Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside 3 stars

Lombard Street, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 3AE, United Kingdom

#38 of 76 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 226 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Great people loved every minute, will definitely be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit small however sufficient for what we needed, sleep and a wash 👍🏻

    The staff here were fab, keen to help and everyone wanted a chat so friendly. Had a great experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    The location was good, easy access to Newcastle and staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can't open the windows so cooling the room is quite difficult.

    The location was good, easy access to Newcastle and staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were comfortable cleanliness wasn't good.. Daughter found crisps in bed and on floor and bathroom wasn't that clean

    The breakfast and location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value with central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The actual building is very old and thus created a bit of a darkish feel but this did not detract from our enjoyable stay

    Central location which was ideal for our friends on their first visit to Newcastle Cleanliness first class Staff couldn’t do enough to help 😃😃 Value for money 👍👍👍👍👍

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Very lucky to stay at a gorgeous friendly hotel. Thank you x
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had to pay £7 for car park and as a disabled driver this was very important. Not a lot of room down in the car park. Booking.com have a different booking reference which doesn't match the Premier Inn, so when I had to ring to ask questions they couldn't find me on their system!

    Plenty of room to hang or put our clothes away. Staff extremely helpful and always polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    The staff were really friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was quite cold, adjusting the thermostat setting didn't really seem to do anything either.

    The staff were really friendly and helpful. Bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Great location on the quayside.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    Comfy bed, edible food, friendly staff, good stay. Would stay here again.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only snag would be getting fresh air into the room. It was hot during our stay so we wanted to get some air. The windows were modified sash windows which were heavy and would not stay open. The were two brackets attached to the window frames into which a screw slotted when dropped down onto it. However, this was not explained to us, nor was it obvious at first glance. We did eventually spot the well hidden screw in the window, but it was fiddly trying to hold the window open with one hand and pull the bracket out with the other. Couple of times I nearly got my fingers caught as I lost grip of the central window.

    It's a Premier Inn. Stayed in these before, and they're all pretty much the same. That's the beauty of them, you know what you're getting - basic but functional. That was enough for us. Didn't need any frills and didn't get any. Location, parking, food all good. Didn't really have much to do with the staff but they seemed friendly enough, and helpful when we did ask anything. This was our first trip to Newcastle so we intended to use this as a base to see the sites, and familiarize ourselves with the city. We have friends up there who we rarely see so we wanted somewhere central that they could get to easily, and within walking distance of the city centre for us. This place ticked all our boxes on that score.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    bed very comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would be good to have a quiet lounge area or comfy chairs in room, we wanted to sit and chat without musack or silent TV. You shouldn't be changing towels everyday unless required and there should be a small and large towel per person without the need to ask at reception. I had to do this 3 times!!

    bed very comfortable!!, room a good size.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Value for money, pleasant and enjoyable.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The corridors were cold. The room temperature was good but I like a warm environment, so corridors not so much.

    This was one of the very few hotels where I've actually got a great night sleep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Best place to stay on Tyneside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, helpful and welcoming staff. Superb location, close to everything. Fantastic value for money. Bed was so comfortable it was like sleeping on a cloud. Highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    I came with my sevice user for 2 nights who is in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I came with my sevice user for 2 nights who is in a wheelchair. Staff were so helpful, helping us use the lift and directing us to places. The room was spacious and easy to move around the room in the wheelchair. Staff in the restuarant were great and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed being at the centre of culture and entertainment in Newcastle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a bit tired, but it is an old building.

    Superb location onQuayside. Delicious breakfast with views of River Tyne, Sage Concert Hall and bridges. Helpful staff and very comfy bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfectly satisfactory except for the heating problem. Great location, comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating wasn't working despite very cold weather. There was condensation streaming down the windows, maybe because there was no bathroom fan either. Staff gave us a heater and extra duvets and promised it would be fixed, but it still wasn't working two days later

    Comfortable and convenient location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Enjoyable, fantastic value for your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideal location, it was lovely and warm, as the weather was so bad. Bed very comfortable. Tea and coffee facilities. Staff very friendly. Delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    This hotel Is in a lovely location and the staff were amazing, would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger car park. As we didn’t book a space when we booked hotel, when we arrived there were no spaces left. We had to park a couple of streets away which wasn’t too much trouble, however would have been nice at 9:30 on a Friday night to have been able to park at the hotel.

    The staff were lovely and friendly, the room was a lovely size and had an extra heater which made it nice and toasty. Location was amazing, right on the river.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    We had a wonderful time expllring Newcastle and will certainly stay agai
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Now double glazing so there was a certain amount of traffic noise and from late night revellers

    Bed really comfortable. Excellent shower. Lady that came to service the room was lovely and had a great sense of humour

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.9
    Beds were comfy, area was good and staff very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only two plug sockets in the whole room and one of them was used for tv. Room was very cold our first night there is only one heater to heat whole quad room.

    Beds were comfy, area was good and staff very helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.9
    energetic friendly staff but management should upgrade heating systems
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The electric heater only reached temperatures up to 15 degrees. Problem was swiftly sorted by giving us an electric heater on wheels. Ok for the bedroom but as bathroom has no plugs it was not the best shower i ever had. The use of an elec.heater is ok at home but does not look very professional in a hotel ,Unfortunately we were not the only ones...

    The location is perfect and the staff is super friendly and energetic

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.7
    Has potential to be excellent but needs some investment in the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Asked for a wake up call and the member of staff said he would pass this on to the night staff but this didn't happen. When asked why they said they don't offer the service since the phones were removed from the rooms??? Complained about the towel rail not working and was told they were disconnected 15 years ago??? The hotel rooms are in a very poor condition. Dirty and poor repairs carried out. Had an additional plug in radiator as i guess the heating wasn't working well enough.

    Bed and shower were excellent. Car parking facility good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.0
    Worst hotel experance ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We never slept any off the night we were there as we were awakes in the small hours ever night with people shouting and swearing complained at reception to be told they we sorry but they had stag parties in and could do nothing about it this was a break for myself after recovering from being ill just again was just so bad never had an experience at any off your other hotels as bad as this was

    Our room was disgusting really dirty hair all ver the bath bathroom floor and even on the TV complained at reception twice and was told a cleaner would come and deal with it however that never happened went to the shop and bought cleaning products to do it myself I have taken picture as I was disgusted we stay loads with you over the years and never had this before it truly was aufull

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.1
    Was fine for 3 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was really cold in the room. Heating didn't work. Ancient heater on the wall which was terrible. Bar was freezing cold. was very noisy as groups of guys and girls staying here

    Location was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.8
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to access from train station using phone map, ended up coming down about 150-200 steps

    I loved everything about this hotel. The staff were exceptionally good, especially Kelly and Katie x

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel, needs secondary double glazing for noise reduction & heat retention
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A lovely big room, but not adequately heated. Heating dropped back to 18 degrees even when pushed into the 20's. One heater not working at all. With big single glazed windows, made for uncomfortably cold (& very noisy) nights for young children.

    Fabulously comfortable bed. Lovely staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.8
    Great location and staff, hotel itself little tired and needs some tlc
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater in the family room wasn’t working and room cold, also only 1 useable plug socket, not enough in family room. Staff did their best to resolve both issues though

    Hotel is in a brilliant location and staff were very friendly and couldn’t do enough for guests.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.2
    A fantastic stay made extra special by friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water had a tendency to go cold and never really stayed hot enough for a bath.

    The staff went above and beyond to help. Super friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our room had an amazing view of the quayside and Tyne bridge and was extremely spacious. There was plenty of room for our two toddlers to play whilst we relaxed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    5.0
    acceptable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is far away from downtown. Everyday, I have to climb the steep road to the shopping malls. Otherwise, I have to take a taxi or a Uber. The main entrance is not easy to find because it is not faced to the river like the picture shown in the website.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.3
    Cheap but could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel looked tired. Lift had been spat in and we notified staff only to find it still not cleaned the following day. Holes in the duvet cover, drippy tap in bathroom. Smelly drains probably due to age of building.

    Great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very scruffy dressed. Too familiar with their questions. The reception and hall way and lifts were dirty. We checked in at 2:30 and there was dirty sheets and towels lying in the hall way outside most rooms on our way to our room, horrible.

    Location and the bar has nice decor

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    6.3
    Staff are nice but the hotel is not so good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well I arrived Tuesday night around 8:00pm we got asked if we would like breakfast and we said sure yeah! But Wednesday morning we failed to get up in time, I thought when we leave we’d get a refund because we didn’t eat any breakfast. Anyway got up Wednesday afternoon with a sore back from the bed, was up all night trying to walk of the pain, also on Wednesday there was a fire alarm going off in our room so we started gathering our things and we get out the door for the cleaning to tell us that there is no fire, all I wish is that they would have told us upon arriving! So Wednesday afternoon we went away Christmas shopping then came back to the room and the cleaner had done nothing but give us sugar and coffee was so outraged! So off to sleep on the Wednesday, wake up Thursday at 6:00am to someone outside throwing beer kegs around and again I had a sore back from your bed.

    The staff were super friendly and polite. I also liked the location of the hotel was very easy to find. I also liked the fact that my car was safe if I’m honest, I didn’t really care about paying the £7 per night charge.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.3
    A very mixed stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First morning went down for unbooked breakfast at 10:10. Information in room said served till 10:30, but we were told no longer being served and no explanation. Single glazed windows in historic building, so morning traffic and building work nearby woke me up. Fire alarm at 2:30 a.m. Members of staff at exits (good) but once outside and across room no other contact from staff for 30 mins despite freezing weather. One guest was only wearing a towel, barefoot on pavement. He tried to speak to staff after fire brigade appeared (even to shelter in doorway) but no help. Staff MUST have foil blankets to give to guests. I was shocked at his treatment.

    Staff were very friendly. We hadnt booked meal on first night and they took us at 9:30. It was tasty and good value for money. They bar staff very friendly and made the evening. Great view from window of the iconic bridges as on the quayside.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Staff were friendly, always on hand to help!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were friendly, always on hand to help! Room was clean and was a decent size. Location of hotel is great, just a few minutes walk away from the center / bars. Would definitely recommend this hotel if you're looking for something central.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    5.0
    Bit of a let down :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was filthy when we arrived and had to clean everthing!! Made Manager aware and they rectified to a standard! Are windows were also filthy and frames mouldy and damp so i just cleaned them myself so we could actually see the fantastic view of the Quayside Newcastle. Which was the best thing about the room!

    Location.Breakfast was not too shabby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.5
    Hotel nice, great position, food good, room nice, staff lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Information from booking.com

    Good hotel great position, assumed wrongly that parking at hotel was included, you have to book that separately! Booking.com didn’t tell me that! Had to park up the road, as I am disabled this was very inconvienient! Think I will book direct in future!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    A totally relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room overlooked roof tops, and other eating places, when these places were clearing up at night there was a lot of noise from trolleys, bottle/glasses etc being tipped into bins. The selection of cooked items at breakfast was good, but sometimes the supply did not keep up with demand. Every morning we had to ask housekeeping for extra hand towels (only one was ever left, and there were two of us), it was never a problem, just an inconvenience.

    The staff were incredible, seemed genuinely to want you to have an enjoyable stay, nothing was too much trouble. We had breakfast, and evening meals in the Hotel, the food was really good, two members of staff stood out for their personal service, Lewis, and Sandy, cannot praise them high enough. Housekeeping staff managed to have our room 'made up' each day while we were having breakfast (still havn't worked out how they knew???). We love the location, so easy to walk, or get the local Quay bus service to anywhere. The car park is underneath the Hotel, in a secure area, with lift access to all floors. We would definitely go back to this Hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    We will use this hotel again when re-visiting Newcastle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were so friendly, they couldn't do enough for you. Our room was very quiet & the beds really comfy. The hotel is across the road from the river with a nice walk up to the Millennium Bridge. It is close to lots of eating places & about 8-10 mins walk to the railway station & Metro.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.9
    Location cannot be beaten!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was cold but we were given standalone radiator and the shower was a little difficult to regulate but we managed!

    First time in premier Inn and will book again with no qualms. Excellent location and food in restaurant was tasty.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    3.8
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel generally is dirty and unkempt. The communal areas need painting. The lifts were dirty.walls in room grubby. No ironing facilities, safe or enough pillows. Woukd not return nor recommend to others.

    Location is very central

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.9
    I achieved what I had come to Newcastle to do
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Necessity for on street parking. Newcastle's tortuous traffic system, particularly on Sunday when [a] there is no legitimate way out of Lombard St - you have to drive through a pedestrian zone to escape] and [b] parking charges on Sunday - staff info [that it was free] proved to be incorrect

    Excellent Staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    Perfect stay in Newcastle a lot because of Premier Inn Quayside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Comfortable, large and completely quiet room. Spacious bathroom. Staff very helpful and friendly, sometimes beyond expectation. Central and partly spectacular location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    Excellent stay enjoyed it and nearly all my needs met and with excellent food, bed and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    common parts chipped and need re painting and no phone in room that took outside calls or made them. but i would stay again. No fridge or mini bar but probably not necessary in a short term stay hotel.

    Staff v helpful and friendly .. i had left my phone in London ! also best breakfast ever had in the world . v convenient location in the centre and right on banks of Tyne. Common parts need up grading but the rest is fine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is an excellent Premier Inn in a great location in Newcastle. Staff were extremely helpful and so friendly. Food for breakfast and evening meal was lovely and everyone wanted to help and make our stay an enjoyable one. Would definetely recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.1
    Handy central hotel let down by breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tight car park bays for large family car. Confusion over breakfast booking. Poor quality breakfast. Tiny lift.

    Great central location with car park. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Good location, comfy beds and rooms and fantastic breakfast options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1: Building is a bit of a rabbit warren. 2:We booked the property as I believed it was offering free private parking on site. (that was my search criteria when booking from Australia). Unfortunately when we got there, we were advised the car park was full. We did eventually manage to get parked for two nights at towards the end of our 4 night stay, which did cost us. Appreciated the staff members who went out of their way to help however, but it is frustrating when you have flown over 23 hours, then driven a fair way to arrive late at night, and get a surprise! Not a good start! 3: Our room was at the top of the building - nice in theory - and yes, it was the last of the family rooms, but not great when you have to lug big cases and lots of luggage up a flight of steep stairs and you are tired and 'over it'.

    The location is brilliant and the breakfasts were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.5
    Loved it was a fantastic stay hotel.was what u would except from 3 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing staff were very helpfully and restaurant on site was excellent

    The position where the hotel was is excellent close to bridges and city centre loved were it was

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.0
    Worse stay in Premier Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not cleaned on day 2 nor were the towels changed even though I put them for washing so had to re-use and they were damp. Food had to be sent back as not edible. Worse Premier Inn we've ever stayed in. Very rowdy parties were in which meant we could not get a seat in the bar on the Sat evening until they had all gone out....full of roudy men who were still drinking in the morning at breakfast and were shouting and being extremely rowdy. Nothing against people enjoying themselves but they were so very loud.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    I was a bit apprehensive, having read some of the reviews, but I was very pleasantly surprised. I wo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself could do with a little face lift.

    The location was great, and the staff very courteous and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    5.0
    Good base.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updating. Shoddy repairs and worn out fixtures. Phoned hotel after booking hotel to ask for a high room with river view, was told that was all sorted and it wouldn't be a problem. When we arrived this wasn't the case. Wasn't happy.. staff didn't know about it !!

    location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Staff were friendly and helpful. Excellent size for a family room. Didn't feel like we were all squashed in. Everything was clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable, would love to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was very comfy the staff were very friendly the hotel was very conveniently located there were pubs clubs bars restaurants museums everything within walking distance and the hotel comes well supplied with essentials and if you needed more you could be sure they would have it at reception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    It was clean friendly and close to town and pubs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't think much of the breakfast so second morning went out and found a nicer cheaper breakfast round the corner

    It was clean friendly and close to town and pubs

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    Nice place to stay could work on the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast average. Particularly the continental, Disappointed with limited options.

    Location fantastic, Beds very comfortable, staff were nice and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    the rooms are badly needing revamp? they are in very poor...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the rooms are badly needing revamp? they are in very poor condition? every time I visit I always need to change rooms for some reason? i.e. TV not working. no hot water. furniture in room falling off wall? overall I travel a lot of premier inns this is in no doubt the worst for wear

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast particularly busy on the second day of my stay, I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast particularly busy on the second day of my stay, I had the continental breakfast but basic items like the selection of breads had completely run out leaving sliced bread which was unfortunate. Staff were very apologetic about this.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.8
    Bring a cheap umbrella, for the seagulls!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hygiene risk with the abundance of seagulls on entry and exit of the building, (bring a cheap plastic umbrella for poo splats, it's that bad). Difficult to access hotel via car on a Sunday due to Sunday market closing off the Quay side road. Hotel rooms look a bit tired and in need of an update, together with sound proofing the windows, and air conditioning in the room would have been a nice option but not essential.

    The bed was very comfortable. Staff efficient and friendly, as well as polite and smartly dressed. The location next to the river tyne and close to the city centre was excellent, with plenty of cafés and restaurants near by.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    My visit to Newcastle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing was excellent. Nothing bad to say.

    Excellent location to shops and bars. We were over visiting my daughter who lives in Newcastle now, as she goes to Newcastle university. .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    9.2
    long weekend group outing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bar was very over priced. did not drink here at nights the way we had done in other locations. don,t like being ripped off.

    the location was fantastic.we travelled as a group and the hotel was easily found.rooms were comfortable and very clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room Cold and dated

    Staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    Left feeling incredibly tired
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family rooms located above a nightclub keeping us awake most of the night

    Staff were fabulous

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    We have stayed here before and find the hotel central to everything and the staff are very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was nothing that we didn't enjoy

    we really enjoyed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff. Great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Comfortable hotel under the Tyne bridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Central location comfortable beds and friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was good. Staff were friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location and welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with plug socket beside bed. Water wasn't hot in the mornings

    Sophie on reception was amazing help.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Comfy bed and great shower.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gap either side of the bed was tiny. TV could have been bigger.

    Comfy bed and great shower. Perfect location as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.8
    Great area to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's was gruby

    Great area to stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from other rooms, but that happens everywhere

    Great location, staff friendly and lovely box of chocolates from the staff for our anniversary

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. As expected for the price

    Good value for money. Good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Beds were comfortable and staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating in the room was not great- very cold particularly in the bathroom!

    Beds were comfortable and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.8
    Thoroughly enjoyable stay Great location.Lovely Quayside particularly after dark. Beautiful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could do with a grab rail for the bath.

    The breakfast was really good.Plenty of choice and lots of it. Set up for the day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable. Even the weather was good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable bed and excellent food. All staff extremely efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Stayed with children and grandchildren to celebrate 50th wedding anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really We were aware it was an old building which added to the charm

    Big bed and room Very comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.8
    Ok on the whole
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaners did not do a very job they did not do all they should

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.5
    Lovely room but overall hotel needs a facelift perfect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room but overall hotel needs a facelift perfect location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    Love the home weekend stay was great people were out standing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to answer as it's been the first time iv stated so there's nothing to compare it with

    Staff we're very freindly helpfull

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    Great location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows a bit drafty

    Great location and staff

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: