Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ravenstone Lodge Country House Hotel 3 stars

Bassenthwaite, Keswick, CA12 4QG, United Kingdom

Review score

Based on 532 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls a little thin and could hear people in the restaurant underneath, however, this wasn't a problem after 10:30 when the bistro bar had closed.

    Beautiful location with great views! Staff were helpful and polite. Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing that was not the propertys fault was the room due ti the hot weather was hot and even with the window open there was no air circulating. However when we mentioned it to the staff they provided us with a oscillating room fan

    Very friendly staff and views were magnificent. We would highly recommend it for a relaxing stay which is very near to Keswick main town and will be certainly be back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    The setting of this lodge is amazing, the views are peaceful and we could't help ourselves but to ask to eat outside and the staff made it happen! They let us treat the salon like we were in our own home, what more can you ask for?

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room (3) was a bit small but adequate for our needs and the location .

    The owners and staff were welcoming, attentive and made the stay very special. The accommodation was clean and well presented. Breakfast options were varied, well cooked and set you up for the day whilst the standard of evening meals showed why they have received awards.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views and walks were gorgeous. A short drive to Keswick and walks in the immediate vicinity without having to get in the car. Breakfast and dinner were excellent. The room was clean and modern. Staff were friendly and helpful. Nice selection of local drinks in the bar!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too warm but we were blessed with good weather so not really anyone’s fault but maybe a fan in the room would help.

    Jane greeted us and was warm and welcoming just like the rest of the staff. Mike made a point of stopping and chatting with us after breakfast. Little gem of a place. Breathtaking views. Comfortable and clean rooms with lovely little touches. Shower was fantastic, just what you need after a sightseeing day. Food was fresh and tasted delicious. Plenty of it too. Nothing was too much for the staff to make our stay the delight that it was. Highly recommend and will be staying again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor above room very creaky and think someone must have walked the room each night as it came through the ceiling each night and early morning!!

    Bed very comfy and excellent shower

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very pleased to find that the hotel had charging facilities for electric cars since very few do in our experience. However, provided by Tesla for their cars, the extra supposedly universal point was anything but and so we didn't manage to charge our (non-Tesla) EV.

    An excellent chef - two dinners eaten - both wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, everything was as we expected.

    Just a very nice country house hotel, looked after by the owner who could not have been more helpful, lovely location ,nice and quiet, not to far from the major towns of the Lake District.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place and people were lovely, my only fault would be the room we stayed in was very small...but for 2 nights it was fine.

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and the breakfasts were lovely with a wide variety of choice. The views were beautiful and was especially nice with the incredible weather we had over the bank holiday weekend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything more we needed on our stay

    The hotel was very welcoming and we where made to feel relaxed and enjoy our stay. Food was excellent and Mike and the staff where great. Perfect location with beautiful views and walks directly from the gardens

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stains on chair in bedroom, and in sheets. One pillow instead of two. Only soap- had to ask for toiletries. Old dried pee in bidet. Warned them I was gf at booking - no gf bread at breakfast. Had to ask if cereal- some gf cornflakes brought out- small amount - finished them but no gf cereal next day though they had got bread in. Room smelled musty- needed to air it. Bathroom light comes on automatically and you can't override the timed switch off - disturbing for partner at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't anything to not like! Really friendly welcoming staff. Beautiful food. Cannot wait to stay again.

    Absolutely everything! The only thing I could fault was not booking longer!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't fault this place really, although we can't comment on the bar or restaurant as we didn't need to use them - which is a shame cos the menu looked great! Will have to stay again to try it!

    Really happy with our room, which was a decent size, clean white decor, stunning view outside. Great shower! Friendly welcoming place, peaceful, would definitely stay again. And a gorgeous breakfast I might add.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temperature in the room was quite warm,think this was mainly due to the towel rail in the bathroom.

    Homemade biscuits in the room were a lovely touch. Room was clean and cosy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was closed early on a Saturday night. Room was a premium room but was smaller than imagined. Adequate though.

    Excellent location, friendly staff and a great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    You can hear conversations between rooms 3 and 4. which makes you a bit uneasy about disturbing other guests if staying up late or getting up early.

    All the staff were really friendly, food was really tasty with a good choice for breakfast and dinner. Room was cosy,clean and bright with plenty of storage and serviced daily. Views are amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue we had was waiting to order our sweets and then waited for delivery of our sweets in the restaurant but the food was really good and well presented. Well worth the wait.

    Really lovely well cooked full Cumbrian breakfast. Rooms are lovely clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Short drive to Keswick and rest of Lake District. Quiet location ideal for a one night stay. Lovely restaurant and bistro on site so no need to travel out to dine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike everything was spot on

    We have not had a break in years so was a little worried about what we was booking. Turns out there was nothing to worry about the staff were outstanding,very friendly,very helpful nothing was too much trouble room was lovely and clean Everything there in the room you needed down to the taxi information dentists and doctors very much attention to detail. Good value for money felt very welcome defo thinking of booking again only downfall was we did not book long enough Very happy customers

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. The whole experience was five star

    It’s was outstanding. From the moment we walked in. It was welcoming and very friendly. The food and service was top class. Exceptional value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small & the shower compact

    Friendly staff,warm welcome Excellent location,lovely walk to the beautiful St Bega's Church Great food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are a little small and the walls are thin so it can be noisy.

    The staff is very friendly, the views are lovely and the restaurant is amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing brilliant recommend to anybody

    Staff food owner all very welcoming and polite. Chef cooking excellent. Sue and nick so accommodating mike owner also kindly upgraded our room at no extra charge. Thank you all again for making mine and Julie time great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WiFi was unreliable, being based on a satellite broadband connection. When it worked, the page-loading speed was good, but it was plagued with timeouts and DNS errors. Patchy internet access is pretty much par for for course in Cumbria, but I was getting a reliable 4G signal on my phone, so there clearly are better connection options available in the area.

    A great view of the fells. A range of breakfast options, with some delicious homemade bread and muffins, and nice kippers.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny dirt mark on the toilet, the restaurant also got extremely busy so when we returned to park our car there was no space. We had to come into the main reception and ask if we could park elsewhere

    We stayed here before a few years ago and wanted to return to the same hotel, the staff are so welcoming it’s like your family. They don’t disturb or push you into things either, they leave you with the choice. In the room you get a jar full of homemade biscuits, these are to die for and so much so upon paying we mentioned how lovely they are sue gave us two buns to enjoy too!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was amazing, very big with french windows, completely exceeded our expectations. The room was cosy, warm and exceptionally clean. We stayed for 2 nights and really enjoyed the comfortable surroundings. The staff were most helpful and friendly, breakfast was lovely, particularly enjoyed the fresh baked bread and warm muffins, such a treat. Will surely be returning to this great Hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were lovely with comfy bed, good space, cleanliness throughout the room and bathroom, the food in the bistro was lovely, as was breakfast in the morning. Staff couldn't have done enough for us, all were lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower room was very small, a person with high BMI will not be able to fit in. The walls are too thin, you can hear what the person is doing next door, including someone snoring all night.

    The food in bistro was very good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An admin error ended in my room payment being taken twice, this could have been avoided.

    Food was delicious, breakfast has so much choice it was the best we’d had. Room was really nice, finishing touches made it feel extra special.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As a non meat eater ,wasn't too impressed with the restaurant table mats depicting picture of fillet steak dripping with blood ,

    excellent food,scrumpious homemade biscuits in room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Lovely view from room, peaceful and quiet, great location - short drive from Keswick. Homemade biscuits each morning, great food and bar onsite! Staff are great & make sure you have everything you need.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff couldn’t do enough for us. It was our wedding day and they kindly gave us a bottle of champagne and upgraded us. They were so helpful at every point, the food was fantastic and Nick in the restaurant was so attentive and entertaining! It was a wonderful way to start our married life! We’ll be back for our anniversary if we can wait that long!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothig to dislike.

    Lovely second stay at this hotel. Mike and staff very friendly and helpful. Had a lovely room with beautiful views. We ate in the Stable bar this time and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    After a very long drive in bad weather we were met with a warm welcome by Nick who was very informative in a good natured positive manner, we were shown our room and where we could eat on site which was great as we were so tired and hungry. Our room was in a good clean decorative order and l cannot fault the room service. The evening meal on arrival by James was excellent and so too were the breakfasts every morning, homemade granola fantastic, gluten free eggs benedict awesome and my hubby says their homemade Muffins and Breads were great too. Susan is an awesome hostess with a lovely friendly smile each day. Evening meals by James was superb and one felt pleased and as in our case relieved to be staying somewhere with excellent quality food to enjoy where we were quite happy to go and eat at Ravenstone rather than have to go elsewhere. Their Coach House is a must for local residents of Cumbria to have that extra touch of a special night out. The views at Ravenstone are beautiful any time, in any weather with Bassenthwaite Lake, Crosswaite village, the town of Keswick, Skiddaw all fairly close by and a hours drive up to the Solway Coast for the birdwatchers or to take in the solitude of nature. We needed a getaway from it all and Ravenstone Lodge certainly did it for us, it really is "Far away from the madding crowd" its a hidden gem tucked away amongst the beauty of the cumbrian hills.....I left contented with a tinge of sadness, l did not want to leave because we had such a wonderful, peaceful, much needed break. Thanks to Nick,Susan and James for all their hard work, you are a great team and a credit to Ravenstone Lodge. https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g1006863-d662943-r552437764-Ravenstone_Lodge_Hotel-Bassenthwaite_Lake_District_Cumbria_England.html#

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little small as my partner is 6 ft 4!

    The staff were absolutely lovely and welcoming. It really made our stay. Eggs benny in the morning as well as a range of other breakfast options! It was a lovely cosy place with a personal touch.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard double is actually for 1 person too small for two, also we could here clearly a quiet conversation in the room next to ours. The reception should pay more attention to check in procedures. Housekeeping walked in our room without knocking. Very crowded car parking for such a small property. The restaurant has very limited choice of food.

    Cosy atmosphere in the lounge, good selection of drinks, freshly prepared breakfast, lovely view.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi incredibly slow, to the point of being unusable. Could do with a hand towel rail/holder in the bathroom. Room a little on the small size for a ‘premium double’, however was fine for our needs.

    Good breakfast selection, dietary requirements catered for, friendly breakfast staff! Bathroom very good standard, lovely bath. Cookies a nice touch.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was well used, scuffed walls, grubby shower door, grubby carpet, damaged lamps, dirty fingermarks around door handles, cobwebs.

    excellent breakfast choice, clean linens and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No draught beer but the bottled beers were good. Dessert choice was unimaginative

    warm homemade bread with breakfast, Excellent main courses at dinner. The staff were particularly friendly and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't think there was anything not to like.

    A warm welcome from the proprietor, breakfast cooked how I asked, a very comfortable bed and good sized bathroom with window (not a cupboard) !!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too hot..opened window but as sash made room too chilly ..so no win really

    Breakfast was excellent and the evening meals we did have were fantastic quality..would recommend

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    beautiful large room full of character with lovely en-suite shower room. Breakfast was really good with plenty of choice and the staff were lovely. The location was perfect for us, being a short hike to some beautiful locations.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, our stay at the Ravenstone Lodge was overshadowed by the negative aspects of our room. Firstly our room (a "classic double") was a lot smaller than expected, we had looked through some of the room photos on the booking.com website but were still surprised for two adults to be given such a small room, the size of room 4 would suit a single traveller more comfortably. Room four shares a partitioning wall with another room which we found out very quickly was paper thin. We could hear the people in the next room talking quite clearly and they were not even speaking loudly. The worst was being woken up at 11:30 pm at night to hear the TV next door playing. The type of a wall is obviously a partition but is totally inappropriate for a guest house. We came to relax and expect privacy instead we endured being woken up and having to keep our voices to a whisper. The doors into the room are heavy fire doors which are great but unfortunately, the door handles and locks are not quiet when closing or opening like you would expect in a guesthouse. Finally, the most negative part of our stay was our bed. The bed creaked with the slightest movement and lead to both my wife and me sleeping terribly and trying to sleep absolutely still for two nights. We mentioned our bed creaking to the gentleman who we presume was the owner on our first morning, he said that he would look at it for us but wasn't exactly apologetic. We returned later that evening and our room had been made up but the bed still creaked just as bad. Nobody mentioned if the bed had been looked at or to follow up with us in any way. Unfortunately, we endured two terrible nights sleep and paid £190 for the pleasure of it. Definitely, will not be returning.

    Overall the establishment is clean and has a nice atmosphere. The breakfast staff were friendly and professional, welcoming us to breakfast both mornings. The breakfast was delicious, a great continental selection and a varied selection of the cooked options Our room was clean and the en-suite bathroom nice. Not a positive or negative note but the car park is small and with the same carpark being used for the restaurant both nights we had trouble parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being picky, the large key fob is cumbersome to carry around and the cutlery being in a pot in the bistro bar belittles the general quality of the hotel as do the small white serviettes.

    Lovely quiet location with beautiful views. Ample sized car park. The bedroom was light and airy and tastefully decorated and a good size, with king size bed and a jar of home made biscuits. We liked the bedside DAB radio as an alternative to watching TV. The breakfast room has a lovely view over the garden to the hills. There is a good choice of light or traditional breakfast. The evening meal menu offers excellent choice and us good value for money. You can eat in the formal restaurant or the more relaxed adjacent bistro bar. You can relax in the conservatory with a glass or two of wine or a beer, either before or after your meal. The staff are very welcoming and polite.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very cramped and we could hear the people talking in the room next door and the conversations on the TV next door. Very thin walls.

    The food was excellent. Location was good and the staff were helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This was superb accomodation for the price, in every respect. Large room, superb dining, including breakfast. Easily the best place we stayed in while we were overseas for four weeks

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant and bistro offered some lovely food which was incredibly tasty. More fine dining that just could have done with slightly bigger portions. Apart from that very difficult to find any fault.

    Fantastic hotel run by very friendly, welcoming people. Our room was a good size, immaculate inside and with lovely views of the Lakes. Breakfast was as good as I've had anywhere with a very good choice of hot mains that catered for everybody; backed up with a good selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, bread etc. Most important ...my plate was hot. A cracking place that we hope to revisit soon.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a bit small and too warm at night. Door and windows are not easy to open. No drinking water and slippers provided.

    Pleasant and helpful staff. Nice view and environment. Surprisingly good food at restaurants. Easy to park cars. Clean room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a very minor criticism - the restaurant focusses on local and home made produce which is excellent but at breakfast the only bread choice was white, whereas my preference is for wholemeal. Also the vegetarian breakfast was limited (eating cabbage for breakfast, in the form of bubble & squeak, is quite fashionable now, but doesn't really cut it for me.

    the staff were very friendly and helpful, the bedroom although small was very comfortable and well equipped and the evening meal was to die for.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed our stay. It was a last minute booking and great vralue for money. It is in a lovely location.The lodge was clean , the staff friendly and we particularly enjoyed the wonderful breakfasts.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room, -too small for two adults and bed wasn't big enough. shower was too cramped, bed creaked every time you moved, mattress too firm so we had a rather restless night. Think they could have offered complimentary tea/coffee on arrival, instead we were charged for the coffee. Staff were nice and pleasant.

    The location was great, the breakfast was good and evening meal was good too. The room was cozy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved every minute of it ... Staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for you... The food amazing .... What a treasure the chef is and his little helpers ,,,, never been to The Lakes before... So beautiful and majestic.... Had 1 good day ... And did nearly everything,,,, despite the weather will be back ... Thank you everyone at The Lodge 10/10 plus 2 gold Stars Valerie Evans plus Hubby & Friends .....

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to leave after four nights!

    This hotel is excellent, food especially good, staff can't do enough for you. Bed very comfortable, a little tight on space, but plenty of comfortable seating in sun lounge. Homemade biscuits in room delicious. View beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have been very happy with our stay and all the amenities. If I would have to look for something that could be improved, I would suggest to have a king size bed in the bedrooms. Although they might be available in some rooms, we booked the standard bedroom and found the bed to be on the smaller side.

    Staff was very welcoming. The house is located in a beautiful area within a 20-minute walk from one of the lakes. The room was small but perfectly equipped and spotless. The breakfast offer was better than expected with complimentary bread, jam, juice, cereals and more on top of the cooked breakfast to choose from a menu. As a curious bonus, they even have charging stations for electric vehicles.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was delicious, compliments to the chef's. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Made to feel very welcome with nothing being too much trouble.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stale smell of cigarette smoke as you walk into the conservatory.. I smoke but the smell turned my stomach as walked down the stairs for evening meal.. as I always do I stripped the bed to help and noticed the mattress protector needed replacing. The room felt dark and required a bigger window. I felt very enclosed for it being a superior double room I expected bigger. Would've liked someone to ask if we had been there before and to give us some information on where to go as we found the church and lake by chance and it was very beautiful.

    The bed was really comfortable, the warm bread in the morning was delicious, the staff were all lovely and kind, the view was fab. Loved the small walk to the church... he food was delicious, they didn't serve what I mix my drinks were but were more than happy to let me bring my own

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Information stated bar was open until 2300 but we came back at 2235 and it was all closed up

    Great staff very helpful great walk down to bassenthwaite lake food excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all was great I would go again!

    The staff was very friendly and helpful! The views was amazing! The hotel and room was very nice and comfortable! The restaurant food was out of this world!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The view was stunning, just a bit set back from Bassenthwaite Lake. It was a short drive to most attractions from here. The Lodge had amazing facilities. The lodge whilst old, had a modern bathroom. The rain shower was brilliant, with lovely smelling shower gels provided. The breakfast each day was brilliant. Always too much to eat, but a great selection available. The dining experience was also amazing, we wish we ate here each night rather than the last night, as the food was fantastic, and expertly prepared. The bar had a really extensive gin selection, so was kept happy during the evening. We sat outside during the final night just enjoying the views. The staff were always attentive, and happy to help.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the friendly charm of the staff on site. Food and wine selection was amazing; views were lovely, too. Four poster was a bit basic but view was good from room. Nice breakfast service.

    Incredible customer service

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was a little small, but well appointed. The turn in from the road was awkward.

    The standard of the food was excellent, from their own-recipe muesli, to Eggs Benedict to dinner in the bistro.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room two was very small. Stuffy. Needed a fan to get some air even though the weather was not hot. Damp patch on ceiling. Smell of damp. Pillows very hard and uncomfortable. As soon as we saw the room we requested another room. Were informed quite firmly that there were none available. When our friends arrived 2 hours later they were offered an upgrade. This was a lovely room. Ours was badly in need of renovation. This was a special treat for our Golden Wedding celebration and was not at all of the standard we expected.

    The food was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had called a few days before to book a table in the Bistro but they had no note of it when we arrived. They were however able to give us a booking that night and the meal was delicious.

    The beautiful view, the comfortable rooms, the lovely meal in the Bistro.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enormous room with armchairs. Comfortable bed. Lovely views from terrace. Very friendly and attentive staff. Restaurant and bistro excellent quality.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed a little uncomfortable. Room could have been bigger.

    Staff went out of their way to make you feel welcome. The view from the terrace looking out on the surrounding hills was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Packed meals were a bit expensive.

    Our luxury room was large & spotless-worth the extra money. The staff were very welcoming & friendly, & made every effort to accommodate our needs. We had our family (with children) camping nearby & they ate with us in the bistro. (Small children are not allowed in the dining room, which is understandable). The food was really good & service excellent. We would love to return here & see more of this beautiful quiet corner of The Lake District.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bit noisy, you can hear people walking on the hallway or staying in rooms next to you

    friendly staff, clean room, loved the bath after a long day hiking (and getting soaking wet in the rain), comfy bed, good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing nice

    The whole experience was brilliant staff were very helpful and friendly even with a powercut one day and gave us help where to go for days out noth

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All of the staff were very friendly and professional. The room (No 7) had a fabulous view and the bed was really comfy. Could not fault anything during our stay. Thank you.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Trail from the garden down to the lake via the old church. Beautiful view and intimate room. Very clean and fabulous shower. Staff were great and the food was above average

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was excellent in the bistro but my had to leave her steak pie as it was quite salty. The staff handled this very well and we were not charged for my wife's meal.

    Beautiful setting and a warm welcome. Staff couldn't have been friendlier. I would definitely stay again and also recommend it to family and friends.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No draught beer.

    Service tailored to your individual needs. Friendly, approachable, happy staff. Kitchen visible, food excellent, very good breakfast selection with generous portions. No problems with parking. Accommodation very clean and modern.Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing we did not like although it was a little way out of town so it was our car.walk or a taxi, to go anywhere.

    The Lodge was excellent, very clean. everything to hand in the bedroom. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was as big or small as you we wanted, and the view from the breakfast room was spectacular. We would recommend it and will be staying there again if we are in the area again. A lovely lovely time.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to comment

    Everything was wonderful. The location rooms staff food and the overall sense of welcoming from everyone including Nick, Sue and the chef. Michelle was a lovely ray of happiness after a long journey

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Bedroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A truly excellent find and we had lived in the Lake District for many years previously! All the staff were helpful and friendly and the food was of a very high standard, surely deserving their AA rosette.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: