Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Purdy Lodge 4 stars

Adderstone Services, Belford, NE70 7JU, United Kingdom

#7 of 11 hotels in Belford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 462 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    Would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent facilities. Breakfast was really good esp. the black pudding. The 24 hour cafe part is an excellent facility and Purdy even allowed us to havw our breakfastin the 24hr cafe on our last morning as we had a really early start. Very pleasant staff. A++

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.3
    Very Good Value and Friendly Northumbrian staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    ROOMS WITH VIEWO F BAMBURGH CASTLE <AWAY FROM A1 ABOUT WHICH WE WERE WORRIED BUT NOT SEEN OR HEARD.COMFORTABLE,PRACTICABLE ROOM.LIMITED BUT EXCELLENT QUALITY MENU LEMON MEiRANGUE SORBET OUTSTANDING. CHEeRFUL AND EFFICIENT STAFF.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money, unexpected lovely views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to really think of anything that wasnt good.... The bathroom could do with a slight revamp as the grouting is looking a little tired. Perhaps a full length mirror?

    The staff were lovely. The breakfast was excellent. The view from the rooms was lovely- its next to the A1 but once inside you wouldnt know. The bed was comfortable and the room had everything you would expect.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.9
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It does look like it is in need of some redecorating - getting a bit tired. I was slightly disappointed initially by this but overall for the money it was fine for one night.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The cooked breakfast was very good. The bed linen was clean and bed comfortable and the room was a good size .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.8
    It was very expensive compared to other stops we made on the 5 days away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very average.no butter available, dirty teapots. Lack of attention to detail. Staff were very pushed as only one waitress and it was too busy for one member of staff.

    Staff were especially pleasant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant stay, extremely well located, lovely quiet room at the back of the hotel overlooking fields
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress a bit hard on the bed, likewise pillows, bathroom a bit tired, shower could have been better, power shower would have been welcome. Clean room, but one or two small stains on the carpet that should be easy to eridicate and improve impressions of the room.

    Location was excellent for touring around, and car parking was very easy. The rooms at the back had lovely views over farmland and were very quiet which given proximity to A1 - which was v convenient- was very welcome. Nice heavy curtains at the window.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    Handy location with great staff and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff were very friendly, courtesy and extremely efficient. Nothing was a bother to them and any requests were dealt with promptly. The hotel was located just off the A1 but this did not affect the noise in the room as they were all at back of building with great views.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.1
    Great breakfast really tasty and good quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was on casters and kept sliding away from the fixed headboard on the wall. Pillows kept dropping through the gap. It was impossible to watch the TV sat up on the bed. Had to pull casters off to stop it.

    Great breakfast really tasty and good quality. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Functional, clean, friendly and convenient, right next to the A1.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast service was slow, but it seemed that "everyone came together at the same time" and the young lady was charming and apologetic.

    Thought it might be noisy (from the road) but it wasn't at all. Staff really were excellent. Knowledgeable, helpful, friendly and efficient. Room was basic but clean and comfortable. Right next to the A1, but bike storage wasn't a problem. Good breakfast. Reception and food etc. available 24 hours.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.5
    good location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom was OK but upstairs now needs to match downstairs for style and comfort

    location, near to facilities and places to visit. Dining area, food and welcome excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Really comfortable room lovely friendly helpful staff they accommodated us with our little dog 😊
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I can think of was the extractor in the bathroom didn’t work ☹️

    Staff went that extra mile to accommodate us with our little dog, we ate meals in the bar morning and evening with our dog(dogs not allowed in dining room ) but they let us use the bar with our little dog Fantastic helpful staff😊

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.8
    The Purdy Lodge is an excellent location for all the sightseeing. Inorthbeelamd is a fabulous place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We have stayed at the purdy lodge previously and although not I. Walking distance. Alnwick bamburgh amd holy island all within a short drive. A**

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    The location to the toad and Bambrough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water out of the shower was not very strong. Difficult to turn on and get right temperature.

    The location to the toad and Bambrough. Good food and nice bar and restaurant with lovely views accross the fields. Rooms nice and comfortable. Will use it again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    Excellent position for our needs. Very pleasant and attentive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the room smelt of smoke! The staff were quick to rectify the situation - thank you. Shower a bit feeble - clean bathroom

    Excellent breakfast and service - very helpful Comfy beds

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    Well Played Purdy Lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the hotels fault but impossible to get taxis. Shower wasn't working, kept cutting out. Went to reception and was given keys to change room but shower was working when I returned to room. Staff were helpful to rectify the problem straight away .

    Lasagne reallynice, big portions and reasonable price. Vodka lemonade and lime was perfectly made and drinks prices were cheap for a hotel. Staff were excellent and even drove us to the wedding venue when we couldn't get a taxi.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.1
    A friendly and convenient place to stay for quick stopover or visiting Northumbria.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needed updating . Mould around the bath and stains on the bottom of the bath we’re not very nice.

    I had an early start so the 24 hour cafe was great I could get breakfast before I left at 6.30 am.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought being right next to the A1 could be noisy. I was wrong. My ground floor east facing room looked out over the fields with Bamburgh castle in the distance. Hot day but room shaded at that time Although, it’s time for a spruce up all the facilities were clean. Food of a good standard

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.5
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even with the window open it was very warm in the room, Two Heaters but no coolers.( although it was a very hot Day ) the shower fitting on the Bath Must be an antique I could not get it to work properly. then as I got out I saw some instructions on the back of the door , still don't think it was fit for purpose as it moved about on the bath.

    The beds are very comfortable, and clean .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    Great place easy to find and handy for local sight seeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower in my room didn't work, the shower had become disconnected at the tap junction

    The staff were very friendly and helpful during our stay. The dining room was ideally set out, it didn't feel like the tables were too close. Bed was really comfy I used the ironing facilities which the reception staff sorted out for me. The reception staff also provided us with the tide times for Holy Island during our stay which was very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.3
    Well situated lodge for overnight stay, staff frindly and food excellent
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedrooms need a splash of colour. My bathroom had a sink that was blocked, had to use a glass to clean teeth. The bath had rust in the bottom and mouldy grouting around the taps. Did not use bath or shower due to this.

    Excellent food choice, Dinner and breakfast. Staff friendly and helpful. Grand views towards Bamburgh Castle, Good choice of tea and coffee in the rooms. good amount of space for hanging clothes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    A very convenient stop, and would use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lacked ambience. A few worrying looking peple around!

    The staff throughout were pleasant and extremely helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Location was convenient, being beside the A1, but the view to open fields forom the room was delightful - but would have been even better if the windows were clean!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    Convenient for getting to Bamburgh, Seahouses,
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom expelair fan was not working.....

    As with previous stays, the staff were friendly and helpful. Good shower and large shower cubicle, though not a great deal of shelf space to keep toiletries safely!! Plenty of towels. As with previous stays, the room was very warm, but some window catches were fitted, so getting more fresh air in was a bonus!! Evening meal whilst catching up on the Royal wedding was very good. Made even better when the hotel background music was turned off!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    I would come back
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A shame that nice hotel is along the main road but in another way it is very easy and quick to find !

    nice room, big enough with good beds and country view. OUR DOGS WERE VERY WELCOME WITHOUT EXTRA CHARGE. Nice and helpful staff and we had a nice meal We visited a nice village and castle just a ferw miles from there and we appreciated it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable with everything handy!
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was doing the coastal walk so it was three miles out of my way. Not Purdys fault. I was very happy that it was worth the extra 3 miles both ways!

    Everything about the facility was more than I expected. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. Even helped me with my IPad. There was a well appreciated bar! I had to leave early and was accommodated with a delicious breakfast to take with me!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    A pleasant surprise despite the roadway location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was apparantly tricky to start, but I had bath.

    The smart and efficient staff, particularly receptionist on first arrival. Food was good, cooked breakfast not too greasy and nicely presented. A pleasant surprise for a motorway service centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Another good experience at Purdy Lodge
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike. Better Standard than most lodge-type accommodation

    My second stay here when working in Berwick: it’s about 17 miles away. Lodge is very quiet despite being at a service station on the A1: bedrooms are at the back overlooking farm land. Good pub grub; friendly and helpful staff: good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointing for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cramped twin room. Basic bathroom. Very poor value - not as swish as a Travel Lodge but nearly twice the price. Breakfast choices very limited just 3 cereals, orange juice only, no fresh fruit until Easter weekend & then only oranges. Bar closed by 10.00pm most nights &no draught beer. Belhaven keg beer was not right either. Problems with lights in room which took several days to fix. Staff tried hard but outcome underwhelming.

    Location fairly central for trip to Northumberland & only 4 miles from Bamburgh. Very handy for A1 (on it!)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic value, staff and rooms and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Driving over the many pot holes to get out onto the main road. Bit annoying and the large puddle in the carpark.

    Very central for many of the great photography locations. Staff were great, helpful attentive chatty and friendly. Food was lovely especially the Breakfast. Probably the best breakfast I've had in an English hotel. Proper coffee and sausages were fantastic. Rooms were what you'd expect, very clean, warm and WiFi is very stable. I will be using this place again and recommending it to my friends.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Very welcoming and great food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower needed attention...but in the grand scheme of things, a great place for a stopover.

    Staff were very friendly and genuinely welcoming. I travel a lot and you don’t always get that!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    6.3
    Over night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked thicker duvets rooms could be bigger

    The staff were helpful food 8/10 would have liked more of the side salad it was lovely as was the beef sandwhich

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Staff were lovely could not have been nicer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe more choice of spirits and beer at the bar.

    Beds and pillows were really comfy, clean rooms! Bar was nice and food was lovely. Evening meal was very nice and breakfast was good with a good choice available,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable and served a purpose for me and my family
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that specifically didn't like

    The bed was very comfy and it was very quiet but rather chilly in the room when the heater was off and in the bathroom too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.5
    Satisfactory.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disorganised, I was told 0700, when actually 0730 was correct, so I was too early. If breakfast to be served after 0700, then an alternative needs to be offered. 0700 is the latest if the guest is going to work.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Situated on the A1 the property is well designed as the...
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Situated on the A1 the property is well designed as the access corridor is road side making the rooms quiet with beautiful views over fields to Bamburgh Castle and the sea. Generous, well appointed rooms, comfy bed, good TV and a spotless well appointed bathroom. Breakfast was a treat. Full 24 hr access with staff present a substantial bonus for those ‘out and about‘ late like me, the night porter was helpful and chatty on my late return to the property. All the staff were friendly, helpful and a pleasure to chat with.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    great stop cant stop talking about it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the bathroom in room 8 was very dated if you look at the picture in the paperwork but the staff made up for this slight problem

    the lot but the tired bathroom .this would make a good stop if you want to travel up to Scotland

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    Convenient Location & Excellent Base to Explore Northumberland!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was unbelievably helpful in guiding me, an American, as to when and how best to explore Bamburgh Castle and the Holy Island of Lindisfarne. And both my dinner and breakfast meals were excellently prepared.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    2.9
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed sheets had tears in them heater in room didnt work shower was a trickle no use security wasnt very good on room overall not a goid hotel i find it hard to believe the star rating on this hotel

    NothIng

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    Great value, location, accomodation and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very comfortable. All staff super friendly and helpful. The breakfast choice was fantastic. Cooked breakfast portions very generous and lovely. Good location for lots of northumberland attractions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    Good one night stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite tired in places. No towels in room on arrival. Awful shower - kept going hot and cold. Very little force .

    Great food. Lovely welcoming staff. Very comfy bed and pillows. No noise.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    6.7
    Great location. Bit overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleanliness of the room was substandard. There were cracked tiles in the bathroom and the shower had mould around the sealant. There was only 1 coffee offered for breakfast.....I need refills.....LOTS OF REFILLS :-D

    Staff were great! Very friendly and accommodating. Great facilities. Onsite bar, café and restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.7
    Budget hotel, good for getting to tourist attractions in area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness needs addressing. On entering our bath we found a little 'surprise' left in the toilet. The taps felts greasy and the back of the toilet hadn't been cleaned. communal areas in the hallway were dusty.

    Nice breakfast, staff were pleasant, lovely view from bedroom of fields.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.5
    friendly place , great food and good nights sleep - will definatley use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    overall the building was a little tired would benefit from a spruce up . found old wrappers under the bedside table and vanity unit.... just lacking a good clean round the edges, otherwise it would have been a 10/10 from us and well worth the price we paid

    lovely Friendly staff especially Joanne and Sam , nothing was too much trouble for them when we asked for additional items ..... although short staffed on Thursday morning and it showed during breakfast!! Lovely food - far better than expected couldn't fault it . Situated on the edge of the A1 , the room was quiet and we didn't experience any traffic noise through the night so slept very well , on the whole would recommend Purdy Lodge and we will be visiting it again .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    It was a very nice room and a pleasant stay will friendly staff and excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't sleep very well but that's not the fault of purdy lodge it was because it was a single bed and I am used to sleeping in a double bed so when i go back,which I will, I will book a double bed

    The general atmosphere was very pleasant I was made to feel very welcome and that helped me to relax

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    A good base for Alnwick Castle, Holy Island, and Berwick-upon-Tweed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The entrance road past the service station was rough and not well marked. It didn't give a good first impression.

    An uninterrupted view from the room of the coast and Bamburgh Castle in the distance, and that was from the ground floor, so must have been better from the upper floor.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.9
    This is a good location from which to explore local attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Light over the bathroom mirror needed new bulb.

    Friendly helpful staff. Beautiful view across farmland from our room. Good food at realistic prices. Comfortable bar area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Extremely pleasant and relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although not an integral part of the hotel the surface of the garage forecourt leaves a lot to be desired unfortunately you cannot avoid it.

    The beds were comfortable and the room was clean, the breakfast was more than adequate with a good selection. Because of the location we decided to have our evening meals in the restaurant, the main course desserts was well cooked and the. presentation only added to the pleasure

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Very very nice, look forward to staying again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A swearing loud customer in the bar one evening was not dealt with by staff making our bar experience not as pleasant as should have been.

    Excellent all round, no complaints whatsoever, got exactley what I booked, rooms great, nice views , food very good, family all happy with stay, staff all very friendly nothing to much trouble.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.3
    a really convenient and comfortable stay near Bamburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door handles and door frames could have done with a bit of a clean as they were quite sticky. Apart from that everything else was very clean.

    The staff were very eager to help us during our stay. The view from our room was really beautiful. The 24 hour cafe with really good coffee was a real find.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous, left all smiling, well rested and well fed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    if the beef casserole was made with Bisto Best, rather than standard Bisto , it would increase the gluten free possibilities

    The staff were amazing at accommodating our family dietary requirements, answering questions, adapting menu provision etc

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.3
    Great value, friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower pressure was poor.

    I liked the view from the bedroom window over the fields to Bamburgh Castle. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good and so were the meals in the evening. We chose to eat there both nights of our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I dont like being told I have to get up early for breakfast. When I stay away and im shattered from driving for hours I dont want to have to set my alarm for 8am

    I liked the fact it doesn't take long to get from your room to the reception, cafe, dining room and exit and I loved the view from my window.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    5.8
    Nice view out of the window into the fields, quiet although...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Horrbile non working shower. This rather worn out place has a problem with the water pressure and temperature, the warning sign in the bathroom should be taken seriously!

    Nice view out of the window into the fields, quiet although just next to a busy street, good breakfast, friendly stuff, easy to find just like a Motel which it actually is. Ok for one night but not more

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    3.3
    Disappointing . Won't revisit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets all need a good clean . The paint work was scruffy , the shower was poor. Overpriced for the quality of the accommodation . However staff very pleasant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Everything we wanted and more
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of refurbishment, such as grouting, but nothing in particular

    Staff very friendly, nothing any trouble. Convent location for our trip. Fabulous view from the bedrooms. Food great and varied for a family. Also great being able to get petrol on site.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    Good location for a stop-over, with excellent and hard-working staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not enough light over the mirror in the bathroom. The door to the room did not close smoothly, so closed with a loud slam. Not sure other guests would have appreciated the noise! Some cover in the smoking area would have been appreciated in the pouring rain!

    The staff. Good location for travelling north and south within Northumberland. Good food in the restaurant. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Very good two day, staging post, on route to Scotland, to see the local sights, were v. happy.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be good if the property could be screened off a bit, consistent with practicalities, from the garage area. Also, it would be really good if a small part of the dining area could be made ok to take dogs, with the proviso that they are not too big, clean and well behaved.

    Friendly, helpful, staff. Spacious, well appointed room with a very good outlook. Good food/service. Dog friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.2
    A surprising gem on the A1.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very welcoming. Special mention for Joanna who obviously knows the area very well and her up to date knowledge helped us to refine our itinerary. The rooms were clean and quiet and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    6.3
    A convenient place to stay to get to Holy Island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were not very helpful. Breakfast was included in our price but we needed to checkout before breakfast time to get across to Holy Island before high tide. Given that the hotel runs the 24-hour cafe (joined by a doorway to the main restaurant and reception), we thought they could have at least offered something...but no. Overall, an expensive option for the standard of services offered.

    The view across the fields to the coast (and castles) was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    Perfectly fine a for a few nights stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the A1 so there is traffic noise but the rooms are at the back overlooking fields with views towards the sea and Bamber Castle.

    Perfectly fine a for a few nights stay. Food was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Friendly staff, comfortable room, restaurant/bar food good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not fault it.

    Situated beside the A1 I was surprised at the low level of traffic noise. The location was ideal for the areas we wished to visit. Very central for Bamburgh, Alnwick, Berwick on Tweed, Lindisfarne and the coast. The room looked out over wide open countryside as far as the coast about 5 miles away with Bamburgh Castle visible on the horizon.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Great location, helpful staff, comfortable room with a great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was incredible because it was so close to so many wonderful attractions. With a view from my window of bamburgh castle, short trip to holy island and Alnwick, this is in an easy drive for all and many more.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.8
    Food in both the restaurant and café was great.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We felt the front doors and just inside was not a good 'first impression'. Rooms including the bathroom were 'tired', unless the room we had was because we took our dog? The wall lights were very dusty and the day we got there our feet stuck to the tiles on the bathroom floor. It was washed the next day.

    Food in both the restaurant and café was great. All the staff were pleasant and friendly. Wifi was good. Lots of hot water.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    4.6
    Dirty and tired - and not worth the money. Ps don't taxi- rip off
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked around 4-5 months early based on online advertising, pictures and discussion with staff and that it was most local to Doxford Hall wedding venue. Paid £70 per room for two nights at a total cost of £280 expecting a hotel stay to add to the enjoyment and excitement of attending a wedding weekend - but sadly this was not how it turned out to be. Purdy Lodge is in a very isolated spot on the (very) busy A1 adjacent to a large muddy and very busy truck stop (had to drive through deep muddy pit holes to access the hotel area and car park). The whole approach, entrance door, foyer, reception and general communal areas (couches/seating/ inside and outside) very tired, neglected and dirty with the reception and nearby tables bearing big vases of dead flowers and murky water. All brass plates, handles and glass windows on all doors dull, dirty and fingermarked, and paintwork cracked (and peeling in places). Old oil/ cooking smells greet your entrance and the reception was thus not at all inviting or encouraging. Rooms appeared not too bad with clean towels and bedding, although I sat on the bed and fell to the floor as it moved away from me as very lightweight and on castors! Dated furniture with very sticky surfaces and the inside of the bedroom doors were extremely sticky and disgusting. The curtains in my room were hanging off and not replaced/re-hung even after I requested attention to this; lighting is very poor and tv screens filthy and unpolished. Bathroom had modern facilities and much better, more modern lighting (thankfully) although the shower curtain was disgusting, and around the bath and grouting was 'tired' and marked and although tiles mirrors and sink areas were semi cleaned in places, they had not been polish finished anywhere; sticky bathroom floor, very badly stained and un-emptied steel bin and in my bathroom the old, almost used toilet roll from previous guests were left in situ.

    Nice breakfast and night staff and breakfast staff really lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.3
    Very good, value-for-money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little uncomfortable. Window only partially opened so it got very hot in the room.

    Fantastic staff. Fabulous breakfast and plenty of it. Great coffee from coffee shop and value-for-money cheese & onion toastie meal. Plentiful parking even for large vebicles. Amazing views from our room across the wheat fields with Bamburgh Castle on the horizon. Superbly located for exploring Bamburgh Castle and beach, Farne Islands, Holy Island and plenty more!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.3
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideal for a base for those exploring the area. Excellent food. Accomodation was basic but value for money with everything you would need provided for. Staff were really good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Best place ever for over night stay while traveling
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stay here twice every year and never disapointed Food is amazing, large portions,5 star restaurant quality. Staff can't do enough for you, even helping to room with trays because dog (who stays for free) not allowed in restaurant. As always room and bathroom spotless and bed comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Purdy Lodge means relax and unwind
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would love to see salads(because I like salads) on the menu

    We have stayed quite a few times at Purdy Lodge and the standards never drop, nothing is too much trouble for the staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Great value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had we realised that dogs were welcome we would not had booked, one end of the car park was used as a dog toilet

    The staff were brilliant and very professional, and the breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.5
    Purdy good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing major, only comment would be that everywhere was very warm due to heatwave, I needed a cool shower just carrying my bags up to our room. A bit of ventilation in the corridors would have been nice.

    Nice overnight stop, staff very friendly and helpful, even sourcing a fan to help deal with the heatwave conditions. View of the sea and Bamburgh Castle from our bedroom window was an unexpected bonus

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very warm and airless in the room we requested a fan which was provided but this was too noisy to leave on throughout the night.

    Beds were very comfy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.8
    Excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, as it it did what it said on the tin.

    The food in the restaurant was excellent and considering they had a captive audience I would have travelled to eat here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    Brilliant value for money, local food and great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely and clean, the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was sourced from local suppliers and delicious and the service great, loved our dinner and breakfast :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    8.3
    Good location for visiting Bamburgh Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower pressure was extremely poor.

    Staff extremely friendly. Breakfast excellent. Good location for visiting Bamburgh Castle when all other accommodation was full or too expensive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    A great stay at Purdy Lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower could have done with more pressure

    The property was an ideal place to stay for where we wanted to visit and the food and staff were excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.6
    Good location between travels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not ideal if you don't have a car to get to local attractions but I believe there was a bus stop not far from hotel? Better to book nearer town of seahouses if you can for boat trips etc.

    Although located off of a main road it was very quiet, the petrol station and 24hr cafe are very convenient. Used as a short stop over between travels but happy with room and food was very good and plentiful! Staff very friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: