Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Queens Hotel 3 stars

160 Nethergate, Dundee, DD1 4DU, United Kingdom

#20 of 23 hotels in Dundee

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1757 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being an old building the floors were a bit creeky especially in our room but that is not a complaint just part of the character of the building. The only slight problem I would comment on was the breakfast on Saturday morning as the bacon was over cooked and obviously had been kept under a hot plate for some time as it was hard in places. It was much better on Sunday

    For our needs over the past weekend this hotel was ideally located, was very clean throughout. Our room was a good sized double room, it’s was all clean and the en-suite bathroom large and modern. The car park was a real bonus as many other hotels in that locality have no parking

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    9.6
    This was a treat for my mums 80th birthday. We both enjoyed the hotel, breakfast and the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing about the hotel but other people staying were noisy late at night.

    Staff excellent, bed very comfortable and the room was large. All extras in bathroom good quality.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    6.7
    Expected more, so was disappointed, but location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor in the hotel is looking dated and really the hotel is in need of a major refurbishment. if it is going to attract people away from the new hotels springing up in Dundee. The room had an unpleasant musty smell coming from the bathroom. To be fair after complaining we were offered a change of room, but the smell could be controlled if bathroom door kept closed, and we were there only one more night. Housekeeping or maintenance should have reported this and the room not offered for use. A temperamental bedside light which was still temperamental even after reporting it. The TV in the room is just daft.

    The location is excellent. Close to centre of Dundee and not far from new V&A. The view from the room was nice. Free parking a big bonus. The staff were good. The bed was OK. Plenty of resaurants nearby.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed ourtrip to Dundee to see the V&A. The hotel was very handy for this
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only very minor criticism was the squeaky floorboards. Not really a complaint as the hotel is an old building which we rather liked.

    Breakfast was first class, Beds were very comfortable, A very pleasant bar area where we enjoyed a lovely sirloin steak.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    5.8
    It will be Premier Inn next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cold, bed-poor quality mattress, both windows looked onto a brick wall, small cooked breakfast portion despite only ordering a few items from cooked breakfast menu( to save wasting food) asked for 2 sausages but only got 1

    The location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    7.9
    Excellent positioning for rail station and proved to be a comfortable couple of days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room on the third floor was freshly decorated. The one on the second floor was a similar room but could do with refurbishing.

    Liked Arbroath smokies on the menu! Great view from 3rd floor room over river and both bridges. Could also see Discovery and V&A. Good position for walking to places of interest. For any real ale lovers try the Phoenix bar just down the road!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    Nice large room, quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Wifi was odd. Would connect to some devices but not others. To do with their insistence on first having to log in to their own web page

    Nice large room, quiet. Shower operation was different to anything else we have seen but figured it out. Good breakfast. Location couldn't be closer to city centre and it has its own freeparking site. Would stay again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    5.4
    Last minute booking ... went for location but I wish I had went further and paid more!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in - very little sleep and now have a sore back. Breakfast was poor - deep fried bacon?? Very dated hotel.

    Location to work

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.3
    excellent location and great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    some of the decor/furniture was looking rather tired and the windows were pretty dirty, this didn't affect my stay though I'm just being picky.

    The rooms were a great size, they were clean, free parking, the location was excellent - just a stones throw from pubs, eateries, museum, we also had a breakfast included which was lovely and all for well under £50per person. if you're looking for somewhere clean, very reasonably priced in the city centre then this is ideal.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    5.4
    Hotel was poor but my stay in Dundee was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Here we go 1. Hotel was dark and unwelcoming at the entrance 2. Staff were friendly but seemed to be unsure of their job 3. My room had a massive bed that gave little room for anything else this was 2 beds put together and made up as 1 4. room cleanliness was poor. yes they came in every day to service the room but it was just shabby 5. Bathroom tiles had not been wiped over in ages, water marks on tiles etc 6. Dirty marks along bottom of tiles where floor had been mopped and dirty mop contacted tiles, these obviously had not been cleaned in years 7.When they replenished tea making supplies they could see i was only using sweeteners not sugar but only replenished these with 2 sachets and put more sugar in tray 8. There were 3 functions on at the time i stayed and they were massively understaffed. For the one i attended, buffet arrived late, food cold etc. Member of staff serving welcome drinks disappeared 5 mins after start time so host and hostess left serving drinks. I complained to manager about lack of staff and he sent someone else to serve welcome drinks who arrived 5 mins after last guest so not much use. 9. Bar staff were inexperienced and gave someone who asked for a non alcoholic lager because he was driving a bottle of 5.1% proof Peroni lager and when asked said it was non alcohol this could have had serious consequences 10. Our function was for 100 people and the only draft beer they had was lager everything else came from cans and bottles ie Guinness at £4 per can In general this Hotel is not the usual standard of a Best western hotel, i have stayed in cheaper 1* hotels with better standards than the 3* rating this has. My advice is give this one a miss

    Location was 2 mins from the new VA museum. The hotel itself was in need of a major refurb there was nothing to like about it,

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.9
    The person at reception was very upbeat and the location is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place is just tired and dated. Noise from the street was bad at times too. Internal doors also noisy. No incentive to eat or drink at the attached bar/restaurant which was almost empty on a Saturday night.

    The person at reception was very upbeat and the location is excellent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.6
    A nice surprise on our travels in Scotland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was large and all the amenities I needed were already in the room. We were upgraded to a room facing the water st no charge. The parking was on site and free and that was why we booked.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    5.4
    Old, tired building and dirty in places but good location for town. Staff friendly though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired decor, scruffy in many place. Breakfast room was unpleasant....dirty windows, dirty curtains, very old decor. Breakfast itself was of poor quality. Bedroom was clean but old fashioned and tired.

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.7
    It was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I love old buildings but this old building felt like I was entering a flop house. The rooms were out of date to the point that it made me question the cleanliness of the place. I had stayed in a few different hotels in a few different cities in Scotland that week and this was the only hotel that served me instant coffee in the room, all other rooms has machines for fresh coffee.

    The location was good. It was close to the train station and to the university, which was important to me.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    5.8
    Location, bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality and service of breakfast. Cutlery and crockery not always available and sometimes dirty. Had to wait 35 minutes for cooked breakfast on first morning (at 8.40am)

    Location, bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful location in an older heritage building in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a little expensive

    We had a large room with a king bed and a bathtub which was the first time since being here. Very well located and staff very helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one elevator.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Very comfortable room. Secure, quiet and secluded parking. Good location for Dundee centre and easy to get to from the train station, and by car.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a meal in hotel first night as we were all tired. Not very nice and half the menu was off due to problems in the kitchen. We were put in rooms above a room where they were holding a wedding. Considering there were young children in our party this was not acceptable. We were told at 10-15pm that if we wanted a refund we could move to another hotel??? With 3 children under 5. Listening to a DJ and a wedding party till midnight was not our idea of a quiet weekend away. We were there to scatter my husbands ashes so this definitely wasn’t what we needed.

    Rooms were nice and clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Best Western Queens Hotel
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little noisy at night if at the front of the building although not unexpected as it is close to the town centre

    Nice comfortable rooms, friendly staff and reasonable prices

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.8
    Okay for one night, would not stay longer without a better room if they exist
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It felt like we were in the car park rather than the hotel. The hotel is dated, or at least our bit was, and I think you expect more from a hotel that charges £110 per night.

    Staff were friendly! Location perfect for our needs this visit.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.6
    my stay was very enjoyable and i will probably return there for pleasure.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hallways outside the rooms are a bit noisy from other guest and squeaky floor boards.

    I liked the location, I liked the friendliness of the staff, I liked the room decor and comfortable bed. I liked the fact the hotel had a lift.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    4.2
    Wish we could have booked into the malmaison
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are looking to keep up with what Dundee is hoping to achieve with the V&A going there best western need to bring this tired hotel up to speck dirty dining area flies on the window cill next to the toaster ( shabby)

    Had to complain after the first night bed very uncomfortable the manageress was very pleasant and changed our room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.0
    Short changed due to V&A
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price for my stay had been doubled because it was the opening of the V&A however i was in a small, uncomfortable, cold room. The room was on a slope (old building, cant be helped) and my bed was on the middle of that slope - not a great night's sleep

    Location is very central and has easy access to main bus routes and the train station

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Queen's Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Hotel was in a great location. Close to everything. Staff were friendly and helpful. Car parking and wifi were excellent. Breakfast was delicious. Couldn't fault anything. Thanks for a really lovely time.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    As a place to lay your head when you are in Dundee for a short period, this fits the bill perfectly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a good size but everything was starting to get a bit tatty. But it was excellent value for the price when all we needed was a place to stay when attending a function in the centre of town.

    It is a good value 3 star hotel in the centre of Dundee. Ideal for a short stay when all you are looking for is a decent hotel with nothing too fancy. The bar is nice, but is more of a city centre pub also used by the public.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Great location, beautiful old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise. However, I don't blame the hotel for this. It's a very central location, the surrounding area contains a number of pubs/bars and as such, there was inevitably noise at night. Inside the hotel itself, it was very quiet! Probably wouldn't recommend this particular hotel to someone who is a light sleeper though.

    Great central location, near to the university and the train station. Was comfortable staying there as a solo traveler. Room was compact, but clean and contained everything I needed (including bonus shortbread biscuits!). Might have wanted bigger room if I'd been staying more than one night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Recommended stay in Dundee
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Floor boards horrendously squeeky, therefore apologies to anyone below. Enjoyment marred only by inconsiderate guests in opposite room who were to and fro-ing from the room into the night to smoke. Talking and banging doors each time.

    Room was very good and more "modern" than hotels of a similar status. Breakfast good and personally served by chef. Complaint handled satisfactorily next morning. Location ideal for the city and waterfront.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    A good hotel in the heart of the city but the room wsa a bit small for a double
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and not a good sleep for a couple

    The parking facilities was fantastic, the staff very friendly and helpfull and the breakfast was fantastic value

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Best Western is Best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything perfect!

    We checked in at the earliest opportunity and the room was ready for us. Check In was smooth and efficient. Spacious, warm room was delightful with views over the Tay. Especially appreciated well stocked Hostess Tray.....very high standard of cleanliness. All staff very friendly and helpful. Special mention for breakfast staff though who were efficient, organised and still had time to be friendly. Table cleared very quickly of used dishes during breakfast. Staff knew how to run an excellent dining room!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    6.3
    Disappointed. I won't be staying at a Best Western again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being given room keys, only to discover the room wasn't ready. Being told we were too late for hot breakfast, then being told perhaps we could have something. Happy with continental breakfast, but no glasses, plates or cups for same and had to ask for them all. At 11 pm, no bar staff there to order a drink. Very disappointed. This hotel really needs to get staffed up for V & A opening.

    Location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Must Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was spot on couldn't fault the service we received. Staff very helpful,room very clean and beds super comfy. Free Parking was excellent😁😁

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location for staying in Dundee and travelling the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel appears to need a refurbishment and new bedding as the mattress was rather poor in my room.

    Excellent location for staying in Dundee and travelling the east coast via Angus Coastal Route.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.9
    I really enjoyed my stay, it ticked all the boxes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a good place to relax. Close to the station, and the center of the city. The food was great too! The staff were friendly and efficient. The breakfast was on the time stated. The TV and WiFi worked.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    Value for money. Clean and comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast service was poor. It was busy but you should know that already. Waited 50 mins for cooked breakfast. Staff pleasant enough but problem lays with the kitchen.

    The room was spacious and bed comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.9
    Pros and cons !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was so sad to note the contrast of atmosphere in the bar area when we walked past in the evening - flashing lights, door open created a seedy nightclub impression - saw no customers! I think there are enough options farther along the road to accommodate the student population. Would have been nice to have seen it furnished / decorated more tastefully maybe in an art deco / nouveau style which would attract customers and be more in keeping with the building, easy-listening music instead of the loud head hurting stuff we heard. The breakfast experience was a disappointment. Apart from finding the decor less than tasteful in the dining area, the food provision was substandard compared with previous experiences of Best Western. Mismatched crockery, menu listed fresh fruit salad + fruit segments - there were NONE. The meusli dispenser was empty. Our hot food was served on cold plates. Staff attentive enough but a bit 'indifferent'.

    Excellent location, so central and within easy reach of public transport if you needed it. Very convenient car parking arrangements. What a magnificent, iconic building ! - can be easily seen on the skyline from riverside area- beautiful entrance and stairwell - providing a glimpse of it's former grandeur. Well-appointed room - all the basics provided. Very comfy bed. No signficant noise from the street and good internal sound-proofing so very peaceful overnight - much appreciated.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    Hotel and Dundee both a pleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plenty of free disable parking easy to access from hotel . A old hotel with great character giving plenty of space in the rooms. Situated close to DCA the Dundee contemporary arts complex.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed is a little small

    Very comfortable from car parking to check in; the hotel is a building for over two hundred years Good breakfast We all like the stay in Dundee

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Excellent customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff at this property were exceptional. Really friendly people. The property is an old building so decor is old but rooms were comfortable, clean and good value for money. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.5
    Perfect position but could be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was on the lower ground floor, on the same level as the car park, next to the rear entrance into the hotel. So anyone walking passed our window could see into our room. It was a bedroom for a disabled person, with low wash basin and hand rails in the bathroom. I was not impressed with the breakfast.

    I couldn't tell what the perks were.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    We were so glad that we chose this hotel, and it will certainly be the hotel of choice in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was absolutely nothing that we could say we didn't like.

    We were made extremely welcome, and had already invited two friends to join us for dinner on the first evening. The breakfasts were equally very enjoyable, as was the evening dinner with our friends. We visit Dundee fairly often, but have never stayed here before, but this will now be the only hotel for us, and we will certainly recommend this hotel to our friends and family .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant stay :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice room, comfy bed. Bathroom was great - new and clean. Arrived late evening and was up early the next day so unfortunately didnt get to enjoy the bar. Nice breakfast. Good value for money and good location. Parking a bonus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    Very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit noisy with doors banging and guests talking loudly early in the morning, having said that this is the 3rd time I’ve stayed at this hotel and the first time I’ve heard any noise from other rooms so maybe just the position of our room. Won’t stop me from returning again

    Rooms are spacious, breakfast is good value for money, lovely staff and great location in the centre of town

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    Great staff , efficient and friendly check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was directly over the kitchens extractor fan and it was noisy with the window open but easy solution was to close window!! Shower pressure could have been better!

    Great staff , efficient and friendly check in. Good breakfast choice. This is an old hotel so don’t expect perfect walls and decor but its extremely clean and comfortable!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    The property locates at the very centre of Dundee city, with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property locates at the very centre of Dundee city, with great history and short walking distance to Dundee high street! Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, and the neighborhood is excellent!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast cooked to order which is a nice change from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first bedroom we were given was tiny, with the smallest ever tv, but the mattress was very very thin and lumpy, you could feel the springs ! very very uncomfy, we mentioned this to the room attendants who were in one of the rooms next door, and we were given another room straight away, which was much much better. Also, Best Western Queens Hotel, get rid of these awful net curtains in the bedrooms !!! they are either very dirty ! or perhaps they are that greyish brown colour anyway ! BUT - who / where has them now a days anyway ? The room its self was clean, as was everywhere else. The dining / breakfast room does not have these net curtains, and looks sooo much better for it ! We were at the DCA next door for a drink, and if you look up to the hotel from their courtyard, you will see how awful these nets look !!! Just a thought !!

    Breakfast cooked to order which is a nice change from the usual buffet breakfast, all the staff we met / came across during our 2 night stay, were very friendly and accommodating. Good location too

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant surprise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked to have a fridge.

    Comfortable bed, clean room with modern bathroom. Near shops and restaurants. Walking distance to train station and other attractions. Helpful staff. Good cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.1
    Good clean facilities
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one elevator and no access to stairs to get up to our room, 1 elevator for a hotel is no good. Also upgraded to a bigger room with a bigger bed only to find out it was 2 beds put together.

    Good clean facilities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable and clean... whilst up visiting our daughter and moving her in new student accommodation
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly loud noise coming from people walking past pub across the street... not hotels fault ... we did enjoy our stay...

    Yeah great value for money... walking distance for everything... breakfast was really good ... all staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    Aussies in Europe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No USB ports . We used the tv. To charge the phone.

    The old style charm, the staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good.. The jug with plenty of milk tea and coffee was good after the long day

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    Anniversary trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from being a little dated it was very good.but had a steak on Saturday and had to send it back as the chef came out and apologised as he cooked it the way he liked it.He did redo it but still not what I expected. Sorry can't answer youreperks question as didn't know how to do it

    All apart from above Staff were great and location ideal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.7
    Bed totally ruined the stay.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed was a total disaster. Springs gone and was sucked into middle of bed by half size wife. When i eventually slept i dreamt i was hanging off a cliff: i woke and realised i was hanging on to the side of the bed to avoid getting sucked in to the middle by the busted springs. Didn't sleep well.

    Excellent location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.5
    Close to slessor gardens where seeing Rita ora.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was a bit taken back with cleaner. I went to use toilet after checked out she was cleaning it but I wasn't feeling to great and could not wait. She was not happy I did say sorry she kept mopping in front of me.

    Close to slessor gardens where seeing Rita ora. Room nice enough and drinks all night if you wanted them 😊😊

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.3
    A fine old hotel in a very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing of note.

    Nice old hotel in a very good location within easy walking distance of the city. We had a lovely room, spacious and comfortable. We even had a view of the Tay from the bathroom Breakfast was ok too. Easy parking on site.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy in the corridor- I assume this was due to location. Very creaky floorboards- I assume is related to the age of the hotel.

    Friendly staff. Free on-site parking. Shortbread biscuits in the room..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.8
    Great value stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wine selection in the bar was limited but other than that I can't find fault

    Staff were excellent, friendly and attentive. Great breakfast cooked to order Location ideal Parking on-site

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Impressive hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike really. Perhaps a little haphazard in terms of organisation (walking in to my room after checking in to find the previous guest still packing up, cleaner walking in in the morning etc), but when I did raise an issue they were very helpful.

    Room was clean, bed was comfy, a grand building in a central location, plentiful breakfast and staff were friendly. Excellent value for money at £53 inc breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    4.2
    Won't be back .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff the following day made me feel uncomfortable . Room was dirty , run down , water marks on curtains and window frame . The bed was horrible . Breakfast was not good. Not value for money .

    The staff on entry , outstanding .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.1
    Disappointing Food and Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the restaurant and food were very poor. A complaint was made on site, in the evening and again after breakfast. A written complaint is also being prepared.

    Comfortable bed and Hotel well appointed for exploring Dundee

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.8
    The staff were very good, and so it didn't matter quite so much that the decor is a bit tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel decor is dated and needs some TLC. The tiling around the bath needed attention and the plumbing could do with an upgrade. The wallpaper in the room was dark.

    All of the staff were excellent - friendly, welcoming and helpful. The hotel is perfectly located for walking into the city and is easy to drive to, with free parking at the back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress slightly past its best; though by no means bad.

    Excellent location; beautiful historic building; nice staff; good rooms/bathrooms/showers.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.8
    Functional, clean, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heat. I had to choose between struggling to get to sleep due to the intense sticky heat of the room or leaving the window open (which only helped a little) and struggle sleeping due to the noise.

    The room was clean with a good view and a nice bathroom. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.4
    Wouldn't stay in a Best Western hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel did not give value for money! The accommodation was very basic and quite poor. The flooring in the ensuite was poorly laid & coming away from the bath.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.5
    nice hotel just maybe not the right rooms for background noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the terrible noise in the bedroom, not sure if we were underneath the kitchen or the laundry but both the rooms we had experienced a terrible mechanical noise all night long

    the staff and location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    For the price that the hotel charges I would look elsewhere for a nicer hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked premium bedrooms that were on 4th floor. The lift didn’t work! The rooms were run down and had no extras you would expect with premium. When I called reception I was told that premium just meant a bigger room. The rooms weren’t big. 100 pounds a night and it didn’t include breakfast

    Nice staff, comfy bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Friendly greeting when I arrived late in the evening, good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very weak shower (in spite of strong pressure in the sink - weird.)

    Friendly greeting when I arrived late in the evening, good location a few mins walk from Dundee station, bed very comfortable, WiFi very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Almost Blues weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have done without the ultra creaky flooring in the bedroom, but it is an old building.

    The room was very nice with a good view of the river. The woman on reception was very helpful at all times. Great breakfast room and the staff and food were great. Easy to get to from train station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Will not be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really did not like my meal I got on the first night I felt the food was such a let down and was never worth the money. And I think the guy was called Duncan that took our order he had no clue and when he did take order he then went back behind bar leaning across it with his hands in his head then on his phone to it really looked bad .

    The breakfast was lovely and the staff were very good at there job and the old chef was a nice friendly chap to also the lady on the desk in reception was really nice to

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lifts didn't work so had to carry cases up to the top floor. Was a little pricey this time for this hotel when u can get 5 star apartments for nearly the same price. Window wouldn't stay open had to stick a book under it to keep it up but still would only open a few inches so really hot.

    Stayed here once before. Nice hotel, entertainment in bar at night which was great. Overall was a nice hotel .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Clean bed and bathroom, fresh towels daily. All we needed and very convenient for the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Watch the car park. New system since previous visit. We recently stayed 2 nights, and when we checked in, we were asked to enter the car reg. on to a screen. We were not directed to enter the number of nights, so the system defaults to 1. Consequently we are likely to face an extortionate fine, which the hotel assure us they can rectify once the demand comes through. It would have been better if receptionist at check-in had told us to enter number of nights in the small box in the top corner of the screen.

    Good value for money. Decor a little tired, but all clean and whole.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel with superb and amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't normally write a review for my staying at hotels. However, Queens hotel in Dundee was amazing. The highlight of the hotel is the staff for sure. They are amazing, lovely and helpful. We had the best staying in Dundee. The location is excellent with less than 5 minutes walk from either the station or the city centre. Again the staff made our staying memorable. Definitely recommend the hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    The room was excellent , clean and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have a bell on the reception as there was no one there in arrival . I think the reception staff might be a bit more personable in how they greet you on arrival .Such as good evening .

    Very central

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    good staff were great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly when we checked in the girl upgraded our room to a bigger one, which was nice, my only gripe was on the sat night the bar next door music was very loud, and it took me a while to sleep, there was a wedding function so might of been from there not too sure, we were on the second floor but overall it was an OK hotel very central great location 5 min walk to the caird hall and shops.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    Staff were friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't open windows and heat was extreme when we were there Curtains didn't fit properly so light was shining all night despite trying hard to get them to close Had 2 meals on 2 separate evenings. Nothing special. My curry dish was unpalatable

    Staff were friendly and helpful Location excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    The hotel was really clean and it was located close to bars,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was really slow.

    The hotel was really clean and it was located close to bars, restaurants and grocery stores. It was also really close to the town center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful as always.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was fabulous throughout as always. Bedroom was a little hot as window was unable to be propped open but otherwise no issues at all.

    I've stayed here many times on my visits to family in Dundee and it is absolutely my preferred hotel. The location is brilliant within walking distance of the city centre and with free parking on site it's great for getting around too. The hotel is a beautiful old building filled character and the rooms are a great size with lovely high ceilings. Most rooms have a view of the river Tay and across to Fife which is always pleasant. The beds are spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was beautifully clean. Tea and coffee was available in the room too and breakfast in the morning is wonderful full hot breakfast selection and continental selection too. The staff are always helpful and welcoming and I will always return to the queens hotel when I'm in town.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Best Western Queens Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: