Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Cumbria hotel reviews
  4. Ambleside hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Regent Hotel By The Lake

Reviews of Regent Hotel By The Lake This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Waterhead Bay, Ambleside, LA22 0ES, United Kingdom

#1 of 14 hotels in Ambleside

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1381 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    8.3
    Staff were excellent, very enthusiastic and the breakfast was great:)
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The robes were very uncomfortable, it was supposed to be an superior room but it was really small and the bed and bathroom didn’t feel like a superior room for the price! the tv could have more channels and better quality.

    The views were perfect.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    10
    Fantastic stay in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful hotel right by the water in Ambleside. Our room was lovely with a huge, comfortable bed and a separate dressing room. Lovely bathroom with great toiletries. The staff were wonderful and very attentive. Really nice decor and calm, relaxing environment plus delicious food. Definitely one to return to.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff really friendly and attentive Breakfast was amazing served to table Very quickly fresh and hot Rooms were spacious clean and comfortable Positioned right beside the lake Wonderful

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    6.3
    The staff were really accommodating so friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was far too small for a comfortable stay. Very disappointed in the small double. It would have been described as being for A borrower.

    The staff were really accommodating so friendly.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2019

    10
    Loved that the room was away from main hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only niggle, if I had to, was the pillows; couldn’t get comfy.

    Loved that the room was away from main hotel. Spotlessly clean. Friendly polite staff. Gorgeous food. Brilliant location.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2019

    7.9
    Return visit after discovering the family run hotel in 2018. Relaxing restful stay with excellent fo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Male Evening restaurant staff a little curt and dismissive.

    Breakfast choice would please every pallet Try the porridge on a cold winter day as a taster before your full cooked breakfast

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2019

    10
    Gorgeous hotel, brilliant location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all

    Could not fault this hotel in any way. Was a little perturbed after completing my booking to find that there was building works being carried out at the property so decided to ring the hotel direct. The receptionist reassured us that there would be no inconvenience or noise at all to disrupt our stay and she was right. You wouldn’t even know it was going on, so please don’t let that put you off. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous inside, all the staff couldn’t have been nicer and the food was delicious, both evening meal, which was very reasonable, and breakfast which is served until noon!!!! Would definately recommend and will certainly return.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    8.8
    Over all nice stay....clean place, staff very helpful and a positive experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We thought it was right on the lake and the view was not as expected the back trash area...a little disappointing for the price.

    Quant place and kept clean. Staff very friendly. Breakfast was nice. Close to the town and shops and not a far walk to the Lake.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    10
    Great location, great food and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    TV signal kept cutting out and the internet was slow in the bedroom. Some rooms are outside of the hotel, so would have to cross a small courtyard to get from room to bar.

    Breakfast was amazing, made to order. Beds were super comfy and large, very clean room. Hotel is easy to find and just across the road from the lake.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    9.5
    Really enjoyable apart from the outlook from our room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately building work going on so our room although very nice, overlooked a carpark full of vans. We needed to keep curtains shut as builders walking past constently.

    Very comfortable room. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    10
    Lovely hotel, helpful staff and probably one of the tastiest...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We felt that the bed was very firm but we have a soft mattress at home!

    Lovely hotel, helpful staff and probably one of the tastiest breakfasts I've eaten.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2019

    10
    Staff were extremely friendly very welcoming and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn't fault it

    Staff were extremely friendly very welcoming and couldn't do enough for you, the room really nice and breakfast was delicious. Excellent location.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2019

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all

    Lovely cosy room big confortable bed fabulous shower nice toileteries. Staff really amazing got balloons delivered for my husbands birthday

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2019

    10
    Wow and thank you hotel staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing hotel very kind and helpful staff especially Julie. We was upgraded for my birthday. This was the best complete hotel I've ever stayed in.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    10
    Best staff in Lake district
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything perfect

    As usual the staff are very attentive and helpful. The hotel is always clean and although there are other hotels with more facilities e.g. spa....there is no other hotel with better staff!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    9.6
    Amazing location near the lakeside of Windermere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/A

    Amazing location near the lakeside of Windermere. They do allow dogs which we asked about as we were leaving and they advised they have dog friendly rooms available in the courtyard. This is about a 10 minute walk from the centre of Ambleside which was ideal. The staff where incredibly helpful and so amazingly friendly. Would definitely return again but this time with my dog.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    10
    All staff so willing to make our stay a memorable moment, so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All staff so willing to make our stay a memorable moment, so any request and need was never a problem for them. Food plentiful and for all needs. Amazing, also a stones throw away from the Lake. Brilliant 😊

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    10
    Beautiful hotel,very clean and contemporary,very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful hotel,very clean and contemporary,very professional but very friendly staff,nothing was a trouble to them,beautiful fresh breakfast and really nice evening meals at reasonable prices,we will definitely be returning to this hotel in the summer,would highly recommend.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2019

    10
    A few
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Honestly there is nothing I can say

    The hotel staff food accommodation was first class very attentive value for money and the location was excellent we would recommended this hotel to all my friends and family and will definitely come back .

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2019

    9.6
    We will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately our superior room was across the car park which, given the cold and snowy weather, meant it was coats and heavy shoes to go to the restaurant.

    Lovely setting, friendly staff, breakfast excellent, lovely evening meal in the restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2019

    10
    The staff were amazing, so welcoming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were amazing, so welcoming and helpful. Our room was beautiful and so warm and cosy with a gorgeous view. We're definitely coming back!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2019

    9.2
    1st stay at the regent, the room (superior double) was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1st stay at the regent, the room (superior double) was excellent, with a view of the lake. all the staff were friendly, they really made us feel welcome. the breakfast was amazing, huge choice of options and all to an excellent standard. we only stayed a couple of days, but the experience was great and we will definitely be back later in the year.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2019

    10
    Best hotel we have stayed at I the lake district
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Room was large clean and modern unlike most places we have stayed in the lakes.. staff helpful and attentive. We loved the modern decor throughout the hotel. Bed was large and very comfortable. Large screen TV and good free wifi. Bathroom clean and of a high standard. Toiletries Were excellent. Meals were very good and reasonable.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2019

    10
    Excellent and we go back several times a year to a warm welcome and excellent standard of service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff are excellent, quality of rooms and the quality of the restaurant .It is also very dog friendly which meets our needs.The environment and rooms are of a high standrad warm welcoming and spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    7.5
    Very nice hotel trip somewhat spoilt by mistakes made with the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    After booking in found the room electricity wasn’t turned on then after being out in very cold weather realised the heating wasn’t on either making the room very cold which took a good while to heat up The manager admitted later on in the evening it had been forgotten someone should of turned electric and heating on before we booked in

    It is a lovely hotel staff our warm and welcoming and if everything was right would be perfect

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2019

    9.6
    Lovely pleasant and warm hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was not aware of stairs on booking. Wife has Asthma and struggled as our room was top floor. we were only staying one night so did not mention it at the time.

    Better variety of room beverages, biscuits !

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2019

    10
    The staff are very friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None

    The staff are very friendly and welcoming. They were assisting us to take baggage to upstairs room. The room is comfortable and warm. Breakfast is delicious, recommend to everyone.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    9.6
    Really nice hotel, staff were so helpful, food especially breakfast was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    View could have been a little better but restricted by buildings around us

    Staff were amazingly helpful and polite, hotel was in a great location. Food especially breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2019

    6.3
    Good location, great parking - Hotel is expensive for the standard of rooms. Breakfast OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small, shower was poor controls were very worn and didn't work properly. Some of hotel is dated and worn (corridors etc) Very small and busy breakfast room, everybody was squeezed close together.

    Comfy beds, helpful staff, good parking.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    9.2
    Quite on water front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very quiet during the week days. Not a lot to do. Apart from eat and drink all day in the many foodie bars and different eateries. Got to travel about to Keswick and beyond for good entertainment.

    Quite on water front. Easy access to boats. Did not run till late though. In winter.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    10
    Excellent weekend visit to the Ambleside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't have any issues with this hotel at all.

    Staff very welcoming and friendly. Superb breakfast lots of choice. Good location 15 minute walk into Ambleside or 1 minute from where the tourist boats go down the lake. Bus stop within 100 yards if you want to travel anywhere by bus.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    10
    Brilliant hotel, location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was absolutely nothing we didn't like.

    Brilliant hotel, location and staff. Can't fault this hotel at all. Definitely would recommend and we will be back soon

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2019

    10
    Birthday treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    The location was brilliant, we could see the lake from the room. Everywhere was immaculate and tastefully decorated. The staff were very friendly and attentive, especially Julie who we saw at breakfast each morning, who had a wealth of knowledge of the area. The room was fab, we had room 42 across the car park, there was even a birthday card waiting for me on the bed! The weather prevented the use of the outside seating area, but we did see deer one morning on the way to breakfast in the wooded area at the end of the car park, which made my morning 🤗 we could not fault anything and would love to return one day, for a longer stay.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    7.5
    Great place, right next to Lake Windermere, but about a 20 minute walk from the town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little bit smaller than expected, but very comfortable

    The breakfast was excellent with a great choice of dishes and very pleasant staff

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    10
    The bedroom was very quiet and dark.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The bedroom was very quiet and dark. The hotel location was excellent for my needs. Couldn't fault anything. Breakfast was exceptional. Huge menu choice.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    10
    Would book tomorrow if we had more holiday time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Service was excellent. Extremely helpful as my wife had just had knee surgery. The manager served her personally and our table was reserved for the following morning without asking. Excellent.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    9.6
    Modern, clean, comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could have been cheaper to fit in with local prices

    Modern, clean, comfortable. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. Restaurant was lovely, food was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    8.8
    Considering January was very cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Need new dominos

    Breakfast was very very tasty and the lady in the dining room was a credit to the hotel .The food in general was very good,and location is perfect.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    9.2
    Perfect location, lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bath was the smallest I have ever seen/used and it would be nice to have more tv channels but that doesn’t detract from it being an excellent hotel

    Perfect location, lovely staff, comfy bed and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    10
    Real Gem in Ambleside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to dislike

    lovely hotel very helpful friendly staff lovely rooms food excellent lovely location couldn't fault hotel been few times now never disappoints us breakfast is excellent plenty of choice food very good highly recommend visit

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    8.3
    We were upgraded to a loft room which had great views over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some members of staff were a little blunt/rude, but others were pleasant and fantastic! Car parking could be a little short on space (we got the last space two days running)

    We were upgraded to a loft room which had great views over the lake and a king size bed. Hotel was lovely and only a short taxi ride to town (or 15 mins walk)

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    9.2
    Excellent location, comfortable and welcoming place. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing comes to mind

    The staff were very welcoming and very helpful. Longer breakfast time through to 12 was a real bonus allowing for an early morning walk prior to having something to eat

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    10
    Exceeded all our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Exceeded all our expectations. Great value for money, all polite and friendly staff wanting to go above and beyond for us. Breakfast was fabulous with a buffet and cooked options available. Very comfy stay, clean, would absolutely stay again!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    8.8
    A very comfortable and restful break with lovely service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Limited refreshment choices in room. Room located accessed from the outdoors but not too problematic....just cold!

    Staff at breakfast were excellent. Comfy beds. Cleanliness. Location.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    9.2
    Great balcony rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spoilt by a builder letting himself into our room at 10 in the morning while I was getting change and my partner was on the loo!

    Our balcony room was brilliant, it was large and clean and private. Great value for money, walking distance to town. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    10
    A wonderful two night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing we had a great time in lovely surroundings.

    The staff were fabulous in the restaurant especially the breakfast staff.Sorry do not know any names but she had reddish hair and had a very pleasant manner.Nothing as too much trouble for her.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    10
    Extremely enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Staff were very polite and friendly, the hotel bar and restaurant exceeded our expectations and excellent value for money as breakfast was included. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    8.3
    I didn't like the fact that we were not advised that the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the fact that we were not advised that the restaurant in the hotel required to be booked in advance in order to dine there. I have never experienced an hotel whose restaurant doesn't have room for its guests. We managed to get a table only because someone else cancelled last minute. Other than this, everything was well above our expectations and would definitely return.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    7.5
    We had short but good stay and the staff were very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are in an outside annex and the shower room was lightweight, effectively with the feel of caravan. Given the room rates, the bedrooms weren't what we were expecting.

    The dinner we had was excellent

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    8.8
    It was a pure delight to get off the wheel and wander through the fells, then return to comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I don't get along with hotel pillows, too soft, and forgot to bring my own which resulted in me not sleeping well over the three nights.

    The hotel was a lovely experience for a Christmas break. The staff, the room, and the food all helped to make this a special few days away.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    9.6
    iThe hotel is worth the visit and the service is excellent and has a unique location
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms are slightly small

    The hotel is great and has a location close to the lake and close to the location of the cruise and the hotel staff is well-treated and smiling faces of the guest

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    10
    Beautiful place, relaxing atmosphere, friendly staff lovely food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some building work going on but it didn't really interfere with our stay.

    Hotel and location were beautiful. Staff were really friendly. Food and drinks were excellent. We loved the relaxed attitude to checkout time, it was lovely to have such a long breakfast period and be able to pack the car, go for a walk and then return for breakfast. WE usually go to Coniston, but this will be our new lace to stray in the Lakes.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    10
    Everything about our stay was wonderful and would definitely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything about our stay was wonderful and would definitely stay in The Regent Hotel again. The food was excellent in the restaurant and value for money. Very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay in an ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The room was very comfortable. The bed in particular. We had a settee and an outside table and chairs although didn't use the outside as it was 2nd week in December. Very friendly staff. The location is brilliant for the boats on the water. We have never seen such a choice on the menu for breakfast, it was lovely and again very efficient service.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    6.3
    Great location and food. Courtyard rooms need updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No consistency with value for money with the rooms. Rooms within the hotel are very good and modern. Suites in the courtyard likewise. Rooms in the courtyard nowhere near worth the money. Little facilities, dated decor. Do not warrant the price.

    Great food, friendly staff, location.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, staff very professional and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel, staff very professional and helpful. We were upgraded on arrival, as it was my husbands 60th birthday Food was lovely and the breakfast outstanding. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    8.3
    Great room, staff service was amazing, food fab, Christmas...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a bit cold, small hotel, had to go outside and across car park to get to room, thought it would be on the lake not across the road

    Great room, staff service was amazing, food fab, Christmas decs

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    10
    brilliant hotel with a great location, parking and a fantastic breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower was not a power shower and there was no bottled water to drink in the room

    great location and lovely room, fantastic breakfast, i would definately stay there again, only stayed one night ..would like to stay for longer and have a meal there too.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    10
    Above and beyond expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all

    Everything was beyond expectations Amazing room, very helpful and accommodating staff, lovely and affordable yet high quality food in the restaurant, modern, clean - could not have asked for more

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in a perfect spot for parking up leaving the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely hotel in a perfect spot for parking up leaving the car and getting about on foot, bus or boat. Room clean, comfortable and had everything you could need. All the staff were very friendly, helpful and go that bit extra to make you feel welcome.the breakfast was great plenty of choice and enough to keep you going all day

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    9.2
    Breaking the Dales
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillows very soft - needed to ask for extra. Despite it being Nov the heating wasn't on when we arrived in our room. Didn't take long to heat up after we turned the radiators on. Building work in progress at the moment -our room was very close so no chance of long lie!

    Friendly staff,esp Alex, who altered our booking due to illness. On arrival he enquired if we were feeling better. Good breakfast selection and generous portions. Also breakfast served 8am til 12 noon. Large comfy bed (we booked a double room) Location -approx 15-20 min walk in to the centre of Ambleside.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    10
    Absolutely no complaints. Lovely stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I honestly couldn’t fault the place.

    Great location next to the lake. Short few minutes drive into the town. Restaurant was brilliant on site. All staff were so nice and always went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Thankyou, we will be back!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    10
    Comfortable stay, opposite lake shore. Cosy rooms and excellent food and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Toilet broke down, but fortunately on the final morning. I'm sure it was fixed promptly.

    Very comfortable bed; nice to have a double though a single traveller. Warm cosy room. Breakfast is superb; so much choice. Dinner menu is the same whether eating in restaurant or bar; again lots pf choice. The rustic lamb stew in sourdough and the cheese souffle are especially good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were always very friendly. The room was lovely. There is some building works going on but it didn't disturb us at all. The bed was amazing, so comfortable. Breakfast was great and so much choice.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    9.0
    Our stay was excellent. If only the weather had been as good as the Hotel !!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing for us to complain about. The Hotel was all we had hoped for.Our stay was very pleasant

    The Hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly. The food was very good with a large choice of evening meals. There was also a great choice at Breakfast. It was good to find a hotel with a parking area that was large enough.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel,great staff,comfortable rooms and beds and super location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just the rainy weather but it’s more often than not the norm in the lakes!

    The hotel is lovely and quirky,the staff very helpful,the superior room we got upgraded to was lovely and the location ideal. The food in the restaurant for dinner was super and very reasonable and the breakfast was amazing too.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    10
    An excellent hotel in a beautiful position. Would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Struggling to find a negative, but we found the water temperature hard to control which meant the shower and bath were very hot.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfortable and clean with a modern bathroom with large bath. We particularly enjoyed the breakfast which was of a very high standard and with a good choice, including vegetarian options.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    8.8
    Nice Hotel, all the staff were very attentetive and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hot water was very slow to come through and the Bath was very small, I upgraded and paid a little extra for my room, but compared to the one I booked for my friend I am failing to see why I had done this now.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    9.6
    Another lovely stay with superb breakfasts and great trips round the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All fine. In a way thats seems to be the character of the place, everything very well run.

    Very comfortable rooms and friendly staff, a very short walk from the beautiful Windermere waterfront and pleasure steamers. Breakfast exceptional, evening meals very good. We have stayed here several times and it has always been a lovely visit.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel & staff, beautiful part of our country!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing we didn't like was the bed! So uncomfortable that I am still suffering with back pain 3 days later! And the menu.

    Hotel is very nice, clean and welcoming. Food is great although the menu is not very appealing (other than fish & chips there aren't many basic choices) If there was somewhere close with a better menu we would have gone there.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    10
    Lovely staff great food brilliant position would come back and will do definitely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn't fault it pity they couldn't turn the rain off though but you carnt have everything

    Brilliant staff clean great position great food would definitely come back again

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent stay with very few issues, I would definitely recommend The Regent Hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately the view from the room wasn’t much to look at and also it was a noisy room especially from the road traffic.

    Friendly staff, breakfast was lovely and plentiful, there was a wide variety of items you could order. The room was small but clean and comfortable. Air conditioning and heating available.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    10
    Simply perfect x
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all, everything was fantastic.

    Absolutely amazing place, breathtaking views, really friendly people, gave us a memory to treasure and we will most certainly be visiting again but next time for longer! Thank you x

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    10
    up until the time my wife became ill we had an excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing really, it is a lovely place to stay.

    The reception staff were brilliant when my wife became ill in the early evening. They made initial contact with the emergency services on my behalf and helped throughout the incident.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    10
    The welcome was lovely, the staff on the desk and in the restaurant were all smart, polite and help
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to dislike, it was totally fine for our purposes.

    The room was very comfortable and all the facilities were good. The shower, towels, TV, hospitality tray were all fine.

    Stayed in October 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: