Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Random Hall 4 stars

Stane Street, Slinfold, RH13 0QX, United Kingdom

#2 of 2 hotels in Slinfold

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 232 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    Staff were excellent and made us feel very welcome and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress a little too firm!

    Staff were excellent and made us feel very welcome and special. Lovely building with plenty of atmosphere. Very nicely refurbished large bedroom and bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    The staff went above and beyond and were extremely friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff went above and beyond and were extremely friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Highly recommend and we will certainly be returning. Massive thank you to everyone involved in our stay x

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.9
    Economical and satisfactory. With some investment this could be a lovely hotel.
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Standard of bathroom cleanliness; no shelf in shower; selection of marmalade and need to make toast (though croissants were good!)

    Attractiveness of garden; availability of parking; offering of fresh milk; friendliness of night porter.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Lovely family run hotel with comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was building work in the room next door to us which started quite early in the morning. As parents away from our small children for the night it was a shame to be woken up!

    Rooms and beds were lovely. We sadly slept through breakfast, but when we came down we were made a pot of fresh coffee before the owner drove us to collect our car. Great personable service.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and very good food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Always stay here for business if i'm in this area. Very nice place to stay. Very comfortable and the food is amazing. I have stayed at this property now on more than 5 occasions in the last few years. Fast Wi-Fi.,Showers work great and the beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.0
    A very clean attractive hotel, pleasant staff and where I would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cooked breakfast was delicious and the croissants were flaky and very nice. The dinner was good produce and nicely served but a little expensive for what it was.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    After a hard days racing........
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very comfortable and recently decorated but bathroom rather outdated.

    Excellent and agreeable staff, very helpful Food first class.. Atmosphere calm, relaxed and comfortable. Would definitely stay again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    An amazing hotel, will return soon
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything. A real gem of a hotel

    Staff were so attentive and friendly. The food was amazing and the rooms have such character and cosiness. Great value and super clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Good breakfast, friendly and helpful staff disappointed with room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room recently redecorated. Smell of paint, curtain rail not securely fixed, ariel cable broken so no tv reception. No shower just a tap extension on bath taps.

    Great breakfast and attentive service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Food is to die for
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not usually a loud place to stay but this occation i found it hard to sleep due to loud noises from other rooms upstairs.

    Food is very good. Wi-Fi is fast. Lovely garden to sit in to eat your meal

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    A pleasant experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room i stayed in was very dated very dated and could benefit from an refurbish.

    Great location and really nice hosts - nothing was too much trouble. Food was very good - especially breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely old building.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could do with a cosmetic facelift. I don't count a shower head on the bath taps mounted 2 feet above the bath as an ensuite shower!

    Lovely old building. Good food attentive staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Super friendly staff and great breakfast choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress on my husbands bed was uncomfortable for him,(mine was fine) and duvets seem to slip off ,several times,during the night. This was in single beds in a twin room.

    Super friendly staff and great breakfast choice.Also a quiet venue ,considering I am a very light sleeper and slept with the window open . 👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Home from home welcome and great food.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - could not fault the hotel or the service.

    A home from home. Friendly staff who were proactively really helpful and made sure we had everything for a lovely staff. Great good in the restaurant and lovely breakfast. The period property has a lovely atmosphere and we will definitely return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent Old World hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Nice, old style family run hotel. Clean and welcoming, excellent room which was very comfortable. Very good breakfast. The stairs were a bit quirky and would be a slight issue for some-one a bit older with a large suitcase. Having said that everyone was so helpful I'm sure help would be readily available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Absolutely fabulous and the best breakfast ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like about this property.

    We absolutely loved our visit to Random Hall and look forward to visiting again. The staff were really friendly, attentive and professional, and nothing was too much trouble. The Hall is 16th Century with all the beautiful features you would expect. The bedroom was pretty and the bed comfortable. Above all, the breakfast was the best I have had in any hotel, and that includes the Queens Grill on the Queen Mary 2.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and classic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpets need some updating but that's clutching at something to say. Very nice place to stay

    Bed was very comfortable and the shower worked perfectly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Our stay at Random Hall was very pleasant It oozes historical charm and the staff are wonderful.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drinks. Limited selection. Some areas of the hotel are obviously awaiting refurbishment.

    The staff.......it’s family run and the personal touch was certainly there. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast cooked to your taste. Our room 17 had just been refurbished and was lovely with everything you could possibly need. The log fire in the evening really added to the ambience of this old, quirky property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    Newly decorated room 17 was nearly perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra power sockets needed and new blinds were a little too narrow so early sunlight comes in.

    Newly decorated room 17 was nearly perfect. Shower excellent, bed really comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    A lovely stay and positives outweighed negatives nicely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small tv in the room. Would have liked two chairs in the room to relax.Furnishings a little dated and shower lacked any power.

    Location to the town centre and the racecourse were both excellent. The owner was very pleasant and provided an excellent breakfast .Large spacious room.Free parking .Spotlessly clean.Very comfy bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing- perhaps could create a better atmosphere in the finning area with soft music.

    Very clean, beautiful bedding. Breakfast was cooked to request and was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice old property.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds weren’t that comfy. And £47 for two burger and chips and 2 pints each. I thought it was a tad expensive. Pretty tired throughout landing stairs and the room

    Nice old property. Breakfast was excellent and staff were excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.8
    Overall an excellent, cosy place to stay with excellent staff!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was a little weak but adequate for one night. We were told that the plumbing is undergoing an upgrade in the next few weeks.

    Very friendly and obliging staff. Interesting old building with very old photographs on the wall in the dining room showing it's previous uses.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.9
    Great restaurant, historical hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold water for showers. Lack of heating. The rooms needed updating which the new owners plan to do.

    The restaurant food was excellent. Likewise breakfast. Service was good as we were the only couple eating. Loved the 16 century ambience and the huge open fireplace with burning logs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    8.8
    Great traditional inn, with laid-back atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Admittedly it was December, but the room was cold! - just one radiator was insufficient for such a large room, and an additional electric radiator was needed. Definitely a 3-season venue.

    The room was very large, and comfortably furnished. It’s an old coaching inn, with well preserved character. Welcoming and very friendly staff; wonderful open fire in the lounge; relaxed and laid-back feel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend the hotel to others However, I found the rating scale perplexing. You need to explain what the faces mean and give and option for not applicable or don't know

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.9
    the bed was extremely comfy as was the pillows and the duvet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    well ..... we were not to happy with our room to be honest i know the building is old but the rooms definetly need some attention and sprucing up especially the bathrooms our old wooden toilet seat wasnt nice, no toilet brushes, no blind at the window it just didnt feel clean. but apart from that i would definatly go back just not in that room. oh and ladies bring your hairdryer lol.

    the bed was extremely comfy as was the pillows and the duvet was lovely. The breakfast was excellent plenty to eat all round you certainly dont go away hungry. staff were great and attentive nothing was to much trouble even when we asked for a cot when we got there they came up with one straight away with a good mattress and lovely blankets.The downstairs area is very nice very old and beamed with a massive log fire the breakfast area is lovely with very comfy chairs to sit on

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.1
    Would stay again if travel required to that location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small bed, a little road noise evident even round the back, some noise from upper level

    Selecting a cooked breakfast option from a menu rather than a buffet

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.2
    Would highly recommend - a lovely experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms need some updating

    Excellent stay - nothing was too much trouble. Friendly and extremely helpful. Very clean. Lovely breakfast. Hotel full of character and quirky. Great experience

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable, clean, friendly and quirky. Lovely will be back .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room in need of some updating.

    Extremely helpful owners and staff. Willing to make stay most enjoyable experience. Excellent breakfast. Comfortable and clean room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent, will be back
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms slightly dated but immaculate and in keeping with the hotels character

    Cosy comfortable bar, oldy worldy with open fire, friendliness of the owner and staff, food was superb, didn't want to leave :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    5.4
    Why four stars???
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of attention to detail. Radiators not working in room. Towels and tissues not replenished. Bathroom terribly shabby. Pillows were awful and definitely well used. No fresh fruit at breakfast and croissants stale. And then fire alarm went off at 0700....it was false thank goodness!

    Bar area and open fire is cosy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.3
    We enjoyed our stay and the staff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms in need of some repair, some showers not adequate, bar facilities i.e. No draught beer available.

    Open fires,character, beautiful house, relaxed atmosphere, meals very nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice Hotel with good food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hard to fault at the price

    excellent hotel, well located for business in the area. Had been updated in the public areas since my last stay some years ago. A modern style but still retaining the character of the old building. open beams, open fires etc. The rooms are perhaps a little dated but considering the price perfectly Ok. One can expect a warm welcome, god hospitality. decent food and ale. At the price, a very good choice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    It was a pleasant English country experience. Staff and friendliness were the standout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location without vehicle caused us to use taxis several times. Bus nearby which we rode to Horsham one day. No other restaurants nearby without cab ride.

    Staff and hospitality were excellent. We had breakfasts and a couple of dinners which were good. Small dining room intimate and cozy. Cleanliness factor good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.3
    Excellent food, friendly staff, not quite the accomodation we expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom really well fitted out but grimey grout and mastic in the shower left you feeling the place not that well cleaned. Also the bathroom door doesn't close, so sights/sounds/smells will all be shared with your partner! Not a proper bar so not the atmosphere we expected from an old coaching inn. Poor selection of drinks, just one lager on tap and one brand of bottled cider. Choice of just 2 bottled beers but they were kept in the fridge!!!!

    Great food, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable stay with friendly staff met my urgent needs that night. Would stay again if I need to
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If the location had been nearer the shops I could have purchased some toileteries etc. but it was in the middle of nowhere - gorgeous but not practical for someone without transport.

    This was an unexpected overnight stay as I dealt with a family emergency. Staff were sympthetic and helpful, providing me with a jug of fresh milk to make tea in my room. They had gluten free bread for breakfast too so after a comfortable night, warm bath and good breakfast I was ready to face the difficult day ahead.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.0
    It was ok but was in need of a facelift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looked very tired and in need of a facelift. The bed was comfortable with clean sheets . Two of the lights were missing light bulbs and when I mentioned it in leaving the owner was aware of this and said that they were looking to refurbish the bedroom and would be replaced then. The paintwork was chipped, the windows and curtains were shabby and one of the wardrobe doors was off its hinges. It took six attempts to flush the toilet and the shower was very poor. We were hoping to dine there on the Sunday evening as it does state on their web site that an all day bar snacks is available from 11:30am right the way through until 9:00pm and they also offer a dinner, bed and breakfast rate from Sunday through to Thursday, but when we enquired about dinner, they said that they don't serve food on a Sunday evening as the kitchen is closed. They referred us to two nearby pubs.

    Staff very friendly and the owners made you welcome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    We couldn't because of your actions!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that Booking.com cocked up the booking. The hotel advised us by phone you should not have made the booking as you were aware no rooms were available. Very poor show!!

    Having used the hotel before we were looking forward to our stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.5
    Relaxing and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room closed during evening, however local pub not far away.

    Convenient location close to Gatwick yet quaint enough to make you believe you were in the heart of the English countryside. Very historic building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    4.2
    We realise the stay was good value but we feel the photos must have been taken years ago.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Random Hall unfortunately is very tired - it requires money spending on it. There is no excuse for all the cobwebs round the light at the top of the stairs and our room had no curtain/blind in the bathroom window. Many of the lights did not work - we were very disappointed!

    The character of Random Hall is wonderful and there are lots of original features which date back to the 16th century. The gardens outside the property are kept beautifully.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.5
    Breakfast was ok staff lovely in the morning especially...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed for my husbands bday what a disappointement !!! Waste of money room is not worth £115 . Ive stayed in b&bs better than this for half the price .room not clean . Hotel not clean ( dead flies ) The Restaurant was closed on a sat night ?? Someone should have warned us prior to us getting there or at least when we checked in @ 5 pm . Will not be returning .

    Breakfast was ok staff lovely in the morning especially Jackie who was very professional .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.3
    Wasn't the best experience we have had, but the food was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room backed onto the car park which was gravelled so we were disturbed when cars arrived/departed. Sound proofing was not brilliant between rooms, we could here people in adjoining rooms and the room above us, including snoring throughout the night.

    The food was good and our hosts were friendly and accommodating. Parking was convenient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    3.8
    Nightmare.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Total stay complete waste of money, no disabled parking. Paving so uneven if not for a chair seatbelt I would have fallen out of the wheelchair and caused untold damage to myself. Small slop did not flow into the front door a steep ridge confronted you which again needed bits of wood from the kitchen to cover slope elevating wheelchair over ridge. My room 19 was at the end of along corridor slightly to the left with a corner pillar after many times of menovering back and forth finally entering room bashing knuckles on small doorway. (Standard sized wheelchair). Room was no way. Assessable . Shower had a large step NO grab rails ,seating ,adjustable Shower head etc. Toilet not assessable for wheelchair as wash basin ,toilet,shower mirror were for an abled bodied person. When suggesting to owner of the difficulties encountered by myself not allowing it to happen again to other disabled guests, was told it was "unsuitable for disabled ". Health and safety come to mind. Then why did he take the booking!!! When I had advised no steps wheelchair user... Personally a refund was in order. Photos taken.

    One member of staff serving breakfast named Jackie was the only staff member visible . Jackie we found to be obliging helpful in collecting our breakfast from the buffet . Nothing was to much trouble. We were unable to collect from the buffet as their was a step down not assessable for a wheelchair user. Same said of layout of tables. Fair play Jackie .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice Olde Worlde building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was some road noise from 6am onwards.

    Olde Worlde building with modern extension's. Nice room. Breakfast was good, and had one evening meal which was very nice. Felt understaffed at times.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Very enjoyable and surprisingly good - will definitely stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a little tired and does need some improvements although I am told these are ongoing.

    Very friendly staff, excellent food and good value for money. Beautiful and interesting old building.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Over all good to very but not special
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was good some of the staff were very helpful and pleasant while others were less so and left you wanting them to be better at understanding attention to the customer with a smile. A mixed bag, reception was unattended when we arrived and not clear who was in charge. Mad big key numbers about the size of a small dinner plate. Useless trouser press no iron or ironing board in the room. Shower not working very well

    Food was very good, when service was matched by the food you felt you wanted to come back, but them, that service was inconstant, (perhaps we were unlucky). Rooms were very clean and nice lighting, nice seating area and atmosphere. Bath mice to have.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.8
    Convenient for Slinfold and west Horsham
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a single room, which was quite cramped; at 6'1" my feet stuck out the end of the small single bed; bathroom was OK but cramped; little room to store a suitcase; small desk

    Full English breakfast was probably the best feature. Plenty of parking and relatively easy access from LHR or LGW (with a GPS)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    2.5
    Randomly give it a miss....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was outdated and very dusty and therefore overpriced. The breakfast was meager unless you wanted the full breakfast ( being vegetarian I didn't), The bed uncomfortable, could feel springs through the mattress, and the leg fell off! I was chided me for being early ( arriving at 4.30 in the afternoon instead of 5.30 as estimated) and the service offered by this member of staff was generally unhelpful and I found her to be rude.

    One receptionist ( blonde lady) was helpful when phone calls couldn't get through. Parking was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.3
    Great Staff and handy for the golf club
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very hot day - no air conditioning - not normally an issue!

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Late bar. Very nice 'Olde Worlde' atmosphere. Very close to Slinfold Golf Club.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    5.0
    I'd only stay there again due to location and if I couldn't find anything else near by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very tired and dated. Needs a lot spent on it. With location and age of building it could be stunning! Described as a 'Freehouse', but on!y one beer on draught. All others in bottles.

    Staff very friendly. Full English breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    3.8
    Tired facilities alongside busy road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was alongside a busy road. The room was absolutely boiling as it had sun directly through window. Staff were pretty indifferent. Decor and facilities were dated, dusty and bath hadnt been cleaned. Very depressing.

    Breakfast was fine though quite small. Parking was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.7
    Serve customers well, you'll always have customers come back to you.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I understood there was three meal course but not so. The tea is not really tea it is just warm water at night and in the morning. It is awful. If only the waiters could put themselves and make proper tea and serve would have been much appreciated.

    The location is okay with parking. it is rustic looking which is quite good. Dinner what I ordered was good except tea.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    10 out 10. We would definitely recommend the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hubby would have liked a bit more choice of draught layer as there was only the one.

    The bed was extremely comfortable. The food was delicious. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We went there for a family wedding and it was an amazing day. Everything was wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.5
    Compliments to the chef.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was very old fashioned - but it did work ok. Golden Shred marmalade at breakfast! It really did let down what was otherwise an excellent breakfast.

    Compliments to the chef. We had two delicious dinners. We loved the character of the beautiful old Sussex property. The lady members of staff were all extremely friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.1
    Very disappointing hotel. Not 4 star. Not like pictures - appalling bathroom
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was appalling. Not like the pictures dated, moldy, cracked tiles, dribble coming out of shower. soap pump for washing hair and not decent toiletries (expect that in a 3 star). Curtains so thin light beamed in. Advertised fresh fruit for breakfast and only chunks of pineapple.

    Location for next day's work and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    7.9
    The chef was excellent, and carried out our instructions to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did mention when booking that we were both alergic to cream and cheese and yet there was no option at breakfast and very little choice of fruit.

    The chef was excellent, and carried out our instructions to the letter.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    5.4
    I am sure this was a lovely place in it's heyday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite tired. The toilet leaked and the heating did not work properly. The table lamp did not work and the bathroom could have been a bit cleaner

    the staff were lovely

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.6
    short pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Postcode takes you to road but its a very long road so we got lost trying to find it. Did call and was given directions.

    Stayed overnight with my young son. Room comfy and clean. Breakfast lovely with lots to chose. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    3.3
    Go for a meal not to stay or have a drink
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed although comfortable was small. Room was small and in need of TLC. Place had no atmosphere or ambience. No music in bar. No server in bar. Had to wait 20 minutes to get a second drink - the first having been pulled by the chef. No one to book us in the chef did it. Place appears to be husband wife and an evening chef. Name of place "random hall" punches way above reality which is it is not a hall but a pub with rooms and no customers or staff. Food god and well cooked is it's saving grace.

    Food was good both when chef cooked on the evening and when owner did breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    6.7
    Random remarks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Power sockets in the bedroom were inadequate with regards to the hair dryer and mirror location. The bath room was slightly dusty and on arrival the bedroom was rather cold. The toilet didn't flush probably and had to be flushed twice on every occasion. The bar was cosy by the fire was obscured by furniture.

    The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was as good as most hotels l have stayed in. Every meal served was hot but the steak was served on a wooden platter. Wood is a good conductor of heat thus the steak got cold very quickly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.2
    Lovely stay at the Random Hall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love my husband but l also like to have my own space in the bed,l think the mattress could do with renewing as no matter how hard l tried l could not stop rolling back to him in the middle of the bed!

    Very welcoming and comfortable,lovely staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    7.9
    A nice stay in a friendly and cosy environment
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom. Wider selecton of bread. I am not fond of Croissant and just white bread. I prefer brown and rye bread. AI would like more fruit.

    The character of the buildings and garden. The friendly and helpful staff. The excellent dinner.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    5.0
    Never again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very cold - no central heating Starter Tuna Tasrtare was very unpleasant Poached eggs at breakfast - whites very undercooked

    Breakfast Main course evening meal - steak

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.2
    Staff were great, very attentive and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was in the older part of the hotel and was comfortable but could have done with some updating.

    Staff were great, very attentive and helpful. I travelled with an elderly relative, her room was very well appointed and comfortable. Breakfast was particularly good, good hot breakfast menu and well prepared.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    6.7
    Comfortable and welcoming with excellent food and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't control the radiator in the bedroom, was too hot for us. The controls for the shower were temperamental to use.

    Log fire in the bar lounge, very cosy!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    4.6
    Disappointed stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at 9ish. Welcome wasn't that good and first room only had a bath and no Hot water. Wardrobe had large spider and web inside.! ! I needed a shower to wash hair etc straight away. Very fed up about that. I told the lady down stairs and they assured me that the water was fine. I couldn't get it hot only Luke warm. They offered me another room as I requested a shower . Thankfully that was ok. Booking. Com mentioned a phone and other things in our room but no there wasn't one. Overall very tired rooms and corridors. Wouldn't stay there again sorry.

    Breakfast was very good and lovely croissants.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    7.9
    The decor may be dated but the service and hospitality are very good!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor is a little dated, but its a really old building with charm so to be expected.

    The second we walked through the door we felt very welcome. The fire was lit in the bar and the place felt really cosy. This is where we have to mention, Reenie. Part receptionist, part bar maid, part chamber maid, part waitress, part chef and a little bit of a comedienne, this lady makes the place! Her customer service skills are second to none from ensuring our room was set to our requirements, to accommodating us at breakfast and on check-out, Reenie was definitely the star of the show and a real asset to Random Hall. That's not to say that the rest of the team weren't good either. Both the waitress at dinner and the subsequent chef accommodated our requests without question. Food at dinner and breakfast were good and we left Random Hall with a great impression.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    6.7
    Random Hall - a bit too Random
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very good, but only seemed to be one / two on duty at any time. I told Reception I had to leave at 06:45 - only to find I was locked in and had to use the fire exit! Most dishes on the menu were not available.

    What food was available was very good. Overall experience was definitely a bit random!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    6.3
    A bit disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not very well organised, they were re doing the menu when we arrived so we could not eat as she didn't know what the menu was going to be. There was no one at the front of house from 7am the next morning,as advertised, meaning that we couldn't leave on time (we had somewhere to be by 8) as they had locked the door on our arrival the night before, when they did arrive, at around 8:25 they weren't very apologetic and they hindered us from leaving due to their faffing.

    nice and secluded

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    7.5
    Easy driving distance to Heathrow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here on the last night of our holiday. We arrived late and left early to get back to Heathrow. The distance to get back to the airport was just right for us to make an early flight.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    8.3
    Welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little expensive for single accommodation though. Food portions small although tasty.

    Fairly comfy beds. Staff very friendly giving a homely feeling very attentive. There would be no problem with staying solo if you felt weary of doing so. They make you feel welcome.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    The staff were really friendly and the hotel itself was full...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really friendly and the hotel itself was full of charm. Eating in the restaurant was great too - the food was really good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    Really nice place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to make toast via a toaster. Really slow, apart from that, brilliant

    Really nice place to stay. Good size bedroom. Food was very good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.5
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Host couldn’t have been more helpful. Very enjoyable stay

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: