Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Penybont 4 stars

Llangorwen, Aberystwyth, SY23 3DW, United Kingdom

#1 of 20 B&Bs and Inns in Aberystwyth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 313 B&B reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2018

    9.6
    A peaceful haven, which would be a pleasure to return to
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all great for me

    Very friendly and helpful host, lots of thoughtful touches, like lots of coffee/tea/milks and hot chocolate in the room. The breakfast was fabulous.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2018

    10
    Really enjoyable stay.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in a comfortable, well-equipped and warm cottage which was most welcome as the weather had turned cold. John made us feel very much at home. We appreciated the relaxed and peaceful location. Breakfast was delicious and we look forward to returning. Close to Aberystwyth but also near the beach at Clarach which is perfect for a cliff top walk.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    A real value for money gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a delightful property; 10 minutes from Aberystwyth town centre and a perfect location to explore the central west coast of Wales. Very comfortable bed and a wonderfully homely feel from the moment I arrived; John is an excellent host. I really hope I'll have reason to come back soon.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.2
    Friendly and helpful owner, flexible on check in and check...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a drive out of town so if you want to be central Aberystwyth, you need a car, but fantastically scenic and peaceful and great drive

    Friendly and helpful owner, flexible on check in and check out times, clean, spacious, good bathroom facilities with towels, parking on site, scenic, good food

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    The host and the b&b are the best I have ever been to
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to be honest

    John the host was most welcoming and very friendly, we had to be away early in the morning and he made us a pack up and was very helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Very Accomodating host norhing too much trouble.Delicious breakfast. Delivered our daughter to university in Aberystwyth so will definately be staying here again over the couse of the next 3 years

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs were a bit steep. Although I am not disabled I dislike stairs that are steep. Suggest it says so then people can make up their own minds. The bed in my room was not particularly comfy.

    The owner was very friendly and recommended a good Indian restaurant. He also attempted to mend my husband glasses in which the lens had fallen out. Quite a character!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Peaceful and friendly place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable, good size room, great breakfast, parking, WiFi, John was a great host and was kind enough to rescue me when I got lost heading back to the B&B across the golf course from Aberystwyth.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.5
    Beautiful location and comfortable, clean accommodation with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location and comfortable, clean accommodation with lots of nice touches. We were visiting the university and only stayed one night but would like to stay longer another time.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    We'd happily return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is only one breakfast table, and it seats four people, so you may be sitting together with the guests staying in the other room.

    John was a very welcoming host who prepared a great breakfast for us. The whole property was very clean, tidy and pleasant, and free parking for residents was provided.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Aberystwyth - stay and explore
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ,/,

    I liked it very much. I had a nice and comfortable room, felt like home. Slept really well and the rich breakfast in the morning prepared me for the day out. Thanks to John :) Aberystwyth, 5 Minutes by car, has a lot to offer, especially nice coastal walks. Would definitely stay at Pen y bond again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Would definitely return if back in the area and very happy to recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only problem was no mobile signal for an O2 dumb phone, which is not down to the host. Wifi available and worked well.

    The whole experience was excellent - comfy bed, very quiet area, great food; exceptionally clean, host friendly and welcoming but not overbearing, beautiful scenery.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Off road parking is provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Off road parking is provided. John is an excellent host, even offering to take us into town so we can get an evening meal. The rooms are supplied with plenty of refreshments, including water and juice. Breakfast is brilliant with lovely coffee.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Couldn't have wished for more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like.

    John was a superb host. Very friendly and great for a chat. He took to my 9 year old son instantly as they both have a great interest in racing cars. His place a very clean, our room was perfect, the beds were very comfy, breakfast was superb. The place is in a lovely spot, nice and peaceful but close to Aberystwyth and with easy access to the surrounding area. 10/10 from us John. Thank you.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    Friendly B&B, good value for money :)
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Felt more like being at home - John very friendly and helpful, accommodation very comfortable (comfy beds, great shower), able to come and go whenever. Breakfast really good, tweaked to personal preferences.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent place to stay and fantastic value for money compared to others. John is an excellent host, place is very clean and he thinks of everything. Booked to stay again, beautiful quiet place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Although for only one night it was a very pleseant stay.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking is a minor issue. Lots of reversing and three point turns to get onto the main road.

    John was an excellent host. Now we know where the B&B is, we'll certainly stay there again next time we are in mid Wales.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely quiet location close to Aberystwyth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only tiny gripes : the provision of a cloth to wipe the surfaces in the kitchen would have been helpful as would having some kitchen roll and a spare toilet roll or two! And the bath towels could do with being larger.

    Lovely quiet location close to Aberystwyth. Nicely presented house, very clean and comfortable. Very friendly, helpful host. Left milk in the fridge for us and tea and coffee which were much appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    what can i say! John is a great host and lovely man who went out of his way for us :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there is not one thing about Peny Bont I didn't like.

    I loved everything about our stay, pretty surroundings lovely comfy bed, excellent food so near to Aberystwyth 6 minutes infact by car. John made us very welcome and was a complete joy to talk to. We will be making many more visits to Peny Bont from now on. Great job John.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to be nit picky I’d say that the 2 B&B rooms are across a landing and that we felt the need to be extra quiet in room so as not to disturb those in other room. Meant we kept the volume down on tv at night. But this didn’t really impact our stay.

    Spotlessly clean with everything you need for short break. John is the kind of host you really need. Interested in your enjoyment but not in your face. A great guy with a lovely home in a smashing location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Very relaxing comfortable weekend with everything we needed and more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!!!

    This is a lovely B&B in a lovely place. The owner could not have been more helpful and friendly. He recommended and even drove us to a local restaurant as we arrived. Comfy beds, great shower, nice breakfast with extra toast offered. We arrived by motorcycle and were met outside with offers of help with luggage. All round great place. I would definitely go again or recomend. Thank you for helping us have a great weekend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    All round a great place to stay. Would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very comfortable, clean and in a lovely village. The breakfast was great too. You felt that you were in the middle of nowhere but only over the hill to the nearest town. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    John the owner could not be anymore helpful, he cooked a great breakfast, the location was superb, quiet and rural, but still close to town, rooms where small but very comfortable, the most important thing for a traveller, the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Great host, great stay, I wish I needed to come to Aberystwyth more often!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful location in lovely spot just outside of Aberystwyth. As many others have said John is an excellent host - nothing is too much trouble. Great facilities, Excellent value. Why look any further?

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    A lovely, friendly base from which to explore Aberystwyth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The thin wall between our room and the adjacent room's bathroom meant we could clearly hear any sounds, which was disappointing; it also awoke us in our comfortable beds earlier than we had hoped for.

    Warm welcome, comfy bed, spotless bedroom and bathroom and a great shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Lovely stay, will be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike... Superb all round

    Lovely couple of nights spent there, room was clean and comfortable, secure off street parking. John made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was great.... Even cooked sausage for the dog Thanks from myself and Lola

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    very pleasant, would stay again if need arose.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Curtains as well as blinds, as blinds let in too much light especially early in the morning.

    Lovely full english breakfast, nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    A+++ perfect host
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    John was extremely friendly and helpful he couldn't do enough for us during our stay from advising on things to do and places to visit even offering a lift into town instead of paying the taxi fare which wasn't too bad in price. Breakfast was cooked perfectly to a time suited to you, the room was clean, we will certainly book again in the future. Price was very fair and Aberystwyth is just a 5 minute drive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    We stayed in the self catered cottage and we could not have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't fault the place.

    We stayed in the self catered cottage and we could not have asked for a better experience. The place was spotless and perfect for what we need. The owner of the property was extremely friendly and very helpful, even offering to drop us into the town centre if we needed it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    lovely stay with 4 kids. wish we could do few nights more!! owner super friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the space is amazing, two bathrooms, but remember to take two sets of favourite shampoos and soaps 😂 otherwise you will be able to use only one at a time!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Breakfast was lovely, and felt very comfortable, owner was...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was lovely, and felt very comfortable, owner was amazing and very accommodating. My dog also had a lovely stay. Extremely dog friendly place would recommend to pet owners, lovely walks nearby and wasn’t rushed away in the morning. Very relaxing stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    John was extremely welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    John was extremely welcoming. The room was superb and warm. The breakfast was excellent. I would totally recommend this accommodation. A few miles out of town tho. Taxi is about £7. (Although I got a lift in with John. Cheers John. ) I’ll be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park area abit tight but not a major issue

    Everything. Host was excellent and made us really welcome. Even gave my wife a birthday card and present. Couldn't do enough for us. Totally recommend. Venue was spotless. Good food. Will be back. Thank you. Peaceful setting but close to Aberystwyth

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Amazing B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Truly amazing, immaculately clean, fabulous breakfast and John the host really goes the extra mile to make sure everything is just perfect. If you want to know what it's like staying at a 10/10 B&B then visit this place for you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Setting in remote place the cottage was exactly what we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we could dislike

    Setting in remote place the cottage was exactly what we wanted, quiet and cosy. The family was very friendly. We had feeling like being visiting family.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Very happy time.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect for me.

    Host very friendly, helpful and kind to my dog. Excellent breakfast, loads of refreshments in room, allowed to use the fridge/freezer and microwave. All good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    It was perfect for my visit to see granddaughter at the university. I will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a lot!

    Mine host, John, was very welcoming and helpful and a good breakfast chef. Overall the accommodation far exceeded my expectation and, I believe, represented exceptional value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    Most enjoyable, excellent facilities, very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very welcoming host and good choice for breakfast. Comfortable room, very clean and tidy. Nice little touches, sweeteners as well as sugar in room, shampoo etc. provided. Overall an excellent stay. John was an engaging host full of useful information about the local area and very happy to offer advice where requested.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Brilliant place to stay. Extremely friendly staff, comfy beds, tasty breakfast and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was met at the door with a friendly greeting, then was shown around the room and offered help with bags. The room was very clean and tidy, bed was exceeding comfortable and meant i had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was brilliant, plenty of toast , orange juice and a range of cereals to pick from. The cooked breakfast was perfectly done the bacon was light and crispy and the mushrooms were gorgeous. I left with the feeling like i had been staying with a friend not staying at a B&B.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.3
    Really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely use this b&b again.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bin in bathroom hadn’t been emptied. No lock on door from outside. Radio and tv remote not working but quickly rectified. Bathroom extractor housing vibrated making it very loud to use.

    Host extremely welcoming and friendly. Ensuite shower and facilities very good. Breakfast was amazing! Very informative on local facilities. Beautiful setting. All in all a very comfortable stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    I stayed once and now keep returning!
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfy bed and pillow. Great breakfast. Excellent hosts. Brilliant location for accessing the University, National Library of Wales and the town centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Excellent as always
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. This is a first class bed and breakfast with lovely clean rooms, powerful shower, comfy bed, superb breakfast and a friendly helpful host. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.6
    Perfect accommodation, especially for people with dogs. Perfect host.
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was altogether lovely and the food was delicious and generous. I stayed with my two dogs and they were made welcome and offered sausages 😍. John was warm, friendly and welcoming. He even gave me his own dogs lead when I lost mine!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    Cosy stay at Penybont.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    The host was helpful, our room and the downstairs breakfast room were both comfortable. We arrived late in the evening and we were able to use some plates and mugs from the kitchen on our arrival for our Christmas cake (from home) and hot chocolate. We had a hot cooked breakfast and enjoyed our short stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Great host, made me feel very welcome.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great host, made me feel very welcome. Excellent made to order breakfast at a time I got to choose. Beautiful house in a lovely location. Bed was very comfy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Lovely BnB just outside Aberystwyth
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't have anything negative to say, it is a homely place, I had a good sized ensuite. If you want a huge room then this isn't the place, it was great for me! Oh maybe a packet of quorn sausages in the freezer for the rogue vegetarian like me.

    It was a convenient, clean and the owner was a delight! The room had tea, coffee, hot choc, water and cartons of orange. Lots of towels, pillows and bedding. Warm room, Windows that worked if it got too hot! Lovely place! Lovely owner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    A gem of a b&b well worthy of a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The tranquil location; only a couple of miles from the coast; John the host & his 'can do' attitude; value for money; breakfast (with a time choice); overall a gem of a b&b well worthy of a visit if you are in the area

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Great B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Took daughter to UNI and booked B&B because of price. John the owner was friendly and helpful and served a fabulous breakfast. Room was clean and tidy and when we visit again we will stay again. Many thanks John

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Made to feel very welcome & would recommend.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to be able to lock room from the outside. Apart from that nothing displeased .

    Bottled water/ tea/coffee in room. Safe provided in room. Friendly host and great service. Food very nicely cooked & served on piping hot plate.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.3
    Host was very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet access was limited

    Property was quite small the room was limited but the owner was very friendly would certainly hook again if only looking for one night stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Excellent bed and breakfast in lovely countryside!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was comfortable and we had everything we needed to make our stay enjoyable. We especially liked the mornings, a great breakfast and John is so friendly and helpful. A great place to holiday.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    Friendly host and all what we needed was there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly owner who gave advice on where to eat locally. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. The cooked breakfast was well presented and set us up for our cycling day ahead! There was storage for the 3 adult bicycles, which was secure.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    A very well run B and B providing a very comfortable stay. Would highly recommend this property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very clean and well furnished room with good tea and coffee making facilities with the added bonus of bottled water for the two of us. Bathroom spotless and shower very spacious. John provides a good selection for breakfast and the full Welsh was excellent. Unfortunately it rained the day we were there but it didn't stop us enjoying the peace and quiet of the countryside having spent three days in a city prior to our stay at Penybont.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    We felt right at home the minute we stepped in and met John
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    There is nothing bad to say about the Penybont B&B. The only minor issue is that you have to be willing to travel a little bit to get to a nice restaurant. We booked all our evening diner reservations in "The Wild Fowler" (zip code SY20 8PN), about 10 miles from Penybont B&B. They have a huge menu, friendly personel and you are quickly served.

    The owner John was really wonderful, he spoiled us all the time we were there. The breakfast was perfect, we could choose whatever we want, no trouble was too much, he would make it fresh for us. John had lots of ideas and suggestions on what to see and visit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Great property for all types of families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was a bit slow in peak times, but it was very nice to have any internet access at all!

    Very well appointed accommodation in good location. Friendly and helpful owner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.6
    Home away from home
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment of the booking the landlord got in contact with us. He is very friendly and attentive and runs a lovely colourful place with a small B&B and this self-catering house. He stocked the fridge with fresh milk on arrival. We had enough space for a family of three and a dog. Each bedroom has its own bathroom. (Only the carpets in the bathrooms weren't what we like). We enjoyed the private DVD collection in the evening and a long walk along the coastlinepath to lovely Aberystwyth and back. We visited the Slate Caverns in Snowdonia which was real fun. Its a 90 Minute drive but worth it. Skip Portmeirion if you travel with a dog. Since a few years dogs aren't allowed at all. It wasn't mentioned in our travel guide, so we drove there for nothing. Prefer walking your dog on the northern end of the beach in Borth.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    Great location,Wonderful proprietor,Good Value
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    John (The Dog Whisperer) a great bloke and couldn't be more helpful.Dropped us into town then ended up babysitting our dog as he got restless.Great breakfast and beautiful location.Enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.6
    Felt like home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room, whilst very tasteful and clean was a little small for me (I'm a big guy) but I'm nit picking really

    We could not have received a warmer welcome especially given that we arrived with four small dogs. The hospitality including the excellent breakfast were exactly what you would offer to your best friends at home.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Excellent rural B&B close to Aberystwyth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - all was very good.

    Very comfortable B&B 2 miles from Aberystwyth in rural location. Comfortable room with good shower, and lovely breakfast cooked by friendly and accommodating owner (John). He was very helpful re local restaurants; in the evening we walked around the headland to Aberystwyth and had dinner at the Olive Branch by the harbour. Nothing was too much trouble for John and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable, peaceful and welcoming - good value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I occupied a double room which had an ensuite shower room. There wasn't space for the door to the ensuite to be closed - so two persons occupying the room would not have any privacy!

    Peaceful location yet only minutes from Aberystwyth

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Peace and quiet in a dogfriendly home
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice and cosy B&B with a warm heart for your doggy. It's quiet, at the countryside and still not so far away from Aberystwyth. Everything you need is there. Tasty breakfast cooked to order at the time you want. Very clean and hygenic. Car park space within the gated compound; at 10 paces from the door. Very helpfull and flexible host, kind and communicative if you whish. Excellent value for the money. These kind of B&B are the ones you want to return to! Thank you John.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.2
    Perfect place! Wish we stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 1 night

    For people who love thick pillows, there might not be enough pillows for you. This is not a big problem at all and I am certain that John can take care of it if you inform him prior to your arrival.

    The place is only a few minutes away from Aberystwyth. We booked a self-catered house (two-bedroom house for 5) that comes with all facilities and kitchen utensils. Bathrooms and beds are great. The house is spacious but also warm and cozy; it is a perfect place for a family or a group of friends.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Perfect, perfect, perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything - nothing negative to say.

    Perfect, perfect, perfect. Didn't want to leave. Loved seeing sheep from the window. John is a brilliant chap with a great sense of humour. He even got some Earl Grey tea for me. If you're going and like it, help him use it! The cottage he rents out is also lovely. Modern, immaculate and has everything you need. Showers nice and powerful. Breakfast delicious. Aber is an easy 7min drive away. Booked one night, stated for four. Amazing value.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    We couldn't better our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was really nothing we could improve on. It was an entirely pleasurable stay.

    Delicious breakfasts, comfortable beds and John was an excellent host. The situation was perfect for Aberystwyth and has lovely countryside on the doorstep

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.2
    very relaxing and would definitely go there again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing in particular. maybe able to lock the bedroom door on the outside. but that was no big deal.

    there was a very friendly relaxed atmosphere and john was a very interesting host. the food was semi tailored to suit your taste. also plenty of drinks in the room. the room was very clean and also the bathroom was spotless. we particularly enjoyed the quiet location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.2
    Very happy with Penybont
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's not within walking distance of a pub for dinner. Not the end of the world though.

    A great little B&B run by a switched on, super friendly host. Very comfortable for the cost. You can have any breakfast you like!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Comfortable overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very warm and friendly welcome. Very comfortable room and en- suite. John cooks a delicious breakfast. Highly recommend a Penybont and would stay again without hesitation.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    8.8
    Practically perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed wasn't super-comfortable. Other than that, everything was good or better.

    Good, friendly host with helpful tips about the area. Quiet location (apart from the seagulls!). Very good breakfast. Tray with lots of bits 'n' bobs, plus bottled water, in room was a nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    warm friendly host n house
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mobile signal problem but as he had broadband not much of a problem

    John fantastic knowlegable host very friendly n welcoming. Defo go back for another visit

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    Excellent location in a tranquil position but within very easy reach of everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't think of anything that could be improved.

    Very welcoming and friendly host. Very comfy bed and powerful shower. Great breakfast and easy parking. I would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.8
    self catering cottage...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have supplied some basic dish washing tablets/liquid.

    Quiet location but also close to town. Excellent warm welcome from owner. Would definitely come back to stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    7.5
    Clean tidy and friendly owner,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking a little tight, B & B rooms are close together and the other guests were making a fair bit of noise both in the evening and just before breakfast.Little bit remote from anything fine if you have a car.

    clean tidy room, friendly owner , I really liked the sound of running water from the Garden.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    10
    Excellent country cottage with a very friendly host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not find a fault in what was on offer

    Very comfortable cottage and a warm welcome from John the owner. Our 2nd visit in a year and just as good as the first. Almost like staying with friends

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    10
    Beautifully presented B&B
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been nice to be able to lock the door. Whilst a safe and a key are provided free, items like laptops would be too big. As other guests can come and go, it would have been nice to have a lock. (There is a latch when you're in the room to lock it from the inside!)

    A short drive from Aberystwyth in a quiet location, this welcoming little guest house does a few things extremely well and to a high standard rather than lots of things badly! The rooms are immaculate, comfy bed, hot shower and breakfast is lovely. The host is both friendly and willing to help if he can (my request for a larger cup was answered within a matter of minutes!) As a lone female traveller, I felt at ease and I will definitely stay here again if I am in the area on business or for leisure.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    10
    Hidden gem with a warm friendly welcome and excellent food and accommodation.
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can't improve on this place it was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble and John was a brilliant host.

    What a wonderful place to stay with a fantastic host.the breakfast was one of the best I've had and the two dogs loved the sausages. You won't regret staying here it's a very special place. I would certainly recommend it. Just a 5 min drive from the sea front in Aberystwyth. .

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: