Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rivelyn Hotel

1 - 4 Crown Crescent, Scarborough, YO11 2BJ, United Kingdom

#18 of 28 hotels in Scarborough

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1222 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    3.8
    Nothing much in particular
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall the place was absolutely in need of a good through deep clean. My room was dirty. Dust and grime. The weather was cold and no heating. Even though I complained about not having a room service and no heating nothing was done. The entire place is in need of serious upgrade. They are calling it a hotel it is far from a hotel, it is just a basic B&B. I am aware everyone has different views on cleanliness, I am not exaggerating the Rivelyn is in need of serious deep cleaning it is flithy

    Nothing much in particular

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed our stay at the Rivelyn Ideal for a low budget stay in Scarborough
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed cleaning at back of and under the bed. Shower curtain needed replacing. No WiFi in our room.

    Warm friendly hotel. Tidy,clean and quiet room at the top floor of the hotel. The bed was comfortable lovely clean white bed linen and towels. Hot water always available. My 2 dogs we’re made welcome. We had continental breakfasts which was very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Rievlyn and would return again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the décor needs updating badly and a good deep clean would help.

    The bed was comfy, the room was warm and tidy, very helpful with how and where to park. The breakfast choice was good and the full English was a satisfying portion.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel with great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was amazing, room 301! The staff were lovely, we sat in the bar with them for 2 nights and had a good laugh! We’ve stayed here twice before and we will defiantly be coming back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.8
    seeing the squirrel on the post next to my car was the best part of the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    tiny shower that I had to squeeze through the corner door, i'm a 5ft 2 women with a bit of a belly, not a huge ever weight person. sewage pipe running from the upstairs room through our bathroom, very noisy. our room was next to the stairs and very noisy. the people in the room next door started running their bath very slowly 30 mins and then splashed around for another 30 mins. the walls are far too thin without any insulation. also I couldn't get wifi even in the three public rooms, everyone was the same.

    large room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    Reliable budget option
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a problem with a disorientated older guest who appeared to have been dumped there by friends/relatives, but the hotel dealt with it quickly and sensitively

    Friendly, well-run small hotel. Nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable. Great budget option with a decent bar too

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    Great pet friendly hotel in good location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our allocated room was 1st floor (112) and located directly above public bar/lounge which meant the music continuous from around 5pm til late was monotonous dull beats. On checking below the volume was not excessive in the bar itself so felt it was difficult to complain about.

    Easy access from main route through town. Ample parking at low cost. Pets made most welcome so great for our dog. Room was clean and tidy with adequate facilities. All staff friendly, welcoming and polite.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    We loved our stay very comfortable lovely pillows and friendly staff , all very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one minor point , the toilet was really close to the bath and not much room also would have been nice to have a shower fixed on the wall would be a lot easier

    We liked everything, would have liked a croissant though

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.8
    beds very comfy, nice bar, leo or theo not sure of his name...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Darren night barman, very rude and self opinionated, has no idea how to treat customers or how to talk to them politely, pointed out to him that 2 customers had just walked away because no one was at the bar, his reply was "I don't care"

    beds very comfy, nice bar, leo or theo not sure of his name was very pleasant and friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Great location for a budget hotel. Clean and comfortable. Dog-friendly.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is a problem with most of the hotels, this one's no exception. It's all street parking, so take your chances at getting one close. £1.50 for 2 days, first 3 hours free with a pass given by hotel.

    Second time we stayed here. It's an excellent location, at a budget cost. The decor and furniture are a bit dated, but the important things like linen and bathroom were clean. Great breakfast, at separate cost; need to know that to compare to other hotels; but all the buildings around there are similar age, so would be hard to know if their decor/maintenance is any better. Shower pressure was great. Dog-friendly, even in the dining room, which is a bonus for me, otherwise they have to stay in the car, which could be parked anywhere!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.7
    Great for a short visit but couldnt stay for the week
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sea gulls were a down side and extremely dangerouse at times steeling food out of peoples hands. scarborough needs more investment into the amenatese and possibly more atractions to help develope and up grade the area, this because quite a lot has become run down. However we did enjoy our visit and couldnt find many real negotives to talk about.

    The bar was well stocked, a good size and good seating. The staff were great. And very helpfull and a pleasure to talk to and knolegable about the local area. The Noise from seagulls was annoying and quite constant. And probably the only downside.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    good as always
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bed comfortable. Have stayed previously, always a good base for travelling, Have a motorcycle and am able to leave it in a secure place. Staff helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    For what we paid we were not expecting to much and were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not prepared to make any negative Comments . Hopefully when we go again they will be in a position to do evening meals . Not a problem as there was plenty of places to eat nearby .

    For what we paid we were not expecting to much and were very pleased we decided to go there. The breakfast was great mor than we expected for the cost . We have paid far more for much less . We will go there again .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.1
    every bit as satisfactary as detailed on website
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    running hot water needed around five minutes to produce sufficient heat in wash hand basin noisy seagulls when daylight came up ( not the hotels fault) no other complaints to comment on

    very helpful and cheerful staff proximity to town centre a lift available if needed for all floors

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    Very friendly and helpful staff, they did all they could to make my one night stopover a success.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi. Having been moved from a room that couldn’t get Wi-fi there was no Wi-fi at all in the morning. The shower entrance (a corner one) was very small. Outside the hotel was like a giant ashtray! (I’m a reformed smoker)

    Comfortable bed in a large room. Little park opposite to walk my dog. Restaurant downstairs if you wanted breakfast (£3.50/£7.95)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    parking

    me and my wife just liked the hotel and the staff always there to help we have been before and would recommend it to any one from the owner to the one who prepares your morning meal every one has a cheerful disposition Mr Curtis

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Great spot, handy to everywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People were smoking outside the entrance and the front area was littered with butts. Not a good look, or smell.

    REALLY comfy huge bed. Very helpful, friendly staff. Big room with bath - luxury!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.4
    Old and tired and in desperate need of modernising.(Viewed 2 double rooms)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updating, still stuck in the 70s.Not seen much work since then. £7.95 extra for a breakfast and paying extra fee for on street parking. Housekeeping could be improved.

    2 mins to seafront and town centre. Bedding was clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.3
    thankful we were only there for two nights.
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the decor, cleanliness, the room resembled something from the seventies. tatty carpet and shower was filthy, in urgent need of a makeover.

    staff. location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    my weekend was over to guickly

    staff very friendly. they told us about attractions round and about , advised us on parking etc , recommended a fantastic place to eat , el gringo,s food and drink outstanding , staff great ,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    3.8
    Foisty!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looked like no one had set foot in there since the 80’s a cleaner or decorator. I don’t think the room had ever seen a hoover or cleaning products! 317 very loud as near the stairs and the staff area. Over all 1/10

    Parking and when we left

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    The room bed was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast..scrambled egg was tasteless.. Bacon too thick..fried eggs full of bits.. Bread wasn't fresh...smelt off...the layout could v been better...staff pleasant..friendly..

    The room bed was ok.clean...the bathroom.no window or ventilation...very small..old shower. But ok.for the money....

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    A little disappointed with the room but overall great value and a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked one of the budget rooms and although clean, did have a couple of minor problems. The bath is a little on the small side. There was a bit of metal left on the wall where a towel rail had been removed. A small stain on the carpet. Nothing too annoying but just looked a little scruffy.

    The staff were amazing and beyond helpful. The cook was lovely, making us veggie option breakfasts. The dining area and bar are beautifully presented and clean. Walking distance to town and the harbour. Would stay here again, even with the minor faults previously mentioned.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    4.2
    Scarborough has changed a lot still a good break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact I had to get a member of staff to clean the toilet , the room was absolutely run down I understand it was budget but it was disgustingscarborough

    It was a good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    not very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms very not very welcoming. it had wall papers peeling off from the celling and walls. We stayed for two nights but no one came to do the beds after the first day.

    Did not have breakfast. The beds were okay. The staff were very friendly and tried to be very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    Even though the room was dated we loved the location and staff and we,d definately stay again .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dated comfortable but needed a complete decor ,wallpaper was bubbled up in one corner ,the bathroom was small and the shower head was spraying everywhere,only two plug sockets in the whole room

    The location was very good close to all the amenities a nice walk everywhere ,the bar was cheap and very clean but closed at11pm .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Reasonably priced for two nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything I disliked

    Reasonably priced for two nights There was a small problem which couldn’t be sorted straight away so was moved to a nicer room All staff really friendly a very pleasant stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.3
    Ok for a cheap break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows of room didn’t open (painted shut) and the room was 30 degrees. We were given a fan. Noisy room near to the hotel bar toilets so it was noisy at night (slamming doors). I re- washed the cups and spoons on my tree tray as they clearly hadn’t been washed since last time. I even found a dirty spoon on top of a radiator. When we arrived (at 4.30) reception was all locked up and when we eventually found a staff member she had to reopen reception for us.

    Comfy bed Mini fridge in room Large room with high ceiling Nice shower

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.4
    Enjoyed my long weekend but staff could of been more welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor wallpaper coming off ceiling and it's mouldy,heating comes on at night. Facilities you have to put kettle on floor has lead doesn't reach bathroom to small staff members were not all polite ie bar staff and cleaner and bar didn't stay open till late. Too many steps don't cater for disabled people

    Beds were comfy breakfast nice but should be included in price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor was very dates, but however was bare able. The cleanliness of the hotel wasn't great. There was mould in the corners of the room and very large cracks in the wall. However, you get what you pay for, for a budget room nothing more was expected.

    The hotel was very well locates, was wound a 15 minuet walk to the sea front, but this is a very hilly walk so bare that in mind. The staff were also very helpful, nothing was too much to ask. We requested a let check out of 12:30pm and this was accommodated to.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and convenient for walking into the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I stayed is in need of redecoration but not particularly scruffy - just wear and tear.

    The staff make this hotel. They are very friendly and approachable.I stayed in a budget room which was basic but clean and comfortable.I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.1
    ok for a one nights stay, somewhere to lay your head.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    more of a hostel than a hotel. The whole place would benefit from a deep clean and redecorating. you get what you pay for.

    the location, the staff were helpful, the bed was clean, got good breakfast, it has an inexpensive bar. and check in was easy,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside, and this is true I find of any Victorian hotel buildings was that Wifi was not good in the actual room, it was OK in the lounge though!

    The room was big and had plenty of storage space for clothing / luggage. Plenty of electrical points for charging devices. The bed was very comfy and a good night's sleep was had by us both. The room was very clean and the linen was changed regularly. The breakfast was filling and delicious. All the staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The bar was reasonably priced too. We will be staying here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Excellent and will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value for money, nothing we didn’t like.

    Staff were all very friendly. Location brilliant with easy access to town etc. Parking was with a disc but really no problem. Will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    3.3
    Filthy with a bad smell and very dated!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a bad smell, the shower was mouldy and the whole hotel was of a bad condition, worst hotel I have ever stayed in. No black out blinds so it was light at 4am and the curtians were hanging of the rail, not worth £69!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.4
    Served its purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Instead of a comfortable double a extra bed had been squeezed in which ment the bed was against a wall so had to clamber over, the bathroom wasn't of good standard, all the metal in there was rusty

    Short walk from the train station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice comfy clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice comfy clean rooms Great bar area with good selection of drinks and nice friendly staff very helpful n helped with extras like arranging taxis n parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    4.2
    Convenient but not to be repeated. It was cheap so perhaps you get what you pay for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very tired, plumbing does not meet water board regulations Breakfast inedible. The exterior was dirty windows covered in seagull droppings.

    N.A

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with new carpets on stairs and hall ways and a bit of paint

    Location good friendly staff nice powerful shower tea coffee in room nice comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Last minute stay over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was brilliant far enough out but easy to walk onto the town and attractions plus it was quiet

    It was very peaceful location and parking was good too with plenty of roadside options

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.5
    Shame about the broken sink but generally very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wish I had complained about the badly cracked wash basin on the first day, as it looked like an old crack and dirty, but because the room was cheap, I decided against this. I reported it on leaving. Room needs decorating and some repairs.

    The staff were very nice and very helpful. Very cheap. Bed comfy. Food really good. Parking fee very reasonable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    On the whole it was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their was only one easy chair to get comfortable the other person had just a stool to sit or you had to sit on bed

    We thought the hotel was clean staff were friendly and the parking for two nights was very cheap at £1 50

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    great surives, stuff were very lovely the room was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the wall paper in out room was coming of the wall and the window could of been clean better

    great surives, stuff were very lovely the room was great. we were upgrade to a kingsize bedroom due us coming earlier however altogether it was a great time the breakfast was great and the bedsbwere just like clouds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.4
    Ok but probably wouldn’t stay again for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Damp looking room WiFi didn’t reach our room The individually wrapped tea bags were old and have previously gotten wet so couldn’t be used

    Small fridge and 2 fans in room Later check out time of 11am Free parking available

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    Location value for money nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really fair to say cos weekend so hot weather but the windows in the room wouldn’t open so no air in the room. I know you can’t help the weather and health and safety will only allow windows to open to a certain point but it did make sleeping impossible.

    Location value for money nice staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    Friendly staff just room was not good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hole in the sink with spider cracks all round it. No towel rail next to sink. Shower didn't work properly and wallpaper was coming off the walls and flaking.

    Staff were friendly, fresh towels and clean linen.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Nothing to complain about. Excellent staff Loved this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For the price and location we had no complaints. :)

    For the price I would rate this hotel as a 10 Excellent The staff were helpful nothing seemed to much for them to make your stay as comfortable as possible The location is not to far from Scarborough Well done

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    friendly helpful staff made my stay here a positive experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The corridors appear not to have been decorated maybe for a decade, however the important thing was my room which was clean, tidy, well maintained with a comfy bed. The cleaners do a thorough job and you can't really ask for any more than that

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    perfectly adequate for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The furniture in the room could have been better, and the paintwork was in need of improvement. The carpet was perhaps too light, with the result that stains could be seen easily

    I had a budget room, so did not expect luxury. The bed was comfortable and towels replaced daily. The bathroom was big enough and attractively appointed. Staff were efficient and very friendly. Would go back again. Did not have any meals, so cannot comment on the food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    All in all this hotel had everything we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed required a new mattress

    The staff were so very friendly & helpful. We were going on a rail trip the following day & the station was only a 10 minute walk away, a bonus as we were out from 05.45 until 23.30. Also the receptionist kept our lunch bag in the chiller overnight. Also bar prices were fair (not a rip-off as most hotels

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    4.2
    We were suppose to be given a quiet room but it was near the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were suppose to be given a quiet room but it was near the bar and people were shouting and singing till 2am plus we’re are room was smealt of beer it’s was a shame got very little sleep

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    very enjoyable and would go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the fried egg was burnt at breakfast

    the room was a nice size and the beds a good quality. location was very good, walking distance to the city centre and beach front.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic STAFF. Good location. Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV reception. Wi Fi. Seagull poop. Needs ashtray outside. Pavements and roads full of cigarette ends.

    9/10. WOULD GO AGAIN. STAFF. All Staff, Extremely polite & helpful. ROOM. Clean, spacious and well designed. Needs a fridge if you want cuppa. UHT milk. Yuk. FREE WI FI. Worst reception ever. None existent. LOCATION. Within 10 mins walk of most amenities. PARKING. Ample. Beware of traffic wardens and Seagulls.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.4
    Enjoyed location but very disappointed in condition of room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated room and filthy behind bed thick of dust old pens and cigarette papers behind bed light shades thick of dust even dusty on top of kettle

    Good location friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    I would go back for a short stay as its.in a good location.near the shops and.beach. Its cheap and
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a paint overall and longer wires to reach the sockets. We had 3 single beds in our room two was ok one was very squeaky.

    The staff were friendly and its pretty near town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    the hotel is one of scarboroughs grand hotels which the new...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    showers too small

    the hotel is one of scarboroughs grand hotels which the new owners are updating . the staff couldnt of been more helpful . location brilliant above the Spa .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    Our Scarborough trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well situated, great we could park nearby for free. We appreciated what the place would have been and we appreciate not all such hotels can be maintained to their original standard. The bedding and bathroom were clean and overall we felt we had good value for money. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.0
    We booked in at 14.00, walked into Scarborough and stayed there until 21.30. Slept and left.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the entrance area was dirty. the room was very poorly furnished and the carpets need replacing or at least cleaning throughout the hotel.

    the staff were pleasant. The bedding was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location & friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with updating, but this did not spoil our stay. If you have young children the hotel across the road can get a bit noisey at night.

    Good location & friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    3.8
    This hotel is dirty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is dirty. We would not recommend it at all. The wallpaper was hanging off, there was mould in the bathroom and damp on the walls. The room needed a good clean and was long overdue an overhaul. We even had a slug in the room. We booked for 2 nights but left after 1. Not happy at all with our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    just a couple of nights away excellent location clean hotel friendly staff would certainly stay aga
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    being on the top floor but as there was a lift that was very helpful

    have stayed before so knew the location was what I wanted ,and that the hotel was clean and tidy , and parking was available for a very reasonable outlay. so it ticked all my boxes

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Great stay thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seaguls knocking on the windows constantly need something outside to stop them sitting staring at you 🤣

    Very friendly lovley bar area bit of a hike over town but hey ho we survived

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    Really friendly relaxed atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No real views to speak of, but hey ho the rest was great.

    It was en-suite and had an excellent shower. The staff were great and the bar prices were very competitive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    preferred slightly closer to town as I have mobility issues but with in 120 yards frequent buses

    travel a lot stay in about 30 hotels a year without doubt the best value room in this price bracket I have stayed in

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.4
    Okay but not for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really uncomfortable and the room cleanliness was less than expected and the room was very outdated.

    The location is okay as it is located close to the popular attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.7
    Adequate if you just want a bed for the night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We expected at least one chair in our room given the description & our opting for a more expensive room but the room we were given was no different from the cheaper room with no chair. We had to point out the charges for parking needed updating too. The decor was tired & the curtains were dirty with the hem coming down.

    The beds were clean & smelled fresh & the towels were descent quality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was terrible. The full English breakfast was over cooked. The bacon you couldn't even cut through and the sausages were black. The breakfast was also small. The continental breakfast just consisted of cerial and toast. The hotel was a little shabby in parts and in need of decorating.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    I loved the feel of the property, it is beautiful and well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the feel of the property, it is beautiful and well lit. Very clean. The staff member who was on the night we checked in could not have been more helpful. He went above and beyond to ensure our stay was perfect. Thank you so much!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay - clean, friendly and good value.
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a criticism as such, but clarity in the Breakfast Room about what the Full English Breakfast Menu option consisted of may have been helpful. There *was* an indication in a Notice at the Hotel Reception Desk that the Full English included cereal, toast, yoghurt, fruit and juice if desired, but not in the Breakfast Room itself, and some people may have just gone straight there downstairs/in the lift and bypassed Reception. That particular Menu Notice IIRC did not list individual food items, and clarity on scrambled or fried egg choice, for example, may have been useful. Having said all that, the food was hot, plentiful, and freshly cooked to individual order. Other suggestions could be for Hotel to consider Hotel & Local Info in Room on Breakfast Times, Check out etc. in each Room - there wasn't one in the Room when we stayed. Also a Do Not Disturb or No Need to Clean/Replace Towels or Hospitality Tray might be useful, without costing too much (laminated cards) - just for that additional clarity... But staff were very approachable, so we just told them not to bother cleaning our room on Day 1 and zI should add that we were told Breakfast/Check Out times on Reception without asking.

    We are returners and the staff friendliness, attitudes and service and rooms' comfort, presentation and cleanliness have always been tip-top and first class! Warm room, comfortable bed and loads of hot water - room had both shower and bath which was great! Full English Breakfast was excellent when we tried them - good quality bacon and sausages, fresh eggs, mushrooms, decent tinned beans and tomatoes and frying done on a clean griddle or pan - no black, burnt bits! Reasonably priced at less than £8 for Full English and less than £4 for Continental (plentiful toast, choice of cereal and yoghurts, fresh fruit (apples), juices, tea/coffee)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    Basic but clean hotel with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy plumbing from room above. Door on toilet/shower room did not close properly.

    Good basic hotel; clean' with comfortable beds. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    6.3
    Last minute booking, never again, shocking place
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Crisps and tea bag wrappers beside the bed left from previous guests. Mound in the bathroom and Toilet wouldn’t flush and leaked everywhere Windows would not open so we asked for a fan which was covered in dust Mirror in the room was hanging off it’s hinges Tabacco bits in the draws WiFi did not work in the rooms only the communal areas And best bit of all after checking out and getting in the car a lady comes out and says we haven’t paid our bill haha. No mention of this when checking out. She was proved wrong

    The bed was comfy to sleep in No noise from the bar area and cheap pints Dog friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.7
    The cheerful staff responded very rapidly to rectify...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedroom furniture was rather 'flimsy'

    The cheerful staff responded very rapidly to rectify problems with the equipment. The continental breakfast was amazingly good value at £3.95

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    It was very good value for money, comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It may have been a one Off but the tables for breakfast on the Monday had clearly not been cleaned from the day before..

    Clean bedroom, Clean bedding and towels. Fab hot shower and bath.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.1
    Does the job at a good price and nice staff..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it’s a hotel (not a B.B. )..need to provide the basis please do not disturb.. option to display on the outer door as all guests are not contractors who leave early and as we are in Scarborough,many guests are on holiday, and may like a sleep in .. also may help the housemaids who do a fantastic job ...

    Good value and location and lovely helpful staff.... needs a makeover but you get what you pay for .....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Very comfortable and relaxing stay, with helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom would benefit from an upgrade - mainly the decoration, and possibly upgraded appliances, but it was clean. The original booking on line was misleading, as I was sure that I booked a room and continental breakfast, but the price I paid was only for the room - the breakfast was extra. However, it was still value for money.

    The staff were very helpful, and sorted out any issues that we had - namely a lack of hot water. We also ordered an evening meal one day, which was freshly made, despite a lack of available staff. We asked for hot drinks late one evening, which we were quite happy to pay for, but these were provided free of charge. We couldn't fault the attitude of the staff. They were more than helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: