Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Prince Rupert Hotel 4 stars

Butcher Row, Shrewsbury, SY1 1UQ, United Kingdom

#7 of 16 hotels in Shrewsbury

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1594 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    7.9
    Most enjoyable short stay. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was plenty of choice at breakfast. However I felt the quality of the cooked breakfast was disappointing.

    Comfortable hotel. Dinner in Royalist Restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    8.3
    Treated very well by everyone. Very helpful, Very cheerfull
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Cleanliness a little slack in the bedrooms. THAT IS ALL

    The reception etc. and behind the scenes staff, were all very Every one was pleasant and helpful. The hotel was ideal for shopping and sightseeing etc.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.5
    Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin room was small for the price of £145. Look for offers. Beware the cobbled streets and one way systems!! No parking outside and valet to car park was an additional £10 per car which I didn't know about at booking.

    Staff all helpful and friendly. Easy check in and check out. Good quality bathrooms with nice toiletries and beds very comfortable. Very central to restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    9.6
    A quiet oasis in the town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charging my credit card on arrival with booking price plus £40 in case we added to the account during our stay.

    Upgraded room; spacious and sumptuously furnished. Breakfast served till 10 am very much appreciated. Excellent cooked breakfast, fresh fruits, pastries etc. Valet car parking. Great location in old Shrewsbury with all points of interest in easy walking distance. Lift. Helpful friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed and I'm sure we will enjoy it time and again because, we WILL be going again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We've stayed here several times before, which is why we keep going back. The location is excellent, the staff are hard working, helpful and friendly, the rooms are warm and comfortable and the breakfasts are wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.9
    It did the jobfor which we booked perfectly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much. Pity about the car parking proximity but it is in the centre of an old town so what can you expect?

    location in the Centre and walking distant of everything. The food was good in the restaurant. The staff were polite and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel with real character which is so rare in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel with real character which is so rare in modern generic hotels. The attentive and helpful staff and fantastic town centre location combined with comfortable, well-designed rooms which were very quiet and peaceful despite being right in the middle of town made this an excellent stay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.5
    Great location, good value - would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom perfectly OK but in truth a bit tired compared to the main part of the hotel.

    Great location - easy check in and valet parking arrangements. Well appointed reception area and authentic feel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.5
    Overall a good place for a break, the odd niggle but nothing major.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the decor was a bit tired, not sure the price of the room was justified compared to other places we've stayed

    The staff were lovely, the location is ideal.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    Always enjoy visiting Shrewsbury and the Prince Rupert is ideal for my purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have visited several times and look forward to the next. The central location suits me well and the comfort of the hotel and efficiency and friendliness of the staff put me at my ease.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Lovely would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light above the table in room 106 didn't work . Carpets in the corridor very dated

    Room was spacious and comfortable. Surprisingly quiet for the location. The staff couldn't do enough to please .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed the hotel and Shrewsbury so much we will be back to the Prince Rupert.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedrooms were on the small size, which is understandable for a building of this age, and at 6ft 2in I found that the double bed reflected the size of the room.

    The staff were all very professional and friendly while the hotel's location was excellent. The chef rose to the occasion when challenged by our friend to create a dessert meeting his dietary requirements, the dessert was so good we also ordered it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.9
    Great location, lots of character, very clean and well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard double we were given had one very small window located high up on the wall giving a rather cell like ambience. Driving to the hotel is difficult as it is located in a pedestrianised area.

    Great location, lots of character, very clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.4
    You're paying for the location, everything else is poor!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was abysmal! The scrambled eggs were a peculiar texture that made them inedible. The room was small and the bathroom tiny. Far too hot & stuffy, even with the window left open. Definitely not worth the price!

    The only positive is the location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.2
    Strategic place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    my room faces the lane where all the pubs and cafes are. So its quite noisy at night even right up to midnight. Not for people who wants to get up late as the rubbish bin truck will be doing their rounds early like 5-6am

    This place is in the centre of town.So iot was good for me

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    6.7
    The location was very central in the old part of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the bed first of all felt comfortable we did not sleep well. We were also disturbed early in the morning by the council refuse men moving commercial rubbish bins over the cobblestone, it was very noisy!

    The location was very central in the old part of town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    3.8
    not pleasent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Door handle on room door on the way to falling off, bathroom light flickering on and off (so much so it felt like it was on a motion sensor) and room smelt of that somebody had been smoking in it recently.

    Location very good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    6.7
    Good budget option
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could use a bit of sprucing up - wasn't the most comfortable because of nitpicky details like old or inconvenient appliances (e.g. faucet not quite over the sink enough, showerhead aiming straight down over the drain, television facing away from the bed, etc.)

    Cute glass of sherry on the way in was a nice touch. Quaint old place. Great location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was good excellent choice service was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dusty radiator in bathroom plus cobwebs in bathroom and bedroom paintwork was patchy and the beds we too hard for a 4 * hotel

    Breakfast was good excellent choice service was good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    I would recommend this hotel for its good points but I would eat out next time
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought there could have been more choice and variety on the dinner menu. The breakfasts were nothing out of the ordinary. Also a glass of wine was very exoensive.

    The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom spotless with super thick fluffy towels. The hotel couldn't be better placed for the shops and many restaurants. Also it was close to the venue of the family party I attended.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.1
    nice hotel, very well situated. But we paid £145 a night for a poor room. It was not good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small, ensuite very small and tired. Toilet didn’t flush well, sink drain tarnished. Cobwebs in bedroom. Used plate not removed. Almost no staff on Saturday morning for breakfast time. Attending a wedding and met with total inflexibility with regard to keeping our car parked in the car park for an extra hour before leaving for the wedding.

    Lounge and reception area comfortable and welcoming. Good breakfast. Comfortable beds. Soft furnishings in the bedroom were nice. Very well staffed at breakfast time on the Sunday. Staff very pleasant and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.8
    A great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restricted bag drop parking access to the hotel due to road and pedestrian interaction. That said the hotel has a procedure to make the vehicle access as easy as possible.

    Great hotel in the heart of the town. An easy walk to shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.0
    Lack of sleep and need to leave hotel as a result of poor facilities meant we had no time to explore
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Most uncomfortable bed ever tried to sleep on. So saggy in middle we had to try (with little success( to sleep across the bed. When we said we could not stay for the second night we were threatened with having to pay for both nights despite this being a fully flexible booking! I threatened a TRipAdvisor report and they saw sense!! Additionally, the room was poorly maintained - one of only 3 narrow drawers for clothing was completely unusable - and this would have been obvious to anyone cleaning the room. The newly fitted bathroom was tragic - no place for bath towels apart from floor, modern basin set too far back for comfortable use, no washing line, no hooks for bath robes. Facilities perhaps adequate for a single occupier for a couple of days or so r but woefully lacking as a double occupancy.

    Food seemed good and great location. Beautiful Tudor building.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Very good would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We needed a designated disabled room on first floor near the lift. The room we stayed in the bathroom extract fan didn't work and needed attention. We requested a table fan to help cool the room that arrived within minutes and was suitable.

    Checking in and hospitality very good also assistance with baggage. Overall ambience very good. The parking/valet arrangements were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Great location!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant could be better.

    This hotel is in the midst of the wonderful town of Shrewsbury. It was awesome. Within walking distance to everything! Very enjoyable. Only issue was the restaurant when we went to have dinner. Sat for 10 minutes and no one every came to help.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable and relaxed in a historic city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dining room was well furnished but often felt a little cavernous....some screening/flowers/highlight-lighting would have dramatically enhanced the space....not a criticism, rather an improvement. The building and commemorated person could have been used to much greater advantage

    For us, the one major drawback to going again to this hotel was the extremely poor Vegetarian choices on the menu....the Chef was very willing to produce a vegetarian option for us but that did not really satisfy a CHOICE....it is part of the delight to sample the chef's skill in the selection, preparation and execution of vegetarian dishes.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    A quaint hotel with excellent old fashioned values.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better instructions to find the car park where the car was taken to be parked by a porter, finding it the following morning to pick the car up was not straightforward. A simple map perhaps to avoid misunderstandings!

    If you like an old fashioned hotel to stay in, old fashioned in a good way, old fashioned values and best practice it is a very good place to stay. Quaint room, comfy bed, excellent bathroom and breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.3
    Nice bathroom, decent breakfast and good location. Sadly lacking in every other department.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom looks like it has been renovated recently but sadly not the bedroom. I wish it had been the other way around. Wallpaper was dirty, scuffed and peeling off. Paint on skirting boards was chipped and scratched. Furniture in room was old and decrepit. Extremely noisy as the room was right next to a pub garden and the windows are singled glazed. Very noisy old building with lots of loose squeaking floorboards and no soundproofing from guests walking above. Phone and hairdryer very old. Needs a major update.

    The bathroom looks like it has been renovated recently. Sadly not the bedroom. I wish it had been the other way around. Wallpaper was dirty, scuffed and peeling off. Paint on skirting boards was chipped and scratched. Furniture in room was old and decrepit. Extremely noisy as the room was right next to a pub garden and the windows are singled glazed. Very noisy old building with lots of loose squeaking floorboards and no soundproofing from guests walking above.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Central location in Shrewsbury's town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Directions to the hotel if travelling by car are essential. The hotel provides valet parking for £10 per night and the secure car park is 2 / 3 minutes walk away down a steep hill. The food and service in the restaurant was very good but the menu was a bit limited.

    Central location in Shrewsbury's town centre. Coffee / tea etc provided in the room. Very comfortable lounge / bar area. Friendly staff at reception and in the restaurant. Private balcony with sun loungers and furniture accessed from our bedroom. Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice and fast service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    A gem of a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel a little jaded in need of an update.

    OK so the bedroom needed a bit of attention plus a 5' bed but the bathroom was very good. The hotel location was excellent as were the excellent welcoming, professional and helpful reception staff. Breakfast proved to be an occasion to look forward to. This hotel an absolute delight with its own character unlike so many modern plastic hotels.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    The staff were friendly and helpful, the location is ideal...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floors were rather creaky, the shower was a bit feeble on the top floor, but adequate.

    The staff were friendly and helpful, the location is ideal in the old centre of the town

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Incredible room, location, building and customer service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really can't think of anything at all. It was all fantastic.

    We stayed in the 12th century mansion suite (Prince Rupert suite specifically) and it was the most beautiful, unique, amazing room. The four poster bed, the stand alone bath tub, the decor - it was the most incredible place I've stayed. And on top of that, the customer service was absolutely brilliant - Veronica was so friendly, funny, helpful, and really made our trip. Amazing all round.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.0
    Only gets the price because of location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drawers were dirty and had hairs n bits in them.towel rail had thick layer of dust on it and toilet needed bleaching.

    Sheets and towels were clean.breakfast good.staff were lovely

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    The situation was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very conveniently situated but slightly difficult to drive to. Thought the valet parking was overpriced...but then we thought the hotel was overpriced

    The situation was excellent. Staff were brilliant and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant indeed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whilst the bathrooms have clearly been refurbished, the room was jaded (wallpaper peeling off in places) and in need of some attention. Depending on the room you may experience some noise from the pub below - music - but not a game changer for me.

    Staff resolved a problem with my room quickly and efficiently. Bed was very comfortable. Great location and a good breakfast. A very pleasant place to spend a couple of days.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable stay with annoying snags.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The drawers in my room (216) were ill fitting and hard to open and close. The privy cistern needed considerable coaxing before roaring into life. This was a problem I raised last time I stayed there in May, but obviously nothing has been done. I was charged £3.50 for a bottle of water which I told the staff was outrageous. The beer which accompanied my excellent dinner cost £2.05!

    I have stayed there on a number of occasions and have found this hotel most convenient and comfortable. The dinner and breakfast were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.9
    Lovely memorable stay- will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be picky- the hall passage ways could do with freshen up.

    Loved the pull up and leave car to be parked for us, complimentary Sherry was a lovely touch, gorgeous breakfast and service throughout- best of all our very own terrace!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.5
    Good location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are not well soundproofed and the bathroom, although very modern and nicely fitted out, was not very clean - toilet stained.

    The location is excellent and the breakfast good. The staff are friendly and helpful too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.8
    wont go back there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    noisy creaky room above, spartan english breakfast,booked a double room got an email the day before saying ok but at front of hotel. when we got there had a twin room at back of hotel. rip off 30 quid for 3 nights parking.

    nice room for breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.8
    Central location but needs refurbishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the room looked clean it smelled of cigarette smoke and urine. Decor shabby and dated. Skeleton staff at night (11:30) meant it took a while to retrieve the key.

    Good breakfast, great location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    l
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The hotel was everything and more then l expected. The room was small but very nice. and we had the biggest balcony ever with two sunbeds table and chairs, and a good view of the town. the staff were very helpful and freindly. l would definately return!!! Yours Sue Speak w

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    2.5
    Beautiful hotel but not nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not updated at all- old faucet, old shower... Bed mattress was slanted, the coffee mugs contained dust.. I understand it’s a very old building but needs a huge renovation to be rated as 4-star hotel

    Great breakfast. Friendly staff. Great location!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Delightful and certainly worth repeating! :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Menus a little confusing in that the dinner menu in the room differed from the one in the restaurant (a minor issue) though food delicious and good value for money

    Lovely, good-humoured, helpful staff, excellent breakfast (dinner too) and incredible charm of accommodation.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely and relaxing weekend away. Staff were friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a suite which did not have a shower just a hose over a bath. I did slip and fall. They should have none slip mats in place

    Staff were wonderful. The restaurant was also lovely

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to expect creaking floors & "rabbit warren" feel, given the age of the building. Like most UK & European hotels their duvets would be good in arctic, but in current warm conditions & no A/C they are inappropriate.

    Staff very helpful & considerate in changing our room to limit stair travel & injury from low ceiling. Quaint old Tudor building & right in heart of town

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    The staff went the extra mile.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff went the extra mile. it was my husband's birthday and they left a lovely birthday card and a large box of Thornton's chocolates. There was Sherry on arrival too! The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.1
    Very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tv was fixed to the wall making it difficult to watch from one of the beds. The bathroom lacked adequate ventilation. I ordered a sirloin steak in the restaurant but was served a fillet at an extra cost of £9.

    Very central. Parking was extra but organised very quickly by the staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    The Prince Rupert and Shrewsbury were wonderful, we can't wait to visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only negative was no Air-conditioning, reception were quick to offer a fan and you cant really have Air-Con in a historic building like this one.

    Booked by a friend as we were visiting Shrewsbury, this was perfect great location welcoming staff nothing was too much trouble. Our friend said it was difficult to choose a local hotel as there is not a great deal of choice, no need to worry The Prince Rupert was ideal

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    A very comfortable short stay. We were made to feel very welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were upgraded to a suite which was lovely. A lovely hotel with amazing staff who were extemely helpful. They put a box of chocolates and a card in our room as I mentioned my husband was celebrating his birthday that day. The lovely action of this hotel is superb right in the middle of everything and within easy walking distance of the railway station. The breakfast was nice with lots of choice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.3
    On this occasion - disappointing; but staff do their best in a lovely old hotel (a favourite).
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Treated me better as a customer. The various departments do not "talk" to each other.

    1. I asked for an upgrade - which I was granted. 2. However, I was not treated nicely - my telephone was blocked (e.g. stopped from even calling the reception internally); despite me paying my bill upfront and in advance. 3. Hotels need to stop treating all potential customers as people who "do not pay" - I am honest, and have been staying at the hotel for over 25 years (on and off over the years).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    6.3
    It could have a lot better, also l was not informed of car parking charge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the room and bathroom was in need of updating, even as it’s a old building it should have been better.

    Breakfast was good ,staff good at hotel very helpful .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location, quaint old building with super new bathrooms and good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The English cooked breakfast served exactly to your personal choice but there were plenty of other options to select from as well. As we were visiting for the Flower Show the location was perfect and the car parking arrangements worked very smoothly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, good value for money and will definitely return!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was disappointing. The bacon was very hard, and I do think baked beans should be offered with a cooked breakfast. New phones in the bedrooms, the current ones are a little dated.

    Bed was very comfy. Bathroom was very high spec and shower was great! Very friendly and accommodating staff. Would definitely return again, value for money was excellent!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    Very good
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early morning bin run across cobbles at front of hotel.

    Central location was excellent. Staff were superb. Cooked Breakfast was fine but could have done with better quality sausages. Minor issue. Room was at front of hotel facing street and we were woken at 5:30 each morning by someone trundling bins across cobbles. Just avoid those rooms. Otherwise ideal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed the stay except the room was so small it made it hard to open cases at the same time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to ask for a fan for the room and it was brought up. Room was small and hot, but it was clean and there was a tub in bathroom. You would not have been able to take large cases to this room. Fortunately, we took smaller ones up to it.

    Room had great outside balcony, but room itself was real small. The breakfast was lovely. Staff was cordial.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Ideal stay for a short break.Location excellent with old world charm and staff were welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast portions were rather small.This is the first time I have only had a half (or perhaps a quarter?) fillet of smoked haddock for breakfast. Double bedroom although well located overlooking street,it was rather small for two occupants with a small double version bed. I would suggest the standard rooms are ideal for single occupancies.

    v. good quality a la carte menu items which conformed with AA rosette rating. Excellent location for central Shrewsbury

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.0
    The owner of the hotel was most inhospitable never spoke to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner of the hotel was most inhospitable never spoke to me on my arrival or every time I approached reception all the other staff were wonderful such a shame .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.3
    Single room accommodation was poor quite claustrophobic everything else good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodation was poor,it was a single room and the first one I was shown into was like a box! Shown to another which was better

    Breakfast good and staff friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.0
    Not 4* - Check you have an updated room without a view of pigeon poo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first room (single) was small and tired with an extractor fan outside the window and smokers hanging out there. It was probably for the best that window that didn’t open. There were dirty marks on the walls. As this was a 4* hotel I requested another room. The 2nd room (single) was dated and not over clean and the only bit that was approaching 4* was the curtains. This room looked out onto a wall and pigeon poo as well as pigeons making a racket. The bathroom ceiling was peeling and the room had dirty marks on the walls and the kettle. No bottled water or fresh coffee. I had to ask for the room to be hoovered as there was a cocktail stick, bits of dirty cotton wool and other debris on the floor when I arrived. Although I mentioned it to the owner and the room was cleaned and I was given 2 bottles of water it was far too over priced for such a room. I think in retrospect they should have given me a discounted price. I would be interested to see what the updated rooms were like. Coffee in the hotel was awful.

    The scrambled egg was cooked well and having veggie sausages on offer was a bonus. Lots of hot water. It’s very central.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    3.8
    Disappointed in everything other than the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't a car park at the hotel even though the web site says parking available. They take your car to the car park of another hotel. They charge £10 for this, which isn't made clear before you book. The car had to be moved by 11 am the following morning at check out time. There was no flexibility on this even though we wanted to stay in town until tea time. In the end we parked across the road from this other hotel on an NCT car park which had security cameras for only £10.50 for a full 24 hours. Also, we booked a twin room at £95, our room was number 300 which had no view at all except for a wall and window ledge about 3 feet away that was full of pigeon poop, photo attached. At breakfast we had to wait a long time for our cooked breakfast order to be taken and by the time the coffee had come we had eaten all our pastries. The sausage looked like it had been microwaved and was barely warm. The man on the next table had the same problem and he too left his sausage, as he said it was cold and did not appear coooked; however the waitress was not apologetic when we told her and just took our plates away. When we checked out we were not asked how our stay had been. I know we chose the hotel for the character of the building, and we were not disappointed, but I did not expect to have to sleep on a slope with the mattress moving as I slept!

    History of the building and location in the town centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    Stay in history at Shrewsbury
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a room in the old part of the building... smallish but very quiet but completely modern, updated bathroom.

    This is THE place to stay in Shrewsbury.... right in the centre of everything in a 16th century building! It is a bit difficult to find by car but trust your Sat Nav and you'll be fine. They will valet park your vehicle in their car park (£10 per night) and give you a complimentary sherry whilst you check in... Nice coffee in the lounge and excellent breakfast too

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little old and tired in certain areas. Dining room very impressive. We were unfortunately woken at 3am by screaming guests.

    Excellent location. Valet parking really good facility.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Very good would visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very efficient yound lady at reception but she was very loud and very ‘school maam’. Felt more like we were on trial than being welcomed into a hotel. Not a real complaint but maybe she needs to concentrate on being a bit more human like, less robot like and more down to earth. Heard others commenting the same.

    Hotel, location, quaint room and breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.3
    Sadly underwhelmed. Could be so much better, really has potential. Lovely staff however.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are out-dated, need a make-over & bathroom so small. I feel over-priced for what you get. Room was stifling hot, not even a fan in there. Quite noisy as it is down a busy & lively street.

    Central location, easy to walk to. Staff were really pleasant & helpful. Dinner in the Royalist Restaurant was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.4
    The breakfast was generousl and there was plenty of variety.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to find the hotel, especially with a car. The beds in the twin room were small and we found them uncomfortable. The room was very hot, there was no cooling in the room and the windows very hard to open. The restraurants and pub below (with the live music) were very loud, which would not have been a problem at all if we did not have to open the windows to cool the room down enough to be able to sleep. The shower had very weak pressure and was more of a mist than running water to wash with. The hotel was very expensive having regard to the quality of the amenities.

    The breakfast was generousl and there was plenty of variety. Service was very good. The car valet parking was very good. The room was clean and well appointed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.5
    great location but, room 103 not a good room to stay in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location

    great location but, room 103 not a good room to stay in bathroom fan noisy, no aircon so we had to open window for some air but noisy though the night and Thursday morning is bin day collections is 6 o,clock in the morning bit expensive for this room should have been reduced, and told that it may be noisy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Staff, location, bathroom, car parking.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was on castors and floor sloped so bed moved away from it's position, ie. If watching TV and leaning against the headboard the bed moved. I removed the castors and put them back on in the morning.

    Staff, location, bathroom, car parking. Loved the town, especially the market hall and will stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.7
    OK but expected more
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small twin room, No mini fridge so nowhere to store a cold bottle of water. The room was very warm so had to have windows open onto shopping street. Fortunately, the heat wave had broken otherwise the room would have been unbearable without air conditioning. Only one loo roll between two of us and no tissues. Expected a shower cap (just one of those flimsy things would have been fine). Breakfast was mediocre, especially the quality of the sausage. . For £145, thought that overall for one night, it was expensive. Had to pay an extra £10 for valet parking. We were able to check in early and get ready for an early afternoon wedding as our room was ready but to prebook this facility from midday until 3.00pm would have been an extra £30.

    Good location in the heart of Shrewsbury. Staff were pleasant and efficient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    Lovely stay, lovely staff, but rooms could do with bigger beds not very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room £145.00 pounds per room, but rooms need a handy man to keep rooms maintained. In room 212 hot bathroom tap needs looking at. Light as you come into the room needs looking at, also light above bed is not working. Also room was looking a little tied.

    Location, also friendly staff nothing was to much trouble.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.9
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From start to finish, good service. Complimentary sherry on arrival, porter to park car, easy check in, good service at breakfast. The single room was adequate in size (4' bed), comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    6.5
    Unpleasant stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was very weak and poor. The wash hand basin didn't drain properly. We didnt get any sleep as there's no air conditioning (even though its a 4* hotel). All-in-all very poor experience.

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    5.4
    Nice location,not sure about Shrewsbury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    3rd floor bedroom very hot and too small.Bed/pillows uncomfortable. Bedding very heavy.£10 parking.Appeared to be a number of people sleeping in close by doorways.

    Location very good. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.1
    Prince Rupert Hotel
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As is usual with UK hotels, there was no safe or fridge and whilst the paint and upholstery was fresh, the furniture was scuffed and has seen many better days. The lady in charge of breakfast was seemingly doing everything and was rather brusque.

    The staff at the front desk were very welcoming and efficient. We were upgraded to a balconied room with a beautiful view over the town complete with sun loungers. Very central location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast was really disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was no bigger than a jail cell with a floor that sqeaked on every step. And although it does say on the website about the parking fee I was not told at the time. “Where can I park my car?, bring it to the front and we’ll park it for you” hmmm nice I thought. Next thing she’s telling me all the car parks charge £10 for over night parking. That was an out and out lie. They are all free after 6 pm fact !!!!

    The bathroom was very nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.5
    The management must realize that 4* Hotel guests expect more than just an atmospheric ambience...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed very small —too short and narrrow (Room 11). My husband’s feet were sticking out and he is not a basketball player... Baking hot —no aircon. No internet connection. There was signal from BT Openzone but not enough for internet connection. Useless. Also a breeding environment for hackers without password.

    Excellent customer service, location, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: