Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Quayside Hotel 3 stars

King Street, Brixham, TQ5 9TJ, United Kingdom

#18 of 22 hotels in Brixham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 595 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm fussy but why can't all hotels get rid of the black mould on the tiles in the bathroom? I can at home! Dettox Mould & Mildew cleaner works so easily. I've been to many hotels of all standards/costs and they ALL have the same issue. It puts me off as soon as I get there. Bed is a standard double - we are used to a super king size so bed felt small.

    Client service was excellent, from receptionist, porter, waitresses, bar staff & night porter. Location good, with parking, albeit the parking is separate to the hotel. Restaurant was great, recommend eating here. Linen clean. Room 20 has an amazing view of harbour.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were to many stairs to the bedroom which were difficult at times for someone awaiting surgery

    The bar in the hotel was relaxing and views were great.The choice at breakfast was good and the staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Love this hotel .. rooms 30 and 15 are fabulous with their own little balconies.. very clean, wonderful staff and a good breakfast... booked for August third visit this year 😎

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pet friendly but you can’t leave dog in room alone, you can’t take him in restaurant, you can’t take him in snug lounge, so what do you do!?

    Good location, food good although chef can’t cook poached eggs or scrambled.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 42 is very small and basic at the top of the building. It's quite noisy with the windows open, affording very little air movement as it's above a small courtyard with noisy (possibly kitchen) extractor fans. It was expensive for what it offered.

    Very friendly and efficient staff and an excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small towels. Very hot room.

    Lovely light breakfast/dining room with friendly and efficient staff, in fact given a warm welcome by all staff at The Quayside. We ate here one night and thoroughly enjoyed the food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit tired and dated. The shower was terrible - no pressure and only just enough room to stand up. It was also very hot and though we had a small fan in the room it didn’t cool it down very much.

    Front facing rooms have amazing views of the harbour. The bed was large and comfortable and the room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had booked the cheapest room. A twin because that was what was showing as available on the website. When we got there we asked if they had any doubles. We moved to room 17. We did not spot the manual air conditioning unit or the fan attached to the central light. It became obvious why they were there later after an evening out. The room was boiling above 30 degrees at times. We put the aircon on. The racket it made was awful. The windows were open but no air came in as the room was attached to a run down plastic conservatory. The room was too hot for human occupation. I got about four hours sleep due to the heat. I woke up ill, so dehydrated my lips, mouth and tongue were stuck together. I had a sore throat all the next day. We asked to change rooms for the next night and the hotel was very good and gave us a lovely room at no extra cost.

    The hotel was in a fabulous location. The lounge and restaurants were lovely. The food was good and well priced. The staff were lovely and attended to us when we weren't happy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent breakfast. Our room is very nice with a sea view. Clean and comfortable. A lovely restaurant with very good menu. A comfortable lounge to sit in. An interesting bar next door adjacent to the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The friendly, nice staff. More than willing to carry your bag to your room. Patient with my Civil Partner ascending/descending the stairs due to her disability. A lovely warm greeting and a place to store our bag if we wanted to go exploring till our room was ready for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk to the car park.

    High quality of food and choice, the Kippers were wonderful at breakfast, the evening meals were first rate as was the service. Attentive and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom not as clean as it should be. Breakfast haddock perfect on Sunday but really poor on Monday (microwaved ?)

    Excellent bed. Helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent food,oldie worldly hotel ,excellent position for the harbour ,room with a sea view is a must, accommodating staff especially earl , nice place for a special weekend away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would of been easier with a lift as my husband struggled with the stairs

    The room was very comfortable excellent sea view across the harbour location for the town was ideal, although not too good for my husband who has cancer

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    This has to be one of the best hotels I’ve ever stayed in. The staff were extremely friendly. The hotel was immaculate. Couldn’t fault it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few noisy guests late at night but it was the pirate festival weekend and the beer had been flowing freely all day! The manager dealt with it quickly though and we all got back off to sleep.

    An amazing old building that feels like you could be on board an old galleon, ideal for it’s location overlooking Brixham harbour.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel. Very last minute booking, but great choice, good location, parking, nice breakfast & friendly staff. We had a harbour/sea view eith small balcony which waas lovely to look out across the bay this morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Obviously a very old building with lots of stairs to most of the rooms. We stayed in Room 30 and had a lovely balcony together with a large room. There are no lifts in this hotel and if you are disabled would recommend contacting the hotel first before booking, depending on your disability.

    Hotel in an excellent position overlooking the very busy harbour. Free car parking for hotel guests just couple of minutes walk away. Plenty of lovely places to eat (we only had breakfast at the hotel) with, of course, lots of fish on the menus. The staff were all very professional and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night

    beds were firmer than we have at home but not lumpy or solid. - no subtitles on the TV but we forgot to ask when we booked, and didn't mention it at the time, so our own fault! room was warmer than we would choose and in the morning we realised we hadn't opened the window/door, so, again our own fault!

    staff could not have been more friendly, efficient and helpful. the location is superb, overlooking the harbour. EVERYWHERE in Brixham is pretty much vertical so you need sturdy legs! we were in room 1 - very well appointed (2 armchairs!) good kettle stuff (with biccys) good lighting, bathroom had bath / shower with ample towels / hot water. We had a super meal in the restaurant - I have a smallish appetite and they were quite happy for me to have a starter with side salad as my main course. food was wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was hot.. Also the heating was quite noisy.

    Beautiful location.. we had room 15 which was lovely and loved the little extras (sherry & sweets) the extra large bed was very comfortable and the balcony although small was lovely. Staff were all excellent and very helpful. Food good. Been here many times and will continue to return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower pressure could be better but we were on an upper floor which may have made a difference.

    the view was excellent. The restaurant served the best duck I have ever tasted. All the food was excellent and the staff helpful but not over bearing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking was available and free but a good 10 minute walk away with luggage. Not so good for someone with mobility issue's.

    Friendly greeting and able to book in earlier than expected. Room was clean, tidy and had all that was required for the one night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My Wife and Myself found the beds very hard But that is a small negative in a bucket of positives

    The Hotel as per usual excellent , from staff to cleanliness , Thank You

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My elderly parents myself and sister stayed for 1 night. The staff were amazing going out of their way to help my disabled mother. They were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was let down slightly by a dusty cobweb in the coving above the bed nearer the door - only visible when the light over that bed's headboard was on but would expect cleaners to be feather-dusting up there regularly 😀 Otherwise it was very clean.

    Room 3 Lovely location, very comfortable bed, modern clean shower en-suite and excellent breakfast - huge piece of poached smoked haddock and 2 poached eggs (Full English or kippers also available!)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All pillows quite firm. Would have liked a choice of one a bit softer. Not really an issue, but would have been nice. All the staff were super. Location great for proximity to town and harbour.

    Comfortable and quiet room with comfy bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lump down middle of bed, floors uneven,staircarpet worn through, threadbare. Single glazed so condensation obvious, sign saying to turn off sockets at night, ?? not safe then. Parking miles away. Fire doors propped open!!

    Great staff. Breakfast good. Bathroom good. Public rooms good. Location good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trouble finding my room and returning to reception. Could do with a sign "return to reception" or something similar.

    Friendly staff comfy bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tap handles on the bath/shower very difficult to grip for those like me with arthritic thumbs.

    Excellent kippers and smoked haddock/poached egg breakfasts!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really except the walk to the car park (i am on crutches)

    Staff very friendly, room warm and clean, breakfast lovely, short walk to everything.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only small minus was the car park was a long walk (for me) from the hotel. But at least it had a car park!

    Fabulous view of Brixham harbour from our window. Easy walk to harbour. Very friendly and professional staff. Room was quiet even though it was on the road because there were few people walking up the hill after the pubs closed so only light traffic noise. Nice sound of sea gulls and harbour noises to wake up to in the morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    We liked everything but potential guests should note that the hotel is on a steep hill and parking outside the hotel is restricted. The hotel's car park is five minutes away up another hill. We did not mind this but some people might.

    Magnificent location. We would go again, beautiful views. Food was excellent, staff friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lack of wardrobe hanging space

    although our room was at the rear of the hotel we preferred this to an alternative room with a view because of the discrete patio area accessed from the french windows in our room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No lift and we were three floors up. Staff were understanding and they did the porterage. Room was fine but right outside the window were noisy extractors Made sleeping less than peaceful

    Staff and facilities excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift and staircase is really narrow. Nightmare with big suitcases or for people with mobility issues. There is no disability measure in the hotel. Staff is really friendly and kind but short in number. Cooked breakfast is ok but lacking continental buffet. Car park is far away and generally not convenient for loading / unloading. Overall not the great value for the money. There are many better value B&B's in Brixham.

    Location and the view is great. Crossiants and coffee & tea are really nice. Nice dining facilities and own bar. Staff is friendly and helpful. Earl was especially very kind to us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Payment process__ didn't spot breakfast had to be separately ticked on-line but the hotel were v helpful on the day. Stairs a bit narrow and steep.

    Room very roomy. Bed comfortable, excellent breakfast. Receptionist very welcoming despite arriving dripping wet from coastal walking. Hotel is actually on the SWCP so very convenient for walkers.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, tiny shower and difficult stairs, parking is a few streets away.

    The staff, everyone was helpful and happy, great location with a view over the harbour. They were happy to carry the suitcases up and down the stairs, which I would never have managed on my own. Breakfast was a delight too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As with a lot of hotels it was very warm and because of it's age there wasn't a lot of noise insulation. But these things were not a surprise and not unmananageable.

    A very comfortable hotel in an excllent position. The staff were very helpful especially as we were travelling with a 90 year old! The location was very central and the hotel has a car park available for guests. The restaurant served excellent food and good sized portions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very cramped , room 34, We weren't told on arrival the booking for restaurant was necessary so had to find elsewhere to eat.

    Location excellent, staff very nice. Lovely breakfast .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noise from road and live music from pub next door. Not enough drawer space or hangers. Breakfast coffee awful.

    The room had a lovely view. Evening restaurant food super.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I ordered scrambled egg on toast for breakfast and it took quite a long time to arrive. To be fair, they were busy. Parking was also quite far from the hotel, but given the excellent location, this was forgivable.

    Excellent location overlooking the harbour.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cannot think of anything!

    Friendliness of all staff, restaurant and staff, room was good with aircon. Booked it initially because it offered parking which is not easy in Brixham! Hope to return out of season.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Small Twin with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower room was very small but clean and adequate for 1 nights stay

    Lovely charming location - we had a sea / harbour view - Very welcoming and friendly staff and good, well presented food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Quality of ingredients used at breakfast did not compare to dinner

    Evening meals were fabulous - A member of staff to be treasured in the evenings is Earl as he is genuinely interested and caring that you enjoy your stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs were a bit steep and difficult for my friend who has mobility difficulties. Likewise with the car park it is some distance and we were not aware of this before we arrived. However, I understand the hotel is an old building and much of this is a part of it's charm.

    The beds were very comfy, excellent views were lovely. The staff were very welcoming and lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What a wonderful stay we had at The Quayside. The staff go out of their way to make everything just right, I really can't praise you all enough. The air conditioner in the room was most welcome. The food in the restaurant is amazing, you are our bench mark and I feel will be an hard act to follow.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no lift, so guests with limited mobility will struggle to climb the tight stairways. Parking is private and secure on tarmac but is 300 yards from the hotel which is a minor inconvenience.

    the location is excellent for the harbour. The hotel facilities are very good having its own restaurant and bar attached, the latter providing food and entertainment. The room was of a good standard with very good beds and linen and a good bathroom. Very good quality all round and also the staff very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too hot even with a fan. Toilet seat underside not clean 😐 Shower positioned too low for anyone over 5ft 6. Bath tap hard to turn on.

    Very comfy bed, plenty of hot water and decent size room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower pressure was weak

    Breakfast was lovely, room was spotless, shower could of done with a bit more pressure. Location could not of been any better.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The thing really letting the place down for me was the internal noise. You could hear absolutely everything from the other rooms - drawers opening and closing, phones vibrating, people talking, footfall. As a result, I was woken up at 5.35am by the people above me getting up and leaving and owing to all the other constant noise that started creeping in as people awoke I could not get back to sleep and ended up very tired on my drive back.

    Wonderfully friendly staff - all welcoming and accommodating. The location was excellent, right by the harbour. My room had a sea view, which was lovely. The road it is on is a little side road so fairly quiet too, not that much external noise. Lovely, comfy bed. Wifi worked without a hitch and did not drop once the entire time. It was a very nice room - I do not wish to suggest otherwise; - but it was not that big. Whilst it was big enough for me on my own, a couple would find it snug and therefore I did find the price I paid just a little steep for it. Maybe I was paying for the view, which I guess is to be expected.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.!

    Lovely Location, Small but lovely double room with view of harbour. Very comfy bed, & great breakfast. Staff excellent! Perfect weekend retreat.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom a little small and cramped but usable, unfortunately we had a smoker on the balcony below us which meant we did have to close our windows at times.

    Fabulous room with balcony overlooking the quayside, lovely big bed, food was superb

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Small Twin with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed was very small and the bathroom the same. Parking is a bit of a walk away, but this is only expected as parking is very limited in Brixham.

    The location is fantastic. Very convenient access to the town and harbour. We had a room at the front of the hotel with great views across the harbour.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to walk up about 4 flights of stairs which was not good for the knees. The pub shut early so was unable to get a drink. My husband's fish at breakfast was overcooked.

    Bed very comfortable and slept really well. The Saturday night we were served in the bar by Earl who was so friendly and would have stayed up for as long as we were drinking. Had a lovely view of the harbour from the front of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived early and reception staff were very confused and wasn't sure what to do ( she said she didn't normally work Friday as it was too busy)

    Breakfast lovely and staff at breakfast very very friendly and caring.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small, even the tea/coffee making facilities were so low down on a shelf you had to kneel down on the floor to make a drink not ideal and quite dangerous. Very noisy close to road. Too expensive for the tired small rooms. Not at all good for people with disablilities as there on some very deep stairs across the landing. Will not be returning.

    Very nice welcome. Very clean. Only ate breakfast here and I must say that it was delicious! very nice staff serving too. Good view of harbour.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't let customers smoke on their balconies - it goes into other people's rooms - ruins their enjoyment and must nullify your insurance policy if you accept that customers ates given permission to light cigarettes ANYWHERE on your property.

    Staff and food good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only downside was that the floor above was a bit creaky and people were up early so we could hear them. It may well have been staff quarters and wasn't too much of an issue.

    Location for the harbour and beach was excellent, with a great view across the harbour and out to sea. Everything easy to walk to. Just a stroll for a boat trip.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The scrambled egg was dry and unpleasant.

    Good location next to the harbour. Smoked haddock for breakfast was a welcome menu option and was delicious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were so friendly and very obliging. The food was very good and there was a good selection. If there was something you wanted not on the menu they would try to provide it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No car parking on site . Car park is up a steep hill a few minutes walk away . Not a problem for me but I saw one guest pushing a mobility scooter down to the hotel for his wife .

    Excellent location overlooking the harbour . Very friendly staff especially Earl who went out of his way to chat to everyone and point out that it will be lovely weather tomorrow.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing to not like. Amazing Hotel!

    Hotel Staff so welcoming and friendly. Our Room 20 was beautiful and the bed was very comfy. We had a great night sleep. Breakfast was very good too! We didn't want to go home, thank you so much

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather made the room very hot and we didn't find the fan till the second night, but couldn't us it because it was too noisy , a floor standing one would be much better !! 👍

    Lovely big room with comfy bed, nice fluffy towels and a beautiful view! Staff were very friendly and welcoming , nice choice for breakfast!! 👍

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was a bit difficult for us as we are older but we managed pretty well very relaxing,happy stay

    The window seat looking over the bay was fantastic. The attention to details. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent food

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Papers never got delivered.

    It was old school, not corporate. Good view of bay. The fact you could open windows wide on a sunny hot day. The Mariners pub up the road.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hogs pudding included in the traditional breakfast. I expected black pudding.

    We had a sea view room which overlooked the harbour. Brixfest was being held along side the harbour with entertainment and food. Most pubs had live bands in the evenings. Breakfast was excellent. All staff very polite and helpful. The room was very clean and nicely decorated with cushions and pictures by a local artist.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A steep walk to car park ok for us but not for the elderly.

    Fantastic views of the harbour and great atmospehere. Clean rooms and a very friendly place. Brixfest amazing brilliant firework display.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The car park was 300 metres from the hotel, which I guess is inevitable considering the density of buildings and topography of Brixham, it was free which is a bonus

    The Lytehouse bistro was excellent, the food was exceptional, the staff friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable It was not cheap, but was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking nearer, but know this is impossible.

    We had an extra room where we could sit, which made much more room altogeather, staff very helpful, breakfast very good, with great views. would return.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing not to like. Value for money, in an ideal location.

    Excellent staff. Very helpful and friendly, nothing too much for them. Breakfast was excellent, a lot of choice and plenty of it. Rooms kept very clean, could not fault it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were really pleased with everything at the Hotel, nothing not to like.

    The beds were really comfy, slept well. Breakfast was great and plenty of it. Left the dining room full for the day ahead. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would stay there again if in the area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Full English breakfast was ok but overcooked, clearly cooked before we sat down (and no baked beans?)

    Super pleasant staff, eager to please and very accommodating

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Narrow, steep stairs, but I appreciate little can be done to change that without spoiling the character of the place.

    Lovely dining room with good views over the harbour

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scaffolding on outside of hotel but we we placed in a room which wasn't affected. Minor fault but couldn't think of anything else!

    Comfortable bed, excellent view, good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedroom no 42 had a musty smell - maybe dogs were allowed in that room? Stairs are a bit of a pain, but it is a collection of old fisherman's cottages Breakfast Haddock was a little undercooked for my taste

    Earl the night porter was very entertaining and helpful in the residents bar and lounge Breakfast was good happy to do any combination of items and all freshly cooked Overall we had a very enjoyable stay

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: