Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Plas Derwen 4 stars

Monmouth Road, Abergavenny, NP7 9SP, United Kingdom

#12 of 23 hotels in Abergavenny

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 571 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All but one of the lights didn't work. We complained about this but only one more worked afterwards

    Very helpful staff. When we said that we wouldn't have breakfast b because of an early start the price was taken off our bill

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the decor in the bar needed updating and needed new carpets .

    Friendly helpful staff . Food great . Room clean and comfortable .great value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The green light from the emergency lighting in the room was very bright.

    The room was much larger than expected with a very comfy bed and seating. Nice powerful shower. The breakfast menu had a good range of choices - the Eggs Benedict were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite noisy during the night, and early in the morning.

    Very comfy bed. Nice little touches like glass bottled water still and sparkling. Great shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a twin room located in a building just across from the main building. The room was spacious and comfy. We also had car parking right outside the door. The main pub was lovely and staff very friendly. They arranged taxis for us. it was nice to have a pleasant bar to relax in at the end of our day. Pleasant 15 minute walk in to the town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and decor

    There was no vegan options and no soya milk for breakfast and the coffee was awful. Breakfast took a long time to come and was poor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Décor tired. View out of window poor. Noisy early in the morning.

    Breakfast was really good, especially the pancakes. Bed was really comfy. Easy to get to and ample parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only traditional English breakfast available, doesn't work on our European stomach. Very limited and grumpy help to get anything else. Sticky breakfast tables (very!). Not cleaned in weeks or just used wrong cleaner? High contrast with the apartment.

    Very spacious room (exterior, number 11), more of an apartment really. Luxurious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    floor is the bathroom was a bit weird, but that was about it.

    breakfast was good, staff were great, facilities great. The accommodation is separate from the pub and so no noise was heard overnight. We ate at the pub both nights we were there as it was extremely convenient and were impressed with the quality. Good shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I absolutely loved this hotel. The staff was very welcoming and nice to talk to, and very helpful. The room I stayed in was spacious, with glass doors so waking up under a lot of sun was an amazing feeling. The room was clean, cosy and had all the necessities. The food was delicious as well, I had dinner, breakfast and lunch there and all three meals were great! I hope to be back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast a little slow in coming (but worth the wait)

    Very spacious room and comfy bed. Staff friendly and chatty and eager to please. Was made to feel welcome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    need to sort out the problem with being able to constantly hear the banging from the music whilst in your room,spoilt a lovely stay

    all the food was delicious especially breakfast, lovely cosy pub,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property needed updating slightly as there was a few bits of skirting board that had been knocked and chipped as well as a hole in the bathroom wall where the door had been pushed or swung open and the handle had hit the wall. The room was clean except a few areas behind bed side tables that you wouldn’t see unless plugging phone chargers in etc.

    The property location was amazing and exactly what we wanted. The staff I couldn’t fault either and were more than warm in their welcome and hospitality. We had dinner when we arrived which was delicious and breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The external appearance of the property is looking a bit shabby and in need of refurbishment but one should not rate a book on its cover!

    Large comfortable bedroom and ensuite bathroom - good to have a bath as well as the shower - and quiet location on the outskirts of the town. Able to park right outside our room which was in the courtyard.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfy bed and well-appointed clean and quiet room. Easy to find and adequate parking space. Easy level walking access to the town and close to the railway station with proximity to main road routes. Very close to the Usk and delightful river walks passing by Abergavenny Castle. Reasonably priced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar / dining areas are looking very dated with stained carpets plaster chips off the walls scuffed paintwork and old and tatty furniture. Our room had paint peeling off the outside of the door, and the decor/ fitments were tired and very basic. Although the staff were helpful dining service wasn’t good - waited 10 mins after meat meal arrived before vegs were served and had to pursue staff at the bar to get dessert and coffee ordered and served. No croissants at breakfast on either morning and we had to ask for fruit . Fruit juice was tepid - needed ice.

    The staff were pleasant and always helpful . The setting is lovely and the annexe room we occupied was comfortable and quiet with easy parking . The food was good - though spoilt by poor service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    But the bathroom in our room (no.11 I think) was disgusting, definitely needs an update as there was rust everywhere and the floor was disgusting, it wasn’t a relaxing shower put it like that.

    The restaurant and bar is lovely and staff are so helpful and friendly always. Breakfast was lacking, no fresh fruit or pastries, lunch snacks and evening meals were nice enough. The garden areas are lovely and comfortable and we loved having the outside rooms, very spacious and good WiFi use.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall the place looked a bit tired. It could do with a redecorate and the carpets replacing..... the carpet in the dining room was particularly bad and very dirty.

    Food and service was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing , except than the exterior door to the room deserved a new coat of paint and perhaps even a modern lock.

    We enjoyed the room which was in ground floor annex adjacent to the hotel, and it had an extra large bathroom. The hotel was chosen due to its proximity to Abergavenny station. The meals were fine, but we had to wait due to a large group ,but this was explained prior to our arrival. There was no overnight noise as the Hotel is in a residential area. Everything in the room worked and the staff were really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We spend a lot of our weekends on short trips and the Plas Derwen met all our requirements

    Evening meal was suburb and the breakfast was very tasty, the staff were very helpful and polite and made us all feel very welcome. We would definitely return for another stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The vegetables were so undercooked, they were inedible.

    The room was outside the main building, but very spacious, warm, you could open the window, a wonderful bath/shower, convenient parking, friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were excellent and very welcoming. Room was clean, bathroom dated but clean. Pillows too flat so not a comfortable sleep but overall a very good stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better locks on the room doors, especially for females staying alone. Towels had a very peculiar smell to them - they were clean but smelt of caramel/coffee, not a very nice smell to use when drying your face and body!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I rang the hotel specifically to check that breakfast was included, was told that it was, but then when I arrived they said the rate was room only and that breakfast would be £20 extra. However, they did honour the original agreed price, which was good as I had chosen the hotel over another one on that basis.

    This is a relaxed, reasonably priced hotel with lots of character. The hotel is dog friendly and is well located for exploring the Black Mountains. It is easy to find, situated off the A40 main road, about a 15-20 minute walk from the centre of Abergavenny.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was decent but nothing special. The decor was a bit dated even though this added to the place's charm.

    A cosy and welcoming B&B, clean and comfortable, with friendly staff and great location. Our room was big and spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at the bar was a little slow at times, mainly due to the lack of staff versus customers.

    The extremely friendly staff went above and beyond to help us enjoy our stay. Food at the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was excellent. Our rooms where very comfortable and warm. The hotel was busy but the staff were very courteous and polite in dealing with us. Thank you. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waited in restaurant for 45 mins before we got our starters and had to remind them after 20 minutes for our drinks.

    Location and comfortable room. Food excellent and free bottle of prosecco when 2 people have two courses on a Friday so made up for long wait for the food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location on a main road is convenient, but does not help you get a really cosy feeling in the garden. The shower in my room was quite small (especially as the door opens inside) and low. Worst for me was the fact that walking to Blaenevon turned out to be impossible (signposts missing and paths destroyed), so by no fault of the hotel my trip to Abergavenny was unfulfilling. But no serious complaints.

    The welcome was warm, the atmosphere nice and the craft beer collection interesting. I had a great stay in a cosy room, supper and breakfast were ok but slightly below the expectations the room and the welcome had set. All in all, wholeheartedly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there when it snowed and a clear path way wasn’t cleared so that you could walk to your room witch was at the back of the hotel.

    Plenty of parking space

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely welcome and the room was big, food was lovely. 10 /15 mins walk to town centre. staff fantastic,as my husband took ill and we had to stay extra night. They went to extra mile to help. Thank you x

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't see any Wi-Fi password and the 4G isn't great.

    Big room with a really comfy bed. The pub was so accommodating with us as we had a wedding in the area. Breakfast was good quality and there was plenty of parking right next to the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Appearance and exterior state of the doors in outside block (11,13). Paintwork badly worn and gives completell the wrong impres sion. Rather sad but should be noted as it would not be expensive to sort out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff extremely friendly and helpful. This establishment is on a main road, so I was anxious about the noise level. However, it was not an issue even with a room facing the road; the bed was very comfortable too, so made for two really good nights' sleep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little dated but it was perfectly functionable. The kitchen wasn't able to toast gluten free bread?

    Really friendly helpful staff who could not do enough for us. The room was everything I expected, clean and spacious. The food was very good in the restaurant with plenty of choice of gluten free meals which was a requirement for us. I will be going back again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 11 was chilly compared to our daughter's room (8) The outside painting to the woodwork requires attention

    Large and well appointed; plenty of light.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The room was comfortable and clean. The pub was lovely and quiet. Although not in the centre of Abergavenny it was only a 15 minute walk to the town centre, and 5 minutes to the station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty looking bathroom floor ,flooring needs replacing , shame the store room was above our room number 6 woken up early on both mornings due to staff getting stock/bedding .

    Super welcome by Kevin ,lovely big room could park right outside room .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was a major disappointment . The room was not as portrayed in the advertisement on the Internet The beds were well below expected standards the pillows were lumpy and the duvet smells of something unpleasant. The bathroom was cold and poorly appointed . There was just a basin toilet bath with a hand held shower . Even the toilet roll holder was missing ! All in all the experience was not the best and certainly not up to the standard of Major firm Search as BRAINS. T.L.C. Would be a good idea Room 5. Skirrid.

    The location was ideal for Abergavenny

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did notice that the breakfast menu said that croissants were available but none were ,and also that the scrambled egg would be served on toasted ciabatta but instead it was brown or white bread. Picky things but important had we only wanted a croissant for breakfast.

    Wonderful second stay in this quiet hotel just out of Abergavenny. Parking close to chalet room, staff cheerful and friendly, food excellent. The chalet was warm, spacious and very private. The menu included vegetarian and gluten free clearly labelled which was a bonus. We shall be back again soon

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only booking one night.

    Lovely big room, very dog friendly and lovely friendly staff. Big thank you to Lucy and all the staff who made the stay very enjoyable and good fun.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner on arrival was acceptable but not 4 star. I ordered Indian meal which was quite dry. Had the impression it was not freshly cooked. We stayed in room 10 (twin room in the annex). The mattresses were extremely soft and I had a poor nights sleep with back ache.

    Breakfast was excellent. The hotel has a warm welcoming feel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cramped, little storage space, nowhere to put suitcase out of the way, shower door nearly falling off, stair carpet in poor condition.

    Good breakfast with good quality ingredients.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit of noise from next room, I could hear them going the toilet and then getting in the shower. Not a big problem however.

    Food was amazing and staff very helpful and friendly. Room was huge and very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not up to standard for what i paid. Needs a lot of maintenance. Was over charged by the property. More than what i had booked with bookings.com.

    Nice spot, food good for a pub and friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice warm welcome when checking in ( Kate ) which is so important. The double room was spacious, comfortable and spotless. Evening meal and breakfast were good and staff friendly and efficient. Very likely to return.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality toilet tissue. Not asked if my wife and I wanted toast with our breakfast ( no self service toaster visible).

    Friendly restaurant and bar staff. Live entertainment on hand. Spacious, comfortable and warm room. Gorgeous food at a pleasing price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small gripe,no window in our room only a skylight but this was no great inconvenience

    large comfortable room,very warm welcome,very helpful,well equipped,food was good,great service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coming home and food choices inside the pub should of been bit more varied.

    Apartment was very clean and tidy, very comfortable. Close to town and great for exploring the area. Hosts were friendly and all staff worked hard.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pub has a lovely atmosphere and although the restaurant area was fully booked we had no trouble finding space in the bar/lounge area. The staff were so helpful and friendly, nothing seemed too much trouble and the food was excellent. Really good value for money, piping hot and gorgeous!! The room itself was really spacious and clean, lovely layout. It's also set aside from the actual pub itself so it was really quiet and private. We will definitely be returning again. Plas Derwen is also within walking distance of Abergavenny so we went and had a look round the market and shops, well worth a trip. Also a wonderful view of surrounding mountains and if you are travelling by train the station is just a short walk away.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast great on Saturday morning but not cooked so well on Sunday. Must have been a different chef, things must have been fried not grilled, a bit disappointing.

    Great location. Large bright room with sofa. Free parking. Great evening meal in restaurant however disappointed they had run out of our first choices. Helpful friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Half the menu was unavailable, got the impression kitchen staff had gone home, food poor, bed was not remade or room cleaned, bathroom very cold. Awoken at 8 am by very noisy garden maintenance team. Brains should stick to running pubs, they don't seem to have a clue when it comes to running hotels.

    Nice big bedroom

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't get the whole Brioche Bun with burgers thing. I know a lot of places do this but Brioche is cake. It crumbles. What's wrong with a good old oven bottom FHS!

    A good selection of ale. Cosy rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled strongly of cigarettes. Tired bathroom with mouldy shower curtain.

    Cycle friendly, big room opening straight onto the carpark. Super helpful staff and nice bar.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The cooked breakfast would have been better served on hot plates & without a side salad. The coffee served after dinner was too strong & kept me awake the night before travelling home. A decaffeinated option would have been better & it was served before the dessert which was not ideal.

    It was very quiet, apart from an early morning fire alarm! I really liked the vegetarian sausages. The room was spacious & welcoming & the TV worked well. The parking space was very convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only gripe would be the over-inflated drinks prices! £9.30 for a glass of wine !! Come on this is Wales not London....

    Staff helpful and friendly. Be aware most of the rooms aren't in the main pub building but an annex at the rear which isn't described on the site.... That said, it was clean, tidy and in a good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice if you could select different items from the various breakfast options and not have to accept the hotel's recommendations.

    Bedrooms very comfortable and outside rooms nice and quiet. The food available at breakfast was good quality.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location was beautiful,easy to get back onto the motorway,the pub was full of charm and character ,the grounds immaculate would recommend this place to anyone not wanting a travel lodge type place

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of attention of staff in restaurant. Had to wait too long for meal. Staff having a general conversation and delaying transfer of meal from kitchen to table.

    Some staff were warm and friendly in their welcome and service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In need of tender loving care. Restaurant carpet needs replacing and all need painting. In our bathroom which was well appointed, the finishing off was not good. Perhaps a good snagging would be in order.

    The room was bright and airy, the staff every helpful and pleasant. We stayed for evening meal that was extremely good, and the Welsh Breakfast was first class. A comfortable place to stay and will do so again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fire alarm fault caused alarms to go off during the night - one of those things and the hotel couldn't help that. Staff did their best to compensate us.

    Very easy to find, convenient location; friendly staff and very comfortable courtyard rooms which were very well furnished and warm. On site bar and restaurant with good menus and nice food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little bit of updating to things like carpet and décor would lift this into a different price bracket altogether!

    The accommodation was in an outside block, so very peaceful. Huge double room with comfy bed, wifi, tea, coffee, good bathroom. The highlight was the young man who was on duty - seemingly mostly on his own - who dealt with everything, including coming to my aid with the wifi and was always polite and cheerful. He deserves a medal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was clean but very tired looking and needs refurbishment plus somewhere to put toiletries!

    Lovely staff, nothing too much trouble. Loads of storage, comfy bed. Food exceeded our expectations!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could use a little attention but would not sway me from returning.

    Room was large and comfy, restaurant was great. Shower had hot water and water pressure, real bathtub.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar service a little slow. Could be closer to town although still walkable.

    The room was spacious and comfortable. Very good breakfast. Evening restaurant is also very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could do with a lick of paint, but l understand they are going to redecorate soon.

    The food is top quality and the staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The duvet was old and shabby and dirty. Our meals were very poor. I understand that there is going to be a refurbishment and it is easy to see why.duct tape on the carpets! A very dissapointing visit.We usually stay at the Lamb & Flag Abergavenny.

    The best thing about our stay was the manager.Whata very understanding lady.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smelt of stale smoke!! emergency exit light in the room isn't conducive to getting a good nights sleep as the room was lit up all night. I ordered a steak for my evening meal which came in two pieces, which is fine except one piece was very chewy.

    comfortable, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here when we visited the food festival. The location was great because it was just outside the centre and away from the noise but was an easy walk. The room was very comfortable and the bed was lovely!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was just ok,mushroom saturated in oil,sausages and bacon dry.

    Big comfortable room,nice bar/restaurant,staff friendly and very accommodating. Will stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in an "out building". It was brightest, newest, largest of any of 4 we stayed in in Wales. We also had parking right outside our door. Loved the breakfast room (conservatory) restaurant and different rooms in it. Beautiful grounds. Very quiet in our back room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zero

    A great place to stay with easy walking distance into the village. On site parking and very generous size accommodation. Heating excellent with plenty of hanging space throughout. Excellent wifi connection. Meals on site outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot at all to be honest. A spider or 2 but nothing to fret about.

    Beautiful country pub in a good location and they were very welcoming to us and our dog.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room felt like it needed a little more of a clean especially the ensuite floor but not enough to put you off. The breakfast room within the pub was very pleasant with choices on the menu. We had the eggs benedict which was excellent and good coffee although no bread or toast was offered. I wouldn't say that breakfast was 'fabulous' as described as there wasn't a lot of it.

    Easy to find. Good Location and 15 mins walking to town centre. Has own car park. Good size room and comfy bed located in separate building at the rear. We made good use of the tea and coffee facilities, hair drier etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was ready for a makeover, nice sized beautiful light room , could be made spectacular with new carpet, curtains and wallpaper (woodchip is not a good look)

    Nice relaxing areas in the bar, conservatory and outside for drinking and dining

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: