Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ravenstone Manor 4 stars

Bassenthwaite, Keswick, CA12 4QG, United Kingdom

Review score

Based on 278 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful and homely!! Fantastic Food!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ye Olde Worlde feel, friendly staff, great location, fabulous food and the interesting modern and quaint boutique bathroom in my single room. Fabulous.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    So good we have booked again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room became very hot in the evening (it was July) but a fan was provided and it cooled down overnight.

    The location was great, the building was lovely with lots of character and the views were fantastic. It was a very dog-friendly hotel and the staff were extremely helpful at all times. The food was amazing and they were very happy to accommodate my dairy allergy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Jeff and Charlie really went the extra mile to make our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t feel the property was value for money, but staff excellent.

    Jeff and Charlie really went the extra mile to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Self Catering Holiday Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic little cottage, separate from the hotel with it's own patio area, stunning view! Perfect stay with our dog, very dog friendly place, she was welcome in the restaurant when we had breakfast and she got her own sausage! The staff here went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, faultless, we will definitely return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Perfect luxury stopover with amazing views!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not suitable for disabled guests, lots of stairs and very limited parking. Room 2 has a shower over the bath with tiled steps which are not easy to access.

    Beautiful period hotel with amazing views not far from the M6. Spotlessly clean comfortable room with en suite. Delicious perfectly cooked breakfast with lots of choices. Lunch and dinner menu looked amazing but not sampled. Friendly helpful staff and well written guest information in room. Dog friendly accommodation with woodland walk at the end of the drive. Convenient location for a sightseeing holiday or quick stopover.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent short walking stay in good position
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of the terrain (the house is set into the hill) the bar is a bit gloomy. They are expanding into a bigger brighter space.

    Friendly and helpful staff - lots of them! Food is a notch above standard Lake District fare.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely location, great breakfast, bedroom looked good but needs improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking insufficient. Our mattress was of very poor quality and we needed to use our duvet as a mattress topper. There were no plug sockets adjacent to the bedside tables so you couldn't use your mobile devices in bed and charge them at the same time. Mobiles had to be charged on the other side of the room and if you had an incoming call or text you had to get out of bed to answer it.

    Cleanliness, decor, breakfast & view were all very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    a very nice dog friendly pace
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wine was expensive and should be more variety on evening meals

    this is a lovely place very dog freindly, the staff are very nice and helpful and so friendly. Dogs could go in the dining room this is great for couples so we could eat together. lovely garden area . Breakfast was outstanding .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunate that outside temperature was 31 degrees but we were provided with a fan in an attempt to lower the bedroom temperature.

    Superb food. Staff really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    our stay for 2 nights on our way home to Belfast, was comfortable and pleasent, all we wanted,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    broken toilet seat.. but Charles did have it replaced, and quickly., could do with more car parking..

    the very comfortable bed . friendly staff, eg., Mandy... and some still learning the job .. a place with great potential .. good luck Charles, with all your renovation plans.. o yes a great breakfast choice..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Stunning setting with views from our bedroom towards lake Bassenthwaite.Good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no complaints

    Really good breakfast.We also had an excellent evening meal in the restaurant. The staff were helpful and provided us with advice on walks around the hotel and down to the nearby lake. We would certainly go back again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.4
    Ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The gentleman who served us in the evening got our drinks order wrong. My husband explained to the gentleman he wanted the purple ale and the man kept saying the blue one so my husband repeated saying the purple one and alas he got the blue!!! They got my wine order wrong too. The garlic bread was dumped on the table with no plates, the main meal was correct but there was no manners, didn't ask if we wanted any sauces or enjoy your meal!! Then when we were eating our meal a couple sat next to us with their dog. Now i'm a dog lover but in a restaurant its a no no. When I mentioned this to the manager a young man answered the question by stating that it is plastered all over google....ok stating it is dog friendly but nothing mentions they are allowed in the restaurant. Working in the hotel industry myself we accept dogs but not in the restaurant. I was made to feel it was my problem and I was really upset. Sad shame as meal was lovely.

    The Breakfast staff were lovely. Very attentive and hard working. The new lady on reception/bar was exceptionally friendly and helpful...good luck. The food in the evening was exceptional...especially the lamb. Views from the hotel gorgeous and many walks from the hotel lovely. The walk to the church lovely with views of the lake. Beautiful walk back through the gardens of Muirhouse.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Lovely restful stay with gorgeous views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not really sure to be honest. It met our needs and expectations.

    The views were lovely. Comfortable and cozy room. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel both of which were delicious and the staff very warm and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel, great stay and a thoroughly enjoyable week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Expected hotel to be dog friendly, but slight concern over staff petting dogs in the restaurant and then serving meals - presumably they washed their hands between the two.

    Very helpful staff and excellent food: breakfasts were outstanding and dinners imaginative and very tasty. Good location with great walks around hotel and Keswick.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    We found Ravenstone to exemplify the character and warmth of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We found Ravenstone to exemplify the character and warmth of a classic manor home in an ideal setting (great views from the manor, and grand vistas from out-the-door hiking path); the accommodations (stayed in four-poster bed room) and dining were superb, with very attentive mgt & staff. Our first experience of the gorgeous Lake District was only enhanced by staying at Ravenstone.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    We were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed our stay at this lovely hotel.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I can think to say, and this is very picky, is that it would have been nice to have a veggie sausage option on the breakfast menu. Having said that though, the breakfasts were lovely.

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Our dog was made very welcome by the staff. There is a lovely beer garden at the front of the hotel with a beautiful view. The room was a good size and had a nice shower and separate bath.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At first I wasn't sure. Carpet seemed very dated, but room was modernized.

    Beautiful country. Staff very friendly. Food was delicious. Owners from local B&B's came there to have dinner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous view from spacious bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fabulous view from spacious bedroom. Very peaceful indeed. Friendly staff. Evening meal in the restaurant was of a very high standard and delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent, friendly staff and good food. Quiet location with easy car parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although we do like dogs, when we arrived the room smelt. We subsequently discovered that this is a "Dog Friendly" hotel. Lots of dogs having a holiday with their owners. Ok for those people who do not suffer allergies caused by our furry friends.

    Food excellent. Room we had gave us lovely views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    A special place to stay - really nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My purposeful but very small room!

    The look of the old house, the higher quality food and the very friendly staff! Especially the nice guy behind the bar who studied in regensburg.:-)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for relaxed family stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ran out of super delitious pastries on Monday morning :D

    Everything was fantastic - staff, delitious breakfast, amazing views, super comfy bed, quet and relaxed atmosphere - would definitely come again and recommend to others!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic place, fantastic food, fantastic value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing, everything was perfect.

    We loved everything. The place is fantastic and the food is exceptional. We only planed to eat there the first night after traveling and ended up eating there every night. We just wanted to eat our way through the menu.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing break with friends - walking, chatting and enjoying good food.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking is limited. There are two ways in, so it is possible to avoid a tight bend (if you have a large car!) by using the North entrance.

    The staff are welcoming and attentive. We liked all the wood panelling and carving and comfy seats in the lounge. The bar was handy for pre-dinner drinks and chat. The dinners are good. The double rooms had views. Breakfast was very good with a variety of choices. It's easy to drive South to Keswick for shops and walking or North to Bassenthwaite. We parked near the Theatre on the Lake and took the ferry from Keswick to Hawse End and climbed Cat Bells!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Superb break in wonderful surroundings .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike except perhaps our stay was too short!

    Everything about our stay. Staff and owner couldn’t be bettered. Rarely revisit places but certainly will return here.. food terrific.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a cot but that wasn’t in the room on arrival. Although it was quickly sorted within 10 minutes so really impressed with staff. Would have liked to see a hash brown and black pudding on the full English breakfast.

    The staff were excellent at the hotel, nothing was too much for them. The room was lovely and comfy and the facilities throughout the hotel were great. Evening meal and breakfast were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    A beautiful hotel and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Self Catering Holiday Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful hotel and location. The cottage had a modern kitchen good sized lounge and it's own patio with fantastic views. The bathroom was large and modern with Jacuzzi bath and walk in shower. Highly recommended

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    Good location, excellent value and very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Self Catering Holiday Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Self catering was excellent as it provided roominess and we still benefitted from the wholesome breakfast that was included. The location was excellent for us as we walked in the vicinity. Dinner was good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything was perfect. One of the best stays we have ever made. So friendly. Food outstanding. Building so interesting and the location great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    This was a romantic trip with my partner and it couldn't have been more perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms had yale locks and you had to remember not to lock the key in your room.

    The property is incredibly beautify. Inside the lounge, bar and staircase are decorated with ornate carved wood. It was cosy and romantic, peaceful and relaxed. Rooms were filled with sunlight as they're all south facing and finished to a high standard. The log fire was lit and roaring each night after walking in the hills. The variety of walks available straight out of the front door ranged from scenic to very demanding. There is a lovely and generous grassed outdoor area with picnic tables where you can sit and watch the sun go down with a drink. Restaurant and breakfast was good quality too and proper filling in true Lakeland style.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    A great base to relax after a day out walking , with excellent food and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was very small, with difficult access to wc and a tricky climb over the bath for a shower. Wine choices were also a bit limited - if you like Aussie wine.

    We chose this hotel mainly for location and feedback on its food - both were fantastic. We had dinner both nights and every course was a bit special. Breakfast was also great, with a wide selection and a marvellous full English.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    Comfy, welcoming and well placed for a hike up Skiddaw - no driving required.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was small although they are renovating a new one at the back of the existing which should be finished in less than 10 weeks and ready for summer. So more space and better selection of beers would be great. Dogs currently allowed in restaurant area which was a little different they will be allowed in new bar soon rather than restaurant which would be better. I understand this was something the previous owners allowed.

    Comfy bed, quirky building, excellent breakfast and dinner. Right at the base of Skiddaw so fab for a direct route up. Granola at breakfast was a lovely change and breakfast was great quality. Evening meal was equally lovely,more veg for the lamb dish would be nice but other than that, couldn't fault it. Staff friendly and it has a lovely lounge area which was comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    A lovely place to stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very welcoming, friendly and professional. The facilities were great, the seating areas felt very comfortable and cosy, with plenty of character, and the dog allowed in all areas. The food was excellent, looking out on to fantastic views in a beautiful location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Value for money, very well kept, in a great location with lovely staff & a cracking breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Self Catering Holiday Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the spa bath wasnt working, and wasnt fixed before end of our stay. However, staff were grateful for us letting them know, so I'm sure it will be back up and running soon. Just a shame that we missed out.

    Cottage larger than expected, very modern and nicely finished, great view, wonderful! Made for a lovely 2nd wedding anniversary escape, with a lakeside walk a couple of miles from the Manor and an Osprey viewpoint, with nearby Keswick town and Ambleside offering lots to do, including a great science museum called Puzzling Place and a huge garden centre - Hayes garden world. Dog friendly - but still inpecably clean! And the breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    A short, but very sweet stay in the Northern Lakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower in one of our rooms was a little small, so might be worth checking if you are tall! But didn't spoil our stay.

    Very atmospheric hotel in beautiful surroundings. Close to all the key sights, but not too close. Staff fantastic, very friendly and efficient; and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms very comfortable, if a little compact. Food very, very good!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    We stayed in Trusmadoor the cottage apartment.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Self Catering Holiday Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly difficult to find a parking space at times....but well worth the minor inconvenience.

    We stayed in Trusmadoor the cottage apartment...it was fabulous with a little table and 2 chairs overlooking a great view. Very comfortable, well equipped...ideal for dog owners...very calm for those who prefer a bit more independence but still comes with the gorgeous breakfast choice included in the price. The food at Ravenstone Manor is simply superb...but do book ahead for dinner to avoid disappointment. All food is sourced locally and fresh every day...we know.. we spoke to the delivery drivers each morning whilst walking our dog Evie. All in all a brilliant place to stay..good value for money...fab and friendly staff, great food, very dog friendly... ideally located for walks to suit all tastes....down to the lake, through the woods or up to the fells. Under new owners who are doing a great job of retaining the original character but improving....extending bar area to give better access to the garden seating area with fabulous views...decor is being improved also but not in a garish way. One to remember and we'll definitely be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    lovely atmosphere, good food, great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being picky soft shutting on doors for a little extra quiet, but it was a lovely stay, lovely people, prompt service,

    Black pudding starter gorgeous. Nice traditional hotel, friendly staff,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    would definately recommend this accomodation to friends and family
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we paid for bar and meals as we went along so that we knew what we were spending, this occasionally became a bit confusing for them.

    nothing is a problem, our dog was so welcome

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic food and drinks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult to fault. If you have a large vehicle, car parking could be difficult at present.

    Fantastic food and drinks. If you like hiking, the location couldn't be better. Large rooms, with thoughtful amenities. Very friendly and attentive staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing and very enjoyable stay, great food, slightly baronial in feel, welcoming & unpretentious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating controls a little odd, bathroom floor thermostat clicking off and on many times per second. Booking.com said payment was in advance of stay, but was actually on departure. Booking.com should reflect actual practice to avoid confusion over whether payment still required on arrival via email confirmation. Breakfast included in room price but less than clear on confirmation email from booking.com, would be best in the headline room booking description title. Minor overall, still very happy.

    Friendly staff. Great food at evening meal and breakfast. Dog friendly. Quiet. Flexible eat-in-which-room-you-like approach. Not charged till departing. Footpath for walks from the door. Definitely worth a revisit and combine with a doorstep start to Skiddaw.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    The property was in the perfect location for my walk up...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was in the perfect location for my walk up Skiddaw via Ullock Pike. The staff were very friendly and the food was quality and well presented. Will certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Fabulous for dog lovers especially. Beautiful hotel, great food, fab staff and great value for money
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little small and a wee bit chilly. if it had been bigger and warmer it would have been perfect.

    The whole experience was fantastic! Dog friendly to the utmost, room guestbook gave lots of walks to take directly from the hotel which is great when you have a dog. The place itself was very friendly and welcoming and beautiful. The bar was small and cosy the restaurant was gorgeous and dog was welcome in both. Food was great, we had both evening meal and breakfast and it was delicious and presented well. Couldn't fault a thing about this place, will definitely go back. Staff worked like a well oiled machine, nothing was a problem.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Just what I had hoped for as a break away in The Lakes.
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect Lake District location away from crowds but near to stunning scenery. Lovely characterful building with cosy bar and open log fires. Although I am not a dog owner It is a dog friendly hotel which adds to the atmosphere. Would definitely book again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Would recommend to anybody
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave at the end of our stay

    The weather was very inclement but the staff were so helpful and pleasant to us and our dogs. Food was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Made to feel very welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vegetarian option at dinner was a bit limited

    Made to feel very welcome. Great location. Very dog friendly. Food was good. The warm water dog bath outside!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    excellent stay even on a very cold and wet bank holiday
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    all good

    the bed was very comfortable, room was very quaint with a lake view breakfast was very good with freshly cooked hot meal including fish option plus cereal/fruit/yogurt/pastries and toast, gluten free option available. The evening meal in the hotel was lovely 2 courses £21.99 3 courses £27.99 we had steak £4 supplement which was well worth it nicest steak I've had yum. the staff were very nice. The hotel is extra dog friendly with hot water outdoor cleaning facility, dog beds, bowls and treats available and dogs are allowed everywhere except on the sofas. Very near to dodds woods walk and café. excellent (owner also very nice)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.5
    Home from home (with a bit more luxury) but in spectacular scenery and even better if you’re with
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Self Catering Holiday Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    mmmm...might be time to replace the settees and the mattress. Could feel the frame on the settees even with cushions under us and the mattress is, well, well past it should we say

    We stayed in the Trusmadoor. The accommodation was good and very clean and the view spectacular from the french windows. Breakfasts were great. Joanne had the braised lamb for evening meal but unfortunately the mashed potatoes were cold, (I know, we didn’t complain at the time, but you don’t like to when everything else is good, do you)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    A very enjoyable 2 nights in a beautiful setting and impressive hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dining room would have benefited by having a log fire/burner.

    We had a warm welcome and just the right amount of conversation leaving us to get on with enjoying our few days away. Excellent breakfast with home made marmalade and jams. Good choice in the restaurant for dinner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Very relaxing stay in a lovely hotel with beautiful views and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV reception not good. Heated towel rail didn't work..

    The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. When you've been out all day it's nice to come back to a lovely evening meal and then relax in a comfortable lounge with beautiful views.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    A place worth the drive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water in the shower took quite a bit to get warm and the pressure was somewhat lacking too, but we understood as our room was located on the top floor.

    As my wife was born in that building and her family owned and run the hotel, we were a little nervous, but all was dispelled on arrival, the property is well kept and had been simpatetycally restored, friendly staff, comfy bed, and a very warm atmosphere also helped, stunning views and dog friendly too, fantastic breakfast too, would have no hesitation in returning or recommending it either.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    A newly discovered (for me) gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other than our stay being too short nothing.

    lovely hotel with staff who could not help you enough. Beautiful location really peaceful but only a 5 min drive from Keswick if you want a bit more life.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    The type of hotel you look forward to returning to, great place, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very minor thing.... The decor in the public part of the hotel was great with a lovely oak staircases and a cozy lounge but the powder blue corridor to our room!

    Great location just outside the rush and push of tourist honeypots but in the National Park with great views over Bassenthwaite (and incredible sunsets). The staff were helpful and friendly and the hotel was spotless. Lovely cosy Bar for drink after a hard day’s walking the fells. Excellent breakfasts and bar meals.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.2
    Such a lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an amazing room with a view! Every morning after opening my eyes first view was mountains and the lake. Amazing dinner and very lovely staff. We definitely recommend this place to anyone and bonus it's pet friendly. :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Relaxing
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    the comfy bed the room, food was excellent, hotel lounge lovely room relaxing stay, we had trouble getting home due to A66 been closed, it was no bother to take another room very nice staff so helpful, we will go again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel and would definitely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative

    Excellent location overlooking the lake and you can walk straight into Dodd wood. Fantastic evening meal. Good size bedroom with a huge walk in shower and bath. Really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    A very welcome relaxing stay with friendly staff and delicious food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Description is a bit misleading in that the 3 acres of grounds are mostly steep and forested! Also, although Bassenthwaite Lake is accessible by car in 5 minutes, it takes about 30 minutes tricky (but pleasant) walk to get there! Worth it though.

    Fantastic staff who worked hard to make our stay pleasurable. Chef was top class.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Relaxing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a lovely relaxing hotel. Beautiful building, staff very friendly, a really lovely surprise find and at an amazing price. Cheaper than a chain hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely Hotel and fab location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely Hotel and fab location. Our room was clean, comfortable and had a great view of the stunning landscape. The bar food was very good, we didn't eat in the restaurant so couldn't no comment on the food. We would definitely return. There was NO extra charge to bring our dog which was a nice surprise as we have booked hotels before and have been charged extra on arrival!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Awesome weekend, lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was over the bar, and late at night I could hear the bar noise, just our room like that though I think.

    The property was very impressive, not imposed on in a way at at all, the true country break away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Think I've said it all
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower wasn't very powerful . That's about it.

    Good location for walking,food excellent, staff very helpful and friendly. Dog really enjoyed his stay as he had no restrictions except for the kitchen of course. Highly recommended so much so we are going back soon.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in the Lake District near Keswick
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We got a warm welcome on the Thursday evening and a choice of rooms. The staff were friendly and the food was great especially the breakfast yoghurt pots.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Short visit to celebrate my 50th Birthday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The bar area was very cosy with the log burning fire, excellent real ales and very polite staff. The food is of high quality restaurant standard at very good prices, we used both bar and A La carte menus with excellent and varied choice on each day, for breakfast the food was cooked to ordered, so was very fresh and tasty. The room was very spacious. The hotel is very dog friendly, therefore would recommend if you have dogs. The hotel is very much a home from home. The weather stopped us walking less than we wished for, but this is not in the control of the Hotel. Looking forward to our next visit. Thank you to all of the staff .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ALL WAS AS STATED

    Excellent HOTEL no complaints at all would recommend this to all family and friends and will visit again that is certain. The location and views are terrific from the room which we had.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Very relaxing and accommodated all our needs. Very pet friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Never had better lamb for our evening meal. Good selection for breakfast, not just full English. I had smoked Haddock with poached eggs! Able to make us a sandwich when we came back late from working engagement.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Lovely weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maintenance work at time of stay but that didn't interfere with our stay. So not a true minus.

    Beautifully presented. Pleasant staff. Excellent food. Cannot fault

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful hotel, exceptionally friendly and helpeful staff - we will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our in-room biscuits weren't refreshed the second day!

    Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, very dog friendly, wonderful being able to walk straight out of the hotel and up the hills - really well located.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Staff made us and our dog very welcome, really great that...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Staff made us and our dog very welcome, really great that dogs can go anywhere in the hotel and not have to be left in the bedroom. Ate in the hotel both nights food was superb and good value, will be returning for another weekend

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel is dog friendly popular with walkers for this reason not a problem for us but we did not like them being in dining room at meal times and the fact staff were stroking them whilst serving food.

    enjoyed evening meal service was good as was breakfast staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable. Lovely wardm friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ?

    Comfy bed. View from window. Clean shower. Tea/coffee making facilities. Warm. Lounge comfortable. Games cupboard. Dog friendly and all dogs very well behaved!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    A fabulous find with exceptional food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A gorgeous place with exceptional food at really, really reasonable rates. The fact that it is dog friendly was an added bonus - was lovely to see all the doggies enjoying themselves as much as the humans!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.8
    A well presented, clean and friendly place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest nothing disliked

    Lovely atmosphere and great staff. Had a sit in the lounge area with a few drinks after arrival back and stayed down there till about 11pm. No one rushed us to our room and a great selection of boardgames for use! Felt at home both in the room and out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location, cosy hotel, lovely food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with a mirror near a socket in the bedroom when drying my hair.

    Bed and pillows were comfortable as were the lounge and bar. Staff were excellent, courteous, efficient and personable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    A gem. Easy to get to, great hosts and fantastic food.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slightly tight car park.

    The food is fantastic - we didn't bother looking for anywhere else! Nice menu, really tasty, good value and friendly staff. They were great with our dog too, made a real fuss of her. The rooms are small but nicely done, with character and we had a beautiful view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    A quiet, quaint & unassuming gem of a find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very little could be improved upon. If anything, my partner would say the breakfast. Apparently a full English includes beans. Since these were missing, he wasn't a very happy man. I would have also appreciated a veggie option to the cooked breakfast. But the scrambled eggs I had were lovely.

    The area that this hotel is set in is jaw dropping. The breathtaking views from the hotel is comparable to nothing I've ever seen before. The staff are all very friendly and attentive, but ultimately stay out of your way. They seem to be there the moment you need them, and then disappear just as quickly. The food we ate at dinner was beautiful and the only draw back was that there was more of it. The chef here definitely rivals some of Edinburgh's best restaurants. Following dinner, we were able to relax in the lounge area. The roaring fire and snowy outlook made for a very cosy evening. Even better is the fact that dogs are welcome all over the place. Before heading to bed, we spent some time speaking with the new owner. He let us know about a few small changes that have happened recently, and a few for the future. We do hope that not too many changes are made though as some of the little quirks are what make it so charming. It is luxury, but in a casual environment. For us, it was perfect. This little unassuming hotel in the middle of nowhere is an absolute gem. We can't wait to come back and even thinking about renting the whole thing for a wedding...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints we can think of. A suggestion would be to keep a basket of old towels by the entry to wipe muddy paws since it's a doggy destination. We grabbed our own from the car but if the hotel provided some it would be a nice extra and reduce the mud making it past your front hall.

    Ravenstone had beautiful decor but was comfortable and non pretentious. The staff were all so lovely. Food was exceptional. Dogs received their necessary adoration from staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.2
    Ace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was going to mention it only a small thing the sink want looking at in room 6 the tap splutters and the water goes down very slowly I have been informed they have only just taken over this property so just a little heads up by know means a complaint.

    Just like to say thanks to one of the staff who stayed up after midnight so I could get in really very kind.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: