Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Regent House Hotel - B&B 3 stars

3-5 Forth Street, Broughton, Edinburgh, EH1 3JX, United Kingdom

#126 of 218 B&Bs and Inns in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 948 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    8.8
    Hospitality was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had the family room #6 (5 beds). There was a piano in the room, but no couch or chairs to sit on.

    Hospitality was excellent. Location very close to city centre. Good pub around the corner. Continental breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    6.3
    Since I new Edinburgh already I had a great stay. The
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived later than expected due to flight delay, but still early enough to meet the Night Watch who was informed by myself. He just said: Oh, you made it earlier. The gentleman did not even ask whether I would like to settle next day and just went on with the payment promptly after my arrival. If you book a room with bathroom en suit is often not visible on first sight when making the reservation. So I missed the fact that the shower and toilet was shared. Not a problem, but some do not appreciate to meet the neighbours in pyjamas in front of the shower room. This should be made more obvious when booking online. Just to avoid comments like mine.

    My room was clean, comfi and had a window which is not always common. Breakfast was included, but never made use of the offer. The location is only 10 min walk from the centre, is connected to the Airport express tram within 10 min walk. distance and has plenty of bakers, cafés in the neighbourhood.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Great location, friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small.

    Great location, friendly and helpful staff. Great to be able to store baggage on location day of arrival and departure so we could continue to enjoy exploring the city!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.7
    Nice hostel in 10 minutes from the railway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was quiet small. You should bear in mind that toilet and shower are located not in the room itself, but in the general area and are used by all guests. No elavator.

    Location is really good - just 10 minutes walk to the Waverley railway station. This small hotel is situated in an old building, which is nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    5.8
    Excellent staff. Hotel doesn't have lift
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on 3rd floor with no lift in hotel.thanks to duty staff that they took our suitcases to the room. Credit card that I used was in pounds whereas hotel charge me in my local currency, incurring me 10 pounds extra due to currency conversation.

    Staff was very helpful and did their best to facilitate us.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location and very comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very basic . Something as simple as better bread would make a difference and a bit of fresh fruit even if just bananas rather than canned fruit.

    Great location and very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.9
    Bed was comfortable and a good shower once I worked out how...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room location was a bit noisy early in morning.

    Bed was comfortable and a good shower once I worked out how to use it. Great location with lots of different eateries near by.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.3
    It is in a beautiful and central area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my opinion is a bit expensive. The room is too small and the toilet and bathroom are outside. This was my mistake in the selection option but for the price I was expecting more from the room.

    It is in a beautiful and central area. If you want to visit Edinburgh is perfect and really calm.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains were too short for the windows and the bedroom decor and carpet could have done with updating. A table instead of the piano would have been good.

    Breakfast, bathroom, location and room available for family of five.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Good b n b 👍
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only down side to the hotel was the breakfast. It was continental only, and it seemed to be that when it was done there wasn't replenished...so if you were last down ...you got what was left. There was ample options... though, just not enough of things like pastries and croissants.

    Fab location, cleanliness was also excellent. Comfy beds and clean smell

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.2
    Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No lift, many, many stairs to climb.

    Location was close enough to town, but quiet. Rooms were clean and comfortable, breakfast delicious and plentiful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    3.8
    Couldn’t sleep due to noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in the basement next to all the admin facilities - kitchen, storage room etc. It meant it was impossible to sleep from 6am onwards. The staff made horrendous amounts of noise even after we explained that the noise made it really hard to sleep. We were offered a different room but one with a shared bathroom which didn’t match the amount of money we paid for. I noticed that there was another review complaining about the noise so maybe that room in particular shouldn’t be let out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.5
    Perfect for an overnight stay or even longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was lovely and clean, although as we were on the top floor had 3 flights of stairs to climb (no lift) so we got plenty excercise lol breakfast was continental style so stuck to cereal and toast!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.3
    It was a good choice. I was happy with my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I, personally, would have liked to have been a bit closer to the Royal Mile but that is about it.

    The breakfast was very good - plenty to choose from. The hotel was about a 15 - 20 minute walking distance to the Royal Mile. Nice location. The staff were all very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    A great base for exploring Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very accommodating of our late arrival due to flight delays. This is a great base for exploring Edinburgh; 10 minutes walk from Waverley train station and 2 minutes from the tram. It was very reasonably priced compared to most places in the city. The city itself is absolutely amazing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steps no elevator to rooms, staff can’t decide if you should put the clean room sign out or not. they kept getting confused if they should clean, even after I asked them too. The bed was a bit hard as well. The fire alarm went off all 3 days we stayed so no opening the window

    Great location, tram runs right by it! Wish I would have known that when booking. Great breakfast choices and the views out the garden window was amazing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.1
    Very close to the centre with lots of things to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking not available which added £50 to our stay. Had to park in a multi story which was £21 a day!!!!

    Very close to the centre with lots of things to do. Room was clean and nicely decorated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    3.8
    Only the breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning staff shouting in Spanish from the the first floor to the third. Shoutings like “throw me some towels!!!” It lasted until 10.30am(when I had to leave the room). It was awful because arrived from work very late the night before and was waken up at 7am by other guests banging their doors and from 8am by cleaning staff. The room was dated, dirty, and scary. My worst night out ever.

    Only the breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.7
    The staff were lovely & the location was good & easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower wasn't great & the nozzle couldn't be adjusted so pointed at the wall only, the chair in the room was busted & although it was a single room, it was extremely cramped. They were doing a lot of painting so the place smelt like wet paint the whole time I was there.

    The staff were lovely & the location was good & easy to access from public transport. Easy to get to everything but a bit quieter than being closer into the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    Bang for the buck!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First time in Edinburgh. Very easy to get to the hotell from the airport. Tram to final destination York Place, then just walk down the street 100meters and voila. Even tho it was close to the city center it was a quiet street. The room was located on second floor, it was bigger then we expected. Had large comfy beds. The bathroom was new, but small. Very clean rooms, good towels. The staff was great, always smiling and ready to serve your need! Simple breakfast with toast, chese, ham, jam, yoghurt, cereal and pastries. The staff makes good coffee for you!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Overall very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise on the street late at night was awful .People have no respect these days.Shouting singing screaming.Car doors slamming Bottles being emptied very late and really early in the morning.Hence no sleep.

    The hotel and staff were fantastic.Location was brilliant last tram stop 10 Min walk to royal mile.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Great little B&B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there was a mirror the bedroom it was be even better.

    Fantastic B&B, staff were all superb. Fantastic location for the Playhouse. Very clean and comfortable. Not short of sockets for charging phones, hairdryer etc

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Given the antiquity of the premises it is a comfortable, welcoming hotel. I would gladly use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shared shower was tiny. Though sharing these facilities presented no problem

    It's a beautiful old house in the New Town, well situated for visiting Edinburgh but away from the hubbub.. It has atmosphere. The breakfast was well presented and quite adequate. The view from our top floor room extended over the roof tops right out to the Firth of Forth. Well worth the steep climb up the authentic, winding staircase. The non native staff were excellent: friendly, eager to please and utterly charming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Very central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central location. Property was clean, homely and maintains many original features. Staff were friendly and unobtrusive, giving a homely, relaxed feeling.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    A very pleasant stay in a nice neighbourhood not far from the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A long slog up the stairs to the top floor with heavy bags as there's no lift. It would have been useful to know that in advance. The shower tray didn't drain properly making it sloshy and slippery (reported to staff).

    Big room and a bright clean bathroom with shelves and hooks (very useful but sadly not common). Fantastic view from the top floor across the chimneys to the Firth of Forth. Decent cafetiere coffee for breakfast - and fresh melon (on the morning we were down early anyway). Somewhere to store luggage during the day before our afternoon departure from the city. Good location with cafes, restaurants and a health food shop nearby. A 10/15 min walk to Princes St and Waverley Station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.7
    Overall, I would rate this hotel 3/5
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. You have to use steps to reach your room. Main door to room is hard to open. No locking system from inside. Apart from cozy and big beds, room is not spacious. Too less space to move around. Curtains to the window were small in length, leaving a gap below. So, no complete darkness in room.

    Location of Regent House from Edinburgh bus station is perfect for any newcomer to Edinburgh. No hassles in finding it. Staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast is provided. Room is clean. Beds are comfortable. Compared to room decor, bathroom was modern.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Ideal if you are going to edinburgh playhouse would definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a spiral staircase so elderly or someone who has difficulty climbing stairs might have a struggle with top floors.

    Couldn't fault anything the beds very comfortable room and bathroom clean. Couldn't comment on breakfast as we don't eat breakfast, staff were nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window in my room was the old one (I think it was without double glazing. It was 5'C outside and the room was cold even with the heating on. But, the good thing is they provide electric heating in my room in addition to the room's heating which helped a lot in keeping the room warm.

    The location is very good because the hotel is very close to the tram and bus stops.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Extremely central 5 minute walk from the bus station and about 7 minutes walk to Princes St.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    64 steps up to room could cause problems for the less able that being said it is a very beautiful old building. Slight wi-fi connection in room but fine downstairs.

    Room on top floor fantastic views, e-suite bathroom great and very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit chilly in the room and bathroom due to old window frames but this is common for most British accommodations, and there was additional electric heater in the room. I would add hooks on the room door - there's nowhere, except small wardrobe, where one could hang outerwear.

    Friendly staff and great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    3.8
    Only the location was OK , simple as that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was in a very bad condition such as ; -Windows are very old and not able to close due to this we had cold during the night -Very noisy and no isolation at all ( able to hear all from other rooms) -Very poor breakfast menu -There was a group and they have done a lots of noisy , fight between each other, drunk at 03h00AM and reception or other personnel did not even warn them !!!! -Cold rooms ( especially for the kids) -Lack of employee ; seems the hotel was without any employee and run by it self Never ever again !!!! and wont suggest to anyone...

    Only the location was OK , simple as that.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    Close to the centre of Edinburgh!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs to the second floor were noisy, not covered with carpet and made you feel like they were going to fall apart. The breakfast was okay in general, however there was no eggs available. Maybe it is something to consider...

    Close to the centre of Edinburgh! Generally good hotel, friendly staff, comfortable bed and nice room and bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.7
    The beds were comfy and the rooms were clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WIFI was not good at night when I needed to work I assume its because so many were using it. I did ask for it to be re-set the first night, in the hope it would improve but it didn't. I got up and worked at 5am when it worked fine. I suggest stronger WIFI for those staying who wish to work. The corridors and stair really need painting and freshening up, after the entrance hall its a little underwhelming

    The beds were comfy and the rooms were clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    2.9
    Depressing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. So, poor value for money. The first night I found a note in the bathroom not to use the toilet any more with no further instructions for alternative and nobody in reception to give me further explanations. And that sums it all up. Freezing room, tiny space I could not even put my small suitcase on the floor breaches it was blocking my path to the bathroom.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    > Super cold! The heating only runs over evening/night and the electric heater is mandatory (and was at first not available in our room). > Very small! The room is extremely small (much smaller than the pictures suggests). It basically had the surface area of two beds. > Noisy! This old building has basically no sound insulation. You can hear everybody on your floor and the cracking stairs. > Speaking of stairs, these are *very steep* and run all the way to the third floor. If you have reduced mobility, this place is not for you. > The staff, although kind-hearted I suppose, seems highly untrained especially at breakfast (to the exception of one guy who was professional (the manager maybe?)). The staff was basically wearing pyjamas and their service was slack. > The quality of all rooms seems very uneven, and I'm not sure they all belong to different price categories, so maybe you can get better luck than us. > The breakfast is very minimal, no eggs, sausages or any of the likes. Your basic toast/jam/cereals with canned fruit salad. Acceptable for the price I suppose, but clearly not something to long for in the morning.

    The bed was comfortable and the location very convenient. The facilities are in general clean (although shared bathroom can't be expected to always be perfectly clean I suppose).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.7
    Service from the 3 staff for the breakfast throughout the 3...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The interior of the room was a bit old, could see some stains and look dusty at some corners especially the object (don't know its name) next to the window. I was in Room 12 by the way. And the lighting is dim even if I have opened the three lights (2 table lights and a hanging lamp).

    Service from the 3 staff for the breakfast throughout the 3 mornings were good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly staff but very small room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room, only one hook on the door, no space to hang up our towels (had to hang them up on the wardrobe doors. We had the cheapest room but it's too small to rent it out as a double room. Room was very cold even with the second freestanding radiator in the room. The radiator took up more space. No room for our 2 suitcases. Kettle was on the top op the wardrobe (eye hight) but no plug there so we had to boil the water on the floor.

    The guy from Slovenia at the reception was very very nice and helpful. Breakfast was really good. Clean and modern place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    A great location to go sightseeing, friendly staff and a super breakfast to start the day
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains in our room were a foot too short and let the light in, a problem when trying to get youngsters to sleep as the lamp lights outside the room were on until late and then the day light woke us up early each morning!

    The continental breakfast was delicious 😋 The beds were comfortable and the room was warm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.1
    The staff is very friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not well isolated and the room was quite cold. Probably that is why an electric heater (apart from the central heating) was provided.

    The staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    5.8
    The room was extremely cold.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was extremely cold. The heater was not sufficient for the size of the room with cold air streaming in through the dormant fire place and the large window.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    6.7
    Okay
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is worst Very very limited display like keeping 2-3 cup cakes and not refilling promptly and person staring at me makes me uncomfortable to take or ask food.. they don’t have scrambled eggs usually all b&b would have eggs at least... Staff is okay After checkout I asked for restroom and they said that no restroom for checked out guest lol

    Room is good WiFi is good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    Cheap, clean, comfy and central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reading lamps didn't work. I could have reported it, but as I was only staying one night I didn't bother. The quality and range of food at breakfast wasn't great.

    Great location, good beds, modern en-suite bathroom. Good price. Friendly receptionist.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff. Nice Victorian features. Very clean. Lovely location with easy access to transports, shops,pubs and restaurants. We will recommend to friends. We will return (if possible). 9/10

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.9
    Lovely, relaxed and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our double bed was two singles pushed together, not the most comfortable sleeping arrangement

    Very good choice at breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. Great location. Fantastic building. Views from the room window were great. Fantastic steak restaurant a short walk around the corner.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    5.8
    Place is strategic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had a problem with wifi and boiler went to reception three times at 6am, 8am and 9am but no staff to be found so I emailed the property instead. We continued our tour without taking a bath. They fixed the boiler when we went back but no wifi throughout our stay. Said they had a fire in their building but should've have compensated it through something. Oh, and they charged us a GBP 15 per day for my 10 year old niece. Very considerate. One room is not heated enough, tried the extra heater but its not working. Would not recommend for families.

    Place is strategic. Close to tesco and some restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.3
    Brilliant location and lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a little lacklustre and had we known that, we probably would’ve gone out for breakfast instead. It wasn’t too bad though.

    The location is fantastic - right by the Playhouse Theatre and fantastic for city centre access. The value for money is excellent but the competitive price is reflected in the breakfast, which is average, and some of the hotel’s finishes. All in all though, a great stay with lovely staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    Great location, really good value for a city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedside lights really dim. Would have liked more selection of fresh fruit at breakfast.

    Great location, lots of eating places close by,short walk to city centre. Quiet location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.3
    We had a great time, as always...will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Payment process...I got charged twice.

    I like coming to Edinburgh and staying in a historic building, so this was a lovely setting for this quaint accommodation, we enjoyed our stroll through St Andrews Square to get to & from the CBD each day. Our room was super clean and was very well-equipped. Breakfast provided was an added bonus.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    5.8
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one was at the front desk to welcome us when we arrived. We had to wait 30 minutes for someone to show up to give us our room key. Because we had listed a specific time (14:00-15:00) online for our arrival and arrived within that time period we were very disappointed that we had to wait so long to get into our room. Also, some of the staff members were a bit rude and there was no elevator for getting our luggage up to our room.

    The location was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    Spot on location and everything as expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing for the money.

    Great family room. We paid for a brilliantly located B&B and that's exactly what we got. Staff incredible. Chap who runs the place was exceptional and couldn't be more helpful. It's not the Hilton but just cosy and great. Loved the self service continental breakfast. Top location, top accommodation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend and come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff who changed our booking due to us not being able to travel on the day we wanted to as trains cancelled. Lovely welcome, great location, very comfy beds

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.1
    fairly good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating stopped working at the midnight and it felt sooooooo cold in the morning. And breakfast can be improved.

    Good facility, nice staff, and quiet place

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    6.7
    good for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are quite outdated, when we moved in there was rubbish on the floor, obviously wasn't hoovered good enough.

    Very good location, just 5 min from bus station/town centre. Room was very warm during the night, despite -7 degrees outside.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.6
    Third year in a row we have stayed here, always been a pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice if the room had already been warmed before we arrived as it was a cold day but it was put on immediately when we asked & was cosy soon

    Bedding clean & fresh, surrounding area quiet to sleep, breakfast included in the price!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.3
    Knowing what we do now, we would still stay again since the location was superb and staff helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It took us the first chilly night to figure out how to work the heat. The shower took some adjusting to figure out the hot water but since we were unable to turn down the water pressure it would spray all over. The beds weren't very comfortable. There was a lot of noise that came through the window of the 3-person bedroom on the front of the house. The single pane window may as well have been open since the noise came right through and was quite drafty.

    Very convenient location, right downtown and within walking distance of several sites. There were also plenty of places to eat in the neighborhood. Szylvia was extremely helpful in providing information about where to park and where to eat.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location, comfortable clean lovely staff but no good breakfast to set you up for day
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast let the whole stay down. The staff were lovely and helpful but the pastries etc were stale and unappetising. There was a small selection of freshcold meats and a bowl of apples apart from that everything else was tinned and not brilliant. We felt that this was a shame in an otherwise lovely stay.

    The hotel was in an excellent location, the room was ready early which was a bonus and there was extra heating in the room if required. It was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.3
    Basic accomadation poor breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor croissants and pastry stale. Not much choice no decent bread. Rooms could do with an update also poorly lit. Only one lamp worked ceiling light had only two small bulbs working

    Staff friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.2
    A quite worthy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    none ~

    We made a reservation early under pre-paid lower price, unexpectedly came out many good services of this hotel offered that is very worthy. friendly staff, lots of bread selection for breakfast for three of us were satisfied and each was delicious, comfortable bed with a large space ( we booked the type of three single beds ), hotel location is within 10 minutes walk to Edinburgh Waverley station nearby, along with the road, there are restaurants you can eat & a Tesco express buy something you need.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.3
    very handy to all amenities, would go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    large windows in room, curtains didn't reach the floor so a draught came in under, one end of room cold, other nice and warm

    Staff friendly and helpful. Beds nice and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.8
    Very friendly staff, room was clean, good and large bed,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The common practice of selling adapters for UK electricity net instead of just offering them... Happened in other hotels as well. I had three of those, forgot of course all of them on this trip and now decided to safe 5 pounds...

    Very friendly staff, room was clean, good and large bed, toilet/shower clean and well-functioning. Breakfast offered viennoiseries which was nice, toast, and yoghurt. Location is excellent, walking distance from railway station and 100m from the tram (that connects to the airport). Also plenty of sights in vincinity and good restaurants a short walk (5 min, of Queen Str) away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    A beautiful old hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no sink in the shared restroom, but the sink was in the bedroom, which was quite odd.

    A beautiful old house. A comfy bed, not too hot in the room. Good location near the New Town centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    Suited us for a short break in central locatiin
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance to flat a little off putting and flat could do with a bit if tic. (Tile missing in bathroom glass broken one one of the pictures, paintwork needs touching up)

    Central location. Apartment was warm and bass very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Location and breakfast are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Location and breakfast are great. Room is cleaned everyday. View from windows is very good. Although nights are cold in Edinburgh, heating is very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.1
    Clean and comfortable and well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had room 5 in basement and woken at 6.30am each morning as room next door was where the continental breakfast was prepared.

    Only 2 mins walk from York Place Tram stop so easy journey from airport. Quiet area. 10-15 min walk to town centre and attractions. Very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.5
    I love Edinburgh. The Regent is a lovely location, but be sure to get an inside room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I stayed at Regent Guest House two years ago and loved it. However, this trip I was given a room facing the street, which is quite noisy all night. After the first night I asked a member of the staff if I could move to an inside room. He said they were booked, so I asked to move when a room turned over. He was non-committal. I saw several rooms open up as people left but no one ever got back to me about changing rooms. I was exhausted from lack of sleep after four nights.

    I love the location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    It was a perfect place for me to stay while exploring Edinbrough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had 2 beds, but would've pretty small for 2 adults. Perfect for one.

    Room was nice, clean, bright; bathroom was nice. Location was perfect to walk to anything needed, but also to castle, museum, Scottish shops, restaurants, bistros. Tram to/from airport very close.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    Handy location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slightly cramped room requiring us to walk sideways between beds and wall to get from one end of the room to the other. Room was at top of two flights of stairs and there was no lift. However, mainly just a problem on arrival and departure with bags and we were given assistance on arrival.

    Handy location. Comfortable room and good continental breakfast choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    breakfasr is simple but really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    well, only a little bit wait in waiting to be served, but nothing serious

    breakfasr is simple but really nice. the location is great and quiet. staff is helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.0
    It was pretty clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property wasn't really a B&B, or really a hotel. It was a bit like an expensive hostel. Unless all the rooms are ensuite and serve a proper breakfast it shouldn't be considered a B&B. This is the second property that I've seen on Booking where properties have been naming themselves and it does not necessarily match the location. The location worked as a last minute resort but I'm not sure I would book again.

    It was pretty clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    3.8
    pretty disappointing for the high price paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything

    Not much. Having to haul heavy suitcases up two flights of circular staircase not fun for 70 plus y.o.s no help from grumpy " boss'. Breakfast pretty ordinary, had to ask 3 times for pot of tea, then got grumped at for asking the third time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.9
    Our room was quite large and accommodated our family of 5...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was very poor serving toast, yogurt, cereal and coffee. Parking was difficult but once we found a space, it was very cheap on the street.

    Our room was quite large and accommodated our family of 5 easily with 5 twin beds. We still had space to move around even with all the beds and our large pieces of luggage. The bathroom was quite small, but clean and manageable. The location is within walking distance to Prince street and the Royal Mile and all the major attractions. The WiFi worked well in our room which was a plus with our three teenagers. We arrived early and were allowed to store our baggage while we waited for check-in time. Even though we were off a main road the room was very quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Thoroughly enjoyed the time in Edinburgh with my grandchildren aged 5 and 2 yrs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to say as the age of the building doesn't warrant modern additions such as a lift so made carrying things like buggies for a child more difficult if you had another young child to consider. The staff, however, were happy to assist without complaint or issue.

    Breakfast was good and allowed for plenty of choice. Extremely accommodating with food for children when asked. Breakfast area was simple but clean and well presented. Generally, a peaceful and adequate place to stay. Loved the building with its original features remaining intact.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.7
    location, quietness, staff, room, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no ensuite, very expensive for single occupancy in double room but during Edinburgh Fringe so to be expected. However, would book earlier next time. Would definitely stay there again

    location, quietness, staff, room, breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.2
    thoroughly enjoyed my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing really

    Staff were very helpful my room and the breakfast room was extremely clean. Great location for the tram to the airport and city centre. Plenty of information regarding local events.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.8
    Very nice. But on the top floor, no lift!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got top floor!!

    We are elderly. We got the top floor. 78 steps up. This was hard for me. When I booked I wasn't given information about the location of the room. I think that is a flaw of Booking.com.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: