Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Richmond Hotel 2 stars

Croft Road, Torquay, TQ2 5UD, United Kingdom

#32 of 46 hotels in Torquay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1191 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    5.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Ideal week away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a couple of issues with the tilt and slide patio door but staff were quick to come up and sort it for us.

    Location is ideally situated for Torre Abbey Sands, crazy golf, bowls, Riviera Centre and town centre. Our room was clean well furnished with beautiful sea views from our balcony. Staff are very friendly and helpful and a good breakfast each morning to set you up for the day ahead.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.4
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You get what you pay for we arrived in Torquay after an 11 hour drive we just wanted somewhere to sleep overnight as we didn't get the keys to our apartment till the next day . The rooms were very basic which I expected given what we paid but there was ants crawling on the counter top and thankfully next morning we noticed them on the bed also . The bathroom was grubby in need of an overhaul I'd say .

    The staff were friendly and helpful the breakfast was absolutely fine .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location, nice clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were too hot, no fans provided and the lift was tiny and scary. Water pressure not to good on shower setting.

    Large rooms, good view, balcony, nice and quiet. Very clean, good sized bathroom. Good tea and coffee tray, nice soft towels. 24hour reception, room service available. Bar on site and breakfast was included.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Great price for good location and service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi wasn’t as good depending on where you were in the hotel

    Breakfast had a great selection, order off a menu and it’s fresh. Location perfect close to all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    We stayed at the Richmond for 4 nights and found the check...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Larger television

    We stayed at the Richmond for 4 nights and found the check in when we arrived very quick and easy. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice. Rooms and bed very comfortable but the television was small making it difficult to watch certain programs. The only problem i found was that the car park is pretty small and i only just found a space and if you didn't get a space there is not a lot of road parking. I would recommend this hotel to anyone for a short break would definitely use again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.0
    Would not go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited parking. Had to pay at a local car park. The kitchen was not open all day bearing in mind it was a Saturday.

    It was clean and comfortable and the view from balcony was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was lovely staff very freindly went above and beyond to help with questions and queries i had. Room was nice breakfast was good. Lovely location. Atmosphere was fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in time a little late, but helped by being able to drop cases earlier. Bit of a climb up the hill. Beds not brilliant. Bathroom a little dated.

    Five minute walk to main sea front restaurants and facilities pleasant helpful and friendly staff. Beautiful views of bay from front Bedrooms. Rooms clean and tidy,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.1
    Just ok...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel could do with some money spent on it. Mattress was really badly stained. Carpark is hit and miss if you get a parking space. Breakfast didn't meet expectations small sausages were very peppery and the daily special extra was one Hash brown or black pudding. If you order American pancakes don't expect a great deal, small and out of a packet and you have to sacrifice one if you want one rasher of bacon leaving you with two pancakes (similar size to small scotch pancakes).

    Rooms with views Beds were comfy Reception staff were friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.1
    Excellent weather hotel quite poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tired looking . The bed was pushed together to make a double . We couldn’t use the bath & overall the room was dark & gloomy

    The staff were polite

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Friendly Staff, Comfy Bed, plenty of tea and coffee.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could at the least do with a coat of pak

    Friendly Staff, Comfy Bed, plenty of tea and coffee. Rooms are large, I paid for a single and had a huge room with a double bed and a single bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.4
    It is well located for the sea and some of the staff are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty walls (encrusted snot), distinct smell of vomit and very thin walls (heard next door snoring).

    It is well located for the sea and some of the staff are friendly. It is good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    2.5
    Nothing at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely rude, especially the elderly woman with the boy cut hair at reception. The room and bathroom was filthy, the bathroom had mould throughout, the shower was a complete nuisance. The bed was very uncomfortable, springs appearing through the sheets, never mind the constant noise that kept us up all night due the creaky floorboards in the hall way. The tv was pointless, a laptop screen used as a tv. Overall, the hotel was horrendous and a dissatisfying experience. Save your money.

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.0
    More Fawtey Towers.......
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room belied the poor state of the hotel. The room was nice clean and spacious with a lovely view. The exterior was a bit shabby to say the least. Restaurant was closed, with no prior notice. The whole hotel smelt of the aged. Breakfast was good. Service was adequate. Although there was nothing major, I, personally wouldn't stay there again. We stayed in a different hotel last time and that was better maintained, personal and a lot cheaper.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Great time,,,,,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They do on a weekend get lads that like to party......

    Personal all warm and friendly, help anyway they can,,,,good breakfast to start the day,amazing views,,,lots pubs restaurants to eat,beautiful beaches,,,on a great bus route,,,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant good location and would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All single beds were very uncomfortable. Room 37 had patio door hanging on by one hinge.

    Staff were great,, very welcoming and helpful. view was lovely. Breakfast was nice Not 4* but very clean, in need of decore upgrade (which I was told whilst there they are beginning to address) which I could see for myself!.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.8
    Okay for 1-2 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is a bit old and needs a urgent renovation. I missed any kind of personal charm in the room or bathroom. It's a pity...because the hotel is placed at a good location and the staff members try to make the best of your stay. Also the parking situation is a challenge. Only few small parking spots at the entrance of the hotel. But If you have luck you can park for free along the street.

    The location of the hotel was good. You have a nice view to the bay of Torquay. The staff members are very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.3
    Cheap and maybe not cheerful
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel is pretty run down and dated and could do with a refurb. Parking is limited to around 7 spots and so you could end up parking on the road outside. Although they try and keep it clean, the age of the place means its not fully clean.

    Staff were friendly and helpful and that makes up for a lot of things at this Hotel. Possibly priced correctly for what you get.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Absolutely brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect we had a bit of a problem with breakfast but it was very quickly sorted by the management overall lovely place to stay will definately stay again. Thank you

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    very comfortable and clean and good size bed room and bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the tv could have been bigger

    i went to the hotel with a 14 year old grandson and a 5 year old granddaughter they enjoyed there stay good breakfasts.great veiws over tobay we all enjoyed our stay,. all was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    Friendly staff, Brian is hilarious!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking facilities leave a lot to be desired, not enough spaces for the amount of rooms and although parking is available on the street you would be lucky to find a space nearby

    Friendly staff, Brian is hilarious! Fantastic sea view from the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Overall a very enjoyable stay and lots to do
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another option for breakfast perhaps like ordinary thin pancakes. Nutella for toast. Pineapple juice. Coco pops. Different kind of sausages maybe.

    The room was adequate, the bathroom a little dated and needs a bit of work, the room size is good. Hallway lighting could do with being on a timer as the lights shine through the door of the room. The indoor pool was not available, which is a shame. Breakfast everyday was good. Staff welcoming and helpful. Parking was limited. The new toilets on the ground floor need sanitary bins. Not sure about the decor as in the flags and tinsle palm trees, but it added a splash of colour. Some of the social areas need a bit of new decor. Access to the sea and restaurants and harbour is great. Lots of leaflet info for days out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    Overall I would stay here again. But that was definitely down to the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit dated, could do with an update, my view wasn't to great window overlooking Great big fire escape steps. And also TV could have been a bit bigger as my sons laptop had a bigger screen

    Staff were friendly, especially Brian he was a star. Breakfast was very good as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Superb hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that was a bit of a shame was the parking but saying that’s there was plenty of street parking just a short distance from the hotel or right outside if you can find a space :)

    It was so welcoming, all the staff we met were very friendly and always able to help. Nothing was too much trouble. It was all very clean, the room was percent, sea view lovely!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.3
    Could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it happened we got the room that needed more cleaning. Even tho the view was awesome from the balcony, paying extra £35 for the room with balcony and not being able to smoke was a letdown. The building needs refurbishment, potentially some deckchairs outside by the terrace.

    The staff was great, always engaged into conversation. The information provided was helpful and on point. Also always with a smile on their faces.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Staff were amazing and wonderfully friendly, our room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal felt the decor was a little dated.

    Staff were amazing and wonderfully friendly, our room was clean and comfortable and perfect for a busy family.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    3.8
    we enjoyed our weekend the staf were ok room and the water was warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was small. hotel is a little rundown. I stayed in this hotel in the past as a coach tour driver and it was a lot better then. that said it was a great base breakfast was small but very tasty. The place needs a clean better still it needs a few quid spending on it.

    you can park your car

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    3.8
    Needs some work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much parking lift out of order, complained about cigarette nubs on balcony, nothing was done, rooms were clean but need a good tidy up cracks in walls bits of wood missing very old furniture, we paid extra for a balcony but the balcony was a disgrace dirty and unkept could not sit out there, we did complain but nothing was done very disappointed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    290518
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was broken balcony area was nice to have but would be much better if it was cleaned up railings painted fag buts left on the floor

    Very pleasant staff room was a good size view from balcony was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    The staff were very friendly and the view was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately I think it seems very overpriced for the basic room we stayed in, it was far too hot in the room so we didn't sleep very well both nights, I'd happily stay again if the price was much better and remember to take my own fan

    The staff were very friendly and the view was lovely. The food was cooked to high standard and still very quick

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    3.8
    Very poor hotel cost me £76 the room wastnt worth more then £20
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt like anything about it only thing i did like is that is was close to sea front !

    I didnt like room at all very dated really hot and stuffy in room 60s old furniture curtains hanging off wall no ventilation in bathroom !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Had a great time short walking distance to sea front and restaurants. Staff were up for a laugh .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park is quite small and when full you have to use the road but at busy times the road was full. As I had a balcony I thought I could smoke out there but it is a no smoking hotel they do have outside smoking area in the beer garden.

    Staff were really friendly always asked how your day has been. They knew a lot of the guests by name. We didn’t eat there but was told the food was really tasty. Lovley view from balcony. Well kept small garden nice quiet areas to sit and read or snooze as one guest did.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Relaxing and tranquil in an old quaint hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In truth can not find fault but many facilities where not yet open and was obvious that it was not tilled to capacity. No fault from the hotel on this since "vacancy" signs where constant throughout the area for this quiet time of year.

    The bath, nice to have a soak after a long days cycling. Beds where comfy too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.0
    Poor poor poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated, no restaurant serving food, swimming pool out of action generally the hotel was very poor. No entertainment also.

    Only thing we liked was seaview bolcany

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    Nice View and close to town and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony door was broken/ unusable and let in a draft, no temperature control in shower which was scalding hot and poor pressure, beds very uncomfortable, decor very tired.

    Nice View and close to town and very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.3
    Bed was comfy & nice size of room also good for three people with sea views and external balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rear door of our room was broken staff didn't seem to bothered when it was mentioned on departure. Facilities very dated and basic real shame as it was nice hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.8
    The room was clean & reasonably quiet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel could be lovely if it had some money spent on it & was modernised. The car park is very tight with very few spaces for the size of the hotel. Wi-fi was only available in public areas and the breakfast was poor for £13. I could go to Premier Inn for more variety for £8. There is a swimming pool but it isn't in use.

    The room was clean & reasonably quiet. I wouldn't want to stay any longer than 1 night, won't be rushing back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decoration is a bit dated but they are working on that

    Hotel is excellent location, just a short walk to the seafront and shops. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly and went out of their way to meet our needs. We had a room with a balcony and the views were amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    3.3
    Grim
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in room 3 we made the mistake of looking at the actual mattress the mattress protector was actually stuck to the mattress. We actually slept on top of a towel and put another towel on the pillow. Electrics awful. Car blocked in. Worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

    Handing our key in at the end of our stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    3.8
    Worst hotel we have stayed in, mould, smelly & needs updating. Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dreadful experience, the hotel should not be on Booking.com, the first room had all mould on the wall as in photo, stained ceiling & artex hanging off & a TV the size of a postage stamp. Informed reception that we would not stop in a mouldy room, they moved us to the only room left next door, seemed better until we opened the bathroom door which the staff closed quickly when they showed us the room to a terrible smell of drains, which would not go away, we had to keep the bathroom door closed and hold our breath everytime we went in. The heater on the wall was so old and noisy we could not use it, the socket on the wall was dangerous and broken. We emailed the hotel and got a reply saying they would look into it and reply within 28 days, a reply was received after 11 days later offering a free nights stay if we contact them with dates. The hotel need to improve their rooms and not even offer them in that state that they were in, a family room and they expect anyone with a child or not to accept this it totally unacceptable. We will not be accepting the invite of a free nights return if it was the last place on earth and I would certainly not recommend this hotel to anyone

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Could be a nice hotel with some investment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were polite and helpful but other aspects of the hotel let it down, in my booking I was told I had paid for parking but the limited parking was full so I had to park else where, the decor of the hotel was tired and the bed was uncomfortable. The room was noisy being next to the stairs and you could here conversations in the neighbouring room I did wonder if the hotel took DHSS occupants

    The ease of booking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.0
    The view from the balcony made the stay worth it, not worth the cost though
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking, had to squeeze into a corner as no allocated spaces left, car park is too small for the amount of guests. Hotel very dated and needs to be modernised. The room had tape holding the radiator pipe together, the balcony rails were broken and needed painting, the deck chair was ripped and broken so had to ask for it to be replaced. Sockets broken and loose on walls. I had asked for a double bed and was told that I would have one but the room had twin beds pushed together

    The room was clean and spacious, balcony was big and amazing view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    Ok place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very dated. Walls in rooms were very marked. Looks like never been updated since the70s

    The balcony was nice to sit on. Nice enough place to stay in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    No comment as breakfast not taken
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was clean. Staff were helpful. Only bar snacks available NO restaurant in use for evening meals.hotel is looking tired needs tiding up and decorating.

    No comment as breakfast not taken

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.5
    Will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired needs new decor and carpets needs some serious money spent on it to bring it up to standards of today. Breakfast was minimal full English consists of 1 egg 1 sausage 1 bacon half tomato and spoon of beans with a daily extra of either black pudding fried bread hash brown mushrooms chef does 1 per day...fruit juice and cereal help yourself and they bring toast trying to get extra seems to be an effort.

    The staff are very good nothing to much trouble especially Carole she is amazing. The place is clean which makes up for the tired furnishings. We loved it nicely situated. Shame the pool is out of use.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.3
    I have stayed here a couple of times during the last 12...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have stayed here a couple of times during the last 12 months and this time I was really disappointed at the way the hotel appears to have declined since my last stay that was around 4 months ago.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Always a pleasure to stay at the Richmond
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattresses in room 14 are not as comfortable as in other rooms we have stayed in at this hotel you can feel the springs. In the bathroom, the shower rail is broken and taped up and the towel rail power point is cracked and not even taped up and it's permanently pipping hot I'm sure this will soon be sorted.

    We stayed in room 14 on the 1st floor it's a very good sized twin room and spacious light bathroom with shower over the bath. The room is a sea view room with a large balcony twice the size of the second floors balconies with a table and two chairs. The cooked Breakfast was piping hot and very good value, there is a good choice of cereals and fruit and juices also. The waiter is always keen to serve and help in any way. The location is good and the hotel has a nice garden and terrace. Although there were stag parties staying at the same time the hotel managed the level of noise well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.8
    Persons who only use the room for sleeping
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was horrific! It dipped into the middle and you could feel the springs through the mattress. NOTE: parking spaces are very limited (10 spots)

    The location! With that location and the price the room was value for money. Perhaps 2 nights would have been the maximum length for me.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Great weekend staying there,,,,,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was little tired,,,that's all really,,,

    The staff amazing,,,the room could do with an upgrade,,,nothing too much trouble for staff,on the whole we don't go any stay any where else,,,very convenient for bus route,,,beach a short walk away,with good food,,,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    2.9
    would never stay here in a million years
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location and the smell of the rooms

    Nothing at all- the place was awful and had a very unpleasant smell - for what only i can imagine was to cover something up - gross

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    3.8
    We needed a last minute hotel, it was a bad choice! Well pay more money for a hotel!! Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It felt like a hospital room and had a horrendous smell to it! The sheets were dirty, the room was dirty! Felt like sleeping in my clothes! Never going there again!

    The view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.7
    It’s was just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Payed extra for the bigger bed only to get there and see it was two beds pushed together wich is fine but they were two different heights one bed was almost 2 inches lower than the other one! Payed for breakfast but was so small and not allot of choice parking was awful had to park on the street resulting in a parking fine!

    staff were lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.0
    A bit faulty towers but over all ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Rather run down. An air of neglect. Very poor bed - you could feel every spring in the mattress. But a nice sea view and good value for Saturday night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.1
    Noisey
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard. I could hear the door slamming shut outside my room. toilet took 10 mins to fill up. I could hear people talking outside the room.

    The room was clean and the staff were friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.5
    Very good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place needs updating. The room smells very old and requires air freshner. When we arrive in our bedroom, toilet bowl was not very clean with a stained. We’re expecting a buffet breakfast but the food they serve at least fulfilling.

    Excellent location! Near seacoast and town centre. Spacious room and approachable staff specially Carole.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is dated and some aspects are in need of a lot of work, however you can see that time and money is slowly being spent on it to bring it back up to standard, don't expect a top notch hotel as this is a tired seaside old school one. Parking is limited and if you aren't a confident driver you may struggle.

    The breakfast was really good, staff were all friendly, the sea view room was spacious and the walk to the sea front was doable even though I walk with crutches, to able bodied people it would be easy and safe. A great base and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was extremely tired and in need of immediate renovation.the room was extremely basic and rather shabby. The shower eas difficult to control and did not maintain temperature. It was overpriced for what it was at 135 pounds for 2 nights. This was 2 single beds in 1 room, without breakfast. We did pay for breakfast on the first morning, which was 13 pounds for us both. The dining room resembled an old folks home. Wecwaoted approx 25 minutes for 2 poached eggs on toast, again this was way overpriced for what we received.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    3.3
    Parking was terrible, my friend scratched her car while...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was terrible, my friend scratched her car while trying to park in this tiny gap that they told us to park because we could not park on the road because it was all double yellow lines on both side of the street all the way down Room was freezing cold Manager was rude Rooms where out dated They would not refund us because we had an awful time

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    Interesting but comfy and clean budget hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peculiarly nostalgic but nicely warm on a cold weekend! Spacious room and close to seafront, staff were friendly and there 24 hours. Easy to park. Good on a budget.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.1
    excellent view from our balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decorate the building and get some new furniture in the bar area...new lift !!!

    Every thing as expected as have been here a few times..as always would lovely if they could decorate the building and get new furniture for the bar area..but that said pleasant enough. Great view from balcony and lovely garden

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    4.2
    It was very disappointing on many levels. I won't stay nor recommend anyone to this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom taps not mixer, not safe to use for children who are used to mixer taps. We were on 3rd floor, lift was scary, specially for people with heart condition due to loud bang noise upon closing.

    I booked a room specially with balcony view, however note on the balcony door said 'do not open' the door. We were told it was faulty and hazardous to open. It was extremely disappointing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    4.6
    Not good
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hole in the floor next to the toilet. The fact I had to put a blanket on the window to stop the cold air coming through

    The fact I had somewhere to sleep

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Couldn't have been better - staff are amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! It was ideal!

    I loved everything about this hotel. I have never stayed anywhere with friendlier staff members. The service was outstanding! The hotel is a short walk to town and the seafront. The gardens are beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant. Will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are in need of some updating.

    Only stayed one night but met some lovely people. The staff were brilliant and very attentive. The room was spotless. The lift was hilarious!! Breakfast was lovely given the price we paid. Excellent location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    Staff very polite and helpful..Room nice and clean. Great view .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel could do with a lick of paint and refreshing . Apart from that it was good.

    Room was very clean. View was great .staff were very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Cheeky weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was in a valley so uphill both ways I was let down by the breakfast on the Sunday looked like it was left on the pass for a while

    It was clean it was very welcoming

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    5.8
    A little disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony door (for which we paid extra) had a big sign on stating 'do not open' as it was broken. Shower was scalding hot and weak. The temperature would go down no lower.

    Beds comfortable. Bar area nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    2.5
    extremely poor
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets were never changed on the bed throughout the whole week and fresh towels were never provided, the ‘free wifi’ that was offered on booking wasn’t available at all therefore I missed various emails from work after running out of phone signal, extremely appealing room standards and I was kept up late by the entertainment

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    Would love to back in summer and use the sun terrace, even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just some parts of the hotel looked a bit tired and in need of a refresh. This ironically also added to it's charm

    Would love to back in summer and use the sun terrace, even in the rain and wind it looked inviting. The staff team were all superb, and "Oliver" the labrador

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.7
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress on the bed

    Would have been 5star but for the mattress on the bed was most uncomfortable with the springs sticking in you. Please get new mattress, the room itself was very nice and would like to stay in it again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.3
    Not luxurious by any means, but a decent budget stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot. We couldn't turn the heating off and there was some incredibly loud pipework moments throughout the night. Room in need of modernisation,but the price we paid reflected this. Great for a base if you're out and about for majority of stay.

    Good location, we booked in late with no problem.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Hotel Richmond
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a bit dated and tired but on the whole it was a base that had all what you needed. Comfortable Bed, tea coffee facitilies, tv, ensuite what more do you need.

    Easy access to town centre had balcony views over the bay. Staff were pleasant and helpfull, rooms were pleasant and clean had all you needed in them, food was well presented and edable and caters for all dietary needs. All in all it us a reasonably priced hotel which offer all you need while staying there. I wouldnt hesditate to return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    We wanted to do something special for no reason ... picked the richmond and we had special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was quite noisy and a litgle scary but everything else was very good

    The food was very good.we both enjoyed the meals that we had the staff were very helpful and kind

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.8
    Cheap n cheerful
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly cozy enviromeny. Clean rooms. Staff couldnt do enough for you. Breakfast was presented well although small portion it was enough if you had cereal n toast first. Stayed in family room with 2 of my friends. Entertainment provided. Its not 5 star but neither was the price. Good enough us. 🤗

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    everything we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could of been alittle more friendly, like ask how was your stay not just service with smile. Also should be friendly all round to guests not just to the elderly.

    Nice christmas decor

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: