Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pier House 3 stars

Harbourside, Charlestown Road, St Austell, PL25 3NJ, United Kingdom

#1 of 5 hotels in St Austell

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 601 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    The location is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The eggs at breakfast appear to have been cooked in bulk which was a bit disappointing. The Saturday morning waiting staff were no where near as organised as the week day staff. That said it would not stop us returning as we had such a lovely stay overall, and the comments are very much meant in a constructive way.

    The location is amazing. The room and common areas are decorated and maintained to a good standard. The staff were very helpful and genuinely friendly. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfect 👌
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was as expected and exactly upto expectation for our needs,

    Location, room with a sea view, extremely clean, staff friendly, courteous, helpful and a credit to the hotel, absolutely fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable hotel with welcoming staff in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor of the room was a tiny bit dated in style.

    All of the staff were so warm and welcoming and the room was very comfy and spotlessly clean. Great location near the beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Best location ever. Go for a sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed on a Saturday night. The bar was noisy after midnight. We were on the first floor. Apart from that it was great

    Beautiful room. Best view we’ve ever had from a hotel. Gorgeous location. Lovely staff and good facilities

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    Nice on the surface
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Money should have been spent on soundproofing during room refurbishment. The snoring occupants of adjacent rooms kept us awake with stereophonic effects. Price was high compared with equivalent properties. Weekend breakfast hours much earlier than similar properties, and during our trip generally checkout time in other hotels was 11am, but this one was 10am. Mattresses too aoft for our liking

    Rooms newly refurbished, location. Lovely breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Breakfast was 10/10.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was 10/10. Staff were so friendly. Room couldn’t be cleaner or comfier and I was very excited by having a very good size bathroom on the second floor! Restaurant and terrace area was gorgeous

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent room and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Website oversold the restaurant meals which for us turned out to be average. After enjoying them many years before, I anticipated the wonderful locally smoked kippers would be on the breakfast menu. Sadly not on offer

    Maintained to a very high standard with very comfortable rooms and has wonderful views

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Bed was comfortable and the room was very clean.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not have any hot water. We believe they had a problem that day which was being fixed.

    Bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.8
    The location is amazing and offers some great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately we was booked in half and hour late, even though booking in starts at 2. Also upon booking in they requested for us to leave the key at reception every time we left the hotel for 'safety reasons'. I did not do this as I am fully capable of taken care of a key. Also the food was not pleasant at all and the staff are not very welcoming.

    The location is amazing and offers some great views. The hotel is surrounded by places to eat and have a drink so every night can be different. The room I had was very small but comfortable to staying in for a couple of nights.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    A blissful haven after a long and stressful day, just what we needed.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t find anything I didn’t like

    We arrived late after being delayed and ringing ahead, but were still welcomed and made to feel welcome, the rooms exceeded our expectation, were clean, tidy and everything you would need was provided. Breakfast was included and had a lovely range of options; we sat looking at the beautiful view of the harbour, what a stunning place for a break. We will definitely be back and spend longer exploring the area and sample more of the delicious food the Pier Hotel has to offer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous location, very clean, great food and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was too springy/soft, but manageable just about for 3 nights.

    Food excellent with plenty of variety. Staff very friendly and seemed genuinely interested in you, it felt like a home from home. Location superb, overlooking the harbour with plenty to see. The harbour is steeped in history with very good restaurants, independent coffee shops and bistro's. There are two beaches and the South West Coastal path goes past the Pier House Inn. This is also a good location if you want to visit a few of the wonderful gardens nearby, especially the Eden project. Mevagissey is definitely worth a visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Location in a beautiful village.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit confusing but available up the road 150 meters so take light bags.

    Location in a beautiful village. Patio bar area looks over the port. The dinner was very good. The rooms were very nice with good bathrooms. Breakfast was very good also.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very soft - not what we are used to but a personal preference I guess.

    It's an amazing location and the hotel facilities and staff were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Pier House as per usual,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None

    I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Pier House as per usual, fantastic location, very friendly staff, food is excellent, room are clean and tidy, I would recommend this hotel to anybody

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    We were very happy to be there inspite of disturbed sleep and deep sleepers may not notice it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My accommodation in the annexe was quiet and peaceful but my three companions were in single bedrooms in the main house at the back, where sounds from the kitchen, early in the morning and late at night did interrupt their sleep every night. And a large extractor fan seemed to be operating on an outside wall all the time.

    Food at all times was excellent, location and views were superb. Staff were very friendly and responsive to requests, like hot chocolate sachet request for the bedroom. Overall a very enjoyable week with superb hot weather.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    We had a wonderful time. We'd love to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was fine.

    The staff and management were all very friendly and extremely helpful. Rob, the manager, even sorted out a technical problem on my car! Alison was also especially helpful. Room had a lot of useful cupboards and drawers, enough for a very long stay. Breakfast was excellent. Location is excellent. Charlestown is a quaint and interesting little place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Great relaxing holiday in the perfect place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner had a cooked breakfast every day. It was excellent apart from the sausage I tried the fish and the salmon. All tasty. Plenty of choices for a smaller appetite. Cornish coffee a new taste very pleasant.

    Cleanliness. Friendliness of the staff. Food all outstanding. A wonderful place to stay. Totally unspoilt. The bedroom had very good views with the bathroom up a flight of stairs. Great to have a bath as well as a shower The food was excellent quality and choice. Staff very welcoming and keen to help

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Excellent location, very clean, friendly with good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything!

    Weren't sure what to expect from a hotel/pub. Excellent - this is the cleanest place we have ever stayed in, not a mark anywhere! All the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was top notch. Would highly recommend this hotel, couldn't get a better location, and we will stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Car park wasn't located at the Hotel which wasn't a major problem but we weren't aware of this when booking.

    Location was perfect. Views from the Hotel restaurant amazing. Everything about our stay at The hotel was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Pier House - family vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Pier House is in a lovely location and ideal to visit other tourist locations. The Family Room was perfect and very clean. All the staff are very friendly and give you a very warm welcome on arrival. They get to know their guests and this adds a lovely personal touch. The food is delicious and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    Lovely
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only problem i had is the glass that cotained orange juice in the morning had a lipstick mark on it which wasnt the end of the world i just used the other side of the glass :p.

    The bed was comfortable and check in easy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Loved the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Banging water pipes in room 14 when another room turned the water on

    The staff were extremely efficient and helpful. The food was delicious and not the typical holiday food . extremely well presented and all ways hot. I would definitely stay at this hotel again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    A real surprise and delight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel and staff were a real surprise and delight as well as great food, facilities and location. Can't wait to go back. A fantastic customer experience and great value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful location, would definitely go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no view from the room which was quite small. But this is quite usual when you're travelling solo - it was still a lot better than some single rooms!

    The room was impeccably clean, the staff were lovely and the food was good and well priced.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    The location was fantastic and it was lovely being so close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location was fantastic and it was lovely being so close to the seaside. The room was clean, comfy and incredibly spacious and the restaurant was also amazing. The service was friendly and everyone at the hotel was incredibly helpful. A very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful location, brilliant staff, brilliant food, great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy from the outside due to the air con unit from the kitchen outside the windows of the room, the shower pumps of the other rooms was noisy.

    Great location, great food, helpful staff, comfy bed and room, great beer to. Location was lovely as you were over looking the sea itself.. It is a beautiful bay with crystal clear sea water. It reminded me of the water in Western Australia. There is also many other restaurants and pubs in the immediate vicinity.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Exceeded our expectations and we will definately think about staying other St Austell Brewery hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi and TV reception was patchy but this may have been weather related (stormy weekend) There should be a way of telling if the room you are booking had the spa bath as it is pot luck when you book a superior double.

    The bed was comfortable, the room was spacious, the views were wonderful and the breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Great view, nice friendly place.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place, friendly, clean, Great view,

    Great view, nice friendly place. Great ales, Good busy inthe evening.good spot to be based, travel out for the day, sea food restraints amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Prefect weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    King size bed is the only thing that would have made it absolutely perfect

    Staff were very friendly. Hotel accommodated our late arrival (midnight) with no dramas. Food was very good and generous portions

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Would definately stay at The Pier House again, credit to the manager for running an excellent ship.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't think it could have been, realistically, any better

    Everything, the building, the room, the dinner, the location and the patio and the breakfast was amazing. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Excellent short stay break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t fault anything.

    We were upgraded to a lovely room with sea views which was much appreciated. Staff were friendly, food was good and we enjoyed our stay very much.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.7
    Good clean comfortable room with excellent food and service but would not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room in the annex had three windows. The 2 side ones looked out straight onto a wall and the main window gave a view to the harbour but over the heads of customers on the outside tables making the place rather noisy. Had expected more of a hotel, instead it was a very busy pub with rooms

    Very clean and well decorated. Staff were excellent with good happy, helpful service. Food was good but portions were over-sized.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    A very pleasant stay indeed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow service for dinner, from ordering to getting dinner was just short of one hour. Saying that the dining room was extremely busy.

    An excellent location, a spotless room with stunning views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable facilities in a first class location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The residents lounge has disappeared and if coffee is required after dinner away from the meal table there is little choice but to retire to your room or attempt to find a table in the bar which could prove difficult!!

    First class breakfast. Very comfortable facilities in this refurbished Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely Bank holiday weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This lovely place just by the beach exceed our expectations. The rooms are simply decorated but big and nice. The staff is friendly. We decided to stay for dinner and the restaurant is definitely recommended (portions are very generous). Bar open until late, we loved having pints on the terrace looking at the sunset.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    2 day short break in Cornwall. Really liked the Pier House. Will go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building is old albeit well maintained and decorated. Rooms are very varied. We had a noisy external fan outside the window and asked to change rooms. The staff helped us to this without any "push back".

    The hotel was clean and well decorated ..definitely not in the "tired" category. The staff were always friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Our relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    A wonderful charming property. Clean and welcoming. The staff were friendly and attentive and nothing was too much trouble. An amazing restaurant with great food and service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed this hotel, good food/drinks, clean, well appointed rooms with friendly helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is at another pub about 250 yards away which is not a major issue.

    Beautiful hotel recently refurbished on the harbour front. Staff really friendly and bar/restaurant serving good value food and a wide selection of beers . Location is great with an outside terrace overlooking the harbour. Fantastic Breakfast too , couldn't eat it all :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Excellent - and not far to travel to the gardens we came to Cornwall to see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to leave.

    We loved everything - from the people to the accommodation and the marvellous setting right on the harbour. We certainly recommend this beautiful spot of Cornwall.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely Bank holiday at this hotel. Beyond our expectations and will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is located in a beautiful area, staff are really friendly and the food is excellent. The room was clean and bed was comfortable and it was quiet at night . The breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Can't wait to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A movement sensor light in the wardrobe under the stairs would be useful.

    The food was excellent - especially the choice available to cater for vegans.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room view was a shame to have just a potted plant, other than that 100% happy. On the upside and they did not know, but I stayed at another St Austell hotel two days later and they gave me a free upgrade, which I did not ask for.,

    I specifically choose for the location, having visited area wanted to be close to front this time, knew that parking was at the Raishley Arms so was prepared to walk cases down, reception had advised me of this in advance anyway, but I was also told could drive to door drop and drive back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    very nice, enjoyed my stay in difficult personal circumstances. thanks
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Leaving!! Could have stayed longer

    Excellent thoroughly enjoyed my stay and the staff were superb. This true, I was there on my own visiting my terminally ill brother they made me feel welcome. Many thanks

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    A lovely break - near Eden project and Lost gardens of Heligan, and other interesting places to see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some of the double rooms are a little cramped. But not a big issue.

    The hotel had been recently refurbished and was immaculate. Staff very friendly. Location, looking over the harbour, beautiful. We were travelling with my 81 year old father, who is very mobile, but still found the stairs with luggage slightly difficult. Also, due to location, the car park is up the hill (only about 100 metres) from the harbour - some people might need to consider this (especially in the summer months when parking outside the hotel is not permitted).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.5
    fantastic location fantastic room with view fantastic food and staff fantastic place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    stormy weather but even in storm conditions brilliant place to be .

    no small portions here fantastic selection served piping hot very satisfying . plenty of space and lovely views whist eating . will be back .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking over 100 yards away. Steep stairs ok for me but older people may struggle

    Location right on the harbour. Reasonably priced food for the area And good quality.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.4
    Beautiful location! Internal improvements designed by a madman?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Receptionist miserable. Some of the male Bar Staff unfriendly. Extremely "LOUD MUSIC" all through Saturday evening from "live music venue very conveniently situated beneath the bedrooms!? The loud music would have been a real treat if we had been at the venue instead of in bed. Recent improvements to the interior are anything but improvements other than to maximize restaurant seating at the expense of comfort in other areas! The toilets are a special treat in this resect. Designed much along the lines of a cheap touring caravan in their space saving qualities, the entrance to them wouldn't be out of place on the Crystal Maze program. Two adults entering or leaving at the same time have real difficulties as the doors to the male and female toilet are situated directly behind the same entrance which is a box the width of a door!? God forbid that an oversize male tries to use the WC.

    Location excellent. Female Bar Staff friendly. Room cleaners friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely location on the harbour and beautiful views, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is a short walk up the road which wasn’t an issue for us plus it’s free when staying so cannot complain

    Lovely location on the harbour and beautiful views, friendly staff and a wonderful spacious family room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.1
    We had a lovely time visiting St Austell, but the Hotel is not easy access if you are not fit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was far too small for two people. We had no room to move and the bathroom could have done with another shelf to put toilet bags on, we had to use the floor. The towel rail was too small for the towels. We were very hot and the window wouldn't open. There is also no parking near the hotel. The parking is free for hotel residents at the nearby Rashleigh Arms but it was an uphill struggle carrying bags and suitcases back to the car.

    The food was great, and so were the staff. All were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.5
    I booked for the atmosphere - tall boats, historical harbour...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked for the atmosphere - tall boats, historical harbour, sea view! It was all that. Plus the cleanliness, good working central heating, tasty breakfast, welcoming staff. The rooms are small as always in UK but well decorated - mirrors, paintings - so that the space felt airy and light (we stayed in harbour view room). Loved St.Austell - 10 min by car to Eden, 20 min by car to Lost Gardens of Helligan, beautiful harbour.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location, comfortable hotel, family friendly and great food. All for a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing I didn't like was the bed - a bit too soft for me, however beds are a personal choice. As with most hotels, horrible cheap Nescafe instant coffee in the rooms. Again personal choice, but a little coffee machine goes along way.

    The family room was a good size with bunk beds for my 2 children. Bathroom had been recently modernised and had a great shower. Location wise, you cannot get a better spot by the coast. The hotel was very quiet, which for a light sleeper is a real bonus. I didn't hear any noise from other rooms at all. i was concerned about parking before arriving as it is a busy spot and parking can be tricky. thankfully the Pier has a sister pub 2 mins walk up the road with a massive car park. The restaurant food was excellent and price on par with other places in the area. Breakfast was pretty good with a good selection of hot and cold items. Great for children. The whole bar/eating area has recently been modernised and looks really good. Atmosphere in the place is nice too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Stunning location, lovely friendly welcome, cleverly...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room’s window was over the kitchen so I was aware of prep noise outside I thought the menu was a little pricey for the level - it’s very good, but not that good

    Stunning location, lovely friendly welcome, cleverly designed rooms - not large, but well-designed with excellent facilities for work and relaxation

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    It was a lovely location and the hotel was finished to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WIFI was patchy and the internal phone was not working .

    It was a lovely location and the hotel was finished to a high standard, we loved there food as well and really felt no need to go elsewhere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    It's a really lovely setting here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a really lovely setting here. Being able to take the kids to see the boats and walk on the beach was great. Its only 10 minutes from the Eden project, which was ideal. All of the staff were really lovely and helpful. Everyone was happy to have a chat with our boys which was great as they were both excited to be staying away!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.2
    Less than a Premier Inn for food and lodging both of which a million times better than a chain hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Waiting over 40 minutes for a starter when the restaurant was only 1/3 full was disappointing. The main made up for it though, delicious hake. Lack of any view from the bedroom.

    Stunning location, excellent breakfast, good choice of beers, pleasant/lovely staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.8
    Not the worst experience but not the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt the room was a little like staying in an old folks home and having to hand in your room key every time you left was a bit silly

    The bathroom was very good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic!!! Can't wait to go again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited parking, but they have an arrangement with the local public house, which is a 3 min walk, and its free!

    I like everything about this Hotel, from the moment we stepped in to the moment we sadly have to leave! The staff were friendly, loved the room, and the ambience, the location and the views are spectacular in the room we stayed in!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Overall a very enjoyable stay. Will certainly return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was not on site, which presented me with unnecessary difficulties as no close disabled parking available. A room safe would have been reassuring.

    The general quality and service of the whole hotel was excellent. Comfort, facilities, restaurant, bar, staff, all excellent. Top marks!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful, so relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could provide shower caps, and more bubble bath, as the price of the room is expensive I would expect more toiletries.

    Food was great, very well cooked and presented, although rather large portions.Room had stunning views of harbour and see, you just wanted to sit on window seats all day. Lovely village and everyone was so friendly. Everything was great. Free parking in sister hotel 100 yds up the road.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    A room with a view and a bar with great tastes.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little bit noisy in our room at times but then when you book a room in a busy inn you should probably expect that I suppose. Although not all of the sound came from the bar area below - some came from above. Also - a small thing but when you have been out walking in torrential rain and return dripping wet it would be useful to have some hooks to hang up coats in the warm environment of the room rather than just in the cupboard, as they didn't dry very quickly.

    We decided to splash out for one night and have a room with a view during our quick visit to Cornwall. We weren't disappointed as the first floor bedroom had front and side aspect views of the harbour, sea and the tall ships moored up. The windows and views were made even more inviting due to some comfortable window seats and some complimentary binoculars - though sadly the weather was not great and it was pretty overcast and wet the entire time we were there. The bed was kingsize and there was a large hot shower and modern en-suite - though no bath. The room was well presented with beautiful coastal pictures on the walls and a corner desk. The wifi was quick enough for me to complete the work tasks I had to do without any drama. The downstairs bar and eating areas were beautiful and we understood these have just recently been refurbished. We took our evening meal in the bar area and the food was delicious and well - priced. The service was excellent and friendly. We were made to feel very welcome. I should add that complimentary parking was provided about five minutes away in the car park of the nearby Rashleigh Hotel. Since this is a small and historic harbour with limited public parking this was helpful even if it did mean a short walk carrying bags.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Stayed as attending a function nearby. Wish it had been here, food good and staff excellent.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking is very expensive if you don't get the right one. Information on where to park would be useful when confirming reservations.

    I paid extra for a double room for single occupancy and the room was beautiful. As I was only staying one night the room was perfect. I booked in mid afternoon, and went upto my room. Although it was a distance from reception this was fine as it meant I would be away from any noise created in the bar area. The shower was wonderful, easy to control and delivered a good stream of hot water. Heating was easy to control although you could not open a window a fan was provided so easy enough to cool it down until later. (A problem I find in a lot of hotels is heating up so high you can't sleep and no way to turn it down, you either over heat or end up listening to traffic all night! - no such problem here) My only problem was on arrival I called the hotel to check which car park to use (there are two in close proximity and little to no on street parking in this area) and could not get an answer so I paid for parking. On checking in and asking about the parking I found it was free in the car park by the other public house (The Rashleigh Arms) as owned by the same pub chain (St Austell Brewery) and I then had to move my car to this car park. Had the phone been answered I would of found this out before paying and then having to go back out and moving the car. There was no instruction on parking when booking which would also of solved this problem. However in the overall scheme of things this is a minor gripe and would not stop me from coming here again if I was attending a function in the area. I would definitely recommend The Pier House Hotel to anyone. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Breakfast was impressive too!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    a great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathroom little on small side

    good size comfy bed good size room . staff fantastic and went that little extra to make our stay a pleasure very clean and a credit to the cleaning staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Agreat place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    That I couldn't stay longer

    I love the location of this place. Charlestown is an ideal base for exploring Cornwall. Explore during the day then come back and park the car as there are pubs and places to eat in the village without having to drive. Friendly staff and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    brilliant location great room No9
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    maybe an extractor fan in the bathroom would help alleviate the steam from the spa and shower

    excellent room with spa bath and great double aspect towards the sea

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I didn't like but I just hope that renovation work being undertaken by new owners will not change character of the hotel.

    Location is truly amazing with wonderful views from the superior bedrooms. Staff very friendly & helpful. Rooms clean & comfortable. Food really good and reasonably priced. Can definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    great location and staff, food in the bistro left a lot to be desired!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible choice for food, which was probably due to the hotel closing on the 2nd Jan for a 10 week refurbishment. Also it took 3 attempts for the kitchen to cook fish & chips, twice served raw!!!

    lovely breakfast, very friendly staff, great views, lovely room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Cant wait to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved it all

    Where do I start, the staff were all so friendly, nothing was too much trouble, Our room, though small, was tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was exceptional with locally sourced ingredients. We have to give special mention to the girls in the restaurant at breakfast, they were so friendly and chatty it made us feel so at home. I would highly recommend, the building was lovely and quirky and the views outstanding but the people are what made it for us. Number one thing to do at this hotel is just to sit and look at the view....

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.6
    Would definitely stay again. Beautiful surroundings. Friendly staff. Value for money.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were too soft for our liking, but were comfortable.

    Staff very accommodating as we needed to change rooms as booked 2 doubles but needed 2 twin rooms. They gave us 2 family rooms instead which were very spacious. The breakfast was well cooked with a varied menu for all tastes. Staff were very friendly. The bar offered a good evening meal menu at very reasonable prices.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely clean. One staff member went over and above at breakfast going out of their way to get some salmon! Will definitely return. Thank you pier hotel for making our stay fantastic

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.9
    Good start let down at the end will not retern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the bar underneath the room was hurendous despite being told the live music would stop 10.30 pm roudy customers until 2am was not acseptable nor was mouldy bread put out for toast or was over greasy cooked breakfast

    The room was really nice clean comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Relaxing, peaceful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dairy free butter alternative and noise from bar below room in the evenings - but insignificant compared to the rest!

    Lovely staff, lovely surroundings. Very relaxing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.2
    Nice welcome.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Nice welcome. Easy parking at this time of year. Great harbour side location. Good rooms. Single rooms available. Safe place to stay for a lone traveller. Pleasant lounge etc. Sea and harbour views Good food with lots of fish. Value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Thank you we had a good time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    would have been nice to have a lift (But the exercise was good)

    we enjoyed our stay very much staff were helpful food very good and the room very clean we would certainly return when we visit your part of Cornwall.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    5.8
    Loud outside from the next door pub plus was a windy night...
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud outside from the next door pub plus was a windy night and there is a board on the wall outside banging constantly all night plus the bed was rock hard

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    An excellent location right next to the sea.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    An excellent location right next to the sea. Really genuinely friendly staff. Great food and beer. Just one caveat ... you can't have bar food in the restaurant. (I like to have fish and chips on Fridays. It was on the bar menu, but not on the restaurant menu. Bah!) This used to be the case in many hotels across the country. Looks like it still persists in Cornwall. Oh well, being 30 years behind everywhere else is just one of the attractive features of the west country!

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Pier House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: