Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rainbows Lodge Hotel and Serviced Apartments 3 stars

132-138, Caversham Road, Reading, RG1 8AY, United Kingdom

#8 of 11 B&Bs and Inns in Reading

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 338 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.9
    For every con there was a pro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little shabby. The room we were checked into reeked of cigarette smells and upset my Mum's asthma. It also had a bath shower which was difficult for her to use. When I spoke to the staff, they were very good and immediately found another room for us. It is shabby, but the sheets vkean and the beds comfortable. The shower was tiny, but the pressure was strong and loads of hot water. It was well priced and in a good location.

    Comfortable beds, great shower pressure with loads of hot water. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.3
    On the money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    okay, so kerb side appeal not great. Inside, dated hallways. Slightly limited csr parking (I did arrive v late though).. oh and I wish they could offer breakfast!

    Comfortable bed. Immaculately clean. Hot shower with good pressure. Room in excellent repair.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel at present, it won't be after Easy Hotel take it over...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed at finding out that Easy Hotel are taking over this old character hotel.

    In spite of it's age and outward appearance this is a comfortable old hotel in a fairly good location. I have stayed here before and was pleased to return. On departing I discovered that this venue is closing in December for a refurbishment under the Easy Hotel name which I junk is a great shame as I had an unpleasant experience at the Easy Hotel in Luton where the rooms are crap with no windows and shared facilities which I personally dislike.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    Average hotel which does the job for a few nights but I think they are a little bit pricey.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light in the passage way was to bright. At night time it was too bright and hard for me to go to sleep as it kept coming through under the door.

    Good parking space and easily accessible area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    4.6
    Would not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had nothing to offer.. no help with parking, NO ice, but front desk although not knowledgeable about area was pleasent

    Front entrance was quaint and place was clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.0
    Location - easy for Reading Festival
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really uncomfortable. The room was also very hot. The standalone air con unit was really loud so couldn't have it on while trying to sleep.

    Location - easy for Reading Festival

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    5.0
    Bad breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed uncomfy, very dated decor. Breakfast was terrible and no option for breakfast tea? Unsure if they downgraded services for the festival but paying the price we did and to have basically no breakfast is unacceptable.

    Close to reading festival and could park

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    Convenient for walkers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress sags in the middle and I was uncomfortable. I've stayed here many times but am now doubtful and may decide to forgo the convenience of a quick walk to the train station. I don't like the coffee, nor the croissants at breakfast. At best, the breakfast is minimal.

    Quick walk to railroad station. Good restaurant across the street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    Good rooms, had a wonderful atay at the hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi strength was bad in my room. Nt good.

    Good rooms, had a wonderful atay at the hotel. Breakfast served is continental and is very good for Comming down from different countries. Enjoyed my stay here. Staff is good and cooperative.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    4.2
    A Sleepless night. Avoid. No soundproof between the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stated one night. The soundproof between the rooms is awful. You can hear every step from the room above or from the hall. When other guest were walking in the middle of night in their room our room windows were vibrating. We thought that ceilings might collapse. All night we could not sleep. The shower in our room it did not work. Do not stay there.

    Close to the train station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.8
    Easily accessible, family friendly B&B accommodation.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have eggs or bacon as well. Wifi was available in dining room but not in the bedroom.

    Friendly staff, comfortable accommodations. Basic breakfast. Wifi didn't work although they tried to fix it. Will go again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    Had the staff not been so good this might have been a much more negative experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure seemed rather low. Toilet cistern refill seemed to take forever to refill. The same issue affected the shower which provided a barely adequate flow of water. Worse the water temperature struggled to become even tepid. Not the end of the world, but a shock to the system first thing in the morning after a party!

    This was an overnight stay after a birthday party. The accommodation was just fine for the purpose. The staff were very friendly, welcoming, and very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.3
    confusing breakfast,it was the only failing in an otherwise good stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast

    Was confused at breakfast as to wether it was a cooked or continental, there was a girl I assume was the cook eating poached eggs , but she offered no advice or acknowledgement, so was left to cook some toast myself,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Great location but wifi is very hit-and-miss
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi signal varies from room to room and in some rooms you just have to use your 4G phone data instead. No cooked breakfast option. Rooms get hot in summer and have no air-con - electric fan provided, but is noisy.

    Great location close to Reading centre and only yards from the Thames (if you like walking/running).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    We loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Don't book a room to a street front, unless you don't bother the permanent intense noise

    The staff were helpful! We had a terrible first night in the room I booked, because it was amazingly noisy, but on the next day we could move to another lovely but much silent room. We loved the Italian restaurant beside the hotel, not so fancy, but they have possibly the best pizza in the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    4.6
    It served its practical purpose ... I needed a place to sleep. Doubt I'll be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast. The pillows were very soft, not comfortable to sleep on. There was no air circulation in the room (window would only open a few inches) so had a very bad nights sleep.

    There was nothing to rave about. It was a little shabby but not dirty. The gentleman behind reception was very friendly but he was the only human contact we had. Breakfast was very very basic and very forgettable!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.3
    A good find in Reading
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside was that on this very warm weekend, the room was stuffy and hot. Air-conditioning rather than just a fan, would have been very welcome.

    Staff very helpful. Parking on site, so close to city centre was a real plus. Breakfast was good. The room was clean and everything was in good condition. Tea/coffee making facilities, etc. very welcome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.9
    Cheap, clean and cosy, but not perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Rooms are faced to a main road and are not all furnished with a fridge and a microwave. Consider adding a folded piece of paper to better close the windows to have a better sound isolation.

    Very large bed, clean room, close to the tain station and to the city center. The continental breakfast is ok.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.3
    Bedding poor standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows were stained and pillow cases worn and not fresh. We bought two new pillows, with protectors, from a store a short walk away, for £4.99 the pair. The mattresses were also stained but covered well and were comfortable, but bed hygiene matters to me.

    Easy walk to train station and city centre. Hotel quiet, no noise from traffic etc. Staff pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.0
    Decrepit and awful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was decrepit, not just a little care worn, pretty filthy and clapped out all round. There was an air conditioner in the room that clearly hasn't worked for years but does make enough noise to kid you into thinking it might. It was properly hot when I stayed and got hotter every day. Despite the fact that I icked the box to say I was working I was put in a room over the main road by a set of traffic lights, with window seals that had failed years ago, so it may as well have been wide open. The breakfast is poor, really poor. Tinned satumas and tinned grapefruit classes as fruite for breakfast. Sticking a croissant in a toaster counts as a cooked breakfast! DOn't show up hungry for breakfast as you'll leave hungry. The restaurant attached attracted no passing trade at all, which tells you everything you need to know about the quality of food. THer nearest pub's grub is like a Michellin stared restaurant by comparisson. I definitely won't stay there again.

    The location, that's all there is to like about this decrepit "hotel"

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.0
    Basic but good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a bit run down and our room at the front was next the road and traffic noise went on all night. Watered down orange juice at breakfast is not acceptable!

    good location at a good price

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stayed here for business. Room clean and tidy. Good shower. Wifi unreliable and kept crashing. Breakfast included was a bonus - fruit, yogurt, toast, jam etc plus coffee. The coffee was from a machine and not great but staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.5
    Good value, handy location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more variety with the continental breakfast, more fresh fruit and perhaps some ham slices or pate.

    Pleasant and helpful staff, good sized room, decent en-suite, good value.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    2.5
    Bad experience
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No shower water suddenly after shower gel on my body then I had to clean myself with sink water. No solution even I left this room. My car was blocked by other car when I tried to leave.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.0
    Get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Smell, damp, dark.

    Location was good for the Station. overnight en-route for Twickenham by train. Got what we paid for and as we had little intention of staying long in the room the sad state of the property didn't matter too much!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    3.3
    AWFUL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival we went to reception & filled out a form with car details so that we could park on site. We were then given the key card to our room, i had to ask where it was as we were not told! We entered the room after some difficulty with the card as it was bent.. It had just been cleaned or so we thought as the bathroom floor was wet! We didn't look around until much later (we were expected at a family function) We return around 11.30pm & struggled to park, the night porter moved his car so we could park.. 7.30am i get a call from the police to say we were blocking other cars. I moved the car & went to reception & spoke to the woman there, she said she couldn't find my car reg on the form & then she got it out & guess what there it was very boldly written for her!! When we used the shower the water got so hot it was dangerous, we tried to adjust the temp but with no luck, so no shower!!!!!!!! The edge of the room had at least an inch of thick dust, not a very clean apartment at all... We would not recommend this property to anyone..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.1
    Room was clean and tidy and bed comfortable.
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is not good at the hotel, if you cant get a space in their car park you are stuck to park anywhere! Breakfast no one to welcome you into the restaurant let alone tell you where and how to serve your self.

    Room was clean and tidy and bed comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.5
    Satisfactory!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast not great, croissants stale, beverages coffee and tea only, no herbal teas, no fresh fruit just canned grapefruit... Room up 2 flights of narrow stairs which was fine with me ( and very friendly staff offered to carry suitcase) but not for everyone.

    Room(quiet despite busy road) and bed were fine, no complaints.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.6
    The staff was very friendly The room was very clean The ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy main road

    The staff was very friendly The room was very clean The only downfall was one of the windows was broke so the traffic noise at night was a bit noisy If book again asked for back room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    4.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grubby, throw on bed stained, carpets and sofa dirty. Shower didn't drain but didn't dare to investigate. Table not clean. Sheets and towels smelt like they have been dried in mr cod over the road. Noisy as on ground floor, people above sounded like having a party until 3am. Didn't chance breakfast.

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.5
    Overall a good hotel with nice rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a room with a double bed, but upon arriving and getting into the bed I noticed it was just two beds/matresses joined together. So it was quite uncomfortable in the middle of the bed with my partner.

    Overall a good hotel with nice rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very basic, and the room was a bit dated

    This hotel was only a block from the river, and there was a great Italian restaurant downstairs. Our room was a great size with full kitchen and dining space. Although the room was a little aged it was clean and very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    6.3
    Reasonable value and convenient.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairway was very scruffy and dirty and it smelt unpleasant. Room was better and reasonably clean but still very dated and unattractive.

    Excellent location, close to rail station, and friendly staff. Room comfortable, en-suite modern and clean. Good pizzeria below. Decent value for the price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.5
    Good stopover if you're passing through
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower operated from the bath taps and was a little tricky to make work. Apart from that the only downside was the car parking.

    Overall, the experience was pretty good and we would like to visit this hotel again. Parking was a little tricky but we had been advised to expect this and so no surprise, but still tricky! Lack of Wifi was frustrating, particularly as the only member of staff available didn't have a clue about how to resolve or who to call to resolve the issue - so no Wifi for the three days we stayed - disappointing. However, whilst the Hotel was good, what makes this a really good stay is the restaurant downstairs - Papa Gee's - independent from the hotel I believe but a proper Italian restaurant run by a real Italian and his lovely wife - most excellent!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.9
    Average hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Difficulty in getting into room with keycard.... Reception staff helped, but made no effort to explain or remedy the difficulties. Uncooperative , new-fangled shower..... either too hot or too cold razor sharp water jet.

    Nice warm, clean and comfortable room. Continental breakfast (included) was fine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant enough, could do with being a bit cheaper. 2 star not 3.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were SCORCHING hot when we came in at night. While this would probably be really good for a freezing winter's day, this was a cold Spring evening. We appreciated the warmth, but this was sweaty hot.

    It's in a good location and easily walkable from the station. Apart from that, there is nothing remarkable about the place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    6.7
    Not the worst ive been in but I will not be using again, as said budget and you get what you pay for
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds need replacing, mattress have defiantly seen better days and i was getting back ache each morning, saving grace was each night was nearer checkout. The public areas carpets want putting in the skip, Car parking is very tight 9 cars and 1st come 1st served basis,

    Rooms adequate, not bad shower but differentiating water temperatures. Breakfast continental, the juice machine is crap, flavored water

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    2.9
    The Italian receptionist was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old and tired room and Not cleaned properly. The wardrobe was broken . The shower's head barely functioning. Poor breakfast.

    The Italian receptionist was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    5.4
    the hotel needs to be re-done properly as it does not wealth the money with the kind of conditions.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager (lady) was great.

    The croissants were too old. The staff never changed the bedding and it smelled of someone else. Too much noise with the stairs and other customers. Staff always forgot something after cleaning. The bathroom of number 10 smells in the night.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    Concert stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my experience everything was perfect.

    Value for money the hotel is perfect, very close to the train station.Room was very clean and comfortable,the room temperature was spot on.Staff were very polite and friendly.Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    8.3
    Nice location near the river path, excellent for a morning...
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is a little bit tired, there was a bit of a fusty smell in the room - which was otherwise spotlessly clean so this was not too much of a problem. Car parking places are a bit tight to get into.

    Nice location near the river path, excellent for a morning jog. Very friendly staff. The Italian restaurant on site is very, very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    7.1
    Cheap but ok
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi was basically non-existent in our room. There were signs up saying you could not eat in your room (we were there 4 nights and its far too expensive to eat out every night, and too cold to eat in a park). Shower temperature was inconsistent. I do not mind stairs but be aware if you stay here there are many of them to lug your bag up.

    The room was comfortable enough. They replaced the towels, toiletries and tea everyday which was lovely. Plenty of storage for bags and quiet enough with the windows closed. Close to the train station for getting places, and not too far a walk to town. Our room felt separate from others as there was an antechamber between the room and the door to the hallway.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    6.7
    Cheap and cheerful - - good staff some improvements could be made - Poor wifi and noise
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Wifi - none existant in my room - window on to main road very noisy - (needs new seals) - trouser press not working - matress was very worn and lumpy

    Great Pizza place attached authentic and tasty - room very clean for old building - maids very good Helps full reception

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    6.7
    Basic amenities. Could be easily improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed with the inclusive breakfast. Particularly when joined to an Italian restaurant I would have expected some level of service. Breakfast was basic self-service with no hot food option. Putting out a plate of croissants didn't make it Continental either. Expected more. At this level, there was not even staff visible. Arrive early if you require parking. Spaces tight and very limited but it only takes a few inconsiderate guests to make parking your car a nightmare.

    Perfect location on outskirts of Reading.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    8.8
    Cheap and cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor could do with updating and parking very tight.

    Staff very friendly and hotel exactly as advertised. The room was old in style but very warm and comfortable. As well as tea and coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits provided as well.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    2.5
    Double bed was 2 single beds put together very old fashion quilt which didn't fit very noisy traffic
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed

    Double bed was 2 single beds which kept falling apart things came off in bathroom ie in the shower very old fashion lay out cleaning was up to Standard and our room was on the busy road which you could hear traffic even with windows closed

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    3.3
    Wouldn't stay there by choice again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A smoke detector in or near my room had a flat battery so was pinging. I was told 'sorry, the maintenance man isn't at work until Monday,' no offer to change room or explanation that they were fully booked and no other room was available. The wi-fi was off or buffering most of the time, only 2 bars of reception at best. Basically impossible to use it at all. The window didn't seal properly, so traffic noise from the busy road outside sounded as loud as if the window was open. Traffic remained busy until 2am. There was no aircon in the room, which was hot and stuffy, traffic noise made it uncomfortable to have the window open, plus it was cold and raining overnight, so it had to be shut anyway. The pillow was thin and hard, I woke up with pins-and-needles on the back of my head, and the mattress was not the best. Breakfast was only served from 8am, I was travelling for work and needed to be gone by 7.45.

    The lady on reception was pleasant. I had already eaten by the time I got there, but the dinner smells from the restaurant downstairs were mouthwatering. The shower was hot, although it took a long time for the water to heat up. The room was a fair size for a single room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I came down for breakfast at 9.55am. Breakfast was supposed to be served between 8am and 10am on Sunday so I was disappointed to find out that they had stopped serving breakfast five minutes before it was supposed to. Had to go hungry.

    It was comfortable and a good price.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi signal is poor.

    I am very pleased with my stay in Rainbow lodge. I have never been to Reading before but the Rainbow lodge was very easy to find. The rainbow lodge is less than 10 min walk from the train station and the bus stop (for the buses to go to Woodcote) is across the street. The room was lovely and warm and smelled fresh. It's lovely and clean over there, staff members are very friendly. I liked my room because it was quiet. Perfect if you have to do some work. The funniest thing was when I was in the shower and the phone rang. I wasn't expecting anyone to be ringing me, but it was lady from the reception asking if I had a shower. .. (? $/#?) She asked me if the floor was wet. (?) I was surprised with her called but politely answered that it isn't as I am an adult professional person. The celling under my bedroom was leaking. :) other than that it was perfect. Good value for money as well.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    5.8
    It was stupidily noisey i had about 1 hours sleep and ended...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was stupidily noisey i had about 1 hours sleep and ended up leaving at 4.30 am as there were people banging doors and shouting it was awful and when we checked put and told the member of staff why they offered no appology or anything

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    8.3
    Great value and location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The windows not sealed properly so room 13 I stayed at is very noisy due to traffic on the road. Free WiFi disconnects a lot of times - but not a big issue. Shower is very weak in room 13. Wish breakfast was longer than until 9am.

    Location to my place of visit for business is great - CWC. Comfortable bed, cleaning services everyday, nice to get breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    6.7
    Do you like the smell of cannabis?
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to block up the gaps around my door with towels to reduce the smell of drugs getting into my room. The lads on the drugs still arguing loudly at 1am. Wont be going back.

    Cheap, and handy for walking into the centre of Reading.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    9.6
    A very satisfied customer
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift so had to carry luggage up the stairs. I was at front of hotel on a busy main road so could hear noise of traffic not good if you are a light sleeper but ok if you are a deep sleeper like myself.

    Great location. Free car park. Very good price. Staff friendly and very helpful. Delicious meal after long journey, restaurant open until 22.00. Hotel very clean. Comfortable adequate room. Comfy bed good nights sleep. Well worth the price. Will definitely stay again as I stay in Reading often visiting family and have stayed at most hotels (with no added extras) which are really just a roof over your head at the end of the day with some comfort added.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel, clean and Staff is well trained and mannered
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish I was other side of the hotel. I was close to the road and the traffic woke me up a fee times during the night

    Young lady on reception was very helpful couldn't do enough she is a credit to the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    6.5
    We enjoyed our stay, but in terms of facilities, I would choose another hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was a little bit disappointed by the bathroom, since I would have liked to have a bath instead of a shower, as the pictures were showing...

    The bed was really comfy, and the staff very nice!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    10
    Peaceful and very comfortable stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perhaps have some hot food available?

    The bedroom was really comfortable and the room was kept very nice and clean each day. The staff were very helpful and polite. Excellent location as it's walking distance to town centre and station, however, not too close to become noisy and busy.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    4.2
    Horror Hotel and Apartments
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower burned you. Card for room would not work all week. Grout was breaking out from between tiles of bathroom floor. There was a rodent box in room and everytime you opened fridge, it fell towards you. Cutlery and plates were filthy. Went to remove glass from cupboard, & it was stuck to shelf. Had to put a bedspread on floor, by front door in order to prevent smoke from cigarettes filling the room. Went home at end of week, with tiny bites over my body.

    There was nothing to like about this accomodation.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    6.3
    Ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath/shower had a curtain tha was hanging in the middle so it was impossible showering without putting it outside the bath and therefore flooding the entire bathroom. The tap was old fashioned and to have water at a certsin temperature you have to spend lot if time trying to regulate the two taps.. the you find the temperature, and unexplicably after a minute you get cold water!!! Also in the sink there are two taps... so either you wash yourself with freexing water or you boil yourself. The room service knocks at your door at crazy early hours... 8 am!!! And also they are inaccurate... thry left the dirty mugs on my bedsite... i could hear snoring in the other room...

    Free parking is a bonus... decent accomodation, cheap enough

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    9.6
    Close to centre pubs and places to eat. 10 min walk from rail station. Great value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to sort the thermometer shower tap

    Hey what a great little find. I had a single room on the top floor. Spotless clean and warm on a freezing night.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    6.7
    You get what you pay for.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The advertised free wifi didn't work in my room on the top floor. Bed was a bit old and springy. Shower went from hot to cold the whole time.

    Close to central Reading, room was clean. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    7.1
    location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited car parking space compared to the no. of rooms in the hotel. If don't get the free space it is very difficult to get parking near by as most of the on-street parking nearby are for permit holders only

    location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    6.3
    Budget accomodation and a budget price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is in the attached Italian restaurant. I had a bowl of cereal and was awaiting a cooked breakfast, only to be told there was none. There was a toaster there, but no bread (I suspect some might have been brought if requested) or butter/preserves. There were two croissants. There was a fruit juice machine, but it only had water in it. That was all there was for breakfast In the room, the sink has several cracks in it, the bathroom floor is very old and dirty and the window next to the bed doesn’t shut tight, so doesn’t shut out the noise from the main road my room overlooked. The bed is extremely soft and springy.

    The room wasn’t as small as some B&B singles and included a trouser press, an air conditioning unit, a wardrobe and several draws. The stairs are very solid, which limits the noise as people enter and leave. I was also allowed to check in, having arrived almost an hour early

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    7.1
    became ill after a cold shower
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was no hotwater, I informed staff / manager.. manager checked , she opened both tap and shower water, it took a long time to get warm water. I started to shower about ten mins after manager gone, however I tried, no warm water, without choice, I had a cold shower before attending conference. as there was no enough time to ask manages again, anyway I did the same as she did.opened both tap and shower. you can imagine how cold it is , I got such a severe headache, cold ,from the cold shower, unbearable head ache ,migraine. till present. there were two flies . I killed one ,told and showed manager.

    staff are friendly, breakfast is good,location is good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    7.5
    Adjoing Italian restaurant was good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Thermostatic valve on radiator in bedroom had snapped off. 2) suspicions the next door room (no.2) was smoking, strong smell...

    Adjoing Italian restaurant was good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    4.0
    Even though the place was extremely dated and old and smelt...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I checked into the hotel by myself as my partner was checking in later that night. After about 5 minutes of checking into the room a man hammered on my door asking to check the radiator, I opened the door on the latch so the door was slightly ajar and I could see he had no tools and just looked like he was in regular clothing. I said no that I had just checked in and that he couldn't come in he then proceeded to say I needed to let him in as I would be very cold that night. I again told him no and to leave which he did. I then rang down to reception to ask if this was legit and there was no answer. As I was by myself it made me feel very worried and scared in my room and made me want to leave. I'm sure he was probably legit but I would have liked a heads up from the reception team to advise a man would be round to check the radiators. The cleaners in the morning were extremely loud also and wanted to get into my room before I checked out.

    Even though the place was extremely dated and old and smelt of rotten wood it was quite clean. The first lady on reception when I checked in was extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    10
    A very convenient location [station etc] with adequate facilities and v. helpful staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. I came down to Reading for a funeral, but also caught up with friends. Location is close to the station and town. The receptionist very helpful and informative.

    The [single] room was comfortable, clean and more than adequate. The staff very helpful [I overslept the first night, and although slightly late for breakfast the young woman was very patient.]

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    3.8
    Room provided had defective windows, exposing particularly...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room provided had defective windows, exposing particularly loud noise and pollution from a busy road underneath, and consequently resulted in no sleep for me whatsoever. The hotel appears to know about this, but seems to prefer economical gain from room rather than a meaningful/suitable correction...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    4.6
    Unhealthy living environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stench as you enter the hotel was horrible and a threat to the hotel guests. The hotel was a bit run down. Although there was a no-smoking sign on most doors there was the heavy smell of tabacco in the hallway added to the smell of the dead rats it was indeed horrible. The towels were old and unsightly.

    The bathroom was very clean

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    7.1
    Great Location, average room, good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I arrived the radiator was on full blast and the the room was extremely hot, almost sauna standard. I had to open the windows and turn off the radiator to cool down the room to a reasonable temperature. The bathroom was clean and tidy but the room did not match the same standard. Whilst the surfaces were clean there was dust all around the skirting boards and the curtains looked like they could do with a good wash. The hallway entrance and stairways are in a desperate need of redecoration and a new carpet.

    Excellent location with it being very close to the railway station and town centre. Good value for money and double room size was adequate with a good sized bathroom. For 1 night this is suitable but I would not stay for more than 1 night as a base.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    8.8
    A very comfortable nights stay.The staff were very pleasant and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have enjoyed a full English Breakfast. We were surprised at a Continental Breakfast. We both had sufficient to eat at Breakfast

    Generally clean and tidy. Very comfortable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    6.7
    it's close to the train station, and the late check...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was tiny and really hot, didn't try the breakfast due to early check out

    it's close to the train station, and the late check in/early check out process was very easy and smooth

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    2.5
    A rubbish place not recommending for leisure at all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was not polite and they should be undergone a hospitably management course and we were waiting outside for more than 15 minutes to find the receptionist. Breakfast is horrible and pls don't attract for the free BF. Its a rubbish.

    Only the short walking distance from the train station.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Great location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast time extended to 10.00 during the week.

    Great restaurants, papa Gees is in the hotel and cooks the best pizzas, or the standard opposite for a delicious curry. 1 min walk to the river. Comfortable bed, friendly staff. It is a bit dated , call it vintage, very clean and great price and free continental breakfast . We would stay again ☺

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.5
    Perfect for an overnight stay near Reading town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A small lamp under the TVby the kettle would be a nice to have - it was quite dark in that corner.

    Room was clean and warm, shower room looked newly refurbished. The hotel is only a short walk from Reading town centre. Plus point for us was the free parking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    7.9
    Don't bother with the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They really need to improve the breakfast. Staff could be much more helpful and pleasant.

    terrible breakfast - grumpy unhelpful staff in restaurant, little choice and food pretty awful - I wouldn't bother. Comfortable bed!. Room spotlessly clean and location great for us so overall ok but wouldn't stay again

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: