Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff 4 stars

Meridian Gate, Bute Terrace, Cardiff, CF10 2FL, United Kingdom

#12 of 48 hotels in Cardiff

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 5234 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor lighting in room. Clumsy organisation of breakfast. Didn't seem to be implementing their own policy of saving water by re-using towels. Pillows were uncomfortable.

    Location was excellent; quiet and convenient - close to Cardiff Central train station and within easy walking distance of main attractions. Reception staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.7
    Ok apart from the two items above
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room Limited View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told about limited hotel parking but weren’t told it was £20.00 per 24hrs The fridge motor in room was really noisy and woke us up every time it cut in !!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired facilities, although kept clean. The location determines the price, refurbishment activities will eventually bring facilities up to standard

    Central location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, save foe poor patrol of unregistered cars
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpark was accessed by an unregistered or unauthorised car ththast double parked near the exit, making it hard to get in and out. My hired car suffered from a clash with the driveway pole, and staff were unable to locate that car owner before we checked out and left the hotel with a damaged car.

    Always a big fan of this hotel whenever I visit Cardiff, with nice food service, room anf lica tio, altogether unbeatable in the price. I had been used to driving in the compact car park, which was made a nightmare when unregistered cars gained access and caused obstructions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    Spacious room, fantastic location to use as base to enjoy Cardiff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cost of car parking is exorbitant at 20 GBP per night. Internet/wifi service was so slow as to be completely unusable most of the time. Apparently the wifi issue is being worked on by maintenance.

    Room is spacious and very clean. Bed was extremely comfortable. Location is great for exploring the city, and for enjoying the shopping centre just across the road and the fabulous restaurant area there as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    We usually stay in Cardiff twice a year at the Park Inn,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We usually stay in Cardiff twice a year at the Park Inn, however thought we would try the Radisson Blu for a change! What a lovely hotel and the breakfast was the nicest we’ve had for a long time! Will definitely be coming back x

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds extremely comfy. Air con was spot on given recent very hot weather. Location perfect being minutes from shops restaurant and walking distance from train station. Room ready on arrival prior to estimated time

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    As stated in the 'what didn't you like' section,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I registered my vehicle in the car park at reception on a Tablet Device when I checked in, but returned to my car with a note attached saying I had to pay £100. Went to reception and they stated that my car wasn't registered but I was told not to worry about it as I had done it at check in but it just didn't go through on their system. I paid the £20 for parking the 24 hours.

    As stated in the 'what didn't you like' section, the receptionist was very helpful and understanding whilst sorting out the mishap with the registration of my car within the hotel car park - as I was told not to worry and ignore the threatening note on my car windscreen and that it was the systems doing. Bed was comfy. Bathroom was lovely and staff in general were very friendly. Great location in the centre of Cardiff for a brilliant price! Will definitely stay again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Great location and super clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great, we were able to walk to places we needed to be. We arrived early morning and we had no problem checking in. And the staff were super friendly and helpful for things we needed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    We had are School Prom here. Good night.
    • Group
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have liked Breakfast included. We ordered in food from a 24 hour take away.

    I liked being able to make a cup of tea. The bed was nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    Convenient location in central Cardiff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough lifts for such a large and tall building, especially when busy at peak arrival and departure periods.

    Visited for the Cardiff Wales Velothon cycling event. Staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Allowed a late checkout so able to store luggage during the event and return afterwards for a rest, shower and general recovery.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Decor was a little bit dated, the interior looked like the...
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was a little bit dated, the interior looked like the Park Inn rooms rather than the modern rooms in Rad-Blue’s in places like Leeds and london. Still our favourite hotel to book with, very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Brill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very badly faded chair in the bedroom which spoilt the look of the room.

    We had a corner room and the dual aspect of the floor to ceiling corner window was spectacular. Beds comfortable and the air conditioning was a godsend in the heat. Breakfast was excellent and a good choice of everything you would need to start your day. . Central location which made it the perfect for shopping , theatres and cinemas. Will stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice comfortable and modern hotel, with all the facilities and location to suit my visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room A/C only went down to 18 degs, I prefer about 16. Probably just a mistake but there were only been trad in room, no normal tea.

    Nicely laid out modern hotel, with sizable well appointed rooms. Bar and restaurant pleasant. Location near all Cardiff has to offer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.8
    Location and on-site parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked twin room allocated double which was changed to another double with room for extra bed to be setup as no twins available. Returned to room in evening and no extra bed setup, very poor.

    Location and on-site parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent - because of the location convenience to the places I was attending
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very limited parking on site - need to budget to leave car in nearby NCP or Shopping Centre car parks at overnight rates. To be fair this was pointed out on Booking,com at the time of booking but is a detractor

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room Limited View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel is under construction, so there was scaffolding all around, including in front of our window.

    the rooms were clean and modern, and we finally found the air conditioning we had been looking for all week! The staff was very friendly and very helpful. I was initially concerned that there might be noise from the train tracks, but the room was very quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Close to train station and shopping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room Limited View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning didn’t work and window unable to be opened.

    Close to train station and shopping. Spacious room with a massive bed. Very good breakfast. Great bathroom. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.7
    Clean and comfortable once inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scaffolding at every window,entrance not easy to find owing to ongoing works. Nowhere to stop and unload bags or wife in wheelchair!

    Clean and comfortable once inside. Bathroom easily accessible for disabled, Room nice and light.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Good location Nice bar Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Class Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The car park was poorly sign posted. There was some scaffolding outside the hotel that made in difficult to spot

    We were asked the reason for our visit, when we said it was our ruby wedding we were offered an upgrade to a junior suite at no extra cost. All the staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    After the initial mishap with the lift, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay & the staff were really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room Limited View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The disabled access from the car park to the hotel was not good. I got stuck on the disabled lift & had to man handled out of my wheelchair down the steps as the lift broke. Although the hotel were very apologetic about the situation & did send some complimentary water & snacks to the room, it wasn't the best introduction.

    Breakfast was superb, the hotel boasts that it's the best breakfast in Wales & I have to agree. The vast array of choice was indescribable catering for all & the food was cooked perfectly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.3
    Room was good size and bed was massive and very comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View wasn’t good as I requested a good view. Cleanliness wasn’t good, found a used condom wrapper in the bedside table on perfect view so no excuses

    Room was good size and bed was massive and very comfy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.3
    Parking is pathetic for bigger cars.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is pathetic for bigger cars. Why advertise if u can't fit the cars in and then advise to go elsewhere which is a joke. Staff polite that's your positive

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Amazing Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room Limited View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was great! The location was very convenient, the room design was very comfortable, and the staff was friendly especially Rossella, at the reception desk, she was very kind and friendly with us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    alright
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast far too expensive, the fridge in the room was actually hotter than the room itself and whilst it was nice to have the option to watch films on the tv, they were generally overpriced with new films costing about the same as much older ones. Nothing like a bit of saving private ryan to get me off to sleep but at £3.99 it was cheaper to go to weatherspoons, buy and pint and watch some real life fighting. Oh and no biccies.

    big room, big telly, nice toiletries

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Comfy, friendly, great views. Room service tray charge needs to be reduced!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not incredibly cheap and ridiculous tray charge (£5!) for room service.

    Bedroom very comfortable with great views. Bed comfy, quiet air conditioning (always a bonus).Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    It was amazing thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room Limited View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts broke so had to go down 18 flights of stairs with all our luggage and this girl doesn’t travel light. Would if liked to have more choice of drink in business lounge as upgraded but didn’t feel the drink was great choice

    Had a fab time more than expected upgraded to business class would def come back never stayed in a nice hotel like this it was def what was needed after a hard year

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.7
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room Limited View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work going on. Breakfast staff were slow to serve; no explanation on first visit of how things worked. Took two orders to get coffee to the table. Holes in blackout curtain. £5 charge for room service on top of order.

    Location. Bed extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Close to the central station, good view of Cardiff, spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room Limited View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stains on the carpet in the room, told at check in that movies were free for our room, they weren’t, wasn’t rectified by the check in staff when we rang down, room was also very warm even with air con on full, as you cannot open a window at all

    Close to the central station, good view of Cardiff, spacious bed and coffee making facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Central location for all of Cardiff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a really good size and the bathroom was really well kitted out. The lounge and restaurant is a really nice area, but be aware drinks are expensive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Great Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room Limited View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At £220 per night, I would’ve expected a better quality room. Didn’t expect the dirty stained carpet and no opening window to let in fresh air into room. Air con was good but sometimes you just want to open a window.

    Brilliant location for Stadium and Cardiff night life! Lovely reception area, friendly staff and Good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    If you have a great night sleep what more can you say with a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Class Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My self service buffet was ok, however my partners omelette was amazing.

    Bed was super comfy had a really great night sleep. As my partner said its was the best night ever. Great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    The service was friendly and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room Limited View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The renovations (ongoing since my last visit a year ago) were somewhat intrusive with the platforms going up and down outside the window. However, it was only from 9-5, and to be fair, they always kept their backs turned to the room when passing.

    The service was friendly and efficient. The room, although a little worn, was comfortable. Being on a higher floor, the large windows afforded expansive views across the town centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.7
    Overall very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is having a facelift at the moment but it didn’t interfere with are stay oh and we would have liked more ordinary teabags instead of the fancy ones but this is just personal taste

    Perfect for a short stay nice clean room and bathroom liked the little bits shampoo body lotion etc great location good for going to the stadium and other places

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Great location, friendly and helpful staff (Angela from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, friendly and helpful staff (Angela from Malaga on reception). Breakfast had a good selection all looked fresh not tired like some breakfast buffets. Will use this hotel again. Thanks

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location but found the hotel over priced for what was quite a basic room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room Limited View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a lot of building work taking place at the moment so you have to keep your curtains closed as the builders are right outside the window and the noise levels are quite loud. The room could have been a little cleaner.Only had one pillow on our king size bed (although there was another one in the cupboard),had half a roll of toilet roll so a good job we were only staying one night and the complimentary toiletries had been used.

    The Reception,bar,eating and seating areas were lovely,had a very relaxed feel.I also had the best nights sleep in the most comfortable king sized bed of any hotel that I have ever stayed in. The location of this hotel was just perfect for exploring Cardiff. And the Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.3
    Not a nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room Limited View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We was asked for payment for the room as soon as we checked in. Room to stuffy, couldn't open a window. Staff came into our room once we had left for the concert. No need as we had only been in room a few hours. The breakfast was shocking we didn't even get offered a tea or coffee.

    Location were good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel will definitely be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room Limited View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid to upgrade this included 2 hours in the VIP bar. My husband couldn’t order a pint of lager as they could only serve half pints it wasn’t a issue but I just couldn’t work out why, bartender couldn’t explain either !

    Very comfy beds and clean rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Expensive, but well appointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Class Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower over the bath - why? The bathroom was big enough for a separate walk-in shower - so much more convenient & safer.

    Large room - we were upgraded to Business Class for our stay. This gave us complimentary drinks before dinner & breakfast cooked to order. The room was spacious & comfortable with views over the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Very welcoming, nice looking hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t fussed on the pillows, bed comfort 6/10 Parking very expensive

    Location excellent for what we required, very tidy clean hotel Bathroom and room were huge for standard room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    The staff are lovely and I have stayed here for business a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting is very poor in general.

    The staff are lovely and I have stayed here for business a few times. This time around I needed to do some work in my room and the room I was allocated had unbelievably poor lighting. I normally wouldn’t say anything but I rang reception and explained the situation and they without hesitation changed my room. Not only that they kindly (without me even realising) upgraded me to a business room which inadvertently had much better lighting. It was fuss free, they didn’t make a big deal out of it and I truly appreciated the gesture. I didn’t take any names but it was the gentleman working reception at approx 9.30pm on Sunday 10th June. Please commend him for his exceptional service 😊

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    4.6
    Reception staff were friendly, breakfast good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, stained carpet and chairs. Lumpy old mattress , no light over mirror. If I was staying longer would have asked to be moved and a discount.

    Reception staff were friendly, breakfast good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Great views,near to centre,clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    £20 a day parking,no spaces so had to park in John Lewis and walk (same price) . Broken plug in room ,couldn’t fix as maintenance gone home so had to wait till next day

    Great views,near to centre,clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    Price way too high, a rip off and fleeecing on a huge scale. Won’t be back at these prices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    £249 for a double room without breakfast for 1 night. Breakfast £23 extra. Building works in and outside hotel. Receptionist asked if we wanted a room upgrade for an extra £40😨

    Great position, close to everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    We upgraded to business class for an extra £60, & had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room Limited View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We upgraded to business class for an extra £60, & had the best time. Room was amazing, food was gorgeous & staff friendly n extremely helpful. Location was great too!!! Will definately be booking again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    Over all good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room Limited View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed in our room seemed to be combined with two single beds, so the centre of the bed was very hard. I felt a bit uncomfortable to sleep on that. The morning buffet was very good, but I felt one of the waiters were not polite... He took away all the plates and food without asking us and no smile all the time.

    Great location, easy access to the city centre and the rail station. The room we stayed was well cleaned and came with a great view. The morning buffet was very nice, we liked a lot.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.9
    the room and hotel was very clean and modern, Bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weren't happy about our view of the scaffolding and how everyone in the hotel opposite us could see straight in our room.

    the room and hotel was very clean and modern, Bathroom especially.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Overall enjoyable and staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a suite however on arrival were told that it was overbooked and were offered a business class room instead. On top floor of hotel with great views but disappointed that we didn’t have our booked room.

    Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.8
    Hard to get into, little usable parking, room was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building appeared to be barricaded to prevent an invasion of some sort. Although no scalding oil was poured on us, we could not remove items from our car since there was no place to park and garage appeared to be closed. We had to park about a half kilometer away at a fairly expensive place to access the hotel. No moat but a lot of traffic to fight with.

    Room was fine. Staff was helpful in the small lobby

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant despite the criticisms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture needs better upkeep, if you’re going to put items in the room, maintain them. Bath plug didn’t seal. Details really, not expected from Radisson Blu.

    Everything is lovely, but tired. Considering the price of the room, it is a bit disappointing. However the staff are lovely and it’s near most entertainment venues, which makes it a nice place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Staff friendly, very good selection for breakfast and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a little worn and would benefit with a lick of paint. Soft furnishings tired and faded and an odd collection of furniture.

    Staff friendly, very good selection for breakfast and a central Cardiff location. Nice reception and bar area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    The location was excellent and the staff were helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lights didn't work properly in the bedroom and the carpets weren't particularly clean.

    The location was excellent and the staff were helpful. The restaurant staff and food were brilliant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.0
    I will not conseder this hotel for future trip.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Room very basic, no windows, we had to change beding as it was fether ,( as I have chest problem), parking very poor as we had to park on the pavement to unload lugauge and tried to park the car, £20.00 aday

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    quite dusty guess due to work being done carpet was quite knackered and some of the loose furniture in room needed changing also

    location bar room staff were friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Benefits that came with the junior suite were second to none and astonishing! We were in shock at the extras. We will definitely be staying again. Thank you!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    A nice hotel, made great by friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room Limited View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel parking is poor, but was not a major issue as J Lewis is so close.

    Layout of hotel and location in the city are very good. Staff were exceptionally welcoming. Good job.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location, very close to train station and town!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of lighting in room, only bedside lights and light by door no lighting by mirror.

    Great location, very close to train station and town! Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Get me check in staff and this hotel is one of the best in the uk
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room Limited View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in and out staff were hopeless. If you can’t be bothered, get another job as you let this great hotel down

    Room was great, large and clean. Breakfast was best I’ve had in uk for a long time. Bar was nice with friendly staff. Location as good as it gets

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    A very relaxing few days in a lively and friendly city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast: after the first day we had breakfast out. The view from our window was across a building site to the railway. We had an issue about some property we accidentally left behind but wasn't handed in.

    Comfortable room, huge and comfortable bed, very pleasant bathroom. Welcoming and helpful reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.3
    Worst night sleep, but friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy air con, thin walls-could gear next doors conversation.

    Air con so noisy even when not switched on that we had to move rooms. Only to have the same problem in new room. Rooms were dated. High pitched noise coming from the lift. Worst night sleep I’ve ever had in a hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location, very central and the staff were friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure was awful and when showering the water would change to freezing or boiling randomly. However the staff have given us a free upgrade on our next stay

    Fantastic location, very central and the staff were friendly and professional and dealt with our issue very well

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    excellent location, poor exterior, painful bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ii HAVE A CHRONIC BACK PROBLEM AND FOUND THE BED TOO SOFT. bOTH hILTON AND pREMIER iNN HAVE MORE SUPPORTIVE BEDS. i ENDED UP WITH SEVERE BACKACHE AFTER MY SECOND NIGHT. oTHERWISE IT WAS AN EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE AS IN THE PAST. I do hope the building work is finished soon, visited last November when it was also in full swing

    RECEPTION VERY FRIENDLY AND EFFICIENT

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Had a fantastic time & will definitely return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was far too hot with no way to turn the heating down in there! Pillows were useless, no firmness to them at all.

    Friendly staff member in reception who offered us a discounted breakfast rate & gave us further information to help us get around the following day. Breakfast was fantastic, lots of options & all well cooked. Room was very comfortable & clean. Hotel location was great, walking distance to main attractions but still quiet at night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    Workmen and noise outside room and room smelt of cigarette smoke
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The booking had been mixed up through booking.com but the hotel were courteous to add breakfast as an appolgy. Asked to stat in a non smoking room. It stank of smoke and once left my next hotel I realised all my clothes had picked up the smell. Opened curtains in morning to see on face to face level two workmen. Was woken up by their banging as well. Not told about this on check in. Small carpark, check in advance for other parking near hotel in case you don't get it as on traffic light one way system.

    Staff compensated and apologised. Good central location good for any reason business or leisure in Cardiff. Ask about work next to room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Potential for transformation into a top destination is high given location and staff friendliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room Limited View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although our room (Business Class) was fairly spaced and with the basic amenities, it was not cleaned during our stay.

    Comfortable bed, perfect experience during Check-in (Sophie was excellent).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location, good hotel - except for lack of responsiveness re maintenance issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor responsiveness and lack of communication re our maintenance request. Nothing happened about it and we received no feedback on why not. When we chased, it seemed it hadn't been logged.

    Good hotel in a great location - right by the city centre but away from any noise, and just a kilometre walk to the Bay area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    Dissaponted based on room, no real complaints for everything else. Overpriced for quality of room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was out dated (and a bit tacky visually) compared to the pictures on booking.com, this was very dissapointing given the price (£100+ per night!). The modern luxury look is why I made the booking, although the bathroom mostly lived up to this expectation, the room didn’t. Yes it was spacious but I felt I overpaid for what I actually got in the end...shame as it let the rest of the hotel down in comparison. Would not return based on this.

    Location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room Limited View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noises from the trains. When I ordered decaff coffee, they brought me a small mug and never asked if I wanted any more. I didn't see any low fat yogurt or didnt realise I could order poached eggs until someone next to me did

    The Bed was soft. The crusty rolls were good and so was the bacon and brie sandwich I made with it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Bedroom was lovely and very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All pillows on the bed were feather pillows so it was impossible to get comfy! Also, £20 for parking?! Ridiculous considering I was told you can't reserve parking, yet there were five or six spaces taken up with reserved signs!

    Bedroom was lovely and very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxed atmosphere, and you’re not rushed out for check...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you’re gonna have any meal there, expect steep prices.

    Very relaxed atmosphere, and you’re not rushed out for check out, which is nice when a little more time on the eye is needed!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    4.6
    I will not be staying here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was awful. The decor was very dated. The toilet was unclean. There was something congealed on the desk and there was what appeared to be dried blood on the sheets.

    The front desk staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.4
    Restaurant menu nicely varied with good mix of healthy...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room Limited View
    • Stayed 1 night

    IT IS NOT MADE CLEAR ON BOOKING.COM OR HOTEL WEBSITE THAT CONSTRUCTION WORK IS ONGOING. ONLY COMMENT IS "RESTRICTED VIEW" WHICH DOES NOT ADEQUATELY ALERT CLIENTS TO HAMMERING THAT SEEMED TO START AT 6AM! RECEPTION UNDERSTAFFED AT BREAKFAST CHECK OUT TIME TOO

    Restaurant menu nicely varied with good mix of healthy choices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Good location but an expensive overnight sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking expensive, carpet in room needed replacing, breakfast expensive so we didn't take it.

    Location perfect for Motorpoint arena. Good to have car parking facility.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent service, comfortable rooms and central to shop, lunch and enjoy a gig
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Raddison Blu is very central for the St David's shopping centre and the Motorpoint Arena, both of which were great for us to lunch and shop and then to go go a gig in the evening. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful and again nothing was too much trouble. An extremely enjoyable stay with no issues whatsoever, which always make for a very pleasant break

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.1
    Good in parts, which is my experience with Radisson generally
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Allocated lower floor room at arrival despite explicit request for upper floor. Had to press for a move due to traffic noise and this was properly dealt with. Was nagged to go for a completely unnecessary £40 'executive' upgrade and ludicrously expensive breakfast on arrival. Room TV completely exasperating. A video about Radisson's no doubt excellent charitable works blaring out when I entered the room and almost impossible to turn off due to flat batteries in remote control. Found it easier to watch TV on my laptop via the wifi.

    Great room on one of the upper floors when I politely pressed the point. Very nice staff in the bar/cafe.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: