Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Railway Inn 3 stars

Station Road, Culham, OX14 3BT, United Kingdom

#2 of 2 hotels in Culham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 441 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room being so close to train track did not realise it would be that close. Did not have a goods nights sleep.

    Staff very friendly, room had all you could need and it was very clean and nicely decorated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are quite a few rather steep stairs - & do beware of the low ceilings if you are up in the attic rooms...

    Wonderful atmosphere caused by a large collection of pictures & railwayana. The surprise of a real cafetiere in the room - and an excellent breakfast!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 9, I personally found boiler, I presume due to showers being used elsewhere very noisy, disrupted my sleep.

    Room comfortable, good showers. Clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the TV could have been bigger. And soundproofing could have been better.

    Staff started breakfast 1/23 hour earlier than usual as we were leaving early in the morning. Good power shower!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little too warm and we couldn't open the window.

    Lovely place even though it's by a railway, and was a little way away from where we wanted,staff very accommodating,food excellent,very quiet at night.good comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the pillows were very hard and no air con or fan in the room . Also it is worth bringing your own towels as they are quite small .

    We stayed as we were picking up our daughter from Oxford Uni. We didn't have a meal there as we eat in town. However their breakfast was cooked lovely and they have a coffee machine in your room. it is suitable for dog people but also for a small family as their chairs turn into beds. The hotel is 10 fairy steps to the local train station and although it is not manned , you are 2 stops from Oxford Town Centre £5.00 one way . Parking your car at the Railway Inn is great and loads of room, as Oxford is park and ride. I would use them again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were delightful and really very helpful. The closeness to Oxford and the fact the hotel is on the train line makes it a great place to stay. I would recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little noisy until the trains stopped running but I suppose you have to expect that from a railway inn!

    Comfortable bed, excellent food and lovely staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all .

    Pleasant welcome. The family room had plenty of space and two comfy sofas. Breakfast and evening meal were superb. Pauline and Roy were excellent hosts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only a one night stay

    Nothing was a problem for the staff. Even when I told them that there would be 7 for dinner instead of 3...................Food excellent and all English staff with proper Non-halal food......... Highly recommended

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    The staff were really friendly and helpful. My bedroom was really modern and extremely clean, with a skylight over the bed - which I absolutely loved! More importantly, there was a coffee pod machine in the bedroom!! The food in the restaurant was really delicious and very reasonably priced!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was perfect

    The staff were lovely, food was fabulous and the room was clean and spacious. The breakfast was very good. I have a one year old and the owners were so lovely with her. I definitely recommend staying here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

    The hotel is very efficiently run but maintains a really relaxed and friendly atmosphere. I stay here whenever I'm working in the area and it is always of a consistently high standard. I particularly like the coffee machine in the bedroom - a real bonus!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were friendly and really helpful. The breakfast was freshly cooked to order and was perfect. I ate in the restaurant and the food was good pub grub. A great stay, will book again if work brings me back to the area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grubby. Very very close to railway. Disturbed night with trains rattling by regularly. In fairness, the clue is in the name of the establishment!

    The bed was ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room could have been warmer , I guess because I was in one of the upper rooms the radiator didn't get very hot. If you like your tea hot and in a teapot don't order tea at breakfast it comes out of a machine and is not hot enough

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have preferred just a normal kettle instead of the capsule drinks machine in the room - too much of a faff and although the coffee was ok it did not make a decent cup of tea. the walls were very thin so noises from the other rooms very intrusive, they can't help the train noises but I don't want to hear someone else's TV until 2am.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This venue is a rail enthusiasts paradise unfortunately the trains run all day and most of the night shaking the building. Sleep was long in coming.

    All of the staff were very pleasant and friendly from beginning to the end of our stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The train running below my room's window. A bit noisy. But I suppose the name of the hotel say that you might expect that.

    The staff was really nice. The atmoshere very welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bare in mind is next to the railway, so if you are a light sleeper bring a good pair of earplugs!

    The bed was very comfy, the room spacious, and it was all reasonably clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not fault the facilities, quiet a number of other visitors report the trains can be noisy but slept well and only noticed the train noise whilst in the public bar.

    Easy to find with ample parking very well coming owners and staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a nothing that I would change.

    I liked the welcome was very friendly by the staff. Very helpful and a great breakfast. Also a lovely evening meal a day pint.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    I was only there for a one night stopover, attending a function in nearby Didcot. The room was clean and comfy, just what I needed. I didn't have an evening meal, but the cooked breakfast was great, really tasty. The landlord and landlady were true hosts, extremely friendly, so much better than an impersonal hotel chain. I will definitely stay there again when I next return to Didcot.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very nice BnB very cosy and great value for money. The room was nice, clean and had everything you would want. The Hotel restaurant has a very good evening menu and the food was well prepared. All the staff are very accommodating to any requests. Would recommend staying here to anyone.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited train service from Culham to Didcot/Oxford (I recognise that this was not the fault of the Railway Inn !!)

    Loved the location of this accommodation, right next to Culham railway station. Plenty of car-parking space. Very friendly and helpful staff - very accommodating in every way. Room was superb, amazingly clean and all home-comforts provided. Excellent restaurant menu & bar facilities. Breakfast was top-notch.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sound insulation effect is little bad

    It's 10 min walking to my business destination and close to Culham Railway Station. Meals and ale great. The staff friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Steep stairs from the room down to the dining room.

    The room was large and comfortable and the en-suite excellent.. The rest of the rooms facilities were good(coffee-maker, television, seats)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The reliability of local taxi companies and scarcity of public transport links to and from Abingdon.

    Breakfast was absolutely delicious! Nice big warm room with a nice powerful hot shower. There was plenty of space for the three of us. Staff and people are very courteous and friendly. Easy access to Oxford via Culham Railway Station which is directly outside, and a ten minutes drive or 45 minutes walk from beautiful Abingdon. Great value for money overall and a great time was had by all three of us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were charged an additional amount as the updates on our reservation had not been noticed by this facility, even though we had confirmation that no additonal charges would apply.

    Clean food was excellent and they had a special on craft beers

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Evening meal was distinctly average.

    Interesting location next to Culham station, with trains passing frequently - exciting and fitted in with the theme of the inn.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paint the room key with some nail varnish to identify it as I had a bunch of 3 keys and I couldn't tell the difference.

    So welcoming and friendly. Felt I had stepped into 'my local'

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was terrible. Part cooked chicken. & sharp defensive response when I sent it back which clearly showed blood coming from it. Told nothings wrong with it. The picture on my phone says otherwise.

    Leaving.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Inn is well run and the owners and staff are a welcoming, courteous and helpful team for example meals were arranged at times convenient for me. The room was very comfortable and clean. As a result I had a stress free stay and slept well . The trains didn't bother me just added to the character of the place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are not as well noise insulated as they could be. The railway is accepted, but next doors TV is an intrusion, as is the loo pumping system at 04.00!

    Excellent breakfast with Gluten free options. Also reasonable bar menu.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Train line is a little noisy but you know that from the name. Apart from the steak which my wife had, the quality of our evening meal was pretty average.

    Staff very friendly, room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good quality except for tinned tomatoes, also steak for dinner was very good quality.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows were exceptionally good. The food was lovely and staff very friendly. I mentioned after the first night that I had slept very poorly due to the noise from the plumbing system- people flushing toilets and having showers meant we had a constant loud hum and drone in our room until the system refilled. It would then go quiet but start up again as soon a toilet/ shower was used. We were moved to another room without any problem and had a quiet night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room with only a roof window. Noisy trains. It's next to a station with hardly any trains stopping there but plenty passing through. I had to get a taxi to Didcot station in the morning as there were no suitable trains.

    Location next to railway station. It is a pub with some reasonable beer. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant hours seemed a little bit narrow 8.30 pm seemed a little bit early for last bookings

    overall it was quite pleasant and the room was a good size, the breakfast was substantial and the staff friendly. The location was quiet and the passing train traffic was not at all intrusive,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have been helpful to have a hook in the bathroom to hang a towel or a dressing gown on, when coming out of the shower. (room 6)

    Relaxed and friendly atmosphere, Pauline and Rob made us feel very welcome. Breakfast lovely, excellent menu for additional meals , very tasty , all beautifully cooked. Room clean, beds comfortable, tea & coffee facilities ample.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we travelled by train it was ideally situated right next to the station,staff very friendly even let us check in early booked us a taxi as we had a wedding to get to

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not having the time to stay there for a few more days!

    welcoming, good food, comfortable bed. It could be a problem for some people as one needs to be able to climb stairs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Land lady was stand offish and abrupt Also gave impression that she had got to used to dictating how things had to be Should stay away from customer Or make efforts to become more welcoming

    The landlord was friendly Food was nice Cake nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooftop airconditioning could be heard vibrating through the ceiling till gone midnight and it also woke me up before 7am when the fans kicked on again.

    Our room and the whole building was fresh, bright and clean. The family room was perfectly suited to our party of mum, dad and 2 children aged 9 & 5, I would be happy to stay there again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noise could be heard from the pub below, but this was minimal and ended early.

    I can't compliment the staff (reception/bar/kitchen) enough. All were wonderfully friendly and helpful and put the purpose of my trip (a job interview!) to the back of my mind. The facilities were excellent; breakfast was provided, there was the option to buy a meal there at lunch/nighttime, and the room came equipped with a proper coffee machine! Shower worked perfectly and plenty of towels were provided. And on top of all that it's right next to the train station! I'll definitely be staying again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside to The room we stayed in was that you had to go outside from the pub to reach it, but it was literally a few steps to the next door.

    It was quiet, close to Abingdon and easy to find. We were visit i g family in Abingdon for a christening and this was just so convenient. Also not far from Oxford. Would definitely stay here again as it was great value for money with friendly staff and good food. The B&B is literally a stones throw from the station but as no trains stop there on a Sunday it wasn't noisy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prime location as we wanted to catch train to Oxford. The accommodation was very comfortable and the staff were friendly. Breakfast was good quality and overall experience was great. We will be back again to further explore the area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little hard for me but still managed a good nights sleep, can't complain for the price

    Lovely clean and very welcoming, breakfast was an added bonus, all in all absolutely lovely!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location next to the railway is not ideal, but the trains didn't really bother me, and you would not be able to call it the Railway Inn if it wasn't there :)

    Very friendly and accommodating staff. Excellent breakfast and good coffee facilities in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Capsule coffee machine did not work very well. There was a 24 hour hum from a cooling unit on the roof. Frequent dull rumble from passing trains.

    Friendly hosts and staff. Excellent food. Good shower. Spacious accommodation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel staff were very friendly and very helpful, especially as we had a problem with our car. The meal we had in the restaurant was delicious. Very comfortable pillows.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the trains every ten minutes about 5 feet away from the window was rediculous. The whole building shook. Impossible to sleep properly. I know it's called the railway inn but trains travelling at god knows what sped past your room is not good.

    Staff,cleanliness and food excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I suspect that the noise from the trains through the night might be a problem for some - and you will see some comments in other reviews. My room was closest to the railway and we were mid heatwave so no choice about keeping the windows open but, actually, once I got used to it, it wasn't a problem for me.

    The staff are so friendly and obliging - nothing was too much trouble. Breakfasts are excellent and the regular bar and specials menus give a wide choice if you are dining in. One really lovely touch is the coffee machine in the bedroom - a real bonus!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's a pub/restaurant but it didn't serve any evening meal. Didn't feel very secure or comfortable as the room is LOWER than ground level but has a roof window (back of the property). Curtain can only be closed when window is shut. Felt stuffed in hot weather - either this or feeling naked and looked at through a hole. Dust fell on bed when opening and shutting window.

    Well, like the sound of the name when booking (but expected food from a 'railway inn' !) To be fair it's an OK place and hostess seems friendly but definitely overrated in my opinion.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware this is next to a mainline with intercity trains passing within a few feet of the building. But none of our party was disturbed and we all slept well. Although the hotel itself is cozy and well equipped, there is nothing close by. So you need a car or to hop on a train if you want other shops or restaurants.

    Friendly and helpful staff and family owned atmosphere. Clean well furnished rooms. Fantastic water pressure for the shower. Interesting character of the building has been retained. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some noise from trains, but didn't stop us having a good night's sleep. Minor point, but would have preferred a kettle to a drinks machine.

    Clean, friendly, warm and accommodating. Super easy access to train station for Oxford, Didcot or any station on that route. Breakfast was fantastic. Surrounded by beautiful countryside. Restaurant and bar on site.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't get on with the drinks machine in my room, but it was probably my fault... (There are full instruction in the inn's welcome folder).

    The location is conveniently located near Dorchester, and while not being luxurious, would suit people attending musical events in Dorchester who perhaps are looking for more budget accommodation than that available in the village itself. (But you do need a car...)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friendly, helpful staff. Home cooked meals - recommend the cottage pie - home made by Pauline. Good size room. Restaurant also open for lunch. Bar open until 11.00pm. It is next to a busy railway line but you could go to Oxford etc by train - platform only a few yards from the Railway Inn. I liked seeing and hearing the trains go by.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is far from there so without a car you're stuck with their dinner times and options. Not too many choices for a vegan. But it's a pub/guesthouse so that sort of dining one should expect.

    Nice place, really comfortable room with a great coffee machine. Clean and comfortable, got more towels than needed, ironing board and everything I needed was available. Breakfast was as usual. Staff are lovely. Cozy place overall.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to find by car, if going by rail it is even better, lovely food, excellent breakfast, dinner is just as good, very friendly staff and locals made for a great stay. Nice out of the main area, good little commute to Abingdon by taxi, perfect rail link to Oxford and London. Would definitely return here.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners and staff were friendly and helpful the accommodation was good and clean with tea/coffee facilities, fan, TV etc. Food of traditional pub style. Good breakfast if a little old fashioned. Only downside was the train noise with freight throughout the night. A useful stop if like us you are walking The Thames Path, approx a mile and half from Culham bridge. The owner even kindly offered to drive us back to the bridge when we checked out.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is on the rail tracks , and get vibration and horrible noise all day and most of the night. The hotel is placed between the railway and a very noisy road.

    Close to My working place

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee machine was tricky - just a nice kettle is more my thing but others may love it!

    Excellent dinner, really friendly and the annexe was quiet and very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The inn provided everything we needed. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful to us,beyond what you would expect. The breakfast was also superb.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only problem was the train noise but we knew about it when we booked and there's not much you can do about it! Suggest taking ear plugs, which would help a bit.

    Staff were all really friendly. Food was excellent, as was the service. Good selection of drinks in the bar. Rooms were VERY clean and comfortable - great powerful shower! Easy 10 minutes stroll to Culham Science Centre where we were working for the day. Outside seating for when it's nice weather so you can enjoy a drink in the sun. Very convenient for the station - it's just through the gate, with good connections to mainline stations.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I didn't like was the fact the window couldn't open as it was an attic room, and we found it very hot at night,

    Staff were very helpful and friendly nothing was a problem

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Family room very small and difficult with three of us. Trains were very noisy and troublesome despite other reviews Food in restaurant was poor and lots on menu not available and was quite pricey. Breakfast was a bit better but not a lot of choice cereals and juice. A proper pot of tea would have been nice not from machine. Single bed very hard as were pillows

    Double Bed v.comfy but pillows not Staff helpful and reasonably friendly Very Clean

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely welcome, second visit. Good value for money, clean and the staff can't do enough for you. You can find here real English real life that should be treasured. It's called the Railway Inn for a reason - there are TRAINS stopping and going past at all hours! Have a drink in the bar, learn a little bit about how the owners and how hard they and there staff work to make the Railway Inn a welcoming and pleasant stay. A big thanks to the breakfast chef for hanging about keeping my colleagues breakfast warm after a long drive from Somerset!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely friendly staff,everything you could want in the room.Evening meal and breakfast very nice,we will be back.Oh and the biscuits in room were very yummy.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing. It was ideally situated for where we wanted to go. The trains weren't a problem.

    The staff were very friendly. Room very comfortable. Felt like being in a home from home.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Train line runs RIGHT next to the building so depending on which room you get, it can be very noisy

    Coffee pod machine in the room with an array of coffee and tea pods for no extra charge.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Bookings.com misled us; while making the booking it showed us a price of £89 but when we reached there first of all the land lady told us that there was booking for two adults only which came as shocking and embarassing to me, then she had to call bookings.com and I was told about the fine print about the extra £15/kid to be paid. We ended up paying £119 for a room in which two extra beds were squashed!! It really felt overpriced. I had to even talk to the bookings.com staff but was reminded of the fine print. What I do not understand is that why didn't the website quote a price of £119 as soon as I had put in the details that we were four. Disappointing indeed. I would have never booked this in the first place. 2. We were literally rushed for breakfast, my wife was given cooked breakfast which had a human hair in it, when she pointed this out, the land lady took it away and after taking the hair out, served the same plate back. it was outrageous! The stuff in breakfast felt as if it had been in the freezer for ages!! I do not recollect wasting food in any hotel but had to leave my plate as after eating a bit. 3. Not kid friendly. All in all a stay worth forgetting, utterly disappointed. I had taken my family for my birthday but was quite upset. I will think twice before booking with Bookings.com as well as will try and stick to the chains (hotels)

    The location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were happy with everything,and this is our 2nd time we have stayed this year.Staff were very friendly and helpful. Will visit again in the future and would highly recommend a stay here.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a lovely B&b but there was just one thing wrong the room I was in was very close to the trains travelling on a track near by. The noise on the grist night was very loud but the second night a was staring to get use to it and by the third night I couldn't hear it as bad so slept a lot better. Hope this is of help. The owner is a lovely man and if great help!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excessive noise from train line sited next to accommodation, may affect others although not overly concerning for myself

    Lovely clean room, well presented

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a twin room.It was perfectly adequate but the en-suite was in the eaves and this was difficult for my tall husband who had to stoop all the time.

    Very good breakfast. The beds were comfortable and the owners very helpful. Wi-if access was excellent. An enjoyable visit.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: