Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Cobden Hotel Birmingham

166 Hagley Rd, Edgbaston, Birmingham, B16 9NZ, United Kingdom

#69 of 78 hotels in Birmingham

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2154 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.3

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    8.3
    Ok for cheap get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was water stains over the ceiling and down part of the wall. The bath had an annoying plug - it slowly drained the water away. And there was no plug for the the sink. The pool and the spa/gym/swimming pool facilities were closed due to a leak. Room was not ready when I arrived and receptionist was slightly rude. Took them 30mins to get a room ready and it was finished completely when I got to the room.

    The internet connection was brilliant. Very close to city centre but far enough away that you aren't bothered by noise. Breakfast was good value and you were given a half price cocktail at the bar.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    4.6
    Awful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Worst night sleep ever! The hotel rooms are very dated and shabby. The hotel seems to house a lot of foreign people, I'd say maybe a asylum seekers that councils are struggling to house. Not a pleasurable experience at all..Will not be returning.

    Parking. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    9.2
    I enjoyed my stay there, small improvements could be made.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I expected a bedroom with a bath, but i was given a bedroom with a shower. I did not like the idea to have an wardrobe without doors -the room did not look tidy. There was no toilet brush in both bedrooms i used during my stay. My first room smelled of cigarettes. The fitness and swimming pool were not free .For 50 pounds per night per person i think the hotel could include the fitness and the swimming pool in the price.

    Very clean and close to the clinic i had to attend. good food and very friendly staff, nice garden, quiet location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    3.3
    Hotel equipment looks like half a week before renovation or...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel equipment looks like half a week before renovation or demolition of the hotel. 2 out of 3 bed lamps were demounted/not replaced in our room, bath room was old. Breakfast ist not eatable for non-UK-residents. Hotel pool is extra-charged but also in a condition, you wouldn't enter without shoes on..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    7.5
    It was a very reasonable price for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first room smelt very damp and musty, the hotel is tired and in need of refurbishment

    The breakfast was very good value for money, the second room we had was clean and well equipped. The staff were great couldn't do enough for you there was no problem changing room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    3.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were air con units in all the room however none of them worked I called reception regarding this they advised that none of the air con in the rooms worked I asked if they provided fans as it was extremely hot and the windows only opened slightly I was told no they don’t provide fans! It made getting ready for a night out and sleeping there very uncomfortable! There were no towels provided in the rooms! The rooms weren’t cleaned properly there was a layer of thick dirt on top of the radiator. Hotel corridors were very dark and dingy it won’t be a place I return to again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    6.7
    the bed is was comfortable, free parking,
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom horrible, the staff open the door 2 times when we are in bed on morning, window cannot open , swimming pool so small, lift not worked, wifi so complicated, we cannot use....

    the bed is was comfortable, free parking,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    3.3
    One word, horrible
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Well, I’ve stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions, I found the staff very rude especially the manager, she was very rude and aggressive. Also, they do not have any air conditioned and they do not provide any fan and worst of all they refused to give you LITTLE ice, which I found very appalling and cheap, one should never treat one customers like that, what’s ice,that’s dirt cheap.

    I like the location, it’s convenient for us both (my partner and I)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    3.3
    The location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was disgusting. When I arrived I went to the reception and checked in - I felt as if the lady was annoyed I bothered her. Anyway the communal hallways look extremely run down. I was locked in the lift for around 3 minutes as the door took so long to open. When I got into my room it smelt of damp. The room was not clean at all it felt dirty. I have stayed in budget hotel before and don’t expect a lot other than the room the be CLEAN. The carpet had stains the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was gross. My own reason for booking was because most hotels in the Birmingham area where fully booked! I would avoid at all costs. One last thing checking out was ridiculous, I waited for around 5 minutes while the lady on reception spoke about her weekend to another staff member who works there. After becoming inpatient with the whole experience I then interrupted and said ‘can I just check out I need to go’ she then gave me a dirty look and carried on. At that point I just put the card on the table and walked out. Horrible experience honestly vile.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    7.0
    We had a comfortable room so not to much to moan about.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The reception and hall to bedrooms was tatty and carpets and decor needs renovations

    Bedroom was quite comfortable and bathroom clean but no shelves to put things on

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    5.0
    It served its purpose.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is showing obvious signs of age, looks a little tired and could do a fresh coat of paint. The most disappointing thing was being told it was £5.00 to use the pool!!!! After a long day working a dip in the pool was much anticipated, and I was surprised it wasn't free!!! Have never had to pay to use hotel facilities like that before, subsequently no swim !!!!

    The hotel was clean, and tidy, and easy to find.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    10
    Relaxing atmosphere, friendly staff,situated in city centre,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perhaps a choice of vegetarian foods at the hotel restaurant would have been great, But still had a very happy and pleasant stay !

    Relaxing atmosphere, friendly staff,situated in city centre, for the Asian shopper not too far from Alum rock road.Lots of eateries as well as kebab places and restaurants! Definitely more time needed to explore - sight seeing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    7.5
    Attending an event nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air con in room not working. Key card only worked once and had to be 're coded every time. Toilet seat was very loose. Hotel is very tired and in desperate need of a refurb.

    . But bed was comfy. Food was nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    3.3
    Bland.... outdated....uncomfortable
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The checkin station was occupied by a woman with very little people skills or customer service skills. The rooms are unevenly spaced and awkward to work with, plug sockets being non existant next to the bed. The bed might have well been brick it was that hard and the corridors are tatty and outdated, cracks and broken walls. Had to pay extra to use leisure activities which were complimentary last time.

    Nothing to mention other than the receptionist happily transfer our paid breakfast to the next morning because we left the property for work before breakfast hours started.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    4.2
    My stay at the hotel was dissappointing, unable to enjoy myself could not wait to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Swimming pool was unusable due to swimming lessons for children. No decent coffee or facility to buy freshly made coffee The rooms were not of a good standard No room service The price is too high for the standard I only booked hotel for swimming pool and gym, which i did not get to use due to swimming lessons for children and gym closing at 7pm not worth the money

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    5.0
    Would not stay here again or recommend to others
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was on the top floor with a cracked ceiling, damaged door that would not lock properly, damaged carpet, faulty and old shower door. The room got very hot and no fan or air conditioning was provided when asked. Overall the room needs to be refurbished with air conditioning and a replacement door.

    The staff were helpful and friendly. It had a nice big garden area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    3.3
    Dont beleive the pictures on the web site unless you are a bride you may get the blue room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you want cheap days away don't go here , I was put in what can be described as the builders building , it smelt horrible , windows look out to a court yard where the bin man will wake you up at 5am , where all cabs park up to have a break and where all the builders park their lorries. The twin room , a double and single had ripped bedding and a single quilt in double quilt cover , the bathroom had NO shower curtain or anything to stop water flooding bathroom , don't try at push shower up it comes out of the pipes . No bed side lights and pillows like rocks .

    Suprina Salon and Spa within the hotel were absolutely brilliant , shame about the hotel its in . The staff are friendly and breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    5.0
    Cheap, but still no good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and especially bathroom in desperate need of renovation. Extremely squeaky bed. Bathroom with holes in the wall, black mold, loose fittings... tiny towels, noisy fan, used baby nappies outside my door in the hallway. Staff was friendly but at breakfast didn't realise that they'd ran out of cups... etc. Worst of all, the fire alarm went off for no reason at 3:30 am - almost got a heart attack!

    Free parking, friendly staff, tea making facilities in room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    2.9
    could not recommend this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    just horrible! holes in the carpet and scuffed paint! I was staying on my own and felt very intimidated staying here. looks completely different than the pictures!

    nothing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    8.3
    Had a good stay, perfect location. pretty close to everything available out of town
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Carpets in rooms a bit 'dated'

    The staff were super friendly and helpful. They never once gave the impression that anything was too much of an effort. The hotel is close to many interesting places, from the reservoir, which was great for the early morning walks, to the botanical garden, to the Cadbury chocolate factory.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    10
    It was clean and comfortable for the 2weeks I stayed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Children running up and down the corridor in the evenings but it usually calmed down by 9pm. Suitcase and buggy in the hallway wasn’t good either.

    It was clean and comfortable for the 2weeks I stayed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    2.9
    Nothing night mare
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    So much to say can’t write it all it was my birthday and supposedly to be a lovely weekend away with family and traveled from Cardiff as we arrived on Friday I asked could I have a cot for baby as none in room and I was told no staff to get it now I’ll get you one tomorrow I’m 8 months pregnant and haven’t been well Since I left hotel all bunged up over heat in room as I was refused a fan but 10 minuets later seen other lady getting a fan and refused a cleaning told no room service as short of staff they had menu saying 24 hour room service to your room for sandwiches etc when we try to order we were told sorry nobody here tonight to make them short staff again

    Nothing night mare

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    2.5
    Nothing very disappointed birthday ruined
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s was disgusting very dirty very hot no air no air conditioning all kids got flu since we left very noisy no sleep 8 months pregnant and told no cleaners or staff to help rubbish and nappies in corridor waited 30 minuets in wet clothes to get back in changing room as came out for towel and was looked out because staff was outside smoking

    Nothing very disappointed birthday ruined

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    6.3
    Passable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was sparse, with minimal bedding and sheets that didn't look clean. The hair dryer was broken and the shower hose too short to use as a shower.

    The location was convenient and the only staff member we met helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    4.6
    Misleading photos of the room and facilities
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is outdated and very noisy. For two nights straight I cannot sleep properly coz the guests in the next room were arguing and shouting at each other and you can hear it as if you were in the same room as them. The photos of the room posted in the website is nowhere near the real room so it is misleading really. Also it was not told that for you to use the facility like swimming pool and sauna, you have to actually pay. The room also smells bad, the carpet worn out and one of the drawer of the cupboard is missing.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    8.3
    Great price and location, you get what you pay for.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was really hot, with the radiator off. I delayed opening the window as on a major road but once I did, at 3am, it was a good decision as the traffic noise was worth the cooler room.

    Great location and very low price. Taking that into account you get what you pay for, the room was good size, comfortable and clean but tired and dated with the bathroom needing repair. BUT it was cheap and great location, good parking. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    7.9
    Good stay would definately stay again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On arriving at the hotel, radiators were on full blast and could not turn them off, it was a very uncomfortable nights sleep. eventually I got moved and was given a fan but the last night before i left. The staff though were excellent cant praise them enough. The rooms apart from this issue were comfortable even though could have done some basic repairs in the bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    2.9
    Avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was absolutely filthy... I felt like i would of been better off showering with my flip flops on!! Am so greatful it was just a room to sleep in whilst we attended a friend's wedding so was only spending minimal time at the hotel. The pictures are not like the actual hotel don't be fooled!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    2.5
    dirty place, better to sleep rough on the streets. Prison is way better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A prison is better than this hotel. It is DIRTY AND SO FILTHY the owners are clearly after money. Their staff speak like gangsters - when you have an issue needing fixing like heating is off, they come screaming at you "what's the matter!"

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    2.5
    Worst place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Need a serious makeover, so dated and was not very clean. Bathroom filthy and the matteress felt every spring and very noisy. Also good here door slamming a d people coming and going. I have paid less for a room nd the standards was high.

    Staff was ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    10
    The staff was friendly and nothing I asked was difficult in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The staff was friendly and nothing I asked was difficult in the morning they opened the bar to serve me some pop highly recommended and will stay again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    4.6
    Pictures on here are misleading.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property is run down. Walls and doors are scratched all round the property. The place looks much better on pictures. It’s nothing like the pictures.

    Staff are friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    5.0
    Dreadful hotel, wonderful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was filthy and falling apart, the room we stayed in for the first night (336) was what I imagine a prison in a foreign country to be like, boiling hot (no air con) a window that looked like it would fall in when we managed to prise it open an inch, carpet and walls were filthy and I got bitten all over. We moved to another room (71) the following night which had air con and was cleaner, but had a broken toilet seat and a shower that didn’t drain. Such a shame as the location was perfect and has lovely grounds, but it needs a serious upgrade and we wouldn’t ever stay there again.

    The staff were absolutely lovely and couldn’t do enough for us, they moved us to a different room on our second night. Breakfast was also lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    4.6
    After initially wanting to walk out it got better, no cockroaches, clean bed but I wont go back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This review must be for people who think cheap can mean you got a deal when in fact cheap means you wouldn't stay here again. Unless you are on a budget. It's just that it feels more like a hospital than a hotel. Previous reviews are (I think) generous because this place really makes you sad.

    Despite appearances, it was a clean hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant. Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In places the hotel needed some tlc. We didn't want to eat in the bar area so the staff kindly set up a table in the restaurant. On the second evening we had to eat in the bar area as the restaurant was set up for a function the following day and it was fine.

    The staff were all very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    5.0
    The staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    To hot. Small rooms. No A/C small windows.

    The staff were excellent. Even though we were not happy with the hotel the staff, especially check in were excellent and helped me with all my queries.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    7.1
    Basic, worn but clean and functional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Keys were very temperamental, meaning many trips to the front desk. Also our door would set off an alarm every time we opened it, which I can imagine was irritating for neighbouring rooms (some of theirs did the same) The bathroom was very old and worn, with big black marks on the edge of the bath where it was so worn. General worn and outdated room but clean enough and functional. Only one iron in the whole hotel (with two ironing boards) in the ironing room. Made it really inconvenient when people were trying to get ready for an evening out.

    Good value for money. Easy to get a taxi as they had a direct line straight to taxi firm. Comfortable beds. Just what we needed. Even with people walking and talking in the coriddors there was an element of noise insulation, so we weren’t disturbed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    6.3
    Its okay for a night but it’s not luxurious
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool facility was very dirty Rusted beams and exposed piping from the walls It gave an unsafe feel Plus the pool facilities weren’t included and we were charged 7 pounds to use t me and my 5 year old son whom wasn’t allowed in the hot tub only in the pool which was a real let down because there is only so much a 5 year old can do in a small pool

    The staff was accommodating and friendly Some more than others

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    4.2
    Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pictures on the website did not look alike at all to our room. At first we thought we have checked in to the wrong hotel.

    I guess location being close to centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    10
    Got a free cocktail on my birthday from the lady at the bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That we booked a double room but got given a family room instead.

    Got a free cocktail on my birthday from the lady at the bar in the hotel! So loved that! :) good location. Clean. Great stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    6.3
    Overall an ok stay, wouldn’t say there was anything particularly ‘nice’ about the hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleanliness of the rooms, the bathroom floor was all rotting. There wasn’t any leaflets in the rooms about the hotel or the room service or anything just thought it was a bit odd.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    6.7
    Good but not too modern
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The toilet wasn't great/broken but that's really minor.

    Comfortable bed, big sized room, tea and coffee in the room and shower was good. I didn't visit the leisure centre but it's great that it's available. The receptionist allowed me store my bags for a couple of hours after I've checked out which was nice of her :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    3.3
    Wouldn’t recommend this hotel as the pictures are deceiving.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wouldn’t recommend this hotel as the pictures are deceiving. Got to the hotel and found spiders, webs and cracks all over the room. The toilet was leaking and the level of service we received when checking in was poor

    Wouldn’t recommend this hotel as the pictures are deceiving. Got to the hotel and found spiders, webs and cracks all over the room. The toilet was leaking and the level of service we received when checking in was poor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    8.3
    Very adequate for my leisure visit to Birmingham
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Somewhat unloved feel of the place and neglect of maintenance

    Access to swimming pool - albeit at additional nominal cost of £5. Close to botanical gardens and Edgbaston reservoir for morning run.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    5.8
    Could for better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price manically increased when we got there by nearly £20 everyone else in the wedding party were entitled too free breakfast and we wasn’t and then too top it off we were no where near the rest of the wedding parts as requested

    Food was well done and wedding staff went above and beyond

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    3.8
    Waiting for a refund.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms in desperate need of repair and upkeep, and dirty and falling apart. . Very thin walls, easy to hear neighbour snoring! I changed rooms 4 times to get one I could tolerate and even that had cosmetic issues. When brought to the attention of staff, the changed rooms and offered free pool entry and drinks as way of apology. Surprised that pool access is not included in room price.

    Location is close to city center. Ample parking space

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    5.0
    Disgusting
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dirty,unclean fusty old hotel. Based on the cleanliness alone I would never stay at the hotel again. Stains in bed sheets, lots count of the long black hairs in the bathroom and in the beds. Didn’t feel safe on the ground floor and couldn’t open the windows. Room was stuffy, dusty and hot.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    7.5
    Position of the hotel was good but hotel was rundown,Needs urgent redecoration.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The floor in the bathroom was broken.We have to psi for the swimming pool separately.

    The llocation of the hotel and the hospitality of the reception staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    3.3
    desperate
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The state of the hotel was appalling from the thread bare carpets to stained walls in the rooms and terrible plumbing. The £75 charge was an insult. This didn't include breakfast and there was additional charge for the gym/ leisure facilities

    checking out

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    7.1
    Noisy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They didn’t help me carry my bags to my new room at 1 am , beds were uncomfortable, extremely over priced

    When they moved me rooms to accommodate me more.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    5.0
    Rubbish needs updating
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was rubbish had to check out after a hour made me feel sick and old The carpet was ripped The dresser was broken The bathroom was old The room looked like a home people's home

    Nothing the place needs updating

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    6.3
    A little disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is very worn and in need of some tlc. The thing that disappointed me the most was the extra charge of £5 a person to use the leisure centre which when booking was implied it was included in the room price. Also as I had a child with me I was charge £3 for them to use the leisure facilities but when arriving to do so was told anyone under 16 could only use the pool.

    The staff were lovely and very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    7.5
    Hotel great!! Leisure facilities stay away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Don't bother with leisure facilities dirty, rusty and needs updating.

    The hotel room was lovely, staff pleasant and good breakfast, great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    2 different prices for breakfast told £6.95 then following day £8.00 by different staff then day after £6.95 again Also room although clean it smelt like an ashtray Hairdryer dangerous should not use if long hair as it suck it into the back had to cut it out

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money, and excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room 64 could do with a new carpet and tv could not get many of the channels, will not put me off staying again.great

    Comfortable and good food and service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn't any comfortable seating, just a dining style chair and the beds. As someone with back problems, seating is essential.

    Clean rooms. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    8.3
    was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 264 bad shape photos was showed to reception not worth the money spend to stay in a room like that needs fixing

    Food was excellent staff very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    4.6
    Poor & I won’t be staying here again, the poor staff do try but it just isn’t good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel was very dirty & unkept, one small towel per person in each room baring in mind there was a swimming pool etc.. pool had way to much chlorine in & actually was very irritable to most of our guests skin. We were told by other guests when breakfast was prebooked it was £6.50 yet we were charged £8.50. The money we spent here wasn’t worth it, but the biggest disappointment was the cleanliness.. there was also a fight outside which lead to the front door of the hotel being smashed & a couple guests getting hit & the security from the hotel did nothing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    5.4
    Near city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Radiator was on and wouldn’t turn off, so we had to have the windows open very uncomfortable nights sleep! Added to this a Wedding party having a fight till the early hours the morning outside our room very intimidating! Waiting for a call of the manager on Tuesday to discuss the heat in the room and the issues outside the room

    Near city centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    9.6
    Will stay again but try and park at front of this popular hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Back car park security camera's are on however our works van has been broken into three time now. Hotel said they looked on video and found nothing. So the police could not property investigate the crimes

    The staff are exellent Excellent hotel would definitely recommend Good food Good room's

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    4.2
    Do not stay here
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Awful. Do not stay here!! Run down, smelly carpets, holes, things falling apart. Extremely poor decor. Heating wouldn't switch off. Warnings everywhere about car crime, and in fact police were doing a walk round when I arrived! Staff admitted opportunistic car thieves around. A disturbed and anxious night to say the least... Never again!!

    Staff were polite, I'm amazed considering where they work!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    3.3
    I won’t be staying here again especially with my son
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room smelt, the travel cot didn’t even have a mattress! I was genuinely concerned to put my son to sleep in there. The tv was slow. Get yourself to premium inn next door! Premium inn was unbelievably comfy, the staff were lovely and it was so clean!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    2.9
    The room was nothing like that advertised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is nothing like that shown on the website, very disappointed. - The furniture was old and broken down, everything felt very tired and as if falling apart. - The beds very uncomfortable with the springs visibly coming to the top. - The room had a really bad smell throughout our stay. - The floors were filthy. - The bathroom tub was leaking and the water from the sink would hit the sink so hard you would get soaking wet whenever you tried to wash your hands/face. - There was an eco policy requesting guests to hang their towels in the bathroom but not one single hook or place to hang the towels or your clothes.

    -

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    7.9
    I enjoy and appreciate booking at the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It does need a little more TLC. The rooms bathroom rail heater did not work. The toilet area did unfortunately smell a little as though the pipes needed unclogging.

    I have booked before and like the area and hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    3.8
    Would never want to return, the staff were lovely, but the property was in terrible condition.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was shocking

    The property images look fantastic, in real life the condition of the fixtures and fittings, rooms, public areas was extremely poor. I would go so far as to say this was the worst hotel in England I have stayed in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    5.8
    The staff were really lovely and helpful and the bed was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think the whole place needs to be painted and facilities need to be fixed. The shower, the lock on the bathroom door and the bin were broken. I didn't bother using the swimming pool because I knew I would need to pay for it and it would probably be bad quality like the rest of the hotel.

    The staff were really lovely and helpful and the bed was made well and clean. It was cheap.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2018

    7.9
    Overall ok. Clean room. Just basic. The reviews online can be off putting but the hotel wasnt as bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didnt like the fact that we paid the same as our family.members to stay here and their rooms on the ground floor were soo much nicer than ours. Felt like i had been short changed. I also didnt like the fact that the bathroom didnt have an extractor fan.

    Spacious room. Rooms on the ground floor are 100 times better than those on the first floor. First floor rooms are very basic.however are spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2018

    4.2
    I don't know if i will be making a second visit to this hotel. Sorry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room size was too small. There was no mini fridge. No complimentary items like a small water bottle. The hallway and lifts were not very clean i.e. the floor. Pet hair amongst the furniture.

    The view from my room was fine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    8.3
    it was a fab place for the money between 4 girls
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    at 5ft9 the shower head needs to be higher and the bathroom door looked like it had been punched

    the staff couldn't do enough for you and the rooms were bigger than I was expecting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    5.4
    Parking facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    T.v. didn't work Kettle was so dirty Bed poked me all night. It weren't comfortable at all. Air conditioner did not work at all.

    Parking facility

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    3.8
    Very poor and uncomfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was very uncomfortable.. loud noises.. had to walk out side to the swimming pool.. pool side all green and not clean.. photos on the website are not like the real thing.. I would like a refund and a phone call on this.

    The area was good lots off shops

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    6.7
    just ok nothing special but probably better than most in the area for price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    as above. set up in bathroom not well planned nowhere in shower to take shampoo or soap

    basic rooms ,1st room i was given wasn't any good and i asked for change of room which they did with no hassle,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    7.5
    Good stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The aircon wasn't working and the pool was shut when we got there at 6pm and the there was a private class in the morning before check-out. Was advised we could pay extra after check out to swim. Thought that was a little insulting.

    It was huge and comfortable and great location. Amazing gardens out the back to eat brekkie etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    10
    Friendly, Clean, Helpful, spacious. Ideal base for exploring the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This rooms were a little tired but then you get what you pay for, at this price I would not expect a boutique hotel with mints on the pillow!!!

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were large and clean with all the facilities you would expect including a lovely powerful shower. The spa and pool were clean and warm and the bar reasonably priced. Good amount and sized towels provided. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    10
    Very polite staff.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very polite staff... Place for parking... A lovely cooked breakfast which was nice and hot... so yes very pleased... Stayed at the cobden hotel last year for my daughter's graduation... Lovely comfortable cosy property close to everything you could possibly need... Thank you once again to the young lad on reception on Sunday 15th April and Monday morning... 😊 xx

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: