Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Premier Inn Cardiff Roath 3 stars

Ipswich Road, Cardiff, CF23 9AQ, United Kingdom

#28 of 48 hotels in Cardiff

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 220 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No black mould in room would be great! No food available and the restaurant (which closed at 4) was in the gym next door which you have to walk all the way around the outside of the building to get to.

    Closed down around us (literally) they were taking the hotel apart. Wasn’t told this before arrival, Black mould in room and kids ended up sick!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it was very disappointing to arrive as planned on 30th Dec and be told that the hotel was closing on 1st jan for refurbishment, meaning that there was no breakfast available as they had ran out of food and were not refreshing their stock. Premier Inn and Booking.com should have informed us before hand and we would have made an alternative booking. the hotel did refund a portion of the hotel cost to compensate for the loss of breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.2
    Good accomadation, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Area was a bit scary, due to being near to industrial estate, which is very dark at night, not brilliant if travelling on own. Could of done with reception knowing whether restaurant was open Christmas eve. Phoned and no one knew.

    very comfortable bed, duvet. Easy to find, from motorway.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    5.8
    kind of okay, but have low expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the max room temperature in winter was 23 'C! the toilets door couldn't be locked. we did not have hot water the last morning. not enough space in the toilets to hang my clothes. the breakfast was served in a totally separate building rather than the hotel building.

    the staff were friendly. the room was clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.0
    Very basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    for the whole stay the water wasn’t hot enough for a shower or even a shave , very poor . We tried showering at 10 pm but still no hot water .

    the linen was clean

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    2.9
    Shocking. Never again at this hotel & certainly not at the David Lloyd Restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are several main issues. The first is the catering facilities as the David Lloyd Tennis Centre. The food was of a very poor quality, both hot and cold. The containers for the hot food buffet were often all empty for periods of time & was often inedible due to being over cooked or very un-appetising. The cold food preparation was very unkempt, with plates & cutlery regularly dirty with guests often having to wait for new ones. The fruit juice bottles did not have taps on them that could work properly, which meant that the bottles had to be tipped up to pour. The coffee was just sachet granules, which meant that we had to purchase coffee from the bar at 2.25 pounds each time, in order to drink something palatable. All other Premier Inns to which we have been have had Costa Coffee. The staff had to be asked on several occasions to see if orders were going to be delivered within a reasonable time, none of which were & we had to wait a prolonged period for any orders. In addition, when staff did actually come out of the kitchen with an order, they invariably did not know for whom the order belonged. One staff member said that he was sorry for the long delay in delivering an order, but he did not know for whom the order had been placed. I witnessed staff chatting regularly amongst themselves, even when clients were left waiting. There appeared to be no management or overall system with the staff there. In fact, one staff member mentioned how poor the overall quality was within the catering aspect of the centre & kindly kept apologising to us a they knew how poor it was. The accommodation in this very dated hotel was also poor. The shower had no heat coming through it all weekend, which meant that my wife & young children were not able to wash. This was a complaint that I had off several guests to whom I spoke. It is rough & unkempt around the edges & feels more like an office block.

    The beds were as comfortable as they usually are at Premier Inn. That was about the only good comment that I could make about this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Great value, good location and a nice nights sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower wasn’t very powerful but the water was nice and hot

    Friendly welcome, clean large room and comfy bed, short walk to the bus station taking you straight into the city centre

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Hotel excellent, food not worth 18p let alone £18
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was terrible. Help yourself buffet that had no food to help yourself. £18 brought two of us a bowl of Frosties, two rounds of toast, 3 sausages and 2 bacon. No other hot food available until 20 minutes in, when they brought beans out and they were cold

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Near bus links but in quiet area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near bus links but in quiet area. Next door to David Lloyd's Gym which was used for any meals you wanted, plenty of choice. Staff were always friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.9
    Stayed in much better Premier Inn's. Staff Super.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast at the David Lloyd Centre was terrible! Most of the food was unavailable, (No chocolate croissants, muffins, yoghurt, fresh fruit ....) Juice needed to be tilted to get the dregs out of the bottom, hot breakfast was under metal lids with no handles that didn't fit over the food with unappealing food underneath. Only bonus was that we hadn't paid for the children. Quiet zone - you could hear the elephants moving around above very clearly.

    Super size room, easy parking, close to a bus stop to the centre and restaurants to eat close by.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    Staff were very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money and friendly staff! Met some lovely people in ty smoking area as well!!

    Staff were very nice! The room smelt like mould and damp! Wasn’t somewhere I’d stay if I wasn’t on a night out! Very adiquate for purpose! Excellent value for money and definitely worth the extra bit of cash for a long by lie in!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel, but it could be cleaner and temperature set could work better.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The temperature in the room was dropping to 16-18 although I set it for 21. Also I don't consider the hotel as very clean. It was not dirty but it was not clean neither.

    very nice personnel well equipped rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.1
    A very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wi-fi was very poor, and most of the time was unable to be used. You could pay extra for a Wi-fi upgrade for faster speed. I feel this should be standard, as expecting good broadband should be the norm.

    Helpful staff with good knowledge of the area for restaurants and attractions. Room was clean and tidy, with a large TV and a comfortable bed. We were put in a wheel chair access room which I understand are larger the general rooms, so unable to comment on the size of standard room. Had meals in the sports centre next door, apart from the calorie conscious menu, the food was hot and well cooked. Would recommend this hotel to anybody staying in Cardiff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    Very easy to check in and out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were on the ground floor and were woken up by the people in the room above walking around as the floors are very creaky. Next time we will ask for a room on the top floor.

    Very easy to check in and out. Easy to get buses into Cardiff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    Signage could be much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Signage could be much better. It's on th opposite side of a huge health club. The sign for the health club is prominent, but you'd never guess there was a hotel there. We thought our gps had taken us to the wrong place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.3
    A pleasant stay, which could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were several items missing at breakfast which we had to ask for. It became apparent that these items were only served on a 'as required' basis when asked for. Not all of the items on the menu ( continental ) were available. The hot water supply for bath, and shower was poor, at best being only tepid, and generally not warm enough for either.

    Room, and its facilities were clean, and tidy, along with a comfortable bed, and two lounge type chairs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    Great room let down by breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast servicd on Saturday morning was very poor. Ran out dishes, hot water, and milk. Staff were very slow to provide replacements. Tables were not cleared. All in all wasn't, worth paying £8.99 per person.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    Fun but always have a rain jacket!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a very minor bind to walk round to the health club for breakfast. Hot meal was buffet style which is less desirable than the cooked to order as in most Premier Inns.

    Free parking. A short walk from several bus routes into the city centre. Staff very helpful. Had a slip of paper already printed with bus and taxi information. Same short walk to several family suitable restaurants and supermarket.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing, not what you expect from normally excellent hotel group
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeaky floors are not ideal and the ability to hear the other guests talking, walking around and at night snoring. The breakfast wasn't up to premiere inns standard and niether was the lodge. I've stopped in lots of premiere inns and this was the worst, normally a good chain of inns this one is the week link.

    The staff were friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    The breakfast situation was very disappointing but Premier Inn refunded my breakfast charges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast arrangements at the adjacent David Lloyd Centre were atrocious. The food was cold, many items on the all inclusive menu were unavailable, coffee was out of a sachet with luke warm water in a thermos and cold milk also. Even the staff were embarrassed to have to serve it.

    Staff and bedroom up to usual standard. Bed good as always.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice but wouldn't order breakfast again or recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was awful.. Food cold and took ages to replenish items, hot drinks luke warm staff not at all helpful. Certainly not value for money

    Comfortable and spacious room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    Cheap break in Cardiff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It have everything I wanted for the money. Staff were as caring as in a 5* hotel.

    V good value. Excellent staff. Good facikuties for people with disabilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    2.5
    When we arrived at the room, the bins had not been emptied...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived at the room, the bins had not been emptied from before, the hotel staff were rude and lazy when we asked for iron. Over all we didn't like the service and was over priced for what we got. Would not reccomend this to others.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice and quite area away from busy city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to go for breakfast in a different part of the building attached to the sport club dose not fit in well with the hotel experience.

    Staffs where very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Comfy in Cardiff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only had two cups for three people, there was not enough milk or tea bags, plus there was no green tea. The cup and more milk and breakfast tea bags were sorted at reception . The girl at reception did not tell us where to go for breakfast , but I asked her when I went for the other cup,milk and tea bags. Breakfast was round the corner but nice.

    The comfy bed, the television and the loo

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.5
    Overall we had a great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On booking.com the property was listed within a short walk to the venue (millenium/principality stadium) but we found out once we arrived that that 'short' walk was well over an HOUR. So it was a taxi to the event (or as near as possible) and a long walk back, due to the nature of the event and the sheer volume of people it was impossible to get any transport back to the hotel. Fortunately i was travelling with excitable teenagers and not smaller children

    The hotel was lovely and so were the staff. We all enjoyed breakfast next door which was also very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.5
    The above will not stop me from staying again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First day, we were seated and informed about the b'fast arrangements but waited far too long and had to prompt the staff to take the order and for the food to arrive. Second day we placed the order as we arrived thinking it will be the same as previous day but it arrived just as we sat down to have our cereals. Not all staff looked happy.

    Choice of breakfast was very good Sitting area was good Organisation was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel, shame on the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con. First night no hot water for shower, luckily it was hot so it wasn't such a big deal. They fixed it for the next day. Breakfast was not great. It was served in the next door David Lloyds leisure club. First day only one poor woman serving and she was so busy. Food wasn't bad, they took orders for your full English but you helped yourself to the continental. Choices were not as great as they made it on the menu.You can't put crossiants and pancakes into the toaster but staff apparently can help you warm up. With her being so busy, didn't bother troubling her. Second day was even worse because the Rugby was on and everyone was just sitting there taking up all the seats and it was so noisy, food got worse- No mushroom, No hash browns, forgot our bacons and tomatoes shrunk in size!

    Good location, quiet at least for the first night but second night we had some idiots waking us up at 3am and broke the fire exit door right outside our room! No air con but staff put fans in for us. Plenty of parking. Has hair dryer, towels, shampoo/body gel. Welcoming and polite staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.1
    Excellent staff, lovely clean hotel but a bit difficult to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not find the hotel straight away and didn't like the fact we had to leave the building to get to breakfast in the gym but apart from that was ok.

    The staff were really friendly and were always smiling. They engaged conversation very well and the maids each day were fab and tidied the room and made it look normal again. Lovely hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Restaurant let's you diwn
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As explained above

    Nothing not to enjoy -like about Premier Inn - apart from dining in David Lloyd restaurant -we were subjected to a Tennis Tournament -being attended by at least 100 under 12 school children -who used and we're allowed to use Breakfast area as a shirt cut - not pleasant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    clean, friendly, comfy and fantastic value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was incredibly warm, but they had provided 2 fans which did help and made it bareable.

    Room was incredibly clean and beds were extremely comfortable. There was plenty of parking and was able to park right outside the front doors. Staff were very friendly and room well stocked. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    A tranquil weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As the restaurant is not on sight and I have difficulty with my mobility, it would be a good idea to have sandwiches available in the vending machines.

    Comfortable room Well equipped room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.8
    Very clean hotel and comfortable beds, next to David Lloyd...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find not many directional signs.

    Very clean hotel and comfortable beds, next to David Lloyd sports centre would be good for families with children.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.8
    Value for money
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It should have been made clearer that the restaurant was in the adjacent health/sports club. The Food there was excellent.

    The room was surprisingly spacious, and the beds (one king, one single were very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    BEST VALUE! VERY QUIET.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault it.

    So quiet. Very comfy beds. Friendly staff perfect location not far from m4 Very clean. Free wifi ok but a bit slow, upgrade to super fast wifi for £5 for 24hrs for 3 devices.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.5
    Worth it after the extraordinary effort to find it
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Finding the location was a nightmare. It took me over an hour after arriving in Cardiff. It would have been so helpful to have had a clear map showing the location of Premier Inn off Ipswich Road

    The breakfast in the adjoining Leisure Centre was excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar/resteraunt at the hotel although breakfast was served next door at the leisure club which was very good

    Excellent value for money. Spacious room. Staff brilliant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    brilliant fab
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no complaints

    the bed was really comfortable and to have breakfast we had to go to david Lloyds health center for our full English it was very nice everyone was helpful and polite booking with booking .com is great weve not had a bad hotel at all

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    8.8
    An enjoyable stay. A good basic hotel with lovely staff. They made the stay worthwhile
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was appalling

    Breakfast was good. Would of preferred buffet style for the hot food rather rather than having to order When it arrived it was always luke warm Staff friendly. The cleaner on duty was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    8.3
    Rooms were good size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Snot on the walls.

    Rooms were good size. TV was also ideal for family. Free WiFi was great to keep kids amused. Proximity to lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    9.6
    Excellent Staff, comfy and clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Signage from the entrance to Morrisons - we thought we'd gone the wrong way! It isn't clear at the entrance to David Lloyd's or through DL's car park that you have to keep going to get to the Premier Inn car park. The only wrong note was the David Lloyd's employee on the desk when we went to their restaurant in the evening. She wasn't helpful and barked at us a bit when we asked how to get in. Perhaps if the Premier Inn staff explained the signing in process at the gym for evening meals, but it wasn't their fault!! Also the shower pressure/temperature wasn't high on the second floor, but it wasn't a major issue.

    Super clean hotel with very friendly, helpful staff. We saw at least three different shifts and everyone was equally professional. We asked about buses, and were instantly given a little hand out with service numbers, stop locations and even a rough idea of prices! Cleaner was equally friendly, and even tucked our daughter's soft toys up in bed while we were out for the day. A lovely touch. Family room was a good size, and beds had plenty of room. Nice quiet location at night, very easy to reach from the main road. Breakfast was great - so much choice and generous quantities.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    8.8
    Plenty of parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Window didn't shut completely - bit of a draft. Heating control a bit difficult to understand.

    Plenty of parking. Comfortable beds. Very clean. A good night's sleep very quiet. Plenty of towels.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.9
    Great beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No choice available. Had run out of yoghurt, croissants, juices were gone, and no more available. Very disappointing.

    We did not like anything about breakfast. There was very little food available. The cooked breakfast order was taken down incorrectly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    6.7
    Satisfactory but only for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficulty to find initially and very isolated once there as nothing within walking distance at night unless you just want to use the Loyds gym. Nowhere to eat, nowhere to drink as far as I was made aware.

    Good breakfast, quiet, good location for visiting Cardiff via park and ride..

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable stay in Roath with Premier Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing that we didn't like.

    This hotel was very convenient for our visit to Roath. The hotel was clean There was plenty of tea and coffee on offer Complimentary chocolate on arrival Overall feeling of being made to feel welcome. Good car parking facilities. Tucked away nicely. Quiet.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    10
    Visiting the university kids and Cardiff again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As this is the fourth time we have stayed we are now very familiar with the location. I still feel that the signage identifying the location could be better.

    The range of food on offer and quality was great. The staff were very helpful with great local knowledge which we made use of using the busses for the first time.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    9.6
    Exceeded expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was a little further from the centre of Cardiff than we would have wished. However, we were aware that it was a couple of miles from the centre, but had been unable to book anything nearer to the centre.

    The friendliness of the staff, the cleanliness of the room, the comfort of the bed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    5.8
    Do you live to eat or eat to live?
    • Couple
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On a chilly winter visit the only place nearby to eat and have a drink was at a David Lloyd's centre. Available alcoholic drinks limited, food - well it filled a hole! If you're a family with children to enjoy the leisure facilities and just want a base camp - this is OK.

    Room clean, warm and comfortable. Staff friendly. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    10
    Dropping the kids back at Cardiff uni peace on my own
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our twins are at Cardiff university and as parents we have now used the Roarth site three times and find staff to be pleasant and helpful the facilities excellent and the price reasonable. The location is good for our needs and we will use the site again. It had plenty of car parking and close to the centre do that taxi costs if used are reasonable. Breakfast is excellent and the short walk to the David Lloyds for it goes some way to work off the guilt of having a full English.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    8.8
    Will use again. Helpful, quiet, comfy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't very nice. I would not pay for a premier breakfast again. It wasn't very well sign posted. We found it a little difficult to find the hotel from the bus station. Once you've been once it's easy to find.

    A lovely warm greeting throughout and very helpful staff. The bed was comfy and a quiet hotel. We couldn't really hear the M4 traffic. A nice touch when given a new year's Eve gift.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    9.6
    Signage to find the place was horrendous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Signage to find the place was horrendous Staff explained there are some planning etc issues so perhaps when booking there could be more detailed explanation not just the map link as it would have helped considerably as drove round carpark 2 times before found it 😳

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    10
    Would recommend very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were lovely my son was given a selection box on arrival. I was given a birthday card small bottle of wine and a box of roses for my birthday. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. Would go back there again. Breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    9.2
    Park the car and use the Taxi
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing really that you can walk as on the edge of and industrial estate to but then everything is in Cardiff centre so didn't cause any concern

    Good price as Cardiff centre seems very expensive, ideal if driving as plenty of parking and good location to main routes but hard to find the first time. Would suggest taxi into Cardiff as much quicker than driving as they can use the bus lanes and miss all the traffic. Took about 10 mins and £8.00. Very friendly staff - cheap if booked early - would stay again if in Cardiff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    9.2
    Great stay, 4 of us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was as described. The staff went the extra mile and gave us some complimentary drinks after hearing about the nightmare day we'd had on the motorway. Highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    10
    The receptionists, Katherine and Jackie, were very welcoming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionists, Katherine and Jackie, were very welcoming and help us very much indeed. Nothing was to much for them to do. Helping with local information and booking of meal at local restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    8.8
    Value for money accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As we were travelling with three children the room could have been a little bit bigger, although it was advertised as a quad room it came up on the site as suitable for 2 adults and three children.

    The staff were friendly, the food was good parking excellent and a quiet location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    8.8
    Comfy bed, nice staff, but cold!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it was very cold in the room and the air con did not warm it up. My mother is 85 and was not warm in the night I took advice from the staff and followed the instructions but no improvement

    the room was very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    10
    Great Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was very clean and quite.Staff were very very Friendly on the desk. Highly recomended.Also Breakfast was amazing served by David Lloyd leisure centre.Amazing value for amazing breakfast and very friendly staff....5 star

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    7.1
    Staff were down to a person, brilliant and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is impossible to find, tucked away in a park with a private large sports centre . The hotel has no food facilities which should be made clear on the listing. The sport centre provides the meals if you can call them rhat. Breakfast was okay if you choose the Premier Inn one. Do not go there for your dinner The meal we ordered was to be kind, unbearable. The worst hamburger we had ever seen. We eat a various outlets not far from the hotel, after our first experience.

    Staff were down to a person, brilliant and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    7.5
    Staff very hrelpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy expellair in bathroom. Hopeless hairdryer. Paid for but couldn't access with first. Thought it me but think it was your system

    Staff very hrelpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    9.6
    Fab room, great staff, weird breakfast set up
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a strange set up having breakfast in a fitness centre, made for uncomfortable eating when you're being a fat git piling the food in and you have fitness fanatics walking past you. The first morning was like feeding time at the zoo, it was so busy and nobody seemed to have a clue what was going on and we waited 20 minutes just to be asked our order (the second morning was the complete opposite and was very enjoyable)

    The family room was by far the largest we've had in a premier inn and incredibly clean. The car park was massive, plenty of space and pretty secure. The staff were absolutely lovely and genuinely seemed interested in what we were up to. Only 3ish minutes to the city centre by car so very well placed without being central. Standard 'premier inn' breakfast and, although it wasn't buffet style, was very tasty.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating wasn't working

    Easy no hassle

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Will visit Cardiff again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was as it said when we booked.

    Very nice hotel, rooms were very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.9
    The best budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff. one of the best budget hotel that I have experienced in the UK.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.1
    Quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park is a bit dark.

    Quiet. Value for money. Food at the next door David loyds was good. Supermarket was nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    5.0
    David Lloyd club next door.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating in room not on and doesn’t work without room key card in slot, room takes hours to heat.

    David Lloyd club next door.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.1
    Comfy beds and very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free WiFi didn’t work and breakfast took exceptionally long time.

    Comfy beds and very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.5
    Stay at Premier Inn was up to usual high standards.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed (not Hypnos) not comfortable on second night in disabled room.

    Parking. Reception staff. Cleanliness. Cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The club attached. Quite rude staff and not great brekfast

    Staff are Amazing as is the whole hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    Some aspects dissapointing but convenient for visiting family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air conditioning, quilt on bed too thick, breakfast not as advertised and not good value for money.

    Friendly, welcoming staff. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    Floor boards were very creaky, should have had upper floor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor boards were very creaky, should have had upper floor room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    Great stay. If I visit again, that's the first place i will look into.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Parking always available. Comfortable bed and clean room. Staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    Good apart from breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor breakfast in David Lloyd fitness centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    The bed was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was superb. The staff were really helpful and would go back just for that reason.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Overall a very enjoyable experience and I would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Very comfortable and staff were friendly and courteous

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: