Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Railway House 3 stars

Alliance Street Darlington, Darlington, DL3 0BE, United Kingdom

#24 of 28 hotels in Darlington

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 40 apartment reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment 7 Sleeps 2 adults Plus 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Payment was meant to be on arrival but met nobody the full stay. And it came out of bank even thought I clicked cash on arrival.

    Lovely clean apartment, plenty nice extras. Really enjoyed our stay here bed was very comfy bathroom spotless and nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Apartment 6 Sleeps 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is NOT near the main rail station - its near a very small local station so don't be confused like we were! 30 minutes walk away...we should have asked! Also we didn't realise no reception -so couldn't initially get into the place as we needed a code then keys via another code on entry. So you will need this code Prior to arrival AND on your phone at all times.

    great accommodation -perfect holiday type cottage all self contained

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment 5 Sleeps 3
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Railway house was perfect for our short stay (4 days)visiting our daughter. It was clean, well equipped. With 2 adults and a 14 year old we had plenty of space. The apartment was very secure with two door entry and it's own security alarm. Perfect for our needs with local amenities including a CIU club nearby for those who like a tipple, shops and take always within a 2 min walk.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment 6 Sleeps 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We've stayed in some holiday cottages for 1 week stays which didn't have as good facilities than this - tea coffee milk beer(!) all left as a welcome pack, bed was great (hard mattress fan). Only 15 minute walk into the town centre, Darlington has some great pubs and restaurants so well worth a visit.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment 6 Sleeps 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the intercom that opened the gate got stuck a little

    The host left extras in the fridge and wine etc the finishing touches made a big difference and made me smile when I arrived.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment 7 Sleeps 2 adults Plus 2
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing thing we couldn't get to was the bin area, as the keys we had didn't 't fit.

    Amenities good, easy to meet up with other family.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment 6 Sleeps 2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bad points - we'll be back next time we're visiting family!

    Great base with full cooking facilities & a separate bedroom. A 15 minute walk into town & a big Morrison's a few minutes walk away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment 5 Sleeps 3
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Smelled of bleach when we arrived. Very dusty under sofas as noticed when our toddler rolled water bottle underneath one. Tired decor and some fixtures were in need of replacing.

    Easy to access. Parking was easy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment 5 Sleeps 3
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed wasn't particularly comfortable

    Free parking right outside the front door, free wifi, fully set up with everything we needed for a short stay, includiing a chilled bottle of wine in the fridge!. Good communication from owner/manager regarding entry etc. Withiin walking distance to supermarket for supplies

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment 5 Sleeps 3
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wash all the crockery and cutlery before using. The apartment could have been cleaner. Hot water and heating was hard to regulate.

    Plenty of space and handy for cooking your own meals. Good wifi. Friendly helpful owner.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment 6 Sleeps 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the host was not on site he was very helpful by text and everything went very smoothly. North Road station and large supermarket both 5-10mins walk or a couple of minutes in the car. North Road railway museum worth a visit!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Apartment 4 Sleeps 3
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    The apartment in Railway House is well equipped and beautifully finished. Ideal location and great internet!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment 6 Sleeps 2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't clean, the facilities are poor. Not even enough glasses. Heating and hot water broke down.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment 4 Sleeps 3
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Apartment 5 Sleeps 3
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Just as expected.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Group
    • Apartment 4 Sleeps 3
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no soap or shower gel 😏

    Apartment very cozy and clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment 4 Sleeps 3
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable,clean and good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment 4 Sleeps 3
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good value - basic but nicely presented

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment 6 Sleeps 2
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It definitely needs a new microwave!!

    it's well-equipped, fully functional, and was good value for money that week.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Apartment 5 Sleeps 3
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The electricity was turned off when we arrived.

    Ideal for what we required.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment 6 Sleeps 2
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Not really.

    The owner was very reliable. There were small dysfunctions here and there, but I've got quick responses to every inquiry.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Only one set of keys for a 2 bedroom flat is not good enough. No soap in the bathroom. Mattress not very good. Ignition for gas hob didn't work and there were no matches. Saucepans fall over on hob

    Great wifi

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lighting is a little poor, especially in the bathroom (perhaps the fluorescent bulbs are past their best?). Also in the bathroom the shower cubicle was a little tired, the doors didn't shut properly and the shower head wouldn't stay in position. However, at the price, some level of compromise has to be expected.

    Railway House is well equipped, and gives us plenty of space; we can eat what we want when we want it, and do our laundry too! Morrison's and McDonalds are just over the tracks and there are some good pubs (like the Half Moon, try their porter!) and restaurants (the Anatolia is good) within fifteen minutes walk on the road into town.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Did not use their WiFi but all other things were tops could not have been more helpful

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Guests also reviewed these properties: