Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pier View Self Catering Luxury Apartments 5 stars

5 Royal Terrace, Southend-on-Sea, SS1 1DY, United Kingdom

#1 of 18 Holiday rentals in Southend-on-Sea

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 44 apartment reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.9

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    ed the owner was a lovely guy ,very helpful nothing was to much trouble .lovely clean apartments
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Apartment - Princess Caroline
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lovely apartment very clean ,great location in walking distance of everything ,Ed the owner met us at the door nothing was to much trouble ,very friendly guy will be returning ..vanessa and dave

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous experience you need to stay here, highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Apartment - Princess Caroline
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ed and his wife were very welcoming. The accommodation was spotless with beautiful decor. The location was excellent a few minutes stroll into Southend for shopping, restaurants, the pier was directly opposite. The amusements were across the road, could not have asked for better. The apartment has self catering facilities which is an added bonus. My family and l had a fabulous time staying there for the May bank holiday and we shall definitely return again soon. Thank you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel in a perfect location for exploring Southend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Apartment - Pier View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host was very accommodating. Hotel in perfect location and carpark very cheap to use, close by and convenient. Wonderful views from the apartment. Very quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Stay here was Awesome and Unforgettable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Apartment - Pier View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had an awesome stay at Pier View apartment in Southend-on-sea. The location of the apartment is very close to Southend Pier, East and West esplanade. The view of Pier from the apartment is good. Also this is just 400m away from Southend Central station. During our stay we are pleased with the service by Ed and thanks to him. If we're planning for visit to Southend again, then we definitely considering to stay here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.6
    Local to all ameninities and very pleasantly furnished apartments
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Bedroom Apartment - Lady Hamilton
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little on the small side, but I would return

    The bed was really comfy. The rooms were lovely and warm. The owner couldn't do enough for us. When we arrived it was a double room and he quickly changed it to a twin without any fuss. They have such lovely little touches in the kitchen that make you realise that they've gone to a special effort.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Weekend hide out
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bedroom Apartment - Lord Nelson
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was supplied nearly like home from home - even cleaner spray but not washing up liquid or a tea towel. And, I did not think to pack them - silly me.

    Plenty of space and freedom to take it easy. Historical building. Warm & cosy. A magnificant visitors lounge with views of the sea & pier. Friendly host. Slap bang in the centre of everthing you need. Tea & jams supplied. Fresh white towels. Great bed and the best bath I have chanced upon in a long time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    FANTASTIC
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Apartment - Lord Nelson
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved it's location, it was perfect in every way. The staffs were fantastic, from the start of my booking, my arrival and departure. In a funny way I thought it was too good to be true. We never wanted to leave. I would defiantly return again. I also booked parking, my car was safe in a private car park. Ed and Mag ensured our stay was a wonderful one, me and my family truly felt at home. I couldn't of asked for anything more, I can't thank them enough.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Returning to Southend as an adult brought back many happy childhood memories.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Apartment - Lord Nelson
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a perfect getaway.

    Our flight was delayed which meant we arrived in the early hours of the morning and much later than planned. The lady looking after the keys to the building was very understanding and waited for us patiently. We appear to have been upgraded at no additional cost to a superior room on the ground floor - I had originally booked a basement apartment.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    Really enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Apartment - Princess Caroline
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really a major issue if you have children try and book lower floors.no lift available

    Awesome location. Good facilities excellent host really helpful. Apartment is like a home from home

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Just fabulous !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Apartment - Lord Nelson
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the best place to stay in Southend .. Extremely friendly people and conveniently located for the beach, amusements and shopping. A family friendly location with a range of seaside and other restaurants nearby... I wouldn't hesitate to book again! Thank you... We will be back for our third visit next year!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    A super weekend in Southend-on-sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Apartment - Pier View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really. We had to park our car a couple of hundred yards away, but at least we were in a private car park.

    The property is superbly located on the cliffs above the pier so it was an easy walk wherever you wanted to go. We worried about the potential for noise, but actually it wasn't too bad - even with the window open since it was very warm. The host was EXCELLENT. He could not have done more for us.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Excellent would recommend it and would have no hesitation in staying there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bedroom Apartment - Lord Nelson
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was absolutely nothing to dislike 😀😀

    The owner Ed very helpful and easily available for guests needs . It felt like home away from home a very relaxing and peaceful property.First class stay all mod cons but the history of the property still very much part of it all.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    absolutely stunning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Apartment - Lady Hamilton
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing it was great

    lovely property in the best part of the centre right next to the pier and great views. would not hesitate going back and wouldnt consider anywhere else now

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Lovely and comfortable apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Apartment - Pier View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Myself and my 3 young daughters stayed here over the Easter holidays and found it incredibly homely and convenient. We had the very top floor apartment, with a lovely view of the sea and overlooking Adventure Island. Each of the rooms had their own Digital TV, and had lots of space for simply chilling out after an exhausting day of fun at the seafront. Ed, the owner, was very pleasant and helpful from when we arrived to when we left. The whole apartment block had chic decor and furniture with traditional upholstery (it reminded me of how it could be a great Agatha Christie location!). The local area has lots of convenient shops and tasty seafront restaurants/cafes.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    Lovely apartment and owners very friendly, good that you can...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Apartment - Princess Caroline
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely apartment and owners very friendly, good that you can book carpark, has everything you need. Will book again and recommend to family and friends

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    9.2
    Enjoyed the views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Apartment - Pier View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs, but overall good we will be returning

    I really liked the location, food, takeaways, shopping everything you need was at walking distance. The lady who greeted us at the apartment was very friendly and helpful☺️ The apartment was better than the pictures you see on booking👌🏻

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Hosts were very obliging and went over and above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Apartment - Lord Nelson
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked an oven in the kitchen

    Hosts were very obliging and went over and above

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Apartment - Lady Hamilton
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Home from home

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast, minimum every second day cleaning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Apartment - Princess Caroline
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, minimum every second day cleaning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    The location was perfect for us close to everything, and was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Apartment - Lord Nelson
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault anything.

    The location was perfect for us close to everything, and was very comfy apartment, especially as I'm 8 months pregnant,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Apartment - Princess Caroline
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location. Very helpful .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    We will be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Apartment - Pier View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All round great service. Good view too. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location and superb host
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Apartment - Pier View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely clean airy apartment overlooking the pier. Well located and good facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Very nice, quite and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Apartment - Lord Nelson
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were comfy!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Apartment - Lady Hamilton
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    It was very comfortable and tastefully refurbished in the Regency style.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Excellent Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Apartment - Princess Caroline
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely accommodation. Very helpful hosts. Nothing too much trouble. Looking forward to a return visit. Thank you.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Apartment - Pier View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could of been better

    Property was extremely clean and welcoming...fantastic facilities and location. We couldn't of asked for better

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Apartment - Princess Caroline
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all

    Great place to stay, enjoyed it, great location, and very nice and polite staff... will go there again isA for sure!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    10
    Central, affordable, comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Apartment - Lord Nelson
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly staff and easy access to everything

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    9.6
    Location perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Apartment - Pier View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kitchen equipment and utensils could be improved slightly.

    Location perfect. Accommodation nicely furnished.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    10
    The hospitality and friendliness of Ed and his staff
    • Couple

    The parking situation outside the property,especially if you have a lot of stuff to unpack,(limited time)

    The hospitality and friendliness of Ed and his staff

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    10
    Location was excellent very clean and comfortable large size...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Liked everything about this accommodation and it's great location

    Location was excellent very clean and comfortable large size bed very comfy facilities were great staff very friendly great place to stay with fantastic views of Brighton and great value will definitely be booking again and will recommend this accommodation to friends and family

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    10
    Ed (the proprietor) was superb - welcoming us warmly at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ed (the proprietor) was superb - welcoming us warmly at the private car park - helping us with our luggage - then briefing us on all the apartment's facilities in great detail. The decor was superb - not a mark anywhere - everything was pristine. We had a few comfortable, quiet, nights - in a beautiful apartment in what has to be the best location in Southend. No need to drive anywhere - as the apartment is very central - but not on a busy road. Excellent views of the pier and Estuary... I cannot say any more... apart from Fantastic!

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    10
    Ed made our stay excellent - as did a lady who works there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing negative about our stay.

    Ed made our stay excellent - as did a lady who works there. Sorry, I don't know her name. My husband and I had a perfect weekend and will be coming back shortly. Even though it is self-catering we did not have to do any cooking as there are restaurants nearby.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.2
    Been to this hotel before and stayed in the same apartment...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The only draw back was no breakfast considering the price went up since last year so having to spend more money on breakfast outside was a bit costly

    Been to this hotel before and stayed in the same apartment the manager was very polite and helpful the suite was clean and comfortable and well equipped for the family and the location was excellent

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    9.2
    The apartments are beautifully done with a modern set up,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The apartments are cozy! The kitchen is set up to look after a couple, not a family (we stayed in the basement flat and then moved to the top floor flat). The dishwasher and fridge couldn't be opened while the kitchen door was open which made cooking for 4 really hard (and warm) work. We didn't think much of Southend - but the apartments were lovely (as long as there aren't too many of you!)

    The apartments are beautifully done with a modern set up, with blue tooth sound system, USB charge points and wifi. The owner really cares about your experience and really went out of his way to make our stay as well as the kids stay great.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    10
    Loved our second stay at Pier view , the boys love staying...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Loved our second stay at Pier view , the boys love staying there. Owners friendly and let you get on with your stay, really friendly and accommodating . We love pier view apartment .

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.2
    Great little apartment in a great location (if you like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There was nothing at all wrong with the apartment, we were just not too keen on Southend...it was full of stag and hen do's, and was pretty noisy on the Friday and Saturday night.

    Great little apartment in a great location (if you like Southend). The family who run it were helpful and friendly, and the facilities were good.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    10
    Very well appointed indeed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Tiniest thing - shower was a wee bit feeble, but hey?!

    Very well appointed indeed. Excellent position. Ed (the owner) very helpful. Comfortable. Lovely views. Thoughtful arrival pack (ice in the freezer would be a good addition ) All round: extremely good. Shall definitely stay there again if in Southend or nearby

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    10
    The quality of the rooms was amazing, everything was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    nothing!!!!

    The quality of the rooms was amazing, everything was luxurious and well maintained. The hosts were so helpful and welcoming, we felt like it was our home for 4 days, and we will definitely be going back again!

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    9.2
    Excellent location, very clean, nice design.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Excellent location, very clean, nice design...

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    9.6
    Excellent place, perfect value of money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent place, perfect value of money. Will definitely stay there again

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    10
    Handy location and everything we needed in the flat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Handy location and everything we needed in the flat. Clean and tidy and a lot quieter than we may have thought when we arrived.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cost. The accommodation was comfortable but I wouldn't say it was luxury

    Location

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    10
    Excellent Service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Excellent Service. Would recommend.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: