Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Potters Heron Hotel 3 stars

Ampfield, Romsey, SO51 9ZF, United Kingdom

#7 of 11 hotels in Romsey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 956 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is still being renovated after a fire, so the front is covered. The rooms are a little tired but not bad for the price. No biscuits!

    The staff were especially helpful and friendly. Dinner was good. Lovely big bed. Pleasant location - nice and leafy. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked on Booking.com I definitely ticked the box for “twin room” but the hotel apparently did not get that information - I had to tell them I needed a twin rather than a double. Which was stressful - advance booking the kind of room that I want should be less hassle-free. It was probably Booking.com’s fault though.

    Fabulous ground floor twin room with a nice little private patio where we could sit out looking at trees across green grass.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite the awful fire they had earlier in the year and the impact it has made on the look of the property Iwe felt that they had gone to extraordinary lengths to make the rest of the hotel look lovely and went out of their way to make comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The inside of the hotel was tired, needed refurbishment throughout, the grass needed cutting and the shrubbery needed cutting back and tiding up. The window frames in the restaurant were rotten . The restaurant was expensive for what meals there were, and the breakfast limited items.

    The rooms were of a decent size with a small patio and two chairs. The staff were very helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the front of the building was in renovation due to fire

    surroundings, the restaurant has a nice garden view, friendly staff, nice big room, good size TV, we were offered free drinks to compensate the partially burnt front side of the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was very tired looking, outside door to patio area hard to lock, no net curtains on windows had to close curtains for privacy.Rooms in need of a makeover.

    breakfast was very good. free first drink at the bar. nice venue for a wedding reception and you didn't have to go to far to get back to your room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We thought dinner & breakfast was a little expensive, but it was nice food.

    Nice location, quite,.lovely staff, good sized room, good breakfast, nicely decorated restaurant nice reception lounge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room very clean, bed really comfortable and facilities very good. The breakfast was excellent with loads of choice, good quality food and very hot. I would definitely recommend this hotel AND it's dog friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed had A Very bed smell. Like Some hangover Guy slept in it the night before. Breakfast was not really satisfying. No real coffee but instant coffee. At night there was A wedding party with A lot of noise. For the rest it was okay.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom could have done with a bit of refurbishment and the shower head was a bit unreliable. Considering the recent fir the hotel seems to be coping very well.

    Didn't eat at the hotel. Room and bed were fine as were all the staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front part of the hotel with thatched roof was badly burnt a few months ago but the hotel is still working. Not quite as good as the past but they are working on it - well done

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to fire hotel had been altered so not as we first thought with photos on line showing how it should have looked Plumbing in room was noisy you could hear when the next rooms flushed their toilets and ran the water not good in middle of night Coach party Saturday/Sunday very noisy spoilt our meal on both evenings also Monday they had eaten most of the breakfast and we were told the hotel had run out of some of the selections and was hoping to get a delivery in that day not much good for my breakfast that morning

    Staff friendly and polite Quiet location Clean and tidy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was fine seeming they were working with only half the pub inhabitable. The breakfast was a nice small buffet affair. The sausages were particularly nice. It would have been nice to see the whole establishment, but that will have to wait till after the repairs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Booking.com website didn't point out that there had been a major fire at the Hotel in March. It was quite a shock on arrival to see the state of the Hotel. However it didn't affect the accommodation which was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially television not working in room, reception promptly came and tried and then arranged a guy to come around, the appliance started working The reception gentleman kindly offered a complimentary breakfast which was amazing for the trouble would definitely recommend,,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't like shower curtains.

    Considering the recent fire the Hotel staff have done very well to get back to the high standards they usually deliver. Very comfortable bed. All areas are kept very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We ate in the restaurant and were very disappointed in the food. The fish and chips came so fast it must have been pre-cooked. The hake was dry, the batter soggy inside. I wanted the red snapper but not with the chorizo and bean ragout, but was told the fish would be dry without it. Chef clearly unwilling to adjust menu.

    The property recently had a fire and from the outside it looks poor - the lovely thatch roof is gone. But to compensate for this we were given vouchers fior a free drink at the bar - an unexpected pleasure!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Humming noise ruined our first night of 2 nights. Sounded like a permanent extractor fan on. After trying and failing to sleep, at 3.30am I called the reception to investigate the source of the noise. I was offered a new room which was definitely quieter. My fiancé was also moved to a new room, but had to move again as he could still hear the hum in the 2nd room. Apologies were made and we were offered free vouchers to use in the Bar. A refund for the first night would have been more generous. If not for the noise, it would have been ok. But that put a real damper on the 2 day break, sadly. But well done to brilliant staff for doing their best to rectify the problem. For breakfast- no lacto-free or gluten -free milk or bread. That would have been a thoughtful option.

    Good location for visit to Winchester, clean well equipped rooms with toiletries, excellent range of tea/ coffee, water and biscuits Free Parking, excellent wifi Friendly, helpful staff at reception, restaurant and bar. 24/7 service by staff Good selection of breakfast including healthy options of fruit and muesli

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property has suffered a fire and as such is missing a large part of the social area, this has impacted on the relaxation area ( pub section) we were not informed prior to our stay and arrived at the property extremely shocked, there was no offer of discount or the opportunity to cancel.

    The property obviously has been lovely and the potential to be excellent again, some of the rooms and facilities are looking worn and tired and are in need of updating

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surprised you asked for survey as second night hotel caught fire and had to find new hotel staff very good plus firefighters recovered all our clothes which we collected following week find it unfair to rate hotel but as we all got out safe thanks to staff

    Breakfast needs improvement rooms great staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant was very average. I had the pigs in blankets starter and it was awful! 6 Cheap sausages and deep Fried... yuk

    Peaceful and comfortable room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could have been cleaner, there was dust on the kettle and complimentary bottles of water. The bathroom sink area was chipped, the bathtub had some black bits on it. Can't think what from?? One of the glasses had something stuck to it. The TV remote was a little sticky on the back, but smelt of furniture polish, so it had been wiped. Just missed a few things.

    The reception person was very friendly and helpful. The hotel had recently had a fire and the bar/ restaurant area had been moved to a very large light attractive room, we were given 2 free drink tokens for the inconvenience. The room was spacious, we were on the ground floor and our room had a backdoor leading out to the garden and there were outdoor chairs assigned to the room, which isn't usual in the Uk and a novelty for us. The bed was comfortable, 2 pillows provided, a little full for my taste but otherwise very comfortable. Full English buffet breakfast available, and a large area to sit and drink coffee, tea in the lounge area. Free Parking and well situated for Eastleigh.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little old. Horrible bath. Water stains on tiles. Cooked Breakfast was dry. Restaurant too expensive.

    Bed was really big & comfy. Room was modern, lovely view. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom bit dated. Balcony very scruffy. It needs some renovation..

    Food, room, staff. Great shame about fire but steps taken to overcome damage & create temporary facilities are very good & don’t detract from overall comfort.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room felt insecure, it had a very flimsy glass door and window considering it was a ground floor room. Noticeable corridor noise

    Bed was comfier than expected. Cooked to order breakfast a bonus and good quality, and staff all pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower in our bathroom had hardly any water pressure, it was difficult to wash the soap off

    the hotel was nice and the staff very friendly and helpful, both evening meal and breakfast were good, our bed room was warm and clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service can’t manage a sandwich after 5pm Only choices are full meal or a starter off restaurant menu. If I wanted that I would go to the restaurant

    Staff friendly and generally helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its was slightly cold in the room, but an additional heater was supplied.

    Loved my room. Great bed & amazing shower. Comfortable desk to do my work from. The room had its own little garden and back door. Would be idle during a summer visit for relaxing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very tired

    The bedroom was fine with huge double bed, which was very comfortable and plenty of cupboard space. We had to change rooms due to the bathroom tap not turning off and it was handles efficiently by tne staff. The breakfast was average and found the food cold due to other guests leaving the food storage open. The coffee was very bitter and the selection of fruit/yoghurt was poor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was 6 nations week end and the hotel has a tv lounge by a bar but were not allowed to show sport? In the absence of any other facilities, pool etc, it was drink in the main bar or confind to your room. We never realised we had to pay extra for breakfast which was chaos from start to finish. To top it all it cost us £110 pounds for the privilege.

    The room was very nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a King size bed or Twin beds with a walk in shower ,and thought that was what we had been given , but unfortunately the only walk in shower in the Hotel came with a small room and one double bed . Which we had to accept as we needed to be near the Nuffield Hospital the next day. The twin room we were offered and shown was bigger but had a bath with shower over which could have been ok , but the grouting was going mouldy , and there was also a musty smell in the room , and mould round the window frames . My husband has a Lung condition , and could not tolerate that. Easy to remedy with a bit of elbow grease!. Due to our disability and health problems we ordered room service one evening , and were very disappointed with the menu and standard of the meal . My fish and chips was just like a Birds Eye heat in the oven portion and the Chips were cold . There was no cloche over the top of the meal to try and retain the heat . However we did not have to wait long for the meal to come . We did not need to have breakfast ,but we considered it expensive . Perhaps a smaller cheaper cooked breakfast could be offered for smaller appetites . The second day when we looked at the clean towels provided , one of the towels had black marks on them ( mascara? ) The shower also needed the grouting deep cleaned ! There was a large hole in the corridor carpet outside our room. All things considered we would not go back again . Which is a shame as it is generally a nice property.

    The bed was very comfortable ( but too small) . The location was perfect for our purpose The staff were very nice and polite , eager to please .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect

    The room was a great size and very clean. The food was fantastic and great value for money. I will most certainly be staying here again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was getting tried. Carpet stained and looked dirty although it had been hoovered. Bathroom tiles were loose and paintwork badly marked.

    The staff were friendly.breakfast was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would prefer a more modern shower as the shower heads being so high and rigid is less enjoyable to use.

    It was simple with no hastle and the food options were great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit of soundproofing between rooms wouldn't go amiss; there were times it felt like I was sharing the room with assorted strangers.

    Although the room leant towards the old fashioned, it was pleasant enough with an extremely comfortable bed. They serve well kept real ale and excellent sandwiches (albeit the barman had to be convinced that they were available). Annnnd the full breakfast was freshly cooked instead of buffet style. Bonus point awarded.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly there was a temporary problem work part of the roof and subsequent repair work taking place within the foyer area... but hopefully all will be resolved for our next stay.

    A lovely setting with easy access to the main road to get in/out of Southampton.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Potters Heron Hotel is incredibly comfortable and very pretty. The staff were friendly and helpful and the facilities are great. I look forward to staying here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the hotel was clean, it's old and it needs attention. The public rooms are ok, but thread bare carpets! Bedrooms need painting and the toilets don't flush well. The hotels is built on sloping ground, consequently there are changes in floor levels. One cannot move around from and to reception, bedrooms, bar and dining without climing or desending 4 or 5 steps.

    Excellent staff and service. Very accommodating. Great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was rather worn out and needs refreshing. (Black / yellow grouting around tiles and chips in floor.)

    Generally the hotel, room, staff and restaurant were very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom decoration was tired and the en-suite fitments were tatty and needed replacing. The carpet in the corridor leading to our room was torn. The evening meal was disappointing as the two starters we had selected were unavailable and the roast vegetable salad with barley, my wife chose, contained virtually no roast vegetables. It was mainly barley with some halved unroasted green cherry tomatoes.

    The location was convenient for us. The bar & restaurant areas were pleasant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in need of a bit of updating. Although clean it is a bit tired looking in some areas.

    Nice atmosphere. Good breakfast and good value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise transfer from other rooms - not unusual in uk as non beam and block (conCrete)

    Asked if there was any porridge and was made some freshly as there wasn't !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom carpet terrible lumpy. Silicone around bath dreadful. Access slope very slippery with mud and moss.

    Guinea fowl delicious. ‘Mature’Waitress at breakfast and lunch wonderful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite cold when I arrived and took a while to warm up although there was an extra heater which was good. The bathroom desperately needs up dating it was very old and well used!

    The room was really nice and a good size, good amenities in the room. Powerful Shower. Really nice quite location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was shabby. The bathroom was a bit grubby, the toilet was difficult to flush. One of the twin beds needs a new mattress. Very saggy in the middle.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food - poor quality. Food in restaurant over processed and tasteless, expensive for what it was and portions very small, particularly pasta dishes.

    Location. The bathroom was a little tired. Bedroom good. Staff good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mud and water around the grassed area which was not well paved. Had to walk on slippery ground to access the car park.

    Liked the breakfasts and that we could take our dog with us into most meals. Also good to have the patio and the grassy area easily accessible.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not to do with hotel but if you go out getting a taxi back is a nightmare after 11pm

    Beautiful Christmas decorations. breakfast was very fresh and plentiful. Nothing was to much trouble for staff after breakfast they got us 10 seats in bar so we could all give our son his 30th birthday gifts.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ensuite were a little tired and dated, black mould/mildew around taps and in gout on walls and floor needs addressing.

    Very comfy bed excellent night sleep, very friendly and helpful staff, nothing was to much trouble especially Caroline and Adi.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    one of our rooms was not cleaned to a very good standard. The bathroom was Very poor. Hairs in the bath dirty tiles. Something left under the bed.

    Good location. Nice and warm on a cold night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    Ideal location for the site I was working on for business. Friendly staff & nice evening meal in the restaurant. Comfortable bed, room very warm which was welcome as I had been working outside all day in the rain and cold! Additionally nice refreshing shower plenty of hot water. Definitely would stay again if I was in the area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    terrace didn't have an ashtray, would've preferred tv to be wall mounted and a bit bigger but not a big issue, would've liked to see more variety on food menu although food was great.

    staff were extremely friendly, beds were very comfy, food was very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was chilly when we got there and took a while to warm up. the shower had little power

    the room was large. hotel looked great . very nice looking bar/ dining area

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fried eggs were passable but sadly not cooked enough (clear albumen on top of yolk); rooms really do need a lick of paint (esp on balcony) and double glazing as quite cold if your bed is window-side; the general decor throughout the hotel could do with a spruce up esp painting of skirting boards and the bathroom in room needs updating.

    Staff always very friendly and helpful and bar well stocked. Great for parking too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough towels in the bathroom as there were two people and only one large bath towel. Food in the restaurant was very limeted for vegans and vegetariens.

    Plenty of space for the bedroom, light and airy with the sunshining th3ough the window in the morning made it very warm and cosy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were accommodated in a newly refurbished section of the hotel, and it was extremely comfortable. We were able to have the breakfast, and it was well presented, with plenty of choice, including fresh fruit. The staff did listen to our queries and acted appropriately.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the public areas were looking a little past their best, and perhaps approaching the point where some attention was needed. Our room had a balcony, but the view wasn't great, and the wooden floor outside didn't appear to be in great condition. The patio door out onto the balcony had condensation inside it every morning. Whilst we were very happy with the room and the facilities, it was probably ready for a little maintenance.

    The hotel was easy enough to find, and the outside of the building looked lovely, with lots of parking. We found the staff very friendly and helpful, and the hotel had a pleasant and relaxed atmosphere. Our en-suite room was a good size, with a big bed, wardrobe, chairs, and writing desk with large TV. We had tea/coffee making facilities, and the bathroom was supplied with toiletries. WiFi worked fine. We enjoyed the breakfast - the cooked option was buffet-style, but the quality was very good. Lots of other choices and options were available. We also had lunch here on one occasion, and found it equally as good as breakfast. Overall a very pleasant and relaxing experience, and would be happy to stay again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    New air conditioner loud at certain times e.g. 7.30am restaurant was very good last visit this time only fair cleaner very keen polishing and dusting tables next to us while having breakfast if you want to use bar for breakfast keep cleaners out till breakfast finished

    Large comfy bed clean room nice bar friendly staff ideal for shopping in Southampton

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the night of our stay everything was great

    We required a hotel near Winchester and found this hotel to be fantastic , lovely decoration restaurant & bar and comfortable clean nicely furnished rooms. Great value too and staff friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little outdated but very clean & did not interfere with our stay

    Very friendly professional staff, exceptional food (breakfast & dinner were excellent) Good gluten free options, very comfortable room & a good base! We drove to Portsmouth & Winchester which was very close.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality food in restaurant, staff seemed very keen to get you through the meal and out

    Comfortable rooms, nice to have direct access to garden. Not a traditional pub as pictures would suggest, more a conference venue.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only complaint was in connection with the bar area. We had a drink there before going out to visit relatives. Unfortunately a crowd of people arrived at the bar and they had two small children who ran around screaming. This went on for sometime and no attempt was made by the staff to ask them to move to an other area of the hotel, particularly as they nearly knocked a member of staff over who was carrying drinks.

    Room was comfortable. Nice large bed. Good view over garden.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The verandahs looked a bit tired. Could do with some attention in time.

    Convenient clean and comfortable hotel for a family visit to nearby Romsey. A car is essential. Parking was right outside the door. Perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For some reason the chef could not cook a poached egg they always came out as boiled egg also you count the baked beans on your plate

    Staff were very friendly not overpowering but there if you needed them

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms bathrooms and bedroom corridor areas are in need of updating and upgrading. Breakfast was ok but the buffet was spread out all over the bar area a we all had difficulty in locating what we wanted.

    The bar and lounge area was good comfortable and stylish

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. The only thing is the choices of food on the menu. Limited it was but still very tasty. Thank you

    Was all very nice. Good surroundings. Good staff. Happy atmosphere. Good accommodation. All very good indeed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need a car to get around.

    Good sized room, peaceful area, very nice breakfast with a good selection, and the restaurant also serves excellent food at dinner. The staff were very helpful - even serving us drinks once the bar had officially closed! The hotel is cosy and friendly. I would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities in the bedroom were a little dated.

    Very friendly staff. They made the whole stay a 'seamless' experience which is great for switching off from the hussle bussle of work. Great Food (particularly the full English) at value for money prices.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel room was tired although very clean. The food was very poor. The kitchen staff or products let this place down. Real shame

    Staff were excellent. Polite, well mannered and very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom small and rather datet; shower spray not very powerful.

    Unfortunately no lift. Our room was on the first floor with a huge container outside our window, which blocked our view. We asked for a room change and were given one on the groundfloor, looking out on nice woodlands.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very overpriced and underwhelming food. Expensive drinks. Breakfast did not start till 7am which is useless when I had to leave early for work.

    Clean and comfy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    the position for us is perfect, quiet location ample parking, a short drive to Southampton and docks, hotel and bar area large and well laid out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was all great. Really enjoyed our stay and wished it could have been for longer!

    Lovely bedroom! The hotel has an individual atmosphere and made a great change from the chain hotels of a similar price and quality.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maitre d refused to find a single table for my first night dinner so had to walk half a mile to a pub to find alternate food

    Quietness and when I did have an evening with dinner it was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couple of glitches with the hotel's computer system that we had to go back to Reception to sort out. (The bar didn't recognise that we had pre-authorised payment for incidentals, and our booking for breakfast wasn't transferred to the restaurant.)

    Restaurant staff all very friendly, and worked effectively as a team.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Potters Heron Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: