Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Peterstone Court Country House Restaurant & Spa 5 stars

Llanhamlach, Brecon, LD3 7YB, United Kingdom

#8 of 19 hotels in Brecon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 189 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    We thoroughly enjoyed our two day stay with our beloved retriever and look forward to a return visit
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As the weather was so hot, the upstairs bed area was extremely uncomfortable for sleeping. Fan was large but noisy so could not leave it on to sleep. Maybe a different method of cooling could be considered though appreciate weather unusual! Room for small fridge downstairs perhaps so we could have had cold water to drink and also to keep milk fresh. Appreciate the dog friendly room but realise that the stairs to bed area could be a problem for people less active than ourselves.

    Your staff are a credit to you - cheerful, helpful - very accommodating - nothing seemed too much trouble. Room perfect as we had our golden retriever, Humphrey, with us. It was very hot so the downstairs area was good for him. Staff particularly nice to Humphrey - he was even given sausages for breakfast! He will return!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Our stay was all too short!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lovely country house hotel with elegant rooms, in a beautiful rural setting in large gardens with an old church. Breakfast was superb - loved the Welsh rarebit! - and served in a very stylish conservatory. I would stay there again any day! We arrived after 10pm, after a horrendous journey, but the lady on reception kindly opened the bar and served us some wine, for which we were most grateful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Stunning property in a beautiful part of the country and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, the property was beautiful and in a beautiful surrounding.

    Stunning property in a beautiful part of the country and the staff were fantastic, very friendly and accommodating, couldn't ask for better.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room

    staff very helpful. The room we had on the first night was nice but had NO VIEW at all except the roof of a building attached to the main house just a foot away with kitchen extractors - so if you opened the window you had continue noise . Somewhat disappointing for a country house hotel , where one would expect a view of some sort not a high roof . This room also only had a bath & no shower . On the second night we were able to move to another room , which was superb. |Huge with view of fields & bath with shower. Recommenced you do not book a good room - but book higher class room. Chef very accommodating & food excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    So near and yet so far - so near to everything and yet - away from it all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Staff welcomed us and showed us to our room - and what a room (Seiont) Room - wonderful - Food (Afternoon Tea and Breakfast) - wonderful - will stay again. Ideally located for Brecon Beacons/Hay Festival

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Great discovery, would stay again if in that part of the world
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Install some wifi range boosters. They're quick and easy to install

    Pretty much everything...room great, food, facilities, staff attitude, views, location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.7
    Good location lovely views .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms rather dated. Bed uncomfortable a few issues wirh the bathroom .Spa facilities could be better

    Good location lovely views .Breakfast amazing at the weekend .Not so good on the Monday

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Overall a wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing can be done about this, as it’s a very old house, but hope you’re not below a ‘pacer’; the floorboard noise was phenomenal! Bathroom was looking a little tired and shower was disappointingly weak. These are the only minor things I could think of.

    This is a lovely, comfortable and welcoming hotel with beautiful rooms, fantastic staff, great service and wonderful food. It’s in a beautiful rural setting. The room was very spacious and beautifully appointed. The restaurant was really great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Loved it so much we extended our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything we needed was catered for.

    Very comfortable beds, staff were friendly and helpful, the food was superb and the whole place is romantic and beautiful. There are some lovely trails, walks and sites all close by and the staff are happy to point you in the right direction. Once we settled in we never wanted to leave, will definitely be back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Greaat location views walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Greaat location views walks.Friendly welcoming accommodating staff. No probs with wet coats welies and brollies after walking in rain. Lovely spacious comfotable quiet room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    We will definitely visit again. Perfect Dog Friendly Hotel with lovely walks outside the door.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    The bed was very comfy. The location was beautiful, overlooking the mountains and with the Usk flowing at the bottom of the garden. Very comfortable country hotel with very good staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    excellent customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the staff were lovely. the evening meal was delicious. when leaving we didnt have time to stol for breakfast so they made us bacon sandwiches to take with us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Awesome, Awesome, Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff awesome, service superb, food brilliant, rooms immaculate, warm and spacious. Loved our three day stay to run around the Brecon Beacons and Black Mountains. Will be back. Big thanks to the hotel team, you made our short break, a time we will remember. You all rock!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    We needed peace and quiet and TLC and that's what we got. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, we got exactly what we wanted. We wanted peace and quieted

    All staff warm and friendly. Cath greeted us with her electrifying presence and was constantly a bright spark. Food wonderful and plenty of it. Big comfortable room with old style creaky floors!. We will definitely go back to stay. We are so glad we have found this treasure and highly recommend it to others.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Paradise
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Liked everything

    Nice welcome even though we arrived late. Wonderful room, lovely location with riverside walks and beautiful grounds. Remarkable bird life too!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    5.8
    Overall, it was suitable for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a five star restaurant with rooms, the food was average. Waited a long time between courses. What was ordered from the menu was not what came to the table. On one occasion, has to wait nearly 25 minutes for milk for tea. Some of the furnishings were a bit grubby but generally fitting.

    The location was very pleasant. Some of the staff were helpful and polite. Others needed to smile. The room and an suite were a really good size.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Absolutely beautiful !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress in the 'best country view' room was far, far, far too soft; i suffer from back and neck pain so need a very firm mattress; tried to solve this by moving to a 'good' room; this mattress was also far too soft, but as bed was smaller it was marginally better.

    Absolutely beautiful building, grounds gorgeous too; location also very nice indeed, plus quite close to Brecon town; facilities great too; bedroom (best country view) was beautiful, luxurious, and huge !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    A little piece of heaven in Brecon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were two nests in the outside our our window that had extremely noisy birds/bats that kept us up during the night. That was the only complaint.

    It was a lovely cottage like room with very comfy beds and linens. Everything was up to date and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely staff, amazing location, beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some small repairs needed...e.g . our bed lamp fitting fell off and some other little things. Otherwise we would have given 10/10

    Lovely staff, amazing location, beautiful hotel...will definitely come again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.5
    Most enjoyable and scored 8/10 to my mind
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could have been a little cleaner The dinner menu could have had a few more lighter dishes

    The bed was very comfortable The staff were helpful and friendly and the situation of the hotel was perfect

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Lovely stay in luxury at Llanhamlach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - it was all good

    The food was excellent and the view from the bathroom was amazing :-) The staff were really helpful and made it easy to feel at home. The countryside around the hotel is lovely for walking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Picturesque and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed a deep clean e.g. Skirting and chair backs but not bad enough to influence our stay.

    Everything, beautiful location, great room in barns, lovely menu and enjoyed spa and gym.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.0
    Call first to confirm parking and ask to avoid room 118
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 118. Very noisy, on the junction of 3 corridors where everyone seemed to say their good nights, 2 aircon units on the flat roof running all night and the 5am early start by chefs in the morning having a great laugh and joke.

    Clean and tidy from the outside. Car parking was very challenging due to a wedding, suggest ring first to see what events are on before booking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful country hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room at the main building was large and very comfy, big windows and also a large bathroom. The hotel building itself is very beautiful and the scenery to the mountains is breathtaking. We were lucky with the weather and could enjoy the pool area during our stay too. The steak-night at hotels restaurant was a very good offer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful stay, beautiful place, staff so friendly and efficient, room lovely, food was delicious an all round great place we would recommend to anyone

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.3
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went out for dinner no one bothered to inform us we coukd have eaten there,no information given about the place or surrounds

    Size of room and bedroom comfort

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    A comfortable hotel in a lovely area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The spa only opened at 9.00 in the morning which would not be good for anyone wanting to exercise before leaving for work. Whereas the inside of the hotel was well kept and there was a nice deck immediately outside leading to the gardens, the gardens leading down to the river were disappointingly neglected and full of weeds. We stayed 2 nights eating in the restaurant only one of those partly because the relatively small menu offered was the same both nights. This is a pricey hotel and I have reduced the value for money down one notch partly because of this.

    Peterstone Court styles itself as a "Country House Hotel" and lives up to that style. Comfortable sitting room and restaurant and we were given a large bedroom with a view towards the river. The breakfast was good with a range of choices on the menu. Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.2
    Perfect place for a first night stay on a 10-day UK road trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you need to have a lot to do within walking distance, take note that there is a trail from from the hotel to town, but I believe it's no less than a 45 minute walk, one-way.

    The breakfast in the morning was excellent; we also had dinner here and were pleased with the food and staff service. Lovely ale selection in the bar area, food tasted very fresh and seasonal. Front desk staff were knowledgeable and very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.6
    Lonely country retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in the hotel for one night after a days walking in the Brecon Beacons, used the hotel bar and restaurant! Didn't need to go out of the hotel grounds!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    Great value for money and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was great.

    The hotel was very clean and so where all the facilities. The staff where very friendly and helpful. The best part was the jacuzzi, awesome to relax.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing everything was great

    The overall place is lovely, great setting with outstanding views, we stayed in a converted stable which was beautiful, very quaint, staff were very friendly, breakfast was good choice and well presented, will definitely be back

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    8.8
    Would visit again, but insist on another room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room 204 was located next to an extractor fan,which we heard all night> There were better rooms unoccupied on the days we spent there,even though reception said the hotel was full.

    Everything was excellent,Food,Staff,Comfort and location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    7.1
    Lovely hotel let down by a few minor details
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Asked for a whisky and lemonade in the bar when i had finished my meal,was given cheap lemonade that was flat,and obviously bought from the cheap shelf at the local convienience store.Evening meal was obviouly sitting on the pass while we had our starter in the bar, therefore when my wifes meal arrived the lamb was tough and the gratan potatoes were dry. Locally aquired sausages for breakfast were sweet to taste and was offputting.

    Lovely setting,friendly staff,very nice accommodation

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.2
    Got free room upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very professional as always, but somewhat brusque, which is a bit off-putting. Maybe they were just having a busy time

    Got free room upgrade. Hotel is really beautiful and comfortable inside with great location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    Highly recommended hotel with great food in idyllic setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Piped music at breakfast was, to our taste, slightly inappropriate and repetitive. Suggest soft, gentle light classical with no lyrics. This is a minor criticism. Somewhat undercooked fried tomatoes for first breakfast and slightly over cooked scrambled eggs for second. Again this detracted little from the overall experience.

    Friendliness and helpfulness of Staff. Quiet, tranquil setting with splendid views from windows and lovely terrace. Quality of dinner. Helpfulness of Chef with challenging dietary problems. Size and facilities in bedroom with extra attention to details such as slippers and dressing gown.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    If your in Brecon, stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I was only staying for 1 night!

    Seriously, I can't recommend Peterstone Court enough, the hotel is beautiful, the rooms were stunning, the views from the hotel are breathtaking, the local walks are superb, the food was off the scale. Staff were attentive and helpful and all the things you could need or want are there or on the end of the phone

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    8.8
    great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    old building so it had creaky floorboards, not really a problem simply request a top floor room just in case you have an early riser above you, as we had on one night. wouldn't put me off visiting again!

    Great location, very peaceful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Perfect place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Are fantastic weekends away started the minute we walked through the front door. Beautify elegant lobby area, where immediately greeted by staff, given a quick tour of the area and facilities. Then led to our room (pen ye fan) a converted barn of a sort. The room was beautiful, comfy and had a homely feell (which you'd think you wouldn't want, the idea is to get away from home) but was actually lovely. The bed was very comfortable 👌🏻. Dinner at the restaurant was perfect, cosy room lit and warmed by a fire, with excellent food and a great wine list. After a good nights rest I called the reception for some fresh milk for some coffee, within 30 seconds it had arrived. Moved onto breakfast, served in the conservatory, beautiful views of the grounds and again excellent food!. Topped off with a visit to the spa... very clean facility with very helpful staff, massages were a very fair price and was again excellent, the lady's definitely knew what they were doing! Overall we had an excellent stay and WILL be returning again! There's also a lovely walk along the river from just behind the hotel 👌🏻.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    7.9
    Excellent but missing that final 5 star feeling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Woken up in middle of night with phone call from reception asking to keep noise down...night staff should have checked and confirmed our room was quiet! No earl grey tea bags in hotel...apparently stopped serving this!

    Price, location, room, overall ambience great.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    7.5
    Relaxing and cared for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet breakfast very poor as choice was dependant on when you arrived . Choice was very basic and no space. Shower not great. No ski or BT on the TVs.

    Welcome. Cooked food such as lamb /fish were excellent etc. Rooms nice especially downstairs eg bar , library, conservatory area of dining room. Bedroom large with nice views.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful hotel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Creaky floorboards

    Jacuzzi & sauna facilities were excellent. Room spacious & comfortable. Lovely library & bar to relax in with open fire.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    9.6
    A relaxing break in beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was cold but apparently it might have been the rooms friendly ghost playing about !!

    Views were fantastic and the bed very comfy Food excellent . Staff very friendly & accommodating

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    10
    A great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor above us was very noisy but being an old building there wasn't a lot that could be done. Would definitely stay again.

    The bed was very comfortable. Our treatments were amazing and we were both glad to have been in the same room together. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    9.2
    On the whole ver good and would like to stay again in the suu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred to have dinners served in traditional manner.Find the piling of food in centre of the plate very irritating even though we are aware this is the current trend.

    Excellent breakfast ,very helpful and happy staff,Beatufully decorated for Xmas.Lovely building lovingly preserved.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    7.9
    Great country escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms were a tad old and didn't reflect the the standard of the bedroom. Our evening meal was average and unremarkable which was a shame. The staff were extremely busy and we were unattended for long periods of time. Our meals were tepid at best. The main I chose that featured game, was bland and grey and notably tough. My husbands fish was clearly the better choice that evening. Breakfast was much better with attentive staff and a tasty selection of locally sourced ingredients making the 'full Welsh' easily the best food we ate during our stay. This we would recommend

    We were upgraded which was lovely. The room was warm and welcoming with lovely touches such as cookies and milk sent to us for a mid afternoon treat.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    5.4
    Excellent breakfast service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't get promised cookies/fresh milk delivered to room on arrival. Despite appearing at Resturant at booked time was effectively "ignored" by staff until I corralled one in a corner to force them to speak and acknowlege my booking.

    Excellent breakfast service

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    10
    Understated luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I have to pick a fault then it would be the duvet, both my wife and I found it more suited to Antarctica than a centrally heated bedroom in autumnal South Wales. A double sheet would have been sufficient replacement, I realise that it would be different for others.

    The food was wonderful, the portions generous and the variety thoughtful and well balanced.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    9.6
    Lovely stay, would have been perfect if there had been a lift up to the bedrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be perfect if the hotel had a lift. I have a bad knee, following a fall and it's quite a long way up to the room. The hotel was kind enough to change my room to the most accessible, but this still meant many steps up to the first floor.

    Warm welcome even when checking in early. I had a lovely massage in the Spa and was able to re-schedule on the day. Dinner and breakfast food was delicious, all staff efficient and friendly. Great stay!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.6
    Nice country hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They did seem to run out of a number of basics pending delivery, granulated sugar for cereal, soda and ice which shouldn't really happen when you can buy these in any local supermarket. Didn't notice a lift which could be a problem for some.

    Good size room and bathroom, very comfy bed, good standard of decor throughout, great views of mountains and countryside, friendly helpful staff, easy parking in front of hotel. I would stay again and i would recommend this hotel to a friend.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    7.5
    Bed very comfortable, evening meal good, location and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No towels in room, no white sugar in room, no hand soap in room, sauna not working and not advised of this previously, boiled eggs at breakfast were hard boiled, replacements still overlooked. We felt the staff didn't deal with our comments above professionally.

    Bed very comfortable, evening meal good, location and surrounding views lovely.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    10
    A wonderful hotel set within lovely grounds and pleasant walks along the river. Very dog friendly.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly the sauna was unavailable.

    Everything you could think off was available. I especially enjoyed the poached egg with smocked haddock and the porridge with honey. 😋 Super comfortable room and very pleasant and helpful staff, the Romanian sisters in particular.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.6
    Peterstone Court gave us a perfect start to our Bank Holiday weekend, which exceeded all expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the attitude of one waitress at our table in the morning was unacceptable.

    The location was perfect for our visit to Brecon, the staff apart from one in the morning were superb. The room we were given was excellent & our evening meal perfect.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    5.8
    Aweful room overlooking roof tops, extractor fan from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aweful room overlooking roof tops, extractor fan from kitchen immediately outside, had to keep windows closed all the time because of fumes. The staff were quick to provide a fan,however fumes were still smelly. Completely spoilt stay. Hand held Shower over roll top bath, bathroom floor ended up soaking very messy! Slightly disorganized staff for dinner, delays in getting drink, not a good. The staff asked us to move at breakfast time to let a group of four move on our table, only to let another group of two stay on the same table.overall image not good, we also paid £150 for a sub standard room why?

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    5.0
    Poor management and rude staff. Food very good but wouldn't go back
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a bad experience checking in as staff hadn't noticed that I was bringing a dog. We were moved to an inferior room and I was blamed for the mistake. Staff member banged on the door, hands on hips and had a go at me. I asked for an apology as it wasn't my mistake and didn't get one. No one on desk when we checked out and then another telling off on my answering phone for not having checked out properly. They had my card details so I wasn't going to hang around. Lacks management and personal touch from staff. No biscuits in room. Room smelt of damp.

    Views excellent. Provided breakfast earlier than normal times. Food very good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    7.1
    The staff were very pleasant and generally the
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought that the half board deal - £275.00 - too expensive for what we received. More attention needs to be paid to the smaller details of the room eg - a tray for tea etc - some Welsh biscuits - a sachet of hot chocolate. The hotel needs to be a little chicer to warrant this price tag.

    The staff were very pleasant and generally the hotel was comfortable and relaxed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.6
    Best by far
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stable room 211 was a little warmer than we liked but it was high summer

    The staff were more than helpful. They organised vegan food for us with no problems. It goes without saying that the situation is absolutely fabulous Five star in every way😍

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    7.9
    We loved the location and the large comfortable bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have liked a better selection of cereals at breakfast and newspapers. We didn't like the squeaky bed.

    We loved the location and the large comfortable bedroom. We enjoyed lovely views and beautiful grounds. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.6
    Lovely country house hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better spa facilities, but it's horses for courses.

    Lovely country house hotel with a relaxed feel. Deluxe room was fantastic with views from the front. Staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. We didn't have any treatments but the spa area looked OK. The other spa facilities are limited to a small sauna, a jacuzzi and outdoor pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    10
    Welcoming, relaxing and memorable visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea in room and at breakfast very weak.

    Staff happy and friendly, courteous and helpful - Cath deserves a special mention and the new young man with reddish hair. Well done for first day on the job. The two Dinners were superb. Room was spacious, well appointed, clean and private. Ami's healing massage well worth a second visit.. A most enjoyable and relaxing three days. We will definitely return. Thank you to all.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    6.7
    OK but wouldn't return and wouldn't recommend. Been to much classier hotels for same price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed VERY uncomfortable (sagged in the middle) and duvet winter weight so very hot. Room stuffy. Sofa in room had dirty cushions. Carpets dirty. Food of varying standards between average and poor.

    Staff very friendly. Room spacious. Power shower with very hot water.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    The staff are awesome and extremely helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are awesome and extremely helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    Room 204needs some hard thinking from management before being offered to the public..Rest fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First room booked online not good,Noisy and facilities not up to scratch. Replacement room on second night very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Best place in Brecon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very soft... more personal taste but prefer harder bed.

    Food great. Lovely setting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Not worth the money I paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in bedroom also shower regarding the flow of water was poor the reception desk wasn't occupied a lot

    The bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.6
    Get decent beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst bed I’ve slept on...ever

    Good location great restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location and good breakfast, nice bar and library...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy water pipes and unable to open windows.

    Great location and good breakfast, nice bar and library seating area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    It’s the perfect get-away-from-it-all experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit chilly in the room at times - but inclement weather responsible

    The food and staff friendliness and lication

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Enjoyable and would definitely visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All excellent. Staff were brilliant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    Great time all round
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cathedral room looking a little tired

    Great location, comfortable accommodation and very friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    It was so peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was so peaceful. Didn't hear any other guests on the evening. Slept amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    special birthday weekend and made to feel very welcome we loved it here
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing all good

    fantastic scenery room amazing and huge massive comfy bed food fantastic bar prices v reasonable aswell

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa facilities were a bit small & confined.

    Lovely large room , lovely comfortable bed. Lovely cosy atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Our third visit to the hotel and we will definitely be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our third visit to the hotel and we will definitely be returning. Lovely relaxing break in beautiful surroundings!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed our stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and friendly staff. The breakfast and evening meal were delicious and the bed was very comfy!

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: