Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riding Farm 4 stars

Riding Lane Near Beamish, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE11 0JA, United Kingdom

#1 of 76 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 230 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No issues at all.

    A great place to stay with superb accommodation in the "self catering" 1 bed cottage. A lovely Victoria sponge was waiting for us on arrival. In the country and great views of the surrounding area. Louise and Angus were great hosts and to top it off we had a lovely cooked breakfast in the main house each morning. Hard to beat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only grumble I have is that the bed was extremely high so that I had to be assisted by my husband each time I used the bed. conversely the easy chairs and couch were extremely low so I needed assistance

    the warmth and friendliness of the owners Angus and Louise and the wonderful breakfasts they cooked for us. There were no ground floor rooms so Louise upgraded our accommodation at no extra cost.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Riding Farm is a home from home for us. This visit the owners went above and beyond the usual requirements to accomodate our needs and thereby helped de-stress a difficult personal situation for us.Thank you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simply the best b&b I have stayed in for many years. Quiet location. Friendly hosts. Breakfast with other guests round the large single dining table.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Matteress topper used made the bed very warm.

    Second visit so knew how good it was and how good a hosts Louise and Angus are. Breakfast is always good. Home made cake is a good touch. Nice peaceful location even though so close to Newcastle/motorway.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    We did not have breakfast as we had self catering. We found the owners pleasant and welcoming, they also gave us great ideas of places to visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent lovely location owners very friendly and obliging with welcoming tea and cake on arrival would recommend to anyone especially if going to beamish

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Friendly welcome. Upgraded to house next door. Very warm with controllable heating. Games to play. Very comfortable could not be faulted. Excellent quality food at breakfast . Our host wes prepared to talk and gave us an informative insight into the area. Cake on arrival which lasted us 3 days

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The lane leading down to the farm was negotiable thanks to the recent dramatic improvement in the weather, but even only a week or two earlier it could have been very awkward to avoid potholes etc. Not a criticism of the owners.

    Welcoming owners at a proper working farm with whom you could have good conversation without being intrusive. Good breakfast to enjoy at your leisure. Old fashioned furniture, fittings, pictures etc but with good modern heating, lighting, shower, tv etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like.

    Loved the fact that it was in a quiet country location but only ten mins drive to Metro centre. Beautiful setting on a working arable farm. Very peaceful and easy to find. Character period building fitted out to compliment the time period in which it was built.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was a let down, poached eggs not cooked properly, toast cold and cereals looked as if they had seen better days. Chipped plate in cottage and unclean sugar bowl. No labels on coffee to indicate what type it was or how long it had been there. If stayed again wouldn't have the breakfast.

    The cottage was lovely, nice and warm - the hosts were friendly and were helpful for places to eat. Great place to stay - Breakfast was in the farm house which had great character - large dining table to share with everyone so it was really friendly. The fresh fruit and yogurt was really nice. Was great location for Newcastle and surrounding area, Beamish was great and the hosts gave us discount vouchers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    They baked a lovely homemade cake For our arrival , They upgraded us to the granary cottage as it was free for the evening , There is a lovely view from your room , The people are lovely and so friendly , We stayed everywhere in Newcastle and this beautiful place blew me away ... I'd book it again except they are fully booked , I wonder why lol ! Fantastic place thank you !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Directions to the property were difficult at first.

    We presumed the it was because it was either over booked or quiet - we were given a self catering unit with three bedrooms instead of a double room b/b. The kitchen was the best equipped we have ever stayed in and the main lounge area was very spacious and also had everything you needed including loads of games, videos etc. The beds were top quality giving an excellent nights sleep. Hospitality and breakfast were 1st class.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real dislikes at all. Heating worked, plenty of hot water etc. Beds a little short for my 6ft 17 year old son.

    I personally liked the fact that we had everything we needed for cooking etc. Solikr home from home. We stayed in Riding Cottage (2 beds, 2 beds) and it was just what we needed. There are 7 holiday let’s do not too busy either.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matteresses beds in one of the rooms were completely knackered with huge dips in them,which was unacceptable really. It was lucky that our friends couldn't make it. Otherwise some of us would have really suffered a bad and uncomfortable nights sleep. The toilet cistern was dodgy and filled up noisily at random points.

    Lovely cake baked for us and very accommodating staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired furnishings and only superficially clean. Frying pan unusable as warped and caked in carbon. Three of the four teacups were had cracks stained by tea so easily seen, opted to use mugs instead. Bathroom in twin room was to small and using the bath was difficult as large shower screen had to be opened to get in bath and restricted space in bathroom.

    Proximity to Beamish museum and complimentary Victoria sponge on arrival. The accommodation was warm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found stuff left on the floor and problems with bathroom light and toilets dripping.

    On suite bath room and facilities . The effort made to fix the problems we had.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It isn't the newest of properties, so the bathroom facilities seems to fall below our expectations.

    The bed was lovely, like sleeping on clouds. It's a sweet little place with a beautiful view out on Newcastle!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot!

    Friendly, attentive yet uninvasive down-to-earth staff. Large range of hot and cold breakfast options, including gluten-free. Comfortable, beautifully designed and appointed bedroom and en-suite.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds not remade every day, just straightened the top cover and arranged scatter cushions on top of bed Breakfast seemed to take ages to cook, usual wait from ordering about 30 minutes with the toast following 5 minutes later

    The room was well equipped and comfortable Breakfast freshly cooked with generous portions Greeted with coffee and cake on arrival Close to Beamish museum

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely cottage. The owner was very helpful regarding places to eat etc. She gave us discount vouchers for Beamish and a had made a delicious cake on our arrival. Overall would definitely recommend

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requires a curtain on back door of property for privacy and a little seated area outside apartment would be desirable in order to appreciate the surrounding countryside

    Hosts were both friendly and accomodating. Both properties were comfortable and well equipped. Personal touches were thoughtful and very much apppreciated

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No issues at all - spot on.

    Riding Farm is exceptional. We booked it so we had somewhere to rest before the Great North Run and to recover afterwards - we could not have asked for better. Perfect hosts, beautiful traditional farm stead and peaceful location. The facilities were homely and welcoming. We stayed in the Garden Room and were impressed by the levels of tradition and comfort. Highly recommended and we will be returning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing springs to mind

    Angus and Louise were very friendly and helpful. We especially liked the small touches, e.g., a homemade cake on arrival. Would definitely visit again if travelling to that area. breakfast was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast cooked by Louise. The poached eggs were perfect. Especially liked the welcome coffee and slice of homemade cake when we checked in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just minor things really. Loose loo seats. Dripping tap. Water on floor round fridge. Otherwise the accommodation was excellent.

    Everything you wanted was in the property.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's not much selection (only 3 selections) on breakfast so if staying for more than 2 nights you'll end up ordering the same thing everyday if the other 2 selections don't suit you.

    It exceeded our expectations. We like the fact that it has a kitchen and lounge and the view from window was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minor things require some attention - little patch of damp in the ceiling above the shower in the en suite (though I suspect this is being attended to as a section of the coving was being replaced).

    Louise and Angus were lovely, welcoming hosts - and we appreciated the very kind, thoughtful gesture of gifting us a little bottle of wine and card to mark our wedding anniversary. Our room was large and comfortable. The breakfast was tasty and plentiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beauitiful old farmhouse, tastefully decorated rooms in keeping with the age of the building. Lovely owners, great breakfasts all in a lovely peaceful location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it was I great relaxing stay they where very friendly and helpful and I have a nice birthday cake ,card and a bottle of bubble. I would highly recommend to stay there and would go back myself

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    WiFi was slow but that is just part & parcel of the area

    The welcoming & friendly attitude of Angus, Louise & their staff. Tea, coffee & cake on arrival & the breakfast was excellent with lots of choice & local produce....a real home from home feel. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole weekend was great, met by Louise, jam sponge and a lovely cup of tea, upgraded to a cottage. Very friendly and gave great advice of planning trips. Breakfast superb, followed by a lovely chat and putting the world to right. Would recommend Riding Farm to anyone wanting a quiet weekend break, convenient for A1 motorway, will be back in the future.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    We were meet by Angus who was very welcoming !! Louise came in for a chat and had made a lovely cake for us to have with our first cup of tea !! I thought I had booked an apartment but once we arrived we were given a barn ! It was excellent plenty of room 2 bedrooms to choose from lovely lounge/dinner/kitchen to chill in after a busy day . Lovely comfortable beds to sleep in and even though your on a working farm it was so peaceful !! The area had a lot of things to do and see !! We will be going back

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like.

    Lovely room very large and comfortable bed. Everything in the room we needed. Really friendly and welcoming hosts, the surprise birthday bubbly was a very thoughtful touch. Very relaxing wish we'd stayed longer.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very small and shower screen made it difficult to reach taps to run a bath . There was not enough hot water to run a decent bath . A few basic instructions eg for the shower and oven would have been helpful

    Very reasonably priced - bedrooms were a good size and comfortable sitting area downstairs . An extra touch was a delicious home cooked cake left for us when we arrived .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a lovely friendly welcoming with homemade cake,milk in the fridge and tea,coffee for our use.the bed were so,so comfortable.just great!!great location away from hustle and bustle.Had everything required for young children such as kid friendly cutlery,beakers,travel cot and stair gates.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot think of anything.

    Outstanding rural location which is within easy reach of Newcastle, friendly hosts, exceedingly high standard of accommodation, excellent breakfast from locally sourced produce.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely welcome of homemade cake....delicious! Louise very welcoming and helpful with 'quick route' directions, Apartment lovely warm with all you could need for a self catering break, comfy bed and ideal situation for Newcastle & Durham and surrounding area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Superlative. Nothing about it needs changing

    Can't rate the cottage and owners highly enough - Louise was there to welcome us and a freshly baked cake, milk, tea etc were all part of the welcome gifts. The cottage itself is in a wonderful location and was homely, elegant, colourful, yet tasteful, all at once - extremely well furnished with very comfortable beds and fabulous views. We will definitely go back - we wanted to move in!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave

    This is a lovely place to stay with lovely hosts, its in a beautiful quiet location with excellent views. The breakfast was superb. Louise and Angus can't do enough to provide any assistance if required and make you feel very welcome.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The en suite would benefit from a shelf to store bathroom bits and pieces. We have no other negative things to mention.

    The friendliness of Angus and Louise was exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble and they did everything humanly possible to ensure our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. The welcome tea and home made cake was a lovely surprise after a long journey and very much appreciated. They recommended places to eat and reserved a table for us at a superb pub/restaurant. Our room was large, comfortable and homely. The freshly cooked breakfast was plentiful and delicious - well done Angus.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Washing machine didn't work

    Beautiful location. Was upgraded to a cottage which allowed me to cook for myself. When tge washing machine wouldn't work they did my washing for me.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bumped into self-catering barn that was cold and too big for us. Not an upgrade in my eyes. Would have preferred a reduction in cost.

    Great location for farmland walks. Saw Kites up close. Personal service and fresh cake on arrival.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were greater with a lovely friendly welcome, homemade cake and fresh milk! Absolutely fanatic stay, Angus and Louise were extremely good hosts. The cottage was beautiful, plenty of fresh towels and breakfast was amazing!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing to change it was a lovely place.

    Felt immediately at home the owners were warm and welcoming and could not have been more helpful. Our room was lovely and comfortable and the location was so relaxing out in the countryside.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful bed and breakfast in a wonderful location. Very close to Beamish museum, yet only minutes from the convenience of Gateshead and the Angel of the North.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi wasn't great, but then again it also forces you to have a bit of a technology break which is a blessing in disguise

    The owner was lovely! She met us on the first day and gave us loads of recommendations of where to eat. One that particularly stood out was Black Horse, really worth a visit! Riding Farm was a great long weekend getaway for a few friends - I'd absolutely recommend it!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower was a little hot and cold.

    Lovely farm, lovely little home made cake for us on arrival, lovely warm and cosy cottage, beautiful rolling hills all around! Will definitely return.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Comfortable well furnished room, comfortable bed, fresh cooked full English breakfast. Friendly owners. Lovely quiet farmhouse away from traffic. Good nearby pubs. Yet very close to Gateshead and Newcastle for Christmas shopping.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit tricky to locate in the dark but worth the effort.

    Welcome cake and tea/biscuits. Friendly hosts. Comfortable beds. Lovely extra touches. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the apartment was very clean and spacious in a lovely area which is very peaceful not what we expected from a working farm with a very warm welcome on arrival and a lovely homemade cake waiting for us which was a lovely gesture from the owners daughter, only 10 mins from Beamish open air museum, Gateshead and Newcastle, we have no hesitation of recommending Riding Farm

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was not very powerful.

    Fantastic breakfast, lovely soft bed, it was great to have a whole flat with a kitchen besides an en-suite bathroom. The room was ready early in the day, which was nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was lovely, loads of choice well cooked. The bed was very comfortable. The room was nice and warm. The towels lovely and soft. The hosts were friendly and informative.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Pre-arrival communication especially good an email with map, directions and enquiry about dietary requirements. Nice welcome on arrival, all good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing needs improvement, like a home from home.

    Very nice place, very friendly and warm welcome. Room large and comfortable, well equipped. Louise, Angus and Isobel delightful folk. Would definitely go back if in the area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb breakfast on request, comfy bed, tea,coffee sugar supplied. Fresh milk daily put in fridge.lovely sponge cake made for us on arrival.comfy sofa to watch tv, video player with dvds supplied,bath and separate shower on suite. Kitchen had everything needed if you wanted to cook yourself even dishwasher.Louise and Angus made us and other guests we met at breakfast feel very welcome. Yes we would go back and yes highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection was intermittent, OK for us as on holiday, not so good for working while away

    The owners of the farm were wonderful, went out of the way to help, home away from home. Being greeted by a pot of tea and cake on arrival

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful accommodation and setting. very comfortable stay. Wonderful host and glorious breakfast. We booked the accomodation for convenience of location for The Great North Run. It was perfect. We stayed for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the peace and beauty of the surroundings. We visited Beamish Museum which was just a 7 minute drive and totally worthwhile. A lovely short break away, so pleased to have made this booking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing at all we could criticize.

    Very comfortable, fabulous breakfast, exceedingly welcoming and our hosts most certainly went that extra mile!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Even the weather was good.

    We were extremely impressed at how Louise, our host, managed to deal with our surprise arrival. She had not received any notification from booking.com. Everything was excellent. We wanted for nothing in our self-catering accommodation . Louise and Angus will see you are fine.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On this occasion it was not really long enough (our fault) we will hopefully be back.

    The friendliness of Louise and Angus. The welcome cake and cuppa was good start. The breakfasts were excellent - as much as you want or need. Convenient for Beamish and M1 motorway for further afar.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Everything was excellent and the family could not have been more helpful.

    Slight mix up in the booking meant we were taken to a neighbouring farm owned by the family - Low Urpeth, Excellent big room with great views. Huge choice for breakfast. We had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Also cup of tea on arrival.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Cottage
    • Stayed 21 nights

    The breakfast is awesome. The farm is a bit off the beaten track, smack in the middle of a rural area, which makes for a wonderful peace and quiet and at the same time, good shopping opportunities are none too far off. The perfect home base for tours all around the Newcastle and Durham area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have appreciated extra plates and dishes as had family for meals and bit tricky to cater for them. No corkscrew for wine! Had to use picnic set! No measuring jugs or large dishes for serving -

    Quiet location lovely welcome with wine and cake. Comfy beds and plenty of hot water! Soft fluffy towels added extra feeling of luxury. Great holiday feel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Louise and Angus are excellent hosts, nothing is too much trouble.We really appreciated the warm welcome with tea and cake on arrival and loved the fact that there was only the one big breakfast table, all the guests were chatting and sharing experiences. Very close to Beamish Museum.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bungalow we stayed in was amazing. Would highly recommend this place to anyone. Such a warm welcome from Hilary. We will definitely be back :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious, clean, friendly staff, quiet and modern lodges. All facilities catered Inc the home made cake on arrival

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quality of the facilities - appliances, linen, furniture etc

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very comfortable, great breakfasts and genial hosts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent base for visiting Beamish

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fab location to visit Beamish. Lovely to get the upgrage and Angus and Louise were great hosts. The welcoming cake much appreciated too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly place

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View of car park

    Cake on arrival and sense of luxury

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dining room was a little outdated - could do with modernising.

    The Victoria Sponge Cake awaiting us was delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The amazing breakfast and super comfy beds

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: