Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Plas Dinas Country House 5 stars

Bontnewydd, Caernarfon, LL54 7YF, United Kingdom

#3 of 18 hotels in Caernarfon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 320 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Fabulosa!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Insufficient menu choices for dinner, especially if vegetarian.

    Fabulous breakfast, friendly professional staff, a lovely house and bedroom. Not cheap, but worth it as it was a first class experience.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.5
    Satisfactory & helped by good weather conditions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal . No vegetables & only chips & no meal on Monday evening which one expects with hotel of this standard.

    The bed comfy& tea & coffee facilities excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    4.6
    Not comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny bed room No hot water supply (out of order) Weak shower No dinner on Sunday and Monday Noise from neighbouring room Uneven floor

    Good food Large bath room Comfortable lounge

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable bed, beautifully clean and bright room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with a wider variety of foods as light snacks as they weren't serving dinner.

    Very comfortable bed, beautifully clean and bright room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely quite location with a really nice touch with the attention to the little details
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Driveway to the hotel could do with lighting And cost per night for dogs is a little high

    Room was clean and attention to detail was very good breakfast was well cooked

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    5.0
    Don't book for Sundays or Mondays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we booked this the primary reason was to stay somewhere with a good reputation for meals within easy travelling distance of Holyhead. Having spent all day driving we arrived at 7pm to be told that the restaurant is closed on Sundays and Mondays and only light snacks could be provided. This is not made clear and prominent in Booking.com. The only 2 staff we saw were exceptionally young boys, service was slow and very far from pro-active.

    Breakfast was tasty but service was very slow.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay with our adult daughters.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff were very helpful and attentive.Dinner was excellent as was the breakfast.The lounge was very comfortable and I particularly liked all the photos and information about the Armstrong-Jones family. There is an honesty bar which is a nice touch. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Lovely stay, comfortable room and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately on one of the mornings the breakfast staff were not as attentive as the day before. It took some time before we got served despite there not being many people in the dining room.

    Comfortable bed, room cosy. Staff friendly. Great breakfast choice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    What a little gem of a retreat. A real stress buster and just what the doctor ordered-we'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not a criticism but we did feel that there possibly wasnt enough staff in the restaurant, they seemed extremely busy and rushed and I felt a little bit on edge as I could see all their comings and goings from our table. However, the service was excellent and we didnt have to wait any longer than was acceptable for anything.

    Last minute decision to stay here and we werent disappointed. Staff extremely welcoming and helpful. Room was exceptional, maybe a little on the small side for the price in comparison to other properties we've stayed in but certainly very adequate and comfortable. Furnishings and decor were to a high standard and it was very clean. Loads of little extras which make it more special such as home made fudge, an exceptional range of tea and coffee in the room, there was loose leaf tea with a special tea pot and also ground coffee with a caffetiere. A cold flask of fresh milk was also provided - much better than those silly little UHT pots! Molten Brown toiletries and a selection of items in case you forgot anything such as a toothbrush/toothpaste, disposable razor/shaving gel etc. The evening meal was delicious and the breakfast was wonderful. Lots of fresh flowers everywhere too. The drawing room had loads of games like chess, backgammon and quiz cards plus an honesty bar. I really dont know what they could add to make a more perfect stay. We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Made us feel like royalty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because the house is old, the floors aren't really level, so the bed wasn't either - head is lower than the feet. But hey, if that's all to complain about... :)

    Fantastic experience. Great personnel, excellent restaurant, we felt like royalty.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.1
    almost everything was good little to complain about
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room too small terrible shower , little water impossible to regulate temperature ,

    almost everything was good little to complain about good atmosphere , good meals at reasonable cost

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    4.6
    Overrated B and B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed. For the price we were extremely disappointed. Plays heavily on the Snowdon and princess Margaret connection, which must be why the think the price is relative. The bedrooms cheaply decorated with black plastic lights and thin curtains,although design wise done well. Staff very friendly when you can find one. No food on Sunday and Monday which is absurd when their is very, very little around to eat, we had to go into Carnafeon on one night which was the only reasonable pub around the others were dirty. The second night asked for a taxi which didn’t turn up and 15 minutes later we had to jolt staff member to find out where it was, by which time (8pm) no where local served food. The area around the hotel is run down. Apart from the Castle in Caernarfon I wouldn’t go. Go to Anglesey which had lovely accomodation. If you over 70 could be what your looking for.

    Downstairs dressed for the part with antiques. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful property in a tranquil setting with some great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Driveway needs all the large pot holes filling in, external decoration to the house a little tired

    Beautiful property in a tranquil setting with some great feature rooms and lots of family history

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Classic British historic country house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Classic British historic country house. Staff was very welcoming. It has a very good restaurant which I was not aware of until I was prompted by them to make a reservation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Really lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor shower flow in son's room (more of a trickle than shower) and curtain tie- back fell out of wall in our room

    Lovely homemade fudge & biscuits, fresh milk, great selection of beverages and toiletries in room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Amazing welcome, made you feel special from the moment you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing welcome, made you feel special from the moment you entered the hotel. Lovely room, beautiful view from bench in rear garden. Enjoyable experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    The food was phenomenal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially not easy to find. But one quick uturn and it was all good.

    The food was phenomenal. Paula was great as a hostess and bartender and the location was great for Caernarfon and even Conwy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    comfy bed,small but charming bedroom,excellent comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    comfy bed,small but charming bedroom,excellent comfortable drawing room for pre dinner drinks ,(paula makes the best g&ts) evening meals in lovely dining room were superb with very attentive staff overall a very lovely hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    amazing place to stay with excellent customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From start to finish we were welcomed and looked after exceptionally well Paula the General Manager was so helpful and friendly a credit to the Gueat House and customer service was amazing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.4
    Major disappointment and lingering memories of a rather tainted wedding anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Standard of cuisine extremely poor, in fact in would not be unkind to describe as woeful , portion sizes far too small, left restaurant feeling short changed both for quality and quantity, . My wife had a Spinach & Ricotta strudel starter which was akin to finger bite size and stale, as a starter I had a mixed seafood salad which smelt distinctly NOT fresh . For main course I had a Brill fillet , no bigger than a fish finger , it came with no carbohydrate and sat on less than 4 small pieces of vegetables with a sauce, I asked for some bread to supplement this and was served 4 small cube sizes of bread - 2 focaccia and 2 sourdough, at £34 per head for 2 courses this was very poor, we decided to cut our losses and leave the restaurant, went back to our room and had some biscuits as we were hungry still. We cancelled our table for the 2nd night and went to a restaurant in nearby Caernarfon, had a lovely meal. The next morning we had scrambled egg and salmon for breakfast, the scrambled egg was dry and over cooked. It was obvious some of the other couples were not 100% with the dining experience either from comments and looks. The staff again were young and whilst trying hard seemed not fully trained, we had to ask for toast to go with scrambled eggs as they failed to bring this. You might ask why I didn't complain at the table, firstly the staff were very young school age and extremely rushed, we saw no one senior to do so. Secondly the dining room is small and we felt embarrassed that this may be required. I did complain to the owner upon leaving the hotel and paying our bill, I was informed that they had a different chef and their regular chef would be cross when he found out, not as cross as us for having paid the best part of £500 for 2 nights and one dinner for our wedding anniversary to be spoilt! A poor excuse really as all staff should be vetted and trained to an appropriate standard.

    Room full of character and comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautifully decorated hotel with lots of memorabilia dotted around the hotel, which is very interesting. Set in beautiful grounds. Staff welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.8
    Lovely location but hopeless staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not trained didn’t seem to know who was responsible for what. Bath didn’t drain. Rain forest shower hopeless to control behind glass partition. Family say they welcome you..but one there...just a post card. As we left there was no one to speak to about our dissatisfaction.

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Amazing!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dining experience is great but it seems as though they want to rush you out. We had appetisers almost immediately after ordering, plates were cleared and the main came very soon after. They need to let people take there time, it's a great dining experience and the speed at which they brought and cleared food put a negative spin on it.

    I knew the moment we walked through the door, the property was going to exceed our expectations. The views, the grounds, the food, the service and the rooms were all spectacular. There is something very special about this property - waking up to nothing but the sounds of nature was simply incredible.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Superb stay in every way. Thoroughly recommend a visit here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our only minor niggle was that the tv reception, especially in the morning when I like to catch up with the days news was very poor with the picture breaking up all the time. But, as I said this was a minor problem.

    We had the Princess Margaret room which was very spacious & well furnished with complimentary small decanter of dry sherry each day & homemade biscuits The en-suite, again, large with shower, roll top bath plenty of toiletries & large extra fluffy bath towels even a TV alongside the bath. Breakfast again was superb with a full range of cereals, yogurts, fruit etc. My wife & I chose the full Welsh breakfast each day which was grilled to perfection. Dinner in the evening, again was excellent with very good attentive service from the staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful welcome waiting. Lovely atmosphere comfortable and elegant without being stuffy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in one of the double beds which was incredibly comfortable. Pillows were excellent and I’m very fussy about that. Great nights sleep. Elegant breakfast/dining room with excellent menu choice. Great food, nicely presented.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    A very special, peaceful and calming stay in a charming and unique place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the shower could have been a bit stronger, however as it is such an old property I don’t know if that would be possible.

    The small touches make this place perfect, it seems everything has been thought of, from the homemade biscuits in the room, to the bottles of water beside the bed, to the honesty bar, games and canapés before dinner. The surrounding countryside is beautiful and calming. The food, all locally sourced, was incredible.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Live like a lord and a lady
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the bed in one of our rooms was very comfortable the other room bed certainly needs some attention with respect to the mattress. Otherwise could not fault the room for amenities comfort and cleanliness

    THe property is stunning. Incredibly well maintained with beautiful furnishings historical ephemera and set in magnificent grounds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    rooms and bathrooms were spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    rooms and bathrooms were spacious. staff were extremely helpful and friendly. it was the little things like fresh milk in the fridge for coffee/tea in the room; linen napkins for breakfast; warm throughout the house

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Enchanting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the restaurant is very expensive and there wasn`t a large menu choice, but the food was very good. As it is an old building , there are a few minor maintenance issues but the ambience was very relaxing.

    Lovely comfortable hotel in a beautiful setting

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    Was disappointed as we had stayed here before. However, the General Manager made amends and we will
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately our room had a few issues and the in experienced person in charge did not address this.

    Plas Dinas is situated in lovely surroundings and the house displays lovely Snowdon family memorabilia

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    It's was brilliant, such a beautiful house & my partner proposed on his birthday while we were there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was really hot, even with the window open. We were right above the kitchen & I was also 33 weeks pregnant. It was the heat that spoiled it a bit as we couldn't sleep properly. A fan or air con would help the peregrine room. We'd stay again, just a different room.

    The breakfast was lovely & so was the building itself. It had a lovely view to the side of the house towards a little white bench.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    4.2
    In our opinion this hotel should only be rated as 3*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room decor was grubby, there was dust strands hanging on the wallpaper, and some of the fittings were chipped, it was in desperate need of a makeover. Also the bathroom fittings were also tatty including a window blind that was badly frayed and there was no shower only a mixer tap over the bath that did not work correctly, as I am unable to use a bath this was very inadequate

    The hotel is beautiful and we were able to have nice walks in the grounds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.3
    Lovely location and views, friendly accommodating staff, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dripping toilet that set off the mashinator ever 15 mins throughout the date and night but couldn't be heard when the door was closed. This was communicated with the staff who said a plumber would look at it but problem persisted the second night.

    Location great with brilliant views and gardens. staff were very friendly and accommodating room was a good size and comfortable evening meal was well presented and quickly served but lacked a bit on flavour.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Weekend of luxury - would recommend 100%
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, especially Paula, were welcoming and friendly. We ate in the Gun Room and the food was outstanding, as was the breakfast. The hotel had a wonderful feel about it, warm and atmospheric and the room was comfortable and well equipped.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    excellent elegant accamodation good breakfast and dinner...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    needed some minor maintenance light bulb and loose taps

    excellent elegant accamodation good breakfast and dinner lovely location excellent staff had an excellent evening only spoilt by lack of choice of vegetables Had a love,y grounds full of snow drops an daffodils

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    A friendly welcome to a beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A friendly and professional welcome. A delightful room (south) in a beautiful historic building and grounds. Lots of curiosities around the hotel and the attentional to detail shows. Excellent, attentive staff too. A relaxing first time visit. We'll be back!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    Only dissappointment was food related.
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only dissappointment was food related. No room service or bar snacks to cater for our late arrival. Also breakfast was only served from 8am so we missed out as we had to be on the road by 7-30am. Continental breakfast was however provided, and was reasonable in quality

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    A delightful place, a calm and soothing retreat with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some damp staining in the corner of the room which needs resolving and a wobbly tap.

    A delightful place, a calm and soothing retreat with attentive staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    6.3
    Nice food but rooms in need of some maintainence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very tired, plumbing in the room needs some attention as the noises coming from it were horrendous, restaurant crammed in too many people in the evening(Valentines evening) and this meant that my wife had to lean over every time someone walked past our table.

    Food was very good and Paula the manager tried very hard but we felt she lacked credible support, especially on a busy night like Valentines.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Lovely location, lovely hosts, wonderfull food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couple of niggles in bathroom, sure they are sorted by now.

    Location was excellent, staff very friendly and welcoming. The evening meal at the hotel was superb.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and quiet with excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The showers were not very powerful and the room was small, could do with a coat of paint in the drawing room.

    The hotel was very nice and the staff were excellent, canapes before dinner and dinner its self was delicious, full marks to this chef.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Fabulous culinary experience in a historic setting.
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We awarded the shower as the smallest one we have ever been in. The place was in need of some TLC but it was also steeped in history so we did make allowances for that.

    The best part of our stay was the exceptional dinner we experienced in the restaurant. The chefs are to be commended on a superb menu. We couldn't even finish the last 2 courses. Breakfast was also delicious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Hidden gem. Loved it and will definitely be going back!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we had to come home!

    Staff were very professional and friendly. Food at Dinner and Breakfast was excellent. Venue was amazing - beautiful public rooms, full of history and royal memorabilia, very comfy bedrooms with lots of extra treats for humans - sherry and chocolates, full mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities and FRESH milk in the fridge and a welcome pack for the dog! Will definitely be going back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Lovely long weekend break in beautiful country house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    So lovely to arrive at the property and be greeted by staff that knew exactly who you were, how long you were staying and were full of information. We ate in The Gun Room one night and the food was beautiful - we'd highly recommend eating there during your stay. A nice choice of food at breakfast. Room spacious and with lots of little extras to help make your stay perfect. Lots of on site parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Beautiful country home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was actually quite warm in the room, especially with the thick duvet we were too warm in the night.

    We received a very warm welcome and we enjoyed learning a little bit about the house's history. Spending some time in the drawing room is highly recommended! We enjoyed the breakfast, but if you are vegan it is best to mention this the day before.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    The house was magnificent, stylish and unique.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The house was magnificent, stylish and unique. The breakfast was great. We had a short break, I wish we could have spent more time here just to relax.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.1
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too soft and shower a little small. The options on the menu weren't really suitable for a pregnant lady. No remote for the TV in the bedroom .

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Good location and good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overheated to the point of discomfort. Tiny shower room in which it was almost impossible for a large man to turn round. Mediocre cuisine.

    Attractive Building. Very good selection of teas in room. Large, well appointed room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Everyone should like a royal once in their lifetime. I will definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I always take showers and the room that I stayed in (the bachelor) has only a bathtub with a shower nozzle. This made for a less than ideal experience but this wasn't surprising since the manager of the hotel fully explained this to me at check-in.

    The home is beautiful and it makes you feel like royalty, the amenities are amazing especially for the price, the rooms are expansive and luxuriously furnished. The drawing room is gorgeous and so relaxing after a long day of sightseeing and they have a well stocked bar. I really enjoyed learning all of the royal history of the home. The view from the mount outside the hotel is amazing, you get to the sunset over the magnificent Welsh coastline (10/10).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    - Beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Some minor decoration faults in our room i.e marks on walls, ripped wallpaper, poor paintwork around radiator and border of room. Minor details that weren't expected at 5* accommodation and would be so easy and simple to improve.

    - Beautiful surroundings - Fantastic evening meal and breakfast - Excellent service - Decoration in keeping with the history of the house

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Very clean and staff were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oldy worldy lovely building with decor to match ! Stayed in the Snowdon suit and it was lovely . We also ate there twice and the food was absolutely wonderful the Welsh Beef was to die for . And probably the best breakfast in Wales ! Loved it !

    Very clean and staff were excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Our best getaway for ages.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What did i like?? Everything!.. simple as that. Best, most relaxing break we've had in ages. Genuine, honest friendliness from every member of staff and a real home away from home feeling.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    a romantic getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    as stated above.

    a romantic getaway.The lounge area and the lawn areas are awesome.The breakfasts have ample selection although the eggs benedict can have uneven standard depending on who is cooking.The rooms are smallish but made up with a lot of charm.Our shower does not have good water flow but they told us that is part of the charm of country houses.We have a tap that is semi broken but then they give u Molten Brown shampoo n shower gels. the location is very near sights e.g. Caenarfon and Snowdonia .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Elegant beautiful hotel...somewhere for a special treat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was perfect, a beautiful setting and top quality accommodation...the room was elegant with lots of extras to enjoy e.g. Decanter of Sherry on arrival, we will definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    Authentic Royal experience in the true sense of the word.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Authentic Royal experience in the true sense of the word. Underlined by the fact that this is a location still owned by the original owners... original paintings, original furniture.... nothing beats the atmosphere of Royal authenticity more than this place does! Staying in this place is an experience rather than just having another overnight stay. Recommended!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Incredible historic stay - can't wait to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Wish we could have stayed longer!

    The professionalism and friendliness of the owners, staff, and other guests were exceptional. The property is rich in history, and the owners have made this a special part the location. The grounds are beautifully maintained, and the views are extraordinary. It was fun to connect with other guests as well. Wonderful place to stay - a highlight of our trip to Wales - can't wait to go back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    Charming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    Charming hotel in a peaceful setting. Our room Princess Margaret was spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was also large. Nice restaurant within the hotel. The breakfast was excellent. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Good to stay in somewhere that was more a house than a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For 5 star was a bit disappointed with the breakfast. Usual fruits yoghurt etc but no alternative to cooked breakfast. Croissants or pastries ? And sliced bread for toast ?

    Good to stay in somewhere that was more a house than a hotel. Beautiful property

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Lovely place to stay but had a few issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the room we chose had a very small bathroom and the shower was not very powerful. Also the room was dusty and had a few cobwebs. The second day the cooked breakfast was cold.

    The little things,handmade chocolates and biscuits in your room,fresh water every day. The staff were all so lovely and attentive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    A pleasant and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had no complaints.

    We loved our stay, our room was lovely and comfortable. We loved the history of the house and the staff were happy to take time to chat with us about it, the staff were so friendly. The garden and views were lovely. The food and presentation was a credit to the chef.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    Delightful. We hope to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was lovely and of a good size, but located on the ground level, with occasional staff walking past the window. we would have preferred an upstairs room, offering greater privacy. I realized, however, that this was in fact the room I booked (perhaps the only one available when I made my booking?). The owners were able to offer to move us to the attic room after a couple of nights, but ultimately we chose to stay where we were because of the larger size of the room we were in.

    Staff were wonderful. Dinners were excellent. On-site managers were attentive and responsive to all our needs.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.2
    A slice of history in a perfect setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like

    The little touches in the room like the homemade biscuits each night, The breakfast was delicious as it was cooked to order whilst you helped yourself to the cold buffet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    Stay was very pleasent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Bathroom in the room that we had could do with some improvement as the water pressure was low and therefore showering was not as good a it could have been. We understand from Neil that they are looking in to making improvements to this during the winter.

    Breakfast and Evening Dinner were excellent. Staff were very efficient and polite.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful Property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I would add to the breakfast menu is Smoked Haddock or maybe Kippers as an option, everything else was perfect

    This was a wonderful find, Excellent Breakfast , Evening Dinner first Class, very relaxing place to stay, we would recommend to anyone and will return ourselves soon

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was unseasonably warm during our stay & the room was quite warm despite the fan we had which was not the fault of the property or the hosts. There is no air conditioning due to the fact Wales generally does not need it. No place we stayed in Wales had air conditioning. Other than that they did everything in their power to make our stay great!

    Just finished a 2 week tour in Wales. Plas Dinas was our last stop. The house is stunning, as are the grounds. We stayed in Mount & the room was so cozy & charming, will be looking for the bird wallpaper for my bedroom. The hosts are very welcoming & friendly. I love that it is dog friendly & loved the owners dogs & Fern even posed for a picture in the front hall. The included breakfast was amazing & first class! Best breakfast we had in Wales & we had some good ones. We made a reservation for Tuesday night to eat at the Gun Club as the manager said the chef was excellent. We had many excellent meals in Wales, but this was by far the best! The only bad part of the meal was knowing that we won't be back this way any time soon. If we return to Wales, this will definitely be on our return list! I highly recommend the hotel & the restaurant as both are top shelf!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing country retreat
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although very tasty meal it didnt quite fill my husband so option of bigger portion would have been appreciated, I loved it just enough for me.

    Lovely breakfast comfy bed and pillows great view of garden

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Best B&B by far...!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...

    Plas Dinas is a lovely place to stay.. The attention to detail is second to none, the food was amazing the best meal we have ever had.. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.8
    overall a lovely experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was too soft, the mattress was uncomfortable and the duvet was too heavy for the the temperature

    The staff were friendly and the location is excellent. There was fresh milk in a little thermos flask for tea/coffee in the bedroom. The living room was very nice and cosy where we sat late at night and had our dessert. The breakfast is high quality. The gardens are pretty and welcoming were we enjoyed a bottle of Amarone della Valpolicella before going out for dinner in the evening.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    History and country charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well, I could have done without the cattle pen to the West. The next door neighbor parks his cows a bit close. And I love me some cows! So I. 'm not just being a prude! They need to work on it.

    Wonderful area and beautiful country home. We felt right at home and the service was spot on and friendly. Honestly a great place to unwind and travel from to see the sights of North Wales. Book it!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    5.8
    Okay place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been cleaner, dead bugs on floor when entered; did not appear carpet had been vacuumed

    Comfortable bed, large suite, very interesting history

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    An absolute gem of a place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The food was superb. Dinner was one of the best meals we have had for a long time, and extremely reasonable given that it was five courses. Breakfast was equally good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    A fantastic place where guests are treated like royalty
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing..awesome place to stay! Could not fault it!

    Staying at the Plas Dinas Country House was a truly incredible experience. My friend and I did arrive a little late for dinner (by 15 minutes), but the staff were very welcoming and showed us to our room so we could quickly head to the dining room to eat. If you are staying here, be sure to reserve a place for dinner. The courses were delicious and beautifully prepared. Loved having the cheeseboard at the end. Now time for the room... oh wow the room. My friend and I stayed in the Lady Armstrong-Jones room as it was the last one available when booking. It is a king size bed so plenty of room for two people to share. Had some cosy chairs by the window so you could relax and look out onto the property. The bed was very comfortable, good hot shower, free chocolates and brandy on arrival (mmm yum!), mini bar, teas, coffee, biscuits etc... It seemed like everything we needed was available to us in the room. We left the window open both nights as it was a little warm in the house, the only downfall to this was being woken up by all the animals at 4:30am. I guess it is very different to the chaotic noises of London (and a nice change) but they do provide free ear plugs if it bothers you too much. They had a decent selection for breakfast i.e. cereals, fruit bowl, yogurt, fruit juice etc. You can also order fresh food from the kitchen i.e. eggs benedict, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. Yumm. Oh and do try the hot chocolate!! So tasty! All the staff were super friendly and helped us with any questions we had i.e. where to go for dinner on Sunday night. Their sweet dog Malta was an absolute delight as well. Thanks again to all! My friend and I definitely needed a break from our stressful jobs in London and you exceeded our expectations. :D

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful property in the country side
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor water pressure in shower in Peregrine room

    Our welcome was very professional with Paula showing us around. It was good to meet with other guests in the drawing room for a pre dinner drink. The photos on the walls and in rooms made you feel like you were a visitor to the family property. The view from the mount to the coastline was very beautiful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    Amazing place and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Very impressive place. The owners have paid attention to every single detail. Food especially dinner was great and needs to be booked in advance although this might change when they open their restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Elegant, comfortable and charming country house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was lovely.

    House decor like a museum. Full of portraits and memorabilia of a historical family, one of whom married Princess Margaret. He being Anthony Armstrong Jones. Fascinating. Staff fantastic. Lovely breakfasts.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: