Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ravenscourt House 4 stars

Seafield Avenue, Grantown on Spey, PH26 3JG, United Kingdom

#7 of 25 hotels in Grantown on Spey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 104 hotel reviews

9.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful location within the Cairngorms National Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing springs to mind!

    Beautiful location within the Cairngorms National Park. Lots of lochs, wildlife and hikes on your doorstep. Brilliant hosts who were ever so helpful and enhanced our stay even more. Clean and tidy room with a lovely en suite bathroom. Delicious cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    everything was just what we expected, would visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Callum cooks a lovely breakfast, Cathy had all the answers to our question to the area, The bedroom was large and spacious with a good view from the window, The house is five minuets walk to all the restaurants and bars but situated in a quite road so not to be disturbed by people out enjoying themselves.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had the downstairs bedroom which had no windows (felt like I was staying in a motel) and there is no shower door on the shower and I made a watery mess...

    Calum and Cathy are the nicest people I've possibly ever met! Nothing was too much of a bother, and they were so friendly. Truly the best hosts. I really liked the honesty bar too!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Our room and ensuite were spotlessly clean, the decor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room and ensuite were spotlessly clean, the decor beautiful and the added extras of biscuits , coffee machine and cold water , were lovely. Our hosts were friendly and the breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Stellar hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room (Double/Twin)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fantastic.

    Callum and Kathy were the best hosts during our stay at their beautiful Ravenscourt hotel. From the moment we arrived, it felt like we were guests in their home. They were insistent on helping us have the best visit to Grantown on Spey by booking us restaurants, researching train and tour tickets and helping us find the best trails to hike on. Callum also shared his fabulous whiskey collection (available to all guests at the honesty bar) and was very eager to enlighten us with some of his expertise. We will definitely go back if not just for their great conversation. Thank you!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    The warm welcome and upgrade to a massive room was greatly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The warm welcome and upgrade to a massive room was greatly appreciated. Breakfast was delicious, porridge followed by a cooked breakfast sorted our hangover out!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Most enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (ensuite)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing.

    Particularly good breakfast. Lovely Scottish property. Great ambiance, welcoming hosts. Very good location. Thoroughly enjoyed our 7 day stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The homemade bread and preserves were delicious, the kippers a real treat and the hostess (Kathy) couldn't have been more helpful . An excellent stay and more than happy to return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    A beautiful find at an amazing price. Well worth visiting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    This is a beautiful home with absolutely delightful hosts. From the fresh made organic breakfast items to the tasteful decoration and accommodations of the rooms to the engaging conversations with the hosts we were very impressed. If you are traveling to the Cairngorms but don't want to stay in the middle of the crowds, I highly recommend this. The town is very sweet too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Great B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Very clean and comfortable room. Excellent breakfast. Staff is very friendly and helpfull. We had a great whiskytasting in the evening. We would certainly come back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Great stay with our family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great time over New Year. Lots of room to play games etc. We were there with our family and we all had a great time. Comfy beds and great breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Suite with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We shared the family room which is spacious but the bathroom quite small. I believe it will be refurbished soon, and Kathy kindly offered us the use of another bathroom in the hall for getting ready in.

    Kathy and Callum are the perfect hosts. They were kind and accommodating and as we were part of a wedding party went out of their way to make sure we were all taken care of and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Relaxing stay in a beautiful house in a quiet yet central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved the large exceptionally comfortable bed. Beautiful well appointed ground floor room with excellent wet room, ideal for my wife who has limited mobility. Sumptuous individually cooked breakfast taken in the large airy conservatory.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing with comfortable accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing really.

    Welcoming hosts who made our stay a pleasure. Excellent breakfasts and a quiet and comfortable room. Will return in the future and recommend this guest house to our friends. The location is ideal for exploring Speyside, Deeside and Loch Ness area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    We loved Ravenscourt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    We loved Ravenscourt. The breakfast was fabulous, the "family room" was really spacious and my daughter had her own room, we loved the honor bar system and the water in the refrigerator upstairs, Grantown on Spey is darling, and Kathy could not have been nicer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Truly lovely Scottish house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it all!

    Truly lovely Scottish house. Room was spotlessly clean and we loved the attention to detail such as the Tunnocks teacakes left under the small glass domes on bedside cabinets. Breakfasts excellent - didn't need to eat agin until evening!! Lovely friendly hostess and cheerful, helpful waitress in breakfast conservatory. Enjoyed watching the wildlife, including red squirrels, while eating breakfast. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Home away from home in Scotland
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing!

    Ravenscourt house is the perfect place to be in Grantown-on-Spey. You can walk anywhere; it is really close to the High Street. The owners, Kathy and Calum, make you feel like home, as if you were part of their family. The breakfast is awesome, bread and marmelade / jam are homemade, everything is sourced locally and arranged so nicely in the breakfast room, and you can choose each day what you would like the next morning. Kathy and Calum are helping you with all information you need. They offer an honesty bar with beer, wine, non-alcoholics, and about 75 whiskies, as Calum is a whisky lover. So you always can end the day in a nice living room with a good drink. The room was nice and spacious, and very clean and cosy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Home away from home in Granstown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (ensuite)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful B&B. Very cozy and comfortable. The owner Kathy was very helpful and friendly. Great breakfast prepared every morning with fresh quality ingredients. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. The parlor had a pay as you go whisky bar, with lots of reading material and guides on whisky. Nice touch.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Great place to stay, nice friendly couple who run the place,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay, nice friendly couple who run the place, super breakfast incl perfect poached eggs and homemade bread. Room lovely and clean plus very comfortable bed (I suffer from back pain so a good mattress is important!)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (ensuite)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't fault this place, was made really welcome from the start. Room lovely and clean, bed really comfortable. Breakfast was exceptional. Thanks to Kathy, Callum and staff we really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    7.9
    Altogether a good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have preferred: breakfast cereals other than in individual packets; washbasin in bathroom rather than in bedroom; . None of this spoiled the experience

    All good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    10
    Grand place to stay in Grantown-on-Spey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (ensuite)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect!

    Lovely hosts, beautiful and clean historical home, perfect accommodation. Each morning we were served a wonderful hearty breakfast to start our day. Grantown-on-spey is a beautiful place to visit in Scotland,very safe, and a stay at Ravenscourt House made it even more special. If we ever come back, will definitely stay again. Thank you Callum and Kathy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    An extremely enjoyable experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything is fantastic.

    Very comfortable apartment and extremely friendly host. We have an enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Great place, wonderful room, fantastic breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Great place, wonderful room, fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Lovely bed and breakfast, couldn’t fault it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely house and very friendly owners. Really clean, comfy bed and good shower. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    We had a great time, good location for days out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (ensuite)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything, no complaints

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    The service was absolutley fantastic and the athmosphere...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was absolutley fantastic and the athmosphere warm and welcoming!//Mats-Sweden

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Nice staff,lovely spacious bedroom,.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice staff,lovely spacious bedroom,.loved the home made jam at breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    Great! I'd like to go back when not working for a few days holiday!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (ensuite)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A warm and welcoming small hotel, with comfortable facilities and well positioned within the town to relax overnight after a heavy business schedule.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room (Double/Twin)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was excellent as was breakfast and would certainly stay again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    A very enjoyable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was perfect

    The breakfast was amazing, cooked beautifully and piping hot. Homemade bread and marmalade, a real treat.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    Homely feel in Scotland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very warm and welcoming, the whiskey tasting was a great addition. Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    The breakfast was really good and served in a splendid place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room (ensuite)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was really good and served in a splendid place by the friendly and helpful staff. The bedroom was immaculate.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    A good choice of accommodation in this part of Scotland
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (ensuite)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy room, good scottish breakfast, recommend to others

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Friendly, Nice, quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long thinking... I don't know

    Nice old building, friendly staf, amazing breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners were very welcoming and kind. Great service. They even gave our little girl a birthday card! Lovely house in a really good location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.6
    Received very warm welcome, lovely big room and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Received very warm welcome, lovely big room and very comfortable. Great selection at breakfast and plenty to eat

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    the proprietors made you feel welcome and were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could not Fault anything

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    Highly recommended. A real home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    A very relaxed atmosphere. Great breakfasts. Comfy beds. A lovely couple

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    10
    Kathy and Calum made us very welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing it was all great.

    Kathy and Calum made us very welcome. The room was spotless and the bed extremely comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    8.8
    Very comfy bed, good sized rooms, powerful hot shower, big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom was cold

    Very comfy bed, good sized rooms, powerful hot shower, big towels, lovely breakfast including lots of fresh fruit Helpful, accomodating owners

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    9.2
    Bed was very large and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The earliest breakfast was served was 8.00 and with Cairngorm being 40 mins away we had to leave earlier. However, the owner made us a surprise packed breakfast.

    Bed was very large and comfortable. Bathroom was very high spec.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    10
    The couple who own and run the property were very welcoming.
    • Couple

    The couple who own and run the property were very welcoming. The property was in good order and tastefully decorated. The breakfast was plentiful and well presented.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    10
    Great freshly cooked breakfast;
    • Couple

    Great freshly cooked breakfast; warm, clean, comfortable room; welcoming hosts; location handy for town centre; car parking. Ravenscourt House had everything we needed for our stay and we would have made more use of the comfortable lounges and bar if we'd had more time. We would not hesitate to return.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    10
    Very good breakfast in a nice conservatory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very good breakfast in a nice conservatory.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    10
    great breakfasts,very comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    great breakfasts,very comfortable room.close to local amenities,very clean

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    10
    Comfy beds, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Comfy beds, great location

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: