Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Prested Hall 3 stars

Prested Hall, Coggeshall, CO5 9EE, United Kingdom

#1 of 5 hotels in Coggeshall

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 185 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Location was quiet and handy for the main road, enjoyed the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    evening meal and breakfast were a little disappointing, after reading the reviews on site

    Location was quiet and handy for the main road, enjoyed the swimming pool the room was very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay - will be booking again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was so comfy, breakfast was incredible and the price of the stay was perfect! I booked myself into the spa for a treatment and it was very relaxing. Staff were great and very friendly with my 2 year old!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely location, an absolutely beautiful building and grounds that has the potential to be great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast wasn't great and the wifi was very poor and keeps dropping out. if they want to attract weekday business travellers and more corporate customers they must improve the wifi. The sausages and bacon were poor and deep fried mushrooms are just lazy and not acceptable for a hotel of this class. There are slight improvements and attention to detail needed here and there and this hotel could be excellent (Better breakfast and my coffee pot was dirty).

    The hotel is brilliant for a quiet getaway or for a celebration. My evening meal was brilliantly presented and very tasty the tomato and basil soup could have done with a bit more basil.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Hidden Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small and quirky with very friendly staff who make you feel at home immediately. The food was excellent in every way, both evening meal and breakfast. Would definitely stay again if ever in the area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    The hotel is unpretentious with a tranquil lake and wonderful swimming pool a comfy hotel .
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't find anything I disliked.

    I had seen that rooms were air conditioned however our downstairs twin room was not as it was such a hot day 30 degrees I asked for. A fan and without any fuss I was given one Staff were exceptional I visited friends locally with my elderly mother and we enjoyed a very good meal and had a restful stay. It was all on the one level and the gardens were superb Samantha is a credit to the hotel I hope to return soon Thankyou

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.5
    Very pleasant, would stay again when the weather cools!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two things - one, it was boiling hot and as this is an old property there’s no air con and small windows. We complained and the duty manager and his manager did get us some fans and a/c units which was appreciated but it was still like an oven. The other issue is that the bathrooms in the attic room are a bit weird; there’s a toilet with a sink and a shower room but that doesn’t have a toilet, so the suite sleeps up to five people but only one toilet which seems silly given how much space there is!

    It was very clean and the grounds are beautiful, we stayed in the attic suite which was really spacious. The food in the restaurant was really good and although they don’t have a kids’ menu, they were very accommodating with the children and had lots of choices for them, too!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful place with friendly staff, food was good but over priced and wifi didn't work.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was free but none of the 5 available worked or would stay connected. The evening menu was over priced for what you got and everything was an extra.

    lovely location, grounds, building and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Amazing and calm place, definitely a must for people wanting to escape the hustle and bustle of ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like the antique furniture, but at is not very useful. Also , the Wi-Fi didn't work.

    Excellent, friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast was huge and everything of a great quality Comfy rooms and great atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.0
    Staff were very friendly, beautiful setting, food very good,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi was not great. Water pressure in the hotel (not the spa) was not great. Unfortunate that the two weekday nights I stayed out of four I experienced loud music from 1am-4am with lots of chat below my window. I still slept albeit disturbed!

    Staff were very friendly, beautiful setting, food very good, very clean, beds very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.1
    Good stay but no better than anywhere else I’ve been
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that no one told us that it was going to shut an hour after we checked in so when we went to use the pool it was closed One of the main reasons I booked it

    The fact it had a pool and gym

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn't change a thing

    Staff were friendly and very helpful. Food was incredible. Hotel is very clean and nicely furnished. Beautiful flowers everywhere added a lovely fragrance and eye catching displays.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Great find in Essex!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful old building in a lovely country feel setting . Room was lovely with a large and beautiful old bathroom. The breakfast was very good. We found the staff helpful and very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    A perfect short break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints at all

    We stayed just one night for my wife's birthday and we were really impressed. The lady on Reception was pleasant and helpful, and our room was upgraded from a double to the bridal suite! We specifically booked a hotel with an indoor pool but the sauna and steam room were an added bonus. Breakfast was great, it's in a lovely location so we could walk around the grounds. Very easy to get to too, being just off the A12, yet it was set back far enough so it was really quiet with no traffic noise. We would highly recommend!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    Still my favourite stay in that part of the world, but they need to sort their Wifi!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi. Seriously, after all these years of having the establishment I am dumbfounded by the reluctance to invest in what is pretty imperitive infrastructure for a hotel in 2018. The staff blame it on being 'so far down the line;, but that has nothing to do with the problem. Guests would probably accept a weak signal but the wiring of the router and boosters is the problem, not the signal to the site. This is a really annoying issue which does make me think twice about each time I book...but still I return.

    I stay here a lot. The building is old and rickety and full of charm. The staff are all lovely. Parking in safe, and excellent. Breakfast and food in general is amazing. Very well situated for that part of Essex near major routes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Totally relaxing and comfortable, will definitely be going back very soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only comment we had is that we were missing soap in one of the 2 sinks, not a biggie as we had some with us so didnt bother to ask reception.

    The staff were fantastic and so friendly and helpful. We never felt rushed or in the way. We stayed for Afternoon tea, Dinner, Breakfast and lunch and could not fault the food in any way. Our room was huge and the beds so comfy and very clean. Bathroom was new and clean too. There were lovely touches such as homemade biscuits in the room that made it extra special.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    by a quirk of fate we had no food menu or drinks menu or breakfast menu at our table but this was quickly remedied when the waiter asked for our order the pastry on the dessert was hard enough to explode the dessert onto my shirt but as my wife had no trouble with a similar dessert im not sure why

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    5.8
    Stunning building and lovely receptionist
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to eat over the road in the evening at the tennis club and they are not very welcoming plus only have 4 options for evening meal! Breakfast was limited just cereal, bread and cooked. Room was cold and bathroom was not the cleanest. Shower would not empty and removed the plug to find....yuk! Bath also had a few hairs around. So not that clean, no evening meal and limited breakfast :( Pitched for retired couples for the odd night away....

    The property is full of character, easy parking and reasonable price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a brilliant stay for the night. We loved how easy it was to find and loved the swimming pool was very clean and also quite which was nice. We enjoyed the steam room and sauna was lovely and relaxing. Our room was beautiful and we had a two course meal in the evening which was lovely excellent value for money. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast in the morning which was included in the price we were amazed at such quality food for amazing price. Definitely would come back here had the best stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Memorable stay in a beautiful hotel with fantastic staff- Well worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is some work to be done on the driveway and this was obviously interrupted due to the poor weather. I think I would have to be very picky to highlight this. It didn't spoil my stay in the least

    This is an amazing hotel. Spotless and beautifully maintained. The staff are cheerful, friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Check in was simple and straightforward. I travel a fair bit up and down the country and I can honestly say this place has to be in my top 3. I highly recommend a visit for lunch or an overnight stay - just to sample the fab breakfast. The bedroom was spacious and beautifully furnished - it reminded me of a Laura Ashley Hotel minus the pretense!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Lovely rural location within easy reach of London, near to both Colchester and Chelmsford cities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly welcome upon arrival, taken to our room by the young guy on reception who explained that our room was one of the original rooms with lots of the original features

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.8
    Didn’t stay long enough to really appreciate anything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in the dingle. Over priced for what it is. The Bathroom and toilet is dated and cold took a few hours to warm up as electric heating with no underfloor heating. It was Full of ladybirds. And it’s more of a small leisure centre on site than a spa.

    Didn’t stay long enough to really appreciate anything Although the real tennis court was good to see.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    Very lovely, a little over priced though!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was slightly disappointed with the spa, lack of seats/loungers, a group of women took all the seats and the lounges but didn't use them all but covered them with towels so no one else could! The staff there were ok!

    The room was lovely, the food was excellent ! The place was very clean and comfortable!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    thoroughly enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    radiator in the bathroom was luke warm and was never going to be able to heat a very large bathroom on a very cold night. we were given an additional heather which sorted the problem

    loved the building, the staff were very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.3
    Very nice and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the morning the cleaners were sort of waiting about in the corridor outside the rooms waiting to clean them just looked a little bit unprofessional

    The room was very nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    A very comfortable stay, a good evening meal and breakfast was excellent on both days. I
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, number 10 was a bit small, my husband is a large man! We found the room a bit cold and as soon as we mentioned this, a heater was put into the room. I enjoyed having the opportunity to use the swimming pool and steam room. The facilities were spotlessly clean and the staff most helpful. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and we enjoyed strolling around the Hall especially as the weather was so good during our stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.8
    Cozy place and worth an overnight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floors are not well insulated so we were woken very early by the room upstairs. They weren't being particularly noisey, just walking around. Not a fault with staff or hotel as such.... But if you want to lay in... bring your earplugs. Kids can only use the pool on the weekends as shown on the hotel website.

    Breakfast was fantastic and staff are very helpful and friendly. Cozy and romantic place that is close to Colchester. In a traditional county house style.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    It was peaceful, comfortable and enjoyed every minute of it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was so comfortable, the mattress was superb, the duvet was feathered and light, but so warm. We spent 3 days relaxing in bed! The pillow were very comfortable too. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The swimming pool was nice the changing rooms were very clean and luxurious. We had a lovely 3 day stay. It was nice and quiet everything I was looking for!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Family getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We had a great stay at Prested Hall. The staff were really helpful and friendly and the hotel is in a great location to explore the area or simply stay in and relax. Our room was really spacious and very clean and we as a family had all we could wish for. The staff were very helpful and lovely with our 18month old too and the duck pond was a big hit! Our breakfast was fabulous and the staff were terrific. We would definitely stay again and I would like to recommend Prested Hall to you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast was good and service was excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor wi-fi which didnt help as I needed for work, so unless they improve the Wi-Fi I will have to look elsewhere to stay

    Breakfast was good and service was excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.8
    Great birthday weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit chilly in some places but it was January. Spa is run separately from hotel and closes too early at weekends

    Lovely place and staff were wonderful. Superb service. Good meal moved to library as we were only guests. Felt like private dining with intimate atmosphere. Surprise birthday cake topped it off.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.3
    Great hospitality,lovely clean room and an extremely comfortable bed
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a thing a very enjoyable stay

    The bed was so comfortable we missed breakfast .The evening meal was lovely we would go back the waiter who served our evening meal was attentive and good not do enough for us wonderful service

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing country feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner sorry

    Breakfast was very good and very friendly staff, dinner was disappointing it had been made previously pre order I could just tell. Menu could be more variable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.2
    Romantic, funny ,peaceful & PERFECT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was freezing and the heating didn’t seem to heat the bed room up

    The staff was brilliant we had a proper laugh with them (the younger staff) the bedroom and bath room was breathtaking just a little chilly but we understood it was an attic room the food was lovely we had an amazing weekend and left very relaxed and very loved up it was perfect

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.9
    Peaceful. Relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No jacuzzi! As had superior room hoped would have better seating area...perhaps sofa.

    Lovely fresh coffee in room. All food was top class. Bistro meal delicious and great value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.5
    usually very good but this time disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    gap between bed and mantelpiece was very narrow and difficult to pass without contact with the latter, particularly for a shorter person. plug in bathroom sink did not fit properly. Television control had no back so batteries were held in by sellotape. when remote was turned the right way up for use, batteries became disconnected so that it did not work.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Outstanding service and experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed prior to my wedding with my Best Man, the experience from arrival to departure was amazing. Staff, particularly on the evening, are an asset to the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely recommend and return to the hotel. Many thanks..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.3
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was quite small. Wall sockets were difficult to access. Leisure facilities adequate but a bit tired need upgrading in keeping with the hotel.

    Enjoyable stay. Very helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. Very comfy beds and spacious en-suite with fabulous shower. Had a lovely meal at the bistro which was good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.5
    Comfy bed, spa brill, food lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shame meal wasn't in Prested Hall. Had to walk to the health club. Maybe because we were the only two staying there that night.

    Comfy bed, spa brill, food lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    6.3
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    more of a wedding machine than a hotel and as a wedding venue is excellent Facilities, swimming pool and restaurant divorced from the building by approx. 200M Not a good walk in bad weather. these facilities are part of a leisure centre and busy with the general public. The room was a good size but lacked a fridge, air-con which could have been a portable one, in 30 degrees it was needed. Bath is very rounded at the bottom, most unsuitable to have a shower over it and no anti slip mat provided. very small Tv

    excellent breakfast staff very pleasant and efficient and tried very hard to make our stay pleasant Room moved to the front of the Hotel so to be out of the sun.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    4.6
    Spider in the bath
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have never stayed in a hotel that you are unable to order any type of food after 6 pm on a Sunday. Customers should be offered some kind of meal/ snack I was absolutely starving

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.9
    Lovely,great bed, fab staff and great time...coming back soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a problems with the shower but the staff and manager were great and the issue sorted. Didn't like that we only had ONE night would have loved more.

    The property was in beautiful grounds. The staff lovely and very helpful. Very comfy bed. Great having the sports and spa facilities in the grounds. Looking forward to coming back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.5
    a welcome pit stop in Essex
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    difficult to criticise but the winter duvet coincided with a warm night - can't blame the hotel for nice weather!

    Eggs florentine were perfect and hollandaise sauce was to die for! Swimming pool, sauna and steam room at the on site leisure complex were excellent!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing bad to mention

    Went to a wedding so wasn't in the Hotel much. Slept well, the bed was very comfortable and the swimming pool was good for a morning swim. Overall a good stay

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.2
    An excellent choice for our overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reaching our attic room was like negotiating a maze — along narrow corridors and steep staircases with frequent left and right turns. Our mattress was too soft and the pillows were too soggy to be of any use. No food is available at the hotel on Sunday evenings and we had great difficulty finding somewhere else to eat. On Sundays most local pubs only serve food at lunchtime and no nearby restaurants seemed to be open other than Indian Cottage in Kelvedon. We finally found Tavern on the River (a.k.a. Railway Tavern), where we were able to enjoy typical pub food.

    The hotel has a pleasing country house atmosphere and is surrounded by landscaped grounds, with some unusual trees and a lake with nesting ducks and swans. All the staff we came into contact with were friendly and helpful. Once we finally reached it, our bedroom was fine, as was its adjoining bathroom, which has a large shower and a full-size bath (plus a fireplace!). Breakfast was excellent, with a good choice of cooked dishes. The conservatory breakfast room has a pleasant view of the hotel's lake, with ducklings running about on the grass beside it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Amazing relaxing break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hollandaise sauce was slightly too rich and too much of it at breakfast.. but that is all!

    Bed linen was lovely a soft! Breakfast was really lovely & a really relaxing break for us both. We only booked this a week in advance and for easter weekend there was some avaliability, it was a quiet break away and some lovely pubs around also.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    highly recommended will definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner and breakfast were both superb well cooked with excellent quality meat. Room 1 was beautiful with huge comfortable bed. The restoration of the property was a labour of love and this passion continues through all the staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    Great, would defo stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly, as in extremely friendly, helped us to find somewhere to eat outside of the hotel. The breakfast was lovely, room was lovely, the grounds were lovely. It was actually amazing. I enjoyed the handmade biscuits in the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.2
    Great character property. Food good if not great. Nice rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 11 great, but shower water temperature varied without warning. Started off fine then ice cold.following morning fine for a few mins then suddenly became boiling hot. Slipped and slightly hurt my wrist as I tried to escape the scalding jet! Also wasn't told pool is closed Weds mornings for cleaning: If this had been explained I would have used the previous evening. I missed out! :-(

    Lovely old house with character. Great service snd staff with positive pro-cusromer attitude. Plenty of parking and comfy bed. Peaceful location. Breakfast excellent and better than bistro dinner, which was just ok.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Dont miss this place it is amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing really - if I want to be picky I would say the drive needs repairing but otherwaise nothing

    the staff are fantastic, really helpful and natural. the facilities are excellent. the place is spotless the food is amazing and the choice is great

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Beautiful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no negatives here just a fantastic place to stay and we will be doing it again and recommending to all our friends

    Very comfortable room and extra friendly helpful staff that go the extra mile

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay at Prested Hall,we can't wait to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The friendly staff,the beautiful building with so much history and the amount of work gone into restoring the building whist managing to keep the charm.The beautiful peaceful bedroom,the only sound was of the occasional pheasant!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Lovely stay in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We managed to get a twin room at a reduced price. Larger than average single beds,nice and comfy with plumped up pillows.lovely breakfast. The spa was an extra bonus with a decent size pool. It's set in a beautiful location.stayed at the end of March and arrived on a nice sunny day so we were able to sit outside with a drink admiring the views.we ate out at the sun inn pub up the road and the meal was delicious. We look forward to coming back for another stay at pressed hall.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    Lovely rural grounds in convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing Conve

    Close to A12 for convenience yet very quiet and set in beautiful grounds. Excellent parking and charming friendly staff. Excellent incredibly generous supper and very good value.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    7.5
    great leisure hotel terrible business hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wi fi not fit for purpose - could not even downlioad newspaper, gym opened too late in the morning at 0800, bistro closed at 2015. booking confirmation does not have road on it so hard to find. No desk in room

    lovely gym, lovely staff, great bed linen

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic place for a nice little night away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My boyfriend said the pool was cold. I didn't mind the temperature. Breakfast could maybe be served until a little later.

    The bed was so comfy and the bathroom was gorgeous. Room 15 is cozy. We didn't hear a single noise from outside or other guests either. I loved the building too, it had a real charm about it.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    9.6
    Weekend break with buddies.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The radiator was not working in the room but house keeping got on to it straight away and got a radiator. The Pool was cold but that is not the Hotels fault these things happen.

    Booked this to meet up with an old friend we had a excellent time, the Hall is amazing with so much history, the staff were very friendly and could not help you enough. Rooms comfortable and clean. The leisure facilities we really enjoyed as booked a package good value. We will be returning. We had breakfast and 1 evening meal top quality excellent chief. 10 out of 10.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    8.3
    Staff where all lovely very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was not fixed it was too clod we was looking forward to have a good time in the pool with the baby , and to stay a bit longer the Nexted day to go swimming again

    The grounds , the comfort of the room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    9.6
    A perfect evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    n/a

    I book this hotel for my wife's birthday present and it could not be more perfect. The staff were very polite and willing to go the extra mile to ensure you have a pleasant stay. The food was excellent and being that we were the only guest there (last night at the hotel before closing down for Christmas), they moved us from the dining room to the library to eat. The library was surrounded by 11 lit candles and soft music in the background, very intimate. As for our room, it was very spacious & clean and the bed was very comfy. I would not hesitate to book here again. Thank you to all the staff there for making it perfect for us that evening.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    8.8
    Unusual, cosy country hotel with good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wished we could have had a Shower

    Lovely ambience and very friendly , helpful staff , great choice of cooked breakfast and individual rooms rather than run if the mill.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    5.4
    clean, but not relaxing at all! got no sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't eat there, drink at the bar, or sit down stairs due to a function! Couldn't get any treatments at the spa,or relax as was too busy!

    Clean and cozy

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    7.9
    An Ideal choice for our three day break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the down side, and being really "picky".The room was to warm for our liking and despite the radiator having a thermostatic valve, it didn't function! So no control on room temperature! Apart from that All was good.

    They have an excellent breakfast chef, serving up the best hotel breakfasts we've ever had! And served in the garden room overlooking the water with its abundance of wild life, heron, swans, pheasants, moorhens and coots. Oh! And not forgetting the early morning fox! A truly delightful start to the day!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.3
    Very comfy bed and bathroom
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very poor as it clearly was not cooked freshly

    Very comfy bed and bathroom

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    it was relaxing and nice just the wifi / GSM didn't work well
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi and GSM connection almost not working

    beatiful country side and old house

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.5
    It was a lovely place to stay, staff very helpfull and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a lovely place to stay, staff very helpfull and friendly, will stay again soon.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff peaceful place to stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asking to fill out this bloody silly questionnaire

    Friendly welcome, gin and tonic perfect

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Great!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fan was required in the room during the hot weather as no windows opened in the room

    The staff, the excellent facilities, the food, the price!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Will stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Real Tennis courts - brilliant - although local knowledge of court peculiarities a definite advantage to home players! Great experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Excellent location and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and views. Everything was better than expected very good service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    The staff went out of their way to be pleasant and helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi and tv in my room did not work at all.

    English breaks fast and dinner special

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing friendly house and very helpfull staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely old manor house

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    Our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we didn't like

    Quiet, restful, great staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing, its perfect!!

    Lovely place to stay, real quality as far as I'm concerned, I will always stay here when in the area,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable, beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.8
    Very disappointing and breakfast also very poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It advertised a restaurant but the bistro in the spa was the only place to eat and the choice was very limited indeed.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: