Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Powdermills Country House Hotel 3 stars

Powdermill Lane, Battle, TN33 0SP, United Kingdom

#3 of 8 hotels in Battle

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 363 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    very enjoyable stay at the Powdermills hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very noisy. Every time you moved it creeked very loudly. Unfortunately I forgot to mention this to staff before leaving.

    Everything was excellent apart from the noisy bed. My wife had trouble climbing the stairs to our room on arrival but the receptionist said she would see if a ground floor room was available. She said an executive double was available and we could have it at no extra charge. The room was superb.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Enjoyed my stay very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where bathroom has had new tiles the ceiling wasn’t re painted and a damp patch on ceiling. Breakfast was nice but could be better if served at your table and kept warm by self service. This could easily be a 4 star by just a few improvements

    The bed was really comfortable and the room was nice and clean. Nice to be able to make tea or coffee in room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.8
    Great location and idyllic scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit tired, and requiring some TLC. The room was nice but needed a good spring clean and freshening up. Not what you would expect for a room at this price.

    Great location and idyllic scenery

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Enjoyed our one night stay, and would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was brilliant, very quiet, and the grounds were excellent. We walked around the large lake which on a sunny day which it was, was very relaxing and peaceful. All in all, I would say more a 4 star rating than a 3. The staff were all very polite and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    total relaxation in a stunning setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stood one evening at a bar for a drink.nobody there so didnt get one.

    Location was stunning.staff at breakfast were so welcoming.a lovely man and lady.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Wonderfully pleasant experience - perfect for a romantic getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - everything was perfectly relaxing.

    We loved our hotel room. It was interesting to walk up 2 flights of stairs, to get to the bedroom, and then to open the patio doors onto a ground floor decked patio area - over looking a huge beautiful lake and extremely well maintained gardens/grounds. The breakfast was exemplary. We can not comment on the quality of the restaurant meals, however our companions stayed an extra night and said the restaurant was "incredible"

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Had a fantastic stay, felt special and thought it very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We think it could’ve been a little better had there been either air con or fans in the rooms for the hot nights and later dining times.

    We liked the location and the grounds around the hotel with the lakes was beautiful, felt nice a posh without being too posh, nice and quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    A lovely relaxing, peaceful couple of days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasnt anything to dislike we have stayed before on several occassions.

    Excellent Hotel, in lovely surroundings, rooms big & comfortable, staff friendly & very helpful. Food delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    Loved our stay, so did our dog!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Point of approvement might be the atmosphere in the main restaurant. Positive with dog is that you get a very nice location in the bar area, actually an even nicer place than the main restaurant.

    Absolutely top location if you are travelling with your dog. Very pet friendly hotel en direct walking possibilities around the lake on own property. Staff very friendly, good food and nice location for outside drinks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Location and setting was beautiful.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location and setting was beautiful. Staff extremely helpful, allowed us to park car early even though we couldn't check in. Room was lovely, very comfortable, like staying in a home rather than a hotel. Breakfast was plentiful and very good, again in a beautiful setting

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Outstanding hotel in glorious surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing! Almost perfect.... a very small addition would be to provide fresh fruit in the rooms perhaps?

    Absolutely loved this hotel, and I am quite picky, as I often have to stay away from home for work. The hotel is in an idyllic location, surrounded by lakes, and close to the historic town of Battle. My room was beautifully equipped and extremely comfortable; I felt that real thought and care had been given to what guests would want, so in addition to the usual tea and coffee making facilities there was an ironing board provided and everything was best quality. The food was superb - I had the best meal in the Orangery restaurant that I have eaten for a long time. Staff were friendly and helpful but not intrusive. Breakfast (often a bit scant in many hotels) was again outstanding, with lots of fresh produce and fruit as well as an excellent full English. And the chef even got the tomatoes right! - (my pet bugbear, I detest bland, under-cooked beef tomatoes!) All in all, a great stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely stay for a perfect wedding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water temperature didn't stay stable in the shower. Fairly expensive room.

    Beautiful wedding venue. Incredible surroundings and grounds. Good sized room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    We had a good time staying at this lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything that we didn’t like!

    Our first impressions were wow! The grounds are lovely and well kept From checking in to departing was great. Breakfast and dinner was very good and the staff were very pleasant. Would certainly return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Well worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No concessions for children, they get charged full price. No children's menu. The fine dinning had some strange mixtures and I wouldn't put certain things together. Also what was served with a starter shouldn't be served with the dessert in my opinion. Hairdryer in the room, is one of those horrible things in the bathroom that you have no control over. Rooms were extremely hot.

    Quaint, quirky hotel in the most beautiful setting. Very friendly and helpful staff who couldn't do enough for you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only down side was the swimming pool, could have done with a clean.

    the grounds were absolutely fabulous, even the peacock (George) was putting on his display for us. the food was great. Our room was lovely (a four poster bed) we was not expecting that.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    A pleasant friendly hotel in a great location, with wonderful views.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Front door to room was difficult to lock and unlock . Also entrance area to door was a little untidy.

    Very comfortable bed and delicious breakfast. All set in beautiful landscape surroundings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Overall a pleasant stay . And a lovely surprise to have a upgrade to our room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No atmosphere in the Bar area .. not even a hint of music in the background.. and very slow sevice Wasn’t enough sure if it was open on a sunny evening at 7.30 pm ... it all felt a bit awkward at times .

    Beautiful location.. very friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Very relaxing. Would love to go more often.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying £12.50 for a bottle of water at dinner. Paying £4 for a small bowl of nuts and a small bowl of crisps was also £4!

    Lovely reception staff. Very helpful. Lovely restaurant staff & food. Love the wildlife and got some great photos. Love this place so much.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Very relaxing in a lovely setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 6 was lovely looking with a four poster bed. But the heating was broken and it was cold when we arrived. To be fair, the staff did sort that out quickly when asked. The bed was so uncomfortable and the shower Was poor. The room needed some TLC to make it as comfortable as it 1st looked. The service at dinner was very slow and we and other guests had to remind them we needed serving!

    Beautiful setting with lovey grounds and lakes. Communal areas very nice, with lots of places to sit and relax. Great location and very relaxing. The resident peacock was beautiful! The food was very good, particularly breakfast! The staff serving breakfast couldn't have been more helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    It was amazing and well worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room was poor.

    Our room was spacious. We loved the 4 poster bed and being an end room with 2 sides of windows and a sofa to watch the tv, a sink each on the bathroom and the choice of a shower or a bath!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Exceptional place to stay, fabulous surroundings and excellent food!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing, just the above regarding the hoovering!!

    Everything all absolutely perfect! The only small criticism was that the room unfortunately wasn't hoovered properly but didn't effect our stay in the least, it is a lovely place, we are looking at getting married there in the near future and will definately be going back soon, a massive thank you to all the staff for a fabulous experience!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Great atmosphere, excellent food in the restaurant and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room noise insulation was sub-optimal especially unfortunately; hearing people use the stairs in the early hours - not good. We were woken at 6.20am on the Sunday which wasn't ideal.

    Great atmosphere, excellent food in the restaurant and generally loved the place!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    I would recommend this hotel if you have a dog as they are very accommodating. Willl stay again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were a bit thin so could hear people next door. No real problem. Shower not very powerful but again no real problem.

    We went for an overnight stay with our dog and the staff could not have been more friendly. Great walks around the property and into battle a mile away. We could not eat in the restaurant with the dog but a table was set up in the library for the evening meal and in the conservatory in the morning for breakfast .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Sorry to be picky re. the above but I count the days for my return to this FAB Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bathroom was a bit of a a let down it being very small and the width was further reduced by the edge of the bath being extended some six or seven inches by tiling making entry and exit to the bath a stretch. the fixed shower screen obstructed the taps and I had to get onto my knees to reach round it and put in the bath plug.

    The hotel and extensive grounds are quite unique ,a wonderland of relaxation and awe. Our room was large and with plenty of storage space for a family, despite there only being two of us. The comfort of the beds was beyond reproach and the room service, spot on it seemed to consist of invisible beings, no piles of bedding in the corridors, no knocking on doors, it just happened!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely place but not for light sleepers.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed mattress is too shallow for the frame. It needs a mattress that doesn't bend every time you want to get out of bed as it is quite painful. The duvet was very thick and for the weather we have had it was hard to sleep. The bathroom could do with a little update but overall it is not in a bad condition and it was clean, so no complaint there. The main problem for us was the noise from the room next to ours. It was a connecting room and we could hear every single word they spoke. The room was occupied by a family and kids singing very loud at 11pm was not the best thing to fall asleep to. Our room had beautiful curtains however they were not blackout curtains so I was woken up at 4.50am due to the sunrise. Again not a problem for a heavy sleeper but if you don't sleep very well with light and noise then I wouldn't stay there. The staff was lovely however they all seemed to be a little bit out of place. We were not quite sure what was happening but everything seemed to be a bit hectic and rushed. A very loud exchange of opinions about service charge and tips ( who gets some and who gets none and why) occurred between two members of staff during our dinner. We didn't sit in the main restaurant so we assumed that different rules apply for people being served at the restaurant table and the other tables. Also there seemed to be a miscommunication between kitchen and waiters and when we ordered our meals , the waitress said that it is not the dish that they serve and they do something instead. It turned out that the menu was changed and apparently she wasn't notified. Anyway the food was lovely so no issue there again. Just a small observation.

    The property is placed in probably one of the most beautiful settings I have ever seen. It is surrounded by lakes, trees and stone figurines. The building is beautiful and well preserved and it is probably the most picturesque wedding venue . We stayed at one of the Suites and the size of the room was great. The interior was beautiful and we had a huge balcony to sit on. Plenty of space in the bathroom and nice quality soap etc. The restaurant food was lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    So great planning to return very soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    The ground were spectacular The junior suite was amazing and loved the bathroom and also the very large bed Attention to detail of food and presentation The staff polite and welcoming My daughter is a fussy eater and staff helped with allowing her to put a meal together from all on offer on the menu so very personal

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    A great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been good to have a remote control in the room for the television.

    We had a wonderful stay in a lovely room and staff who were very friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay very pleasant. Thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Great place to stay, lovely country walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor service in the bar as it was not attended all the time. This would not have been a problem if there was a bell to ring. I had to go looking all the time

    Great place to stay, lovely country walks. Lots of lovely lakes but children be ware! Rooms were a bit tired but as it is an old property this did not distract from the stay. Had a really wonderful time, will hope to stay there again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    A lovely country house hotel experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very small thing - the hairdryer - just a "blower" on the wall. It would have been nice to have an actual hairdryer.

    From the minute we booked Powdermills Hotel with booking.com, we felt like valued customers. Any questions/requests were dealt with by return. We arrived early to the hotel (around 10am) and asked if we could store our cases in reception as we realised it was too early to check in (we were going to a local vineyard tour and had to be there by 11am), however, after a coffee in the lounge we were told our rooms were ready and we could check in. The receptionist then booked us a taxi and we went off for the day. The rooms were large, clean and very comfortable with lots of storage space, tea/coffee making facilities, bottles of water and luxury toiletries supplied - and big fluffy towels. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on dinner, however the breakfast was delicious. Our table was reserved for us and coffee/tea/toast brought to us, then there was a selection of juices, cereals, dried fruit, croissants etc to which we helped ourselves, followed by a hot breakfast buffet which was served. We were quite late down for breakfast (service was 8-10am and we arrived about 9.30) but the eggs were being freshly prepared and all the hot food (bacon, sausages, mushrooms) seemed very fresh and hot. In fact at one point very near the end of breakfast, the field mushrooms ran out and the kitchen had obviously cooked more - and the chap who was serving the breakfasts came round the tables with the extra mushrooms to ensure that anyone who wanted them, had them. The hot food was then cleared away but guests were left to help themselves to more juice/coffee/tea and pastries - and no one seemed to rush us out of the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely country house hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a long wait for our meal on the Friday and it was very expensive for the quality of the meal. We have stayed here before and the hotel owners seem to have decided to cut costs as the quality of the breakfast was not as good as before. Very difficult to get in and out of the bath.

    Lovely big room with a balcony overlooking the swimming pool. Plenty of space for us and our little dog. Dog bed provided. Good parking. Lovely setting .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    We had a lovely relaxing stay. The location was great for walking and hiking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel allow dogs to stay with guests. We had a room on a floor that had two dogs staying in rooms opposite. They must have met quite late in the evening in the corridor as we had to listen to quite loud barking. Possibly an idea would be to keep guests who do not bring their pets in a different area. Apart from that one thing the hotel, staff and facilities were fabulous and would stay again.

    The building and grounds were beautiful and historic and very peaceful The location was close to Battle High Street. Lots of parking at the hotel. The breakfast was varied and very nice. We did not stay for dinner but the menu looked very nice. The staff were attentive at Breakfast. The receptionist was charming and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service was not very good. Drinks not hot enough. Food orders wrong. Staff not friendly nor efficient. A bit of a contrast to the evening before.

    Beautiful location. Ideal for a family gathering. Nice to have our own little area for our celebration. Dinner was delicious and staff efficient and friendly and very accommodating. They catered for our every need with professionalism and efficiency.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    6.3
    Nice location, food ok hotel a little tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in an executive suite which was large, but tired. Overall, the hotel was a little stuck in the 80s.

    The food was generally pretty good, and the grounds were amazing - lots of walking and wildlife.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable, clean and friendly - beautiful hotel.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One or two very tiny things that my possibly over-critical mind didn't like - silverware used in dining room needed a good polish (perhaps they were going for the shabby-chic look!) and the gorgeous Orangery dining room really deserved its ivy plants being displayed in something a little more gracious than the brown utility pots they were bought in from the garden centre!

    Friendly and very helpful staff, beautiful accommodation, best shower we have found in any hotel or accommodation for many years! Plentiful breakfast with gluten free bread and non-dairy milk provided with no fuss.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    Really nice weekend relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner menu almost no choice for vegetarians. However chef made a mushroom risotto on request which was delicious They should have a jacuzzi and sauna !

    Lovely breakfast. Great staff. Pretty room. Lots of plugs !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable, would definately do a short stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the restaurant provided excellent food, superbly cooked. But it would have been nice to have the opportunity for a slightly plainer fare menu, made available, also there was only one veggie option.

    the hotel was very comfortable and we both enjoyed our stay. The room was adequate for our requirements. Breakfast was excellent. Mum and I also enjoyed the setting of the hotel with the nature reserve to stroll around after breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful place, great food, freezing cold
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was freezing. We asked for a heater and it didn’t come. We asked again and got a tiny ineffectual electric heater. On investigation, we found that one of the windows couldn’t close (ground floor so anyone could have got in). We complained and got a different room but no apology and it wasn’t very warm there either. Some staff had a poor standard of English and didn’t seem to grasp that an open window, in February & on the ground floor, is unacceptable. They didn’t even come and see if they thought it was cold. Their signs say if you have a problem tell us so we can resolve it, but they didn’t. It’s a good hotel but I’d only visit in the warmer months as the heating everywhere (restaurant, communal spaces) was inadequate.

    The food in the restaurant was outstanding. Lovely setting.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was cold even with the heating on but they supplied an extra heater but it was extreme weather at -11 so it couldnt be helped.

    The staff were amazing and the food was brilliant we loved everything about it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.8
    A lovely relaxing stay, with friendly staff, but the bed was a disappointment.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was rather uncomfortable which was a disappointment. Also no shower only a shower as part of the tap over the bath.

    The staff were friendly, and it was lovely taking our dog to breakfast and dinner with us . A table was set up in the bar area so we were able to have her with us. The food was good . The grounds were great to take the dog for an early morning and evening walk . We were ungraded to a junior suite so they was extra room for us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    Nice sized rooms with comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice sized rooms with comfortable bed. Tea, coffee and water in the room replenished daily. Resident peacock strolling through the grounds, pretty chap. Good food and excellent staff and service. Recommended if you’re in the area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.0
    On the whole very nice but needed a good nights sleep!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very nice and spacious but cold at night as the heating went off. The bed was very uncomfortable. We felt the room was a tbit tired as the curtains weren’t on the rail properly and the bathroom radiator was rusty.

    The staff were lovely and the food was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing not to like

    The character and charm of a country manor house blended with the modern facilities, the excellent service and friendly staff set in beautiful grounds. Lovely spacious bedrooms and very comfortable common areas. It felt like staying with friends in there beautiful country home.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    6.3
    Don't think I would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was disappointing and overpriced. There was also no option for different types of breakfast, such as full English or Continental. Six paying guests joined us for breakfast, of whom two were children and there was no reduced price for the children. They had to pay £17 for some cereal and a banana!

    Nice location and room was very pleasant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.5
    A lovely relaxing hotel in picturesque grounds, enjoy the peace and quiet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms centrally heated not air-conditioned but on the flip side and for once, the room wasn't too hot. If I'm really picky, no fridge for drinks etc.

    Lovely quiet hotel in picturesque grounds with open log fires and attentive staff, I imagine which ever room you are allocated you will have a lovely view of the grounds. We enjoyed dinner and breakfast, both to a high standard. We also ordered afternoon tea and sandwiches on arrival which we had uninterrupted and in a peaceful environment. We stayed during the Christmas party season but you would never know, a party of 200 where accommodated and not a sound (they have a function room away from the main hotel building). A nice quiet relaxing stay, just what we were looking for.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.2
    Overall wonderful stay and dinner and would definitely want to visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was particularly cold night and room was rather chilly (that said we were too tired to contact reception and may well be they could have easily rectified). We were too friends sharing a twin room and room was rather snug (about an inch separating the beds). Was a standard twin though so probably normal.

    Lovely place. Really welcoming and friendly staff. Food and service amazing! Lovely atmosphere. (walk in to log fire and lovely smell of wood fire).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    An Excellent Hotel Room & Restaurant! With Pleasant & Attentive Staff with As a Bonus!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no Minor negative issues that I had that I did not bring to the attention of the Hotel Staff

    An exceptional sized Double room with a'Bonus"Four Poster bed!.The Hotel was enormous with many rooms open for different purposes. I guess: Reading room,Music room & spacious Lounge to mention a few.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.9
    A nice location with good food, comfy beds and good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet in the bedroom could have done with a clean/wash, it didnt have dirt but was stained. Shower head was leaking, told them in the morning but only stayed one night so wasnt fussed. Tv signal was poor,they said it was the area and a tv guy was looking into it.

    Breakfast was execllent, buffet style with scrambled and fried eggs, sausages, mushrooms,bacon, beans and tomato. As much tea,coffee and toast with jams and marmalade as you like. Waitresses were smart and efficient and friendly. Nice surroundings with several lakes, resonably priced bar and good staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.8
    Not terrible, but wouldn’t go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all a bit tired - tiles in bathroom cracked and a little dusty/grimey, shower leaky and low powered, bathroom suite seriously 1980s (shell sinks anyone?!). Bedroom clean, but pillows flat and tired, mattress definitely old. Furnishings all a bit dated and dining area more than a touch ‘Fawlty Towers’ with a fake flower filled fountain centrepiece and dated pelmets, long wait for tea/coffee arriving towards the end of our buffet breakfast. View of an algae laden pool slightly off putting. Front door handle came off in my hand three times, witnessed it happening to others and reception laughingly said it keeps happening. So maybe fix it? Could be a really stunning place, but seriously lagging behind current hotel standards in places like Hotel du Vin or Pig

    Exterior stunning. Looks like a beautiful Country house hotel, in lovely grounds.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Very happy; would use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a major problem - and the information was there all along to be fair - but I initially struggled to find the check in & out times. I e-mailed the hotel and they got back to me straight away.

    Our room was lovely and the food was fab. Also they were happy for me to park my car a couple of hours before official check-in time, which helped me greatly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    A lovely stay - would go back any time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The loo in our room did not work. I would have appreciated a bathrobe in a room of that standard.

    Delightful hotel with character in a beautiful location. Staff very welcoming and ambience relaxing. Murder Mystery evening good fun. Dinner very enjoyable and well cooked. Rooms very nice and tasteful - three of us had four-posters.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    A memorable stay in a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was poor and bathroom fittings were a bit loose. Also nowhere to put things in bathroom.

    The Setting of the hotel and size and comfort of our room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    Overall lovely hotel in even lovelier surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took ages for prebooked taxi to arrive as in the middle of nowhere. Room was very warm

    Beautiful setting in woodlands surrounded by lakes. Room was lovely too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Highly recommended for a relaxing pampered stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    They have a peacock called George-might like a mate?

    Staff were very pleasant,efficient and could not do enough,dinner was superb,compliments to chef and staff,and breakfast was tasty and plentiful.Hotel bedroom was lavish,warm and comfortable.Grounds were beautiful,and pleasant to stroll around.Intend to go back there again next year!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Very comfy room ,beautiful hotel in general,very homely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor mobile reception,but don't blame the hotel!!

    Very comfy room ,beautiful hotel in general,very homely. Very peaceful surroundings and convenient for the coast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful location, beautiful property but room was a bit tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    property was tired and the bedroom could of done with being looked after - our bed had 2 large screws sticking out of the bedsted

    the gardens and the property were both amazing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    Lovely hotel in a quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very dusty and you get a lot of noise from people walking past the room and from the TV sound in the room either side of you. Staff at breakfast although happy, in my opinion were too noisy when chatting with each other. Having said that we were the first down and it may have been because they didn't have anything else to do.

    The hotel has a lot of character and is located in a quiet lane but not too far from Battle. Room was fabulous and breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    A great hotel well worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like ! Excellent.

    The hotel was all we hoped it would be. The welcome from the receptionist was friendly and booking in was easy. Our suitcase was taken to our room. The room was really lovely. We had a view of the lake. The bed was so comfortable and the bathroom excellent. The meal in the evening was delicious as was the breakfast the following morning. All of the lounges were beautifully furnished and comfortable. It was a pleasure to stroll around the well maintained gardens. We look forward to returning to this hotel in the future.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    it was a nice break in a nice location. not much to do in Battle and parking is a issue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hairdryer was fixed to the wall and could not dry your hair sufficiently to style, i had mentioned this to the reception staff when leaving. i would have liked to have more light in the room, but that is my preference.

    The Room was very good, bed was comfortable. Hotel food was excellent and so was the staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    Overall great hotel good wedding venue
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was told I'd get discount on room because I was with wedding party, but received none. Paid full price, that's not right if you been told your getting a discount

    Staff, location and overall appeal of hotel great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Breakfast excellent, room lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower not good. Leaking from end of shower and hot, cold taps not working well.

    Breakfast excellent, room lovely. Shower not brilliant ( room 8). Staff polite

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Waiting to be served at bar,thought staff could have communicated to us how long they would be.Waited 20 mins for staff to get behind bar and serve me,I was only one waiting.

    Beautiful location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel, slightly worn at the edges but none the less a beautiful place worth a stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a wedding on and although it did not impact on our stay. There was "evidence" of the previous night on the floor of the restaurant at breakfast.

    overall style of the hotel is good. Nice country house decor....

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    A most enjoyable stay at a beautiful country house hotel, with excellent food and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we first arrived we were led through a sparsely furnished area with an open door leading to a storeroom, this felt cold and unwelcoming - but when we arrived at our room we were impressed by its warmth and decor. The area described above proved to be a space which was used for presentations etc and by the end of our stay was transformed into a very well furnished and welcoming lounge area.

    It was so lovely being able to walk around the grounds. We were made to feel very welcome and every member of the hotel staff were friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.5
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    From day one the television in our room kept loosing the signal, so trying to watch any programe was a nightmare. The shower in our room was pathetic, leaking from the shower head, no cold water pressure control The Bath in our room had rust around the outlet. Having to find a member of staff to order a drink from the bar.

    The first two days the breakfast was really good, cooked to your individual requirments. The last day the breakfast was disapointing being served from a buffet kept warm with candle like heaters. Poor selection, barley warm.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable stay in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Introduction to restaurant on first morning could have been better, we were left to make up our own mind which table to sit at, to then be told that we had chosen one that wasn't set up correctly for breakfast. Having said that all items soon supplied and breakfast was excellent.

    Nice location, pleasant grounds, good car parking. Warm welcome on arrival, shown to room with an offer to assist with bags. Nice restaurant setting, good choice for breakfast with additional tea / toast no problem.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    6.7
    Ok stay. A bit expensive considering the fixtures and fittings the room were a bit poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little cold. Bed a bit hard so one of us didn't get a particularly good night sleep. Not keen on hairdryer in bathroom and shower over bath extremely feeble in both double and twin room we booked.

    Location and surroundings lovely. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    4.2
    Its setting is lovely overlooking a small lake, peacock...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was excessively slow in the restaurant - 1.75 hours for dinner, where the menu was exactly the same each night with only limited choice. Plates looked decorative, but amount of food on them small - one half of a new potato and two spikes of almost raw veg with the meat does not provide a nutritious course. Breakfast was better, when it was eventually served, though at the weekend it changed format and was not good, served at a buffet in another room (unmarked) and far less choice. Bedroom was spacious, but no proper dressing table and the mirror much too high on the wall to be used when sitting. The shower room was a bad joke, the shower area having no hand rail, dangerously slippery floor, no hooks or soap dish. There was no shelf to put shaving kit or makeup on during use, soap went soggy as again there was nowhere to put it, nowhere to hang damp towels overnight. Super comfy armchair (only one in a room for two) and a new carpet, but lighting so dim we could not read by it, and room located up 14 stairs when we had asked for a ground-floor room due to a slight mobility problem ! Bed sagged dreadfully.

    Its setting is lovely overlooking a small lake, peacock strolling the pretty well cared-for gardens, attractive terraces. Handy for Battle (by car).,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.9
    Good room, and food for our 2 night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting in the bathroom was very low and the basin being in a recess was difficult to shave.Otherwise no complaints.

    Breakfast very good, plenty of choice. The Grounds and lake was pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    A comfortable 17th century hotel set in beautiful grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel menu was quite expensive with rather limited food choices....therefore we ate in Battle. Security could be better at night....we were in a separate annex & the front door was open all night.

    A comfortable 17th century hotel set in beautiful grounds. We had a lovely spacious twin bedroom that was tastefully decorated. Very close to Battle & 10 mins from Hastings. Will definitely return!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Masking tape still on ceiling fixtures after recent redecoration.

    Beautiful gardens and relaxed surroundings. The room was lovely. Breakfast was great and the staff were very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.1
    A pleasant comfortable hotel in lovely settings
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If they don't have a cocktail menu they should say so.

    Not a good bar. Said they could make martinis but we did not get martinis nor Black Russians. Good food in the restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Love love love this place and the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    We loved it all. We've booked again to go back in 2 weeks time we loved it so much. Outside pool is a bonus for the kids as is the resident peacock George

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    The facility was beautiful & charming and the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food ordered from the bar in the evening was slow to be served as it would seem that dinner served in the restaurant took priority.

    The facility was beautiful & charming and the staff were helpful & attentive. The breakfast was excellent & the room was comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hopefully, our comments regarding the sash window frames in room 15 will be passed to the appropriate persons

    Didn't try the croissants but the beds were comfy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    A tranquil setting, away from Battle, with wooded and lakeside walks
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We didn't take to Battle (poor restaurants, unexciting shops, rip-off parking, traffic problems) but Powder Mills Hotel is far enough away not to be bothered by any of these.

    The hotel's setting is wonderful for me, my partner & our dog. We were able to go for long walks with our small but energetic pooch without leaving the hotel grounds.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: