Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Port William Inn 4 stars

Trebarwith Strand, Tintagel, PL34 0HB, United Kingdom

#5 of 15 hotels in Tintagel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 240 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    A beautiful location for a short stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The narrow, winding road to get there!

    We loved the view of the beach from our window and the proximity to the lovely beach. (A short walk downhill). The included breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    A marvellous traditional pub in an exquisite location right on the harbour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tight drive down the narrowest of country lanes to get to the hotel.

    Beautiful location, great pub food and marvellous staff. Lovely walks from the pub to Tintagel and Port Isaac and beyond along the cliffs. The views from the bedrooms are stupendous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    The Port William Inn is an absolute gem. Fabulous views, very helpful staff and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A small fridge in the room would be appreciated

    This Inn is an absolute gem. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable, the food was good and the bar well stocked. There were complaints that the internet coverage is poor. This could be frustrating but I found it a blessing and simply enjoyed the views and atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable stay with lovely views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite busy at times (so best to reserve a table for dinner). Music on the Sunday we arrived went on until midnight ( I don't think this a regular thing though and the rest of the time it was quiet)

    The view from our room was amazing; the room was comfortable and it was lovely waking up to the sound of breaking waves; friendly staff; good breakfast overlooking the sea; there is parking reserved for people staying at the Inn.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location, great staff and good food
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More information on times of the tides as beach was covered for most of the day.

    Great location and staff were really great - fantastic with my dog. Carpark was a tight squeeze but would definitely go back again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    WONDERFUL HOTEL IN FANTASTIC LOCATION BY THE SEA
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more space in bedroom would be good

    Fabulous Sea views. Clean and nicely decorated. Good food. Friendly staff. Great for walking and dog owners

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Would go back.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed ( room 1) They charge £10 / night for dog but no dog bed and bowl 😬

    Clean, good food, good location, car park and staff were friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    one of the best locations in north cornwall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking a little difficult , could do with more choices on evening menu,

    Very clean room with excellent bathroom and superb sea views , excellent breakfast,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    A fantastic location, good service, and great food make the Port William a wonderful choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit noisy with day trippers to the pub from my room overlooking the picnic tables outside, but it did quiet down at a reasonable hour.

    What a fantastic location! Even with the poor weather, my one night stay was thoroughly enjoyable. The restaurant is highly recommended for the local fish.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Well worth the stay. The hotel is in a wonderful setting, the staff try hard to please.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no instructions for the shower, which looked like something out of a torture chamber, and so proved difficult to operate. Especially as I am short sighted anyway!

    The room was good, reasonably sized, and included a sofa which was a useful touch. Comfy bed. The bathroom again a good size, clean and well presented.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    This place is the jewel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is the jewel. The drive in has you intrigued. Then you arrive to a beautiful setting. And then shown to your room with a great sea view. Food delicious and service friendly. Highly recommended 😀

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay, definitely coming back next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing I would suggest is a new mattress in Room 1 but besides that it was a perfect break.

    The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for us while we were there. This is a third time at Port William and hopefully we will be back next year for another break.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    seaside experience of a life time in a gorgeous inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    liked it all

    it was all a delightful experience the staff couldnt have been any more helpful the bar was lovely and the food was terrific,and that view of the strand was impossible to beat. we will be back in september ,to do it all again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Perfect in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are looking for a chilled few nights away, this place is the one. The rooms, the view, the atmosphere were all fantastic. The breakfast in the morning was so lovely as well which topped it off. So often a lovely hotel is let down by their breakfast but it was fantastic. The views from dining and in your room were absolutely beautiful. Would highly recommend this place to anyone and perfect for doggies as the coastal footpaths are right out the door!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    We had such a lovely 2 days, fab spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ensuite was snug. The loo roll made you stare a bit. These are minor things. And did not affect our stay.

    The staff were very friendly and approachable. Great location. The food and service was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    A great two day stay, walking, talking, eating, drinking, sleeping- Totally Reviving!- again soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was up a steep narrow hill - but hey this is Cornwall... and this is much sought after parking space, so very welcome.

    What a Great Team at the Port William Inn- friendly and attentive, highly knowledgeable about the area, most accommodating and engaging. Great food, well prepared," Master Chief" presentation especially the Seafood Platter for two- highly recommended. Extensive breakfast selection- "Full English" is huge. Choose from eating inside or outside with spectacular sunset views in the evenings over the famous Gull Rock which is directly offshore. Great selections of beers, wines, and spirits; especially a whole shelf of 20 different kinds if gin! High specification room, bed, and bathroom especially great bath and shower, even though a little on the small side but still functional luxury. Good sea, beach and cliff view from the room. Close the window and the room was quiet- but we loved the sound and freshness of the sea air so kept it wide open! Conveniently situated on the South West Coastal Walk Route, and 50 yards of the sea. Will certainly book this again when next in Cornwall.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    The location and views were amazing and the staff were very helpful. we aim to return soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The access to the rooms from the rear of the property was a little difficult but only due to there being building work at the time

    The selection of food was excellent both at breakfast and for evening meals. All our requests were responded to appropriately and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    The location is stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi wasn't working, but it was actually quite nice to be out of touch.

    The location is stunning. We were lucky to have a beautiful clear evening and setting outside watching the sun go down over the sea with a glass of Prosecco in hand was bliss. The room was lovely, the staff friendly & food very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for a restful get a way or for those energetic enough to want to walk the coast path
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was a bit too warm...but we overcame that by leaving the window open....everything else was fine

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the food was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant! Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We did struggle with the Wi-Fi! or the intermitteness of it - however loved their sign about it!

    Being able to sit in the window and watch the sea, The rooms were tastefully decorated. The staff were ALL really friendly and polite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The hotel is perched on the cliff side looking out onto the beach and sea bellow. Our room had a seaview from the bed and was very comfortable and clean. The staff were really friendly and nothing was too much. The food is amazing value for money, massive portions and very tasty. We actually booked to stay for an extra night because we loved it so much. Would 100% recommend and would go back again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.9
    Extraordinary panorama view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no mobile coverage which is normal in many areas in Cornwall but they had no Internet connection as well. We enjoyed the area and exploring the coast line but I think Internet needs to be fixed. First night we had a room which bed was too noisy , with every single move was making noise , in the morning we asked to change the room and they moved us to the room which had better new bed, so that problem solved, but there was other issue in that room, someone every midnight (around 2AM) was walking very strong top of the room , there was no guest room there , I am not sure but I think staff was using that room because it happened every day (early morning) and midnight ( 2-3AM) , we had two rooms and both had same experience, to be honest it was annoying. I suggest if staff need to use that room then they to consider people are sleeping in other rooms. We will not stay again in this B&B but the location, people, pub itself is excellent.

    Location is exceptional, top of the hill toward the sea , could not be better than that, and it will compromise some negative experiences. very clean and friendly people. They have good drinks and food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.6
    I’ll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was a bit iffy and no mobile signal there so having WiFi is key

    Lovely place great staff, good beer and wine and a comfy bed ... can’t ask for more than that

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel in an amazing location with very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the best hotel experiences we have ever had. Staff were welcoming, the room cozy and breathtaking view of the waves crashing onto the rocks. Restaurant's food and ambience was first class.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.2
    A great hidden break
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was on the blink! Only an issue as I had to work but it is in the middle of know-where to kind of to be expected!

    Great place, great staff, great location!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.7
    Location makes this place special. Restaurant & customer relations needs work to make it excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was not great. The proportion on the plate was all wrong. Half the plate was broccoli with only half a potato and 3 slices of duck (half a breast not a whole one as promised!). One slice of the duck was too gristly to eat and the sauce was flavoured gravy. This meal was served luke warm. The breakfasts were also lukewarm. The bonus was the restaurant acknowledged the poor quality and didn't charge for the duck. We were still disappointed enough to eat elsewhere on our second night.

    Although the room was on the small size it was beautifully appointed. Good sized clean ensuite. Beautiful sea view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Cosy & Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Challenging entrance to the property. Poor service on the second night compared to the first but it was a different staff member. Couldn't see why our dog cost us an extra £10/night - it was on the hotel website but not mentioned on booking.com.

    Comfortable room - number 8. Oblique view of sea but you could hear the waves crashing - wonderful. Well appointed room., warm and cosy. Good food, generous portions. Poor service on one evening, the other was fine but was a different staff member. Dog friendly at a price!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Room was clean and bright
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower was the only issue for the whole weekend no pressure

    Room was clean and bright the staff where helpfull and very acommadating beer was excellant food was good with a good breakfast . Real fires in the bar would go back again also they love dogs this is an excellamt pub what ever time of the year

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.2
    Cosy, dog-friendly pub with best-ever sea views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Oh my! Parking could be an issue for some! It can't be helped but thank goodness we were in a med.sized hatchback. We had great fun..but we saw one or two come unstuck..(you have to drive up to the pub, do a '180' in a tight space then up a moderately steep hill). Some ungenerous bloke let his girlfriend drive and he got out to direct her in a 33 point turn! "Bloomin' get in the driver's seat and do it yourself, mate!" Still..10 minutes more to watch THE SEA before we left for home. We'll be back..

    Staff were always friendly and helpful. Reception was efficient and they showed us to a very nice room..overlooking..THE SEA..crashing in on the rocky beach below! This is why we came to the Port William! Never mind that you couldn't swing the proverbial feline around the room. The bed was comfy enough, all was clean..nice loo and shower room. And..you could see..THE SEA! We dined all 3 nights in the restaurant..plentiful and tasty enough..and it was fairly busy for between Xmas and New Year. Breakfast was fine..plentiful again, but unfortunately nothing to write home about...but there was THE SEA to look out on through the massive bi-fold windows which just compensated for the food before me. Never mind..looking fwd to mussels tonight!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.6
    All things considered I would happily return,loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little, just a couple of grumbles. Bed was extremely noisy , all joking apart it was very creaky,but comfy. Also dogs are allowed and not being a dog lover myself they were well behaved and no problem, except the one in the room next to us it did have a very loud bark,did not keep us awake but did have a good pair of lungs.

    Fabulous place, from start to finish staff were friendly and helpful. Yes it’s off the beaten track but so worth it. Exceptional views,spotlessly clean and fabulous food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Everything met our expectations Excellent food, fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything met our expectations Excellent food, fantastic views & the ultimate rating is that we will be returning to this venue again this year..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    A lovely, regular break for us, we’ll be back year after year.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We both had upset stomachs on returning home. Possibly the mussels in the restaurant. It happens with fresh seafood.

    A great pub, in the most perfect location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful location, great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms too hot Piped local radio that included annoying adverts and on the Saturday night we had endure clubbing music which was highly inappropriate

    Stunning views from the rooms Good pub food Good value

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing and exciting experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Prefer in room 2 comfortable chairs to sit in--and walk in shower--not clambering in bath to shower

    The location--excellent food quality and quantity--staff all very helpful and engaged

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    It's definitely worth to visit this place. The nature is stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had room 2 and it was quite small room, nothing like on the picture. I could hear everything from the other room. The wifi didn't work most of the time and there was no hairdryer in the room.

    Viewing, breakfast and food is brilliant. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    A North Cornish gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic to fall asleep to the sound of the Atlantic a stones throw from our window, very friendly accommodating staff, great food and amazing views. The perfect retreat after a hard days walking on the spectacular North Cornish coastline!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent place for coeliacs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    It was just perfect - stunning location, lovely (if small) room and all the staff were so friendly and helpful, often asking if we were Ok and everything was to our satisfaction. We returned for lunch with the children and grandchildren during the week. My daughter has coeliac disease. Here, she had a wide choice of gluten free options and declared that the lobster burger and chips that she chose was the best meal she'd eaten in years! The night we stayed over, we had a seafood platter each, which was way too big for one person but delicious and then on our second visit I had the monkfish noodle soup, which had the most wonderful flavour and a generous amount of seafood. I would wholeheartedly recommend this place!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even for High season, £145 a night for a room over a pub is expensive. Room was well appointed but not in that price bracket

    Location... overlooks the sea, 50 yards away... dramatic location, no passing traffic

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.3
    Location, location, location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and expensive for the size. Rooms very close to each other not great with noisy neighbours.

    All about the location. Perfect for what we wanted, as close to the sea as possible to get. Beautiful sunsets. Plenty of places to walk. Friendly staff. Varied menu and short walking distance to another pub as an alternative. Slightly longer walk (or short drive) to other villages.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.2
    Sensational views and great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car is a must to get to hotel but absolutely worth it as the bay is beautiful and the views from the hotel rooms and terrace are fantastic. The sunset is amazing. Clean and comfortable rooms with all the amenities you need. Could hear the sound of the waves in the bay from the room. Good selection of beers and wines and the food was great. Fresh fish and seafood platters with reasonable choices if you don't like seafood. Friendly staff who were very welcoming. Would highly recommend and would most definitely stay again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Port William Inn is a real hidden gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the pub below the rooms was nice but not xtraordinary.

    The bed was super comfy. Amazing view from room window. The staff were all lovely and the location is perfect for sightseeing, hiking, swimmers, or whatever.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic location with stunning sea views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms had paper thin walls which meant you could hear everything. It would put me off staying there again, remember to take ear plugs!

    Location amazing and the staff really friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.8
    Short Stay at Port William
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a dislike but a suggestion - a small fridge in the room would be useful.

    The staff were so wonderfully welcoming, friendly and helpful - nothing was difficult even arriving during a very busy time when heaps of people were enjoying their drinks and meals in the early evening sunshine. I had a scrummy supper of lobster salad and rose wine that evening to round off my day. My room (1) had a lovely view over the Trebarwith Strand cove, the bed was wonderfully comfortable, and there was plenty of room for the dog beds too. Early the next morning the dogs and I set off in warm sunshine across the rocks (the tide was well in) and headed along the footpath over the cliffs, we ended up walking to a tiny village of Treknow up on the hill and then headed back to Port William for a super breakfast. It was an ideal place to stay for a wedding just up the road at The Mill House. The tide was out when we first arrived and it was super seeing the sand full of families and dogs enjoying themselves on a summer's afternoon.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    The Cornish smoked haddock breakfast was absolutely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's only a small thing, but it would be nice to have breakfast available a little earlier than 8:30am. When you wake up at 6:30, it seems like quite a long wait for coffee and food.

    The Cornish smoked haddock breakfast was absolutely delicious. The shower was spacious and the water was nice and hot. There are beautiful walks in every direction from the hotel, so no need to have a car or drive anywhere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.6
    Its all about the lcoation - stunning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room 8 has an unfortunate problem in that it is directly situated over a cellar cooling unit which goes on and off through the day and up to 10:30 at night with a loud rumbling noise and vibration which completely destroys the peace and tranquility (and sleep if you hit the sack early!). The management are aware of this, but this we should have been made aware of this on booking or check in. Also as mentioned its the only room without a sea view. Also despite the bathroom having all fantastic new fittings the hot water pressure is so low that the rain shower head produces a trickle of water

    Location, Location, Location! This place has stunning views and is so peaceful and tranquil. The staff are very helpful and especially a young lady called Sophie who was an absolute star and took care of our every needs, a real bonus to the business. We stayed in room 8 which is the only room without a full sea view, but none the less was very comfortable and recently upgraded with new bathroom fittings, new carpet and a wonderful 4 poster bed. Breakfast was Ok, nothing special but they will prepare anything you request. We ate every night (3) in the restaurant, good choice and enormous portions, good value as well.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Great little haven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very squeaky and I feel that the staff could advise customers when ordering food to collect their cutlery when eating outside when they place their order

    All good was delicious fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    10
    LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!!! We could only have got closer to the sea if we paddled in it! :))
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For us on our visit ... nothing

    LOCATION!!! We could only have got closer to the sea if we paddled! :)) Very comfy room and bed. Bathroom recently refitted new so great and also all rooms either have been or are in the process of being refurbished. Good choice of meals on the menu.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    10
    Atlantic with 5* Comforts.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable, warm, cosy. Fantastic view across the Atlantic. Dinner and Breakfast was more than perfect. Great stay, and dog friendly. Will be back for sure. Thank you.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    10
    Nice weekend, lovely sea views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Getting into car park is a bit fiddly but no problem. Think it could be really busy in the summer

    Fantastic location above the sea.Dramatic coastal views. great beer and food. staff friendly and helpful. very nice room, good shower. altogether a lovely weekend

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    10
    Excellent stay in this cosy hideaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we liked absolutely everything about this hotel. The staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. Location was great and the food and wine excellent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.2
    Fantastic position and overall a warm welcome and comfortable stay for great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soft seating in bar area could have been better and would have liked more access to fire. Parking was tight but we got in ok.

    Room decor, breakfast layout, fantastic position, food, fish in tank ! Made us laugh that it was pitch black outside and staff asked if we wanted a table with a view !

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    7.9
    Fantastic location on coast and comfortable rooms if a little on the small side.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls in the bedrooms meant we could hear other guests clearly

    Superb location and friendly staff. Bar and eating areas very nice and outside areas were great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    10
    Everything the location was spectacular the staff so...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything the location was spectacular the staff so friendly, they made you feel so welcome. Service was prompt and the room was warm bright, a wonderful relaxing break.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    7.5
    Dog's Holiday !
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The menu, including " specials ",is either fish or pricey steaks.There ought to be further options such as pies,chillies or currys. Cannot however fault the quality nor quantity.

    Situation is fantastic & the dog loves it.Will be back next year,assuming the dog makes it for our 20th year in succession !

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    9.6
    Spectacular aspect and well managed inn
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at a number of other hotels and inns on our holiday and of them all found this one hard to come up with a negative.

    Really liked the location and room we were given, beautiful views and the sound of the waves crashing into the shoreline were relaxing to the point of therapeutic.All the staff were pleasant, helpful and professional which speaks volumes to the way the place is being managed.The rooms have an airy feel to them, as said before views are spectacular, pub is quaint and restaurant/breakfast area modern and clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    8.3
    Amazing location in any weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No mobile phone network and our room was quite small.

    Lovely historical pub set in a beautiful Cornish cove. Fantastic sea views from our room and the restaurant. Staff always friendly and obliging.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    Stunning location with clean and modern rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is a bit hairy! Inn Guests are able to park on site however you need to turn in a turning circle to be able to drive up the side of the building to park. When we arrived we had pub guests that had not realised that the parking was for hotel guests only and we had to reverse down the drive so they could get out one by one and use the turning circle before we could go up the drive. Still, it is on site so that is good!

    The location is what makes this inn so fabulous. You are right on the edge of the cliff with a fantastic view. The pub has been done well with lovely dark wood and stone. We didn't eat there but the food looked good. The rooms and the breakfast area are modern and clean and there is a lovely fireplace in the breakfast area as well as glass full length Windows to further enjoy the view. The girl that showed us to our room was friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    9.2
    Great hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little and sometimes no internet connection. No mobile calls / signal although there is a pay phone. We had to give hotel number to elderly relatives in case of emergency. No mention of this at the time of booking. Due to tides, the beach is only available mid afternoon. We had hoped for an early morning swim and to be able to sit on beach of an evening and watch sun go down. No ones fault but photo on booking.com showed beach so we assumed it was there.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Food excellent. Room very clean and comfortable with super sea views. Car park very small but always someone around to help you park. Hotel is very rural with only half a dozen other houses.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    8.3
    Rugged beauty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and clean. Location is amazing lanes a little small on the way to the hotel but rugged and amazing when you get there! The sea crashes against the rocks and is mesmerising to watch. Breakfast very nice just a very pleasant stay sad to leave...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    7.1
    short break of one night only and that was enough for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floor in the bedroom was sloped as the building is old, but that meant our feet were a lot higher when in bed than our heads, it was most uncomfortable. also doggy smell in the room

    The views from the hotel and the food was ok

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    9.2
    Mixed views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the single track road into and out of the hotel, also bad car parking for residents

    Scenery was fantastic, hotel was lovely and comfortable,

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    9.6
    Well worth a visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were so friendly, it was lovely to be welcomed so personally. We also changed our arrangements for dinner which were not a problem at all. A great pub in a beautiful location, you'll struggle to stay closer to the coast!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Went as a special treat for my Birthday, couldn't fault the place, lovely view from the rooms, clean, really friendly staff, felt very welcome, great food, good variety,would recommend booking a table for dinner as did get very busy in the evenings but with good reason!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    9.6
    Amazing place, stunning views, great staff and facilities what more could you want
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The best breakfast I have had in a long time, staff were very helpful and friendly. Really dog friendly, our 2 westies loved it. Views were amazing and the sound of the waves crashing was a great sound to wake up to.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    8.8
    Pleasant Surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out of way location with a warm relaxing atmosphere.The view from the Inn is First class.The staff while busy are helpful and courtesy.The menu offers a variety in selection and tasty.The bar is extensive with beer and wine.The prices reasonable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    10
    Amazing, we will be returning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all to dislike!!

    I loved everything about the Port William Inn. Our room was lovely, clean, bright, modern and spacious. The food was fantastic with a great choice and you can eat inside or outside, right on the edge of the cove looking at the sea. The sun sets beautifully and can be seen from the large restaurant windows while you're eating, The owner and staff were friendly and helpful and the atmosphere is extremely relaxing, we will definitely return but for longer next time.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful location and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Really warm reception from the staff. We were early checking in but the staff were incredibly accommodating and we sat and had a drink while they prepared the room. The restaurant is great. Everything we ate there was made with high quality ingredients and was wonderful. Superb location and amazing views.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    8.8
    Best view in Cornwall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    carpet in bedroom needed replacing very limited vegetarian menu

    Small but comfy beds, nice bedding. Great bar staff who tried hard to find me a vegetarian meal - especially 'Cid'

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Location, good food and warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, good food and warm welcome. Great views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Perfect spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A perfect location. The staff were all friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable and the food, both dinner and breakfast, was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Would recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location, nice team running the hotel who look after the residents.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dogs on the tables and seats eating

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite ecpensive

    Stunning location. Friendly staff. Lovely food. A special place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfect short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.it was perfect.

    Location, atmosphere, helpful staff, friendly, room sound proofing. Amazed we could you hear the bar. Perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Port William Inn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: