Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rashleigh Arms 4 stars

Charlestown Road, St Austell, PL25 3NJ, United Kingdom

#20 of 26 B&Bs and Inns in St Austell

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 571 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Stunning views from and into the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I f I visited again I would have liked a bath,I also would have liked to open the window.

    I liked the friendly an efficient service.I loved the local pub and hotel combined

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Well done everyone at The Rashleigh Arms ....a blueprint for all !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just an observation.... bathroom bit small.

    First time ever stayed at a pub.....it was fabulous from start to finish .All the staff were fantastic. Great location in fact the perfect short break destination.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    A great base for our return trip to The Eden Project and local area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the connecting doors on the landing and some communal areas a bit grubby

    Enjoyed the breakfast and all the staff very helpful getting us a fan for the room as weather very hot

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Located in a beautiful setting of Charlestown harbour, it provided a perfect weekend break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not expect air conditioning but an offer of an electric fan to use would have been really welcome in the current heat.

    A perfect location well known to us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff and excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was quite some noise from the "kitchen fan" as we were staying above the restaurant.

    Large room, a quirky layout of the room which added extra space. Staff is really friendly and attentive. Nice, comfy bed. Breakfast was really good and the location is top. Clean and fresh, the restaurant offered great food. Charlestown is a little gem.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Smashing friendly pub that serves excellent food and drink
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing imparticular to dislike. Our room was small but we had booked Late and it was the last one available

    Super menu, excellent quality food and really friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.7
    OK , but not the best value for money compared to other places we stayed on our road trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room

    The room was small , the en suite was basically a wardrobe , if we were any bigger we would have been in trouble . The only window overlooked a carpark .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Relaxing & enjoyable. No pressure. Weather helped as couldn’t have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park a bit bumpy!

    The food excellent. Room small but very comfortable. Liked the decor in the restaurant. Staff friendly & helpful nothing too much trouble.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Perfect for Eden Sessions, amazing staff & great little village.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Even though Charlestown was a very small town and not much to do, we already knew that so we’re not expecting a Mecca or the busyness of a big city. The Rashleigh was perfect, incredibly close to Eden. Staff were literally head & shoulders above major city hotels, friendly, attentive & good to chat to. Bar is great, superb selection local drinks. Again, first class serviceS Will 100% be back for the sessions next year, but will also definitely stay at Rashleigh.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Venue amazing, staff could not have been nicer, spotless
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dining room is fantastic for breakfast but lacks warmth for the evening meal.

    Beds were very comfy, the place was very clean. We had a lovely breakfast and the area is beautiful. Worth a visit. We went down the road for our evening meal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Great accommodation per a lovely old refurbished pub in a lovely wee village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t fault this property.

    The rooms were spacious for a property of this type. Staff reacted quickly when we had a functional issue in our room and placed us in another room immediately.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    I stayed in the guest house of the Rashleigh.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in the guest house of the Rashleigh. It was very clean and well decorated and almost felt like home. The staff were all absolutely amazing and the breakfast was superb!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Bright and lively pub restaurant next to an historic harbour
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nowhere that is free from music - not even at breakfast time. Some sweet haven of quiet would be good.

    The car park has a Preservation Order placed on it, so even though they would like it to be less, er, characterful, they can't do anything about it so enjoy it for what it is. The setting is St Austell-on-Sea aka Charlestown Harbour, so it's great. The beer is St Austell brewery so much else is too. Lovely bedding. Great bread. Competent reliable cheffing with highlights. Good local fish and shellfish.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    10 out of 10!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Hogs Pudding for breakfast!

    Room very well appointed and a comfortable bed. Great beers and lively atmosphere in the pub. Great food well presented.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    5.4
    Holiday let down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked thinking that my wife and I would be in a room above the Rashleigh arms, and was told that we're in a guest house 60 metres away with single beds.

    The view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    Our welcome set the tone for our visit. Very polite and helpful receptionist. The staff waiting on
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps the fruit for breakfast could have been prepared in a little more detail and the cerials on show but in covered recepticles but all in all very acceptable. In fact most of the food really should be covered with easy lift off covers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The key didn't work and I got locked out in middle of night. Staff didnt' care when I reported it. we had an event and were told to leave by staff and then the bouncers arrived and started taking drinks off people. No-one had explained we had to be out by 11pm. Food was very average.

    Room was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed our short stay and would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi in our room was not working. Staff traced the problem to a faulty router. Assuming it had just gone faulty it was nobody's fault, just one of those things. Room was a little on the small side but everything was spotlessly clean. Comfortable bed, quiet surroundings gave us a good nights sleep.

    Friendly staff who gave good service. Good location, nice pub.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.7
    Great location, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are so thin that you can hear people next door snoring a well as their every move, bathroom is quite small, I’d say people bigger than an S-size wouldn’t fit, guest house building has a locked entrance door and no other fire exit, therefore in case of fire, don’t forget your keys.

    Great location, great staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.3
    The place with the nice view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As the room is in a big house with flloupstairs, we are very close to the neighbors, so you can heard everything ! Not good, uncomfortable in the middle of the night !

    The place with the nice view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    Our actual stay was very good, staff were friendly, food very good, location good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been better if £168 extra [after paying the bill] had not been taken out of my bank account. They have admitted their mistake, but still asked me to get proof it was paid from my account from my bank, which I find more than annoying. I await them reimbursing me.

    The food was very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Best place to stay in Cornwall, not just St Austell
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Really nice room with a great view, staff went out of their way to help us and the food is exactly what you dream of on the coastline, could not fault it

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Will definately be staying again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Staff were so helpful and polite. Nothing was too much trouble. Location was excellent,room over looking the sea. Breakfast was lovely! Waitresses extremly helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.3
    Atmosphere in the Pub/restaurant, quality of food and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To open window more than 10cm is not possible. Window frame very dirty! Mattress of the single bed very soft - Too close to the edge you are endangered to roll out of the bed.

    Atmosphere in the Pub/restaurant, quality of food and beer, fast wireless internet, friendly staff,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Value for Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Advertise a Cornish Full Breakfast but no Hogs Pudding which makes it an English Full Breakfast. Go up North and you are offered Black Pudding so in Cornwall you should be offered the local variant available in all butchers and even Asda.

    Bedroom and facilities were excellent. Great choice of Ales. Room well appointed with top quality towels, etc. Good location with plenty of parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.3
    Great Staff, great Hotel... cold Shower uuuuurggghhhh
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was freezing cold and there was not any hot water so very disappointing stay

    staff were excellent and the room and catering facilities were very good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Decent with good breakfast and staff if you don't mind the uninspiring decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel/bar has obviously had a redesign and its best described as pleasantly bland. Room/bathroom could have been bigger. The room was adequate but the bathroom was tiny.

    The staff were very good Breakfast was good and I recommend the salmon with scrambled eggs. Free parking. Just remember to tell the hotel your cars registration number. Location is minutes away from the beautiful beach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small & felt like a bed sit. Couldn’t believe our bathroom was in a cupboard! Bathroom doors wouldn’t even close properly. Shower very small & weak. For some reason we never got room service or clean towels. Staff were all a bit clueless & we ended up getting charged twice, this took 2 weeks to be refunded with myself doing all the chasing & no apology! Wouldn’t stay at this hotel again. Avoid car park if your car is lowered!

    Charles town is lovely beautiful quiet area but not a lot to do. Great for relaxing and got busy during the evenings. Our room was very clean and modern. Breakfast was good. Large carpark.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable, Charlestown is beautiful
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls, kept awake by snoring neighbours. Also dark route to guest house, little unnerving

    Lovely location. Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Clean comfortable room, up to date classy decor

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.1
    Nice situation , friendly staff. Would probably use again but definitely look for a larger room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on the small side, bathroom double doors very bad fit and impossible to close. No marmalade at breakfast!

    Good restaurant food with friendly service. Good choice of real ales. Accommodation very clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    8.3
    Great stay in Cornwall pub
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owing to it's age most of the floors creak.

    The bed was very comfortable and afforded me the best night's rest of my trip. While the facility is historic, everything has been updated and was very clean and organized. Staff were friendly and quite eager to help. The atmosphere in the pub portion was very welcoming and the pints went down easier than expected thanks to the good selection of local offerings. I will gladly recommend this hotel to others as well as book here again myself.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.3
    Would stay again but only in the main building.
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being in the annexe T'Gallants. Having to walk up to the main pub and restaurant probably fine in summer but not in winter. Tiniest bathroom ever.

    Spacious bedroom, good choice of teas, coffees etc, harbour view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    5.0
    It was ok but the room let’s itself down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows was nailed down and the heating you can’t adjust therr was no air in the room at all .. it was unbearable the toilet paper was hard not soft ! And when the person above you pulls the chain the waist travels through the wall which you can here all of it yuk !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.9
    Friendly, good-value pub B&B in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Menu could have been a bit more adventurous for a "flagship" pub B&B Public toilets downstairs need a deep clean

    Location and staff are excellent, rooms are good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    8.8
    despite some inconveniences it was fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I get room with view on roof form both side , and behind one window was some ventilator which working a bit loud over night , heating dont working over the night. Sooo poor connecting with wi-fi

    Really nice and big room , so close to sea side ,nice Restaurant and Pub down stairs.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    8.3
    Really fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower screen still needs fixing, it was off its bottom runner last year. Could benefit from a better towel hanging system. One was broken and towels had to be hung over the shower screen

    The location is superb, worth getting a sea view room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    Excellently
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Said it was a Cornish Breakfast but no Hogs Pudding so it made it an English Breakfast.

    Very comfortable room in TGallants. Friendly staff and great breakfast. Beer is well kept which was an important consideration with a good choice on offer. Pleasant stroll to the harbour and plenty of parking. Will return

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.1
    Don’t be fooled by the pictures on line the room was s tiny twin bathroom small little hot water
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is pay and display, which I did and then on entering the place I was asked my vehicle reg and told no to bother paying £6 down they gave me a £2 refund

    Staff were fine,friendly and helpful. Location was great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    A very lovely hotel and experience overall. I would definitely recommend and would stay here again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one minor thing - my room was near to some form of generator or maybe something from the kitchen below (a fan perhaps?) that was occasionally quite noisy in the evening. But this wasn't a major inconvenience and didn't negatively affect my stay.

    The room was lovely, very comfy bed and the bathroom was nicely decorated. Food in the restaurant was excellent, and the staff really friendly and helpful. Really close to Charlestown Harbour which is nice for a stroll too :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous, will stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one minor negative - very poor TV reception.

    From the moment we arrived we were made welcome and felt very much "at home". The restaurant was great - we had a great dinner and breakfast. The room was fabulous (no corporate identity as in a Premier), everything we wished for was present. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Good value, comfortable and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being a traditional, character building, the access to the rooms is up steep narrow stairs. Staff offered to help with luggage

    Friendly, well run pub/hotel in the idyllic port village of Charlestown

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful place in great location, only let down by occasional noise from patrons outside the bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from bar, particularly after service on Saturday. Lots of noise (talking, shouting, swearing) from road outside after bar had closed, until around 1am. Would’ve preferred meals to be available slightly later (breakfast until 10am, dinner until 9.30pm)

    Very good breakfast, attentive staff, beautiful room and building throughout. Great location for coastal walks and the Eden Project.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.6
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is shocking it takes ages to shower as there is not enough power behind the spray which means your cold the whole time and it didn’t matter what time of the day it was.

    Area is stunning, beds comfortable, rooms lovely and breakfast tops it off

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    6.3
    Ok, but disappointing as not as advertised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sail room. Bathroom ceiling mouldy. Extractor fan not up to the job and dripped water on you and left floor wet from drips. Toilet constantly dripping from cistern. Bed on shower side collapsed matress. Not the “superior delux” as advertised. Bed throw not clean.

    Good decor in public areas. Selection of ales good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    Good but could have been better
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi in the other building wasn't very good I had to take my laptop to the main building to do any work. Breakfast started at 7.30 so myself and colleague didn't have it as we had a meeting at 7.45 that morning.

    Food was excellent along with the service, decor and furnishings fitted in with the atmosphere of the bar and restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Excellent, clean hotel in a great location. Would always highly recommend.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn't anything I didn't like

    Everything about this hotel was fantastic. I travel a lot with work and have stayed in a lot of places and this hotel goes down as one of my favourites. Great staff, wonderful food and a very clean room with a comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    5.8
    Food was okay breakfast was okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The car park is a joke .It a cobbled car park which is so uneven it is dangerous. We had to change rooms because the shower room was so small you could not do anything. We donot like dogs in a pub as I think it makes the place smell and not hygienic when eating. The stairs are hardwork if your getting on in years.

    Food was okay breakfast was okay. After changing rooms then okay?

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.8
    Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a good view from either window and rather noisy fan/extract system on the flat roof outside one of the windows going on and off all night but we got used to it.

    Large room with sofa. Very comfortable bed and lovely bathroom with heated towel rail. Beautifully decorated and equipped.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.5
    Excellent accommodation, excellent breakfast but give the restaurant a miss to avoid disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    On arrival we were encouraged to book a table for our evening meal due to the anticipation of it being overly busy. We thought the food would be excellent so we booked. The meal was quite honestly the worst that I have ever been presented with / eaten. I received a refund for an inedible starter and anticipated the fish dish I ate actually making me ill. Fortunately it did not. This was our first and last evening meal at the property! I went to the breakfast table with a sense of fore-boding. Fortunately, the quality of the breakfast far exceeded my expectations. I was not however brave enough or stupid enough to try another evening meal. The meal experience spoiled our stay somewhat.

    Nearly the whole experience was excellent. We were in the the adjacent rooms which were quiet and self contained away from the main pub / inn

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    I felt really spoilt, the suite was just stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. Thank you.

    The suite was beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean. The bathroom in particular was perfect for the relaxing break we had needed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Cool, classy, comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The room was a superior room and it showed. The Inn had been renovated recently and the décor was lovely and bright. A lot of thought has gone into making the place warm and inviting. The food was lovely too and of course the beer gorgeous!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location to visit location tourist destinations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was noisy at night as people sat outside to smoke and our room was overlooking these outside tables.

    the room was spacious with everything we needed. You could see the sea over the rooftops. Charlestown is a beautiful place to walk around and there are lots of restaurants if you don't want to eat in the pub.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.6
    Really liked the hotel, would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room allocated had noisy air conditioning units on each side so not a pretty outlook. The room itself was very lovely, décor and bathroom very tastefully done.

    Beautiful smoked haddock as an option for breakfast. Good choice, nice environment

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    Room was very nice but a bit small, but I did get a low cost...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very nice but a bit small, but I did get a low cost of £63 it was the last room available that day and the others I saw when they were being cleaned were a lot bigger so really not a huge issue.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    1st class stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No big problems room gets hot and internet dint work but not a huge problem for me

    Had amazing stay soon as I check in the staff were happy to help and made my stay 1st class food was great and would 110% stay again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were old and flat Lights bulbs were so weak we could not read a map at all in the room Selection of dead flies in the overhead lightshade

    excellent food

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Great couple of days ,good accomodation,good food ,friendly and attentive staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was excellent, clean fresh,four poster, great shower and a view looking directly down to the harbour and out to sea,couldn't be better even two armchairs and nice window seat.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Loved our stay and will be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If anything, the bed was only a double so could have been bigger, but thats only a minor issue.

    Had poached egg and haddock for breakfast as you can get sausage and bacon anywhere. It was cooked perfectly both days of our stay. Rooms were not massive but they were big enough for a B&B, very clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and the area is lovely, with Eden Project, Lost Gardens of Heligan, Fowey and lots of other beautiful places close by. The B&B is open all year round as well including at Christmas. We will defiantly be returning for another stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    Better than what I was expecting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An excellent hotel all round, everything we needed for our trip. Very clean, very welcoming & very good value for money. Would be very happy to stay again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, the breakfast, the non personnel service and the lack of available food Basically I did not like it at all

    I thought the accommodation was certainly not value for money, so nothing really, the room was pokey, the on suite was a transformed cupboard and the room was so small we had hardly anywhere to put our stuff down, it was cramped and away from the main building The breakfast was about the worst I have had for a long time as the bacon had more fat on than actual bacon and the one sausage was as cheap as you could buy going by the taste, all in all very poor The evening meal , we stayed in for as my wife only really like chicken and they had at least six dishes with chicken in, we ordered at 8pm only to be told all the chicken dishes had been sold out, very poor ordering and organisation

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    We loved the location & Charleston harbour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I contacted hotel in advance regarding my elderly father's mobility problems,but wasn't advised of access to rooms via steep staircase & no available lift.

    The decor was of a very high standard,the staff were excellent.....overall a lovely stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    A comfortable and cosy seaside retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This wasn't a big deal at all but the only thing I can think of, probably just the size of the bathroom, bit cramped as it's been converted in the cupboard. But as I said that wasn't a big issue for me, just getting in/out the shower was an experience.

    We were told our room was in the guesthouse, across the car park, which was absolutely fine as it was more private. The guesthouse faced the harbour, which was a lovely view in the morning when walking out to breakfast. Bedroom was clean and comforting, the bed so soft and cosy. Had our own little kettle with tea & coffee (biscuits and hot chocolate went down a treat). Breakfast was served in the restaurant area of pub, had your own table with cups and plates already set for you, each table had plenty of space so no crowding for the guests. Plenty to choose from for breakfast (continental or cooked) Had dinner at pub also, very impressed! Food came out quick and hot. Tried the carvery on the Sunday, again plenty to choose from (eyes were bigger than belly for me) all food was lovely, unfortunately didn't get chance to try the puddings as was too full from dinner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    Room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a Superior Double . Very small en suite and although decor was lovely and the bed was large and comfortable the room seemed small with no space for the suitcase.. Car park always busy and very difficult to get a residents space.The restaurant and bar extremely busy should have a resident's area. Book a restaurant early , everywhere iin Charlestown is fully booked at night WiFi reception poor.

    Excellent location. We had a room in TGallants with a stunning view. Beautiful area with nice walks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    Great Location, friendly staff and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    View from both windows in the room consisted of a/c unit and flat roof with pigeon skeleton. Kitchen refrigeration unit motor banging loudly every hour throughout the night. As no other rooms available unable to move me. GM did give a 10.00gbp nightly discount.

    Comfortable room and bed. Good location for visiting Eden Project and Lost Gardens of Heligan.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay and look forward to booking again next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing that I could think of that I didn't like was the size of the bathroom. It was so small and the door was not a proper door, more like a cupboard door.

    The room was lovely, not very big, but clean and comfortable. The staff were always kind and helpful. The breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.7
    Good staff. Clean. But not worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twice could not park in car park. Should restrict or have some sort of pass as everyone parks there because it's free. Bath room so tiny and paying £140 per night expected better.

    Good clean room in the cottage over looking the harbour with partial views ( two trees mounted on a roundabout .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.9
    Lovely hotel, get the superior rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival, we were allocated a room in the annex 50yds away, even tho our booking confirmation stated we would be in the pub overlooking the garden. When we raised this with a staff member she felt we would be better off In the annex so we accepted that. Room 2 that we were in is very small indeed, & the bathroom is basically in a cupboard. Very difficult for my husband who is 6'2"! I thought such a small room, altho nicely presented, was poor value for what we paid, it's all about expectation, in other hotels I've seen them described as 'compact' rather than 'standard' & priced accordingly. The wifi was temperamental, tho not a huge issue. Would be great if umbrellas could be provided in T'Gallants too - for the short run to breakfast in the rain!

    The hotel is in a good location, very clean & the staff are so friendly & efficient. We ate in the restaurant most nights & every meal was very good. The room was clean, the bed comfy & bed linen & towels pristine. Breakfast is good and served by lovely friendly staff. The house keeping was superb, clean sheets all the time & fresh towels, & thoughtful touches.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful place to stay we would love to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed over on a Friday night. The bar was very busy and they were understaffed we waited quite a long time to get a drink. You also ordered your food at the bar so another wait before we could give our food order. But the food did arrive quickly which was a bonus and it was definitely worth the wait.

    A beautiful place to stay close to the sea front. The hotel was stotlessly clean and I loved the way the hotel was decorated throughout. We slept off site in their T' Gallants apartments 1 minute walk which suited us as there was no noise from the bar late at night. The food was excellent, we had stake and dressed crab for our evening meal. It was the best food we had in Cornwall for our 4 day break. Very freindly and accommodating staff. Two minute walk away is the Shipwreck & Heritage museum definitely worth a visit. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.1
    Pricey for what was provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For those not having a full English breakfast the meal was inadequate. To ask for tomato or mushrooms with scrambled egg, one does not expect the portion of egg to be reduced and only one mushroom or half a tomato !

    The beds were comfy, the shower was good, room serviced well, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Great location, Clean Hotel, Ample Parking, Nice People, Annoying Plumbing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ground floor room we had, had a pipe within it that was constantly knocking as people throughout the building used the hot or cold water. The knocking was very loud and constant throughout the day and night time. Extremely annoying at 4/5/6am in the morning!

    The room was lovely and clean. great location, quiet area, accommodation is offsite of the Pub itself.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    Most enjoyable and particularly liked the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff on our first evening meal (Thursday) in the restaurant area seemed a little inexperienced. The Friday staff were much better and everything on a very busy evening ran very well. Two of them were stars (Russell and Chloe)

    Comfy bed which is always important. Great location. Had both evening meals at Rashleigh Arms and we were very satisfied. Our first evening meal started off slowly as no-one pointed out that we needed to order everything at the bar, but once we got going it was an excellent meal and a pleasant experience

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    We had a relaxing, comfortable stay and were well fed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't always easy to find a parking spot in the car park close to residents entrance. That is us just being nit picking as we thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of our stay.

    The staff were so helpful and happy. Everyone appeared to enjoy their work and were very attentive to us throughout the stay. Food was delicious and portions generous.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.3
    Really pleasant stay, a couple of simple tweaks could make it even better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we arrived, the car park was completely full and there was no close on-street parking. We had to hump our cases down the hill after a long drive, we felt like there should probably be reserved parking for guests when you're spending £175 a night. Not a major issue at all though, we were probably just unlucky. We had a ground floor suite and it was a bit noisy when people came in, and you could hear noise overhead from the showers / toilets during the night and early in the morning, so try and get an upstairs room.

    The suite was fresh and modern, and looked like it had been renovated recently. The location is great, we weren't in the pub but a 30 second walk in a separate building, which was probably better to be honest. Breakfast was great, really fresh and quickly made. We enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    first, its location, outstanding, roomy inside, even when...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    first, its location, outstanding, roomy inside, even when busy, a great breakfast with helpful staff . walking off the property you do have the road leading down to the harbor, but its not hectic. will stay here again, thanks.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    Very good accommodation and location, excellent staff and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Car park could be a bit more even on the foot.

    The Rashleigh had excellent staff, good breakfast, very clean room, fresh towels daily etc in room. Ideal location for touring cornwall.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: