Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pilgrim Inn 5 stars

Hythe Road, Southampton, SO40 4WU, United Kingdom

#5 of 31 hotels in Southampton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 625 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Unique, and as relaxing a place as you could wish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just so cosy , a country, type pub next door, staff just made you feel so relaxed, great food, nothing at all negative about our whole stay... And will definitely be returning

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Very pretty thatched pub with rooms in separate beautiful thatched building. Great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful thatched pub with plenty of parking. We had thought the rooms would be in the pub but they were the other side of the car park in an equally beautiful thatched building, we had big spacious room with every thing we needed, also the food in the pub was very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Very convenient location for the night before a cruise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hand held shower head needed cleaned.

    Very convenient location for the night before a cruise. Attractive building, spacious, comfortable, well equipped rooms. Lovely food and excellent service. We were a party of twelve and everyone was delighted.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was a trickle and the pillows uncomfortable. Food was adequate but not outstanding esp the breakfast.

    Staff very helpful. Nice rooms and some nice touches ie fresh cold milk and water easily available.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    First rate relaxing stay with pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble, offered great advise of places around the area to visit and why and where not to go, we will be going back and would highly recommend The Pilgrim Inn to anyone

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Stayed in a superior double, room was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge in the room would have been nice but milk in lobby fridge was so much better than little uht milk you usually are given just means you have to leave the room to grab.

    Stayed in a superior double, room was beautiful. Didn’t want to leave the bed once in it, was possibly the most comfortable bed I’ve stayed in and the bath was also amazing. Was really surprised as didn’t expect much with it being a fullers. Staff great, pub is as individual and pretty as the room. Didn’t eat but lovely selection of drinks.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Perfect weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too short a stay!

    All the staff were brilliant but the Manager, Chris Garrett surpassed our expectations. He was attentive to my dietary needs which was a refreshing change to our last visit 3-years ago. The manager then spoiled our 40th wedding anniversary stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    A delightful stay in a delightful establishment with excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was extremely hot, which obviously couldn't be helped. Perhaps that was the only negative regarding "comfort.," though a fan was provided. Perhaps the only negative over which the Pilgrim could (and did not) exercise control was the lack of proper enforcement of smoking and non-smoking areas. As non-smokers we would have appreciated more attention given to keeping smokers out of the designated non-smoking area outside.

    Rooms were clean and comfortable. Bathroom was very nice. The food was excellent, as was the service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant. Had to ask for bath to be cleaned. This was done satisfactorily.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better service at breakfast second morning.

    Room large and comfortable. Extra complimentary goodies a nice touch. Food good but second morning failed kitchen equipment meant no cooked breakfast. Had to ask for more butter and Danish pastries. Had to ask for hot drink order. Shame.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    Lovely comfy rooms but a little cold, although we stayed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We weren't told of the breakfast & dinner times upon checking in, we assumed breakfast would be served until late as it was a pub but ended up missing breakfast on the Sunday as it finished at 10am this was included in our stay and we weren't reimbursed for this. There is nobody on the reception desk in the hotel so you have to go over to the pub to speak with a member of staff which isn't ideal if you aren't dressed appropriately, our phone was cut off so we couldn't call either. Our room was lovely but we had a welcome note telling us of complimentary wine and beer which was nowhere to be seen only the wine glass and pint glass were left for us. We were also told to find fresh milk and water in the reception area but the fridge was empty and as there was nobody at reception and no phone we couldn't ask so no morning teas for us!

    Lovely comfy rooms but a little cold, although we stayed just after the heat wave had ended so maybe the heating was off.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    Beds were comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower didn't drain well so flooded the bathroom floor a bit.

    Beds were comfortable Kid friendly Glazing on windows good as couldn't hear the road in rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable with all the family (11 of us).Loved nearby Lepe beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a little slow in being served but as we weren't in a hurry it was not a problem

    Large comfortable bedrooms.Location near the New Forest and coast.Generally good atmosphere dining

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous location and welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little warm in the room and the grout in the shower could have been cleaner.

    The staff were fantastic from check in to check out. The rooms are spacious and well appointed with different tea selections and a coffee maker. The food was fantastic with a good wine list and selection of beers.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Received a warm welcome on arrival and when checking out. Restaurant staff also very friendly at breakfast time. Very comfortable bed. Lovely building and surroundings.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Luxury B&B close to cruise terminals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our shower was a bit temperamental and there was not enough light by the main mirror to apply my make-up. Also at breakfast, the milk for cereals was room temperature - maybe this is a personal preference, but I can’t eat cereals unless the milk is ice- cold. I suppose I could have asked but I didn’t bother. There was a dead fly in the orange juice which was promptly removed when pointed out but maybe jugs with lids should be used.

    The rooms are spacious and beautifully furnished to an extremely high standard. The staff were very attentive and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. Food was good in the pub. It was lovely to have fresh milk and home-made biscuits in our room. I would highly recommend this B&B and will definitely go back next time we are cruising the next day. Thank you to all staff for making us so welcome.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    Delightful hotel/pub combination beautifully appointed with great staff. Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lighting in room gave pleasant atmosphere but a little impractical. Very minor issue though

    Rooms very spacious and well appointed. Staff very good especially the Restaurant supervisor who deserves immediate promotion

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    If you want a brilliant stay before your cruise from Southampton - Stay at the Pilgrim
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is close to the Marchwood by-pass and can be a bit noisy but overnight it's fine. The pluses far out way the traffic noise.

    The room that we stayed in was very comfortable and clean. Had an excellent evening meal and the breakfast was superb. Staff really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    Good location, right at the New Forest. We would use it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Toiletries were not replenished every day. I did ask for some more but never got them. I understand it as a means of cutting cost and plastic waste but for the price, I would have expected more. Although not directly on the main road, you could hear it as very close.

    Lovely traditional pub, food was good with good choice for breakfast. The accommodation is seperate from the pub so no noise disturbance. Both buildings are thatched. Air-con in the room! Wasn't expecting that and a great bonus as the UK in a heatwave.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    lovely room, great staff but basic food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food could have been better. Starter was good but main course was average. Neighbourhood was pleasant to walk around but little to do.

    Lovely room and reasonable pub next door. The staff were excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Wow-what a big bedroom!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The bedroom was amazing. The staff were very friendly and helpful Liked the little extra touches such as the milk and cold water fridge in the lobby. Restaurant was also very good and feasonably priced.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    2.5
    Disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Behaviour and attitude of owners/employees towards paying customers especially during a fire alarm situation.

    Booking was made at same time with my brother and his wife. After a 5 hour drive we arrive to find that there was no booking for my brother. Fire Alarm went off during the night and as we stood outside NOT ONE person informed us of actions to take.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing days in the New Forest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A nice Inn around the corner of the new forest with all interesting spots close by. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. The rooms comfortable. Breakfast offers the basics one expects. Nothing too fancy but tasty. Dinner in the pub can be recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.0
    A bit disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was dirty. Outdoor seating area furniture was decidedly dodgy. Not quite as expected form the pictures. Is a fairly basic fullers pub. No country charm.

    Good position for access to the New Forest area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    3rd time we have stayed and have enjoyed each time, will definatel6 book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had patio doors into a small garden but no privacy as road is in view.

    The beds are very comfortable and rooms are spacious. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The food is lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.1
    The location was perfect for us visiting beauli and bucklers...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a road both sides. Howrver double glazing in rooms was good. Therre were not really any comfortable seats to relax in the pub We were there 4 nights and towels not changed, which was disappointing Food was very tasty but not varied enough for us.

    The location was perfect for us visiting beauli and bucklers hard. The staff were helpful, especially James. Breakfast was lovely Towels were fluffy and large There was a good range of gin on offer Would use it again for an overnight stay, but not for a longer stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Family feel with a professional touch.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've been staying in the Pilgrim Inn for over ten years and it just gets better and better. Lovely staff and great to have access to bottled water. The beer and wine was a lovely touch too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Red wine! trying to figure out how to turn the bathroom lights off........

    lovely soft bed. Breakfast was great. To be served a hot breakfast rather than have a buffet breakfast. Although the wine in the room was a lovely idea I only drink white or rose.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    stayed 1 night myself and wife.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    stayed 1 night myself and wife.really pleased i picked this.staff were friendly and breakfast was lovely.if iam in the area again this would be my first place to book,thanks for a lovely stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay and looking for an excuse to revisit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was fabulous. Clean, huge and really luxurious. Amazing value for money. Great breakfast in the morning too and the complimentary drink in the room was the icing on the cake!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    A very pleasant experience
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was larger than we expected and very clean. The staff were great helpful in every way. The food was excellent and would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Really lovely,friendly helpful staff. A great location and beautiful buildings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a fusty smell in the bathroom that we think was coming from the sink overflow hole.we could smell this every time we entered the room.also we had to clean a lot of mould from off the shower head.Also a few cobwebs in the room.Apart from this everything was fine.

    Everything apart from fusty smell in our bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.0
    Not happy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bedroom and bathroom was filfy, used plaster under the bed, mold growing everywhere in the bathroom, and dead fly's on the widow seal. I had to clean the bathroom before I used it is was that bad.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent overall, staff very caring & attentive, looks chocolate box gorgeous - what's not to like?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single bed a bit small and noisy due to metal frame. Otherwise perfect!

    Great location for exploring New Forest. Food was excellent. Gets busy in evenings...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    We love the Pilgrim as we use it as a stepping stone to start our cruise, would prefe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a concern that the corridor light sensor was at the wrong end of the corridor, so the light failed to come on when we exited our room, reported to reception on departure and recommendation received positively. Was a little concerned at trying to eat my bar snack at night whilst being pestered by a locals dog. Would prefer not to have animals around me when I am eating.

    The room was nice and clean, well appointed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful place to stay. Would highly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food service could have been a little faster

    Beautiful room, very good food and friendly helpful staff. Love the thatched roof buildings and interior attention to details- from doggy biscuits to lovely bath soaps and lotions

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    The location is good for the New Forest and Beaulieu and has...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was large but you do get some traffic noise as there are roads on both sides of the building.

    The location is good for the New Forest and Beaulieu and has lots of character as an old pub.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    The Pilgrim Inn totally exceeded our expectations, we shall most definitely be staying again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was great!

    Really could not fault anything about our stay. The room was just lovely and very clean, tasty tea and coffee and fresh milk for your room!! The staff were very friendly and the breakfast totally exceed our expectations! Being dog owners we also very much appreciated the water barrel of fresh cool water on tap and complimentary dog treats! Beautiful location, and great value for money, we shall most definitely be staying here again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Very clean, nearly luxurious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location

    Good points: friendly attentive staff, immaculately clean spacious rooms, Nice touches like fresh milk and water available, nespresso and quality teas, quality towels, dressing gown, toiletries and large bathroom However, despite this, due to location and ambience, not the best value for money, even with delicious breakfast included. For true boutique experience, I do not expect it to be across the car park from an ordinary pub and sat between two roads (even though the room was great), however it suited us for a quick overnight stay to attend a family event locally with a little bit of luxury

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Full of charm, warmth and comfort x
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent

    The staff where charming and incredibly helpful and decent. Mo deserves a special mention for her warmth, decency, efficiency and helpfulness. Thank you x

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    First class hotel and resturant - could stay here on holiday quite happily and will be returning
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could here one of the first floor occupants heavy footed in the room above us. Recommend perhaps carpeting the first floor and using a good quality underlay.

    Friendliness of staff Absolutely first class evening meal - stake and sauce to match any 5 star hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    Thank you for the hospitality shown to us during our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only minor thing that could have improved our stay would have been a comfy chair in our room, but this is only relevant as we retired to our room after dinner to watch tv and room 4 only had dining chairs to sit on.

    The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful and the food was excellent both breakfast and evening meals.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    ticks nearly all the boxes especially for location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I suggest if you were to offer a discount for guests for drinks and meals it would probably attract more on site business.

    I have stayed at this Hotel/Inn several times now and it ticks nearly all the boxes especially for location[near to my Son & Daughter and grandchildren

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice place, breakfast experience not good. Bar staff great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lady at breakfast looked moody. Did not tell us to help ourselves to cereal toast etc, just sat us down asked if we wanted tea or coffee took hot food order and went. We saw where cereals juices etc were so we helped ourselves. I had a bacon sandwich, bacon ok. Bread felt very hard almost stale. So I made some toast and put the bacon inside. Improvised . So I wouldn’t give breakfast experience more than 1 star unfortunately.

    Bar staff very friendly, room very spacious. Near main road but very quiet. Nice evening meal. Reasonable prices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    6.7
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Found shower tap impossible to turn on, and room phone not working, so had to go to reception for assistance, where staff responded quickly.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    A Comfortable stop over, good accommodation, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet aspect of the breakfast was poor with insufficient pastries and selection of fruit.

    Lovely, comfortable bed room, kind and helpful staff, good parking facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    5.4
    very dìsapointing unfortunately
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place could be really lovely if it was presented with a bit more tlc and the right housekeeping staff . Katie was extremely helpful the assistant manager .we were also charged an extra 18 90 on our food bill the night before wich didnt help matters

    Unfortunately the stay did not come up to our expectatins because the room had not been cleaned curtains were partly not hanging up a stadard lamp was falling over through lack of repair the mat was covered in bits and there was dust and fluff everywhere we took photos of all of this we did not stay for breakfast because we were so cross about the fact that all of this spoilt our stay we booked a superior room costing 114 pounds which the hotel kindly wavered because of the disapointment

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay for the weekend , would like to stay in a different room next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn’t the most comfortable being a tall person, no a/c in room.

    Property had a nice feel it was cosy, staff were friendly and very helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel and in close proximity to the New Forest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room could have been a little better, a light above the table would have been ideal.

    Nice staff, comfortable and large rooms, quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.6
    A lovely weekend with my husband....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very soft mattress but this is a preference of ours and not a criticism of the stay at the Inn!!!

    The staff were extremely helpful, kind and knowledgeable about the area. The breakfast were hot, freshly cooked and delicious. Unfortunately the mattress was a little on the soft side for our liking but this would definitely not put us off staying at the pilgrims inn again in the future. The location was easy for the places that we wanted to visit. A very enjoyable stay. Thank you.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.8
    Poor customer service, poor food. Lovely sized room and ensuite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower very tempremental, kept scalding me. Food in the pub of poor quality. Poached eggs massively overcooked, breakfast sausage raw in the middle. Steak at dinner very fatty. Checked out and got home, realised I had left my phone charger in the bedroom plugged into the wall. I rang the hotel to say and they said the cleaner had left for the day and not written it in the book. Someone would call me in the morning once they had spoken to the cleaner. No phone call was received. I rang them back again and they said the same thing. I said it must be there as it hasn't got legs, it was plugged into the wall. They simply said I will get a call in the morning. Terrible customer service. Very loud local customers sat in the bar very drunk and swearing, no staff approached them to calm down. This was 5.30pm when we were trying to enjoy a quiet drink.

    Nice sized room and ensuite

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    8.8
    A lovely and comfortable stay in a quiet location, with great food and drink.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 1, while very spacious and well-equipped, could do with some renovation to eliminate the smell of damp. There was also a problem with the shower, as it would intermittently turn scalding hot when otherwise only lukewarm.

    The restaurant is lovely and cosy, serving delicious food at a reasonable price, and with a well-stocked bar! The rooms are large with good facilities, and the bed was very comfy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.1
    Lovely comfortable stay not helpful rude staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not helpful no first aid kit that was required, not polite for service in the morning or waiteess Room had tea stains down the door frames

    Beautiful setting and comfortable rooms

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    6.7
    Clean and comfortable
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear everything from upstairs including flushing toilet woke us frequently through the night

    Rooms clean and spacious good location for what we needed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.1
    Great location - decent gastropub on the edge of the New Forest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom facilities were poor. The taps in the basin flowed weakly. And the shower was actually a risk to 'health and safety' because the water pressure varied (like a slow pulse) and the temperature control was so bad as to be dangerous. Health and Safety take note. When the water on the outer part of the shower spray was correct the inner spray was scalding! The hotel said that an engineer would be looking at it, and I certainly hope so. Take care! I heard another guest complain that the shower drain in a different room was blocked but I can't vouch for that.

    The breakfast is excellent. The location is perfect for the New Forest. The staff are friendly and helpful. The beer is great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problems with hot water and beverage area showed signs of deterioration where the steam from the kettle had damaged low ceiling

    Beautiful building, dog friendly, good service and great food. Well positioned for the New Forest. Staff were friendly and couldn't have been more friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant, but didn't quite live up to the reviews
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was a little disappointing for the prices Shower drain was blocked Mattress too soft

    Lovely cozy pub and room, decor / atmosphere very nice. Night staff were very friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    As always we had a very warm welcome, the staff are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As always we had a very warm welcome, the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Our room was lovely, but we could have done with a full length mirror that we could use as the one we had was in a awkward position on the wall. The bathroom was large with a big shower and a stand alone bath, very modern and bright. We would have liked brighter lights in the bedroom as we wanted to get ready to go to a party and it was a little dark. The bed was very comfortable with very comfy pillows. The breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and very well cooked. The fire was burning as it was frosty outside and it was very cosy. The staff were friendly and efficient. We could not fault the hospitality or food. The accommodation is in a separate building from the pub, which is were breakfast is served. This was our fourth time here and we will definitely be back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.9
    Typical beautiful English B and B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower was difficult to adjust.

    Nice breakfast with a large choice of egg dishes. They also offered pancakes, French toast,... Beautiful location. Nice room. Easy to visit New Forest and Southampton city

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Fantastic little hideaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with some more veggie options (something with sausages and no cheese preferably).

    Lovely area. Very cozy room and pub which suited us perfectly. Lovely staff too. Ideal for a romantic weekend escape.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was fabulous

    Little touches like fresh milk and chilled bottled water - unlimited. Great food. Superb home made pancakes for breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Everything was of the highest standard- from the staff to the food to the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner’s steak at dinner was a bit dry and our bed was a bit creaky but nothing that would put us off visiting again or recommending to anyone else.

    The room was huge and beautifully decorated and had everything you needed- more, in fact. Pristine. The staff were friendly, professional and efficient and more than happy to help. The area is gorgeous. Dinner was so tasty and good value and breakfast was of the highest quality. Nice to know you use local suppliers and the quality shone through. Warm atmosphere and would love to stay again- maybe with the kids next time as it’s so family friendly and so well located for The New Forest and Southampton city centre. We didn’t want to come home!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Lovely room very comfortable bed Nice looking property Just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower temp was a bit iffy but to be fair I didn't mention this to staff so they may have been able to correct it

    Lovely room very comfortable bed Nice looking property Just what I wanted for that one night really nice pub

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    A lovely hotel but a shame about the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location wasn't brilliant as the hotel is sandwiched between two busy roads. You couldn't have the windows open in the room as road noise would have precluded sleep. As a result the room was too hot and we had to use the fan provided even in October!. There was dust on the bedside table and a cob web on the shower head in the bathroom. Also whilst our initial order in the restaurant was taken quickly, the food took 45 minutes to arrive and the restaurant wasn't even full.

    The room was well appointed. We had asked for a room with a bath but when we got there our room only had a shower. We contacted reception and the room was changed straight away. All the staff were excellent. very polite and accommodating. I liked the touches of the milk in the fridge in the entrance to the hotel so you could have fresh milk to make tea in your room rather than horrible UHT milk. Also complementary wine and beer in the room was welcome. We also got a free drink each with our meal because we had signed into the hotel's wifi. Breakfast was freshly cooked and there was no problem asking for a different combination of items within our full english.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    Convenient set up with sleeping quarters separate from but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom was poorly lit but very well equipped. The Chef's Fish special was quickly off the menu.

    Convenient set up with sleeping quarters separate from but very close to the bar & restaurant. Welcoming staff. Fascinating old building with good car park

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.7
    Underwhelming as a venue for a wedding night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff weren't very attentive. They were fine, but it was our wedding night, I'd made them aware of this days before our arrival and they did nothing to make the weekend special. Even when we arrived in our wedding attire, it went unacknowledged. Breakfast service was lacklustre with the waiter seeing and ignoring our attempts to order, it took an hour before we got our food. The Pilgrim Inn is fine for a general weekend away, but I wouldn't entrust them with something as important as this again.

    The room was good, particularly the bathroom with separate shower and bath facilities. Comfortable bed and nice extras such as the coffee maker etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    A perfect stop for pre-cruisers, romantic getaway or just a good meal out with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found no fault in the property. A justifiable comment to make may be that when making a booking, the process could ask if you want to reserve a table for a meal in the evening. The restaurant was very busy, and I think we got the last table, but a bit later than our chosen time

    Visited for the night before a cruise and the location is perfect. Far enough away from Southampton to be quiet, but near enough to make an easy 10 minute drive in the cruise terminal. Evening meal was excellent - good choice and beautifully cooked. Make sure to book your table/time in advance as it was a very busy restaurant. Breakfast was full English and cooked for you, with simple buffet for the other items - breads, cereals, fruit etc Rooms were large and cosy with all facilities, staff were attentive and very pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    A lovely break from the teenage kids. Can't wait to visit again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been an extra slice of bacon & sausage with the cooked breakfast. Was a little expensive for what you got. But it did taste good!

    This little inn is a gem. Its very warm & welcoming. The staff are lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.6
    excellent, peaceful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise of the loo filling up apparently the water is pumped (we were on the first floor) and it took quite a long time to finish. I may have been an oversight but no-one told us until when we checked out that the milk for the tea and coffee was in a fridge downstairs as you entered the accommodation building.

    The room was excellent the bed comfy and the amenities in the room great. The staff are very friendly and helpful the pub is separate from the accommodation and is very friendly. The double glazing is excellent as the building is situated between a very busy road and the village road also busy and you couldn't hear a thing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    As always the question is would I stay here again. Answer Yes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small window and could do with extra lighting as room was a little dark.

    The bed was very comfortable. The room was a good size and very clean. The restaurant did a very good Sunday Lunch. Also a reasonable breakfast choice. Fresh milk and bottled water supplied free

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Very good Pub/Hotel. Well worth a visit and great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much really

    We booked at the last minute based on rating and price. We expected it to be nice but it well exceeded our expectations. The room was large and very well equipped with a double shower. No fridge in the room but fresh milk in flasks in the corridor. Nice touch. Room included dressing gowns. Breakfast was excellent and puts most of the chains to shame. We dinned on arrival in the pub, which was also excellent pub food and good value. Slightly different and interesting menu.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Clean, well maintained and a nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Driving from Hull to Southampton.

    Pilgrim Inn is a great place to stay and I have been here before. The rooms are in a separate building next to the Inn, they are very private, clean and well maintained. Some nice little touches such as milk and water in a fridge near the main door that you can help yourself to.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    extremely enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Room and accommodation beautiful. Food unbelievably good. Service so friendly and helpful. Will definitely return next year with rest of family.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.5
    Manager was good but I won't be back for the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was very disappointing, my husbands burger was very dry, the chips were from the bottom of the barrel, my roast dinner was Luke warm, however the manager did listen and took the burger off the bill. I was here last year and the food was much better, hence the reason for the return, I was so disappointed.

    The accommodations

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    All the food was delicious and staff were very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Annoyingly the fire alarm sounded at 5.45am. There was also no milk in the room for the refreshments.

    All the food was delicious and staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    Great stay and meal at the Pilgrim inn
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not at first work out how to operate the Shower. Some Basic instructions would be helpful. the low edged shower tray could not cope with the volume of water being dispensed from the shower and the drainage requires improving.

    Loved the thatched roof pub and accommodation opposite. Rooms were Traditional/modern and nicely decorated. Great facilities. We booked a meal for 8 of us in the Pub and the food was great and the staff friendly. Good Breakfast choice. Wish we could have stayed longer. would definitely recommend. Dog Friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: