amazing time. The Room was lovely, staff were very friendly and the food was amazing. Definately coming again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to have bath sheets. Towels not big enough. Pool towels especially poor. Didn't like changing facilities although pool itself was nice.

    Size of room and comfortable beds. Good bathroom

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our Room had dirty laundry in the draws from the previous people and there was a dirty sock behind the coach - it is still there. Our bin was not emptied on a daily basis.

    Great staff - Hotel room was nice and big

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room although very comfortable was a little tired but I know they are currently refurbishing all the rooms so hoping for more be of Rose rooms on our next stay in the spring

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Still a bit of a rabbit warren to haul bags without an escalator. But bell-men are available.

    Property has been upgraded and the rooms now meet the expectation. Great shower.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, but the rooms which are good, would be excellent if upgraded to match the front of the building which is magnificent

    Lovely evening meal and breakfast, beautiful dining room, bar and reception, helpful attentive staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t say we found anything to complain about only that the lounges were getting cold with front door being left open,but to be fair there was a Xmas festival going on all weekend and it’s not the hotels fault when people don’t shut the door!

    From the moment we arrived we were made welcome and nothing was too much trouble,any requests were dealt with immediately ....food in restaurant very reasonably priced especially supper deal 2 courses +glass wine for 2 people £29.Food was very good delicious and well presented,we would certainly recommend this hotel....by the way the cream tea is to die for!we will surely be booking again,but please note on the booking .com website they have the postal code for this hotel wrong,so we phoned hotel up for correct code.We attended this hotel for a family birthday surprise and the venue and three course meal was excellent,they catered for 35 and the separate room was ideal location.I can see why people have their weddings here a beautiful venue!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was cold although they brought us a heater and duvet. Hot tap didn't work and confusion over swimming pool times with children. Breakfast wasn't value for money and yogurts out of date!!

    The property was lovely inside and newly decorated. Staff were friendly and were realky helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    All we required was fully provided

    It was all very good and the caring of the staff outstanding. Food was very good and the location excellent for our requirements. We would book again and encourage others we know to take advantage of all it offers.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the cream tea was the only disappointment of my stay,i had a guest come to see me while i stayed at the hotel .We ordered 2 cream teas but the scones were from a supermarket cheap ,plenty of cream and jam though

    all the staff were very friendly,lovely breakfasts.no long wait for food

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have no complaints

    The staff were really friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Great attitude, excellent accommodation and food. Highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    granulated sugar for the cereal available without having to ask for it . Not having to chase request for tea for 2 in sitting room on Saturday morning.

    we had a first floor bedroom suite I think although we were only suppose to have a standard double but in laws who were supposed to have a deluxe junior suite had the same room as us on the first floor. Both rooms were fine- we has come to stay sadly to attend a family funeral and although we could have discussed this further to clarify bedrooms we were happy enough. Staff were attentive and friendly but we had to chase a request for tea during the morning in the sitting room. Service in the dining room was general good and the staff were friendly and helpful but we had to ask both mornings for sugar to sprinkle on cereal.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As soon as we walked through the door, help and guidance was fab, our room was amazing.... staff, food, everything couldn't have been better. Highly recommended from us

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noisy room close to reception that we were initially allotted.

    We were immediately and efficiently upgraded ( by Darren ) to a very nice , quiet room after we complained about the noisy room close to reception that we were initially allotted.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Husband claimed the eggs royale were the best he's had... Very friendly and accommodating staff and nice spacious rooms - great pool facilities too. :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly slightly short staffed at breakfast one morning, and a couple of times they forgot parts of our food orders.

    Lovely spacious family room with spotless bathroom and single bed in its own room which our Daugter loved. Free wifi and nice lounge areas. Food very good although quite expensive, but to be expected for a good quality hotel. Nice leisure facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the accommodation is clean and comfortable it's tired and in need of new decor, furniture, carpets etc. Example chairs in corridors are stained and broken and bathrooms need tlc around tiling etc.

    The food and service are exceptional and the restaurants classic style takes you back to a time where the surroundings and the piano playing encouraged you to up your game in regards to personal presentation. A place free of tracksuits, jeans and unironed apparel. A place where romance roams the room and mixes easily within. The rooms are clean and comfortable but a bit skimpy on beverage making services and Health Spa a brilliantly aportioned addition.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints!

    Loved the décor throughout!! Staff very approachable and helpful Appreciated little luxuries like sensor lighting in bathroom and lots of plug sockets Big comfy bed, large room - we could happily live there!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lighting in the bathroom

    The staff politeness and availability, the flexibility to accommodate their guests. They know what customer service means. Closeness to mines heritage sites and to the seaside.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area needs a little 'face-lift' - slightly run down but overall okay.

    The room was spotless. Pillows and bed were extremely comfortable. Beautifully presented rooms! Plus very friendly staff who offered amazing service 24 hours a day!

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: