Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel 4 stars

Corran Esplanade, Oban, PA34 5AG, United Kingdom

#3 of 19 hotels in Oban

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1836 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful place by the ocean close to everything you need!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of carparking at the property, was required to park on the road which is pay and display.

    Comfy bed and great views. Easy walk into town and friendly staff (especially on the bar)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    This is our third visit in Oban & of all the hotels that we stayed in, this is the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that I didn’t like was the portion of the fish that I had for dinner(two course meal). It was way too small, however, the dish was tasty. It’s a shame that the portion was on the small side for a standard three course meal.

    We booked a standard king room & didn’t expect to stay in one of their suites. The view was fantastic..overlooking the bay. The place is clean & staff are very efficient & welcoming. Food in the restaurant is average & okay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.2
    Wasn’t that much to like
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was leaking onto floor staff were not very pleasant not enough parking spaces should not be averting parking breakfast was a disgrace everything was cold complained but didn’t seem to bother one off the staff who was serving breakfast looked as if she had dragged herself out of bed hair had not been brushed and was not tighed back for the length of it especially when serving food

    Wasn’t that much to like

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    A lovely relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although I didn't use it, parking is a bit tight.

    Excellent location. It may be a longer walk from the railway station but it was lovely and quiet and the view over the bay beautiful. Excellent staff and hotel very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    Oban stay July 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue was lack of plug for sink in bathroom which was not replaced during stay although highlighted to reception on arrival

    Room clean and tidy, good breakfast, bar facility available

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel overlooking sea in quiet part of Oban.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel has only 10 car parking spaces for 49 rooms. Parking outside hotel cost £1.20/hr between hours of 9.00 - 17.00. We were advised there was additional parking at its sister hotel which we didn't use. The night we planned to eat in, the restaurant was closed due to a faulty oven. Hotel was on the expensive side.

    Bedroom and bathroom were pleasant and comfortable as were the public rooms. Good choice of food at the buffet breakfasts.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel itself was tired looking and needed to be de cluttered and brightened up reminded me of the victorian era. The staff although polite were at times unprofessional. Whilst using the dinning room for an evening meal and in the mornings for breakfast the staff in the kitchen in particular could be heard using the 'F" word and in particular one female member of staff was heard to let out a blood curdling scream when a member of staff had surprised her on entering the kitchen. On a positive note we were helped with our luggage on arrival.

    The breakfast selection was very good and well cooked and presented

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    Not the best couldnt recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tha above for money 250 for 2 nights had much better

    Bes confy!!! Shower rubbish !! Dated back of hotel longvtrek lifts etc no psrking first come first served not the best

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    We particularly love this hotel's location, beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We particularly love this hotel's location, beautiful Bay in Oban. We have stayed with this hotel on a number of occasions over the years and every time has been fantastic. Staff are so helpful, nothing too much trouble and the food is delicious! We ride motorcycles and so front of house parking is also very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.8
    Oban was good probably would not be using this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The layout was a bit disjointed. Breakfast not the best, did not replenish even although down about an hour before time for breakfast over!

    The location was good, room was not great and in the annexe part at the back although we could still see the sea through a gap.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.8
    Overall we were disappointed and would have expected more particularly from the kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The boiled eggs that I had for breakfast were not cooked. The porridge I had was like milk with bits in, and being that it is Scotland, I was expecting better! Food was not of a good standard. my daughter had Sticky Toffee Pudding which was ice cold, she had to go in to the kitchen to explain that it needed to be heated up. Our room had not been tided at 13.30, waited in the lounge, asked for a drink from the bar and was informed that it was not open, it opens at 17.30. the cost of the stay for 2 for 2 nights and one evening meal £362.00 plus, which is a lot of money for the standard of service that we received and we will not be going again.

    There was not much that we liked, but the seats in the lounge were comfortable and there is a reasonable view out to the bay, of you manage to grab the table in the bay window.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    A Fine Place to Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bay View Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found nothing to dislike about the property

    The room was clean and very comfortable. The location and views from the room were superb. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Clean and central hotel. We did enjoy our stay. We would recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At breakfast, they could have the staff look out for guests coming in, to familiarize them with the procedure. We approached a member of staff and asked if we just sat at any table and the man said yes, but didn't follow up with any other information. We were left to work it out, and asked a lady who someone else asked for coffee, if she could get us tea for two. Apart from that, breakfast was lovely and we knew what to do on the second day.

    The hotel overall is very clean and the staff welcoming. We had room 14. After entering reception, you go through two doors. Then up a flight of stairs, along an adjoining corridor and to our room. Our room had two single comfortable clean beds. Slept well, with a mix of all our walking and a comfy bed.Tea and coffee making facilities. In the morning, we had the buffet breakfast. Hot and cold. Staff bring you tea or coffee. There isn't a lot of parking at the hotel, but outside on the road, parking is free from 6pm-9am. But again you are vying with others from hotels along the road, so you won't always get parked outside the hotel. The location is ideal for seeing the sights in, and north and south of Oban. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family. And it would be good for anyone without a car as it is central.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    Was better than the other hotel we stayed at the next day by miles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bay View Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains in bay window front room need replacing they looked like they had been attacked buy Freddy Kruger and badly sun bleached.

    Good size suite excellent sea view, had everything you need.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.3
    We would not return to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service from staff at breakfast was not good. Both mornings no member of staff either asked if we wanted tea or coffee, or made any attempt to help in any way. In fact, on the second morning, the attitude was surly to say the least and we had to ask for cups, milk and find extra cutlery for ourselves. We had dinner on the first night, and the food was very nice, tasty and well presented. However, we waited an hour and ten minutes for our main course which was a chicken breast! We did not eat in the hotel on our second night.

    Good location. Good room size, and although our room was in the annexe at the back, we still had a view of the bay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    The friendly service from all the staff and of course what I have already said about Nathan the chef
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chef, Nathan, was outstanding. He cooked us fabulous food with his own twist, showing imagination and flair, he obviously has a true love of good cooking and cares about where the food is sourced. His knowledge was particularly impressive and both of us thought the results were one of the best meals we have tasted, and we have been lucky to have had meals from chefs who think themselves talented all over the world. I would recommend this as the place to eat in Oban, in fact anywhere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nowhere to sit outside in hot weather. Bar did not open until 5pm. Breakfast could be better. Lack of parking is an issue

    Lovely seafront location with great views. Staff worked very hard and were most helpful. Very good dinner in restaurant. Nice 10 minute walk into Oban

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    4.2
    The receptionist was extremely rude on arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was extremely rude on arrival. They didn't even say hello or greet us; instead just saying "your name" and then asking us how we would pay. The hotel is tired and in need of modernisation. Wallpaper is coming off the walls in places. Our shower seal wasn't water tight causing water to pour out onto the bathroom floor. There was an unpleasant drain smell at various points. Breakfast was poorly organised with fried eggs taking 15 minutes to come out and the coffee resembling oil. Overall extremely disappointing especially considering this was the most expensive stay we have had in a best western and that at other locations best western has provided a good stay for us. Definitely wouldn't stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room looked onto back yard (an experience we've found common when using booking.com); noisy extractor fan next to our window (did shut off at 9.30 pm); whilst the Eastern European staff were helpful, they had no local knowledge; don't know why we should pay extra for salmon at breakfast when it is a local regional product and hotels should reflect and market the region; parking is tricky; personally hate TVs (especially those showing football) in hotel bars!

    Very comfy bed, large room, good breakfast, generous snacks in room, location on the sea front walking distance from town; nice bathroom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    We chose this hotel because of convenience - it needed to be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We chose this hotel because of convenience - it needed to be near to the port for an early start in the morning. The hotel is slightly old fashioned but everything works well. We were offered breakfast at 6am to help us getting going in the morning, which was very appreciated! I wouldn't stay in this hotel for a long period of time, but if you're looking for something convenient for Oban this is a good choice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    The location and dinner.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking could be better only 12/14 spaces in car park for a hotel that big. I had to park on the road as a lot of other people did on a parking meter. Apart from that nothing

    The location and dinner. Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel needs updated in bits but it was fine for a bed for the night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic scinery from the front rooms ,great staff, excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bay View Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a problem...if you cannot get into the hotel car park you have to park outside on a parking meter and there is a traffic warden..

    The view from room one is impossible to describe because I'm not a poet.... It's stunning...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.3
    Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surly receptionist. Overpriced.

    Clean. Freshly decorated. Comfortable. Excellent restaurant food at reasonable prices. Oban bay just about visible from bedroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable, have stayed several times
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of Lift facilities we felt one would have been helpful. breakfast coffee was average, didnot have coffee at anyother time.

    Staff helpful. cleanleness of Hotel was excellent. very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Fabulous views over the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the hotel warns you beforehand that there is no elevator, I am really surprised that staff even doesn't offer to help you with your luggage. Parking space at the hotel premises is very limited. Paid parking along the street is possible.

    I can recommend the queen Mary suite, which is actually a comfortable two-room apartment on the top floor of the main building. From there you have fabulous views over the sea. A super kingsize bed made us sleep very well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    A very pleasant comfortable overnight stay before the early ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park is quite small, so we ended up in metered street parking outside. All bedrooms are on the first floor or above and there is no lift to this level, so might be difficult for customers with restricted mobility or heavy luggage.

    The hotel was convenient for both walking to the town centre and for driving to the ferry terminal. The staff were all very welcoming and competent, and our room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was included in the cost, but as we checked in we said we had to catch an early ferry we were immediately offered coffee and a sandwich to take away on departure.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    Very dissapointing. Although previous stay was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately hotel had problems in kitchen. As a result menu was very limited. Still no excuse for serving a chicken pie which was still frozen and I don’t mean very cold. Pie had not been defrosted!!!

    Hotel was lovely. Great view of Oban bay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bay View Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps that the room was a little cramped. But great bed. Also that the BW web site said no vacancies; but Booking.com found one. Booked through them but didn’t get BW points.

    Beautiful view; lovely big bed; lovely food; very pleasant staff;

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed. Unlikely to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was good but had faults. View was good but that is chance.

    Good sized room, well equipped. Faulty electrical scocket in room which was reported. Shower was very poor, which was reported. Staff very friendly but it appeared they have an issue with management which was conspicuous by its absence. Very expensive for a boarding house experience not the standards I would expect. Oban Bay Hotel much better experience in the past would recommend this

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    4.6
    Not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast half of the buffet was not available 40 mins before the end of breakfast. Also asked waiter and he said no more was available 2 days in a row. If you pay for bed and breakfast then the breakfast should be available until the breakfast ends. Also complained to receptionist and she said that it was normal but she was sorry !! Not good enough for 4 star hotel. Basic room with view of the rear of main building and bins. Not great.

    Clean rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.0
    Overpriced rip-off, doesn't say much about standard of hotels or value for money in rural Scotland
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very, very expensive for one night in 1960s type extension block at back of hotel. Strange electrical type noise every 5 mins or so from outside room very disturbing. Breakfast was precooked and left out, by time we were down much of the selections were finished and not replaced. Bad morale from breakfast staff, talking about working conditions, etc rather than focussing on customer service, or cleaning up the mess left by previous diners.

    Seafront location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    Overall, great stay only disappointment was car parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of hotel car parking, had to use pay and display until there was an available parking space. At breakfast there were no potato scones or black pudding, but can live without them.

    Our stay was satisfactory, nothing jumped out at us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    4.2
    Has the potential to be a really good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a few parking spaces, staff just don’t seem interested in being there and breakfast is a self service affair on a first come first served basis, if you’re not down first unfortunately you go hungry

    The suite was very nice, view fantastic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    4.6
    Dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were basic for 4 star i would say they are of a 2 star quality small with small basic en suite with wetwall to look like tiles and safty lino. Breakfast is served until 10 went down at 9.20 and most of the hot buffet was finished so i asked the staff if more was coming out and the answer was no its all finished this was 2 days in a row no bacon, potato scone, haggis, mushrooms. so ended up with sausage and egg & beans. Also i complained to reception they said they could do nothing about it and never delt with the complaint for £145 per night for a twin room with a view of the bins and staff not able to deal with request. This was dissapointing.

    The location was good easy to walk to the town centre. Rooms were clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    Good bed - rubbish breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bay View Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Limited parking. We stayed 3 nights costing £195 per night for bed and breakfast. Breakfast on first morning was not of a high standard but there was plenty food. On morning two they had run out of breakfast buffet items and on morning three, despite being there 20 minutes before the appointed closing time there was no bacon, eggs, black pudding, mushrooms, or tomatoes, leaving an option of cheap catering quality sausages and a scraping of beans. The matter was addressed with the waiter who was completely disinterested and said there was no more left and there was nothing he could do. I have doubts as to the veracity of this statement but no doubts as to the lack of customer service. So best advice if staying here would be to try for a room only deal and get a better breakfast at a cheaper price elsewhere. Further there is obviously an issue with bills in the restaurant as we were wrongly charged at our evening meal requiring us to laboriously explain the correct pricing to the waiter. We overheard other customers having a similar problem.

    Great location near to town centre. Rooms overlooking front have great views. Comfortable clean room and public areas

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    We'll be back. Not necessarily at this hotel. The food needs improvement for a 4 star rating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Large, noisy, fumey, kitchen extractor fan within feet of the room's windows, operating at least morning and evening (we were out during the day). We had to close adjacent windows because of the noise/fumes. 2. Poor breakfast hot food. 3. We had one evening meal in the hotel restaurant. Wouldn't repeat the experience, although waiting staff very friendly. 4. Free daytime hotel parking spaces limited - otherwise it is on-street parking at £1.20 per hour - 9am-6pm.

    Room No2: Good size room - well equipped. Large comfortable bed. Pillows OK. Hotel location excellent. We did not have a sea view - but rooms with a sea view must have a great outlook. Oban itself is a lively centre for a Scottish holiday, with good connections and scenic surroundings.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    4.6
    Don't be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was NOT clean. For £155 for 1 Night it was not what I expected. The room was very tired and the shower was a trickle!!!! Room 43. The breakfast staff were pleasant enough but the breakfast food was not. It was ad if they were not expecting that many for breakfast?

    Partial view of the sea

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    4.2
    It was comfortable and clean, but it is not cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were looking forward to having lunch on the Saturday. We asked to see the lunch menu only to be told that they did not do lunch and it was implied that we should have known this. All the paperwork in the room identified that lunch was served from 12:00 to 14:00 and menus were in the back of the information book in the room. In addition the hotel ran out of breakfast essentials like bread and had to substitute bread that had been defrosted.

    It was comfortable and clean, but it is not cheap. It was a family event so was happy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was at back in an extended part of building. Photos of hotel only show the old front part overlooking the bay. Soundproofing poor and creaking floorboards of room above kept us awake.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Comfortable, relaxed. Will definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much parking at hotel, although, I was pointed towards parking behind sister hotel just a few buildings along the esplanade. Dinner menu could be better but this is a personal preference (food was still lovely.)

    Wide selection of breakfast options and all fresh. Staff were attentive and polite. The girl in reception, Emelija, was especially helpful and as a first point of contact for residents she sets the tone for a great stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.3
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    being able to eat in the lounge bar rather than the more formal restaurant would have been a real bonus it may well encourage more people to sty in and et rather than going out

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money, big room unfortunately window...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are few parking spaces in front of the hotel, we arrived in the evening and we could only find street parking. We didn't pay for parking as it was over the weekend but suppose we were lucky not to get a fine as we left around 11-12 not very early in the morning.

    Good value for money, big room unfortunately window didn't open more than few inches, it was very hot when we arrive which we knew it's an exception. Good breakfast with plenty of choices. Town centre is walking distance 5-10 min. The hotel has a lift the only inconvenience was walking through a labyrinth corridor to reach the elevator.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.3
    Reasonable experience but over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    General tiredness of fixtures and fittings. Staff lacking in any real enthusiasm or warmth. Looked like they were working towards a formula of what good hospitality is.

    Location was ideal for Oban centre

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.8
    Good location, could be nicer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, it was like a furnace in the room! Made the room smell a bit. Granted, it was 75 and sunny, but no fans to rent or anything. Parking was also tight in the lot, and staff was just ok. WiFi only worked if you sat in bathroom or next to the room door (fourth floor)

    Fantastic location— about .5 mile (flat, sidewalk) to town and restaurants! Overlooks the water too. Shower was good too- pressure and temperature range.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Bay View Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was completely inadequate for the size of the hotel. There were perhaps 10 or 12 spots in front of the hotel, which were all taken the we arrived. The staff had no suggestions of where else to park. We were fortunate to find a parking spot on the street (but the staff at the front desk tells us the town is about to make these paid parking, don't know whether just short term so beware). Just while we were checking in, car after car arrived at the hotel and were not so lucky. There was a traffic jam just trying to unload the bags. Also, this is one of a row of small hotels right on the harbor. It does not look in person much like the pictures on the web site. We were glad we were there for just the one night.

    The room was fine, although smaller than it looked in the picture. The common areas were very shabby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel but try to arrive early to avoid street parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The biggest drawback was Parking.Although there was parking there wasn't enough for the number of guests/rooms etc and had to park on the street which of course was on the meter.Meant an early morning trek to ensure there was no surprise tickets on the car when leaving and then another as it didn't accept payment until 9am on the dot.The room issue was the lack of a fan-perhaps we were spoiled in other hotels but as I said it may have been provided if we'd asked.

    The room was well equipped but was missing a vital accessory (although it may have been provided if we'd asked for it)It was also comfortable and clean.Dinner menu didn't really appeal to us so we walked towards town and found Coasters which was well priced,delicious food and generous helpings.Breakfast in the morning was very good-no complaints although had to make do without bacon(no delivery),plenty enough there though.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    3.8
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bay View Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Waste of my time and money have stayed in oban every May for the last 6 years I would say it's the worst hotel I have stayed in would not recommended it to anyone wasted my money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Generally good and clean hotel, shame about the breakfast, not as good as our last visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor, no bacon left, most hot trays where empty, and cold plates, must have the slowest toasters in Scotland, if you can not afford to buy one of the automatic toast machines, around £200, then at least nip to Argos and purchase a couple of new cheap toasters, will be a hell of a lot quicker than the current ones, asked for refill on coffee, still waiting, last time we’d stayed you ordered breakfast, and it was one of the best breakfasts I had ever had, moving to self service things have gone down hill it would appear, what a shame.........

    Central, clean and large rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.8
    good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not disabled friendly. We could not access our booked room because of the lack of a lift within the main building. Website states there is a lift from the 1st floor but this is not the case. Parking is on a first come first served basis which is not acceptable for disabled guests

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Mediocre At best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the back of the hotel beside the noisey lift, the was a very limited menu and the only red meat on the menu was a burger.

    It was clean and tidy. The room had a bubble bath.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Perfectly adequate but not worth the price we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise in the room from the lift and other rooms. Limited parking. For that price we expected a lot better.

    Everything very clean. Some breakfast items very good (others poor!). Staff were pleasant and doing their best. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely location, people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking at the hotel is limited and parking on the road during the day expensive, so plan to be out between 9.00 - 18:00 if not in the hotel car park. The menu was being changed over during our stay so the choice was limited, but the food we could order was well prepared.

    Nice clean, well proportioned room, staff very helpful and attentive. Perfect location for local walks and also a good base for exploring Fort William, lovely drive along the Lock. We stayed in Oban as a stop over for Mull and the Queens Hotel suited this purpose perfectly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.4
    Comfortable bed and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was absolutely tiny (single room). Breakfast was very poor. Unable to get a hot drink for 2 people despite asking several times.

    Comfortable bed and clean room. Bathroom best bit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    After the initial stress and dissapointment we had a lovely stay
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bay View Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing wrong with the hotel but I found booking through booking.com unreliable! If you book through Booking.com, check if your booking has actually been passed on to the hotel/guest house!!

    Very helpful reception staff who ensured that after the failure of Booking.com of passing my booking of a deluxe double room with sea views (60th birthday surprise for my husband) on to the hotel, hence the room wasn't available on our arrival at the hotel, we were able to stay at the hotel in a standard double room. I was also charged a discounted price for that room and received a bottle of bubbly to sweeten the blow of not having a sea view etc. I reccomend the hotel but I will not book through Booking.com as I don't trust their reliability and their customer service is dreadful as they haven't even replied to my email when I informed them of their failings. In short...the hotel is great, the staff go the extra mile and the breakfast was lovely!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Friendly hotel in a great location for touring and for the ferry terminal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bay View Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little to complain about. Coffee at breakfast could have been hotter.

    Superb room in old part of hotel with two comfy chairs and a panoramic view of Oban Harbour with its constant movement of ferries and other boats and ships.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    5 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bay View Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    See above

    When we arrived at reception, we were informed that there was no lift to our room, up a flight and a half of stairs. We are both in our 70s but there was no offer of help with our luggage. The room was pleasant with a wonderful sea view, it was not as large as we had anticipated, but did contain a very large bed and 2 decent armchairs. It was hard to open the windows since the catches are so high, I would think impossible if you are shorter than 5’6”. The bed was very comfortable, the room was clean and the lighting level was adequate. The bathroom was equipped with an impressive looking bath, but the over-bath shower was lacking both in flow-rate and pressure, we had difficulty getting in and out of the bath due to the fact that there was nothing to hold and the bath felt slippery underfoot. On the plus side there was a good mirror above the basin with adequate light for shaving, which is unusual in many hotels. We had booked breakfast for our 5 night stay and it was somewhat disappointing. I was shocked to find, in a hotel of this class, surcharges for any tea or coffee other than filter coffee or breakfast tea. The food in the hot buffet was overcooked, not very hot and the plates were cold. I am sure the scrambled eggs were reconstituted. There was no fresh fruit on the cold buffet. The toasters were inefficient and very slow. One morning the milk for my tea had curdled, it was replaced but there was no apology. On another morning there was no brown bread, and when we asked the response was “I would have put it out if we had any”. In general the staff in the dining room did not seem happy and there did not appear to be any system. Most mornings two different people came and asked if we wanted tea or coffee. One day we were told we could not sit at the table by the window because the table had not been laid. How long does it take to lay a breakfast table for 2 if you put everything on a tray? Much longer if you have to go back and forwards for almost every...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.0
    We were overall disapointed for the price we paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food was basic, we paid extra for the choice expected in this category of hotel. Plus considering the price we paid. Access to normal WYFI in rooms was not possible, this also affected the adjacent rooms. When reported the reply was "I don't know why" Not even the offer of checking. Access to the rooms was poor, stairs to first floor and a very jerky lift from there on. Very limited car parking

    Excellent position.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful, comfortable hotel 20 or so minute walk from train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toaster was fairly slow at breakfast. Parking is limited but that's normal in Oban. Nothing really to dislike. It's a lovely place.

    Lovely comfortable rooms and spa bath was a bonus. Breakfast was really good with good selection.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.0
    All in all it was not a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had one single and one double room. The single room was aweful, very small and a huge wall directly in front of the whole window like in a prison. We upgraded our mom immediately to the same room like we had (dble with partly sea view) but we had to pay more for the single room than for the dble. Carpet was used and not very clean, rest of room ok. Staff not very friendly.

    Location is very nice, directly at the sea Quite new bathrooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Pay the extra for the harbour/sea/islands view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bay View Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The car park was very small but the road outside was easy (and free) to park in (in mid-May anyway!). There was a little bit of 'lost in translation' when talking to some of the staff (many were foreign). Behind the main hotel building was a rather mediocre modern addition (30+ rooms) and whilst the main hotel rooms (8?) were lovely, I was not impressed with the appearance (although interior unseen) of the modern rooms.

    We paid for a sea view deluxe double room and it was excellent with 180 degree view over the harbour/sea/islands. Comfortable, with 2 chesterfield armchairs in the bay window to watch the views, comfortable bed and nice bathroom. Well worth the extra money. The food in the restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking inadequate and quite awkward for the number of guests. Rooms are some distance from the entrance and no lift until you reach the first floor. Rather a limited menu for a stay of several nights; little in the way of seafood in which local restaurants excel.

    Location Attractive and quiet situation overlooking Oban Bay. Room Comfortable and well appointed. Public areas Attractive and well furnished lounges, bar and restaurant. Service Excellent, friendly staff. Food Well presented, good quality dinner. Excellent, large spread for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    The central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt the room was a little overpriced as we could here people in the room above and our room was next to the lift and so we could hear the lift going up and down until the early hours and then again from around 7pm. Not good!

    The central location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.1
    COULD HAVE BEEN MUCH BETTER
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ROOM COMFORTABLE AND CLEAN, BUT SLIGHT SMELL OF DAMP. VIEW CONSISTED OF SOME CRACKED CONCRETE ,DANDELIONS AND A COUPLE OLD WINDOW FRAMES.

    OBAN VERY GOOD LOCATION. HOTEL PROVIDED A VERY GOOD BREAKFAST

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.1
    I will try to use Air B and B in the future. No hotels for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing was dangerous. Scalding hot water in bathroom. Could not trust the shower. Risk of scalding. Tea maker had short lead. Had to put tea maker on floor next to plug. Window difficult to close.

    Very friendly and efficient staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel for a restful stay after visiting Mull and exploring Oban. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking spots in the hotel car park fill up quickly but free parking can be found on the road outside.

    Location was an easy walk into town centre. Bathroom had a big spa and the room was a good size and very clean. Room was nice and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Good for short stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in the extension and view from window was a brick wall. Room was smaller than expected.

    Good location within walking distance of town. Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    4.6
    Never again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bay View Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower pressure was pathetic rm 5, bar staff and waiter ( same giy) was ignorant and lucky not to get a crack on the jaw. Breakfast was maybe fresh when put out at buffet but not at 8.30. Couldn’t provide ice for my water! Joke

    View from room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed visit hope to visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    After a long drive and arriving mid afternoon some catering at an open bar would have been nice. (ie Sandwich or possibly a light bar lunch

    staff were helpful. the location was great. room was very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.0
    Not up to the "Best Western" standard I was expecting, thankfully it was only for an overnight stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we approached the front entrance the words PULL were hand written using a felt tip pen on the door frame. Not the start I was expecting! First impressions always linger in one memory. I did not appreciate that Best Western Hotels are all independently owned and therefore the standard can vary from one hotel to another. We have a Best Western Hotel in our village and it is very good Hotel which has recently been refurbished to a high standard. Unfortunately I cannot say the same for this Hotel in Oban. I booked the hotel in Oban purely on the Best Western logo but will be more cautious in future. Internal bedroom walls are paper thin so noise from adjoining rooms could easily be picked up. Room was advertised with a sea view albeit this was through a gap between adjacent buildings! Staff were very friendly and helpful but let down by furnishing throughout. We ordered porridge for breakfast but when served it looked more like water downed gruel and not porridge. Needless to say we did not eat it.

    Staff were friendly and helpful despite condition of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was very soft and had a kink in it. Sleep better on a firmer mattress. Need a bit more parking given number of rooms.

    Excellent staff and bar / breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    2 nights in Oban
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin room at the back of the hotel in an annexe type building was quite small. Although it indicated that the water was very hot this was an understatement! You could have made tea with it! Burnt my foot when the hot tap dripped on me whilst in the bath. Some staff didn't seem to have a clue about the hotel when asked questions.

    It was in a good position for town and the ferry terminal. Breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    LOVELY HOTEL IN BEAUTIFUL OBAN
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    EVERY THING WAS PERFECT. IF I HAD TO KNIT PICK I WOULD SAY LENGTH OF TIME TO WAIT ON FOOD WAS A BIT LONG. AND OUR STARTERS ARRIVED WITH OUR MAIN MEAL. BUT IT WASN'T REALLY A PROBLEM JUST AN OBSERVATION.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.3
    Not going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No breakfast served at weekend until after 8 am we had an early start. Waiting staff deliberately delay plates an food going out as I had a taxi booked for 8.15am and had to try and gulp tea down. Not good enough for £100 per night NO BREAKFAST and no offer of making it earlier. Ripped off.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    The staff was really nice and did its best to accommodate us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our first room was smelling cigarette smoke but the staff took the time to listen to us and find another free room.

    The staff was really nice and did its best to accommodate us. The breakfast was tasty and big enough to start a good day. The hotel definitely reached our expectations, we will recommend it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    Fantastic from start to finish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being able to turn towel rail off would’ve been a bonus

    Hotel was absolutely spotless food was great Only problem was the towel rail in bathroom was on constantly therefore it was a bit too hot

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: