Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Prime Lodge

Bloomsbury street, Birmingham, B7 4PT, United Kingdom

#21 of 29 B&Bs and Inns in Birmingham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 324 hotel reviews

4.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    4.1

  • Comfort

    4.4

  • Location

    4.7

  • Facilities

    4.1

  • Staff

    6.1

  • Value for money

    4.5

  • Free WiFi

    4.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.4
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness, looked like it hadn’t been vacuumed, the radiator was dirty and wouldn’t turn on. The mattress was rock hard. Pillows were flat

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    3.3
    Avoid! Don't be fooled by the price! Worst place to stay in Birmingham!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty and smelly hotel. The toilet was broken and didn't flush. When not using the toilet, water trickled down and made an annoying noise that will not let you go to sleep. The shower had mould everywhere which is sickening. The sink didn't have a cap on so you can drop anything down there. All the filth is visible without the cap on sink. The heater for the room didn't work, it was freezing. The TV is too small, it's an old 1990 box TV. They only gave one towel for a double bedroom for 2 people. Which is ridiculous. The bed sheets and cover had dirty stains. The mattress was so thin and useless that you can feel the wood of the bed beneath it let alone the springs of the mattress! The pillow was so rubbish and so flat, it won't even support a baby's head. I'd need 5 of those pillows to consider it adequate. The cups for tea/coffee was so dirty. Put me off from drinking from it. Steer clear of this place to avoid disappointment!!

    Quiet stay (maybe because no one comes here to suffer from all the disappointments).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.5
    The room was very basic and the furniture was old and tatty.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very basic and the furniture was old and tatty. A kettle was provided but only three teabags,that were open from a boxed product ( did not know what one was drinking). No coffee as stated in the detail and the milk was two months out of date.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    2.5
    Awful!!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything!!! The place looked like a disused building from the outside, The inside wasn't much better. Couldn't get another hotel, as it was late Room was disgusting with crumbling plaster, tv handing off the wall, stained ceiling tiles (where there is a leak) For £90, as last minute stay over for work!!!! Asked for refund, and sent pictures below.....still waiting!!!!

    When I left!!! There wasn't any other hotels available at short notice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.4
    Very friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not good parking. Horrible area. Bit dated inside but for £30 a night cant really complain.

    Very friendly staff. Good shower. The relaxing sound of cars racing and police sirens all night!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    3.3
    Im finding hard to think of one
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was mouldy with cobwebs in all the corners carpet, walls, very scruffy I spent half the night killing little flys. they had a very, very old portable tv, witch I didn't even attempt to turn on, for the two nights, I was there because there was no remote control, and when I enquired about it nothing was said or done. as for the bath towel, I say towel because there was only one which matced the room. You was given two tea bags on a plate please.

    Im finding hard to think of one

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    3.8
    Horrible place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived the room was small a smelled with cigarettes. Small window couldn't be fully opened, so it was not possible to ventilate. The sheets had burned holes (probably from cigarettes) and they were obviously not changed (there was a lot of hairs under the pillow). We complained and we got from that nice reception girl a new room, which was much cleaner, but also in a poor condition.

    The girl on the reception was the only one positive thing in this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    3.3
    Disgusting
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The the hotel was very dirty everywhere. The hall ways and toilet in reception was filthy, including the mirrors. Then in the room there was no toilet roll and no towels. The bathroom was filthy hasn't had a good clean in ages. Staff where rude demanded more money from us. Also damp patches everywhere.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    3.3
    Just don’t stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room was dirty, shower looked like it hadnt been cleaned ever! Bed was uncomfortable, bedding was old and worn, the bathroom! No words. Was right on the main road,couldn’t leave window open. So noisy

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    I'm very happy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location - very close to where I needed to be and very central. The hotel is very easy to find. The room was clean and tidy.The staff are welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Met my expectations and was very enjoyable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. You get what you pay for, a quick hotel room to use and a wonderful experience.

    The location is very easy to go into the city centre. The staff were very helpful and met my every need

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    2.5
    Disgusting, dirty and needs closing down.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was absolutely disgusting. There was bugs all over the floor and bathroom tiles. Stains all over the ceiling and walls. Furniture was all damaged and broken, no light bulbs in lamps and half drunken drinks left around the room. When staff was told they wasn’t bothered and just said good bye. I left feeling dirty and extremely ripped off.

    The free WiFi was helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Lovely staff very welcoming an friendly (hotel rooms need up dating )
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed at prime lodge 5 years ago and room decor is still the same (looking very tired an out dated) needs freshening up tv in room very old an therefore did not work correctly

    This was my second stay at prime lodge staff are lovely an welcoming an helpful,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.0
    Was ok for one night but we wouldn’t stay again. Not very comfortable
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi too weak to connect to Tv very old and remote didn’t work Lamp didn’t work even when bulb replaced No food facilities Breakfast £5 beans, toast and egg. We didn’t have it. Very hard to find car park. Not well signposted.

    Lady was very friendly and welcoming Great customer service, nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    2.9
    There were bugs in their bathroom, the floor was crack and...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were bugs in their bathroom, the floor was crack and covered by tatty looking mats, the double bed was two single beds pushed together. The room was outdated, dirty and smelly. I can’t believe we paid as much as we did. We cancelled breakfast in fear of being served a rodent as a side dish, we were given one rough towel to share, the room smelt like cigarettes. The “pillows” were flat, the duvet was as thin as the pillows. And don’t even get me started on the state of the shower. Save your money and book elsewhere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.8
    It was an overnight stay. It was OK for the cost of the room.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were small. The cupboard was broken. The bed was not comfortable.

    The location was convenient to where I had to go next day. There were good restaurants nearby for dinner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    2.9
    Horrible experience. I could not sleep as felt I may be bitten by bed bugs.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness, comfort. Staff on their phones late at night and very noisy.

    The room was filthy, I had to request for a vacuum cleaner and vacuumed my room. It was so dirty. Nobody cleans your room even when you leave for the day. The linen was soiled and the duvet has stains all over it. I would not recommend any one to stay there even for free. The worst and filthy hotel I have ever came across. Such a waste of my money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    2.9
    I do not recommend to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very low standard of upkeep of the room and its facilities, the bedding was clean but very tatty and in poor state of condition, very much the standard of a one star only but the price reflected a 3/4 star hotel and will never visit again.

    The displayed photo of the Hotel did not accurately reflect the current run down status of the hotel and therefore is misleading to potential customers. The overall upkeep of the hotel and the room was of a one star rating but the price reflected that of a four star rating. Very disappointing and will never use the hotel again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    2.9
    Waste of money don't bother to book unless your of a very low standard.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sheets had pubic hairs on and stains, bed was well worn. Shabby broken furniture stained carpets and dirty walls with stains on them. It was basically not a place I would stay a night in as my chest was affected by the odor of damp and dust. The area outside was dubious and I was afraid my car might be stolen or damaged the place was totally run down and i was not comfortable to stay.

    After paying the room I was shown the room after looking around I left and went away and booked some where clean and up to standard. I shall never use this booking site again such places should not be promoted and i wish i had not ever booked or agreed the fees.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.7
    Rude staff and inconsistent payment options but room and location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The gentleman at reception was rather rude. We arrived and he sat on his phone talking in a different language ignoring us. The departure time was the following time between 11-11:30 and he asked us to leave at 11:00 again being rude! Finally, the payment procedure was too much of a hassle. I booked the room, made contact with the hotel a fortnight before my arrival requesting payment up front. The lady responded the requirements needed to do so of which I did, however, arriving on the day, this said gentlemen just ignored me and said the lady you spoke to is on holiday so I wasted my time earlier.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most disgusting hotel I have ever stayed in. Bedding hadn’t been changed. Shower was dirty and plug blocked. Wouldn’t recommend staying there if you want to remain in good health.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    3.8
    Horrible....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like the last student flat on Earth...! Questionable electrics. Dirty, smelly and vaguely ‘itchy’...! I understand it’s cheap but no excuse.

    Friendly staff!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    2.9
    I’d rather drive home than stay here I felt dirty after my stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1st room stunk of cigarettes and the walls had brown marks on them 2nd room shower not working and in need of paint and extractor fan badly fitted letting cold air in as you can see out!!!

    Staff polite

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    3.8
    Very bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no extra pillows.. tv was really small couldn't tell if it was there.. bed was uncomfortable room was way too tiny didn't like it at all

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    3.8
    would not recomend to stay for anyone no matter how cheap it is
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was absolutely awfull, all the rooms stunk of weed, bathrooms been dirty, carpet with stains. wifi didnt work in the room. And at last we stayed the last night without electricity

    its cheap

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    2.9
    Don’t do it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall it needs a complete refit, a deep clense too,

    The hotel is surrounded by barbed wire, the walls were falling apart, as was the furniture, no towels were provided, it’s served it’s purpose as a place to stay but would not stay there ever again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    4.2
    The room was not worth £70!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were uncomfortable and the sheets/towels did not feel clean. And they were terribly creased. The windowsill was filthy. The bathroom did not feel clean and things were taped together. There were marks on the wall. The mirror in the bathroom was placed too high and I am above average height and the full length mirror on the back of the bathroom floor was cheap and like one you'd find in a wacky warehouse - clown-like. There was tea available in the room along with sugar and milk with a kettle, but no coffee. You could hear everything going on outside and next door. The area was very rundown and the outside of the building was very grimy and not appealing, I would describe it as prison looking. The area was dodgy and the parking was free but it didn't feel like a very safe area. Also the access to the building was via a buzzer, very dodgy feeling. Trying to find the building was difficult in itself because of the postcode taking you to the right road but you end up driving past it as you have to turn into the junction before you approach the building, and since it's on a one way road you have to go back on yourself to find it. The sign post that says car park at the back is after you've already driven past it! Considering I paid this much for a room elsewhere a few weeks prior, the standard was far better. I would not stay here again and most definitely not pay this price for this hotel unless they have a complete renovation and up their game. The tv was from the dark ages.

    The staff were friendly and the parking was free.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    2.5
    Terrible. Don't ever stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No handles on the property outside as in a very run down and scary area. Everywhere shabby and worn inside. Sheets on beds not clean. Shower dirty. Room boiling hot but couldn't adjust radiator and couldn't open windows as they were locked so didn't sleep at all.

    Nothing. It was awful and a waste of money. It cost me £50 for the night and was a rip off.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.1
    Stayed at the property a few times previously.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Suppose it could do with a little renovation although for the price ok.

    Stayed at the property a few times previously. Not grand but comfortable. Staff always friendly and helpful. Like the retro entertainment systems in the rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    3.3
    Disapppointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Takes 10 minutes to open the door. Unhelpful staff. Overcharge if we are late. Always in casual clothes and look like they have woken up. Never enough pillows. When we asked for extra pillows they shrugged and said they have none

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    5.0
    A total waste of £225.00
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    bed was old with springs sticking up, all furniture looked old and dirty, toilet didn't flush very well, shower was blocked too, didn't have any towels had to ask for them, house keeping didn't come in at all, bed linen was not changed at all, only had 3 tea bags and no offer of any more so supplied our own, pillows wee completely flat and had no support, never brought anymore toilet rolls, TV was an old portable shoved on top of the wardrobe, wil not visit again.

    Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    2.9
    Nothing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was discusting. Damp Dirty grubby curtains didn't fit the windows. It was too late to change else we wouldn't have stayed here.

    Nothing!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    2.5
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access was an issue Cleanliness - I had to clean the shower before I used it and replace the shower head as the one on there was moldy Plumbing- water backing up through shower and toilet Hole in the floor by door Car park lights shone through curtains. Tv didn't work properly Facilities 'included' not indicated Staff seemed uninterested

    It had a bed and a shower

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    2.5
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all the property is not close to anything literally. The receptionist was a guy who didn’t know about anything, he constantly has to ask someone else about anything I needed from a WiFi password to where the parking is, etc. The room was extremely dirty, the bedsheets were wrinkled and had hair on them (obviously from previous guest), the TV only worked if zip climbed up to it and pushed the buttons on it manually as there was no remote. There was an inch of dust on the sideboards, furniture, the mirror had marks on it, the towels looked like they have been washed a 100 times. The bed was quite uncomfortable as well. I stayed in cleaner hostels then this.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    3.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't clean. T.v. didn't work & very outdated. Can only enter the building via a buzz intercom. Window was broken and extremely dusty. Bedsheets possibly clean but very old and bobbled. Overall very disappointed with the stay but had no where else and couldn't afford to lose the money. Wouldn't recommend.

    Friendly receptionist, although little information about area, amenities, etc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    2.5
    disgusting,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything!!!

    disgusting,work all over the u.k and stayed in some not so nice places but when the sheets are not changed from previous occupant or pillow cases and would not change them....silver fish all over the floor....£40 per night was a liberty but the write up on this site does not say what a state this place is in, booking . com should visit some of these so called properties to see what we contractors have to put up with.....

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    4.6
    Not for me
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, snot on walls, spit in draws. Earwigs in damp bathroom. No Internet in rooms. No food. Just a bed with cigarette burns, hairand blood in the sheets.

    The staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    2.9
    AVOID THIS DUMP AT ALL COSTS
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was uncomfy, i woke up with two massive bites from bedbugs, the scarring maybe permanent, the bed was uncomfy, the plug was in the sink and couldn't be removed even to let any water out. The whole place smelled funny, the carpets where patch work and NOT clean, crumbs and other debris littered the carpets.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    3.8
    I wouldn’t stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was cancelled no part refund given. Room was cold and not very clean. Door didn’t lock properly and window looked like it was going too fall out. No electric appliances where pat tested and beds were not very comfy. Towels were dirty and shower was cold to Luke warm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    5.8
    Our taxi driver offered us a room at his for less next time we're in town. We'd rather do that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's quite a grotty dilapidated place. wifi was useless, and the log in details are stuck on a post it note in the room. The signage in reception is misspelled. There were drawers missing from the dresser in the room, the bed was two twins pushed together that were not the same height. The shower door especially is in need of a scrub and the extractor fan was incredibly loud.

    The check in process was short.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.7
    Mixed experience, in as much they offer value for money, minor things cause them to 'lose marks'
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was broken furniture in my room(Rm 8) which I think could have easily be done away with or repaired, there was a damp patch on the carpet near the door, which when I alerted the reception staff person, she didn't seem to be 'concerned' about it. It's these apparently minor things that could spoil someone's enjoyment of their stay. Also the wifi connection is totally unreliable, kept on disappearing. If you advertise wifi access, a reliable connection would be a great help

    The staff seemed pleasant especially the staff serving the breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    2.5
    Bad property on booking.com
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty and as for the bathroom which I will add I didn't use because there was mould in there. Staying here was a nightmare,the reviews must come from family and friends because there was nothing good about this place at all. The road leading into the car park looked like a dustcart had emptied its contents in the road and scattered all down the road.The car park itself had in one corner about 30 black bags of rubbish and a double mattress there,the dustbins were over flowing with beer bottles.After seeing the room and bathroom there was no way I was going to touch the free breakfast. I stay in a lot of hotels through my work and just don't quite understand how this place is on your books,surely there must be some standard you stick too regarding who appears on booking.com. My colleague took photos so when i get them i will post here to verify my claims

    There was absolutely nothing to like about this property

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    2.5
    So terrible feelings here, never recommended
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All are bad. the room is dirty and noisy. Free wifi does not work. The server doesn't solve anything. The price includes the breakfast, but she says it needs booking. So terrible feelings on this hotel.

    None

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    2.5
    Absaloutely horriffic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was disgusting cockroach looking creatures in bathroom! Filthy bedding and towels! The room smelt horrific! I caught a bug rash up my back from this room and when I complained I was treated like a piece of dirt like it was my fault and they we're not to blame! I would highly recommend anyone thinking about staying here think again and do not do it! Disgusting services!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    2.5
    Soo terrible I didn't even spend the night and had to book another place
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The décor, the paint job was woeful. The television was soo old it might as well had not been there. The bathroom was pitiable and the bedding was an eyesore. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone .the policy of not being able to have a guest in the room was laughable and not stated in the advert , yet another mark against this establishment.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    2.9
    rooms old fashioned dirty walls dirty bed sheets dirty bathroom
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lodge is Not in a very nice area, room was dirty bathroom was dirty,walls were dirty bed sheets were dirty. Not the best place to stay unless last resort very old fashioned room next to noisy road.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    2.5
    Dreadful, overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything Shows didn't work properly, out of date milk for tea, it was dirty, out of date decor, no towels. The list goes on. And it cost me £100

    Absolutely nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    2.9
    Avoid!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Looked like a prison, solid metal door to get in, stunk of smoke, dirty bed linen, dingy, I have stayed in budget places many times but this was absolutely disgusting.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    2.5
    Should be called Grime Lodge... or Crime Lodge as charging people to stay here is criminal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Place is filthy, weeds all around the outside of the building, carpets coming up and worn out, battered old 14 inch CRT TV that didn't work, tiniest bathroom ever, heating that made you feel you were in a sauna and couldn't be turned down until the rude woman on reception turned up with a pair of pliers! To reiterate, the grimiest hovel I have ever stayed in.... I have stayed in hostels in Thailand that were cleaner!

    I enjoyed leaving and getting out of the hole....

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    2.5
    Hotel from hell.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was extremely dirty and the person who claims to be a manager was very rude

    I've never ever in my life experienced such a horrible dirty place. Everything was cheap and yucky. Handmade cushion covers took a cup. Our room was not cleaned when we came back and the manager told us that they don't clean rooms if you are there for more than one night. The lounge and dining room had thick layers of dust. I coughed throughout my stay there. The bedside lamp was not working and when I asked for the radiator to be turned the manager gave me a toolbox to fix it. I thought she was taking a Mickey. I will never advise anyone to book this place it's beyond dirty and the person who works there who claims to be a manager is very rude. Horror on earth.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    2.9
    Do not book!! Heath & safety hazard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived too late at night to try and find alternative accommodation. Dodgy access via back fire escape door propped open if lucky, everything outdated, overpowering smell of cigarettes in room and couldn't leave window open as unsafe and on busy roundabout, everything filthy inc bedding and towels, had to use tissue on bathroom light pull cord, pillows as thin as the sheets, didn't sleep and couldn't stay long enough to make it to breakfast at 8am to comment on this, had to get out for fresh air. Was told by receptionist in morning that I should have asked for another room in the middle of the night but after reading the reviews (too late) I'm pretty sure it wouldn't have made a difference. Still reeling from stay and suffering from sore throat & coughing up phlegm from the smoke smell 4 days later. Avoid!!!!!!

    Only positives are close to city centre and has a free (but slightly dubious) car park

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    2.9
    Time to go home
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disgusted at the state of the interior it was not very inviting the conditions were poor and we will not be recommending this place I feel it was falsely advertised

    Time to go home

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    2.9
    Appalling
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was paying cash............in the end had to pay £2 more with a credit card as had no photo id. I could not even open my door with the key...woman had to open....room was shabby tv was from the 1990`s with a VHS slot !! Bathroom very basic and unclean. Left key on reception and walked out---- paid £32 for nothing----i deserve a refund !

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    10
    Ignore the bad reviews!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had 2 pillows each they were thin ones. But didnt bother us really.

    When you check in you get asked what time you wabt your breakfast in the morning,which is free and cooked to order! Its toast beans and egg which is either scrambled or fried. My 3 year old stayed for free (in our bed) and he even got a breakfast. The room is basic, bed,chair,wardrobe,kettle and en suite. Its free parking and only 5/10 mins away from the city centre. We stayed for drayton mannor which is 20mins away. Its a cheep hotel but i didnt expect it having free breakfast or being that good. I would deffo stay again. I dont understand why there is bad reviews.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    5.4
    Wouldn't stay there again
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire place need complete renovations. We all got bed bugs and the building needs a lot of work

    The lady at the reception was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    5.0
    Poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor value for money. Unsteady floorboards, stains on the walls,tv broken, generally unclean but especially the bathroom. Bit of a dodgy neighbourhood!

    Friendly receptionist

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    2.5
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed,room was filthy,hairs in bed, fag burn in sheet,asked for a different room and it was worse than the 1st one,would not recommend atall.

    n/a

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    8.3
    Pleasantly surprised. Enjoyed the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy in the corridor sometimes but not a big deal really

    I was pleasantly surprised by this little hotel. did enjoy my stay, the staffs were excellent and the room comfy. They are clearly making a lot of effort to put things right. Plenty of redecoration going on when I was there.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    2.9
    FILTHY, HEALTH HAZARD, DO NOT STAY HERE
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not working, window was disgusting full of filth so was the beds, carpet, shower, toilet and the light switch in the bathroom was even covered in filth. The curtains didn't fit the window. Couldn't find a towel and when I did it was screwed up under the bed wet and dirty. Room smelt of smoke. Close this place down for health and safety breaches. Search on YouTube for my video of the room

    Leaving

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    2.5
    The worst hotel i have ever stayed in 
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Avoid this hotel,the room was small and the bathroom even smaller,we had a lamp with no bulb in it,a TV that did not work,no WiFi connection,the carpet was damp and smelly,the bed creaked every time you sat on it and the headboard hit the wall as well, the t-bags were all stained ,breakfast was scrambled egg cold beans and toast,while eating it one of her family came in and turned the TV to loud as some dnb music was on how rude.We had to ask for another towel as we only had one ,the pillows were as flat as pancakes,and to top it off it was supposed to be £45 but had £47 taken out of the bank avoid at all costs

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    4.2
    Wow! Thank god we have a sense of humour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was awful. Its a noisy place. Thank god we have a sense of humour as just had to laugh at how bad the decoration was. I'm pretty sure the whole place was held together by mastic!

    Last minute so we didn't have any choice. Location was good for us but in a dodgy area.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    3.8
    dirty,dangerous! avoid!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    dirty room,stained bedding,dirst carpets that were not fitted properly,only one broken eletric socket within reach, couldnt boil the kettle, tea bags not wrapped in paper!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    2.9
    Not at any price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was bad, the hotel looked like an abandoned 1970's pub, the room smelled stale and there was pubic hair in the basin.

    Absolutely nothing at all

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    2.9
    Horrible dirty disgusting this is the worst photo ever I seen very dirty Bad smile on over
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very dirty and disgusting I never and see and I just photo never in my life I want to just anyone to stay in this hotel is horrible and dirty disgusting

    Nothing absolutely rubbish

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    7.1
    Inexpensive - you get what you pay for
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV didn't work and bed was uncomfortable, but to be honest, I didn't expect much (given the poor reviews) and the room was fine

    Inexpensive and convenient location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    3.3
    Not recommended.find a skip to sleep in
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating was fierce

    Caked on grime on karpets,pubic & long hairs in bed &I over carpets.ceiling had gaping hole above bed,toilet had to be flushed 3times to clear waste,shower was slow draining,had to turn off during wash to avoid flooding.no remote 4tv pillows were an inch thin.i had to supply my own.could not sleep in bed.room chair looked like it came out of a skip.towel never got changed.silver fish were present in toilet & god knows what else.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    2.9
    Disgraceful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities were disgraceful, the wifi was only accessible from the common room. The main road was clearly audible from the room, the furniture was dirty and the bed was extremely uncomfortable. There was even a spider in the bathroom, that looked like something from the 1950's (the bathroom, not the spider). The staff were extremely unhelpful and offered no alternative to breakfast at 8am - for a hotel that was a good 45 minute commute into Birmingham city centre, completely unideal. The location of this place was on the edge of a main road, right next to a rough housing estate. Would definitely not stay here again, ever!

    Nothing, apart from the fact there was a bed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    2.5
    The worst hotel ever !!!😤😤
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very unclean. There was mold in the toilet. The rooms were very dirty and cold. The workers were mean and disrespective. It was the worst hotel ever 😤

    Nothing😡😡

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    2.9
    How are these guys still in business?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in in the UK. We have travelled around many 3rd world countries and seldom seen anything as bad as this.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    5.0
    Ok for one night but probably wouldn`t stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could benefit from a bit of decorating, television was very poor, bed a bit worn out and there was no coffee, it just needs to be a bit more welcoming.

    Shower was ok and the option of free parking is good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    2.9
    I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. The place is very depressing and unpleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the place for a start, it's out of the city I had limited facilities, including nowhere to get entertainment or food.

    Nothing at all, it was very disappointed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    2.5
    Is only a place for pigs!! Not for humans!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so dirty and scary during the night that we arrived there. There wasn't any lamp in the toilet and we had to keep the door open when visiting toilet. The walls and the carpets was full of stains. Mainly is a place that you have to get paid to stay there and not to give £90 for a night. I was reading the customers reviews before i go there but I didn't want to believe that it was so dirty.they have to close this place and restore it.

    I didn't like nothing at all.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    3.3
    Horrendous
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very dirty, no clean bath mats, they was already on the floor wet. Bath towel was like a hand towel. TV didn't work, and bedside lamp didn't work. Beside the shower the floor in bathroom was soaking wet, and paint peeling from the wall with old toilet rolls thrown in corner. It's hard to spot anything possitive avout this hotel. It desperately needs modernising and some money spend on it to bring it upto modern standards.

    Location was where I expected, 5 min walk from local train station.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    2.5
    Stay here and you might wake up missing your limbs and kidneys, in a bath full of ice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just about everything, the staffing was awful, the place looked like the back door of a strip club, and for £60 per room I would expect more than literally a bog standard hotel.

    the fact that it had four walls per room and a bed

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    2.5
    Absolutely no recommendation to stay here.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly building and room. Unclean. Only surface was bedside table which was full with kettle, plate of teas & coffees unplugged lamp. Breakfast only started at 8 !

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: