Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Raven Hall Hotel 3 stars

Raven Hall Road, Ravenscar, YO13 0ET, United Kingdom

#3 of 4 hotels in Ravenscar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1142 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Buffet breakfast a little disappointing but excellent value for the money

    Hotel excellent ,in a Beautiful location ,Grounds amazing ! Overall 10 out of 10

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The twin room was a bit on the small side. There was only one sitting chair for two guests. To me there seemed to be too much furniture - there could have been one less chest of drawers, which would have made space for another sitting chair and a small occasional table. The TV was very small. While the food was not expensive, my choice - Thai Red curry - was poorly presented and simply not tasty.

    The location is the selling point for Raven Hall. The staff are friendly and helpful. The grounds are exceptional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was a little small but we should have asked for a larger one.

    Fabulous location between Whitby and Scarborough, would definitely book a room with a sea view, stunning scenery, the pool is small but lovely for a quick dip and the breakfast is first class, the food in the restaurant is one of the best meals we have had in a long time in a hotel. 5 star quality. The service is excellent too. The grounds are lovely to wander around.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rough, uneven car park and path to and from the hotel to the car park. We had a quiet room and fab view thankfully. Others were on the far side of hotel looking through scaffolding which was up against that side of the hotel for repairs/ refurbishing.

    Restaurant food very good and it's window view over the bay were beautiful especially to see the sunset.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loved the views and the unusual nature of the building's setting. We particularly appreciated curtains with effective blackout and excellent reading lights.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Menu is misleading in the Bar/Restaurant if you want steak, you then have to pay extra for having steak ! The Breakfast man who checks your room of the list, needs lessons in smiling, didn't really seem happy :( or very friendly.

    Fantastic rooms overlooking the bay, Wonderful breakfast with plenty of choice, rooms lovely and quiet ,There was a wedding at the time but never heard a sound all night. Overall would defiantly return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    mattress rather uncomfortable.

    Amazing location on the top of the cliffs with far reaching views and lovely gardens. Large well fitted bedroom. Very clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent buffet breakfast - hot and cold- and you could order special items. Very good leisure facilities although we did not use them on this occasion. Definitely a hotel we will return to.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a truly magnificent location and all the staff were friendly and very helpful. The food was excellent and very good value for money. Our room was comfortable and well equipped with a lovely view out to sea.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of this hotel and the view across the bay is amazing. When we stayed the weather was beautiful which meant we got the full benefit of the view and the hotel grounds which were very pretty. We loved it. The restaurant was very nice too, the service was excellent and the staff were friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar meal could have been better

    The view from bedroom window was stunning ,Bed very cosy, Room and Toilet very clean and tidy,Buffet breakfast great, Smartly dressed and very friendly staff and a lovely location and stunning grounds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Just couldn’t connect to WiFi but used mobile data.

    Beautiful room with lovely view. Friendly helpful staff. Pet made very welcome even given a welcome bag with biscuits in. Lovely grounds and area. Very nice food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Receptionists are almost hidden behind the high front to their desk, which is not exactly the most welcoming first sight. Reception could do with, say, some fresh flowers or better lighting.

    The setting of the hotel on the cliffs is delightful, especially seeing the lights of Robin Hood's Bay across the dark water as the dense sea fog lifted during dinner in the panoramic dining room, and in the morning sunshine we had a view of green terraces going down to a blue sea. Do not miss the battlements of the headland garden blasted out of the cliff. Picnic heaven!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in wasn’t great. Room wasn’t ready when we arrived but we were a little early. Didn’t offer to give an overview of the facilities it where anything was in the hotel eg bar, lounge or leisure facilities

    Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower head kept falling down and water temp. varied from cold to too hot, hot tap was very loose so sprayed water all over, mattress incredibly lumpy and uncomfortable, unable to see out of one window due to internal condensation, surfaces dusty, TV very fiddly to operate, bath panel coming off. It may just have been the room we were in and I really should have complained but as the staff on reception when we arrived appeared very indifferent (e.g. no info. given regarding facilities on arrival) so we felt that had we complained on departure nothing would have been done. I wonder if because we were on a 'deal' we had been given a substandard room?

    location and breakfast were excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant could have been opened longer

    We visited in May when temperatures were quite low but in the hotel the central heating was on and made us feel as at home! Furthermore, the Hotel is situated in an amazing place, plenty area for a nice walks and when there is no cloudy or foggy, views are just fantastic. Moreover, rooms are very big and spacious, very comfortable beds as well

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not cleaned very well for all of our stay had work going on On the roof so lots of dust that was not cleaned up and we were not told about it.

    Great hotel in a great place a bit tired but still very nice with very friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Scrambled egg - disgusting - it was pale yellow - looked like powdered egg

    The lights over the bed with the extra light for reading - brilliant and when we reported that a bulb had gone, the maintenance man changed it within minutes and replaced the other one. The location overlooking Robin Hood's Bay is brilliant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is very tired and in need of a complete refurb in my opinion. The bedroom was adequate but it was difficult to open the wardrobe door due to the bedside table being in the way and no way of moving it. In all the room was little bit small with the twin beds squashed in with no space between them and no way of being able to separate them. There was also only one bedside light. For the cost I would have expected at least a nice view and not just the back of the hotel and the car park.

    The hotel is situated in a truly wonderful location with stunning views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was very good with beautiful views , went swimming which was very good, staff were very helpful in all a really lovely time as it was my birthday.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was the best man to my brothers wedding and neither of our rooms were ready until after the actual wedding.. very difficult getting ready in the toilets.. !!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only down side kept waiting over 45 mins for a haddock& poached egg breakfast . Stunning view from restaurant lovely bedroom

    The location and the view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We like how well the staff looked after us as I am disabled they made me feel very comfortable. They also looked after my sister and her partner who came to visit us on her birthday.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow access into hotel when carrying a lot of luggage. Rotating door a little too small.

    Location, location, location. Superb location with views across robins hood bay. Restaurant food was excellent. Hotel and restaurant staff very friendly and helpful. Very relaxed atmosphere. Room was comfortable and well serviced daily. Ideal base for exploring the North York Moors. Only nine miles from Scarborough, which is worth a visit if only for the fish and chips at Winking Willie by the harbour.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a strange corridor that ran through it for the fire escape for the rest of our floor.

    The Staff were so friendly and welcoming, they really made our stay! The views were beautiful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was in need of a revamp, the bed was very uncomfortable, the decor was tired, electric light bulbs missing, over bed lamp shades were tatty, loose headboard, one window had trapped condensation making it difficult to see out, hotel in general needs a lot of TLC

    The view over the bay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't use the swimming pool or games room because there was a wedding on.

    Staff were lovely and friendly, and knowledgeable about the surrounding area. We wouldn't have found the seals without them. Special mention to Georgia in the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Scaffolding up for work on the roof which slightly obscured the view but no work being done whilst we were there

    Splendid location and very good facilities, well run

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited selection of draught Beer, and quite expensive. Music from the wedding in the function room was VERY loud so had to close the windows on the hottest day for some time..... Had hoped for a quiet Sunday overnight stay.

    Fabulous location. Great for walking Cycling. Excellent Breakfast. Good Parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The TV instructions were not easy to follow and could do with fuller card to describe the way to obtain programmes but apart from that we were happy with our stay.

    The friendliness and efficiency of the staff. We have stayed here before and the experiences have all be excellent. The food is always good and served very pleasantly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    The stunning sea views.The hotel was lovely with good sized bedrooms and a fabulous power shower! Plenty to choose from the menu and a varied vegetation option.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to say really - perhaps bathroom would benefit from a little TLC.

    Had an absolutely lovely time - the views were spectacular. The food in the restaurant was excellent. Great location if you love walking. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay - wouldn't hesitate in going back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee in the room but that’s just being picky!

    Beautiful rooms. Plenty of facilities to use. Even though there was a wedding taking place they didn’t take over the hotel which was great. Made use of the restaurant where it was fantastic service, beautiful food and amazing views over the bay. Brilliant place to enjoy the east coast for a weekend getaway.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More choice on the bar meal menu would be good. Also the pillows were rather worn and a poor quality

    Staff very pleasant helpful and friendly,we shared our stay with a coach party of elderly people, Ben, in the restauraunt was really kind and respectful towards them. Having stayed at rave hall a few times , it didn't dissapoint, and as usual we had an amazing time. Brilliant location for walking, tremendous views. Helped by the scorching weather, which unfortunately isn't always the case.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toiletries supplied were okay but not replenished for second night of stay

    Huge comfy bed and large room. Shower was excellent too. Stayed in room 127 which was much nicer than rooms we'd had previously.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of dinner was a rip off. The isolationist of the hotel gave it a head start in being able to price it's meal at far higher level than one would have expected. Three scoops of ice cream as a desert option?. Very poor. It seemed to want to be something that it wasn't for that price!!

    The view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff could not have been more helpful. We took our guide dog puppy in training and he was made very welcome, as were we. The location is fabulous and we enjoyed lovely walks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slow service between courses but presume this was a one off.

    Excellent staff, property & grounds, quick check-in, stayed after a wedding rather than getting taxi home ! Great area for walking (would need transport to surrounding towns etc). Great price on Booking.com.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower didn't have any power and was either very hot or cold.

    The bed extremely comfortable, good nights sleep. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room, ground floor easy access to facilities. Staff very friendly and helpful, great venue, spectacular views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really

    Our second stay here and this time we paid for a seaview and what a view!! Staff very polite and attentive but not over fussy. Blowing a gale outside but the hotel was nice and warm and cosy. Comfy bed and wake up to a great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast started with a clear day and beautiful sunshine. By the time we had finished, the fog had rolled in over the ocean and we were not able to enjoy the view any more.

    The view from the room and the restaurant was spectacular. The gardens and surrounds were a pleasure to walk in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Duty managers foreign spoken gentlemen very abrupt to elderly party on the next table to us... Kept saying look how efficient I am when pouring our drinks then showered himself with beer as he had a glass in each hand under the pumps and couldn't turn it off. Kept calling me Mother. Asked if we could access the beach to walk to robin hoods bay, told no.. you can and we did.. Amy needs to brush up on her local knowledge

    Excellent location, room and hotel overall

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed at the hotel many times in the past and have noticed the standard slipping over the years. The views have however have always brought us back probably not anymore

    The spectacular views and the great walking country in the vicinity

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    A gem of a hotel in a quiet location out of Whitby, spotlessly clean rooms and a peaceful nights stay. Great breakfast on a morning, and found all the staff friendly....

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a couple of cobwebs in the corner of the room but I suspect that’s not a regular thing!

    The location of the property was fantastic, great views and lots of nearby walks and activities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food, dinner was over price and not good quality

    Really enjoyed our stay , although breakfast was fine the dinner was poor and not worth the prices charged, staff we really professional and attentive and apart from dinner we had a lovely stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing could have been improved on.

    Everything was excellent - accommodation, staff, food. The grounds would have been wonderful had it not been very foggy for all of our stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard beds and dirty towels and bath mat

    Staff all very nice especially a chap behind the bar who was lovely with my son. Towels and bath mat stained in our room and the bed wasn't very comfortable, uneven mattress and hard to sleep on. Everything else was excellent though so can't complain and would stay again. My son loved this place especially the pool. It is a little hot in the restaurant and bar found ourselves stripping off

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard and uncomfortable didn't sleep very well

    The hotel overall was lovely, staff friendly and helpful food very good good prices

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be better if you could just order one course if you aren't feeling so hungry,rather than having to pay for a minimum 2 courses. The food was really good though.

    Relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff,nice real fire,straight out the door onto the coastal walk

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toast was warm bread but the rest made up for that ;-)

    The room was lovely and clean even though the view was hindered by the scaffolding it was still lovely. The evening meal was superb too

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike about the stay.

    The location was amazing. Very comfortable beds, I had the best nights sleep. Even the scaffolding that was up due to essential roof works couldn't spoil the view. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the breakfast and the food was very good. Will definitely be back to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scaffolding - no recompense for this. Pool cold. Sauna poor. Smell in corridor bad outside room 113. £5 for ice bucket horrendous. Topping up of breakfast slow. Bakery empty at 940am and not topped up. Hotel shabby in areas

    Scenery beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was separated by a door to the room next to us & the people was annoyingly loud. One could hear everything. After we checked in we were in our room & housekeeping just barged in without knocking or apologising to finish their job (this was after 3pm). Improvements can be done regarding scurting boards, painting etc. The games room was freezing.

    The food was tasty & the room spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath water was too hot, struggled to cool it. Not a complaint but was unusual.

    The food was of a good standard. Our bedroom was larger than expected. Staff very helpful. Wonderful position and views from the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant menu and food style was pleasant but very old fashioned and waiting staff didn't know much about the menu. Expensive for what you got and wasn't given the option of eating in the bar area, even though you could. Didn't know until we went for a drink afterwards.

    All the hotel staff were very friendly and we were given an upgraded room for my husband's birthday which was very kind. Hotel manager was great and looked after us really well. Even sang happy birthday to my husband after our meal with a little cupcake! Very sweet. Room was lovely and very comfortable and hotel was in a great location overlooking the bay. Lovely to have breakfast looking at the sea. Lovely stay overall.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was out of order that was disappointing

    Location great view from our room fabulous pity about the sea fret in the morning but hotel couldn't help that!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal in the hotel restaurant wasn’t up to our expectations, after experiencing the other aspects of the hotel.

    The hotel was in an excellent location on the edge of robins hood bay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room were very large . The view was to die for... comfort all the way ..

    Comfortable, staff were all very polite. Easter morning greeted with a small Easter egg for breakfast such a nice touch.... loved our stay will be back soon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roof leaked in the room we were in, the dripping woke me up in the middle of the night, luckily it was not over the bed and the rain was not torrential. When this was reported at checkout the receptionist did not seem surprised. The manager did not seem to think this was an issue and reluctantly gave us a free drink on the house however when charging £100 a night this is not sufficient. The ceiling and walls in our room had numerous water stains which indicated our experience was not isolated. This makes the managers reaction acting with shock at the incident very frustrating. The scaffolding and plastic over the bay window on the outside also make it hard to believe this had not been reported previously. In addition to this the hotel advertise promotions in the rooms which are no longer available at the bar which was frustrating.

    Waiting staff at breakfast very polite and efficient. Comfy bed with in the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did think the glassware in the bar could be better quality and the selection of spirits and mixers could be improved .

    The Position of the hotel on the clifftop is second to none weather permitting, the views are spectacular, we will definitely return in the summer months and enjoy doing some of the clifftop walks, Most enjoyable stay. Thank You.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were happy with everything

    Everything was great, the room was lovely and comfortable, staff were friendly and helpful, the facilities were great and the location and view was spectacular, even the scaffolding did not obstruct the view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A huge wedding being held there spoiled the experience. we could not use the lounge for lunch as a loud band were playing. when they departed for their own lunch we were informed that it was too late for lunch and could only have afternoon tea. they should either open up the restaurant or leave a section of the lounge sealed off for other guests when this happens. further more - we should have been forewarned a wedding party was booked when we booked, as we would not have come for a quiet weekend away there had we known this was the case.

    Lovely views and location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no draught real ale

    most incredible location on the top of the cliffs overlooking Robin Hoods Bay. The place was lovely and warm and the food excellent. The vies from the dining room are wonderful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was in desperate need of "TLC" and the overhaul décor needed some attention. The evening food set menu was overpriced for what was on offer

    The hotel was in keeping with the period, The reception area was nice with the wood panelling and the staff welcoming. Breakfast and choice was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of attention to detail, e.g. bath panel loose, curtain rail fell down, TV aerial wire out of fitting, two light bulbs not working, toilet seat loose. All niggles which together gave a bad impression. Very pleasant maintenance man fixed curtain rail and TV

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was hot and quite small. In the leisure facilities the sauna was not switched on unless requested (which is a bit late to find out once you are undressed and the staff are at the other end of the hotel!). Some of the décor needs updating.

    Location, staff and nice views / facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Never going to stay here again

    Very very tired room curtain NETS on windows was dirty and view was poor view of the roof and bedding was just about making the bed shortage at headboard lift wasn't any good far away from the our room The breakfast was very poor for value of money and the pool was out of order in otherwords they couldnt be bothered to open it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location, hotel grounds and overall experience is AMAZING. There are some ongoing refurbishments which may render it even more great but it's really OK now. Bathrooms are modern and spotlessly clean, the rooms are huge and really well furnished. The views of Robin Hood Bay are simply amazing and makes you feel the whole history of this place. Great breakfast in a restaurant with panoramic views of the bay - simply marvellous.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much other than some of the public areas could do with sprucing up decoratively and that annoying TV wall mount.

    All about the location, location, location with stunning views over the Bay. Staff were very attentive helpful and friendly and the catering was of a reasonably high standard, although the dinner menu is a bit limited. Our room was small but clean and tidy, certainly fit for purpose apart from the TV wall mount which encouraged you to bang your head every time you walked past.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating over your dining table was too much and the hotel was way too hot even at that time of year. It did become quite stuffy walking to the room with the bags etc. But not a major issue if I had to be picky.

    All the above are rated at the top level, but one chap made me feel like a vip guest, the Asian matre Dee, he let us sit at a better table with a better view and spent time talking to us, really friendly. Also loved the open fire and chairs and the room was so big with two tv’s in the end wing. The scaffolding work didn’t put us off one bit and we defiantly want to come back. We booked the wrong day over the half term break but turned up and was still allowed to stay that night. The food was at a high standard. All round very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't discover the pool - so perhaps better (or more unmissable) info about the facilities

    We liked manybthings,; especially the spaciousness of our room and the view from the dining room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the reception staff was rather grumpy when we checked in. For a moment, it made us wish we had gone somewhere else but then everything else was brilliant so we soon forgot about it.

    Fantastic view while having breakfast and a lovely bedroom. We thoroughly enjoyed the swimming pool and everything was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a shame that the A La Carte dining room monopolised the majority of the windows with the beautiful views as it would have been lovely to be able to sit and read with the amazing views. Certain areas of the hotel were rather cold but this might well have been due to the extreme weather conditions rather than the norm.

    Lovely breakfast. Staff were really helpful especially as we were snowed in and they sough to keep us updated re how passable roads were. Normally this would be an ideal location to enjoy and explore the beautiful coastline- but not in the midst of the current weather "Beast from the East" and Storm Emma! Rooms were comfortable and very adequate- nicer coffee in the bedrooms would have been appreciated but the coffee from the bar was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All l would point out is that yes the building is old with character, however, our room was very modern with every bit of character stripped away. Shame! Don't get me wrong it was lovely room. Paths within the grounds are a little difficult if you have walking problems.

    Exremely clean, the views from the dining room were exceptional, staff were plentiful (so unusual) and were very pleasant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room facilities were very outdated-- in particular a "power shower" (read: low flow, rather cold shower) that has no place in the 21st century. The buffet breakfast was pretty average.

    The views from the breakfast room were spectacular. Check-in and check-out were very efficient.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: