Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Grampian hotel reviews
  4. Forres hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Ramnee Hotel

Reviews of Ramnee Hotel 4 stars

Victoria Road, Forres, IV36 3BN, United Kingdom

#12 of 18 hotels in Forres

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 274 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2018

    8.3
    Ideal location with lovely, attentive staff at reception and bar/restaurant. Stay was enjoyable yet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very cold overnight. Unable to generate more heat from radiator! Shower head little or no pressure and it took a long time for hot/warm water to arrive.

    Staff, food and general ambiance

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2018

    9.6
    A last minute booking to attend a funeral in Forres but would definately stay here again.
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An extractor fan in the bathroom would be helpful.

    The staff were very friendly & helpful, room was very nice & clean. The evening bar staff excelled when we returned from a funeral after 9pm & prepared sandwiches for us.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    7.1
    Very Clean and spacious staff friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a tidy up we had superior room door was all marked and scratched. View from room not over gardens which I expected it would be like it said when booking. Had better for less than £270 for 2 nights B&B

    Very Clean and spacious staff friendly

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    8.8
    Would happily stay again, had all the bases we wanted adequately or better covered
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was small but perfectly adequate.

    Good cosy bar with same menu as restaurant so we ate there one night. Dining/Breakfast room was good but we were the only ones there when we had dinner in restaurant so would recommend the bar. Good location for our purposes and walkable into Forres for other bars/restaurant. Easy ample parking

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    5.8
    Close to town with ample car parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room furnishings old and tired, decorations needed updating because of torn wallpaper and old water marks from an old leak from a radiator.

    Close to town with ample car parking

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    we had a really large room and this was considered standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we had a really large room and this was considered standard. the ambience of the entire place is just fabulous and the dining room has wonderful atmosphere. we were not expecting such an experience. unique in all the best ways

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    5.8
    Too many small things wrong, but they add up;
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many small things wrong, but they add up; malfunctions in the en-suite, breakfast barely adequate, a single small mushroom, dinner, item ordered proved unavailable. The price was at least £25 too high for what was offered.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    I recommend it and would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were upgraded to a room, which was spacious, plus it had two comfortable chairs and a view to the front. The room was quiet and the bed very comfortable. The staff were all friendly, helpful and polite. The bar where we ate has a relaxed atmosphere. I particularly enjoyed one of the special dishes ( cod loin) and my husband said the fish and chips had good succulent fish (not over cooked). The breakfast was excellent with a good choice (including delicious eggs benedict and full Scottish), plus a choice of when the toast arrived. The waitress was charming.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    The staff were very friendly and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very friendly and efficient. The evening meal and breakfast were both of a high quality and the service was very quick. I would have no hesitation in staying at the Ramnee if I was in the area again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel will use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little cramped and also noisy first thing in the morning.

    Nice situation for touring, food was very good, both breakfast and the evening meal. The hotel was a lovely building with beautiful gardens. The staff were all very pleasant, helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.0
    Old and Tired. Needs renovation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior is extremely old. The room i stayed had carpet in the bathroom. Sheets and the seat cover is so old that they are falling apart. Interior is extremely old that the entire hotel smells dusty and old. I did not feel comfortable in this hotel, since it didnt feel clean and nice to me. This is the problem in the area. Elgin, Forres, Lossiemouth. Hotels are really old, really over priced and they do not provide adequate service in return. This hotel needs interior renewation asap.

    Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The building is outstanding. Surroundings and the architecture of the building is beautiful. Location is good. Breakfast is good. This hotel has so much potential, its a shame that its not fully invested.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    4.6
    Total let down for description given of hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was disgusting mattress stained with blood , urine and other bodily fluids . How did this hotel get s four star rating, apart from the friendly staff , room 203 should be equipped with new mattress and torn curtains replaced .

    Not s lot

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    A wee bit expensive for the room I had
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room door was above reception and there was noise from the bar and function room. The shower was tucked into a corner, not what you would expect from a hotel these days

    Staff were very nice. The bar and food were good. Good location and nice setting.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.4
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Problems of flushing the water in the toilet, lot of cars noise driving on the gravel in the parking lot, no air conditioning and although the windows can be are opened - hot, a large sink in the middle of the mattress.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.4
    Not good, not awful. Other places are far nicer and better value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you're financially well-off and don't mind paying a lot of money for things, go for it. But I would say this place isn't good value for money, and there are much nicer places to stay for half the price. The windows were cheaply repaired and were falling apart - we couldn't even open them without them crashing down again. Place needs some TLC.

    The room we were given at first (standard room) was a completely rip off for the money paid. We spoke to the manager and were kindly given an upgrade. The new room was much nicer, albeit still rundown and needing some TLC.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Very restful and stress free.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A friendly welcoming reception with help given to carry our luggage to our room. Much appreciated after a long day on the road and with the quantity of luggage we had for our stay. Good spacious room overlooking the front garden. Excellent breakfasts and dinners. My compliments to all the staff that we met and those that we did not meet working in the kitchen and garden. Very helpful receptionist.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.0
    Big room with built in wardrobe
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower control broke off in my hand, no air conditioning, no blinds only heavy curtains. Room at the front without privacy. Milk and tea were not replaced regularly. Duvet too warm, room too hot, overcrowded and not enough staff. I waited 1 hour for an evening meal.

    Big room with built in wardrobe

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.0
    Desperate Need of a Full Refurbishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is in desperate need of a full refurbishment and decoration. Externally the building looks attractive but the inside is very dated and tired round the edges. Our room was small with very 80’s wallpaper and furnishings, the bed mattress was worn out and gave no support. There is no air conditioning and only a small window that hardly opened. The public rooms also have dated decor with everything very dark giving a dingy impression. Overpriced for what’s on offer.

    Hotel centrally located to tour area, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    Staff were lovely and could not be more helpful especially...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room we were allocated was tired and needs updating and it was in the new wing with only the views of bushes and the kitchen windows from our window. No 216.

    Staff were lovely and could not be more helpful especially when we locked ourselves out of our room. The hotel was very near to the A98 for easy travel to and from venues we visited. Gardens were also very nice and it was lovely to sit out on the lawn of an evening with a cool drink. Breakfast was freshly cooked and no problems with extras.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.9
    A comfortable stay in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our evening meal was not exactly as stated on the menu. Crushed peas with my battered fish were garden peas and no tartar sauce. Salad was missing some items.

    A great location. Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.9
    In need of a facelift but pleasant place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor is looking exhausted rather than tired (although in good condition) and the room furniture could do with an update - decor and dark brown furniture makes the hotel rather gloomy. To be honest we thought the price (£160 per night inc breakfast) was about £40 a night too much for a hotel in Forres (as nice as Forres is). However it was peak season and the hotel was full.

    The room was a good size as we upgraded. The bed was very comfortable. Though not air conditioned, the room was cool enough in the hot weather. Reception were very friendly and helpful. Dinner and breakfast were enjoyable. It's a nice place, but...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    EXCELLANT,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wish we could have stayed longer. no faults found.

    We liked the friendly, professional staff. Excellent food and service in the restaurant. My Aunt asked for something not on the menu and it was made.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    A beautiful old house with lots of character and in a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful old house with lots of character and in a great location for touring the Highlands. Directly across on a small hill is a tribute to Horacio Nelson in the form of a tower well worth a visit when open.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    An Outstanding Weekend Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dare I say, but the only occasional issue was the noise of the traffic from the A96 by-pass during the night and early mornings.

    We really enjoyed our break. We were made most welcome as was our dog. The room size was great; the lounge bar comfortable and well appointed; the dining room was elegant and staff were attentive. The food was very good indeed. Godly sized portions and innovative main meals added to the splendour of our stay. We would readily recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.0
    What happened up set me so did not like anything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room key was left at reception twice in two nights I had a lot of exspencive things in my room and twice they saud sorry anbody can pick my key up .i came back to the hotel twice st 2 am hotel door wide open and they gave me a bottle if wine to say sorry thats it and a letrer from assistant manager .i do not think this was good enough

    What happened up set me so did not like anything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant stay in a hotel with beautiful grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom and Ensuite a little tired could do with a freshen up.

    Staff very pleasant and helpful..Restaurant food was very enjoyable and generous portions and good value for money.Very nice choice of wines.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Pretty hotel, lovely site and town. Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very slow service in restaurant at supper but appropriate apologies from rushed staff

    Clean room but no view; comfy bed; pleasant staff and no queue at reception

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    lovely hotel, will definately stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we were there for 4 days so a bigger room would have been nice!

    lovely hotel. staff are great - work as a team and nothing is too much trouble. breakfast very good. plenty of parking space. lovely garden with tables to sit out. nice lounge areas. food good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Charming hotel with a nice garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They upgraded us to the best room with a canopy bed and great view to the firth, thanks a lot for that. The green garden in front of the hotel is so nice, you can sit down and enjoy the sun and beautiful flowers. Benromach distillery can be easily reached by walk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    If you’re travelling to Forres this is the place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little cramped

    The staff were lovely and sitting out on the grounds drinking wine as the sun went down was beautiful. The place had character and it’s location in Forres was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Comfortable and relaxing stay in Forres
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was big and bright, the breakfast choices were fantastic, the outdoor garden with seating was delightful on such a lovely weekend that we spent at the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable and Delicious - ate breakfast, lunch and dinner. Good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bed was a little small and uncomfortable. Couldn’t sleep properly.

    Staff were very responsive and helpful. Enjoyed the buffet breakfast. Good spread and appreciated the chioice of warm cooked breakfast made to order. So yummy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Really charming hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    The property itself is charming but what topped it for us was the friendly and helpful staff. As soon as stepped into the Ramnee the lady at reception made us feel welcome and asked us what plans we had in the area, and she made some suggestions too. All the staff were so Friendly and cheerful. We will definitely stay there again if we get the chance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    very nice and classic boutique hotel.
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the house is really nice and old. it needs some upgrading specially in the heating system of the rooms and the breakfast room. The table with the breakfast was to small.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Best accommodation in the Forres area
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have restricted leg movement so lack of elevator was a slight problem. Guests (?) talking loudly in the foyer well after midnight was irritating

    Excellent food at breakfast and dinner. Convenient walking distance to the park and town centre. Set back from main road so very quiet. Good view to the rear over the Moray Firth. Convenient for car, train and coach travel from Aberdeen and Inverness. Plenty of parking space available

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    We were in Forres for a funeral so it was nice to get back to our hotel.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived quite early but were allowed to check in and freshen up in our room. We were upgraded as the hotel was quite quiet, so the room was very nice. Breakfast was also very good indeed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.0
    I have stayed here before and was very impressed but standards seem to have dropped considerably.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant staff at the funeral tea were not enough and rather disorganised, sandwiches didn’t seem very fresh. Breakfast was poor, I had to return my kipper twice (uncooked) so gave up, and my partners smoked haddock was only 1/2 cooked.

    Bar staff were good and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent enjoyed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about

    The whole experience was really good, food was excellent, locality good, the staff were really friendly and helpful, would defiantly stay again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Going back with my wife to experience the hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had a shelf in bathroom for shaving bag

    Staff were so helpfull and friendly. Food excellent and standard of everything exceeded expectations.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.5
    on the whole we had a comfotable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom was dated basin was cracked hot water tap on basin needed attention Shower over the bath a bit antiquated

    the evening meal was good staff very friendly & helpful clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    The bed was big and comfortable, although the pillows were a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service was very friendly, but a little slow at times - looked like they could have done with a couple more staff on duty for the evening meal as no-one was slacking!

    The bed was big and comfortable, although the pillows were a little thin and one was feather (I'm allergic to feathers). The room was spacious and clean with everything you could ask for.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Simply one of the best.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No adverse comments.

    The staff were excellent being friendly attentive and helpful. Food was well presented and and was very tasty. We chose to eat in the bar area which was comfortable and cosy. Breakfast had a great choice which would I am sure would be more than acceptable to the majority of guests.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.5
    Lovely old hotel and stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great old hotel, warm and friendly greeting and the restaurant food was really nice the hotel has lots of character, plenty of parking and the staff were all very friendly. the rooms were clean if a little dated but beds were comfortable and had a great nights sleep

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.1
    the room was standard but did have a good night sleep, staff...
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms a bit small and vintage although the building has character

    the room was standard but did have a good night sleep, staff were very welcoming and friendly i ate the lamb rump there was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.5
    The staff are really good.
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff are really good. I stayed in room 211, which felt a bit dated. The bathroom in particular needs modernised. I have stayed at the Ramnee before, and probably will again, but even though I've stayed in nicer rooms before, room 215. The rooms could do with updating.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.1
    Very comfy but some small issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size for the price charged was a little excessive.

    Chose this hotel as it was close to an event I was partaking in the following morning. For location is was great. Only a 10 min drive away. I booked a standard double for my wife and I with breakfast. Sadly the room was rather small for a double as was the bathroom. Staff were very helpful and the bar menu offered something for everyone at a reasonable rate. The hotel was also very accommodating for us early risers. A continental breakfast was made available so we didn't leave on an empty stomach. I just feel the rates charged for such a small room is a little excessive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    We had a very good stay at the Ramnee.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a very good stay at the Ramnee. Upgraded to a suite which was very nice. Polite and friendly staff and welcoming of our dog. Nice breakfast. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel and very pet-friendly.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was rather cramped.

    Very warm welcome, especially for our dog. Comfortable accommodation. Good standard of food served in bar. Wonderful woodland walks straight from the door.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant stay, nice staff. Felt a little overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable. It felt smaller than a double and the mattress dipped in the middle

    The property itself was very impressive. The breakfasts were excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    Nice friendly hotel will stay there on my next visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no complaints

    The staff were all very friendly and helpful and breakfast was good and freshly cooked. They also had cask real ale at the bar which is unusual for a small country hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Really enjoyed our break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just liquid soap would have preferred a cake for bath

    Room was very nice looking out on to gardens Staff very kind carrying suitcases up to our foom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant stay with excellent staff. Hotel has lovely garden to relax in , would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a double bed but we were presented with two single beds pushed together which left the ridge in the middle.

    Lovely grounds Beautiful building Friendly helpful staff Tasty food Clean and tidy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.8
    quiet Scottish gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wobbly tables in the bar. Deep bath with no grab handle could be an issue when getting in and out to shower.

    The deluxe room was more spacious with a king size bed. The hotel was very quiet and relaxing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    looking for perfection the Ramnee has it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    absolutely nothing.

    Meals were excellent and service was first class. The staff were friendly and good humoured, the room was spacious and comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.1
    Bed really comfy.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of rooms. Little tired looking in places i.e. decor needs renewing in rooms chipped paintwork etc.

    Bed really comfy. Breakfast staff went out of their way to provide requests.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Nice relaxing place to stay with an excellent restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was well appointed and clean, but a little tired and would benefit from the décor being freshened up.

    Food was outstanding. Both Dinner and Breakfast. Staff were attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Ve
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Everything. We only had one night stay but was pleased with the staff service ( very helpful) especially the receptionist. Would stay again. Bed was very co for table and spotless no

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    6.7
    meals very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    noise of furniture being moved in evenings above/below room. ( Happened every night of stay) On leaving we informed staff at desk of disturbance and were told that owner would contact us. He did not bother.

    meals very nice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    6.3
    Very clean in nice surroundings but too pricey!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very cold. One radiator took ages to heat room. Beds lumpy. Pillows awful. When flushed toilet you got no hot water to wash hands. Room dated and in need of decoration. Door and skirting boards very scratched. Campbed for my son has given him back pain. Not good value for money.

    Location good. Very clean. Waitress at night and the one in morning really nice. Receptionist checking us out very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.6
    Great find outside Inverness on the way to Aberdeen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely style, great staff everywhere, excellent meals. Is at the start of the whisky trail which was a great drive down to balmoral over the ski fields

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    10
    Effortless stay.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really was an effortless stay, everyone one was super efficient and friendly, lovely hotel in a quiet by central location. There was a lovely warm atmosphere at the bar and at breakfast times. The staff were very accommodating and friendly towards the kids. Really enjoyed it.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    8.3
    Excellent Hotel and food pity about the bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed in room 209 is soft with adipose in the middle resulting in both rolling into the hole in the middle! Time for a new firm mattress if you want 10/10.

    Location for touring and only a short walk to town, staff were all helpful and friendly. Restaurant serving good quality food.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    10
    Great Hotel, lovely location with delicious breakfasts 🍳!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WI-FI didn't work when we were there due to an upgrade that had been done but was experiencing issues and this was the only bug bear. The staff however were apologetic and tried to resolve this but didn't whilst we were staying.

    We booked a family room and actually ended up with two lovely rooms in a suite. The beds and linen were perfect and we all had a great sleep for once, which doesn't happen often with a 5 yr old in your room! The breakfast was to die for and it was so varied that it couldn't fail to disappoint. The cooked breakfast was grilled and the presentation and food were delicious. The reception staff were really lovely and friendly. Both the lady and the young guy on there were courteous and warm and happy to help. I would definitely recommend the Ramnee to family and friends and look forward to returning in the future.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2018

    9.2
    Friendly Staff - lovely setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms currently undergoing refurb - so will be even better when finished

    Staff really friendly and helpful

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2018

    10
    Country House Hotel in a lovely town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have no complaints.

    A very nice country house hotel with very friendly staff and excellent food. Well priced.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2018

    9.6
    Warm bedrooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm bedrooms

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2018

    9.6
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We found the hotel lovely, comfortable, clean and very friendly staff. Ideally situated for our needs.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous room

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bedroom and bathroom need updating.

    The staff were very nice, the service for breakfast and reception area were always very good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2018

    9.2
    High quality Scottish food, excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could be modernised

    High quality Scottish food, excellent Very comfortable and homely Staff were all lovely

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2018

    8.3
    Safe, quiet, comfy and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff really understanding and flexible. They anticipated my needs and were ready to respond.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    7.1
    Would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor was a bit tired.

    The food was very good and the bed was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    5.8
    Ok hotel, but I would look for either cheaper hotel or better value for money. Great house though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite small

    Great old building, but the room did not correspond to the grand exterior or the cosy lobby.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    7.5
    Very friendly, evening meal was excellant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Packed lunch was good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    Lovely relaxing stay, will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable room lovely location. All staff friendly and welcoming and professional

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: