Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ramsay's Bed & Breakfast

25 East London Street, Broughton, Edinburgh, EH7 4BN, United Kingdom

#1 of 185 B&Bs and Inns in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 441 B&B reviews

9.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Greeted with a dram of whiskey by the incredibly friendly and helpful owner as he sat us down with a map to show us the area. Incredibly clean and comfortable. Thought of every extra - wine cork, hair dryer, candy bowl, tea, hot chocolate, etc, in every room. Couldn’t have been happier with our choice to stay here.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owners couldn't have been friendlier or more accomodating. We had to leave for the airport very early the next morning (before breakfast) so they packed us breakfast and snacks to go and left them for us in the refrigerator overnight.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger tea cups in the room please - but only because a big mug of tea is how we start our Day

    Lovely greeting with a tot of whisky! Beautiful room overlooking the garden. Huge comfy bed. Amazing breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a wonderful stay at Ramsay's. Our host, Nory, was very friendly, funny, and charming. He made our visit very special. The room was immaculately clean and comfortable. Their were many hot breakfast choices, and the food was delicious! I miss Edinburgh, and I really miss Nory!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was wonderful. When we arrived, the owner was extremely friendly making us feel as comfortable as possible (he even gave us a shot of whiskey). The room was neat, super clean and had all we needed. The breakfast was very good as well. They were really concerned if we were pleased with the facilities and service. Definitely recommend it! Congrats for such a great accommodation and friendliness.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a great stay and whenever we will come back To Edinburgh we will stay there again. Norman was the perfect host and his wife just prepared the best breakfast ever. Thank you very much for everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We really enjoyed our stay at Ramsay's.., location is superb! 250 year old historic building with pubs and fine restaurants just around the corner. I think the Royal Mile is a 10 minute walk or so. For a few GBP you can buy a day ticket for bus and tram for when your feet are getting tired. The breakfest couldn't be better. Norrie and Sharon., thanks for an excellent time in Edinburgh!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Likely in the top three of breakfasts at any B and B I have stayed at in the last 30 years. The owner was friendly, engaging, and very helpful. Very conviently located for access to the airport and train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stayed in a room with external bathroom, it was very small but very clean and functioned well.

    Friendly and welcoming managers, great location, excellent breakfast and a comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking situation is not great, but that is not Ramsays fault. And they did help us to find a place to put the car. Next time I'll simply come without a car.

    We arrived earlier than planned, so I called them. In 5 minutes a lovely man (I sadly forgot his name...) arrived, let us in, helped with our luggage, showed us everything, offered us a glas of whiskey and then helped park the car in a nearby street. You choose from several options for your breakfast, which is quite big. Our room had a separate but not-shared bathroom. The room was quite spacious, had a hairdryer, a clothing rack, a window to a nice backyard/garden. There was construction going on close to it, but we're early risers, so no bother. The bathroom is very small but smart in planning. The bed war pretty big and very comfy. The location is great, we reached everything by foot in 5-15min tops. Since we had to leave before breakfast the next day, we got packed a really nice lunch. When I get back to Edinburgh, I'll try to get a room here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I didn't like.

    Extremely clean, amazing breakfast aswell as a wide choice of foods. Owners were so friendly couldnt do enough for you! Rooms were beautifully decorated. Not far from station. Over all there is nothing negative to say about this place. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wanted a B&B in the area I was visiting. I didn't think too much about it as I just needed a bed, but I was wowed. The whole place was immaculate and stylishly decorated. The bed was very comfortable, decor perfect, bathroom fresh and good shower. Hosts were very friendly and accommodating. Had a choice of cooked breakfasts, all delicious and just the job to set me up for a hard day. Many thanks! Steve

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No toilet brush in bathroom ... otherwise what was not to like?

    Location very good for central Edinburgh, very friendly reception and assistance from host, expansive breakfasts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is taken care of in the slightest detail, the owner is a perfectionist and the results are visible; rooms are quite spacious and quality/price ratio totally reasonable; highly recommended

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sharon & Norri were friendly & very helpful. Breakfast was hot & excellent. Accommodation very clean & well located in a quiet area. Would stay there again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything, but maybe a common space to sit down could make this place even better

    The location (5min from airport's tram), the food (with a wonderful home-cooked breakfast) and specially Sharon & Norrie's attention. We felt at home and we hope to repeat soon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the fact i couldnt stay longer!!

    owners were so friendly and helpful even printing off bus timetables for us. beautiful B&B, tastefully decorated lovely little touches like hot chocolate sachets among tea,coffee and herbal tea in your room with small snacks and toffees also perfect location surrounded by fantastic little restaurants and very safe to walk around esp at night will defo be back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it all.

    Very good welcome, excellent facilities all you could want for a wonderful stay. The location is spot on, easy to get to all places of interest. Very safe location. Clean, warm, comfortable and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It said there's a hair conditioner but there wasn't. Free WiFi was poor, didn't use it as it gets offline soon.

    Breakfast was from either 8:30 or 9:00 but we had to take the tram before that to go to the airport. The staff made us a bag of breakfast for us to take. it was really helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely no complaints about our stay. The room is beautiful, the bed was soft and comfortable, the breakfast was really great and the location is perfect for walking to any and everything in Edinburgh. Will definitely return here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We felt completely at home at Ramsay's - Norrie and Susan were the perfect hosts, making sure we were comfortable, had tips on all the best things to see and do as well as a great list of restaurant recommendations. The rooms was very clean and comfortable with great amenities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't speak highly enough of this B&B. Everywhere was spotlessly clean, the bedroom was comfortable and warm with a view of the garden. It was in a great location, able to walk to all the main sights and the breakfast was fantastic. Had a fabulous stay, wouldn't hesitate to book again. Thank you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a fantastic stay here. Both Norrie and Sharon were fab and the welcome we had from Norrie was so nice. I’d mentioned that it was my boyfriends birthday and they surprised him with a cake and candles - such a nice thing to do. Can’t recommend Ramsay’s enough!!! Thank you both for a wonderful stay and we hope to see you again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a very warm & welcoming greeting at Ramsey's B & B, the wee dram of malt whiskey really did take the chill from a winters afternoon ! Couldn't fault any of our stay and plan to return.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great - feel us so welcome. Drinking water on the corridor, snacks and tea /hot chocolates in the room. The room is large warm and comfortable. Breakfast is also great. Serial yogurt first then you have the option of full breakfast, salmon, or continental ones. You can itemise of your choice. Tea is made in the pot with the lose leaves. Location is great. Very close to the tram stop. To the tram stops there are few cute shops nice bakery cute cafes and the restaurants and bars. Lastly the best thing about this b&b is the host. They made us so welcome and we feel like we know them for very long. Thanks for having us and we definately LOVE to come back again. Recommend this place for all the friends who are heading to Edinburgh also!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are a light sleeper, you may need some earplugs as you can hear other guest come and go in the corridor. The breakfast starts at 8.30am so if you are an early starter like us it is a bit late.

    Host very friendly and helpful. Gave quick intro to the city (and a whiskey) upon arrival. Location is in a very nice area with many restaurants. B&B is within walking distance to city centre and main sights. Breakfast was a very good Scottish breakfast. Our rental car place was within 2 minutes walking distance, which was convenient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This B&B was ideally located, close to public transportation and a variety of shops and restaurants. Norrie was a wonderful host, and even brought in a birthday cake for another guest. I highly recommend this B&B.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This bed and breakfast is extremely clean, cozy, and Ramsay greeted us with two drams of scotch (nice personal touch)! We also arrived later in the afternoon, and we wanted to fit in some sites, so Ramsay guided us with a map to the best spots. Very friendly, accommodating, comfortable stay! It's also in a part of the city that is more quiet, which was nice after a day of seeing sites.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    sorry but nothing to dislike about are stay here.

    the food was excellent all freshly served and cooked. quite a varied menu to suit all tastes. the breakfast room was light and airy nice and modern and very clean. we had a ery nice view of the garden from our downstairs room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    That we had to leave the place!

    The B&B is located around 15-20min walk from the Royal Mille in a nice surroundings with pubs and restaurants. The room was very clean, comfortable and well maintained, high quality amenities and great bed. Plenty of AC outlets and usbs for charging cellphones and computers. Breakfast was excellent with nice variety of products, everything freshly prepared on the spot and very tasty. Sharon and Morris are just very nice people that want their guests to feel comfortable and enjoy Edinburgh, and indeed they succeed in that.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    Lovely bedroom overlooking the garden, very quiet, clean, and comfortable king bed. Incredibly helpful hosts. Full Scottish breakfast in the breakfast room. Wonderful location, a 20 minute walk to Princes street attractions, but Broughton street offers many incredible restaurants, pubs (the Barony), a short walk to the Botanical Gardens or Calton Hill. The location was perfect for us - a great introduction to Edinburgh!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Everything was perfekt!

    Great stay! Rooms are clean and large, newly renovated. Tastefull decorated and has everything you need. The owners were great friendly!! Helpfull with all the questions. Great Location. Near all restaurants and shopping. Good price. Great breakfast. I will recommend Ramsays to all of my friends. I loved this place. And will come back! Thanks!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only disappointment was the parking. The people who run this B&B know of a parking space just down the road from the property which is cheap, however we weren't told this until we'd prepaid for a parking space nearby, costing us £25 for the 2 days... I suggest calling them to enquire on this further.

    Had a really great stay here and was disappointed it was only 1 night. The service was excellent and the room really comfy and clean. Breakfast also brilliant, would definitely stay here again in the future.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything! Excellent value for the money! Our room was on the lower level and some guests might have difficulty with uncarpeted winding staircase...not a problem for us and we are "senior citizens".

    Good variety offered, delicious and freshly prepared.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It might have been just our room, but I had trouble keeping the shower to a consistent temperature.

    They are located really close to the York Place tram exit from the Edinburgh Airport, which I would recommend using even though they do have some designated parking (street-side). The owner/host is extremely friendly and helpful. We only stayed one night, but would loved to have stayed longer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This B&B is amazing! The hosts are so friendly, welcoming and helpful, they accommodate every single request anyone might have. The place has a lovely atmosphere and is spotless, nice décor, we had a lovely, spacious room downstairs. Breakfast was really tasty. Locationwise it's perfect to discover Edinburgh, we walked everywhere. They really have thought of everything to make our stay comfortable, lovely little touches everywhere. Thank you, we'll be back :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Everything was wonderful. The host was phenominal! He gave us a map of the area and we enjoyed speaking with him about good places to go. He was very knowledgeable and extremely happy to help us feel comfortable and welcome. The room was much nicer than the pictures gave it credit for. We had everything we needed and more; there was a hairdryer and coffee or tea available in the room and our room overlooked the garden and had a beautiful big window to look out. Everything was extremely clean and the breakfast was delicious. We couldn't have asked for a better stay; my only regret was that we didn't stay for longer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we didn't like. We enjoyed everything!

    My partner and I absolutely loved our stay here, the owners of the B&B are so lovely and welcoming! The breakfast was amazing and the service even better. I would definitely recommend this beautiful B&B to friends and we'll stay again on our next visit to Edinburgh.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent stay at Ramsys B&B , Norrie and his wife were fabulous and were like walking maps and no how on everything. Breakfast was amazing and so fresh , room was so clean and a wee dram on arrival 🥃Would deffo come again 👍👍👍👍

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a small down stairs bedroom. Excellent view to gorgeous backyard. Was fine but for me bed was a little uncomfortable.

    The location was excellent and service very good. Very well maintained property. Lovely couple run this B &B.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hospitality and the breakfast was amazing! Perfect location in the New Town away from the busy Royal Mile and the property had great character.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to improve upon. Everything was perfect.

    The host, Norrie, made us really welcome. Great attitude and excellent advice on sites to see and restaurants to go to. Nice deco and good food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything offhand.

    We were welcomed by Norrie very warmly with a celebratory glass of whisky! He showed the places to go in town and was very friendly. Room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was super. Great stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine.... besides the Scottish weather may be. But even that was quite good - compared to the standard :-)

    When we arrived, we first got a very warm welcome with a glas of Whisky. It was quite funny. The guy - sorry, I didn´t understand tzhe name, not sure, whether he mentioned it, Scottish is quite difficult to understand - gave us an excellent tip concerning a Whisky - tasting just vis a vis in that church. It was fantastic. We had quite a lot of fun while we were staying there. We where there during the Edinburgh festival, so the town was full of people in an excellent mood.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I felt welcomed the moment I walked in. In retrospect, I appreciate them even more, because they showed me how to use the shower. I stayed in 4 other places, and every shower was different and frustrating to use, because none of them were like the United States. Bonus points!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Really, there's nothing to think of. It was great!

    The hosts were a wealth of information for new visitors to Edinburgh. The location was fabulous - close enough to the touristy places to walk but far enough that the neighborhood was quiet and peaceful. The breakfast was delicious and filling with many choices. The room was clean with a lovely decor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad!

    The location was excellent - loved Broughton Street which was just around the corner with its great restaurants and afew shops. Had a basement room but really surprised how light it was - very modern "boutique" feel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner couple of the hotel are so friendly! He warmly welcomed us and offered a drum of Kilchoman :) That was the first day of my trip in Scotland and it started pretty good :) The room was small but very comfy, the bed as well. Very clean and perfect service at breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Owners not on site so you must let them know your time of arrival

    Delicious breakfast Modern and stylish comfortable rooms very clean Great location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved our stay at the Ramsay's. We'd been recommended the B&B by a friend, and noticed it had won Four in a Bed, so we had high expectations which were exceeded, and then some. It's very clean, well-decorated and comfortable. The hosts are absolutely outstanding - friendly, helpful and welcoming. It felt like visiting family and they really went above and beyond. Great location, with lovely bars, cafes and restaurants just a few seconds walk away. Despite this, the B&B is quiet and the area feels very safe. Close enough to walk to many of Edinburgh's tourist attractions. Breakfast was delicious and top-quality. I'm vegetarian and there were options on the menu - without me having to ask, which was lovely! Can't recommend Ramsay's highly enough. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic room, location, breakfast. Very clean and comfortable and a great location to explore Edinburgh on foot. Norrie was very helpful. A highlight accommodation of our 6 week trip!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My stay was too short!

    This was my first time at a B&B and they raised the bar high for any other one I ever stay at again! It was all I hoped for! Our host were amazing, ease from airport smooth and easy, our directions from host prior to trip on point, food excellent, room beautiful and everything you could think of was provided! I can't say enough about it!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. The building was beautiful. Decor was superbly tasteful. Absolutely spotless room. Everything was top quality. We loved it. The breakfast was a challenge but I managed to finish it! Superb!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were fortunate to stay in this lovely B&B for 2 days during our 9 day tour through Scotland. This is definitely one of the best B&B's we were fortunate enough to stay in. The room was clean, quiet, had a nice view of the garden and provided everything we needed. The breakfast was superb and there's lots to chose from. Ranging from simple toast and yogurt to full-on Scottish breakfast. The house is a 15-20 minute (uphill) walk from the city center and there are plenty of good restaurants and bar nearby. The owners are more than happy to give recommendations. Would definitely come back again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed for just 2 nights.

    Couldn't ask for more wonderful hosts! Sharon was very responsive to my pre-arrival emails. When I finally got there, Norrie patiently explained every.little.detail about the room and everything I needed to know about the accommodation, the surrounding area, and where to go in the city. Not to say the fabulous breakfast! My room was the petite one with external private bathroom, but the facilities were equal to those at those posh hotels. Both bedroom and bathroom were very clean. There were fridge, ironing board, and water dispenser just outside my door. I could also use their storage room to keep my bags after check-out. It even had a toilet and sink, which were very useful indeed! The B&B itself was close to the city centre; you could just walk or otherwise take the #8 bus that stops at North and South Bridge.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Very happy.

    Excellent owners, very friendly and hospitable. Great single malt on arrival was a lovely touch. Lovely breakfast. Really comfortable place, good beds. Totally recommend +++++

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Home from home! Norris and Sharon are excellent hosts and immediately made us feel welcome. Was like visiting family although this was our first time staying here. Would recommend as ideally located in a central place no matter what purpose ones visit to Edinburgh.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great! Comfortable bed, good location with many good restaurants and pubs nearby, delicious breakfast (includimg the takeaway) and extra-friendly staff. Fast answer to the phone when we needed, warm welcome and good moments of conversation. No complains att all.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We met lots of nice people in Edinburgh, but Sharon and Norrie were probably the nicest of them all. Our hosts did everything to make us feel comfortable; from welcoming us late at night with a shot of whisky, after an eventful and tiresome flight, to serving us delicious breakfasts in the morning, and giving us lots of useful tips to enjoy our stay. Their B&B is a little jewel in the hospitality business!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For some, maybe most, the location is ideal. Close to the train station and in a very quiet, more residential area. But for us, it was a wee bit too far from the Royal Mile. We probably walked a good 8 miles or more every day .

    Sharon and Norrie were the best hosts anyone could ask for. Happy to chat and provide any information you need. They take great pride in their B&B. The rooms have everything you need for a nice stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all

    The hosts were wonderful and very helpful. Breakfast was leisurely and as huge or small as you liked. The room was clean and spacious with a lovely view of the garden. The short walk into the centre of Edinburgh was a bonus!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owners were so lovely and helpful and the English breakfast was absolutely delicious room was clean modern and comfortable in an excellent position fabulous I will recommend Ramsey's to everyone

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the soundproofing is not the best since it is in an old building but the neighbors were quiet

    our host was amazing, choice between 3 excellent types of breakfast, the location couldn't have been better

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location is a little bit far from the railway station/main street, but acceptable, about 15 mins walk

    Very hospitable owner, enthusiastic, spend a lot of time to introduce the guests about local sight spots and direct the way Very nice, rich and delicious traditional Scotland breakfast Very conforable room, provide nice snacks, live in the basement but very clean and warm, rest room and bathroom are small but clean

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Sharon and Norrie were fantastic hosts, very welcoming and a pleasure to meet. The rooms were lovely and the breakfast outstanding. Will be definitely staying again, couldn't recommended it more.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Welcomed warmly with a bit of whisky and was shown to an upgraded room as it was available. Room was very comfortable and extremely clean. The biscuit and brews in the corner of the room got topped up every day too...nice. The breakfast is excellent with plenty of options including a full Scottish, my wife preferred the salmon and scrambled eggs. Short walk into the centre, short walk to plenty of local restaurants/bars, perfect location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing to not like about this place or its proprietors.

    This is an amazing little gem in Edinburgh. It is 5* hotel luxury and attention to details wrapped up in a B&B.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steps down to the lower floor was a little worrisome but I managed them without mishap.

    Excellent welcome with a wee dram. Stylish and comfortable room. Friendly owners. Excellent location. Couldn't be better.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the best B&B I've ever stayed in the UK. the room and the bathroom were VERY CLEAN, the staff is very nice and friendly, the breakfast was delicious and the price is the best!!! I would recommend this place to everybody I know and I will definitely stay here every time I go back to Edinburgh. The location is perfect, surrounded by good bars and restaurants and only 10 minutes walking distance from Market Street and Edinburgh Castle.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nori and Sharon are wonderful hosts - friendly, fun, welcoming and knowledgeable. They treat their guests like a group of friends. It's on a quiet street just 5 minutes walk from Waverly Station. Clean, modern, comfortable rooms - ours looked out on a beautiful garden. The bed was a dream. Breakfast was amazing - from porridge (oatmeal) with a splash of whiskey to a full Scottish breakfast to croissants, muesli and fruit. And they put Cadbury hot chocolate and biscuits (cookies) in the room for a snack!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking confirmation stated payment by cash only when we could actually have used credit card.

    Host was very friendly, even ran us to the station when he couldn't locate a taxi.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything that could be improved. Even the weather was good.

    Very welcoming and they had thought of everything. Clean, comfortable, warm, excellent location. I would definitely recommend and hope to go back.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints- we loved our stay.

    We had a delightful stay at Ramsay's B&B. Norrie met us upon on our arrival (we walked from the train station), showed us the room, and asked if we needed any assistance with sight-seeing or restaurants. We ate at a couple of places he recommended and were very pleased with them. He also offered us " a wee dram" of whisky which we accepted and enjoyed! The room was very clean, quiet and comfortable. The breakfasts cooked by Sharon were delicious. When we go back to Edinburgh, we will stay at Ramsay's again!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have loved the possibility of having breakfast up until 10 am (instead of 9 am)

    Amazing breakfast and hospitality, good position and super friendly staff!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sharon & Nori are excellent hosts couldn,t be more helpful if they tried breakfast excellent, room imaculate,great location situated within a 15 min walk from train station close enough for all attractions but far enough away for a good nights sleep. Our train wasn,t till 4 and Nori looked after our bags to save us the expense of left luggage or trailing it round all day will stay here again

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Ramsay's Bed & Breakfast traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: