Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Red House Hotel 2 stars

Rousdown Road, Torquay, TQ2 6PB, United Kingdom

#36 of 46 hotels in Torquay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 205 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.8
    Nice place to stay , great facilities but understaffed. Manager was extremely helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager seemed to be everywhere and doing everything , we asked for milk and coffee for our room as we went out on the first evening. When we returned it hadn't been done , was done on our last night. Felt he was doing too much and needed extra help. The girl who took our breakfast order was clueless and made the place look disorganised.

    Staff couldn't do enough for you. Manager / owner was very good made us an excellent ploughmans lunch with very little notice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic stay x
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were only steps so couldn't get in with a pushchair. X

    Swimming pools and sauna. Friendly staff. Outdoor child play area, lovely breakfast too x

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    4.6
    It was OK but only just, a bit disappointing with misleading description
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pools are part of a club within the hotel and the outside one in particular was busy with members leaving no real space for hotel guests. It was very noisy with music and children enjoying themselves Our room looked out on the pool across a very small car parking area. Nothing seemed to have been done to our room while we were out, no bed made or bathroom cleaning or waste basket emptying, even the cups not washed. Bed was a bit small and very uncomfortable. Breakfast was just about OK but quality a bit variable. No cloths on tables and surfaces a bit "sticky". Dirty bed linen was left in the corridor for a couple of days and we never heard a Hoover!! I think there may have been some staff issues.

    The bed linen and towels were very clean on arrival. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.8
    Would not stay again quite a walk to beach if you don't want to drive or wait for a bus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The childrens play area did not seem safe as if they fell they could easily have injured themselves on the surrounding concrete. Most of the items in the play area were broken and all were very dirty.

    The indoor pool was convenient when raining. Breakfast was okay and staff very friendly. Room was clean however on the small side. The price of the drinks were also a little on the high side.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    4.6
    Staff very attentive and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whole place needs painting out/refreshing. Room ok but tatty, cobwebs hanging from light. Bath tap fell appart. Took money out of our account a week before without asking, should pay on arrival or leaving. Owner said " leaving are you, bye" when handing in the key, no niceties.

    Staff very attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Very satisfactory for me, travelling alone and for work.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everything ok for me. WiFi ok but only available in public areas which is not at all unusual from my experience.

    Very friendly, the manager Stuart could not be more helpful. Really comfortable atmosphere. Good value for money. Lots of facilities within the hotel including indoor and outdoor pool. Food very good both breakfast and dinner if required.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Relaxed friendly stay and we will be back!!!!!!!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking there isn't enough we had to park on the road side. but it doesn't put us off we will return again Bathroom was a little small.

    We took our little dog and the room was very clean and tidy. Good value for the money, service very good and the breakfast was excellent. All the staff were very polite and friendly. We plan to return later in the year.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.4
    we would not stay their again too far from the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we had room 2 the toilet seat kept moving the blind in the bathroom would not work, we ask if they could be put right but nothing was put right, the room was not cleaned during our stay not a very good choice of cereal

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.7
    we would still consider a return visit if staying longer in Torquay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is an older style property, and our rooms were quite small, as were the bathrooms. Thin curtains on windows- no d/glazing! but noise not an issue. As such, a little bit overpriced.

    the staff we met were very welcoming and friendly. the advertised facilities (pool etc) looked inviting in their advert but our stay was not long enough to sample them

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    3.8
    Torquay is lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived, the only staff member in the building was the maintenance guy. He spent five minutes moaning about how he’d been left on his own then briefly showed me to my room. I then heard him telling the same story to the next guests. As far as the room goes, the tv didn’t work, the shower would only be suitable if I was 4ft tall due to the slopes ceiling and an extra unmade bed was ‘dumped’ in my room. Through the window all I heard was a Benidorm style raucous for most of the evening. This finally quietened down, perfect I though. Until 2am when i was woken up by an almighty crash. It sounded like someone was trying to break in. I skipped breakfast, I just wanted to leave. Another problem there, me and another guest waiting at the reception for over 15 minutes. Ringing the bell almost constantly in the end. No one came. We ended up just leaving our keys on the counter and going. I would never revisit. Ever.

    Torquay is lovely. I’ve visited numerous times before. But this hotel doesn’t do it justice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Really Enjoyable, will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tv in family main room makes a bit of an annoying humming sound but I'm being picky!

    Comfy beds, great family room, ideal layout for our needs, lovely breakfast, kids loved the pool. safe parking. will be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Our brief stay has caused us to choose Red House Hotel for all future trips to the Torquay area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place should be awarded another star at least by any of the established catering and hospitality companies.

    It was nice to support the new management in their ongoing work to turn Red House Hotel into a real gem, a welcoming yet distinguished B&B with the just the right balance between character, home comforts, and professional and courteous customer care.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    room comfy... lovely to take my dog with me
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast took ages to arrive, 2nd day no table number so had to ask where to sit. didnt replenish tea milk etc in my room had to ask at the bar for them. dog friendly rooms but couldnt take him in the bar so stayed in my room other than when i took dog walking not many tv channels

    i got here early has travelled up from Cornwall i was bursting for a wee so asked to use the toilet. the man on duty quickly showed me the way and held my dog he then got my keys as my room was ready... a lovely man.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    3.8
    Awful, dreary, would never use again or recommend anyone else did
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was to small, bed hard, pillows hard, breakfast was inedible, loo door did not shut properly in room, asked for room to be serviced did not happen, no evening food, no one in bar, have nothing good to say about this place waste of money to sum up it was simply dreadful

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.0
    Ordinaire
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception seemed rather puzzled at my having paid in advance using PayPal, shower offered either too hot or too cold water - unusable ! Very ordinary breakfast - I've stayed here several times over twenty years but standards seemed to have slipped a bit

    The location, and a very comfortable bed !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Super friendly staff and a very relaxed atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the fixtures and fittings are in need of updating, but for the price we can't complain

    Super friendly staff and a very relaxed atmosphere. Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.7
    Retro charm and lovely staff. Great location in pleasant village above Torquay centre
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some problems with the room - a couple of safety issues had to be highlighted - & the room was a bit cramped. But bed was comfortable.

    Lovely staff at breakfast - very helpful. Breakfast good as we could take our dog into a special lounge to eat and food cooked to order.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.3
    The location of the hotel was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to request for towels. No one came to clean the room or give fresh towels. No one changed the bed sheets during our stay. Dinner time and menu were not clearly visible.

    The location of the hotel was perfect. The indoor pool was convenient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Ok. Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late. The number on the door did not work but the number on the email did. There seems to be no official office or front of house place to contact staff

    A good breakfast. We booked asked to change rooms that was done the next day

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Would deffo go back was a lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner time was a little confusing. Could have had menus on table and times for meals on door of restaurant.

    Breakfast was lush. Room was cosy. Very happy. Facillities available were great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel local to beach and town great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not anything to not like it was ok for mini stay could do with better shower facilities in room and better tv, more info on breakfast

    Mini gym and swimming pool & good parking ,helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    3.3
    Very dissapointed - in desperate need of a refurbishment and decent cleaning and maintenance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room not clean, bathroom not clean, bathroom lock fell off, bed uncomfortable, thin duvert, curtains hanging off rail, drafty windows, cold room, room not made up or bed re-made after 1st night ... generally very disappointing considering this was not a low priced room Low quality and luke warm breakfast food Lots of these points are very easily addressed - like a clean room

    Nothing to like - a grotty hotel for the price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    The staff were friendly and very helpful.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't have a kettle in the room and had to ask for one in the morning. Very loud banging at 2.30 am which was very disconcerting.

    Swimming Pool and the delicious evening meal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    Great owner. Give him time as he's new at this game, but he's commited to improving the sevice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy guests. People should understand that other people stay as well as them

    The new owner was welcoming. As a hotel general manager I was more than willing to offer advice and I think he took it on board. A true gent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    5.8
    Wouldn’t stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed mattress was lumpy with squeaky springs, very soft and uncomfortable. Breakfast which was included was not nice. Evening meal was cold and had to be returned. Staff were fine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.1
    It accomadated our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of the chlorine from the pool in our room

    We had the family suite and it was very noisy due to air unit. Staff were very accomadating. Chlorine from the pool could be smelt in our room and was over powering.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.9
    It is good.
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The people lived in our neighbour room were very noisy. They came back in the midnight with loud speaking and laughing. We felt bad when we were woken up.

    My son was hungry that night, and the staff prepared the burger for him. We are really grateful for this.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    3.8
    Not what was advertised.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room unclean, too small, stayed for 4 days and never saw a cleaner. Parking tight. No bar or snack facilities. No shower in room.

    We liked nothing about this hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.4
    Not the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cold in the room, window drafty and rattled from wind. Curtain falling down,room and bed very small and hard, wasn't the cleanest only the visible cleaned.breakfast wasn't the best. Staff we only seen if you rang the bell. Very old fashioned. Came home with a mouthful of ulsers from having a cup of tea at breakfast.

    Pool,sauna,hot tub was very warm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    mAGICAL
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to complain about and I am a perfectionist

    I couldn't fault the whole stay !! The staff were so friendly and happy to help all the time. The food was amazing also and such value for money. My Dodd were REALY happy and welcomed by owners!! There is no doubt I will be going their on a regular basis!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.8
    Comfy but adequate for price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very small. Needed to eat all of the toast to feel satisfied. Room wasn't cleaned after our first night and we had to ask for towels and coffee/milk to be replenished.

    Bed was comfy. The male owner was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    We were pleased to find somewhere so close to Torre Abbey that meant we could walk to the wedding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were travelling with elderly parents and weren't expecting so many stairs. However since only staying 1 night it wasn't too much of a problem

    It was really great to be able to check in early so that we could prepare for our son's wedding. Really friendly staff too. The bonus was that our dog was welcomed and so able to come tot he wedding too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable and would stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing I can think of.

    The room was comfortable for one person, the bed was comfy, all lovely and clean and as well as tea and coffee there was Luxuory Chocolate, ideal for bedtime.The breakfast was good and not over facing but enjoyable. The people running it were friendly and very helpful.It was homely which made it all the more comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    5.0
    Very disapointing and we won't be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Arrived in reception with an opening into the office which was untidy and had a scruffy unmade single bed in view! Not a good first impression! Our room had an awful 4poster bed drapped in a tatty netting, the kettle had to be used on the floor as the lead couldn't reach off the dressing table, shower kept going hot and cold the whole room needing updating and silly unneccessary ornaments removed, and the chair covered in a stocking type cover obviously because that too was tatty. It was also very noisy in the morning. The public area was not an inviting place to sit it was like chairs, tables and sofas had just been plonked anywhere and had an area in the bar part where they were selling second hand clothes and shoes, really didn't encourage us to want to sit and have a bar meal or a drink. Beer choice was poor, Bitter was disgusting & the Guinness was out of a can. First day the breakfast was fine other two days disappointing. Miserable young waiters/waitresses wearing jeans and trainers.

    Nothing!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    good stay would recomend and will stay again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Need to check lighting in bedroom on change over bed side lamps didn't work and only one of the three light bulbs in the main light worked.

    Very comfortable bedroom , warm and cosy plenty of space, good hot shower .Hotel is very clean swimming pool and Jacuzzi was very good and clean. Bar prices average , breakfast good plenty of choice. dog friendly hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    2.9
    Not very pleasant wouldn't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mother in law stepped on a drawing pin in the swimming pool area and the staff seemed uninterested. Room was very hot and fan didn't work, rooms were unclean (rub the dust off the shelf) showers were shocking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money B&B with nice facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The B&B was about 20 minutes walk from the seaside, which in itself was not a problem except that there was only a small shopping arcade and Co-op near, but no restaurants so far as we could see. These were all located nearer the Marina. The only negative point about the room was the settee, which consisted of a wooden frame with insufficient cushioning making it somewhat uncomfortable sitting down on it for a period of time.

    We were given a lovely spacious room in the attic, which was clean and had tea/coffee making facilities. The staff are friendly and the breakfast was good. There was a choice of cooked/hot breakfasts and some cereals/yoghurts and canned fruit. Breakfast was included in the price. The B&B boasts of both a small outdoor and indoor pool, a gym and a sauna. The room had ample wardrobe space and a bath as well as a shower unit. Overall good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    3.8
    Rating online well above reality. Aa 2 star on sign which is more realistic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities shared / rented out locally. No sower curtain. No shower bracket to hold shower up. Wallpaper peeling of in bathroom and bedroom. Kids party on on arrival, kids running up and down stairs food on the floors.

    Bed comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.8
    We stayed in a a family suite and the beds were very comfy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only negative is the curtains in the main bedroom were all hanging off. It looked like a child(ren) had been playing in them causing them to unhook. Wasn't a problem we found it quite amusing! Would not stop us staying again.

    We stayed in a a family suite and the beds were very comfy and clean. Lovely outlook from room with a sea view on a clear day. Nothing to much trouble. Put all extras on our bill so we didn't have to keep carrying cash around, which we settled easily on departure. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    A great stay and will definitely visit again..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone was so welcoming and friendly. I had the yummiest pancakes for breakfast and dinner was superb. The play area was much appreciated by my baby girl.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Better than I had hoped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast portions could be more generous, food was excellent

    Both indoor and outdoor pools excellently maintained, jacuzzi was hot and foamy, my girls loved it! I can't believe they have been given only two stars, I couldn't find fault with it and I am picky!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    4.2
    Not a great experience.
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was poorly on the first day so I had to go home and we was not offered any money back. A member of staff there didn't seem very friendly and we had no housekeeper to clean our room and the bed was too small.

    N/a

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.0
    Loved Torquay , hotel is looking very tired and needs tidying up and painted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking I asked for additional items for room , wine , chocolates etc we spent our honeymoon there 25years ago . On arrival I asked the girl who booked us in and she said we don't do that !! She said someone phoned can't remember her name and got wine delivered , It turned out it was my daughter . Room was never cleaned while we were there . There was no milk containers in room , ended up buying milk every day . Towels were not changed everyday . Changing area in swimming pool was dirty . Bar did not stock bud or becks .

    The cooked breakfasts were lovely and the breakfast area was clean and attractive. Staff who served breakfast were polite and attentive .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.3
    Has potential to be excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff didn't show us around on arrival. Make member of staff was very scruffy no shoes, untucked shirt with collar up. Smell of chlorine was awful in swimming pool.

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    Great location, good regular buses to town, very helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't stand up in the bath & mixer taps / shower poor. Room very hot although fan was provided.

    Great location, good regular buses to town, very helpful, knowledge. Polite staff, was good to have indoor & outdoor pools. Breakfast selection good. Never had an issue parking. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.8
    Great room, great price, breakfast was spot on
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was disappointed the online menu was different to the menu they had and they didn't do steak.

    Close to the local coop and takeaways, daughter loved the toy area and outside toys, breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    7.5
    Very comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one iron to share so we had to wait in the morning before it came to us.

    The staff was very friendly and the spa facilities were really good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    5.4
    The room was a good size but needs doing up as half the place was falling apart.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool wasn't clean had a lot of lime scale after getting in realised it wasn't that clean and once out. My baby had a reaction to the water. Not good!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    4.6
    Hotel disappointing but location good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small, bed uncomfortable, no toiletries in room, towels not changed daily, breakfast poor, reception area untidy and not welcoming, no staff at reception when we arrived.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    2.5
    Absolute tip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed squeaked as soon as you got in it shower never worked toilet system ran water all the time very noise could hear doors shutting all night very bad experience would not recommend this to anyone even for free staff never spoke to you only to ask what we wanted for breakfast and very dirty

    nothink

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.0
    Shabby with out the chic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby ,4 star nope pushing to get a 1 blast from the 50ies , pictures on your site misleading , carpets stained, headboards greasy old & tired not worth the money

    breakfast, staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with some soap in the bathroom. . .

    Nice Victorian style hotel in quiet location but close enough to town. Bonus with pool and sauna. A lovely comfortable night with soft linen in the four poster bed! Good selection of stuff for breakfast; hot and cold. Appreciated the tea sachets/coffee etc in the room. Enjoyed the proper sized bath! Overall, a very pleasant stay and so glad you allow dogs to stay too!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    4.6
    Booked 2 adults & 2 kids but only got 3 beds plus a free pair of knickers!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above felt like a scam

    I booked via Booking.com 2 adults 2 children (also on my confirmation email although both children aged 0?) when we got to this hotel had a room with only 3 beds - how does that work??? So had to pay more for another room with 4 beds this felt like a scam as the hotel were not surprised & blamed Booking.com, when we got in the new room after paying an extra £30 the curtain was hanging off the rail & there was a pair of green lacey knickers on the floor behind a chair!!! Need I say anymore.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    3.3
    Disappointed stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very dirty, old and smelly. The roof leaked. Wallpaper falling off. Only half of the light bulbs worked. Towel rail hanging off. The bathroom was really dirty! The pool was slimey and cloudy water. It's very outdated and over priced 😣

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.8
    A neglected place. It is on sale.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neither room was cleaned, beds were not done, tea and coffee facilities were not replaced the second day. The indoor swimming was was dimly lit and had some strange product that produced a rash in my little grandson. Moreover, my silver rings got black with this product.I could not clean them properly. An uncared for place. A pity

    The location ande the breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    5.0
    Needs more cleaning and love!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were never cleaned and all other areas dirty. Tacky parts such as a junk sale. No proper lunch and dinner menu...much better food used for pool parties. Indoor pool often used for external swimming lessons and pool parties. Room's ceiling had damp and rain was leaking through

    Good location, near to the sea and station. Range of facilities. Ok breakfast although very repetitive

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    5.0
    The staff were lovely and very happy to help and were very...
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small without a proper shower. You could not stand for a shower and the water from the taps was boiling hot. The single bed was squeezed into an alcove which was not ideal. The room was also far too hot. We had a fan in the room but this did not really help. We had to leave our room door open to let cool air into the room.

    The staff were lovely and very happy to help and were very welcoming

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    5.0
    Nice staff, family friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was rock hard both of us woke with bad backs. It also creaked constantly. Cot bed supplied but no bedding at all. Shower was pitiful, no pressure to it and changed temperature. I wouldn't pay £85 for that if I had known.

    Nice staff, family friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    2.9
    Disgraceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything we only stayed one night. Will never book anything with you again a total disgrace even had trouble opening room door ruined weekend faulty towers would have seemed like a palace never even asked why we were leaving early 80 quid down the tubes won't get caught again

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice Staff Value for Money and Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really - it just needs a bit of TLC maybe a bit more updated brochures but the staff will advise you

    Good Breakfast (cereal and fruit yoghurt toast (jams/marmalades butter/flora) cooked breakfast or your could make a choice scrambled eggs on toast bacon sandwich) nothing to much trouble. Situated perfectly for bus to Torquay and all surrounding areas

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Friendly hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could do with updating

    Great staff with plenty of parking and excellent facilities. Good location 5 mins walk from the seafront and a great breakfast. Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    5.8
    Wouldn't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable, room too hot was given a fan that didn't work; room was very dusty. Breakfast wasn't great either

    The pool area was nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.3
    Last minute child friendly get away!😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel could probably do with bit of an update.Although very clean and had all the necessities the general feel was a bit tired,Maybe a lick of paint,new carpets and tiling could really bring the standard up from good to great.

    This hotel is great for a couple of nights get away,especially if you have little ones.The pools were warm and adequate,the food served was lovely and overall gives great value for money,Staff were all polite and accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    7.1
    The good outweighs the bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the room and bathroom was really poor. The hotel is quite run down and in need of some TLC.

    The staff are very accommodating and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. Location good. Facilities good. Food good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little tired. There was a stain on the throw that was on the bed. For one night it was fine. To be completely honest, I wouldn't have been happy staying in the room for longer than that.

    Breakfast was good with a nice selection. Would have made me very happy if there was a vegetarian option for the full English.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    5.8
    This hotel is not pet friendly
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Swimming pool was dark and unattractive used mainly by local health club. There were no facilities for pets. We were forced to leave the dog (Yorkshire terrier) in our room during meals or eat alone in the pool room which was a through route to the pool. Bar was also out of bounds even when it was empty (most nights) Forced to spend our time in the room with nowhere to sit comfortably.

    Breakfast was excellent. Location near the railway station was very good but difficult due to steep hill.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    5.8
    Staff are great, location is excellent, standards could be better :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of everything on the full English wasn't enough for My hungry husband. There was a massive dip in the bed due to the slats moving and mattress going through. (Hubby sorted it though) Attention to detail like a bit dusty, the swimming pool seemed slimy, sauna floor needed a clean and few tiles missing around the spa everywhere. I was unable to change in the womens changing room as there was a faeces smell. Which you could smell at the top end of the pool- which wasn't very pleasant.

    Staff very friendly and helpful 4 poster bed which we wernt expecting Bath :-) Great value for money Nice breakfast range Extra towels - nice touch

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    2.9
    Wouldn't stay again
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was ok but didn't have anythink in we wanted and the drinks too didn't have them into, the room was cold even with heating in the bed (four poster one) dusty the windows need sorting, swimming pool,suna,hot tub wasn't clean and so was the room and changing room it's expensive,it was aslo very very nosiey from inside the hotel 😡The bed was not comfty,didn't feel safe

    Staff was ok need to cheer up abit though

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.2
    I would like to stay again but perhaps I could avoid the days of pool parties.I'll check next time.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    loud kids close to and in the bar area, especially bad before and after pool parties. no chance of a quiet pint or a chat at those times. why cant they be kept further away?

    nearly everything

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    7.9
    Lovely little break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was bit to hot Car park spaces were quite tight

    Lots of space in our room Great view staff were friendly lovely heated pool which was a bonus Parking with the hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    5.4
    OK but not what we were expecting! Pictures are deceiving.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs TLC, curtains hanging off the rail so can't close properly, bathroom had a mouldy towel hanging rail. Staff seemed very disorganised, breakfast was different everyday (3 days), room wasn't serviced after 1st night so we had to change the bin (we had our 18month old baby so dirty nappies in the bin all day!). The pictures on the Internet are deceiving!

    Comfy bed and heating was on when we arrived so nice and warm room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    5.4
    Good and bad
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath outlet was full of hair. Room was over the kitchen and smelt of greasy food. New bed and old bed frame still in the room. No grass areas for the dog to go toilet

    They separated us from the morning breakfast area so we could eat with our dog too.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    5.0
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nothing like shown on the website neither was the restaurant menu. The photo of the pool on website was taken at a very clever angle as it's much smaller! Bed was lumpy and creaked with every movement, breakfast was ok. Won't be going back!!

    The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    5.4
    ok for a budget hotel if you are not disabled
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    had to ask for sheets to be changed even though the weather was very hot and we were staying there for ten days, couldn't use the bath or shower in the room as the bath was too small and you couldn't stand up in the shower due to low ceiling, no real bar to sit and drink was tiny space with uncomfortable sofas. Lots of stairs

    room large and clean, breakfast was good, the evening meals were good but a bit limited - they dont have as much as they show on the website ! Pool was good but was often crowded as it is used for parties and non residents. Staff were very helpful though

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    4.6
    Good Location - needs some updating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were tired and could do with a good clean. One young lady on the staff team is in need of some training in customer service.

    Food was very nice and good location

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: