Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riviera Hotel

Belgrave Road, Torquay, TQ2 5HJ, United Kingdom

#42 of 46 hotels in Torquay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 739 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in an old room not upgraded yet and was very dated....clean though! Room overlooked new car park being built so noisy and dusty. Workmen were apologetic!

    Good customer care. Easy walk to seafront.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not enough toiletries and no hand wash.

    Comfortable hotel with friendly staff and is located near the sea which is great and is great value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being on floor 1. Reception is on floor 3. Did feel like you were on the basement. But window overlooked car park. That’s just the geographical of Torquay

    It was a lovely room. Very comfy bed. I had a job to get up. Great hotel entertainment. And close to everything you go to Torquay for

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Have stayed at this hotel on several occasions previously, but this time we had the worst room, with peeling wallpaper, paint flaking off the radiator, and rather small, I asked for a ground floor room, because of an operation three days prior, but the one allocated to us had twenty one stairs to reach the room, we could have asked for a upgrade to a newly refurbished room but at a cost of ten pounds per night.

    Breakfast was good, Buffet style serving.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room we were put in couldn’t open the windows had no doors out to balcony the whole room was dated . Bed covers had stain s on the bathroom was disgusting !! Cracked sink , shower what shower ?? Awful . Hairdryer had wires hanging out the wall , the tv had only one channel working , and there was only two sockets in the room . Parking said free if we booked online but had to pay 7.00 could hear the people above us walking about really awful experience such a shame as work really hard and was looking forward to a relaxing weekend away

    Breaksfast was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building site not safe for public, rooms have wall paper hanging off walls, noisy, faulty towers hotelNot safe for my son!! Everyobe in the hotel was complaining. The bar charges different amounts for cash sales and card sales for same drinks. Staff do not care about. i have contacted HSE, newspaper, solicitor, trading standards!

    seriously??

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to size understandably the rooms are far away however with one small lift holding only 3 people plus luggage it made it very difficult to get round. However their are stairs everywhere it was like a maze! Breakfast had a good selection however it was burnt and hard .

    The swimming pool was very clean and perfect size.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All of it the breakfast was great just all of it could not fault it

    All of it ,the room and the evening entertainment was great we really loved it there will go again .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poorly maintained property. Rooms not clean (mound on windows). Carpets should have been changed 20 years ago. Room furniture falling apart with age.

    The location of the hotel is good. Short walk to the front or the town. Hot water was hot. Tea making facilities in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was shabby and poorly decorated. The shower didn't work properly. The window had not been cleaned in some time. There was black mould in the bathroom

    The breakfast was reasonable and the staff friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in Room 516 the location of this room was good but the décor was so tired it really did need to be refurbished. We had a bright blue Bath and Toilet (from the 60 I think.) No room to put our Toiletries etc. But it was clean which helped a lot.

    We loved the location, the friendly Staff also the food was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay £7 day to park motorbike.

    Cheap and cheerfull staff excellent beds so comfortable food good atmosphere was really good. Under refurbishment but you get what you pay for and had lovely time looking forward to next year.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms were very poor.the first one the carpets were frayed badly and poorly fitted and the bed wasn't the best that was room 436 also cracked tiles in the bathroom and holes in the walls

    Food was first class

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loose tiles on the bathroom floor, room 147 and what would appear as mould on the ceiling in the bathroom, maybe due to leak. however this did not ruin our stay.

    Easy check in, comfy beds and excellent staff at breakfast, very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We payed a lot of money to stay for one night to then have to pay for overnight parking then we payed to have a buffet dinner then to be asked if we would like a drink witch with the amount we payed you would think it would be included but the the member of staff come back and asked for the money for the drinks and then I felt like he was hanging around for a tip and then we use the swimming pool witch we ended up getting out of because it was so cold and there was stuff on the bottom that was stabbing in mine and my familys feet and also out of respect but other people you trying to be quiet but there was dips in the floor cracks in the bathroom floor tiles moving and coming up it just seemed you spend all this money on staying there yet they still want more out of you but the place and the facilities ain't worth it in my eyes and also my daughter witnessed someone going a toilet on my car in the carpark and the language that comes from the entertainment room and bar is disgusting especially being a family establishment and no effort from staff members to try and real these people in they laughed and joked along with it which I don't find very professional

    It was not far from the beach

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was too far from everything and having bad legs too many stairs very ple

    The bed was extremely comfortable and bedding was very clean breakfast very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for parking on hotel premises, disgusting! And even though stating we had a small baby room was very small and crammed. Rooms need updating. Restaurant staff was rude at breakfast, everything seemed so much hassle even though it was a buffet!

    walking distance to beach and restaurants. Last at reception was very pleasant!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was lovely but the view was awful we had a cherry picker outside our window!! My mattress was a little old feeling but might be because I am used to memory foam.

    Room was nicely decorated and very clean shower was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    paying for parking it should be free the heat of the hotel on top floor was a tab to hot

    big rooms for three adults the swimming pool was really good staff was really nice and helpfull

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed updating the bathroom floor was stained and heated left on so absolutely boiling in there television didn't work and charging £7 to park a motorcycle in a space 2/3 the size of a car should be reflected in price so £4

    Location to where I was working was perfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The small sachet of shampoo/soap. It's not that didn't like them just don't think they are needed when most guests would bring their own.

    Great location for town centre. Clear that the hotel is going under major refurbishment and will take time to complete to bring it into the 21st century. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was just a bit ragged around the edges. Carpets not finished off, wainscotting untidy or missing. A lovely building in need of some TLC.

    Location, friendliness of staff. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needed upgrading, a touch of paint in the room, black behind taps in bathroom can be removed easy, chips in the paint and marks on wallpaper, The swimmming pool had black in-between tiles in places. All this needed was a good clean, shower in pool wasn’t working and haven’t been for three month, so I was told. The food was good, but a little early, for us,five till eight, Not much room in the lounge, to meet people,

    The evening entertainment was exelent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were awful didn't ask a thing just took the key that was it. its a 50s hotel and they haven't touched it since it was built. Truly awful

    The hotel is disgusting, the view from one side was smashed glass and plywood on the balcony, the on the other side was a dilapidated old outdoor swimming pool. The leisure centre had one room for all to Gents to share with a shower that was smashed to pieces, and the breakfast was like rubber ,awful. One of the worst places i have stayed i should of asked for money back, if it wasn't for the clean sheets i would have!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool slightly on cold side and pool showers out of order. Bathroom and room could do with repair. Have to pay to park in their car park (£7 per 24hrs) so we drove up road for free parking. Only 1 space free!

    Fantastic entertainment, is a bar restaurant and pool. Breakfast was included and very good. Nice area. Staff great. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to change rooms (after unpacking), as the shower was not working. On moving to the other room (a long trek), we had a saggy bed that felt like a water bed. The walls were thin and we could hear the neighbours' music and snoring.

    Easy to get to the Riviera centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy neighbours at 0300 hours. No fruit at breakfast Poor condition of hotel generally Access to room was convoluted, room was a long way from reception by a difficult route

    the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very old decoration and furniture. The radiators in the bathroom were rusty. A good range for breakfast but no fresh fruit and only standard tea and coffee . No Earl Grey or peppermint tea!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a little warm at times and we had to pay to park, although the rate was quite fair.

    We had a family room for 4 & it was really big & opened onto a terrace with seating. The hotel was lovely & well equipped & family friendly. We enjoyed the evening entertainment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was very dated and had wallpaper coming off the walls and a mouldy old bath, rickety old bed that made noise every time I moved, our view out the window was a building site.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming Pool water cold only one cubicle shower not working reported to reception

    Room very comfortable excellent view only had breakfast very good entertainment excellent on evening

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very very tired decor, would need a complete refurbishment from the plaster level to be cosmetically appealing. But all facilities work and are fine. It's clean and great value at the off season cost.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower in the room was terrible and would not stay on the holder when the water was on and soak the bathroom. Had to run a bath, but this takes time and two of us had to get ready!!!

    Good room size.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dated,but it is in the process of being renovated, parking a bit expensive at £7 a night,but the cost of the room is so good it's not really an issue

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had bed bugs in 206. I informed the staff on check out after my one night stay and asked for a refund. They said they would have to check the room first. Later they denied having bed bugs there but gave me a refund. I had dozens of bites and even saw a beg bug with my own eyes. So if you decide to book a night at this hotel avoid room 206!

    The breakfast was a nice standard english breakfast. The staff serving tea / coffee and cleaning up the dishes were fast and very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were crisp crumbs on the bed cover which either means that the cleaners ate crisps on my bed after cleaning the room or they didn’t clean the room. Plus I rang to check when breakfast was served and booked it based on what I was told and it turned out I had to leave before breakfast was served which was very annoying. Also all the printed literature about the room had the name rainbow hotel whichbit hasn’t been for years. Gives the impression that things haven’t been updated for way too long. The pool was absolutely gross too. Not worth a stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was disgusting, and not just the old fashioned decor, but the actual cleanliness. The bathroom had mould at the bottom of the shower curtain and there are broken tiles, water leaks and general maintenance issues.

    I was able to park outside and the staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was excellent, no single supplement. Fantastic entertainment and dance floor, good breakfast, swimming pool, nice guests. Close to buses that take you along the coast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park charges are now in place which I find disgraceful when staying as a guest at this hotel and rooms are being improved but more could be done

    Plenty of choice at breakfast and evening meal

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimming pool was very cold and our room was tired, dated with peeling wall paper. The bathroom lino was in poor condition and dirty.

    Breakfast was good and the staff were friendly and polite. Receptionist was helpful and nice. Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old as in bathrooms very old and worn and needs replacing tvs in bedroom were so small that u couldn't see it when u were in bed and the swimming pool changing area was just plain awful no showers were working and just not enough room to change

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool to could and had to pay to park if went out got told mite be no parking when you get back was not happy with that last time we came it was free

    Food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed making could have been better ie the bottom sheet hadn't been smoothed out enough.

    Staff were responsive. Hotel was quiet and had a good outlook.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room that we stayed in needed up dating . Had two broken window and the bed needed changing as two did the bed linen as we found blood at the end of sheet and it didn’t come of either of use not great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ‘heated’ pool was freezing ! That was a massive let down as i booked the hotel for that main purpose. The paying extra to park was not good and the limited availability was bad considering the size of the hotel.

    Bed was comfy and room was a good size - the staff in reception were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no scrambled eggs for breakfast.

    We had a room nice and close to the pool which was great with the children, the water could have been a little warmer.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pay for parking as a guest no no.

    What can you say this hotel has got it right, great staff great location great enteriment, lovely new rooms being rolled out, just prefect, bar staff and restaurant staff spot on food wow.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff, particularly in the restaurant, were miserable and unhelpful. The bedroom decor was dated and scratched. The bathroom was disgusting. The suite was yellow. We stayed for 3 nights and left the towels in the bath to be changed and they were just put over the radiator in the bathroom. The shower gel sachets were not replaced each day either.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift needs updating and we didn't like the idea of paying for car park on top of the hotel bill my husband is of ill health and we had to park a few streets away then my husband wad to ill to stay so we had to leave on the tuesday there was no offer of giving us another date to go back we was disappointed we couldn't stay and lost a lot of money

    The overall look of the hotel was ok and what we saw of the entertainment was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was awful. Wallpaper hanging off ceiling damp stained freezing cold needs a refurbishment. Horrible smell. It was like sleeping in a broom cupboard.

    The entertainment was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way was treated with bites not checked on just put too another room no one given me courtesy check on me or my refund ???? Nothing Disgrace

    Stayed here several times but my last booking on 27th-31st Jan .Never Again !!!! First morning woke up covered in bits all over my body ? Went walk came back lay on bed but started more bites and itchy .Went too reception had one look at me told me she get manager come see me ? Waited had one look at me said Not Good move you then come see you ? I have reaction too any bites went too pharmacists told me too report it straight away got cream and pills .No one came near me checked on me nothing absolutely nothing been ill with bites .Partner complained still nothing said pest control check it out !!! Now hands Booking .Com and been reported too environmental Health as we have photos . It could been child or elderly person Very un satisfactory with Management not bit courtesy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So much more improvement since August. Sports bar great. Toilets on the same floor as the reception. You could get the cocktails in the main bar as well. Enjoyed them in the sports bar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast plates to small.

    This is far by best one of Torquay hidden gems, I stay in hotels all year around and this by far is outstanding the staff are GREAT from reception to bar they are just so friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom facilities, unable to turn off the mixer taps which continually run causing a difficulty when running the bath. Toilet didn’t flush properly and no extract fan on the bathroom which made the flooring/ tiles slippery . Unable to shut the wardrobe doors as one was hanging off.

    the Entertainment was very good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    TV had some issues with picking up some channels and the Text options on BBC via red button did not work. Also NO WiFi in the rooms which is unusual these days.

    Room was very large and had good facilities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt ripped off Had to pay £7 to park When i asked why was told because id booked with booking .com so what seemed a good deal wasnt Why do booking.com not mention this on the web site Bed and pillows seen better days

    Coveiniant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    There was human pop splattered up the stairs and all over the landing that wasn’t cleaned for over 2 hours just cones placed around it all. Our room was disgusting condom packets in the bedroom and bathroom. Lots of people was complaining and management could not care less. An elderly had £200 stolen from his room someone else had a iPhone stolen from there room. Doors were being kicked and punched all though the night. It was terrible I would never stay there Again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was kept awake most of the 2 nights stayed there by a lot of noise from people above us. Went on from about 12 till 4.30 in morning.

    Near to beach and town centre. And had a swimming pool

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Single Room was too small with damaged chair. Only one plug connection. Parking car cost £7.00 per day. Sports Bar closed at 10.00 pm one evening. One room was broken into and mobile phone stolen which meant either using hotel safe in reception or taking valuable items with you. Knowing this happened ruined my holiday and obviously the person who had their phone stolen.

    Breakfast was of a high standard.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got to our room to find that it was unsafe with a toddler. We were on the 4th floor and the window was quite low down to the floor and wouldn't shut. This meant that had our toddler noticed she could have climbed and fallen out of the window. We also noticed that sitting on the bed was very uncomfortable, you could feel the bed frame through the mattress.

    Staff in restaurant we're very friendly, and the lady at reception was helpful when we requested to change rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room when arrived at midnight was freezing cold due to a one window flapping open, the frame was damaged and difficult to close. There was also a piece of glass missing in the middle window. The radiator had been turned off, and the room only had blanket and sheets and coverlet on the bed. The heating would have gone off at 11pm . The room should not have been used with the windows damaged as they were. No one had checked that room since the cleaner in the morning meaning that window was open all day! The showers at the pool were also disconnected from the hot water. The room was shabby and dated with damaged curtains and cracked tiles in the bathroom.

    The location for my work was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was not heated as advertised this was the only reason I booked this hotel! Room was dirty, room service threw the towels on the floor. The carvery chef was exceptionally rude! Also, I accept full responsibility for not reading terms correctly, but to pay for parking per 24 hours is a rip off!!!!

    thank you to the member of staff in the dining room, who had the same name as my son! He went out of his way to deliver excellent customer service!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs some investment to be note modern and updated. A bit of TLC in the rooms in particular

    Very big and spacious and the kids loved the warm pool. The staff ate also friendly and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying £7 to park is outrageous, guests should park for free. If the hotel is worried about non residents using the car park then a pass should be made available and visible in the vehicle. I stayed in room 406 which STANK of cigarette smoke, the staff must of been aware of this as despite it being an extremely cold December day the windows were wide open upon arrival. Wall paper was hanging off the wall and a large amount of cobwebs were visible above the curtain rail. The shower was appalling, literally a dribble came out of it and it was extremely difficult to regulate the temperature in addition the bath itself was stained and lots of mold surround the bath/shower area. I would urge anyone to re-consider staying at this hotel, there are plenty of hotels in Torquay that are of a comparable price but offer far superior levels of accommodation.

    The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs full refurbishment and new furniture. Bed old and uncomfortable with blanket instead of duvet. Chair in room very rickety. Shower above bath difficult to get good temp of water, was either scalding or cold. They charge for parking which was not expected

    Location was close to where I needed to be

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needed decorating it was clean and good value!The bed was comfortable bed linen was clean! it was fine for one night but wouldn't stay longer than that.

    The staff were helpful and friendly. The room okay but needed better decoration! Only one big towel when I needed one for shower and one for when I washed my hair! Basic tea bags! bland should have brought my PG Tips. No biscuits! I would have paid extra for these.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not in the room, lack of blankets in the wardrobe. Paying extra for parking, (£7/day).

    The breakfast, Bed, quiet, bath, hot water. To see The building being updated. Very reasonable priced drinks in the show bar. Good entertainment .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very dated needs major refurbishment towels are changed daily but small very poor soap and shampoo in bathroom need to take your own and breakfast very basic no variation. Swimming area needs complete revamp looking tired and dated.

    Clean and tidy staff were nice and friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A warren of hallways and lots of stairs up and down. Chair lifts where needed. Pool room ceiling and changing room needs serious attention/upgrade. Less mobile people did struggle getting around so make sure this is suitable for you on booking.

    Friendly staff. Rooms cleaned well. Only had breakfast booked. Very good service and food. Very clean. Indoor Swimming pool warm and inviting. Only plastic chairs and tables. Bed comfortable and room adequate. Evening entertainment mediocre, but with friends that doesn't really go for this type of social evening. 10/20 min walk into town. Enjoyed the stay. The hotel upgrade is in progress but not inconvenient. It's nice to see that the new owners is doing as much as they can. In time, this will be a very good hotel!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shower was rubbish, there was little pressure. It worked in the holder that pointed to the wall at the other side of the bath. So I had to wash children with shower in my hand. The crockery in the restaurant was not always clean.

    Most of the staff were friendly. The entertainment room was nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool had black mould and scum round the edge. and tiles missing off the ceiling. and no hot water in the showers. me and my partner both got a rash after a swim. The room had no hot water in the shower. Toilet didn't flush properly. there was just a blanket,breadspread and sheet on the bed, so it was cold. here was no main light so it was quite dark in the room, there was just 3 lamps there was a spring sticking out at the side of the matress and the draws didn't shut properly. The list goes on......

    The staff were friendly at reception.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Car parking at the hotel is a nightmare - coaches are allowed to park there taking up lots of space. Why can they not park off-site and return for their pick-ups? Also, tables and chairs have taken up a lot of parking spaces. They are not neccessary and I never saw them used. When you advertise parking available it should be!

    The staff on reception were very helpful and couldn't do any more to make my stay more pleasant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Needs a bit of updating in all areas, but that looks as though thats underway.

    Nice clean friendly hotel, good buffet breakfast, entertainment very good, bar ok. Room was a good size.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived after a four hour journey to be told our card had been declined . When I booked I purposely booked the hotel because it said pay on arrival . My mother had given us money for our wedding anniversary and I wanted to pay cash . I gave the card details to an account with not much in purposely so they wouldn't take the money . On arrival we were told that they don't take cash payments . The lady in reception was very rude and arragant her attitude was not nice and wanted to send us away at 10 pm with a 15 year old a 5 year old and a 8 month old baby with nowhere to go !!!! Because she would not let me pay cash !!!! Luckily I had the other credit card with me by chance !! I was really not happy and if it was just me and my husband I would not have given them my money . But we had a family wedding the next day and three kids 😡

    The ground floor family room had access to the outside

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked fruit at breakfast, also mushrooms! The undersheet on the bed was not smoothed when the bed was made, so it was crinkled from having been slept on the night before. The food at dinner was very boring, and some items had a strange sweetish taste e.g. gravy, mash gammon

    Proximity to the conference centre - which was our reason for going to Torquay

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: