Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pontlands Park Hotel 3 stars

West Hanningfield Road, Great Baddow, Chelmsford, CM2 8HR, United Kingdom

#5 of 29 hotels in Chelmsford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 554 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    9.6
    Lovely setting and comfortable rooms and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely setting and comfortable rooms and friendly staff. Beautiful spa facilities. Spa facilities open to public so check with hotel for timetable details.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant, good location but expensive for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a dried blood spot on my bed sheets - I was room 72 and stayed on Sat 13th. Obviously the sheets were clean but it doesn't look good for a hotel charging what you charge for a one-nights stay. There were also enamel chips in the sink. The thing that was the most disappointing was the customer service the morning of check out. The receptionist was a little difficult when I asked how my £40 taken the day before (for potential bar bill?) would be refunded.

    The room was much bigger than expected, the view very pleasant and the sound proofing excellent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    8.3
    Lovely place, Friendly staff, lovely room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite External
    • Stayed 1 night

    For no obvious reason the room was quite warm when we first arrived, even with the heating off. But it was OK by the time we left!

    Very friendly staff and a lovely big room

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.9
    Was good restraunt food could be better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restraunt food repetitive menu never changed and curry with noodles to big a portion and stodgey with noodles included in dish . Food expensive for quality

    Very clean helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Few days of leisure with plenty of treatments.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    BAth needs to have a hand rail for older people.Found it too difficult trying to have a shower holding the head in one hand and flannel in other without a third hand to hold on to a rail of some kind.Sliding shower head would be much better.I don't care for the overhead showers.

    All good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Roomy & airy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit frugal with the toiletries and the wardrobe was not quite full length, my two dresses were dragging on the base Great food, although the steak wasn't quite melt-in-the mouth

    Roomy & airy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    A superior home from home experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More fresh flowers around especially in reception . On arrival at reception being offered tea/coffee either in room or in lounge to recover from journey! Also a small dish of sweets to say hello to guests as they arrive. It’s the little things that count ! Granddaughter would like better WiFi signal in room! But it all was lovely.

    The room smelt lovely and fresh bedding clean and windows and bathroom clean. The breakfast tray was well equipped although extra milk would be great for tea lovers! The hotel was nice and quiet in the sense that there was no noise from those working going on. The grounds were very nice - maybe a few more flowers on display would be nice too. All the staff - especially the breakfast and cleaning staff were very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was exceptional - very nicely presented and fresh. Table settings were very clean and it was a pleasure to eat there. All the food was cooked just right . The staff did not hurry you but were very attentive to your needs and.always smartly turned out. They are lovely ! Unfortunately due to family commitments we didn’t get to eat in the restaurant but we certainly will next time. The hotel was really a superior home from home . One night was not enough . The hotel is one we would easily recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    There was a ceiling light (probably one which comes on in an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a ceiling light (probably one which comes on in an emergency) from which a green light was shining directly onto the bed. I think that the hotel's maintenance person is fixing this.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    Jenny
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Think menu prices are to high for food served . Food tasty . Ordered 2 small glasses wine did not like when I realised after I had left that a service charge added for drinks not appropriate , cross I didn’t pay more attention to reading bill .

    Staff were good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel . Polite and profession staff . Rooms are nice and clean . Well done .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel. Staff was very nice and helpful . Outdoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi was a treat for my family and enjoyed it. Just wish the children had a little more time allowance in the pool which was 4pm to 6pm . Due to having so much fun with them. Had a lovely time will defiantly return very soon . Breakfast was very good . Well cooked and tables was nicely presented and coraline was . Looking after us and others 100%. Many thanks and kind regards Hulya

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Perfect romantic break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Everything was excellent.

    Greeted by very happy and helpful staff, and this continued throughout our stay. Food was excellent, so much so, i insisted on shaking the chefs hand. Very clean everywhere, and the superior double room was very spacious and comfortable. We will be going back!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    A gem of a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about.

    A fabulous hotel. The ideal place to stay if you are visiting anywhere in essex. Perfect central location and straight onto main road routes. Pool is lovely and lots of different areas - sauna/jacuzzi/outdoor and indoor pool/hot-tub/cafe to order stuff from. A really top notch hotel. Rooms large and clean. Bath and separate shower. Nice lounge bar. A great great place.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    Myself and my husband stayed here the night of our wedding,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside was that breakfast felt a little disorganised. We were at first sat in another couples table, which created a bit of confusion, but the problem was rectified immediately.

    Myself and my husband stayed here the night of our wedding, the room was lovely. The bath in the bathroom was a little extra touch of luxury, as was the four poster bed. They also offered a 24 hour check in, which came in handy for us as we weren't able to check in until around 2am.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    Relaxing, lovely food, spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything that I would change. Maybe the price but it is a very decent hotel.

    I only stayed one night with my partner. The food was lovely and staff were very nice. There was even a wedding on that didn’t spoil our stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.3
    The bed was insanely comfortable, was gutted i hate to get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the receptionist was very blunt and unwelcoming which slightly ruined my excitement of coming to stay. She has put me off returning.

    The bed was insanely comfortable, was gutted i hate to get out of it so early.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Wedding hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The front of house staff were very helpful, attending to everything I needed. In the evening the bar staff were very accommodating and nothing seemed to be out of reach. The hotel grounds were very quite and the pool area attached was lovely to relax in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location, nice and peaceful wouldn’t think you’re 10...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower temperature had a mind of its own, scorching hot then freezing cold.

    Great location, nice and peaceful wouldn’t think you’re 10 minutes from Chelmsford town centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    Lovely grounds, comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast finished earlier than we would have liked.

    Huge room, comfy bed and nice shower. Staff member at the desk helped us with all our luggage, very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel suitable for business or romantic break
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Extra
    • Stayed 1 night

    food and drink prices in the restaurant/bar are on the high side, food quality is good but should have a less presumptuous menu for the business traveler. BAE are in the same road and are a high volume user of the hotel.

    very nice hotel in a nice setting, facilities are very good and plenty of parking. buffet breakfast was very good with good ingredients/quality.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Great Hotel with fantastic facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was average however in saying that absolutely everything about Pontlands Park Hotel was spot on. Great hotel, fantastic facilities & friendly staff. This place should really be a 5 star in my opinion. Good job Pontlands Park, keep doing what you’re doing....

    Everything, great value for money. Spacious bedroom (room 47) clean with the added bonus of patio doors leading out to the garden. Outside swimming pool with jacuzzi & sun loungers made you feel like you could be on holiday in the Mediterranean which is actually a first for me!!! Indoor swimming pool, steam room & sauna was a great bonus too. Can’t wait to go back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.8
    Staff is really polite and respectful ( apart of the lady...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely hot ( temperature outside 31-32 degrees) probably the same inside.

    Staff is really polite and respectful ( apart of the lady who checked us in- quite miserable ). They maintain quite high standards of cleaning for a 3 ⭐️ hotel. Breakfast wasn’t to my liking but my partner seemed to enjoy it a lot. Had fun at the pool as it was lovely and hot. Nice and quiet outside.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.5
    Great bathroom and shower and lovely big room and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have appreciated airconditioning and a fridge in our room.

    Great bathroom and shower and lovely big room and comfirtable bed. Excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    A great 1 night stay with good food :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was good, no negative points to raise...

    The evening meal was great and the room was very comfortable... The bedroom was very hot although they had provided the room with a fan :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.5
    very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    because it was so hot unfortunately there was not enough ventilation coming through the windows. large windows but unable to open them except for two small ones at the top. also very heavy winter drapes was in front of these small windows. a fan was provided though did point this out to the reception staff

    well equipped room. have given a lot of thought.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.5
    Very nice just want my money back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They Took £40 out my and told me it would be back within 2-3 days yet I still haven’t received it, I didn’t get informed I would have to pay this on the day and I think that Is a lot of money just for room service?

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old keys to gain entry and no air con on the rooms .The rooms were quite warm and stuffy.The business can improve by investing on the state of art air con system to keep the rooms cooler and fresher.

    The complimentary pass to the gym ,swimming area and jacuzzi and steam bath.The rooms are quite spacious and cleanliness very much spot on.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location and facilities with quiet, spacious and clean rooms and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing major - got charged twice for the carvery but it was resolved quickly. Ordered a snack whilst we were outside, waited 25 minutes so cancelled the order in the end.

    Location, swimming pools, jacuzzis and facilities were very good. Deluxe room was big with nice views. Carvery lunch was nice. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Overall very comfy spacious room, great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was a lot for one night, but taking into account the size of the room, I can see why it was so expensive.

    My partner and I stayed here overnight for a friends wedding. We were blown away by the size of the room, it was massive. Nicely decorated to suit the age of the building, very cosy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Quick but great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head could have done with a clean, to be fair I did not report it at the time so have not given the hotel a chance to rectify.

    The price was very good. I’ve seen the same level of hotel charge much more. I got the basic level of room and was impressed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Relaxed and comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed more coffee. So yeah , nothing I didn't like !

    The room was so comfortable and a great size. Loved the bathroom and the shower was exceptional.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely old building in beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only gripe is that we were only allowed to use the pool etc until 12:00 noon after checking out. This seems a bit mean.

    Lovely old building in beautiful surroundings. Spacious comfortable room. Quite good value. Great breakfast. Close to Chelmsford.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wrong information about swim times on the card, but we received an apology and the reception said they would look into it. Insufficient towels,( but we didn't ask for any)

    Lovely breakfast and room, large, comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Quiet, relaxing and no hassle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower in my room was not very good

    The room was roomy and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel in general was very quiet. Restaurant service was excellent as was the food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Always love staying .. due to personal circumstances we have stayed most weekends for several months
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One minor issue , the tv screen is rather dull and difficult to see .. all rooms seem the same .. plus sound is set rather too low ... otherwise hotel is wonderful ..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Bed was comfy bathroom was fantastic and the use of the spa...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the loud music live band playing till 12 midnight not being able to sleep.

    Bed was comfy bathroom was fantastic and the use of the spa was outstanding.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.4
    It’s ok if the location is where you need.
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were hit and miss. Some great some not so helpful. Rooms were upstairs with no lift and no help offered with luggage. Room service very limited. There was a party one evening, due to size of property you can’t really get away from the noise of it if there is a function.

    Setting is in nice grounds. Rooms were quite big. Dinner was nice. Didn’t use pool/hot tub but others seemed to be enjoying.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    A great team create a welcoming experience in a lovely setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room's decor could definitely have been more contemporary. Sadly this absence of design flair is reflected across a broad swathe of UK hotel rooms. Also the bed was a little on the petite side and the gym was limited.

    Spacious accommodation with large and well appointed bathroom. thoughtful touch having the privacy film on the ground floor window.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    2.9
    Really bad hotel, would adivse not to stay there.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    when arriving I was left to carry a suitcase up the stairs on my own, broken window in room, bath broken, toilet wouldn't flush, you had to flush twice each time, room service took 20mins to order the tray was then left outside my room all night and I feel over it as I went down to breakfast.

    there wasn't anything to like.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    very pleasant and restful - staff extremely helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was not perfect for the elderly - no separate shower cubicle, or grab rail, and a rather narrow bath. Perfectly OK for younger people.

    swimming pools, grounds, breakfast, quiet and greenery. good parking. pleasant staff and good places to sit downstairs on outdoor terrace or in the lounge bar, where we also had supper.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely place but with a few tweaks could be even better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the spa could have been friendlier and should have said the closing time was half five rather than six as they then kicked us out at five thirty to tidy for the following day. Food in the bar could have been better with more variety in the selection of food available on sundays.

    Loved the outdoor pool facilities and the spa and loved the bar area and outdoor surroundings

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.7
    customer service dissapointing and exccesive charges for children to stay in bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was shocked on arrival to be told that I needed to pay £20 per child for them to stay in the room with me. The room we booked had a double bed plus a sofa bed so I had requested that we have a cot made up on arrival for my 1 year old. We have stayed in many hotels and most do not charge for babies. I told them my daughter ( aged 4) would stay in our bed to avoid the charge but they would not accept that. I asked them in that case to make sure the sofa bed was made up if I was being charged for it which they said had already been done. When I got to the room the sofa bed was not made and there was no cot. I had arrived at 6/7pm which was right on top of baby's bed time and why I had requested this. I waited for well over half an hour and had to call twice. The sofa bed they charged me for was broken and the slats kept falling out so my daughter ended up in bed with us anyway. I very expensive stay for the service we received. Overall disappointed with our stay, we have stayed a few times before and we had a great time, nothing was too much trouble, totally different experience this time round.

    Nice décor and beautiful grounds. Breakfast was good and restaurant staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    Great Place to Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little too warm in bedroom and unfortunately the fan in room was not working.

    Large comfortable rooms. Great pool facilities. Tasty and well presented cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Much better than expected
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a hideous week of dealing with bereavement, care home and the sloping shoulders attitude of the nhs, we truly appreciated the upgrade to the lovely room that we stayed in and the extra lengths that the kind receptionist (sorry, we didn’t get her name but she had lovely long brown hair and a smile) and management went to for us. It was very considerate to let us know in advance that there would be a function on. We needed to get some peace and quiet and sleep! Even though we had an upgrade, we still think that the hotel was better than 3 stars and would stay there again if we are in the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    Lovely place for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Mattress sagged down the middle, duvet very thick so asked for a thinner one but they could only offer a sheet. Didn't like the connecting door with the next room as we were disturbed by noise in the night.

    Reception staff were very friendly, lovely views

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, relaxing and easy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sausages at breakfast were a little dissapointing as they were not the usual type of breakfast sausage but the rest of the breakfast was great.

    The entrance is lovely, the room was large and quiet. The scrambled eggs for breakfast were delicious, we arrived late, just before midnight and the staff were very friendly and accomodating and we were able to have a drink at the bar despite the late hour. The cream tea also looked very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.0
    Not good for family trips
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That was supposed to be an Easter break family spa getaway. But the place is not particularly friendly for families with young children a number of reasons: - They charge 20 GBP for a baby crib. The cheap crib they give probably costs 40-50 GBP so the charge is unreasonably high. - They give an empty crib without a mattress or pillow. They did not have them at the hotel so we had to construct something ourselves from towels. - There are two swimming pools but most of the time it is forbidden to go there with children. - The check-in time is rather late (15:00) and the check our time is earlier than at most other hotels (11:00). Also, the breakfast is mediocre and they charge extra for cappuccino.

    The room was spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel and grounds well looked after.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The massive bed complete with pillows was a little uncomfortable. The sheets were a little bobbly causing slight discomfort and the pillows a little lacking in softness... also the duvet just about covered the bed with no overhang therefor once you are in it lets the cold in. Minor issues tho

    The room was spacious and well laid out, bathroom was nice and clean and had a powerful shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Location, breakfast, pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of little things were disappointing for us. Our expectation was a high quality country house which it was but it lacked charm and a relaxed ambience. The decor looked a bit tired in places. The bedroom was a good size but far too hot, a common complaint it seems. There was no bottled water in the room. The restaurant food was OK but over priced and with a 10% service charge automatically added which wasn't warranted. Breakfast was good but the plates weren't cleared away as we ate so we had to put them on an adjoining table. There was no quiet relaxing lounge area as you often find in such places. The bar area was modern but the chairs were uncomfortable and the sound of piped music blared out far too loud as it did in the dining rooms. These things have been mentioned by other reviewers and are easy to fix. Our review score reflects our disappointment and the poor value for money compared with other locations we stayed at in Chelmsford.

    Location, breakfast, pleasant staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel with bags of character, great facilities and very nice food.fantastic value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing we had a perfect weekend.

    The Hotel is fantastic, reception staff prompt and informative, Our room was spotless and vast in size, evening meal and breakfast was really nice too, the indoor/outdoor pools and sauna are an added bonus, we could not fault the Hotel in anyway, perfect night away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Excellent room size plus no noise at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was too warm.

    Excellent room size plus no noise at all. The breakfast was also very good and all of the staff we encountered were very efficient, professional and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    5.8
    beautiful building inprovements need to be made staff very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite External
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact i booked a suite which was the highest price to be best room and only had a double bed there were rooms for £100 with queen beds you would think for the most expensive it would have luxury of everything it was outdated needed a refurb and needs new beds

    i like tge location and facilities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    The rooms are great. The evening meal was beautifully cooked and the staff very attentive. The groun
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are great. The evening meal was beautifully cooked and the staff very attentive. The grounds are lovely and they had a lounge for me to meet my staff the following day, which helped me conduct my business. I will be using them again. Super

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    Overall excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Extra
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was excellent all round and very handy for RHS Hyde Hall where I was doing a course. Even though I was travelling alone I had a huge room with massive super comfy bed. The staff were welcoming and very helpful and the food was absolutely delicious. And the over bath shower was really powerful and deliciously hot. The décor in the room was a little dark for my liking, so I kind of expected to be disappointed in other areas but I couldn't fault them. Thoroughly recommend it - well done!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Relaxing, peaceful , enjoyable what more could we ask for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really can’t fault the hotel . Was thrilled

    It was a beautiful hotel, very very clean, lovely staff. Restaurant was good and breakfast very good. Will definately stay again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel and very attentive staff
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Minor points and didn't spoil my stay - Bedroom very warm even when radiator turned down (windows could be opened but didn't like to leave them open as we were on the ground floor). Drinks overpriced. Bed quite firm and pillows filled with synthetic type filling not feather and down like most good hotels

    Lovely venue. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast tasty and a good variety.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    2.5
    Stayed in better, quieter lorry parks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite External
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning units in the lounge and bedroom of our suite were quiet for 10 minutes then sounded like a laundrette with all the machines on full spin with various running shoes in thus keeping ys awake all night. Room was too hot and no windows. So uncomfortable and when I telephoned main desk at 1 am to sort noise, was told someone would get back to us and never did. Their solution to a sleepless night and ruined evening was a partial refund and a call from management that we are still waiting for. Couldn't comment on the quality of breakfast as we left first thigs to go home to sleep.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    Excellent,good place to relax and explore the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 mini shampoo and 1 mini shower cream, for 2 of us for 3 nights.Really need 1 shower per person, and 1 shampoo per person, per night.

    Great to have a couch and comfortable chair to sit in, and plenty of space in the room. Bed very comfortable. Nice to have choice of a bath or shower. Nice view. Very nice garden surroundings. Great breakfast, stayed nice and fresh, even whilst catering at full capacity.Staff attentive for your tea and toast etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    YOU HAVE NOW MOVED TO TOP OF LIST TO STAY AND EAT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING

    MY WIFE AND SON WITH PARTNER STAYED ONEFOR THEIR BIRTHDAYS.YOUR STAFF WERE EXCELLENT ABOUT THEIR DUTIES.PLEASE INFORM YOUR CHEF,MY WIFE AND SONS PARTNER WERE OVER THE MOON ABOUT THEIR MUSSELS JUS.PORK AND LAMB COOKED TO PERFECTION,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    A paradise off the beaten track.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Extra
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    On a cold wet January weekend The Pontlands Park was a paradise away from it all. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the staff could not do more to make our stay wonderful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.2
    Good value for a couple, but not for singletons. Excellent facilities.
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Extra
    • Stayed 1 night

    We dined on a Sunday night when there were few other guests. As a result had a limited menu. But the food was tasty.

    Nice big bed and big room. Excellent cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    The hotel and the rooms were lovely, great decor and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel and the rooms were lovely, great decor and spacious, hotel grounds are stunning. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the ketchup served with breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.6
    Perfect stay at Pontlands Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Extra
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly over priced, which just meant we could only stay one night

    Amazing friendly, polite and helpful staff. Attentive and made you feel like you weren't just another guest. The food both at dinner and breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.5
    Good value, great staff although certain facilities a little dated
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leisure facilities dated and gym very basic , dining room very chilly although to be fair it was cold outside

    Breakfast great , staff excellent as easy parking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Very nice indeed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Extra
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the fact that £40 was put on hold on my card,without being told about it first. This should be explained to you .

    Very comfortable, warm hotel. Bedding is first class

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel with very friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Extra
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel with very friendly staff. Restaurant serves poor quantities in relation to price. Had starter, main and desert but could easily haven eaten more.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Great hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Extra
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been good if there were vegetarian sausages/similar at breakfast.

    Lovely big room, comfy bed, great breakfast, friendly staff and the pool/jacuzzi area was fab.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Very peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The setting was beautiful hotel was very nice staff professional some of the decor didn't fit the age of the original parts of the hotel but that's just aesthetic

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    Only negative really was the taxi company booked for us by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative really was the taxi company booked for us by the hotel were poor. Late on both trips and drivers were asking us the way. As strangers to the area, it was disconcerting.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay at Pontlands Park Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Extra
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although it was October room was very hot, opened the window but not much air about, so it would be good idea if there was an electric fan available for use in the room.

    Lovely hotel, executive extra room very spacious excellent food and service from reception, waiting and bar staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    Worth a stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing to not like, everything you need, friendly place, tea and coffee in the room, we didn't stay for breakfast but I'm sure it would have been good!

    Very friendly, welcoming reception. We were upgraded free of charge to a larger room which is always a bonus!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    overall a great stay, just a shame about my room location and unable to connect to wifi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Extra
    • Stayed 1 night

    my room was located where the WIFI connection was so poor, in the bar and outside area was brilliant to connect , having called reception they did resent the WiFi but laying in bed or in my room i had no connection at all which was a shame.

    very clean and decent hotel, great staff and friendly. Awesome bar and outside area to sit relax.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    A lovely relaxing fun evening out
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower blew hot and cold - a minor point I know!

    Rooms were large, breakfast staff were lovely. We came to a function and the decor and serving staff were amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.1
    Ok but not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plastic cups in the bathroom at £150 a night I expect a glass in the bathroom not a plastic cup. Also insufficient toiletries for two people. Bed also very lumpy!!

    Breakfast excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    4.6
    Rooms very dark. No wifi if you are travelling for business don't bother! The staff response to wifi
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very dark. No wifi if you are travelling for business don't bother! The staff response to wifi not working in the room was use the lobby! 20 mins response time for staff. Never go here again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent, very homely hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really don't have any complaints but the bed and pillows could have been slightly more comfortable making my stay absolutely perfect.

    Lovely location, easy to find. Lovely setting in the countryside. Very spacious room and bathroom. Very clean. Breakfast was lovely, great selection and very well presented. Wish I could have stayed longer to avail of the lovely indoor & outdoor pools but it was only a flying visit as was travelling with work. I had lovely views from my room.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: