Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Preston Sands Hotel 2 stars

Marine Parade, Paignton, TQ3 2NU, United Kingdom

#63 of 75 hotels in Paignton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 579 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Service at breakfast let the whole experience down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at breakfast! Chaos, two staff hadn’t turned up, so a long wait! Had to go and give our order to a waitress who was stood texting on her phone!! Lovely girl who usually worked on Reception was helping due to staff shortage!

    Great location and lovely view from bedroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    What a gem of a place friendly staff, very clean and a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a gem of a place friendly staff, very clean and a lovely location. I stayed here as a work contactor although it's really set up for tourists but they made me feel very welcome and made sure I had breakfast first so I could get to work on time, would definitely use again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    We all really enjoyed our stay. Beautiful location, owner and new receptionist welcoming & friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Biscuits in the room

    The view from our family room was amazing. Large room. Evening meal excellent quality and priced. Breakfast included in the price of the room which again was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.7
    The hotel serves a purpose . I would stay again due to the location
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need updating as getting tired now

    Hotel a bit tired , bed squeaky . Location and views were lovely Everything was clean and breakfast was fab .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    Ideall for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My shower room was a bit dated and very snug! I hadn't realised there is a train track at the back of the hotel.

    The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The room was clean and airy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.3
    Clean and quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A coach was parked in front of hotel, then there was the street, and then there was a solid row of sheds, and then finally, there was the beach. The coach customers were clearly given preferential treatment while other customers were barely acknowledged.

    Very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all.

    For the price, this hotel is exellent. The view from our room was amazing with 180 degree sea views. The breakfast was very good. Live entertainment some nights. Eddie the manager was very friendly and helpful, without being overbearing. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    It was value for money, got what I expected from the Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms quite noisy as walls seemed really thin. Floor and bed made a lot of noise when walking on, getting on and off the bed. Train line right outside the window we stayed in, unfortunately.

    It was value for money, got what I expected from the Hotel. Room was clean, but furniture very dated and below standard. I personally didn't like the breakfast, but my partner had no problem, he felt it was adequate and was alright to eat. The hotel has easy access to Torquay and Paignton, close to some amenities. Choice of sea view or train line outside the window.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.0
    The location was right opposite the red sanded beach, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom was very small, room was very hot with only a standing fan which only circulated the hot air, had to sleep with balcony door tilted open, creaking floor boards, could hear conversations from next rooms, doors slamming shut

    The location was right opposite the red sanded beach, and the balcony

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    We had a lovely relaxed and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Girls serving at breakfast were very friendly but need to be more organised perhaps being responsible for certain tables would help.

    We came here last year and liked the location so much we came back. We opted for a room with a sea view. Easy walk into Paignton and very good bus service from bus station to Brixham and Torquay. Thoroughly recommend round robin trip from train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    We had the most fantastic view from our window loved the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the most fantastic view from our window loved the room very clean but a bit dated still lovely and we had a parking space so we could go and walk without worrying .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very dated. No need for Binoculars in the room (filthy dirty eye lens rubbers) Cleanliness not up to standard for example (windowsills & windows, cups on guest tray) Bedside lamp cable taped up. Stained cups, dirty glasses at breakfast. Pleasant hosts, but on stopping briefly in the hotel car park on arrival to check in, was told “you can’t park there”. Staff were helpful when asked for directions.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    A nice short break at the Preston Sands
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower. No pressure. Like standing under a slowly dripping tap. This is the only reason we would not stay here again. Everything else was fine.

    Balcony. Sea view. Friendly staff. Location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Exellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    We had a lovely one night stay, can't fault it at all. Maybe they could provide small shower gel shampoo etc, as we forgot ours, WHOOPS! Other than that A1. Will be back. The breakfast was great, good choice of what you could have. Brilliant. We had a terrace outside and a wonderful view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Lovely staff, very helpful and welcoming, comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff, very helpful and welcoming, comfortable and clean accommodation- outstanding sea view and lovely breakfast, will definitely come here again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    A great location and the room with a balcony is what I would...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is limited.

    A great location and the room with a balcony is what I would strongly recommend- amazing sea view. The hotel is run as part of a charity and so gives opportunities for people struggling to work and it gets my vote for that alone.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Very welcoming with great location and stunning views of Torbay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this last minute and it turned out to be probably the best location you could find, staff were very friendly and helpful and the landlord made us feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble. I would recommend it to anyone who wanted great value for money,lovely room fantastic views out to the sea. We will be going again thanks Eddie.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    A good last min stay for 1 night at expected 2* standard. Would certainly stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No one on reception on arrival Parking not the most convenient (Having to block people in outside of the hotel) Breakfast Staff, could have been 20% friendlier. Service was a little 'dry'

    Good Price Clean Room Great Location - Right near the Beachfront Friendly Owner/Manager - Explained everything well TV in Room Decent Breakfast, all cooked well

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.0
    Sadly awful ......wouldnt go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly we were put at the topfloor and carpet hadn't been hooovered and thin in places...creeky floorboards sooo noisy....in and outside of our room....and in our bathroom so awful old fashion broken tiles replaced with odd ones awful floor in bathroom too ...generally old...very disappointing....bedroom soo old fashion pillows awfully thin didn't sleep ....mattress really lumpy and very uncomfortable....holes in the curtains ....didnt like the look of the carpet everything old and uninviting didn't want to be in the room....only good thing sea view ....table at breakfast on the first morning was filthy ....no atmosphere such ashame as we had stayed before....this time generally disappointing so much we didn't stay the last night rather be at home in my own bed and loose the money...😦

    Location and having sea view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    Acceptable standard for the single traveller; Easy routes to other places in the English riviera.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    SIngle room was fine, although during the evening the noise of the passing train was evident, but they did not run from around 11pm - 7am so did not interrupt sleep.

    The breakfasts were lovely and were served very quickly from order to table.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.0
    Lovely place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is a little dated but the view more than made up for that and I would definitely stay again. The price is also very reasonable/

    Everything the staff were very pleasant and amenable when you asked them anything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.1
    Wonderful Views, 1 mile out of town - adequate for cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hideous electric toilet that barely worked just made lots of noise. Wonky floor in the bathroom Teeny tiny 1970's shower with damp shower curtain (didn't fancy using it) When you empty the bathroom sink it gurgles in the shower Grubby bannisters :( Breakfast - very poor

    The location was terrific I had a twin with balcony. Views are fantastic across the bay. Very comfy single beds Very nice bright white clean bedding Free WiFi - bit patchy but OK Good parking onsite and outside the hotel on the road Level work into town/harbour/pier Quiet location slightly off the main streets Take you swimming stuff - beach 10 paces away Swim off the promenade at high tide.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely people, fabulous location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were extremely lovely and made me feel very welcome. As a lady on her own, I found their attitude reassuring. My single room was clean and comfortable. Very happy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Absolutely amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eddy helped us with everything! The rooms are nice and clean and we had an amazing view from our window, thanx for Eddy! Loved our stay even-though we couldn’t stay till the morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    fabulous friendly staff, in a great location hotel,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    black pudding with the breakfast

    extra special treatment from all members of staff seems the standard in this hotel. will look forward to staying again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    We really enjoyed our stay, very relaxing, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was a little firm but I find this with virtually all hotel birds so may be just my personal preference.

    Excellent, helpful staff, amazing location and outstanding views, very good breakfast, very good value for money. We plan to go again in the summer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, staff are so friendly and can’t do enough to help you enjoy your stay. My family and I have booked to visit again in November. I would certainly recommend this seaside hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.3
    Could easily have been so much better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was not typical of those on website but rather smaller. There was no room for a chair and only a small stool to sit on. The very small television was years old. The original remote would only turn the TV on and off and a second control was needed for other functions. The bathroom was tiny. It had no bath and the shower cubicle door had been replaced with a shower curtain. the cistern had yellowed with age took a long time to refill and was noisy. The double glazing allowed in draughts. The window problem was of long standing and adhesive draught proofing had been applied in at lease one area but had largely worn away. Breakfast was efficient but eggs undercooked, baked beans luke warm and on last day of 3 the butter spread was one day out of date. No information in room about meal times etc although told verbally on arrival. We always enjoy our selves but would not make a return visit. Suspect that there may be ongoing refurbishment but that no concession for rooms not dealt with.

    Great view and easy free parking. Very clean. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.3
    Okay for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tea and coffee facilities in the room were dirty. Cup was that dirty at breakfast it was actually stuck too the plate with tea marks all around. Booked two rooms seperatley and they still got the names wrong on both bookings. Eggs and bacon were burnt at breakfast.

    The bed was comfy and we had a lovely sea view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.1
    Nobody there to check out and shower hot and cold
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The customers service was not brilliant from the possible ower/manager. When we came to check out at 8.45 there was nobody around to give the keys to or ask about the area. We had 2 give our key to a waitress carrying breakfasts. The shower was not good kept goin hot and cold.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    As I expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little uncomfortable, and the pillows flat, and there were no extra ones. No view in the room, we were looking at a wall. No atmosphere in the bar or breakfast room.

    The accessibility of the room for my mother (not one of your options in the who was I travelling with), was perfect. Liked the fact we were on the seafront. The staff were naturally friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Best place to stay in Paignton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didnt like it that our visit was so short, we could of happily stayed much longer, and the weather, it snowed on day 2 making it impossible to use the balcony.

    We stayed there last year and we were recognised by the manager, he immediately offered us a better room with a balcony, which even though it was freezing cold, we sat on just so we could use it, he continued to ensue that our weekend was enjoyable and looked after us, asking us when he saw us if all was well and if we needed anything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    would return again if we could stay in same room 0
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small fridge in room to keep drinks and food cool and fresh during a longer stay.

    Breakfast by the sea and the view from the room with the balcony door open watching the sea 👌💖👀🌴🛥👍🌞 There was a stand fan in the room which was very handy. The bed was very comfortable. There was a level access shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    Great value warm and clean friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit dated but to be fair the price we paid was excellent

    Room clean and warm a bit small and dated but good value for money as had a buy one night get second night free

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    absolutely stunning weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no sausage on the fry up lol

    friendly staff. cant do enough for the customers. absolutely spanking room with a lovely view. we will be back :-) jess and ben

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Great location, great value off peak stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not all facilities open due to low season, but we had all we needed at a great price.

    Cheap special offer during low season (they said they wouldn't normally be open in January but were opening at weekends). Discovered that hotel profits and spare resources used for charitable and social needs. Great view from restaurant for breakfast - sunrise over the calm sea one day and waves crashing over the sea wall into the road the next day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    3.3
    Not what we expected 😕
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room . Sea view with a balcony and when we arrived they didn't have one available. Reception staff was diss- interested. Had a dirty white shirt on .

    Position in Preston on the beach

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.0
    Wouldn't stay again and would advise my friends not to stay at this property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could really do with updating and a good clean , bed was old and uncomfortable although linen was clean , window frames were dirty in room looked like they hadn't been cleaned for months, windowsills in the restaurant were dirty and could do with a good clean , would I stay there again !!!! NO

    The breakfast was nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    View from our room was fantastic, very friendly and...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike

    View from our room was fantastic, very friendly and accommodating staff, breakfast was lovely, very clean room and bed was very comfortable, had a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay. Would come again.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooom had very stuffy smell and is very outdated. Bed linen had a rip on seam. Bit old fashioned overall.

    Very friendly clean accommodation. Great free wifi. Excellent breakfast. Location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.9
    Very enjoyable few days. Wouldn't want to stay here if the hotel was full.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel needs redecorating in parts as it is looking a little tired.

    The position of the hotel was fantastic. The food choices were a little limited but on the whole the food was good and the portions very generous.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very friendly and helpful....the front balcony room has beautiful views. We are definitely going back next year..many thanks to all :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    4.2
    Disappointed wouldn’t stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worse night sleep I have had . The bed was so uncomfortable and every time you turned over it squeaked and woke you up. The room had cob webs and flies on the window , not that clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room noisy, lift one side stairs the other, railway 10/15 mtrs away and above room hight. heating on in evening and through night, early hours of first night I had to turn rad off, after that I turned rad off. lovely sunny days but how dreary from my window.

    Breakfast very good. staff friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.4
    Ok but would not use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv fell off wall, I had to put it back up on screw. bathroom needed a good clean. I may as well been sleeping on a railway line

    Breakfast was ok, waitress was strange. Only 2 other people in when I arrived yet she could not decide where I could sit.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    3.8
    DO NOT STAY HERE
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Preston Sands DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY HERE Especially if your elderly as the steps are so thin it’s borderline dangerous. Mould & flys will be my memories of here. Receptionist unprofessional not very helpful I was given a general point where my room was not given any information at all then on the top floor after some very thin steep steps my room was so small it was ridiculous not to mention the amount of mould covering the whole window my asthma immediately kicked in so then had to go all the way back down wasn’t told sorry didn’t seem surprised and didn’t care given another room which when entering was a twin so slightly bigger but again mould around the window and about 20 huge flies outside of window waiting to get in if you opened it also the main line is right there again tiny shower cubicle no wonder this place is so cheap The staff are so unhappy and grumpy don’t want to talk to you I saw this in other guests too. The place is in a great location but needs a decent owner to reverse its fortune. 4th night kept awake all night by the chavvy blokes next door going in and out all night to smoke weed and talking loudly still at 5am through the paper thin walls. This is the type of clientele this place attracts avoid it. Noisy chavvy hotel with young lads making noise all night slamming doors in and out for hours and shouting staff are extremely rude there is much better places nearby WiFi doesn’t work in rooms staff just laughed about it

    Right next to the beach

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    It was a lovely relaxing holiday, we went back heome refreshed and energized.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing we did not like.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent with a bonus of a beautiful sea view. The bedroom was kept refreshed everyday. We really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.8
    Fine for someone desperate for a nights accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our first room assigned to us was infested with hundreds of flies and we had to ask for a different room. The room given to us was right on the railway tracks and the lights and sounds from the trains were heard throughout the night and morning. The bed seemed quite old and the shower was tiny.

    Close to the beach and other attractions. The breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Short stop over in Paignton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great beachfront location,car parking available on site always a bonus. Friendly helpful staff,being able to have an evening meal if you want was good. Our search view room was just the job,unspoilt view of the lovely Devon coast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the comfiest of beds but for the price I paid it really is the smallest of issues

    Bargain price. Location is excellent, staff were very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was great as was the stay. Will be staying there again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.9
    We were in Devon for a family gathering so wanted somewhere within walking distance of family
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window wasn't fitted properly so a strong breeze was felt as was the weekend of storm Brian . Also one pillow wasn't clean

    Bed was comfy. This hotel was perfect to our needs close to family but far enough away to be on our own. The breakfast was served on blast furnace hot plates which to me is a good thing as I dislike lukewarm food and the service was speedy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.6
    Short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a long walk into town. Breakfast wasn't the best thing too.

    An excellent choice for the price, lovely panoramic view of the bay from the bar conservatory.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    4.6
    I would not recommend this hotel, look elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Upon arrival they had no record of our booking. We were not offered an explanation for this but instead were simply told 'not to worry'. The room we were given overlooked a busy railway line. We were told the bar closes at 11.00 and later when being used by guests. but arriving back at the hotel at 10.15 we were told that they were no longer serving. The breakfast was poor, and the coffee barely warm, the cups stained and dirty. Although we had booked a three night stay we left after the first night and have no intention of ever returning.

    The room was small but clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    3.8
    Crap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar not open at night. Room cramped dirty tv small toilet loose bed needs changing decorations poor no staff on lates. Could not get evening meal on arrival

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    Great location great value but maybe go elsewhere for food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast had a good selection but the full English did not look cooked so we left it

    Fantastic views and close to the beach - find Henry’s pub amazing place great food to

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    pleasant, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    en suite bathrooms very small but I was in single room

    liked the choice of vegetarian/vegan food. good position by sea. no passing traffic in front, trains not too noisy behind.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.3
    Tiring but the noise might not have bothered other people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well if I had been an insomniac train spotter I would have loved it as the bedroom was about 3 yards away from a busy railway line and I didn't sleep. Parking was also difficult. I didn't think to ask for a sea view (seagull noise apparently but not as bad as trains!) and of course didn't know about the railway.

    The staff were very pleasant and, had I been able to sleep, the bed was comfortable and the room clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.3
    Great Little Hotel in fantastic location. Bargain for the £23 paid with breakfast included.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small box room for 1. Just enough space for 1. TV very very small. Train track 10metres behind hotel. Not to noisy though as they go slow, and dont run to late or to early but might annoy some. Room for 1 has the lift installed into it, i assume the room was once a room for 2 until maybe regulations meant a lift needed to be install possbily. The lift isnt to noisy but the guests using it might be.

    Great location. Fall out of bed and onto the beach. Have a drink in the lounge and watch the waves roll in. Helpful and polite staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    we have had a lovly stay and felt very welcome by all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the parking could have been better when we turned up there was a coach parked right across the car park wear I think this should have been parked on the road

    The views from the front bed rooms are absolutely stunning we recommend a must for this place. The only thing with the room was that the walls are a bit thin so you can hear the other gests talking but you only sleep in the room so we had no problems with this.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    would use this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not much on breakfast plate.

    pleasant staff,good bar area comfortable, friendly atmosphere.lovely location opposite beach.amazing views.clean,bright dining room plenty of staff to serve at breakfast.help yourself to cereals,juice,tea&coffee.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    4.2
    Rip off City,3 out of 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location(too far away from attractions) Twin room with shower very basic,no better than dormitory standard,no way worth £89 for the night Breakfast equally poor,Fry up children's porchen and what b&b runs out of cereal,this one did!

    The sea view and car parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.5
    Paignton is nice and peaceful and the views from the hotel front is quite stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The tv handset in the room was very dirty. As this is used by everyone who books the room, it is paramount that this piece is kept clean to avoid any cross infection.

    Friendly staff and nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.2
    On the seafront - a minute's walk to the beach access .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing specific - a great place to relax

    On the seafront - a minute's walk to the beach access . Friendly staff with decent breakfast and on-site bar . No live entertainment during my midweek stay but perhaps that was more the mix of guest staying . Look forward to staying there again soon .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.8
    Good location and really close to the beach, which offers...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Considering the price we paid for two nights advertised we were bitterly disappointed to find that our stunning sea views was in fact overlooking the railway and to the rear of the property. Parking was at times ok but when you did park you were actually blocking someone else from getting out. We arrived to check in and was greeted by someone who had clearly been drinking sat on the reception desk. The hotel advertises WiFi but this is very poor with very limited and at times not accessible.

    Good location and really close to the beach, which offers stunning 180 degrees of stunning views. Breakfast was ok with very little waiting around and was delivered hot. Beds were confy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.9
    Disapointing would not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was a disapointment.

    Bed uncomfortable lumpy and every time I moved or turned over it creaked.Coffee was disgusting . Breakfast pre cooked not appertising in any way.cup in room was dirty used and stained.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Newly wed stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing I didn't really like good quality for the price.

    Everything from the view out front to the friendly staff that made you feel welcome and at home. Eddie the manager was friendly. Matthew there was no hung to big or to small he was lovely and helpful. And Linda's servers us breakfast on our first morning and tried upgrading our room to a Seaview Aw we were on our mini moon thank you for a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    A lovely quirky hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only stayed one night so not a great deal to comment on. The facilities are basic and the bathroom/room was tired and perhaps could have done with a deep clean.

    Comfortable beds, white bed linen and lovely big white towels. If you have a seafront room, the view is fantastic. Staff were delightful - warm and welcoming. We loved the fact the hotel donates its profits to good causes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.5
    Cheap and cheerful - good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is a little basic and dated but as the room charges were so low still very good value for money. First room (17) smelled very musty and en suite needed a deep clean. Second room (6) ensuite not as bad but still needed a thorough clean. Bottom of shower curtain looked mouldy. Rooms themselves are very clean. Trains run very close to rear of hotel but not too noisy or intrusive.

    Very close to the sea but without being in the middle of paignton seafront. Very friendly and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    very comfortable and caring home from home with great views from the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The management was excellent location great very caring unfortunately my husband was took very ill on the second night of our stay and was admitted that night to Torbay hospital I followed him in our car and returned in the morning as my 83 year old mother had accompanied us. We were due to leave that day but having no sleep and my husband in hospital asked if the room my mum was staying in a twin was available for one more night not only did the manager sort out the room for me he gave it to us for free and said he would ensure my mum was looked after when I went back to the hospital they provided my mum with a roast dinner and all on the expense of the hotel. This is a family friendly and very caring place to stay highly recommended. Very grateful to everyone and my husband is now home recovering.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location and is being slowly refitted. Have been to Preston Sands on 5 occasions now. Staff sre so friendly and the evening meals are good value for money. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    Very happy place clean and you are well looked after all you could want
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not much would have liked bigger bed big built myself but adequate for my needs

    breakfast very good staff very attentive bar and other guests very nice and welcoming very happy am going back

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    4.6
    a hotel with good views good locations but dissapointed in the accommodation with a old tired feel
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The welcome on arrival - was poor; no information was provided re: resturant times, about the area ect. the rooms we very outdated ,over large wardrobes, the bathrooms were very old and tired, the shower curtians needed replacing

    The view from double bedroom, outside space where positive ,the staff in the dinning area were very accommadating to our teenage son who woke up late.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the worst hotel room I have ever stayed in. It was very small, overlooked the railway track was next to the lift which was very noisy

    Nice clean bed linen

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    A perfect relaxation and an ideal base for exploring the local area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe a few items like a hair dryer in the room, but that is only a very tiny gripe, nothing really needed improvement as far as we were concerned.

    The area was very quiet, but not to far from the nightlife and the beach and park was less than 1 minutes walk away. The room was very comfortable with little to no noise during the night and the staff were very friendly and amicable. Would have no second thoughts about staying there again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    An over-night stop by the sea.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lamp-post across the road spoiled the view a little!

    We had a sea-view balcony with a view of the bay from past Torquay to Berry Head beyond Brixham. A perfect view to wake-up to.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Preston Sands Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: