Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Poppies Hotel 3 stars

Leny Road, Callander, FK17 8AL, United Kingdom

#16 of 24 hotels in Callander

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 178 B&B reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    End of Holiday stay in Callander
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothin

    The Room we stayed in was very spacious, the breakfast kept us going all day. the bar is well stocked and the Restaurant food was exceptional, we stayed 2 nights and dined both nights in the Restaurant first night I had duck and the following night steak, the wife had chicken then salmon, would highly recommend to any one staying in Callander to eat here.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Looking forward to our next visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Winter weight duvet was too warm for May, even in Scotland!

    Hotel restaurant is first class. Be sure to book your table. Breakfast is generous and offers a wide range of dishes. The staff are friendly and helpful, as are the proprietors, Susan and John.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disappointed not to be able to eat in hotel restaurant on our second night as it was said to be fully booked- offer a table much later- too late for us. Better if we had been told even guests need to book early to eat in the restaurant - otherwise a very nice stay.

    nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing!

    Large room, come bed, decent shower, excellent bar with great selection of whisky, super friendly staff and a top quality breakfast :) Only regret was that I wish we'd eaten there in the evening

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    We had an excellent overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were excellent, very friendly. Food was very good, plenty choice. Bedroom cleanness was exvellent. Bed and breakfast was good value for money. An excellent small hotel just far enough out of town for an evening walk, weather permitting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely family run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bath in the superior room would be a great addition.

    The staff were absolutely fantastic, the superior room was spacious & comfortable & the food in the restaurant was incredible.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt the room was more a standard double according to photos and not the superior double we booked

    Very welcoming. Room nice and warm on a cold day Lovely breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Callander a lovely town and we would certain stay again at Poppies.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit dated although very comfortable. Shower over bath wasn’t the best with low pressure.

    Felt very homely and all staff helpful. Really good breakfast and evening meal tasty and good value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay and the breakfast is wonderful.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this hotel is awesome, cleanliness first class to the small bottles of my favourite shower gel included (sea kelp) amazing.

    Everything was just perfect. Accommodation first class, beds very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing and an ideal stop over if you are on the way to the northern highlands of scotland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was dated . The shower in particular was difficult to manage poor jet and sticking door. Additionally the bathroom door was of the sliding type and was noisy. It's a pity about the bathroom because it was a lovely homely hotel

    Well presented room with all the facilities needed. Comfy bed and plenty of tea and coffee.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel in a stunning part of the country
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the coldest few days of the year but the hotel was warm and cosy. The restaurant was open so we didn't need to leave the hotel, given the weather that was a bonus

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    A friendly, welcoming wee hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly welcome from staff on arrival and in the restaurant. Food was fabulous. Very comfortable, warm room despite the cold conditions outside! Great wee hotel!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Good clean hotel and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked table for dinner but turned up to find that there was no booking bar staff very rude as especially there were available tables

    The rooms were lovely and clean very spacious and ideally located for the town centre

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Very comfortable and friendly. Great breakfast !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the shower didn’t work properly. Hopefully it’ll be better for the next occupant if that room after we reported it.

    Scrambled eggs - always a real test ! They were excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    A relaxing stay in a spotless, thoughtful and welcoming hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault it.

    Immaculately clean! Warm, homely feel. Welcoming staff. Lots of little thoughtful touches e.g. excellent tea selection in the rooms, magazines.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    a very well run, family, informal hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Freshly cooked breakfast was excellent and so much better than the buffet style with hot plate food that has become the norm in so many hotels. The best on our trip. Very friendly staff and excellent evening meal in the restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    5.0
    Very good breakfast staff friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival no open restaurant or bar. Were not told this when we booked. Owner seemed somewhat disinterested. Nothing to see in the city. No good places to eat. For what we paid it was not worth the stay.

    Very good breakfast staff friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent overnight stay in a central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar closes at 10.30pm which we weren't aware of and our nightcap felt a bit rushed as a consequence. Room and bathroom were very compact but considering this is an old building they were perfectly adequate for an overnight stay.

    Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice on the menu. Very nice bar with an extensive whisky selection. Hotel is in a good location within easy reach of the town centre, bars and restaurants as well as the Cycle path.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.7
    Great location but we both came away slightly disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I noted in the good hotel guide left in our room that there was a comment stating the owners clearly had an eye for detail and also the high quality of the food and so we were a little disappointed to find the towel rail missing in the bathroom just one bracket left on the wall,a very noisy shower pump & the fact that we both managed to hit our heads when sitting up in bed as the ceiling of the room in the roof was very low. The food was a little pretentious for my liking and the experience was not helped by a rather pushy waiter.

    The location was perfect and the breakfast was excellent,very fresh and all locally sourced produce.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Would not hesitate to go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very impressed especially with the staff friendly and helpful. Room very spacious with double bed, bedside locker, wardrobe (wee bit small) It was on 3rd flour and one concern was the ceiling sloped (Being on top flour) and was "stippled2 making it rough. I am totally bald and dare not sit up in bed in case I damaged my somewhat thin skin (being 84 !)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.1
    would stay again but not in that room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room 3 was small for 2 people but adequate for 1 night and no more,toilet shower room is tiny with sink in bedroom ,sink is very small too small to wash in.bed is worn out side nearest door slopes from middle to side.hotel as a good bar with plenty of choice,bar and restaurant run by another couple both bar and restaurant are well run,food is excellent. breakfast was enjoyed by me but not my wife she did not like the smoked salmon with scrambled egg mix,no taste to the salmon,my full breakfast was good,asked for another round of toast which never came as did other diners asking for sauce twice which did not come.why bring out toast first then wait ten minutes for your hot food then toast is cold !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.3
    Restaurant and bar closed Wednesday nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant and bar closed Wednesday nights.NOT mentioned on your web site.caused major problem as no similar food available locally on a wet and miserable night

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Absolutely fabulous, can't wait to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows were too hard for us but I think that is just matter of choice.

    The breakfasts were fantastic - both the cooked and the buffet. Plenty to choose from. The room we stayed in was really lovely - little things like chocolates every day on the bed and both still and sparkling water were replenished every day along with tea and coffee etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Most enjoyable stay, would definitely recommend, and would book again in future!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a little problem with the heating on the second night, was a bit cool, but no complaints!!

    Staff wonderful, superior room great, and restaurant food excellent!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Everything about the hotel was great, the staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about the hotel was great, the staff were very friendly, evening meal was excellent as was an excellent freshly cooked breakfast. We were down for the Scottish Jaguar Show in Doune and have stayed at different hotels' in the area over the last four years but we will be back to the Poppies next year. Charlie Campbell.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.3
    Skilled chef and gluten free heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows on the beds, we both found uncomfortable and both of us had a bit of a 'crick in the neck' for an hour or so. We were quite taken aback to find the hotel on the main road and two minutes from Tesco as the on-line photo gives the impression that it may run down to a waters edge or a rural view. It is described as being a little out of town. This may be factually true, but it didn't seem that way to us. Having said the above we would both go back.

    We loved the restaurant and it's staff. They catered to a very high standard and took my gluten free requirements in their stride. Breakfast was also a joy. We liked the quality furniture in the room and the quiet location, it was also on the ground floor and since my friend only had her hip replaced 2months ago this was an unexpected plus. The bar was welcoming and the barman friendly and helpful. The layout of the front garden was also attractive and well planned. The proprietors were also friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    Perfect hotel for a weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel, very clean and very friendly and polite staff. We were made to feel very welcome. Room was very bright and airy. Dinner and breakfast was exceptional! Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    10
    Staff - Food - All areas very clean and comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower could be better had bath instead wasted a lot of water trying to get shower to right temperature Would have liked more tea and milk in room

    Staff - Food - All areas very clean and comfy

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Stay at Poppies, eat in the restaurant and enjoy a friendly drink in the lounge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing that could have been better would have been a longer stay.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The separately managed ( but attached) lounge bar and restaurant could grace any city! Susan made us very welcome. Breakfasts were great! I'll be back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.6
    First choice to stay if in Callander
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fragrance in the room was too overpowering - I would ask them not to put them in if I came back for a visit. Heating was switched off a bit too early for us so was a bit chilly late evening.

    Stayed in Room 7. It was spacious, clean, bright and very comfortable Breakfast was good, where you can order individual items to suit you. Staff very friendly and approachable Restaurant food delicious and the right portion size for us

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    9.2
    We initially booked a double room then upgraded to superior...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner was not to our taste. Steak was tough and duck was very small portion.

    We initially booked a double room then upgraded to superior room as felt the double was small and had no bath. The double room was lovely we just fancied the bigger room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.2
    Poppies the place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean, bright and comfortable. The breakfast was great, you had a good choice. The restaurant served a delightful meal. Service was excellent, staff cheery and chatty.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    8.8
    Comfy small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet a bit small. Didn't have evening meal as pricey and fussy menu.

    Two tub chairs in room were appreciated but did take up space in not a large room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    10
    Very nice stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were tired and wet after a long day of travel, but Susan got us checked in and tucked away in our room without any fuss. The room was quiet and clean and we enjoyed a lovely dinner in the hotel, as well as a delicious breakfast the next morning.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    10
    We were looking for a quiet place to taste good whisky at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were looking for a quiet place to taste good whisky at the end of a day of hiking. This is the perfect place for that. Very friendly hosts and very helpful knowlege of whisky.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    10
    It sounds good- it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Going home.

    Food was top drawer both our dinner and the breakfast. Great quality ingredients and plenty of it. The location was quiet and the beds comfortable. The hotel is well placed for exploring locally and as a stop for going further north.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    7.5
    A fine base for a Trossachs break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The twin bedroom was adequate, and bathroom a little cramped.

    The food was great, and the staff were very accommodating. We enjoyed breakfast and the restaurant served tasty local cuisine. The bar was cosy and offered a fine Whiskey selection.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    Stayed while visiting daughter,son in law and grandchildren. Garry and Morag From Livingston.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast and evening meal were of the highest quality served by an efficient and pleasant staff.My wife and I have visited three times now and the standards never drop.Rooms are comfortable and homey and the owners are allways approachable if any small problems arise.The hotel is also a haven for malt whisky lovers with an array far too numerous for me to list here.Enjoyed every moment of our three night stay and will be back whenever we can.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    7.9
    Had a really nice time and would stay and definitely eat there again, hosts and staff lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the shower, couldn't regulate the temperature

    Had dinner in restaurant, food was delicious, staff couldn't do enough for you, Breakfast same delicious

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    8.3
    We would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bin in bathroom was not emptied and bath mat had mould on bottom. Tea bags and milk not replenished. I did not make these comments to staff as we were only staying two nights so only affected us one day.

    very friendly staff and hosts.Food first class. Great room slept ten hrs in a very comfy bed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Excellent dinner, very attentive staff, very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent dinner, very attentive staff, very good breakfast. They have an early bird special dinner which we took advantage of (between 6 and 7). The choices were very good and the value was even better. Very nice stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    7.9
    Really enjoyable stay over a very wet long weekend of weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poppies is a teally excellent 3 star hotel. Nothing not to like from our point of view

    Lovely reception on arrival and throughout stay. Lovely soacious room, bay window, quiet, lovely bathroom

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    10
    Overnight stay while travelling north
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have preferred a double room, but twin was more than adequate as only one available on the night we needed it.

    A comfortable ground floor twin room, very convenient for entrance, bar and restaurant. Proprietors & staff very pleasant and efficient. Excellent location on main route, and on edge of town. Car parking on site. Good food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    8.3
    Very kind staff, very good breakfast and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very cold in the room, but the heatings were off, so we couldn't do anything about it (we only stayed for one night).

    Very kind staff, very good breakfast and food.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything..the room was lovely and spotlessly clean..food was excellent ..staff very pleasant, cheerful and the seating area in grounds was impeccable...will certainly go back..

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Too short!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Choice at breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Lovely hotel to relax in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet and not far from aminieties

    Lovely hotel to relax in

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Just what is on the label - good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very handy, and friendly hotel. Good restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.9
    Will be back might bring kids next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Draft lager tenents ha

    Breakfast was very good. Selection of fruit very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.9
    Good for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room by front door was rather noisy. Lunch a little overpriced.

    Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good fresh food, comfortable and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Really enjoyed the breakfast and appreciated good seating in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really enjoyed the breakfast and appreciated good seating in bedroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    reposant et depaysant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the weather

    la gentillesse du personnel;excellent petit dej

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay but tiny rooms would struggle for a longer stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room no proper door on bathroom

    Lovely breakfast friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful surroundings and peaceful stay with stunning background views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being a late riser missing out on the breakfast

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel, staff friendly, helpful, food delicious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have more vegetarian options

    Fantastic hotel, staff friendly, helpful, food delicious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    We have stayed at Poppies before and its an excellent Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, perfect

    The overall Poppies experience, staff were really nice the Food at both breakfast and evening meal superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Fab staff fab hotel fab location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff hotel location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    Poppies, a nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Warm welcome, good food and very nice room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small ensuite bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.5
    Excellent breakfast and dinner;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast and dinner; very friendly staff; quaint and quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.9
    Poppies in December
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some modernisation of bathrooms required in some rooms.

    Handy for main street and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very clean hotel lovely people to meet and greet you very good run family establishment and wee will definitely be back

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Very restful, needed to recharge our batteries as my husband is unwell, and poppies did the job
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to moan about.

    Bed really comfy, slept longer than normal. Food in restaurant very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Pop in to Poppies, you won't be disappointed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Warm, clean and welcoming.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.8
    Excellent restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent restaurant. Staff helpful and friendly. I would have no hesitation in staying here again and would be happy to recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Really enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Really enjoyable

    Cleanliness and helpful and pleasant staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    Great location, very friendly and approachable staff - just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, very friendly and approachable staff - just a shame we only stayed one night

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    A pleasant short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi excellent (essential for business trip). Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    Large selection of whisky and gin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was noise due to water tank that was close by.

    Large selection of whisky and gin

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    staff were very friendly and an excellent choice for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff were very friendly and an excellent choice for breakfast. Will return if in the area again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely staff, excellent food and service in a very pleasant environment, would go back .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was squeaky!

    Very interesting veggie breakfast, a nice change to the normal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was the noise of traffic which kept me awake but maybe cannot be avoided as is on the main road .

    Lovely breakfast comfortable room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    No stairs to get to bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dont recall any misgivings

    No stairs to get to bedroom. Staff very helpful, & courteous. Lovely location

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: